RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
FirstFable
by Jessica M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2014 12:27:27
I really enjoyed this easy and short core book. I think it'll be perfect for when my daughter is old enough to start playing RPGs.
I'm so happy this is on the market because I've been looking for something like it/

It was very easy to understand, nothing like the crazy rules and stats used in Dungeons and Dragons. Three stats and a few special moves for each character makes it easy for kids to understand.

It was a short read, only 41 pages with maybe 20 or so filled with the information to help you get started. The other pages include a short adventure, sample character sheets, and an actual character sheet for your new adventurer to fill out.

This is a highly costumizable game that let's you and your kid(s) create your own adventures or character classes. I'm looking forward to more fun and adventures from these creators.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FirstFable
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

FirstFable
by Crystal M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2014 18:57:17
First Fable is a roleplaying game tailored specifically to children around the age of 6. It is designed to be run by a GU (grown-up), who leads the characters through the story and helps the players understand the rules. There are many gamers who are now parents and looking to introduce their children to their roleplaying world. This book is set up to do just that! The wonderful part about this book is that the book is written so even grown-ups who have never done roleplaying games before can pick this up and play it.

The book starts off with the basics of roleplaying and why roleplaying can be beneficial to children. Language, math skills, emotional growth and communication skills are all built up in the process of telling a story. It’s also a safe way for children to work out social situations they may not know how to handle. We, as the GUs, can help guide a child through situations they may face in school or the playground when we aren't there. I will go into this in more detail later in the review.

Character creation is always the hardest part for new players. So how in the world do you get a 6 year old to make up a character? Well, that is where this system comes into play. There are 4 different character types outlined in the book, all of which are easily identifiable to children: a pirate, a warrior, a fairy princess and an animal keeper. Next, you get to pick any 3 things at which your character shines. They then choose one thing they are not very good at. After that, they can pick one item that does something very special; whether it is an animal that talks or a singing crown, it’s whatever they want. They can play characters that cross the different types of characters. Younger players may want to play themselves, which is fine as well! Challenge older kids to come up with reasons why they have their special items. Remember: always assist children with writing where needed!

The rules for challenges and resolutions are also very simple. D6s (six-sided dice) are used with 4s, 5s, and 6s being winning dice. A challenge is determined as an action that has the chance of changing the story. These actions should always have a dice rolled with an action the player cannot actually do in real life.

Tasks are simple actions that help the story move forward. Most tasks are actions taken by the players that can be accomplished fairly easily. These are storytelling opportunities where the players can give details about what their players are doing.

Special things are actions that involve the use of the unique item they possess. Each item gets stars, which the player can use to accomplish extraordinary tasks. It may also require a dice roll, depending on the action, but it is up to the GU to decide.

This system is one of the simplest starter systems to work with. It is open-ended, so children can pick whatever they want for any of the categories. Some kids may elaborate on their items or abilities, others may keep them simple. Always encourage children to elaborate as best as they can. They may need help with words or actions that they want to do. As a GU, help by asking them questions and helping them find the word they are looking for.



The age group I played with was 4, 5 and 6 – so, the younger end of the spectrum. When creating their characters, all of the kids worked together and helped each other. A couple of the kids were not good with writing, so the older kids helped them. I also had them draw their character. The kids I worked with modeled their characters after themselves. Some used their real names, others used a character name. For their official character sheets, I did write down what they told me, so that I had a reference, but allowed them to keep their original sheets. I ran the starter story in the book, and the kids loved it right from the start. The system for rolling dice was easy enough. With a few reminders, the kids quickly figured out how to roll their dice. The children all waited for each player to make an action, and helped each other with the story. They also helped remind each other what was written on their sheet.

Overall, this book was perfect for younger kids. It was challenging enough to make them think and engaging enough to keep them interested for about an hour, which is long for the younger age groups I worked with. I would recommend this book to parents and teachers alike. Experience in gaming is not necessary, though it may help. Just remember: it is not about the rules but about the story the kids tell.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tabletop Day 2014 [BUNDLE]
by Chance M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2014 12:39:10
really awesome bundle, even if you don't play them all.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tabletop Day 2014 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

FirstFable
by Todd H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2014 19:19:32
My son was really interested in this game. Making the characters was very simple and the system is light enough for small children to follow. This is highly recommended for parents who would like to introduce roleplaying to small children.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FirstFable
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

$50 Gift Certificate/Account Deposit
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2014 12:20:43
It's a gift certificate, it does exactly what it says it does.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
$50 Gift Certificate/Account Deposit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

$100 Gift Certificate/Account Deposit
by Ruby D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2013 12:43:49
Would be nice if there was something that could be printed off to give to the recipient (enclosed in a card, or stuffed in their Xmas stocking in my case) to represent the gift certificate. Not sure what else you can say in review of a credit purchase, other than I purchased it and it added credit to my account. Which is nice I guess.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
$100 Gift Certificate/Account Deposit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

$20 Gift Certificate/Account Deposit
by Tim H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2013 20:57:37
This was a gift and it was well received. My friend was looking for new Traveller items to spice up a game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
$20 Gift Certificate/Account Deposit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DriveThruFiction $100 Gift Certificate/Account Deposit
by Janet T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2013 13:22:54
$100 Gift Certificate
Store credit. An excellent, convenient and versatile gift for buying (as the mood strikes) across the sites.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DriveThruFiction $100 Gift Certificate/Account Deposit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

So Yer Wantin' t' Talk Like a Pirate!
by Marcel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2013 06:21:04
A bit of good fun with which to add flavour to your pirate adventures!
Only 2 pages, but free, so no real concerns there. Of course, more would be welcome.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
So Yer Wantin' t' Talk Like a Pirate!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

FirstFable
by Steven H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2013 16:34:00
I played this with my nieces and nephew. At first they were confused with some of the terminology used, such as "Shines" and "where my character is slow". I had to use other terminology and examples to get them to understand what it was that I meant.

The instruction manual is a bit convoluted, as you can be reading along and suddenly a term appears and automatically expects you to understand what it means. It took me bouncing back and forth a couple of times to get the gist of what was written.

Although this game is made for children, the instructions are not. It will take an adult to walk the children through the game and how to play.

My family had fun with the game, although, they got a bit flustered with the "Stars" system. They had a hard time getting a hand on the "bidding" aspect of the game, when you are entering battle.

The game has a "10 Commandments of Being the
Grown-Up" which, this alone makes the game worth getting,as they apply to adults as well as kids.
• Keep it Moving
• Let the Characters Talk
• Learn to Cross-Cut
• Choose Your Words Carefully
• Learn to Read Your Players
• Help the Players Grow as Roleplayers
• Avoid Violence
• Avoid Stereotypes
• Just Say Yes
• Teach

The only one I don't really agree with is "avoid violence". Children need an outlet for aggression, but even so I would follow the lead in the book about using situations rather than fighting.

Since this book is free, you have absolutely nothing to lose by downloading it. But even if it goes up in price, it is worth getting as a beginner roleplaying game for children.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
FirstFable
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

FirstFable
by Alex C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2013 03:25:29
According to my personal opinion, FirstFable is a great way for introducing to RPGs kids and for all players who want to re-examine how a fantasy RPG can be built. The system is interesting and original, and has many possibilities to customize it to your personal needs and tastes.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
$100 Gift Certificate/Account Deposit
by Eschaton M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2013 11:20:11
The purchase was fine, converting it to use for a bulk order was confusing though I did eventually figure it out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
$100 Gift Certificate/Account Deposit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

$10 Gift Certificate/Account Deposit
by Thomas C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2013 12:13:15
Easy..peezy!! This works great and is the perfect gift for a gamer.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
$10 Gift Certificate/Account Deposit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TabletopDay [BUNDLE]
by Dennis S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/30/2013 14:45:48
A great value for the price (free), it has a few interesting full game books in there for you to try out at no risk, and a lot of quick starts that you could just get anywhere else for free, but are spared the trouble of having to do so. You should definitely give this a download.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TabletopDay [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

$10 Gift Certificate/Account Deposit
by Ben G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2013 12:19:22
As a publisher, I normally do not review other things here on DTRPG. But I must say, this $10 gift certificate was everything I hoped it was.

I paid $10 for it, and got exactly $10 in gift certificate goodness.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
$10 Gift Certificate/Account Deposit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 286 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG