RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Achtung! Cthulhu - FATE Guide to the Secret War
by Joseph P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2016 13:38:48

  • This is a good product, but not a great product. It includes a lot of very useful stuff if your interested in running a weird ww2 game in FATE, but it misses out several things that would have been great, like a coherant means of handling armoured vehicles. It's main fault is in the magic section, which attempts to mimic the feel of magic from Call of Cthulhu, and falls flat because of contradictory statements about how magic is handled in game, requiring the entire section to be extensively houseruled to be playable. A lack of attention to detail has hurt an otherwise superb product, and this is I feel a reflection of the fact that the conversion to FATE was not handled as well as it could have been.

  • Still a good product, and still worth the money. But mildly disapointing in places.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu - FATE Guide to the Secret War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Airfix Battles: The Introductory Wargame
by Colin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2016 18:47:06

Better known to modellers and gamers from the British Isles, Airfix have produced military model kits, terrain and figures since the 1950s, being an integral part of the childhood for many British children and their first introduction to playing with toy soldiers. Their 1/72 (closer to 1/76) scale figures have been a cheap entry way into wargaming, though they need a a bit of prep before painting, and in the 70s they published sets of wargames rules and guides. So iconic were they that there was even a video game where you could fly Airfix model planes through household scenes, battling other planes, tanks and looking for pickups.
Picture of the box


Now Modiphius, better known for their role-playing games, have issued the “Airfix Battles:Introductory Wargame” as their first published boardgame.This is a platoon level skirmish wargame for World War 2. The game has vehicles and small towed guns, but air support and heavy artillery is off-board and triggered by playing a command card.


In the box you find a book of rules, a book of scenarios, two double sided, interlocking map sheets, three sheets of counters with terrain, troops, vehicles and markers, a bag of ten (five olive drab, five feldgrau) six-sided dice and two packs of cards. One pack are unit cards for Americans and Germans, the other are order cards as the game is command card driven.


The rules are not long, and aim to start the novice right into it with an introductory battle with each side having a Captain with a group of veterans, and two sections (squads, gruppe) of basic infantry. Each side starts at the short end of their side of the map and attempts to kill the other, keeping the learning experience simple with orders, movement, terrain effects, combat and cover.


Each soldier has their own figure, a cardboard counter in the case of the set though obviously Airfix hope you might go out and actually buy some of the real things. There is a slight reference made to multiple figure bases, but no game is mentioned, but you could, in theory, use Flames of War or Crossfire bases with this, as well as single figures for games like Rapid Fire. The troop counters have a sort of shellburst icon on the reverse and you can use them as wound markers for based units, so you do not need the 1 figure = 1 troops on based figures. The map is separated into squares and all movement and ranges use these squares without diagonals, so a square next to your unit diagonally is two squares away, not one.
Command cards


How many cards you can have in a hand, and how many you can play in a turn depends on the quality of your commander, in the basic game you have five in your hand and can play two. The good thing is that each card is double sided, with the back of each card is a standard order, you can Move OR Fire OR Reinforce (if available), but the face side is something special, and often give you two options. This means that, unlike some card driven wargames, you are never stuck with no chance to use your units, waiting for your card to come up in the deck.


Once you have had a couple of turns to get used to the mechanics, the rules are fast and brutal. Troops caught out in the open, not even dug in will be massacred, you only get a save if in cover, and losing troops reduces your firepower. You have limited command and control, in the introductory example you have three units but can only issue two orders per turn, so you still have to think about what you do. There are cards to interrupt your opponents action or to issue one use “buffs” to improve your units performance, but otherwise the turn sequence is “roll for initiative and each side issues and order for as long as they have not spent their play limit”.


The use of unit cards means that special rules relevant to that unit is on the card right there, for example the veterans above reroll misses against adjacent squares or American Infantry squads get an extra dice against enemy infantry because of the firepower they can bring to bear.


The game is definitely more on the “game” side of the game/simulationist debate, and is intended for fun, for example there is a “valour” counter, initially given to the person who lost initiative, giving one free reroll can be used then passed to your opponent, to help counter rotten luck. Since it is an introductory wargame, the basic rules are introduced in the first scenario as needed as itgoes through the steps of the turn. This works well and without them being awkward to find once you are playing different scenarios.


The some of the additional scenarios in the scenario book introduce other rules, so you get to learn them step by step and there is a point system so you can build your own forces. It is more of a boardgame in some ways than a figure wargame, but I have seen other square based games, such as the ancients game Lost Battles, being played with figures on a normal wargames table quite successfully.


The components are of good quality. The counters are thick and pop out easily from the card sheet. The maps are have the squares marked at the corners rather than ruled lines and have a dot in the centre to make them clear without being too obvious. The unit cards have the lovely Airfix art.


This is a spectacularly quick, and tremendously fun game but is still tactical and rewards paying attention to your units and not doing stupid things with them. There is a lot of thought into making it clear and consistent, right down to both the rules and scenarios book having a copy of the movement and weapons tables on the back page. Each unit has a different flavour thanks to the unit card so you get a good amount of variety. It is an introductory game, and it does introduce concepts like opportunity fire, cover, morale and pinning units, tanks having weaker armour on the sides and rear. It even has a programmed section for managing enemy behaviour when playing solo games.
Infantryman and machine gunner


My only criticism is that the illustrations on the troop counters are a bit dark, making it a bit hard to distinguish at a distance, though closer to the dark blue-grey Germans are easily distinguishable from the olive drab GIs and the counters are generic, rather than having the full range of poses from the figures. Then again, they want you to buy the figures.


Airfix Battles is out now and costs £24.99. There is also a bonus pack of 24 unit cards available for £4.99 expanding the Germans and introducing the British. There are expansions planned and a collectors edition that expands on the base rules and expansions but aiming at proper tabletop wargaming so it will not have maps .



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Airfix Battles: The Introductory Wargame
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutant Chronicles 3rd Edition Roleplaying Game
by Peter S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2016 07:35:06

Imagine if 40k and Shadowrun had a baby, that is Mutant Chronicles. Lots of intra corp intrigue ie extractations,wetwork,sabotague and resarch snatching. And on the other hand you have a lot investigative work in hunting down the Heretics and their cults infiltrating humanity and lets not forget the always looming threath of the Dark Legion invading and snuffing out the last flicker of humanity.


If you like Star Wars by FFL rules ie a good combination of rules and cineamatic action you will love this Rules, as the lead developer for Star Wars is also the lead developer for MC and he has updated the rules used in Star Wars to d20 and d6 dies and the mechanics of advantage and Dark/light side points has ben iterated and been given a very good facelift and are alot more developed for MC.


The tone and setting for Mutant Chronicles is a very iconic and orginal, humanity awoke something they shouldent on the planet Nero and the Dark Legion are now invading the Solar System from another dimension and the only hope is the Brootherhood standing at the forefont of the war representing the Light aidied by the megacorps.


All in all, I give it 5/5. Bear in mind for me this is like the return of an old teenage flame in my middleage and she is looking HOT and she is talking the talk in 2d20 ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Chronicles 3rd Edition Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutant: Year Zero FREE Preview
by Neil H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2016 16:36:53

This preview gives me a good indication of what this product is about- it talks about the classes, a little about the system/rolls, character creation, and a general sense and feel of the post-apocalyptic world.


I recommend it if you want to know more about the Core Rulebook/game system. It just might help tip the scales into buying a copy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant: Year Zero FREE Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Robert E. Howards CONAN Roleplaying Game Quickstart
by Samuel H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2016 15:11:56

After a long with the PDF, I finally got a chance to run it over the past two weeks. I can confirm that it's a great, fun system. It captures the picaresque spirit of scalawags and mercenaries bouncing from trouble to trouble, using their fists, wiles and swords to solve what comes their way. The Doom and Momentum mechanics really enhance the flow of the game, and surprisingly are very intuitive to track. I was a little concerned that a "Player vs GM" dynamic could develop and the players might be afraid to buy Doom, but they quickly learned that Doom was about making their characters' lives interesting rather than about killing them. Fights were fast and the system handles both single big foes and crowds of mobs with decent aplomb, an unusual feat.


I'm quite pleased with the result, and I'm definitely looking forward to purchasing the full game when it releases.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Robert E. Howards CONAN Roleplaying Game Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutant Chronicles 3rd Edition Roleplaying Game
by Jacob T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2016 00:37:09

All i have is my phone to type on so this will be brief. Modiphius dis for MUTANT CHRONICLES what FFG did for 40k. That is to say they made the story much better. MC 3E is a finely tuned and in depth story and I appreciate the work that the team put in to bring that to light. With that said the 2d20 system is easily one of the worst systems I have been exposed to in more than 20 years of gaming. multitudes of pools to account for, a laundry list of TALENTS and equipment that grant Talent like abilities make every scene an ever present list of page flipping to see what talent or piece of gear can be applied to any particular situation. The difficulty system is needlessly complex; that isnt to say its hard. Its just senseless and frusterating. the scoring mechanic for DAMAGE seems more like an attempt to be unique and less an attempt for anything that makes sense or is game friendly. All in all im torn. The fluff is great an deserves hugh regards but the core mechanic is so abjectly horrible that I rate it a zero if I was allowed to. in the end the fluff happily forces me to give a Two star rating.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Chronicles 3rd Edition Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thunderbirds Co-operative Board Game Rulebook
by Michel V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2016 02:20:32

Fortunately, it was free. There are only the rules. That's useless by itself.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Thunderbirds Co-operative Board Game Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MUTANT: Year Zero - Starter Booklet
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2016 09:40:25

The playbooks are pretty cool for easing people into the game. I would like to have at least seen Dog Handler and Chronicler in the mix to provide a wider variety of playable choices. Any chance of playbooks for the rest?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MUTANT: Year Zero - Starter Booklet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Achtung! Cthulhu: Terrors of the Secret War
by sean c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2016 06:08:18

A useful addition to the series allowing me to include large scale combat without detracting from the pivotal role of the players. My only criticism is the same as with all the achtung books , there isn't a sample quick run scenario. As a long time player of CoC, changing the pace to a more combat rather than research oriented system took a while and although pre made scenarios are available, I would never actually use them preferring to write my own stories. Having an example however would be helpful to give a flavour of how to write and run the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu: Terrors of the Secret War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutant Chronicles 3rd Edition FREE Quickstart
by Charles-Etienne B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2016 11:58:41

Hi all,


To be quite honest, I am very impressed by the work accomplished by your team on MC3. I was reluctant to see what had been changed but so far, it all seems like a breeze of fresh air and a good dusting job on the old versions of the game. I like the adjusted time-line and the attentiton to details. I look forward to complete my reading of the entire collection of books.


Thank you,


Charles



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Chronicles 3rd Edition FREE Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Achtung! Cthulhu: Heroes of the Sea - Savage Worlds
by George U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2016 13:25:16

This is another excellent scenario and a worthy follow up to The Three Kings. If your group likes action Heroes of the Sea provides varied opportunities to go toe to toe or to sneak & skulk. Hereos of the Sea also builds on the weirdness introduced in The Three Kings with some serious "We're not in Kanzas anymore" moments.


One important thing to note is that the Keeper will need to complete at least a couple of hours of up front work to be able to run this adventure smoothly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu: Heroes of the Sea - Savage Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Achtung! Cthulhu - Shadows of Atlantis Campaign
by George U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2016 19:47:05

The quality of writing plus the depth and breadth of background information is amazing. This is not a campaign where you buy it and can jump right in so if you are looking for something light and easy as GM (or Keeper) then I would recommend going with something like 3 Kings instead. If you want something that is full of flavour and you're willing to put some time in reading (there are over 300 pages) then this is a campaign that I highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu - Shadows of Atlantis Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mindjammer – Dominion – FREE QUICKSTART
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/16/2016 10:07:18

The book opens with a brief overview of what Mindjammer is all about and an excellent concise summary of how the Fate ruleset works. Even if you do not intend to play Mindjammer, this is almost worth picking up for the Fate overview alone - excellent for introducing new players to the game mechanics. However for those who will be playing Mindjammer, comments relating to the game are woven through it, so again even if you don't need the introductory adventure, your players might find it a useful quick reference to the rules.


Next, four pre-generated characters are provided to enable you to jump right in and play - the rules summary doesn't explain how characters are created, it concentrates on how to actually play the game. They are carefully interwoven to create a coherent group with reasons to be together at this time and place, a nice example of how to create a party for this game... although they may or may not want to form a longterm relationship, as two of them are fugitives who have been captured by one of the others! One is a sentient ship, complete with a synthetic human analogue avatar for those occasions when being a starship in inconvenient.


Finally, there's the introductory adventure, which takes the party to Yand, a rediscovered world on the edge of the New Commonality of Humankind's sphere of influence. It is hotly contested by both the Commonality and a neighbouring (and hostile) bunch called the Venu. There's a lot of background about the planet itself and its current situation crammed in here. It's a fascinating and well-developed system. The adventure itself revolves around retrieving a kidnapped agent of the Commonality, and spreads over eight scenes - although you don't need to play all of them. For example if you only have a short playing time, like a convention slot or a single evening, you could get by with three scenes. There's a detailed timeline to help you stay on track. The adventure is exciting, and also demonstrates how the Commonality operates which - as it is all-pervading - is a good guide as to whether you and your players are going to enjoy playing Mindscape. There's a lot going on, a lot to keep track of, and the GM should study the adventure thoroughly before play begins to be able to stay on top of it. If the party is successful, other published adventures make for good follow-ons, assuming the party stays together, giving you the beginnings of a campaign as agents of the Commonality.


This is an excellent introduction to this game which makes the most of its particular character and should give your group a good idea if this is a system they'd like to play longterm.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mindjammer – Dominion – FREE QUICKSTART
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

INFINITY RPG FREE Quickstart
by Sean S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2016 19:15:45

Full Disclosure - I have done freelance writing for Modiphius on the Infinity RPG


The Inifinity RPG uses the same universe and background as the tabletop miniatures game by Corvus Belli. The background is near future science fiction, with healthy doses of transhuman and anime influence. The universe was what initially drew me to the tabletop game - and it just screamed for an RPG. The background in the Quickstart gives you just a taste of the universe. Not really enough to give you a good impression of the depth of thought that Corvus Belli put into it for the miniatures game.


The game uses the 2d20 system, developed by Modiphius for a number of their other games, including Mutant Chronicles and the upcoming Conan RPG. The basic mechanic - called a test - is to roll 2d20 against a target of attribute plus skill. Difficulty is set by the number of successes needed for - erm - success. There are ways to roll more dice and to count each roll as more than one success, but more on that later. The important thing to know is that it plays quickly, lending itself more towards cinematic than crunchy.


There are two other in-game economies to consider: Momentum and Heat. Momentum is generated from "extra" successes above those needed for success, and can be spent on a variety of special effects on actions, or added to a group pool to be spent later. Some groups have reported issues with frivolous tests being used to stockpile Momentum - I have not, so this might be a function of GM style. Heat comes from players "buying" extra d20s for tests or from Momentum rolled by bad guys. The GM can use Heat for a variety of effects, like bumping NPCs up in the initiative order, triggering scenery effects, and other assorted mischief.


The scenario included in the pack is a solid instroduction to the universe and rules, though it starts a little slowly for my tastes. The pregenerated characters are likewise solid in abilities and background, even if a bit hackneyed for those already familiar with the universe. The PC sheets can be a bit hard to sort out, but in Modiphius' defense, they were done before all the rules were complete.


In short: a solid introduction to the background and game system - well worth checking out if you like the genre.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INFINITY RPG FREE Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Robert E. Howards CONAN Roleplaying Game Quickstart
by Michał B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2016 03:41:44

I'm terribly sorry but i wasn't that pleased with this Quickstart. I ran the adventure yesterday, so my opinion is qiute fresh:
Pros



  • 2d20 system is easy to learn. After our first enqounter even one amateur player was able to understand quite everything.

  • Momentum (when 1 player was managing the pool) is a lot of fun, giving players lots of opportunities to change the dice fate. Combining that with Fortune Points... just marvelous

  • Doom Pool was also quite fun, but one of my players decided that he won't be avoiding attacks (like Parrying) so I won't get any Doom points :)

  • Ready Characters are well balanced and they quite nicely fill the party.


Cons



  • Adventure was one of the worst (if not THE) scenarios I've ever run. Whatever the PCs did - THE PICTS ATTACKED. They turn left - THE PICTS ATTACK, they go to the farm - THE PICTS ATTACK, they run forward - THE PICTS ATACK, and so on... I know that I could make it more interesting but I wanted to run as it was written. BORING as hell - sorry :( But of course we had fun, we always have fun playing RPGs.

  • I had some issues with the soak and parry rules, but I figured it out. But still some rules stayed a mystery, but they weren't that significant to our first session.

  • No Conan in the adventure :(

  • No pictures of prepared characters


Altogether: Conan RPG as a system (+mechanics) VERY 5/5, the adventure - total crap. 1/5
(5+1)/2 = 4 :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Robert E. Howards CONAN Roleplaying Game Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 131 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG