RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Fright Knight
by Dominique S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2015 04:11:38
Fright Knight has to be one of the more interesting releases I've seen in quite a while. He's definitely not what I was expecting when I saw the preview artwork, and I don't want to spoil the surprise by giving away to much. I will say he's got a very interesting power set, and should make for some fun gaming when PCs encounter him. Especially when they assume certain things about him based on his looks. I'm giving this one 5 out of 5 stars, as I think both GMs and Players will really enjoy dealing with this guy. If nothing else, he'll keep your PCs guessing.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Fright Knight
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Mithra
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2015 10:34:25
Sometimes your heroes want to visit foreign countries, see the sights and have a fight with the local heroes. Mithra is an Iranian hero, a "Good Guy" who fights to protect the people of Iran and who will be the part of the welcoming committee if the heroes ever come visiting. He's a moral dilemma - a hero who loves his country, his religion and his people and who believes in supporting a potentially hostile government. As always good value for money.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Mithra
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tianxia: Path of Destiny
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2015 12:21:40
I read the Tianxia Accelerated and liked it. This (although written for Core) helps explain many of the aspects and other factors involved, giving you more understanding of how to make and play better characters. While the character and his history and skill is made rather randomly, it suggests changing and twisting one you don't like into something you do. Much more useful than starting with just a blank sheet of paper to stare at until you think of something!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tianxia: Path of Destiny
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Nikki Tesla
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2015 08:03:16
Everyone needs a mad scientist in their game and now we have a self-made female "Tesla", a genius who has the potential to be rogue, rival and renegade in one. This character is what your techno-heroes have been waiting for.

As always excellent value for money and fun to play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Nikki Tesla
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Arthur Lives! Narrator's Guide
by Jason W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2015 05:41:22
Hi! I couldn't edit my previous review, so I'll put my actual feedback here. Awesome setting! Two complaints, though. One, I was really hoping that it would be easier to convert and drop into a game system that wasn't quite so much of a drag. The way the D20 system of leveling-up is used as a way for your characters to gradually remember themselves is probably the biggest obstacle in that regard. Two, the provided roster of Arthurian personages to be reincarnated is pitifully inadequate for a labor of love put out there by a Camelot buff, so prepare yourself for supplementary reading. I'm currently a player in a D&D 5e game, and I'm looking to GM a game with a more new-school, narrative approach as a pressure release for some of my frustration with the system, so I probably won't want to play this as a True20 game anytime soon. The setting is compelling enough that I keep finding myself thinking about it, though, so who knows?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arthur Lives! Narrator's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Trainwreck
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2015 10:23:12
Rogues, Rivals and Renegades is a new series by those M&M masterminds of the press, Vigilance Press and highlights a possible NPC rival - a recently powered super (she really is too unbalanced to be called a hero) who called herself PsiStar (and the meta paparazzi have renamed trainwreck) but seem to be 'haunted' by the accident that killed her BFF (yes she belongs to THAT group who txt-speak and hang out with with characters like Paris Hilton air-kissing in the background) and caused her to discover her powers. Her lifestyle has left her a danger to herself and others and ideal to drop in as a campaign to derail a hero or two (deliberately or accidentally) with a hidden and unexpected twist as to the source of her unbalanced behaviour.

As always, production values are excellent, the PDF comes with associated Herolab file and cardboard figure.

If you like role-playing as much as you like roll-playing, this series is a must-have...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Trainwreck
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Rayzer
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2015 10:01:01
Just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water... Along comes Rayzer, with the Karkarius, his own shark-like Nautilus submarine, his undersea base and his "krewe "of modern day pirates who take on the evils of the corporations (or in this case one in particular)...

If you have a reason to do a deep sea adventure at any point then Rayzer should be in your GM toolkit - as usual the artwork is exceptional (the picture of the Karkarius is worth the money on its own), herolab files are included as is the now vigilance press standard cardboard figure.

Excellent value for money, excellent publication standards and a well thought out character.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Rayzer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Rayzer
by Dominique S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2015 20:29:12
The 3rd release in Vigilance Press’ new Rouges, Rivals, and Renegades line, Rayzer is a bit of a departure from the previous two entries, as it includes information on the main character, as well as entries on his followers, a detailed vehicle write-up, and a map of his base of operations.

The PDF comes in at 10 pages, with the first page being the cover, followed by the character write-up, a full color illustration of Rayzer, info on “Rayzer’s Raiders”, a vehicle write-up and full color information for the Karkarius, Rayzer’s submarine (as a side note, this has to be one of my favorite vehicle illustrations for an game I’ve ever seen), and a full color map detailing his undersea base. The next to the last page contains details the writer’s and publisher’s information, as well character standee for Rayzer. The final page is the standard Open Gaming License.

Overall, I really like this one, as Rayzer isn’t your standard black and white villain. I don’t want to say too much, as I don’t want to spoil it for anyone planning to purchase this, or for GMs who wish to make use of him in their games. I will say that he’ll make for an interesting foe, and if players do a little digging, they may be surprised as what they find out about his background and intentions.

The one nitpick I do have, and it’s a minor one, is with the placement of the illustration for the Karkarius. Its placement just seems “off” to me. Hopefully when/if these are collected into print format they’ll look at playing with the layout a bit.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tianxia Accelerated
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2015 13:27:49
I really liked this one. It essentially makes a game like Feng Shui (only more medieval) based on Fate Accelerated, rather than Fate Core. Beautifully illustrated. And gives lots of examples. I look forward to getting the full game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tianxia Accelerated
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tianxia: Path of Destiny
by Clint F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2015 11:28:47
I was part of the kickstarter for Tianxia, Blood Silk and Jade, being a big fan of Vigilance Press and Jack Norris from their Mutants and Masterminds products. I was a backer at the digital level, but kind of wish I'd gone for the printed edition now that I've played it.

When I did this, I didn't know anything about FATE, other than it was used in Dresden Files, Spirit of the Century and the old Fudge stuff. I knew it was story focused but that was about all.

I did not really do more than picture browse the Tianxia core rules until the Path of Destiny came out for the backers. This is a life path generator to make your kung fu characters. I have always felt random character generators can you help you learn the system fairly well. This product convinced me to dive into the system and FATE to figure it all out.

The Path of Destiny is 24 pages of awesome, pure win. I do love character generators. I wasn't sure how one was going to work in FATE (once I got familiar enough), but this takes all the tropes and a lot of genre savviness and puts together a walk through for making all your ASPECTS, picking your skills, your Kung Fu style and even defining your family members, ages, and relationships.

It all works on a -4 to +4 of FATE/fudge dice (or use the Fate deck!) and can be used going through picking and choosing as easily as randomly rolling.

This is a must have in my opinion. A must have appendix to your Tianxia Blood, Silk and Jade game. Or really, you could use it for inspiration for any Wuxia / Kung Fu character in any system.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tianxia: Path of Destiny
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tianxia: Blood, Silk & Jade
by Clint F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2015 10:22:27
I was part of the kickstarter for Tianxia, Blood Silk and Jade, being a big fan of Vigilance Press and Jack Norris from their Mutants and Masterminds products. I was a backer at the digital level, but kind of wish I'd gone for the printed edition now that I've played it.

When I did this, I didn't know anything about FATE, other than it was used in Dresden Files, Spirit of the Century and the old Fudge stuff. I knew it was story focused but that was about all.

I did not really do more than picture browse the Tianxia core rules until the Path of Destiny came out for the backers. This is a life path generator to make your kung fu characters. I have always felt random character generators can you help you learn the system fairly well. This got me to read the book in more depth, look at the kung fu system, but still was not enough to get me to investigate FATE enough to use the system.

So now that I've studied FATE enough to jump in and run it, I can say this book is truly awesome. It takes the flexible system and gives you all the wires and guides you need for easy, high flying Kung Fu action!

It only adds one skill, Chi. Gives you the framework for building a Kung Fu style based on two forms, one Element and one Body. Fun and flavorful options like Iron Tiger, Ghost Dragon, Storm Crane and Forest Serpent. 36 combinations in all from six elements and six body styles. Not only that, but it suggests alternate names for the element and body styles. Don't like the sound of Lightning with your Monkey style, call it Fire Monkey.

The book also provides a lot of campaign options for handling weapons, armor, your body as weapon and even how to approach firearms (so if you prefer your Jet Li to be a little less Hero and little more The One or War, it can accommodate you, because FATE is that flexible).

I was thoroughly pleased with my first game, which I set out to meet in the middle of the epic-ness of Hero and the over-the-topness of Man in the Iron Fists (1 & 2).

Throughout the book, their are great narrative introductions to each chapter where one of the provided characters interacts with the setting. These are a wonderful joy to read, and the example of play was a true gem in that regard as well.

This book is just all around fun if you want to Wuxia / Kung Fu fun and awesome, without a lot of rules getting in the way.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tianxia: Blood, Silk & Jade
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tianxia Accelerated
by Clint F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2015 10:05:38
I was part of the kickstarter for Tianxia, Blood Silk and Jade, being a big fan of Vigilance Press and Jack Norris from their Mutants and Masterminds products. I was a backer at the digital level, but kind of wish I'd gone for the printed edition now that I've played it.

When I did this, I didn't know anything about FATE, other than it was used in Dresden Files, Spirit of the Century and the old Fudge stuff. I knew it was story focused but that was about all.

This product, as it is accurately described above is the frame work for moving Tianxia, Blood, Silk & Jade to FATE Accelerated from FATE core. It still requires the core rules, and mainly of them, the Kung Fu section, as it requires some modifications from the Skills to Approaches, including some provided changes.

Using Accelerated's Approaches made everyone excellent at their chosen kung fu (if chosen well) and didn't have a skill tax of needing high Fight to be able to actually fight. Character generation was a snap, less than twenty minutes even for the most complicated character at our table.

It played very smoothly, as my first experience with FATE, and all four players were new to FATE as well. Two new to table top RPGs in general.

With about 40 minutes of character generation we had investigation, carousing, seduction, and a huge battle in the unstable burned out grounds of a Kung Fu school. All in all we played for four hours.

Very few drawbacks, and they aren't deal breakers in any way. A lack of an Accelerated character sheet and campaign planning sheets from the main books Appendix. I ended up making a document with all the adjusted Kung Fu styles and techniques to help with character generation and to quit flipping between the two books. I also did a quick and dirty adjustment of the main character sheet for Accelerated with some photo manipulation software. Those two bits of setup went a LONG ways to making everything go smoothly.

Plus, this is a Pay What you Want product, so you cannot beat the price. Accelerated Tianxia was perfect for my game, simplifying character creation and streamlining combat.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tianxia Accelerated
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tianxia: Path of Destiny
by Brandon P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2015 09:25:52
I found the Path of Destiny to be an interesting and innovative product for Fate. In most Fate games, you have the Three Stages that are ties to Aspect creation, as well intertwining your story with the other PCs. This interesting Life Path system helps a player flesh out their backstory, or create one from scratch. It is very focused on the setting, or at the very least, the genre tropes and Asian motifs. I would love to see the company make a more generalized/multigenre version of this. It was a fun read. I recommend it along with the Tianxia Accelerated product.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tianxia: Path of Destiny
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Due Vigilance- Kaiju Kultists
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/17/2015 18:48:31
Vigilance Press has a reputation for putting together really thoroughly thought out and well produced material. Kaiju Kultists does exactly everything right in its treatment of incorporating giant monsters into a superhero setting.

It starts with several pages explaining the history of giant monsters in literature, film and comics. I appreciate that it attempts to put giant monsters in the context of their creators in different cultures and places.

Next, it carefully lays out some of the ups and downs of putting giant monsters in superhero games, finishing up with systems to include wrecking cities in Mutants & Masterminds, giving neighborhoods health tracks which heroes will want to protect.

I have to admit I haven't been thrilled with giant monster/superhero crossovers in the past. I really want giant monsters to fight against dudes with missiles on trucks and guns on jeeps, not against Superman. So I was shocked with how happy I was with the Kaiju Kultists organization that takes up a considerable amount of the book.

The idea of the organization is that the badguys in the organization bring kaiju into the world through demonic rituals, tying their power to themselves. They wreck neighborhoods and cities in order to become more powerful - heroes who protect cities and people are cutting directly into their abilities. This does two things that giant monster implementations haven't done in the past: it makes fighting the giant monster a conflict between people, and it makes rebuilding and defending a city an effective way to weaken the giant monster. The former is a key way to heighten dramatic conflict and is especially needed in superhero settings. For example, in the X-Men setting, the Brood, otherwise an Alien ripoff, have a Queen that will taunt our heroes and yell at them when they defeat her. The Kaiju Kultists similarly are people who can interact with our heroes, make their positions about the extermination of human civilization known, get hauled off to super-jail, and so forth.

The element of defending and rebuilding the city to weaken the giant monsters and ultimately defeat the cult is something you often see in comics but rarely see in superhero RPGs - where the whole community comes together to support their heroes and stop the bad guys. And of course, having the community literally weaken the bad guys by living well and being decent to each other is a very superhero comic thing to do - to literalize the values being advanced in the comic book.

Finally, there's Hero Lab files and standees at the back of the book for all the bad guys and monsters, AND several small scenarios introdicing and developing the cultists.

As much as I always expect a good product from Vigilance Press, I'm blown away by Kaiju Kultists not just for its new mechanics, but by the attention to how giant monsters should and can be used in various ways in various games. I didn't expect to love the organization nearly as much as I did; the mechanics also back this up really well.

If you trapped me in a building Godzilla was about to knock over and demanded that I give you something that could be improved in this book, I would say that perhaps having more hooks for how to develop or redevelop parts of the city would help. The ever-lovin' blue eyed Thing often had a struggle with his loyalty to his old neighborhood - when the survival of the city against a giant monster is on the line that would heighten such dilemmas dramatically.

Get this right away. You don't know you need it but you do.

(Also, the cover art is great, don't tell anyone I looked at it, it will ruin my "art in gaming books is worthless" cred forever.)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Due Vigilance- Kaiju Kultists
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Supplement #1: The Alchemist
by scott w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2015 15:22:30
This was a good product it fit right into the game we are running.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Supplement #1: The Alchemist
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 173 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG