RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Moreau-1 Files (ICONS)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/18/2011 14:37:07
WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW: The Moreau-1 Files is seemingly unconnected to the USHER setting, the Wargame setting or the world being laid out in the Field Guide to Superheroes, but also seems like it would be very simple to insert in a number of settings. This $1 supplement is basically two full character write-ups: The android Moreau-1, and his creation Erapato. Moreau-1, as his name implies, is all about genetic engineering, tinkering with people and animals. It is laid out in the form of stolen intelligence, setting up the menace of Moreau-1. Erapato is an interesting creation, a type of elephant man designed to be the leader of Moreau-1's new race, though he's not so much a fan of his creator's tactics. Three plot seeds are also provided for using the material within.

WHAT WORKS: Moreau-1 and Erapato both have interesting character hooks, with Moreau-1 serving both as a supervillain arms dealer and a mad scientist, and Erapato perhaps attempting betrayal of Moreau-1 could make for some fun gameplay. As noted, the characters could fit well into a variety of supers settings with little work.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: Not much, especially for the price.

CONClUSION: Personally, I see a fair amount of potential use just out of this release (the first of three). There seemed to be a weird shift in fonts on the adventure seeds, but nothing to get too excited about. Thumbs up.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Moreau-1 Files (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Action Scenes: Museum Mayhem (ICONS)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/18/2011 14:36:35
WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW: This Action Scene for ICONS is a little pricier than the Vigilance Press Battlescenes that have been released in the past, but you're also looking at about an additional 10-12 pages this time. The premise is a hostage situation at a museum, in which a sorcerer and his minions are repelling the authorities, so your superheroes get called in to do the deed.

What ensues is a nice set-piece against a sorcerer who has a variety of minions from generic thugs to mystics to mummy wraiths. If the villain's plan succeeds, it provides (intentionally or not) a shot out to the X-Men villain the Living Monolith. The adventure has lots of sidebars and "What Ifs" to help you out in case the whole thing is going too smoothly or two simply.

Two pages of figure flat stand-ups are included, for those who like such things (and I do), as well as a new power: Summon (more commonly used by villains than heroes, but laid out here just the same).

WHAT WORKS: Some VERY nice art here, my favorite piece being an action scene on page 6. A good amount of flexibility is written into the adventure, to help the GM along. The adventure is set in the USHERverse, the "modern day" of Vigilance's WWII setting, but you could easily replace USHER with SHIELD or AEGIS or whoever, if you wanted to move it into a new setting.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: And here we start getting into the problems of open content: Redundancy. Misfit Studios' DOOM filled in the same gap of a missing "Summon" type power, so now we have two third party versions of the power out there...and what happens when Adamant decides to do it themselves? My only other gripe is that I wish Vigilance had handled the new power the way Adamant handles new powers, by providing a "substitution suggestion" for the Summon power, for folks who prefer rolling up characters versus point buy (I hate ICONS point buy).

CONCLUSION: Not surprisingly, this is another great product by Vigilance, with sleek production values, lots of stat blocks you can use for your own stuff, printable stand-ups and more. I believe Vigilance will continue to be a growing force in supers gaming in the future.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Action Scenes: Museum Mayhem (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wargames: Copperhead Guard (ICONS)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/18/2011 14:35:51
WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW: A while back I reviewed WARGAMES: HEROES AND VILLAINS OF THE COLD WAR, which introduced General Venom (who is really kinda cool)...this supplement is The Copperhead Guard, General Venom's elite force of female assassins. Incidentally, the sole character image works, because the women all wear uniforms and tend towards similar hair styles (reddish, what with the copperhead image and all).

WHAT WORKS: Well trained mook stats are always nice. And really, anything without an individual name shouldn't be much more than that.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: Qualities and Challenges got swapped, unfortunately. This really just feels like an add-on to General Venom, as they are his bodyguards with nary a real personality to be found.

CONcLUSION: Not bad, but nothing particularly interesting, especially compared to, say, Moreau-1 Files, which is the same price but feels "heftier". It is worth noting that the Copperhead Guard aren't complete pushovers, especially when you factor in their Specialties.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wargames: Copperhead Guard (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Field Guide to Superheroes Vol. 3 (ICONS)
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/03/2011 23:36:40
Like Vols. 1 and 2 of this series, Vol. 3 presents ten superhero archetypes. For each archetype, author Jason Tondro provides an overview of the archetype and advice for modeling that type of hero in ICONS. An example character demonstrates each archetype in action, with illustrations by ICONS artist extraordinaire Dan Houser. This volume covers the magician, man [sic] of tomorrow, master of the atom, master of the elements, master of the martial arts, minority hero, monstrous hero, mythic hero, occult hero, and psychic hero. The advice given for each archetype is solid, and the sample heroes well illustrate each archetype’s unique qualities.

Commendably, most of the sample heroes have a hook or twist that individualizes them even as they represent their archetypes. You can think of Mona Lisa, who illustrates the magician archetype, as a kind of female mashup of the Phantom Stranger, John Constantine, Harry Dresden, and Mata Hari … she’s a ritual magician and occult investigator whose utter focus on her task leaves a trail of emotional pain in her wake. Spectrum, who embodies the man of tomorrow archetype, has an interesting backstory and a cool new power (ultra-power, giving a hero access to a menu of powers one at a time). Dawn, representing the master of the elements archetype, and her partner Dusk combine elements of Frank Miller’s future Batman and Robin with Cloak and Dagger (the latter implicitly acknowledged in the fluff). Dusk and Dawn also amp up the whole “archetypes” theme in a very intriguing way. Giza reminds me of Marvel’s Living Pharaoh; I found iHero just silly. Each character writeup includes some story ideas that could bring heroes in your ICONS game into contact with the heroes presented in the Field Guide. Most of these sound like fun, although a few have blind spots, such as getting a blood transfusion from the Rubberband Man to soften the skin of an invulnerable hero—how are you going to get the Rubberband Man’s blood into the hero if you can’t penetrated the wounded hero‘s skin? The ideas presented about hero teams on p. 59 will be useful even if you don’t want to use the specific teams from the Worlds of Wonder setting, presented on the following pages.

I enjoyed Volume 3 very much, certainly more than Vol. 2 and perhaps as much as Vol. 1, and I think that Vol. 3 provides helpful advice to ICONS players or GMs who have vague ideas about what they want from a character, but don’t quite know how to pull it off. The archetypes help.

Why, then, only three stars? The product exhibits several features that compelled my “rigorous reviewer” aspect.

First, if I’ve transferred the powers to the ICONS Character Folio, the archetypes tend toward the extremes of the ICONS power curve, and sometimes beyond. Of the ten superheroes who represent archetypes described in this book (an eleventh hero, Dusk, appears but relates to an archetype from an earlier volume), only three could be built by players using the 45-point build system: The Rubberband Man at 37 build points, Giza at 40, and Dusk at 45. Two others, the Dragon and the Drifter, are so close that GMs using the build point system would probably let things slide. But then we get into Mona Lisa at 52 points, iHero at 61, Naga at 62, and Watchdog at a whopping 80—according to the ICONS Character Folio’s math. This is important because players seeking to instantiate a particular archetype in their characters may find it quite disappointing that they can’t easily emulate the more powerful characters in this book. Players trying to “reverse-engineering” randomly-generated characters, to associate randomly-generated powers and abilities with specific archetypes as an imagination tool, won’t have as much of a problem here … but since the Field Guides are in some ways “how-to” books, the review must take this into account.

Second, this volume has only half as many illustrations as each of the previous installments. In Vols. 1 and 2, Houser provided an illustration for the archetype writeup itself plus an illustration of the sample character who displays that archetype. In this volume, only the named characters—not the archetypes themselves—are illustrated. Fans of Houser’s art will be disappointed by the quantity of illustrations, but certainly not be the quality, which remains as perfectly suited to ICONS as ever. However, if you’re thinking of sharing this product with children or teens who play ICONS, be aware that the illustration for Naga, the occult hero, is borderline pornographic, about as far as seminude can go without dropping the prefix. To the unwary reader (or parent), this comes as a bit of a shock—never mind the disconnect between Naga’s negligee outfit on the one hand the text’s description of her Buddhism and her “long cloak and hood” on the other.

Third, the minority superhero archetype rubs me the wrong way. I don’t think Tondro has gone far wrong in describing the phenomenon of “blaxploitation” comics and superheroes whose main story roles were to represent their ethnicities. As a straight, white, Christian male, I don’t fit into any minority demographic at all (unless “biblical scholars who play Dungeons & Dragons” qualifies), so I may be speaking out of turn, but I think comics have moved on—or have tried valiantly to move on—from the minority superhero archetype. Luke Cage might have started out as a minority hero, but nowadays his skin color is not the primary thing that identifies his role in the superhero community. He’s more of a “family man” (with an Anglo wife) than “first and foremost a representative of [black Americans],” to use Tondro’s phrase. Ditto with other heroes Tondro tags as minority heroes, like Blue Beetle (Jaime Reyes) and Batwoman (Kate Kane). Jaime’s Latino heritage and Kate’s sexual orientation are obviously key parts of their social context and the “soap opera” aspects of their stories, but it’s inaccurate and insulting to real-world people with similar demographics to suggest (as Tondro does by identifying these heroes with the minority hero archetype) that, if forced by circumstances to choose, Blue Beetle would always help a Latino before a non-Latino and Batwoman would always help a lesbian before a heterosexual or even a homosexual man. This wouldn’t bother me so much if the Field Guides didn’t have the “how-to” vibe, but they do. I would have been happier with this volume if the minority superhero archetype had been omitted altogether, or had been discussed as an historical chapter in comics with the advice “don’t make a demographic feature like ethnicity, gender, or sexual orientation the central feature of your superhero” instead of guiding readers on how to create such characters.

Fourth, there seems to me a strong undercurrent of sexism in the Field Guides, and it’s rather evident in Volume 3. Just a glance at the front cover will suggest the gender imbalance inside. The cover features the Watchdog, a male hero whose body is completely covered by his battlesuit; Spectrum, a male hero whose costume covers all but his eyes and a small amount of his forehead; and Mona Lisa, a female hero wearing a clingy knee-length skirt, a short-sleeved skintight blouse with a deep V neck, and no mask of any kind. Three female heroes are featured in the book; Mona Lisa has the quality “haunting beauty,” Dawn has the quality “gorgeous,” and Naga is illustrated with practically no clothes on. The only male in the book who has an aspect related to his looks is the Drifter, whose badly scarred face gives him the challenge “hideous appearance.” The frequent use of “man” and “mankind” as generic terms for humanity—even in the writeups for female characters—is awkward at best; note the phrasing “a representative of his … gender” when describing the minority hero, even though males are not generally considered a minority gender (statistically, we just might be a few percentage points behind females in total world population, but the term “minority” isn’t just about mathematics in this context). Elsewhere, Tondro tags Rachel Summers as a hero representing the man [sic] of tomorrow archetype; by contrast, to choose but one example, Catman is not tagged as representing the femme feline archetype in Vol. 2.

Finally, the credits page indicates that the volume was “editied [sic] by: Paula Rice”—not carefully enough, apparently, to prevent the misspelling of “edited," the odd hyphenation of “entertainment” in the middles of two lines in a row, the misspelling of “crucible” as “cruicible”—and that’s just on the credits page! The rate of grammatical and spelling errors is lower than that throughout the rest of the book, although a few errors crop up again and again. “Which” very often appears where “that” is needed; a noticeable number of punctuation marks are placed incorrectly relative to quotation marks (the fact that correct and incorrect positioning sometimes follow each other on adjacent lines of text shows the errors to be true errors, not stylistic choices). Spectrum’s specialties appear actually to be Mona Lisa’s, copied and pasted, instead of his own. There also seems to have been some kind of font embedding oversight or glitch during PDF generation; the sample heroes’ abilities do not appear in the same typeface used in volumes 1 and 2, and the effect of a compressed substitute sans serif font in the midst of all the comic-book lettering (Blambot) fonts is quite noticeable and jarring. Proper use of language matters, especially when you’re selling a product made of words; I would very much like to see Vigilance Press exercise more literary vigilance in future products.

Oh, and the PDF needs bookmarks. After the complaints about Vol. 1’s lack of bookmarks (recently remedied), I’m rather surprised that Vol. 3 doesn’t have any.

By now you may be wondering why I went all the way up to three stars, instead of why I didn’t go higher! I don’t think the volume’s problems should be hand-waved away, but they don’t go so far as to make the volume a bad purchase (as long as you know what you’re getting). The lengthy critiques above stem from my own need to explain as clearly as possible why I gave a mediocre rating to a product that I mostly like and can recommend (to mature readers). I’d rather have the book in my ICONS toolbox than to not have it. There’s a lot of very good content here for readers who approach the book with realistic expectations about what it will deliver. I’m looking forward to Vol. 4, and hope it will exceed expectations.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Field Guide to Superheroes Vol. 3 (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Field Guide to Superheroes Vol. 3 (ICONS)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/30/2011 14:49:16
A hefty collection of archetypes for the ICONS game. Lots of familiar territory here with some standard comic book archetypes. What I came here for was the Magician, Occult hero and the Psychic.

In all cases an archetype is presented with some explanatory notes on how this character works in the comics and the game. Examples from comics are given and ways to use the character. Then we also get a full write up of a ready to use character, either as an NPC or PC for your own games. Usually 4 pages per archetype.

Very good book for the price and now I want to pick up the first two as well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Moreau Files 2 (ICONS)
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/22/2011 18:57:06
This “Second Dispatch” adds two new characters to the Vigilance Press super-powered universe.

The Rukh bears some similarity to a cross between Ra’s al-Ghul’s personality and the Vulture’s power set. As an activist who works against both corrupt elements within his own country’s government and against U.S. interests, he presents some interest possibilities for forcing morally ambiguous decisions on superheroic PCs.

The Eyes of Medusa is an international terrorist organization run by Madame Medusa, who inherited the mantle of leadership from her mother. The product includes writeups for Madame Medusa herself and for Eyes of Medusa mooks. The difference in motivations between the original and current Madames Medusa—which I won’t spoil here—makes for an interesting twist.

Like its predecessor in the Moreau-1 Files series, however, this product is marred by extremely poor proofreading. The front cover and page headers refer (properly) to the high-flying Qameristanian activist as the “Rukh,” but the detailed write-up consistently spells his super-moniker as “Ruhk,” except for one obvious but uncorrected typo, “Ruhlk.” Even the product description page spells his name three ways: “Rukh,” “Ruhk,” and “Ruhl.” Madame Medusa’s personal name is spelled inconsistently as “Evelynn” or “Eveyln.” A variety of less noticeable grammatical errors pepper the product. Errors like this really shouldn’t slip by in a product so short. This could easily be a four-star product, maybe even rating five stars, if not for such sloppy production.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Moreau Files 2 (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wargames: Heroes and Villains of the Cold War (ICONS)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/19/2011 21:53:53
WHAT WORKS: General Venom's character design is very swell, and Vigilance Press again shows that ICONS can be used for more than just "animated series" type stuff that people seem to think it is limited to. The cover is also great, using trade dress that resembles a GI Joe action figure card. Venom, himself, is another fantastic example of how Vigilance pays homage to certain characters without ripping them off - While it is easy to see the image and the House of Serpents, combined with the GI Joe action figure call out, and think "Oh, it's Cobra Commander"...you would be dead wrong, as there are a number of elements included (even a bit of Iron Man), making Venom feel like a fleshed out character, rather than athinly veiled knock-off like you get in many supers products.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: While I'm not terribly hardcore in my ideology, I've figured out that I'm a biiiit to the right of the Vigilance Press guys - which is fine, as I think folks should feel free to believe what they believe until they start hurting someone else - but there were points where I was a tad uncomfortable with the first villain presented for the Wargames setting being presented as a worst case scenario for a superpowered Tea Partier. There were also a few points, especially in the Venom PDF, where the layout seemed to have a bit of wasted space that a different font size or something might have fixed.

CONCLUSION: The setting certainly has promise, although it is definitely in less politically "safe" territory than World War II, so it is possible that a given segment of the gaming population may not be thrilled with the presentation. It is absolutely worth getting while it's free, and if the Cold War-esque setting appeals to you, then it's probably worth purchasing as well. With a little tweak, Venom and the House of Serpents could easily be dropped into a number of settings (despite my comments above, I would have zero problem using him in a game - and could have much fun using him alongside The Patriot from the Villainomicon, in the right game, of course). Thumbs up on the overall presentation, just be aware that Wargames is NOT just WWII, with Russians inserted in place of Nazis.

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/06/tommys-take-o-
n-wargames-heroes-and.html

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wargames: Heroes and Villains of the Cold War (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Amazing Stories of WWII: Homefront Heroes (MM 3e)
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/29/2011 15:07:05
If your superheroic campaign had a golden age (World War II and thereabouts), Homefront Heroes will be useful for it. While the M&M statistic could have been better presented, they are still excellent character backgrounds and art as inspiration for your campaign’s history and early heroes, with the inexpensive price of this product it is well worth a look.

Amazing Stories of World War II: Homefront Heroes for Mutants and Masterminds (3rd Edition)is a 32-page PDF (29 pages less cover, credits and OGL) written by Steve Perrin and published by Vigilance Press.

The layout is a standard, dual column design and eminently readable. The cover and interior art is all full color, some period bits (ration book and coupons) are just flavor but the cover and interior art of the characters, done in four pieces each showing three of the heroes, by Jon Gibbons is quite amazing, almost worth the price of admission alone.

This product begins with a short discussion of the historical and publishing background to the homefront heroes, defining (for the purpose of this work) the golden age of comics, the involvement of the US in World War II (both pre and post Pearl Harbor), and some discussion on what life on the home front was like. Providing a useful, if general, primer to the period and setting.

Next come the heart of the book, twelve archetypes for the classic sorts of homefront heroes. Seven of which are taken from the original golden age comics and include such characters as: the Genius Kid, the 4F (someone who failed their medical exam to get into the military) and Other than Human (ghosts, spirits and aliens). The last five are from the modern look back upon the golden age and include: the Minority Hero, the Pacifist and the Rosie the Riveter-type heroine. A satisfactorily wide range of options is provided.

Each of the archetypes is given a completely written out hero or heroine to demonstrate how they work (and each also refers to classic comic book characters that fall within that archetype). All of these are quite fun from Captain Awesome, the genius kid with his roller skates and slingshot, to the crime fighting White Lady and the ghostly Brother Survivor. A wide and varied mix of inspiring characters for the setting. Unfortunately, the formatting on the game statistics is not as clear as one would wish for and the build could have been a bit tighter

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThruRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review. The majority of this review is reworked from my review of the ICONS version of Homefront Heroes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Stories of WWII: Homefront Heroes (MM 3e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Public Enemies (ICONS)
by Anon A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2011 22:32:07
Good book, especially for the price. The villians each had good hooks and backgrounds. They were not retreads of established characters - they were all fresh, and showed what coudl be done with the system.
I just wish they could have been longer. I would have paid twice as much for a little more. But, for the price it is great.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Public Enemies (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Field Guide to Superheroes Vol. 2 (ICONS)
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2011 16:19:17
This is a solid effort by Tondro. The example characters are a mixed bag in this book too, but seem to be better than Volume One. The Road Scholar is one of my favorites, and his new power of Super-Vehicle is a great addition to the ICONS system. The problems I have with it are relatively minor. The Inspiration is a nice addition too. I don't know how it will work in play, with the wrong game master, it might be used to short circuit adventures, and players who don't get enough information, might think it was a waste of a power, but it is a good idea.

I still think that the price for the page count is a little high. I think $5.00 would make it a better deal. The use of all caps makes reading long paragraphs difficult. The Jungle Hero and Feral Hero examples are a little too similar and could have been combined in my opinion.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Field Guide to Superheroes Vol. 2 (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Amazing Stories of WWII: Homefront Heroes (ICONS)
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/03/2011 13:38:34
If your superheroic campaign had a golden age (World War II and thereabouts), Homefront Heroes will be useful for it. Even if you just use the characters and art as inspiration for your campaign’s history and early heroes, it is more than worth the incredibly inexpensive price of this product.

Amazing Stories of World War II: Homefront Heroes for the ICONS Super Role-Playing Game is a 28-page PDF (24 pages less cover, credits and OGL) written by Steve Perrin and published by Vigilance Press.

The layout is a standard, dual column design and eminently readable. The cover and interior art is all full color, some period bits (ration book and coupons) are just flavor but the cover and interior art of the characters, done in four pieces each showing three of the heroes, by Jon Gibbons is quite amazing, almost worth the price of admission alone.

This product begins with a short discussion of the historical and publishing background to the homefront heroes, defining (for the purpose of this work) the golden age of comics, the involvement of the US in World War II (both pre and post Pearl Harbor), and some discussion on what life on the home front was like. Providing a useful, if general, primer to the period and setting.

Next come the heart of the book, twelve archetypes for the classic sorts of homefront heroes. Seven of which are taken from the original golden age comics and include such characters as: the Genius Kid, the 4F (someone who failed their medical exam to get into the military) and Other than Human (ghosts, spirits and aliens). The last five are from the modern look back upon the golden age and include: the Minority Hero, the Pacifist and the Rosie the Riveter-type heroine. A satisfactorily wide range of options.

Each of the archetypes is given a completely written out hero or heroine to demonstrate how they work (and each also refers to classic comic book characters that fall within that archetype). All of these are quite fun from Captain Awesome, the genius kid with his roller skates and slingshot, to the crime fighting White Lady and the ghostly Brother Survivor. A wide and varied mix of inspiring characters for the setting.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThruRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Stories of WWII: Homefront Heroes (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crown Guard: Heroes of WW II (M&M 3e)
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/27/2011 22:42:39
The same superheroes who populate the ICONS (and, I presume, BASH) versions of the “Crown Guard” appear here, statted out for Mutants & Masterminds 3e. I really enjoyed this presentation of a British-organized European superhero team from Vigilance's WWII setting. Although brief, the in-character comments either from the heroes themselves or associated characters add flavor. Since M&M stat blocks are a bit longer than ICONS stat blocks, this version of the booklet adds individual hero illustrations for Excalibur and Repulse. As with the ICONS version, I would have appreciated individual illustrations of the other characters, and a key for the group illustration on page 8. It isn't too hard to decipher, but a caption or key would have been nice anyway. The body text could also stand to be set in a more interesting typeface.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Crown Guard: Heroes of WW II (M&M 3e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

USHER Dossiers (ICONS)
by Joseph B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2011 13:30:42
Over the last decade, Charles Rice has shared bits and pieces of his amazing USHER superhero setting with us through various game systems (like d20 Modern) and publishers (RPGObjects and his own Vigilance Press), so I was thrilled to hear that he was doing this definitive work, this time for the ICONS system. The one thing that really impresses me is how the Vigilance Universe feels every bit as real as the Marvel and DC Universes - it makes you wish you could walk into a comic book shop and ask for the latest issue of Minuteman or Old Glory, or finally pick up a collector's copy of Amazing Stories of WWII #1 on eBay after years of searching. It's a great supers setting and the artwork by James Dawsey, Jon Gibbons, and Dan Houser really makes it come alive. This is a stellar piece of work and a great addition to the ICONS game system.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
USHER Dossiers (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

USHER Dossiers (ICONS)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/08/2011 10:51:46
The Good:

- Very nice supers universe with actual time progression, rather than Marvel/DC "floating time".
- An extensive history built to a jumping off point for your own campaign.
- As usual, the characters manage to feel inspired by existing comic characters without ever feeling like rip-offs.

The Bad:
- Some key players are still left undefined.
- The editing could have used much closer attention, as there appears to be two pictures that were swapped, at least one missing picture and noticeable typos.
- No table of contents or index.

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/02/tommys-take-o-
n-usher-dossiers.html

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Moreau Files 2 (ICONS)
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2011 13:30:58
if you're nostalgic for the days of the Marvel universe when Hydra was not the instigator of World War II, then you'll like this product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Moreau Files 2 (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 154 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG