RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Blitzkrieg London (ICONS)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/26/2010 16:48:00

Blitzkrieg London is a new adventure for ICONS by Vigilance Press, set in their World War II setting.


It is designed for people playing Vigilance Force, The Crown Guard or (possibly) The People's Revolution but as long as your PCs are anyone opposed to the Axis powers and operating in Europe, it shouldn't be too problematic to figure it out.


The Eugenics Brigade are about to launch a desperation assault on allied leaders, who are finalizing plans for D-Day, and the PCs are in London providing extra security.


It isn't a terribly complicated adventure, but it is very well organized, and a good bit of two-fisted fun. Over the course of the attack, the heroes will have the opportunity to fight Nazis on land, sea and air, as well as intervene in a superhero misunderstanding between the Crown Guard member Swordfish and a Captain America stand-in (who acts more like the USAGent).


I applaud them for providing tips on scaling every encounter, as well as tossing in extra "mini-challenges" to spice each encounter up. The adventure is only 17 pages (taking away the cover and OGL information), but is very well organized, making it rather user friendly. Unlike the Battlescenes released recently, however, there is little use if you're not wanting to play in WWII, and you will need at least the Eugenics Brigade PDF to get the most use out of this.


Great value for the price, as always.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blitzkrieg London (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vigilance Force: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
by Dan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2010 15:26:28

Lots of cool characters. The layout really needs redone. Character write-ups are cut in half over two pages a LOT. I'd rather have a couple extra pages, with full character write-ups not split up. Still, it's a great supplement.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vigilance Force: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Public Enemies (ICONS)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/19/2010 01:23:24

The Good: Another very interesting selection from Vigilance Press, as their setting gets revealed piece by piece. Some very powerful, but interesting, foes.


The Bad: One superteam was given the short end of the stick, development wise...standing out like sore thumbs against the rest of book.


For a full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogs-
pot.com/2010/10/tommys-take-on-public-enemies.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Public Enemies (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

People's Revolution: Villains of WWII (ICONS)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/12/2010 02:24:28

We have had the Americans, The Germans, The British and the Japanese...and now, we get the Russians.


This is an interesting product, as it can be used as a group of heroes in World War II, or a group of Villains in a Cold War era...and, either way, doesn't "officially" exist in the Vigilance Press chronology.


Up first is Red Hammer, a Russian supersoldier who essentially becomes kind of a Captain America/Superman to them. He is said to be immune to aging, which isn't mechanically represented anywhere in his stats. I think I understand why, as - aside from Immortality - there IS no "immune to Aging" power...though I think I might would have added Immunity with a new specification (since Immortality would mean he can't be killed, period). As it is, the only thing he has on his sheet that backs it up is Regeneration.


Night Witch is a female Russian pilot with control over electricity.


Ice Fang is a werewolf and soldier, who defends Russia but refuses to make an army of werewolves for them.


Trans-Siberian Express is Ice Fang's closest ally, a superspeedster. The two of them commonly coordinate together on ambushes.


The Red Legionnaire is kinda like what would happen if the Green Lantern ring fell in Russia.


Battle Czar really is kind of a Superman type for the People's Revolution, and is bitter that Red Hammer has assumed control of the team. This leads to potential internal conflicts because of the two.


Sovi-ape was Stalin's one successful attempt at cross-species Eugenics, a simian genius who feels alone in the world.


Revolutionary Fire, as the name sounds, controls flames, but he was also the cheerleader of the team, keeping morale up.


Killer Whale is an outcast from Oceana and a bitter rival of Swordfish of the Crown Guard.


Also included are the necessary rules for using them as a PC team, per the ICONS team rules.


Every character has art, with most of it being provided by Dan Houser and the rest by Jon Gibbons and Darren Calvert. It is a noticeable clash of styles again, but it's still awesome to see every character depicted. Personally, I didn't find the characters to be quite as inspired as in previous supplements, but the usability as heroes or villain, depending on the era, is tremendous. All in all, it's probably my least favorite entry in the line-up (especially among the villain teams), but that has as much to do with how high the bar has been set as anything...if you've enjoyed the series so far, no reason to stop now.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
People's Revolution: Villains of WWII (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battlescenes: Undead Stormtroopers (ICONS)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/12/2010 01:45:59

This is, apparently, the first in a series of "drop in and go" mini adventures, brought to you by Vigilance Press, who are offering up much awesomeness in their line of WWII PDFs.


SPOILER WARNING


Set in the waning months of the war, it is a last-ditch effort by the Nazis to bolster their numbers through the use of necromancy, raising the dead to become their new wave of soldiers. The main problem being that the dead hate the living.


Oops.


This is mitigated by mind control helmets on the commanding officers, which work so long as nothing removes the helmet.


The scenario is played very loosely, setting up the situation, and dropping the PCs into it (the Allies have figured out that the Nazis are up to something at Castle Grunwald, and arrive to see zombie being pumped out en masse)...from there, the whole thing is left very open. The castle and its guards are described (such as the troopers on jetpacks in the air), with the PCs getting to handle it however they see fit.


Important details are listed, along with two Optional Details (one involving a mystical artifact and the other allowing for an explosive conclusion to the Battlescene), and none of them contradict the rest, so they can all be used together.


Additionally, a couple of plot twists are provided, in case the GM feels like everything is going too smoothly.


Two pages of stats are included, for the various zombies, as well as the sorcerers powering the machine, and an optional megazombie foe.


It is not a complicated scenario, at all...but it is not meant to be. For $1, you get a few stat blocks, as well as an encounter that could take up an entire short session, depending on how it plays out. Combined with the PC teams provided in the other PDFs in the series, it could make for a great ICONS demo, or just a cool diversion in your game.


Honestly, you could even use it outside of the WWII timeline just by twisting things a bit, and maybe having the man responsible be Count Fenrise (see Eugenics Brigade) having survived the end of the war and hoping to cause the Nazis to rise once more (this time from the dead). Definitely buy it if you're digging the other PDFs in this series, it's well worth your dollar.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlescenes: Undead Stormtroopers (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

World of Arkara: Gazetteer of the Known World
by Pete S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2010 12:28:06

If you’re looking for a living fantasy setting (i.e. one that is still being actively developed) The World of Arkara is a solid product that accommodates almost all standard fantasy tropes and still manages to inject some new ideas for inspiration. The writing could have been a bit more polished, but as an overview of the setting, it does its job well enough that I’m interested to see how these areas are further developed. Rating 3.5.


Read the full review here: http://www.dragonsfoot.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=38-
&t=45736



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
World of Arkara: Gazetteer of the Known World
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pearl Harbor December: Villains of WWII (ICONS)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/08/2010 12:43:24

This is just cool...my favorite of the WWII releases by Vigilance Press thus far.


Pearl Harbor December are the Japanese superteam, who clashed heavily with Vigilance Force in WWII.


Every villain is given their Japanese name and approximate English translation...I'll be sticking with the English names for simplicity's sake.


Right off, we have the "cannon fodder" Savage Men...who are STOUT mutated raging madmen. Seriously...these guys are scary, with Strength and Prowess of 7 and Regeneration and Invulnerability of 5...possibly too good to be underlings.


My favorite member of Pearl Harbor December is the first unique member posted, the Matchless Warrior: a "simple warrior" who is capable of batting away darn near anything, including missiles, with his bo staff! Something about the concept just strikes me as being incredibly cool...he's my favorite character I've seen posted in these WWII PDFs so far.


Death Mask is an armored Japanese warrior...and by "Armored" I mean "Japanese Iron Man", flying through the air, firing energy blasts, etc.


Monster has the "soul of a poet in the body of a brute", but he's not your typical brick at ALL...he is much, much lighter on his feet than one would expect.


Sword Bearer is the Emperor's Personal Guard, carrying a ancient weather warping weapon.


Hypothermia is, powers-wise, a Japanese Iceman...though he has a soldier's temperment and not a joker's.


Rounding out the list is the immortal warrior Living Chronicle, who is actually ever scarier than just "immortal sword master".


This is my favorite of the releases so far, as the character work really comes into its own, especially with Matchless Warrior and Monster...moreso than the Nazis, these guys all have the capacity for being played as heroes as well, especially if you used them outside of a WWII setting.


Very high recommendation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pearl Harbor December: Villains of WWII (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crown Guard: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/04/2010 19:41:17

The latest in the ICONS WWII releases by Vigilance Press, The Crown Guard were the British super team that was fighting WWII before the US got involved, fending off the Eugenics Brigade.


Despite being outgunned and outmanned, the Crown Guard managed to keep Winston Churchill alive and convinced the Eugenics Brigade that they were better off attacking Russia than England.


As with Vigilance Force, this is a collection of heroes, so there is probably less utility for the average purchaser than there is with, say, a villain collection.


The PDF does include the necessary Team rules to fit the ICONS Team rules, if you wanted to run a Crown Guard game.


We get Big Ben, the prototypical giant brick.


Espirit is a French agent with phasing and invisibility, hence the name. Reminds me a lot of a random character I generated back for Marvel FASERIP who was ALSO a spy, and also had Mind Control...so I have a certain fondness for the character type.


Excalibur actually carries Excalibur, as well as a couple of other artifacts, making him a tough customer.


Grizzly is an animalistic Canadian hero, who seems a bit like a Wolverine riff taken the opposite direction from Marauder in Vigilance Force.


Illustrious is a bit of an enigma...a compulsive liar with amazing luck and an assumed name.


Ironclad is a living machine, the greatest creation of a dying scientist.


Repulse is The Crown Guard's Master of Magnetism.


Swordfish is the setting's answer to Namor/Aquaman.


Armorer is a supergenius inventor, trying to liberate his native Poland.


And last is John Bull, the only "successful" attempt at recreating the Nazi supersoldier project...leaving him with the appearance of a minotaur.


Again, like with Vigilance Force, there are a lot of obvious homages, but nothing I would call overtly ripped off. Even Swordfish feels like his own man and not like either Namor or Aquaman specifically.


There's the odd piece of art, but there is a big, group picture that you can use to suss out just who is who in the group. It's a good product in a good line...if World War II in ICONS interests you, then I recommend picking it up.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Crown Guard: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crown Guard: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2010 00:43:52

This series is really hitting its stride. I really like the background pieces with each character. Rather than generic third person origins, the backgrounds tend to be from the perspective of other characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eugenics Brigade: Villains of WWII (ICONS)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/28/2010 03:07:30

The Eugenics Brigade are the counter balance to the Vigilance Force. In fact, they are the reason Vigilance Force was formed, and they are far more useful because villains tend to be far more useful for a GM than heroes do.


One of my gripes from Vigilance Force is present here as well, as several characters don't get any art, though there seems to be more individual art here than there was in Vigilance Force.


The first villain we get is a scantily-clad, nazi slutbomb stereotype (though she is a ballerina and not a dominatrix) named Charismatic, and thankfully she gets a picture. She has a twin sister with Luck Control powers to complete the ensemble.


Fireproof is the Nazi answer to the fiery hero Old Glory, and War Hound plays the Sabretooth to Marauder's Wolverine.


The two that impress me the most are Uberkrieger and Ubermensch, the Super Soldier and the Super Man. Underkrieger is just UGLY, with a large rifle and metallic jaws, while Ubermensch is, thankfully, not nearly as versatile as the real Superman.


There are other villains, as well as some cannon fodder such as soldier in jetpacks, mystics and the rejects from the Eugenics program.


For $2 this offers much more bang for its back than its predecessor, due to villains simply being more useful, as noted above. Definite recommendation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eugenics Brigade: Villains of WWII (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vigilance Force: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/28/2010 02:25:07

Vigilance Force: Heroes of WWII is the first supplement for ICONS by Vigilance Press.


Here's the thing about ICONS: I want to like it, I really do. The whole package looks very charming. The Marvel FASERIP influence is great. The writing is just...I feel like too much got glossed over with a "Hey, if you don't like a rule, change it, champ!" approach. And in actual play, I didn't really feel like it held up.


Why am I saying all of this? Because there is some cool third party stuff coming out for ICONS, like ION Guard. Vigilance Force is the first book establishing a World War II setting for ICONS, and it is not all happy, Silver Age fun like the ICONS core leans towards. Instead, it comes across fairly hard nosed, with some very lovely, gritty art by Jon Gibbons (supplemented by art by Dan Houser which is nice, but a sharp contrast).


For $2, you get 14 pages of setting and superheroes, designed to be used as PCs for a WWII game. They do provide the Team Qualities, Challenges and Resources for those who wish to use the team rules in the ICONS rulebook.


There are some very cool characters here, my favorite being Freight Train, a super speed brick (not a combo you usually see outside of Superman). Agent Liberator is a lot like an amalgam of Captain America and The Comedian (from the Watchman) and Marauder sure seems heavily inspired by (though far from ripped off of, don't get me wrong) Wolverine.


In fact, there are very cool influences all over Vigilance Force that are nice homages and not just "serial numbers filed off".


The downsides? Unless I am just missing it, Captain Miracle has no backstory. Dan Houser contributes one piece, and it's fine, but it sticks out like a sore thumb next to Jon Gibbons. Not calling either style better than the other, just saying they clash...bad. I would have liked individual pics, instead of trying to figure out who was who in the group shot, personally. Finally, I don't run games with pregens, so for a guy like me, a team of superHEROES isn't incredibly useful. Not useLESS, just not the most useful. That said, for $2, there is some great inspiration in here.


I'd jump all over a BASH version, personally.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vigilance Force: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eugenics Brigade: Villains of WWII (ICONS)
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2010 09:48:52

I am a long time fan of Superhero games and have stacks and stacks of villains, heroes and challenges for my gaming groups. I find this selection of simply stated, Nazi villains to be in good company along side similar character folios from Villains and Vigilantes (Most Wanted series and Allies and Enemies) and many other hero systems, as well.
This book gives me what I generally look for in a villain book -- Villains! What better villains are there than history's most evil and broadly hated group of occultist neighbor haters, the Nazis? There are simply few things as satisfying as stopping Nazi activity in its tracks.
The book does not waste precious time (or printer ink) giving me a lot of build up or useless background information. I generally do not need to be told why Nazis are villains or, for that matter, who they were. Nazis are plug-and-play villains, tried and true bad guys, truly "evil" right out of the box.
The books title is a little misleading. The book contains villains, not stories. If you are looking for plot lines and pre-made adventures, this is not the best pick, but I suspect the title is likely a reference to the short but interesting backgrounds of the villains.
If you are looking for a simple and direct addition to your super hero campaign, then look no further. This is a good addition that will certainly give you a strong cross section of creative characters. Mad scientists, supersoldiers, occult overtones and questionable sciences abound in this nicely priced book of villains.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eugenics Brigade: Villains of WWII (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vigilance Force: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2010 00:31:46

It's worth mentioning that Vigilance Force is the first in a series of pdfs. On it's own, it's probably a 2 star product because, while it provides standard Golden Age heroic fare, the writeups reference villains and other heroes not given herein. But, if you're willing to invest the $2.00 a week to buy the chapters of "Amazing Adventures of World War II" as they come out, you'll have a solid product before too long.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vigilance Force: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eugenics Brigade: Villains of WWII (ICONS)
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2010 00:23:23

I rate Eugenics Brigade with 4 stars because it is merely a chapter of a serialized whole. It is not a stand-alone supplement. The write-ups are good, and I'm enjoying this series because it's a little grittier than Adamant's ICONverse so far.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eugenics Brigade: Villains of WWII (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Old School Magic
by Pete S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2010 03:26:54

Overall Impressions
This is a really good product for those looking for new spells, new archetypes, alternate spell systems, or different treatments of magic levels. The writing is generally conversational in tone and the information is presented clearly. The first few sections in particular are very interesting reads; I particularly liked the treatment of the low magic setting and the inclusion of archetypes more fitting such a setting than the ones presented in the core rules. Definitely well worth the cost of admission.


Read the full review here: http-
://www.therpgsite.com/showthread.php?t=18168



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Old School Magic
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 121 to 135 (of 179 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG