RPGNow.com
Find Category













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Giorgio P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2017 09:21:15

Un'ottima avventura introduttiva, facilmente gestibile soprattutto per giocatori neofiti. Unica pecca: è particolarmente lunga, impossibile affrontare tutti e 5 gli scenari in appena 5 ore; comunque con un pò di gioco collaborativo tra piu tavoli si riesce a completare il modulo. 4/5



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Swords & Spells (0e)
by george c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 20:09:45

I got the print copy of this book and I am very happy with the quality!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords & Spells (0e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX03-14 Death on the Wall (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 17:08:37

I confess, this is a weird one to rate. On the one hand, the PCs who had done all of the other Tier 1, Season 3 adventures were all in. On the second hand, the new player at the table could not grasp/come to grips with the mission. On the gripping hand, this is a nice RP adventure. You can totally get into the RP of the stealthy portion of the module. I enjoyed the writing, as it allowed the "clankers" of the group to get some RP/Stealth type opportunities. The final fight was ... unusual. My group ended with separate combats, with the faction assignments coming into play i.e. "NO, DON'T KILL HIM!!!" I actually thought that the build up would make the boss a bit tougher (lair actions?, but that is the joy of the DM - empower yourself to improve the NPC to make it a fight.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-14 Death on the Wall (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 16:57:42

Personally, I had a blast whether I was a player or a DM. Quite a bit of RP at the beginning, and a really big fight at the end. Quite honestly, you could easily TPK in the boss fight. I love to reward inspiration if players get into the RP, and my group went whole hog. Every one of my players had at least 1 inspiration, which they all used in the boss fight (mainly for saves). The final fight can be scaled according to your group, as all DDEX modules can be, but forcing PC vs. PC combat can get really weird for a group if they are not experienced.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 16:50:59

A nice detective story with a solid fight at the end. Performing the investigation is straightforward - with a fight if the party goes that direction. IF, and I do mean IF, the party succeeds on their perception checks this can run faster than expected, as they will encounter the boss fight early. I personally buffed it up a bit to make it a challenge. (Strong versus average). I liked it, but I wish the party had been more straight forward in their approach and taken on everything the module had to offer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 16:44:54

Disclaimer-I have only run this once, and with a weak party. I love the concept - a creepy and mysterious carnival! Who doesn't have flashbacks of the county fair as a kid? Trying to herd the cats of my group was a challenge - all they wanted to do was fight. A great adventure for RP though. I had a blast. And the magic item was fun - I had a bard in the group who used it well in later adventures "Oh God, not that again???" And if you get the chance to play the related CCC, then this is an awesome lead in. High for a RP group, low averae for a combat group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 16:38:59

A nice outdoors adventure. Lots of choices to be made from the PC perspective. That being said, I have never managed to run this in less than 5 hours. The chase sequence with a large party can get bogged down really badly (especially if the party or a single PC tries something outside the box) The final fight is almost a letdown after the big chase. If you have a lot of Zhents playing CN, then the module can take a totally different direction, which may require a lot of DM improvisation. Still, it was fun to run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
by Siu K. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 02:25:05

I had massive apprehension about running this module, hearing most requires more than an hour. Turns out, it's true, but surprisingly not by that much if you can set the pace. All said and done though, the 5 modules do not appear to be of equal quality. The Lords' Alliance mission (1) is actually the kindest to the players and the DM, giving you (DM) appropriate advice on how to keep players well-rewarded (both in story and in terms of not spending too much real life time) for utilising their resources well. The Zhentarim (3) is one of the most well-written but also the most vexing, with minimum clues given on how to guide the players away from potential traps and towards what they wish to look for. I personally enjoyed the Emerald Enclave one (2) the most, given the role-playing potential and the actual feeling that you're doing something constructive, and most players of like mind would agree.

Also, do note that when they say the adventure is optimised for level 5 characters, they're really not kidding. Level 5 PCs would find the challenge decent and rewarding, but higher level ones may be turned off by how easy it is (even if you use the Hard settings). Do adjust appropriately, keeping in mind your player tendencies.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
by Siu K. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 02:17:24

Despite the 5-star rating, I'd give due warning first: the adventure is most enjoyable if you're willing to let go of the 2-hours that it's supposed to be run for. The craziness of sending 3-7 adventurers to rescue 20+ dwarves from 30+ ogres aside, there are incredible potential in this module, allowing PCs to employ plenty of creativity. Do push them for the Set Piece finale, the players would really thank you for it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Siu K. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 02:12:55

An adventure that brings plenty of excitement into what would otherwise be a trope - caravan guarding. The sandstorm encounter is especially well-written, allowing players to employ their creativity and use whatever limited resources they have. Thinking out of the box is highly encouraged here, and I do recommend a liberal attitude when it comes to rewarding players for good roleplay and creativity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
by Siu K. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 02:10:44

A lovely adventure to introduce new players and to show them the potential of good role-playing. Playing out all the wonderful NPCs of Parnast really adds flavour to the story and gets the players (who you hope are mostly neutral aligned) to be invested in rescuing them and their plight. While it starts off a little goofy (the lack of game and good meat sounds like a problem that's not really a problem), the greenhorn heroes actually could end up feeling heroic for the friendship they can potentially forge, and not just in the village, of course.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
by Siu K. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 02:03:17

A flavourful module of the Underdark, featuring some of adventurers' worst nightmares. You can tell an excellent story with adventurers through their encounters in the den and it should keep them on their toes and leave them some lasting memories. However, there remain some undesirable portions, such as trying to figure the motivation of the final boss, and wondering why he would not be any more intelligent given his species.

To really draw out the story potential, the DM would have to spend some time to research the lore of the mind flayers and be creative with how to run the final boss encounter. Assuming you're not there to totally murder the adventurers, try to prevent save-or-die scenarios and give the adventurers a real chance to save themselves.

(One point to note - a consumed brain would mean adventurers need access to Resurrection or Reincarnation to continue playing their characters, both options not likely available at their levels).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
by Mark C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2017 16:58:12

Excellent adventure with a bevy of great NPCs and lots of incentive to roleplay. Outstanding.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Mark C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2017 16:55:08

Fun module with very creative encounters. Because some of the encounters were so different, some parts weren't as intuitve but are worth investing time in to get right.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
by Colin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2017 13:40:45

I've run this once, and I have mixed feelings about this module.

Like many AL mods, there are numerous errors (e.g., misspellings, extraneous words leftover from old edits, maps without labels, etc.). Equally frustrating, there are a number of instances where some boxed text description of the scene would be helpfu. Instead, you are given information you, as the DM, will have to cobble together into a coherent narrative; not ideal for one-hour adventures, which really should give the DM all the help they can get. So, be warned: you will really need to do your homework to sort through errors, missing info, typos to craft a coherent narrative for the players.

Looking at the actual story and game play, this one falls squarely into the typical introductory adventure mod. This is a series of vignettes loosely tied together (errands for your faction bosses), so if you didn't like 7-01 or any of the past season "01's", you probably won't be a fan.

All in all, I liked half of the content, which is par for the intro-mod-course for me.

Mild Spoilers

  • The first adventure is focused around a simple puzzle, which I feel could have used some better description in places. Honestly, it ended up being a throw-away adventure of two quick combats and the puzzle. I will say, the temple of doom-ish aesthetic was cool - a few "ughs" and sour faces from the players.

  • The second adventure is a diplomacy and combat-focused jaunt, and on the whole liked. The players have a chance to really get into trouble if they murder-hobo their way through it, but otherwise have a nice chance for some roleplay. The battle is actually a solid challenge, and my players had fun with it. There are elements regarding the journey to the fortress that are rough (so like I said, do your homework to clean it up), but all-in-all can be a highlight.

  • The third adventure is a big roleplay opportunity, and it might be my favorite of them all if it wasn't limited to an hour. I won't spoil anything, but it was a ball for me and my players. Again, it was really only mired by time constraints, which forced me to skip a lot of content. I wish they'd allowed this one to be a two-hour mod and cut one of the weaker ones.

  • The fourth adventure is a puzzle and combat-heavier adventure. It's solid. The puzzle actually challenged my players a little (and punished them for their struggles). The combats were fairly cut-and-paste, but provided some challenge if the DM is clever. Sadly, the final battle just did not work as the author intended. Environmental hazzards just didn't come into play as the players ended it all very quickly.

  • The fifth adventure is one I want to like, but it has some issues. The first half is rough - it hinges on not getting into it with the shrine's inhabitants and trusting a disembodied voice of a god they may know nothing about. Again, as the DM, you'll have to really be on your toes to make it all work. The final battle was pretty good though - a real challenge if run right. Again, the environmental goodies just didn't factor in. But the players enjoyed it.

A couple of final recommendations:

  • Adhere strongly to the average party level (and size written for: 5 players). The power scaling just doesn't really work very well, especially with larger parties. I think that may just be the challenge inherrent in one-hour adventures.
  • Although the players have a chance to pick which adventures they do when, I recommend leaving the last two for last. Otherwise, the progression will feel anti-climatic if you are running all five at once.


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 3502 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG