RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
L1 The Secret of Bone Hill (1e)
by C. T. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2014 20:13:07
It is true that the scan is poor. The papers that were scanned obviously were used by a Dungeon Master at some point because one can see the faded pencil marks where monster hp counts were crossed out. That said, the adventure is a fun one and -- as I am doing at this point -- converting it for 5th Edition use is easy as pie.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
L1 The Secret of Bone Hill (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

T1-4 Temple of Elemental Evil (1e)
by Sean B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2014 13:47:02
Awesome classic. Hommlet is a brilliant set up for a campaign headquarters with stories and characters. Just the setting alone is worth it.

Worthy purchase of classic material.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
T1-4 Temple of Elemental Evil (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

N4 Treasure Hunt (1e)
by Sean B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2014 13:44:54
Very fun starter adventure. The group had a howl running through it. I think maybe a little rough for the 0 level starting characters included, as my players had some trouble with it even using 1st level characters of their own.

But the presentation is good, and our group had a fun time running around, freezing and virtually weaponless.

Definitely a good starter module for new players, or experienced players beginning a new campaign.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
N4 Treasure Hunt (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

N2 The Forest Oracle (1e)
by Sean B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2014 13:41:46
Poorly written adventure from the grand old days. Ran my group through it for a lark, but there were definitely things that needed to be re-tooled in order to make some actual sense.

Seems like it was written by a 13 year old, with no attention to consistency or logic.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
N2 The Forest Oracle (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Player's Secrets of Khourane (2e)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/20/2014 08:16:42
Describing a beautiful coastal domain within the Birthright setting, this product provides all the information that you need to play the ruler of Khourane... or, if you are not running a classic Birthright game it provides a richly-detailed realm in which many an adventure may be had.

It opens with a personal letter, delivered in a rather soggy condition in a fancy flying scroll case, from the last ruler (or emira) to her successor, in which she speaks of various threats to the realm and warns about those who would do it harm. Next comes the history of Khourane from the earliest times right up to the present, followed by its geography and other pertinent details. There are thirteen provinces each with its own distinctive features - settlements, flora and fauna, resources and even local peculiarities - to assimilate.

This is followed by notes on culture, an ancient one as these are some of the lands first settled long ago. There is a fascinating 'Code of Colours' that attributes significance to the colour of an item you might choose to give to someone - get it right or cause untold embarassment (or amusement)!

Education is highly valued by the people of Khourane: they send their children to school as soon as they can walk for socialisation lessons in which they learn correct behaviour and good manners as well as get opportunities for directed play. From there aged around 4 they move on to more formal education, whilst being observed so that particular talents may be spotted early and nutured. Teachers are highly regarded, while the study of magic is regarded as the pinnacle of achievement. Life-long learning is well-supported too.

Government, religious festivals and other holidays follow, along with a map of the main city and a collection of notable NPCs who may help or hinder a new ruler's reign. The assets and holdings pertaining to the throne are also detailed including a magnificent cliff-top palace overlooking the sea. Finally there's a selection of rumours, secrets and plots to get your imagination going.

Whether you aim to rule or just visit, Khourane sounds a fascinating and exotic place.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Secrets of Khourane (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Scarlet Brotherhood (2e)
by Nicola R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2014 09:24:49
The Quality of the PDF is absolutely LOW. The Pages are not even straight! I wasted my money on this product, the quality is bad, and also there aren't the maps that came with the book. I want my money back!
The Book itself is good, but we already knew that. so I am rating the product's quality.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Scarlet Brotherhood (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D&D RPG Starter Set "Quickstart" (4e)
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2014 07:01:03
This is an excellent tool for those wanting to start playing the game without wanting to be overwhelmed by the options in the PHB, or for those in need of quick CSes because they were lazy and the new campaign begins in 20 minutes. I definitely recommend this for everyone, especially considering that it's free!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D RPG Starter Set "Quickstart" (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Awakening (2e)
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/05/2014 15:07:22
Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/10/31/tabletop-review-ravenlo-
ft-the-awakening-advanced-dungeons-dragons-second-edition/r />
What better way to say Happy Halloween here at Diehard GameFAN than do review an adventure for what is arguably the best horror-fantasy setting of all time – Ravenloft? Earlier this week Wizards of the Coast released a digital copy of The Awakening on DriveThruRPG and DNDClassics.com. I remember playing/running this adventure back in high school and having a ball with it, so I’m glad to see it being available to the general public once again. Sure the average gamer is preoccupied with FIFTH Edition D&D and 2e AD&D is more of a fond memory (unless you exclusively retrogame), but Second Edition Advanced Dungeons & Dragons has always been my favorite edition, so I’m glad to see WotC is still supporting it through digital re-releases.

For me The Awakening really represents how creative and user-friendly adventures were back in the mid 90s. Nowadays a lot of fantasy adventures are little more than dungeon crawls save for those put out by Troll Lord Games and LotFP, so I do feel that even if you don’t play RavenloftThe Awakening is well worth picking up just to see how an adventure is done right.

First, let’s talk the size of this adventure. You get 69 pages for only $5. A lot of published adventures from the modern era of game run under thirty pages and cost more than that, so this is a great deal. Besides the adventure itself, you get an Introduction and quick overview of Nova Vassa – the country The Awakening takes place in. The Nova Vassa section is pretty detailed and allows someone to run the adventure without owning the Ravenloft boxed set or Domains of Dread core rulebook that eventually replaced it. You also get a ton of maps, three new monsters, a set of stats for the Darklord of Nova Vassa (even though you probably don’t need them) and a huge section on the core antagonist that details her background, personality, fighting style and more. There’s more back story given to this one shot villain than most adventures these days give to their entire cadre of cannon fodder. Finally, the adventure is long enough that it could easily be turned into a mini-campaign. The core antagonist is a recurring one (in a very unique way to boot) and so it would take little work for a DM to pad this out to run through multiple sessions. The Awakening is an extremely well-written, detailed and flexible piece and re-reading this after so many years really made me miss when the average adventure were given this high of a page count and writers could really go all out.

Of course, it’s not perfect. The Awakening constantly makes references to other releases that the author feels you should read (or preferably own) to truly let the adventure reach its maximum potential. Granted they help, but you certainly don’t need any of the mentioned books to actually play The Awakening. So while everything from Van Richten’s Guide to the Ancient Dead, the Tome of Magic and Legends and Lore are mentioned and encouraged to be used in conjunction with The Awakening, it’s not like, say, some Pathfinder adventures, where close to a dozen books are not only referenced but you actually DO need them to get some bit of mechanic or stat block to play the adventure. Bleck.

One of the things that really makes The Awakening fun is how it turns several fantasy tropes on its head. Here the core bad guy is a corrupted undead priest of Bast – an Egyptian goddess that is usually good aligned and known to help humanity out. Heck, even in Call of Cthulhu, Bast is a friendly otherworldly being. Most players familiar with Bast won’t see this twist coming. Even better, guess who is the god that willingly helps the PCs out? SET! That’s right the Egyptian god of darkness and the antediluvian of my favorite Vampire: the Masquerade clan. Because Set is usually portrayed in fantasy games as a god of evil (rather than darkness), he’s perhaps the last one you would expect to help out good-aligned PCs, especially in Ravenloft of all place. So this is another curveball thrown to the PCs. Another nifty aspect of the adventure is that only a small part of it is a dungeon crawl. Back in the days of Basic D&D and even 1e AD&D, a lot of adventures were pretty much dungeon crawl with the monsters or setting acting as mere window dressing. With 2e, people really started getting creative. Sure there would be a dungeon but it would be the climax of the adventure or merely a small part of an overall story. This was especially true with Ravenloft or Planescape where there wasn’t any real way to put a megadungeon in that would make sense. Here about half of the adventure is wandering around Nova Vassa setting up the reason and purpose for entering a large Egyptian style tomb. The good news is for those that like dungeon crawls, the dungeon in The Awakening is a very big diverse one, with rooms of different shapes and sizes…but also traps, pits, threats and monsters to boot. Sure there is a common theme of cats and Egyptian motif, but trust me, the entire adventure is a pretty unique experience that will stick with you long after you have completed it.

The best part of the adventure comes with the recurring main villain. When you first encounter her, she goes down pretty easily. Then she comes back. Each time the PCs strike her down, she arises with even more power, guile and intelligence. Only through putting the pieces of a great puzzle together will you discover the source of the villain’s ability to return from the dead so easily. Of course, since this is Ravenloft, even when you win the battle, darkness still wins. After all, the PCs HAVE to ally with Set to take down the big bad of this piece and that can’t possibly be a good thing, ESPECIALLY in a place that requires Powers Checks, right? Once the adventure is done, you are given ways to extend the adventure via the remaining plot threads, which makes this adventure an even more fantastic deal than it was already. It’s the gift that keeps on giving.

Whether you want to use The Awakening as a one-time stop in the Domain of Dread, or you want to use it to start a full blown Ravenloft campaign, the adventure is a wonderful piece that highlights how creative adventure writers were really getting in the mid-90s. It’s a fine showcase of how to blend horror and high fantasy into a memorable adventure and the price tag for such a high page count (especially for something long out of print) makes this an adventure I can recommend both easily and quite highly.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Awakening (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
by Leichtdog B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2014 15:14:00
This may be good for little kids, but I doubt it. It's definitely not good for adults; it's too simple, among other things. Also, this game has nothing to do with D&D.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forgotten Realms Adventures (2e)
by Brett D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2014 07:23:31
Not bad, but this is a weird book as it's most definitely coverage for the 1st edition to 2nd edition conversion for AD&D. The 'Travel Guide' info is limited to one region, so you may want to go elsewhere if you're looking for a general overview of the Forgotten Realms setting.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Realms Adventures (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Van Richten's Monster Hunter's Compendium, Vol 2 (2e)
by Billy L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2014 20:14:53
This pdf is a sloppy mess. The scans aren't cropped, the pages are not centered or straightened.
This is an unprofessional attempt to digitally convert a product that deserves better.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Van Richten's Monster Hunter's Compendium, Vol 2 (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forgotten Realms Campaign Setting (3e)
by Luca R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2014 13:43:02
An easy guide to get information across the chaos of the Forgotten Realms.
I would like it to go more deep with details.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Realms Campaign Setting (3e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

X3 Curse of Xanathon (Basic)
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2014 02:50:01
Curse of Xanathon is really bad apple for a published module you are expected to pay for. If these would be someones campaign notes offered for free my tone would be different.. Illogical and railroaded adventure that does not even have anything special, weird or gonzo to redeem it from utter mediocrity. DM really has to shine and take extra effort to make this work, I have been lucky enough to play this module with one and after getting the PDF to satisfy my curiosity my it is my respect for the DM that rose.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
X3 Curse of Xanathon (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Forgotten Realms Atlas (2e)
by Jeff G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2014 06:26:56
This was once one of my most treasured gaming books. It had a wealth of information and it was easy to 'follow along' with many of the novels released about the wild frontier of D&D that was Forgotten Realms. I had already read the bulk of those novels when I got this tome, and it was easy to go back and see where the events of note happened.

The scan is really clean, almost looks like it was from an original digital source though the era this book is from makes that unlikely.

If the fact that I've rated this poorly for a title that shows so much nostalgia for me is confusing, there is a serious issue with this product that significantly aggravates me.

Because of the way "Two Page" mode works with PDF readers, the publisher and/or producers of this product needed to add an extra page to offset the cover scan. They failed to do this. Thus on every map that was meant to be spread across the spine of the book, are seperated from their proper page siblings. This sounds like a quibble to some, but for those of us with widescreen displays that could easily view two pages at 100% or higher zoom, its really annoying.

The preview only shows the title and first six pages which are all front-matter and one-half of a map. It makes it impossible to see pre-purchase that the maps meant to be facing one another are split apart.


Perhaps the worst part of this mess is that if they had put in a single blank page between the front cover and the beginning of the front-matter, this would not have happened.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Forgotten Realms Atlas (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forgotten Realms Campaign Setting (3e)
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2014 04:46:16
This is not a review of the source material, but of the quality of the pdf.

The resolution of all the pages is very good. The images look brilliant (like you had the hardcover in hands) and all texts are readable. Not only that, the document is completely searchable, which is a must have for PDFs as I see it.

On the downside there are only thumbnails for the first two chapters in my download. I guess this will change in later releases, but for now that takes away the 5th star of my rating. Another star is subtracted for the lack of links in the document. I don't expect a fully linked document, but links from the Table of Contents to the different chapters of the book would be enough to make this book a lot more useable and thus earn another star.

Overall I'm satisfied with my purchase. To earn a full 5 star rating, some "modern" pdf features are still missing.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Realms Campaign Setting (3e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1411 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG