RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
World of Greyhawk Fantasy Game Setting (1e)
by Forest B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2016 14:21:42

The scans are good quality, except for one thing. The map scans show no quality control. The originals were identically sized in the boxed set and could be mounted side-by-side, were scanned as two different resolutions in this PDF (22.18 x 34.85 in and 26.04 x 40.47 in, respectively). So much for printing in color and framing as poster to recreate the original. I would not have bought had I known how far off it was...and since its PDF, I cannot even attempt to scale it in Photoshop. Wish I could refund, is of no use to me as is.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
World of Greyhawk Fantasy Game Setting (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
by Richard H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2016 13:10:31

Haven't played it yet, but looks like a great, thorough, complete intro to another adventure line.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pregen Characters: Wood Elf Ranger (5e)
by Richard H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2016 13:09:34

The pregen character packs are extremely useful. I personally wish they were also equipped with appropriate magic items.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pregen Characters: Wood Elf Ranger (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2016 15:45:19

I have been with the adventures league from the start and once again the 5 mini adventures to kick of the new season do not dissapoint. These are fun quick little intro adventures that are a great way to teach a new player and get them started in AL. If you are using these for a home campaighn each of these small adventuers can easily be fleshed out more for the taste of your group. If you are a DM and need something quick to run when you get some new players on your game night at your flgs these are always good to have in your bag of holding.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by ES B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2016 20:07:42

There is a lot to like in this series of 5 mini-adventures. Each "dungeon" is only 1-2 rooms, but is unique and includes a creative encounter (guardians, tricks, traps, etc). One in particular my PCs will find hilarious. The set up is simple and straightforward - PCs are traveling to meet a treasure hunter, finds her dead, and recovers directions to 5 hidden treasures. The adventures plants the seed for conflicts amongst giants to set the stage for the rest of AL.


I would have liked to have seen a bit more description of Parnast and how it has changed since HOTDQ. I also thought the resolution for each dungeon was a bit lame (because or repetition). The author missed a great opportunity to place interesting and lore-filled historical treasure.


In the end, I probably won't use all 5 adventures, but I'll have fun with the ones that I do use!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
I7 Baltron's Beacon (1e)
by Bodhi M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2016 19:52:08

The elegant and simple, yet also surprisingly complex adventure within is a wonder to read, and astounding to play. The background is easy to fit into any world, whether it be a home brew, or one of the many D&D worlds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
I7 Baltron's Beacon (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by Christopher J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2016 12:49:16

Picked this adventure up and plan to run it this Friday night for a group, also snagged the maps from Travis. Looking forward to this and glad to see that the puzzles made it back in!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Storm King's Thunder DM Quests
by Mike V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2016 11:11:23

I'm starting Storm King's Thunder this weekend. This product is a great way to add more stuff to the adventure to draw the players into the story and world. The encounters are very well done with all the stats, where they can happen, treasure (especially non-magical stuff with lots of flavor to add to the story), as well as how to use this as a springboard to more side adventures if need be. Very well done. I will definitely be looking for more of their products in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Storm King's Thunder DM Quests
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by adam o. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2016 16:17:45

Its all combat, maps are tiny little more than 1 room, only 1 true rp conversation, This module is just bad nothing like the past seasons. I guess the upside is when it says 5 one hour mini adventures they right on the money for once becuase they seem like they will each take at max 1.5 hours. So if you want short combat only missions that last about an hour this is for you otherwise pass on this one hopefully the next one will be better.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
by Timothy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2016 09:51:42

This was the first adventure I ran for 5e, and I have probably ran it dozens of times. It still holds up as a fast, easy intro to the game and to adventurers league play. Now it comes with a fantasy grounds mod, which makes it even better and easier to run. Great for 1st time DMs and 1st time players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
by Timothy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2016 09:49:41

This is a fun adventure, and it deals with an interesting foe. It is also a 2 hour tier 2 adventure, which is awesome. Now that it comes with a fantasy grounds mod, it is an even better value. I recommend you pick it up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-07 The Innocent (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2016 09:52:36

DDAL04-07 The Innocent is the seventh adventure for Season 4, which is also titled "Part Four of Misty Fortunes and Absent Hearts". This review does contain some spoilers, so please do not read below if you haven't played the adventure. The reviewer has played and run the adventure.


The Innocent is the first adventure of levels 5th - 10th offered for Season 4. This adventure has a plot is at times confusing ... and if FAR from fascinating. While playing this adventure I got the feeling that the DM was not happy with what she was reading, and after running it I know exactly why. While there are one or two Ravenloft-ish elements and individual good encounters, this module and it's slew of evil humanoids does not belong in the Domain of Dread. You could easily move it back to the Forgotten Realms and it would make much more sense in some respects.


The Plot
I had to read the first few pages of this adventure several times to understand what was going on, mostly because I could not wrap my brain around how confusing it was. The plot focuses on the "second obsession", which is just an awful choice and for me was very NOT Ravenloft. In addition, the appearance of a mysterious "Visitor" to rationalize the bad plot was also confusing and just poor writing and editing. I also attribute this to the whole "Obsessions" plot device of Season 4, which I'm guessing few if any authors (and nearly 100% of DM) were/are aware of what the heck is actually going on. Again, a plot overview of this season with specific as to what the heck is happening might help, but is missing again. Very unfortunate.


Humanoids
My other, and larger, complaint with this adventure is it does not feel like Ravenloft due to all the monstrous evil humanoids. Trolls, yuan-ti, and orcs lead the charge here, and I can't disagree more. Sure, the original Ravenloft may have had a few of these (mostly due to the fact it was larger and more flushed out), but the new CURSE OF STRAHD adventure book has no mention of ANY of these creatures. Why do this? Likely because it's a quick easy thing to do than come up with a better plot involving humans and/or undead, or the editors/Season planners are already out of ideas seven adventures into the season.


Winter?
I thought the timeline in Barovia was ... winter? It even says it is the dark and weary winter on page 6 of every Season 4 module.The Innocent starts out in a mucky swamp during a thunderstorm with no explanation or plot devices. I've been through thunderstorms in winter, so why not use that as a plot device? Apparently the writer and editors don't care, forgot, or aren't good enough to mold this into the plot somehow.


Encounters
Again, there were good and bad encounters, if you look at the adventure in a general sense. When applied to Ravenloft, it is a much larger failure. Examples are:


Swamp: Once again, every non-random encounter is 2-3 days apart. That is a heck of a lot of traveling across the lands of Barovia that from a terrain perspective is not really viable.


Trolls: In addition to not belonging in Ravenloft, the use of trolls is written extremely poorly. The name of the encounter is "You No Be Here!", and the only dialogue from the trolls is: “We’re enemies,” one of them growls in a gravelly voice. I just love trolls that can suddenly use contractions and the author can't write encounter titles with them ... don't you?


The Ghost: One of the better parts of this adventure is the use of the ghost Sari. One of the few Ravenloft-ish parts of the adventure, and it works well to move the party along.


Vardo: The party comes across a man in a sunken vardo. OK, not bad, until you read on. There is no mention of how the vardo got there, no mention of horses that pulled it, and the mechanics on how to rescue the Vistani terrible need to be streamlined. After failing a couple of rolls and saves, my players left him in the mud. When I played this adventure, the DM cut is out entirely.


Skull: Best encounter of the adventure ... but ... last time I checked there are no dragons in Ravenloft. However, this can be overlooked if just the skull was pulled in or maybe was an old dracolich, but that is never discussed. Still, an original encounter that was at least not as bad as the previous one. This is also listed as optional, which is a shame since the vardo one should have been.


Finale: (w/o too many spoilers) By the time I was done reading (and running) the final encounter, I was bored with this event and just wanted it to be over due to the skewing towards evil humanoids. There was no reason it could not have been humans and undead or anything more Ravenloft, which would have made more sense than orcs and yuan-ti. And the whole "mysterious Visitor" angle also had me bored by the end since it seemed like a cop-out to make a poorly written plot work.


Magic Item
Finally ... a decent magic item! And, the party actually has to work for it by killing the adventure's "bad guy". I'm surprised the AL editors didn't dip it in blood first, or have permanent maggots crawling all over it to make it always disgusting - which has been the norm to date. This item and the googles from 4-4 are so far the best items to date, and actually useful going forward.


Overall
I wish I could give this adventure 1 1/2 stars, but we'll bump it to 2-stars just for the decent magic item and the skull encounter. If this was a straight-up FR adventure with a few different plot twists it would have been at least 3-stars. Either the author did a bad job at writing a Ravenloft adventure, the staff has poor ideas they send to their writers, or the editors did a terrible job at hacking it into a Ravenloft scenario. Once again a confusing and poorly written plot slithers past the AL editors out to an already disappointed fan base. Not very fascinating at all.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-07 The Innocent (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Undermountain: Halaster's Lost Apprentice (4e)
by Ken C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2016 06:45:51

Being the only hard cover I dont have in the 4e Encounter series, having started just after this one was released, I was pleased to see this one released in PDF form. Loved reading it and looking forward to running it in a modified 5e version in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Undermountain: Halaster's Lost Apprentice (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eberron Campaign Setting (3e)
by Shaun O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2016 16:28:45

Good:



  • Asthetics, awesome artwork.

  • Information/text is very clear to read and it's very well set out.


Bad:



  • Artwork was not rendered down ('flattened') into background images - the PDF is filled with extensive, seperate images which, for the few pages either side of the current page, need to be re-rendered every time you move from one page to the next. This slows the application down dramaticlally.

  • Difficult to quickly move from one part of the document to the other (even from one page to the next) making it very difficult to use in-game - Big dissapointment.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Eberron Campaign Setting (3e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

World Builder's Guidebook (2e)
by William E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2016 16:16:26

If an individual is interested in world building this is an awesome supplement. There are tables for randomness, or an individual may use the items in the tables as inspiration. The book will take an individual from a macro (top down), or micro (bottom up) approach. Individuals are certainly not limited to these options. There are areas that cover pantheon building, racial dispersion, and terrain assignment.
This can be used alone, but will probably really shine if combined with other supplements. I feel the value far exceeds the 5 dollar price, and I am happy with the purchase. There are also downloadable/printable hex templates.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1882 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG