RPGNow.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDEX2-12 Dark Rites at Fort Dalton (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2017 01:38:07

This adventure is straight forward, but the setting can be forgettable. Having the party starting already on the journey is a good way to get them already in the story with a goal. The combats are good, but can lack depth as once the party finds each treasure. When I ran the game, the party would move to the next room if a treasure couldn't be found with an investigation check. I recommend removing all the treasure and having them kept with the aquatic elves, who could have gathered the treasure beforehand, offering it to the party for the return of their prince alive. If the elves die, the party will never see the treasure. If the party is keen on killing the cultists onsite before even taking to them, I suggest turning them into normal commonfolk looking for buried treasure, not just an act. In my game a character (lawful evil) killed one of them once they made an insight check to show they weren't telling everything, creating some party tension and heavy RP moment. For large parties, I suggest having the last two encounters set with the priests fully aware of the party arrive (e.g. divine foresight). Otherwise, the party will gang up on the priest immediately. If a quarter or less of the party has been downed against Karsev and his men, I recommend making the encounter with the merrow back to back with Karsev's, either by having the aquatic elves dive into the maelstorm or the maelstorm immediately expand and drag in the party. This helps keep the flow of danger up, making the final fighter harder, but more satisfying. Most of the Downtime options aren't great due to them being Crashing Wave related. The ancient treasure options can be interesting especially with the metal scroll, which can be used in a real WOTC event. Overall, this is a good adventure, though the setting can be forgettable.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-12 Dark Rites at Fort Dalton (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
by Derek G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 11:04:58

Fun Adventure to run, Make sure to read through it fully or it will run over the 4 hour time frame. If not at a convention this can be a fun long adventure



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
by Randy A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 10:08:33

Outlaws is an excellent adventure to finish up tier one in season one of AL. If you've ran all of the other tier one content in season one, this adventure is going to be great for you and your PCs. There is a ton of really great combat and exploration. The only downside to this mod is that it takes well beyond the four hours to run it to its full potential. I think it could be split into two separate four hour sessions. The single magic item isn't great, either, but it's tier one. Highly recommend this mod as a player and DM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Tosh L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 10:07:16

They're a bunch of puzzles that are decently creative, I don't really have an issue with them tbh. My only issue is the number of them and the length of the adventure as a result of that.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-07 Drums in the Marsh (5e)
by Randy A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 10:01:48

Drums in the Marsh is a well written adventure that allows the players to explore more than other tier one mods from season one. My main two gripes with it are the treasure is lacking with the main magic item being a limited use item and the combat is a bit difficult for tier one characters. It's unfortunate that I feel the need to skip this adventure when running season one because the area around Phlan is described so well.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-07 Drums in the Marsh (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
by Randy A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 09:56:31

DDEX01-06 is one of the more well written mods from season 1. There is ample opportunity for RP as well as the obvious murderhobo fodder that most of AL includes. The Scroll Thief is much less linear and there is more room for the DM to run the mod as they please, with a good amount of guidance on how it is intended to be ran. I'd recommend this adventure as a DM and a player.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-14 The Darklord (5e)
by Tosh L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 09:53:44

This is it, the final boss, the ultimate conclusion, and it is deadly. This module tries to combine a bunch of stuff into it, but the only thing that happens is that it detracts from the time of the final boss. As a result, if it was me, I would cut out at least one of the pre-castle fights, since it seems useless. I also know that the nobody knew about the list of items until now, but I would have tried to communicate that information earlier so that way a player would know whether or not they have a certain item. Other than that, it's a great culmination of everything.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-14 The Darklord (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-11 The Donjon (5e)
by Tosh L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 09:49:19

This is a decent module, the only main issue is that it tries to do far too much. The dungeon alone could have been just four hours, but adding in the whole "getting to the complex" just takes too long unless it's expedited by the DM (which shouldn't have to happen). Also the whole description of the complex is kinda confusing and it needs maps, since as it is it's very confusing what is where.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-11 The Donjon (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-10 The Artifact (5e)
by Tosh L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 09:43:14

I love this module! The clue game, the final boss, the roleplaying, everything I think is really well done. The only thing is that it's quite a bit of stuff with only four hours to do them all. I think that it didn't need the zombie beholder fight and the clue game could've been run for three hours and then finally concluding with a very difficult (but still fun) boss fight.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-10 The Artifact (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-09 The Tempter (5e)
by Tosh L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 09:39:52

This is a good module specifically because of its atmosphere. It is certainly a gothic module and the combats are also very interesting and unique. I just think that it's too much crammed into two hours. If this was four hours I could certainly understand the intracacies that were put into this module, but it needs a lot of rushing through to run this in two hours.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-09 The Tempter (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-05 The Seer (5e)
by Tosh L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 09:33:10

This is an ok module. It has some nice lore about the Vistani, some nice interactions with their way of life, but the story itself is kinda forgettable. The final combat is nice, but once again the story as a whole is a bit... meh. It's kinda just Romeo and Juliet with a twist.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-05 The Seer (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
by Randy A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 09:12:06

A great mod and definitely needed to run if you intend on running or playing any other mods from season 1 of AL, but it takes a lot longer than the prescribed 2 hours. I ran it quickly, skipping most of the RP, and my players found a way to take nearly 6 hours to play around in Phlan. The redeeming quality, however, is that it is divided into five parts which leaves it almost predisposed to being split up if needed. I suppose if you had two hours for the first two parts, two hours for the second two, and two for the last part, it would have been better.

Even with the long time, it was a great adventure and the players had a lot of fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
by Randy A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 09:03:24

Defiance in Phlan is a good intro to AL and 5e as a whole, but, like all early AL mods, the writing leaves something to be desired in the way of DM guidance. Not many RP opportunities, but good, albeit difficult for newbies to gaming, combat. The five mini adventures are great to break up the session if need be. I'd recommend this product to a new DM or to play for a first timer to AL or 5e, but as an experienced DM or player, it's a skip.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
by Randy A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 08:58:08

This is a good adventure for a tier one party. There is a bit of mystery in the beginning and some excellent, if not difficult, combat opportunities. Divine casters will do well in this adventure. Where SoSK stumbles is where a lot of the early AL mods fall short, in my opinion... Their writing feels a bit disjointed and there isn't a lot of guidance for the DM.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
by Randy A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 08:50:52

I've played this module and not DM'd it, but as a player it was a decent mod. The DM I had wasn't a fan of how it was written, but all he wanted to elaborate on the topic was that it felt disjointed. The combat was fun and there were a variety of enemy types, but we seemed frequently overpowered for an average power level party. There were a few RP opportunites, but AL is not a great place for RP in my opinion. The treasure is decent for a tier two mod and as I understand there is a secret mission for some factions, but not for Order of the Gauntlet, which the character I played was a part of.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 3011 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG