RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2018 20:57:36

I've played this twice and DMed it twice. I think everyone had a great time with it, even though one time ended up in an almost TPK. The time we almost TPKed was long and epic to say the least. A common trip up on DMs I've noticed is they read the dragonchess "treasure" section and let it slip that the potions are potions of poison (they read the text like its a textbox for the players). It might be advisable to rewrite it to say there are 2 potions (then in parenthesis say they're poison but appear to be healing).

DM advice: That first fight scene can go very different depending on the group and which set of creatures the DM decides to pick. The double flame skulls with double fireballs? Ouch! 7 players and low level could easily wreck a group. Be careful as the DM as to which you pick! Can easily run in less than 2 hours.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2018 20:51:23

Overall I liked the trilogy but thought this was the weakest of the 3.

Problem with the module as written:

  • The kids are above the group and fish out items...then its a chase scene. How did the characters get on the same level as the kids? Players got confused there.
  • The bag shop went well until they needed to leave. Basically they felt it was their only clue and had no where to go after....and the next clue doesn't show up until they step out the door.
  • Our friendly grung offers his services because he wants some extra coin...but then ends up paying them with goggles of night?

The fights were light so if you've got players just interested in combat this one is probably best to avoid as it was more about an investigation, and traversing through the jungle.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-15 Black Heart of Vengeance (5e)
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2018 20:34:44

There's a lot going on in this one. It can definitely run long if players hit all the investigation locations. The combat is dispersed through out the investigation and then its a small dungeon at the end full of delightful "traps". I ran this with 6 level 5 characters and the ending was brutal, even when i ran it very weak (techically they were weak). A gorgon with a cone blast doing petrification is murder on level 5's with no way to remove it. The ceiling collapse at the end made things super bad. I'd avoid running this one with low level characters.

Also one point - i thought the reuining between Alyed and Cassyt ended oddly. They're fighting and suddenly the embrace? It didn't read right to me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-15 Black Heart of Vengeance (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-06 Breath of the Yellow Rose (5e)
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2018 20:15:35

This one starts out heavy role play. I think we were 2 hours in before combat started. Although I thought it was well written my one problem (which is more of a personal problem) is the number of NPCs added. I had a really hard time keep track of all of the people involved.

I ran this with 5 players - none of which had grouped together before (rare for me as I tend to have a regular group that all know each other). It was interesting to see how they interacted together. The one player I had played with before told me afterwards he didn't really like the first half because he felt it was too open ended. he literally had no idea why he was at the party or what he was trying to do. I'm not sure if that was how the module was written or if it was my fault for not proding them along (a lot of times I think newer players dont know you should just start conversations with random strangers and see if they want to say something to push along the plot..which seems to be how some AL modules work).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-06 Breath of the Yellow Rose (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-05 Flames of Kythorn (5e)
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2018 20:04:20

The hook felt weak. Lets show up to a party with nobles..just...because...free alchohol? Good thing I had a dwarf heavy group ;)

This is a lot of investigation as oposed to combat. Not that there's anything wrong with that...The group had fun trying to figure out what was going on etc. If your group are a bunch of murder hobos you should probably grab a different module. If your group likes to focus on role playing and figuring out who dun it then this is for them.

Could easily take more than expected run time depending on which clues they end up with. Might just as easily get done in a couple hours if the clues lead them to the final area early on.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-05 Flames of Kythorn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-02 Embers of Elmwood (5e)
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2018 19:57:09

This one starts with some nice roleplaying in the hospital and then it shifts to combat for the remainder. One problem I had is my players were super obsessed with the "victim" and no one left her out of their sight the entire time, so it was a bit of a hack when I ended up making her disappear when people got..distracted for no reason. The final chapter seemed particularily brutal as there is a lot of AOE flying around and a melee heavy group can have problems (depends on your healing i guess)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-02 Embers of Elmwood (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2018 19:40:42

As other reviewers have said, this module has a lot of backstory involved. It's best if your players have done a lot of the earlier modules so they know the characters involved. I had a group who hadn't done any previous missions and they were totally creaped out by Elisandre and her blind goat.

This module is intrigue light and combat heavy so if that's how your players are tweaked they'll probably enjoy it quite a bit.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2018 19:32:14

Both me and the players enjoyed this one. The sense of urgency was good and kept the group moving forward. I really enjoyed the Hags. Who'd have thought i'd work so hard to get a kiss out of my all male group (from the hags of course)? The dragon at the end was kind of anti-climactic though, as he gets away pretty much no matter what (as written). I expect thats probably because he makes a reappearnce later on and having him dead would have spoiled that. Overall a fun adventure and actually ran less than run time (3hours with a group of 5).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2018 13:51:51

This was a satisfying conclusion to the Tier II trilogy. The well crafted story of the two main antogonists is very difficult to present to the playes as written. In retrospect, I'd introduce some more exposition to reveal the pathos of the story and get the players a little conflicted about their course of action. The first encounter's a little flawed as you cannot awaken a monstrosity (RAW).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-08 Durlag's Tower (5e)
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2018 12:41:50

Good: Fun Challenging Combat Great Roleplaying Opportunities Bad: Alot of content for 4 hour mod DM Tips: Prep to avoid wasting too much time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-08 Durlag's Tower (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent (5e)
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2018 12:02:07

The adventure is very puzzle/trap focused. Players knowlegable of Forgotten Realms lore will be pleased. DM Tips: Please spend time preparing this adventure. The puzzles/traps require the time.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2018 11:41:13

A fun medicore adventure. The combat can be challenging for a low tier party. This adventure can be a last minute prep without much issue for a DM.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
by Ross H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2018 19:30:59

A solid finish to the fifth season. The 3D nature of encounters add a challenge even for T4 characters. And the final encounter (which can take a bit of time to run) manages to make the combat epic without gimping any class abilities. (I'd suggest bringing in most of the combatants fairly early, as there's a lot of early fodder as written.) Unlike Mysterious Isle (which is about two hours too long), the exploration portion of the module is engaging and a sense of urgency the first part lacks.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent (5e)
by Ross H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2018 19:20:27

Like most have said, certain of the puzzle's lack of clarity made this one frustrating both to run and play. (And it continues to surprise that they were cleaned up.) That said, it's very well-paced and well-balanced for a tier one two-hour adventure. The story also feeds in well to later adventures in the season storyline. But would not recommend running unless you plan on taking an editing pen to the puzzles.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Christian L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2018 14:38:58

I've played this module once, and run it twice. It is FANTASTIC for new players. Lots of RP problem solving with consequences later in the story. Hard decisions to make. Trickery from enemies, ambushes, and just solid action throughout. It's got everything most brand new players are probably looking for. Even the loot is great, with some fun unique flavor!

tldr: Perfect intro module for new groups.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 4592 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG