RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
by Brent D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2018 15:36:56

I really loves this adventure.

The players got to choose which mission theyw ould tackle first, and the fact that they had to choose a certain locale gave an air of mystery and adventure "into the unknown."

This Adventure gave me a chance to describe the dark jungles of Chult ... kinda of giving player a tidbit of what theyw ould experince in the hadrcover.

Mission 5 was pretty straight forward and the reasons for the players helping the Weretigers, then exploring the Temple of Ubtao further compelling enough. It only get a bit muddy at the end ... the monkish hobgoblins and caster in the crypt didn't really leave enough clues for the players to understand why theyw ere down there and how they were connected to the initial attack on the temple (which they weren't). It may the ending confusing, dashing continuinity and making the players feel successful.

Mission 4 was good for the most part. The puzzle wasn't too hard, but dangerous enough if the players didn't stop to think what they were doing. The description and purpose of the mage tower was absent. I get why the writer didn;t add any detail, but it would have been a traet if clues were left in the tower for what they mage was originally doing out in the Jugles of Chult. When players explored the tower they felt kinda cheated not finding anything compelling besides creatures to fight. The first fight on tehs econd floor seem a bit much ... I feel like one larger battle at the top would have been enough. Either that or design that fight better.

Mission 3 was GREAT. I loved the NPCs and how it was designed to lure players into a false sense of security. I had fun role playing these characters and the players haed fun trying to figure out the weirdness.

Mission 1 was by far the weakest, but it was still ok. The puzzles were kinda poorly designed in my opinion. what was presented in the dungeon wasn't really enough for players to figure it out ... you pretty much had to give them the answer. The close quaters combat at the end was pretty fun.

Mission 2 was ok. Not much to say here. I think a dedicated DM could really role playa nd make the Yuan-Ti compelling. The fight in the training area was tough enough ... the monsters spellcasting through the players off a bit.

My only MAJOR peeeve was time constraints: Without MAJOR railroading, it's super hard to finish this module in 5 hours ... There is just too mcuh here. I LIKE the detail and I think it is not an issue is you are not under time constraints ... but if you go into this thinking "hey, I'll be done around 5 hours" you will be scrambling at the 4 hour mark trying to decide whether you want to retunr to this module in a "Part 2" or just drop it. I feel like they should have just added more detail and expand this to an 8 hour ... I can understadn why they didn't, but 5 is just not enough they way it currently is. Luckily, you COULD just run them all in separate 1 hour packages.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Roberta C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2018 15:10:17

A bit confusing in the beginning, and some definite inconsistencies between this one and the next one, but overall it was fun. Probably wont be running it again anytime soon, but it was worth the first run.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Roberta C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2018 15:07:23

The final encounter is a bit out of nowhere, and some of the challenges are unproprotionally easy. Overall it was a fun quick module, but it needs to be a bit more balanced I feel.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
by Roberta C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2018 13:19:20

Super fun little holiday module. Love the characters and the challenges. A real nice change of pace.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
by Roberta C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2018 13:18:51

Great little module, relatively quick and easy to run. Plenty of space to RP while still having enough combat to satisfy either type of DM and Player.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
by Philip T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2018 02:57:56

Combat: 8/10 The encounters in this mod were fun, but they are single dimensional in their character. There are essentially a lot of martial class fights, so the difficulty of the fights depends on whether the PC group has spellcasters or not. Spellcasters make the fight almost laughably easy. However, I did have a PC say: "I liked to be frightened, and DM, you certainly frightened me," which is very encouraging. This surprised me, because there wasn't a particular boss that was downright threatening.

Plot: 8/10 The story is great. There was a ever-present notion to the PC's that something wasn't quite right, and something wasn't so straightforward. So there was an element of mystery into figuring out what was going on, and how to use that to their advantage. It's funny how each time I DM this mod, the PC's interpret the events differently, and their approach to the ending is varies heavily.

The PC's are also quite invested in the outcome, since they could be stopping a major war between Giants and small folk, and there is the personal desire to help the mother.

Overall, a great mod, and really fun to both run and play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
by Philip T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2018 02:50:08

This was a very fun mod, and I don't think the PC's have ever been as scared of a single monster as the one Hartkiller's Horn is reputed to have. It's enjoyable and challenging for the PC's.

My only gripe about the beast (because let's face it, that's what this mod is mostly about) is that it is practically bulletproof. There are no weaknesses to exploit. It's almost frustrating how resilient the beast is.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-14 Reeducation (5e)
by Philip T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2018 01:43:51

Encounters: 5/10 A lot of these encounters are simply too easy. Many of the encounters are against bags of HP as far as Tier 3 goes, and these opponents are easily disabled by spellcasters. There are few ways for these encounters to challenge the PC's if they have decent saves.

The boss fight is interesting since its a monster you don't see very often (except in a certain hardcover), so in the end its modestly fun.

Plot: 7/10 You do care about the story/hook, since it's a major NPC friend that you're trying to rescue. Outside of that, there isn't much mystery or politics in the story, so it tends to be uninteresting.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-14 Reeducation (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-15 Reclamation (5e)
by Philip T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2018 01:27:39

[Spoilers] Encounters Rating: 8/10 The encounters in this mod are fun. If there is an OotG in the party, the "boss" fight is challenging. There is a lack of support goons for the boss, so the difficulty of the encounter depends very much on the skill of the DM. The guidance for the "boss" is probably not helpful.

The other fights involve rather fun, challenging, and unique creatures to deal with. The only issue is that with some of the encounters (the ones against humanoids), there is really lack of diversity amongst the opponents, so they are quite easily overcome with a good spellcaster amongst the PC's.

Plot: 5/10 There really isn't much mystery or motivation provided for the adventurer's to care about this issue. The story isn't particularly interesting, and doesn't seem very consequential to the overall theme of Season 5 mods.

Other Notes: A really straightforward mod. Easy to run.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-15 Reclamation (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
by Jorge A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 22:25:31

I believe that this is a pretty fun mod, I really like the social and RP opportunities that present themselves (and the hidden social XP is pretty cool as well, and at the end you (SPOILER ALERT) fight a dragon! What's more D&D then fighting a dragon?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Jorge A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 22:20:08

Definitely an enjoyable mod. Although I think the lack of a time for a short rest while investigating the grounds really hurts the party, and does nothing to prepare them for the grueling fight they have at the end (which I think is a bit too tough for a tier 1 module).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Jorge A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 22:15:28

This is definitely an alright module, I feel it doesn't really have anything that really makes it stand out though (besides Want-To-Be-Blue), I don't think I would run this mod again unless I was doing the complete trilogy.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Jorge A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 22:11:01

This was a very fun module, though I think it goes a little too quick in some parts, and that end encounter is a bit jarring. I would still highly recommend it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-08 Tales Trees Tell (5e)
by Jorge A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 22:06:00

I absolutely love this mod, and I love running every chance I get at my local game store. I love the hijinx and shenanigans the pixies can get up to, and the final social encounter is one of my favorites.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-08 Tales Trees Tell (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
by Heath B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 20:24:05

I really enjoyed running this for a group of relatively new players. It's a good change from other first-season AL modules in being very straightforward in its goals, and the playtesting patches leave fewer questions than in other early adventures. The dungeon has more than its fair share of memorable encounters. In trying to run the whole module in one session, however, I feel like I rushed the final encounter more than it deserved; there are more combatants than previous and the combination of their effects needed more study than I had time to give it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 3985 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG