RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
REF4 The Book of Lairs II (1e)
by Ron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2018 21:17:23

It is almost unreadable. The scan is so bad! There are missing letters and and it is blurry. I can't find any way to get a refund.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
REF4 The Book of Lairs II (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crypt of Lyzandred the Mad (2e)
by Aaron W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2018 15:52:57

Lots of neat content in this module but the quality of the scan is poor.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Crypt of Lyzandred the Mad (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2018 17:00:37

Super tough tier 4 adventure. It has tough combat, it has a timer for success/fail, really makes these high level PCs "work hard for their money". The item at the end is.....Legen......wait for it.....dary!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2018 16:16:21

This is a VERY trap heavy adventure and is a lead in to one of the Classic Carnival Dungeons, White Plume Mountain. It's not bad, but could be tough to keep the attention of newer players.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2018 16:12:49

This is a great adventure and a perfect tie into Ruins of Khundrakar for Season 6. As a Player I was in a party of mostly 1st level characters, and it gave us a TPK, so it is extremely tough if you have a semi devious DM. As a Dungeon Master I love how this Author took Kobolds and made them EXTREMELY deadly and EXTREMELY devious.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Stephanie B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2018 15:24:50

(THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS-- and tips for GMs preparing to run this adventure)

My group of 4 level 3's played this over the weekend. It took a little over 3 hours to finish; I would budget at least 3 hours for a newish group of PCs.

The introduction and betting fell a little flat. The main NPC has a dialect that is difficult to get around-- I worked it by simplifying the dialect a bit, and prefacing the RP with "this NPC has a difficult accent, and that's deliberate." I also had had pre-existing contacts between NPCs and the players-- Pock Marked Po made a return in this adventure to serve as an introduction.

The betting scene was very basic-- the avarice-minded PC was into it, but nobody else really was. They all wanted to examine the animals before the race, partly for evaluating their bets, and largely because they thought there was a big cheating investigation plot they needed to pursue. They were doggedly pursuing as many clues and leads as they could, but the reality is, this module is a bit thin and doesn't support it. There's no guidance for which dinosaur in the betting round has been doped-- and there really ought to be.

If I were running this again, I would beef up the cheating angle, and flesh out one of the rival teams in the race section as a more dedicated cheater, so the PCs have someone to accuse.

The race was surprisingly engaging for the players. They had previously played the dinosaur race mission in 0701, so I worried that they would find this to be "old hat." It was not-- the different mechanics were engaging, especially when I made comparisons to the Triwizard Tourney at Hogwart's. In the second major section of the race, they really got into the interference aspect of the race-- and here again, the module didn't strongly support counter-interference from the rival teams. They were rather pre-programmed and weren't set up to do anything to retaliate against the PCs. If I were running this again, I'd have one of the rivals cheat more heavily, and use all manner of dirty tricks against the PCs.

The final encounter felt tacked on, and the PCs got very frustrated with the terrified little girl. They had little patience for a non-combatant who had no agency. I don't think I'd run that section differently, but it would have been smarter in hindsight to have introduced her before the races, when the PCs went down to the animal pens to do their investigation. Then they'd have seen her normally, and would have felt some kind of connection there. You could even put in a clue or two earlier where the PCs might spot the yuan-ti woman, or have better foreshadowing.

I give this a 4 out of 5, largely because there are enough places where you really need to tweak the adventure to make sense, but the bones are there, and you can make those tweaks without really taking it out of the Adventurers League format.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
by Brandon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 22:28:05

This module is fun to run and has a great set of opportunities for roleplaying as the adventurers recruit allies to the fight, and combat as they face down the hordes of Bad Fruul. Although the arc of the adventure is fun, and the urgency of completing preparations within an unclear time window is fun, the adventure is tough to run and the concept of siege points is tough to follow. It is often unclear how many and what kind of siege points to award for certain objectives, and the sections concerning siege points are spread out and in different fonts, making it tough to find sometime. Section 2 should end with a table that indicates what events the players completed and how many points they get and of what kind. My version would be:

Defend in Parnast or old parnast - 5 or 10 fortification points, advantage on training or fortification checks, respectively

Fortify town - X Fortification points

Train villagers - X Training points

Scout environs - X Scouting points

Feed orcs false info - 5 Scouting points

Chandra survives and is in town at start of siege - 5 training points

Hope Gralm keeps his word - 5 scouting points or Convince gralm to help - less than DC15: 5 scouting points, DC between 15-20: 10 scouting points, DC above 20: 20 scouting points. There are also no rules for gralm aiding in the final battle

Persuade the fey - DC less than 5: nothing, DC between 5-9: blassios joins, DC between 10-14: Blassios and 2 sprites join, DC between 15-19: blassios and five sprites join + 5 scouting? points, DC between 20-24: blassios, oblivillish (no stats) and 10 sprites join + 10 scouting? points, DC over 24: blassios, thornacious, oblivillish, and twenty sprites + 15 scouting? pioints



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Carole O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 21:15:44

This is actually one of my favorite AL modules that I've run to date and a wonderful break from the combat heavy, go and retrieve a person or kill an objective type modules so prevalent this season. Run as the adventure hook to WPM, it was extremely effective at motivating the party to go inside after "Kelvan". A lot of memorable moments-my players are still talking about the room of gears.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Carole O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 21:12:48

My players loved this adventure, especially all the quirky kobold "inventions". The scorpion on a stick almost drew blood from the players over who would take it (for the remainder of the adventure). It's too bad the flavor of that item wasn't added to a permanent magical item at the end.

My only criticism is that the guidance for the kobolds moving after the alarm is tripped is confusing. The first room is supposed to be empty, with kobolds in the walls, but also kobolds move to that room after the alarm. I had the moving kobolds ambush the party there. How the kobols moved in the walls was also a little unclear, and I would have appreciated a little more clear guidance on that aspect as well with advice as to how players can interact with the wall-bolds.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tortle Package (5e)
by Carole O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 21:09:10

The Tortle Package has been my AL group's favorite part of TOA so far. The adventures they had on the island frequently come up in conversation. The variety and uniqueness of each area of the island provides something for every type of player. The exploration adventure hook was easy to remember and reorient the group when they tried to remember what they needed to be doing. The challenges were tier appropriate without being over or underwhelming and the guidance provided in the module was accurate and helpful. I will definitely replay this adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Carole O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 21:08:41

Very solid introductory adventure that gives characters an overview of what to expect from Chult and Tomb of Annihilation. The adventures can very easily stretch more than 1 hour. They were fine for 2.5 hours with a new group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
by Carole O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 20:51:52

I really enjoyed running this module for my table and they enjoyed it too. The final combat was very intense and it was almost a relief when they destroyed the flesh mote instead. I love the flameskull dragonchess encounter; it was awesome to see that gaming proficiency actually come into use.

There are two suggestions I would make for this module. One is that the undead caster villain could have used more of a backstory. I realize there was a time crunch that was important to the adventure hook but the nature of their enemy was not clearly understood and the party was left wondering why this all happened in the end. The second is that it would have been nice to have more concrete negative consequences for letting the faction agents die in the catacomb collapse. My party excercised their flaws to run brilliantly but in the end, everyone is just "oh you did what you could, thanks anyway." I'm going to try to work their failure to rescue them into a negative consequence in the following adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 19:57:12

These are five very solid adventures, but this should be listed as five two hour adventures not one hour each. They have rich role play potential, dampened by the time constraints.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
by Carole O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 19:41:37

As other reviewers have said, this module is not a tier 3 challenge. I ran this at a convention over the weekend and our ranger 1-shot the final boss. However, the story is intriguing and with some massaging I think you can make the adventure fun.

The tweaks I made consisted of having Cyndreath approach the party directly and tell them to look for allies in the ruins. This let them ignore the door to the Balor's pit and fully explore the ruins. I made the lieutenants have petty squabbles with one another (a la Klarg and the goblin in LMOP) and try to get the party to kill the other lieutenants, leaving that lieutenant in charge of the ruins. This led to some fun gameplay interactions with the demons and made them more memorable than they otherwise would have been. My biggest suggestion for this module would be to beef up the demon lieutenant fights into significantly greater challenges, remove the other weenie fights, and change the wizard spirits to offer aid by round or as needed in the combat encounter, instead of a flat reduction.

The absence of puzzles or personality in the module really hurt its interactivity and fun for the party, since the combat wasn't a challenge. I think that would have been fine (not optimal, but not so much of a hindrance) if there was more meat on the bones of the idea.

Also I did find the skinning of Vastonash and description of the body unnecessarily grim. My party was disappointed they couldn't take his body back to Cyndreth.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Ronald L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 16:16:21

This mod continues the fun of the season in high style, with interested fights, interesting NPCs, and quick action.

My only complaint is that, as written, many DMs will assume there's no room for a short rest between the two fights. If the party consists entirely of long-rest characters, it's not that big a deal -- but a group of warlocks, fighters, and monks are going to be bitterly and unfairly pressed because they are never given the chance to recover the resources that other classes have in enough quantity to not need recovery.

Remember: the DMG explicitly calls out 2 short rests to the long. This mod, like many AL mods, forgets that this isn't just an HP recovery opportunity -- it's when certain classes get the opportunity to recover abilities, bringing their power level in line with the expected power level.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 4418 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG