RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Chris E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2018 12:47:19

DM'd this last night with 7 newish players. They enjoyed interacting with the Vuerthyl people and actually roleplayed a little bit. Being new players the sandstorm caught them by surprise and I allowed some rolls for knowledge based on their proficiencies. 2 people came up with innovative solutions themselves. I like the ability to change the outcome of the Hobogoblin encounter and still get items and xp based on it. As some of the other reviews, they honestly thought a giant was going to come through the wall and "held back his spells just in case." With opportunities to long rest, this made it a little simpler for them but had a mixed party of 1s and 3s. Overall rated 5/5 for newer players and more experienced players. As a DM I would recommend more Roleplaying at the Camp to get an idea of the threats in the region.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
by Andrew G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2018 10:41:57

I originally intended to run this as the third part of the trilogy, but ended up with an entirely different table from the first two parts. So I played up the beginning with the faction contacts, and also ended up having to move one of the baddies from the second encounter into the final encounter for timing purposes. This should really be a 4 hour module with the added difficulty from things that may or may not happen depending on the table; it ran about 3.5 hours for my table of 6.

I do agree that it's a bit of an underwhelming finale, particularly after the craziness of the middle portion. But it's very much a combat-focused module, and that's sometimes what happens. And there's enough here to work with that most players will have fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by Jeffrey F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2018 21:15:51

Overall Suits of the Mist is a good adventure with an interesting hook into into the Ravenloft series. The five mini adventures are fun, but the portrayal of the Gur in the scenarios is problematic. The Gur fall into many of the negative stereotypes attributed to the Rom people. More thoughts needs to be put into the portrayal of the Gur and the Vistani.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
by Diana V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2018 13:54:14

4/5. Ran at my FLGS. This adventure is fun for everyone, but a few warnings: the chase is fun, but it is VERY easy to get bogged down in precise details. I ran almost all of it theater of the mind and tried to focus on the story over the exact mechanics. It's also quite difficult to motivate players to do anything if they don't already know what's going on in Hillsfar, and my players personally weren't too motivated by "a shipment" that racists were sending. I almost had to call the module there, as they basically were uninterested in following the rebels. Also, this module comfortably runs in about 2.5 hours, not 2.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
by Diana V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2018 13:53:27

Ran at my FLGS, and it's a blast. I have a bit of a soft spot for this module, but it's a wonderful way to get new players interested in D&D, and it's a great three-pillar adventure. There's plenty of RP, and a bit of exploration in the library, and my newer players lit up and shouted in joy when they realized they were going to fight a dragon in D&D after exploring a dungeon. It does require a bit of a mixed party, and some of the plot transitions (Why are adventurers looking for missing books anyway? Why isn't "2 missing librarians" the more important thing to investigate?) are a bit ill-conceived, but for the most part it's a blast. My only word of warning is that it really needs more like 2.5/3 hours to be run comfortably. I had to hand-wave a lot of stuff after my players spent too much time investigating early on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent (5e)
by Diana V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2018 13:52:47

One of my favorite AL modules, both to play and to DM. My biggest comment is that you should be open to a non-combat solution to it. If someone speaks Primordial, the gargoyles are perfectly willing to help them. And as for the wight at the end, as far as I can tell, he seems far more interested in maintaining the library than anything else. Given that the hobgoblins sent by Bad Fruul are dead, they don't need to actually steal all the books, or fight the librarian. If they have a clever solution, like trading knowledge (suggested by Oghma's shrine upstairs), leaving a party member as collateral, copying the information there, or working to establish a policy for borrowing books from the library, I say let them. It's a far more interesting endgame than just "hack and slash".



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
by Diana V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2018 13:51:33

Not the best, and it seems more like a slog through the marsh for the sake of a slog through the marsh. The final fight seemed a bit overwhelming for T1, but my players managed. Not the best AL I've seen, but not the worst either. I like this much more as a DM than a player.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
by Jasmine L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2018 22:11:32

A superb set of short introductory adventures that does an excellent job introducing the core concepts and themes of D&D to new players. It's well-designed, easy to run, and covers a diverse range of exploration, interaction, and combat. Everything is in here: a tense standoff with a gang of thieves during an undercover sting operation, a covert rescue mission to save villagers kidnapped by goblins, a classic dungeon crawl in an undead-infested crypt, and more. This is one of my favorite adventures to recommend to new players and new DMs, and I'm happy to give it a 5/5 review here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2 Elemental Evil Complete Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Jasmine L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2018 21:50:27

I'm a big fan of this season. Mulmaster is a compelling setting, and there are a lot of great adventures in this package, with a solid mix of dungeon crawls and urban intrigue.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2 Elemental Evil Complete Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gamma World Game Rules (4e)
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2018 22:03:48

I don't usually buy print copies of games anymore, but I bought the print of this immediately. This edition is by far the best edition of Gamma World, and arguably the best version of d20, a pre-OGL lighter version. i will be buying the prints of Treasures of the Ancients and others in the series as they are released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamma World Game Rules (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
by bjarne b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2018 15:10:53

good story, love the hags, hard reading...

regards bager



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-08 The Broken One (5e)
by bjarne b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2018 04:07:20

fun mondule, there are a moment where the players dont know what to do....... but the flow of the game gets them on track again. love it

regards bager



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-08 The Broken One (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
by bjarne b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2018 04:03:51

good story, the players are with horror in the first encounter hehe, maybe longer i think....

regards bager



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
by Nathan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2018 01:24:23

Fun adventure to run, the NPCs are interesting and story simple and compelling. The included maps are nice, and the encounters fun and interesting. I had a real blast with one encounter in the middle, as the situation was hilarious and my players dug it. Would definitely enjoy running this again in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
by Chris K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2018 23:07:19

See my review of 'In Dire Need' by Jay Africa on my D&D blog without spoilers to ruin the fun!

https://www.wizardslaboratory.com/review-of-ddal05-04-in-dire-need/

See my 'Running DDAL05-04 In Dire Need' with my regular D&D group, The Heroes of Neverwinter!

Yes, there be spoilers here...

https://www.wizardslaboratory.com/running-ddal04-05-in-dire-need/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 4813 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG