RPGNow.com
Find Category













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2017 17:32:29

I'm not a big fan of the 5 part modules, however, this is the module I go to when I want to introduce new players into the Mechanics of 5th Edition. This is an all-around solid module that is pretty straight forward. I definitely would reccomend this for new DM's and new Players alike



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2017 17:05:24
This is a fun little module. It requires a thurough read through prior to running as the hooks/dialogue boxes are a bit disjointed. Fights were pretty well balanced, and this module offers characters the opportunity to social their way through.

    If some additional information on Mychanoid Society were added to this module, I feel new DM's/players would benefit greatly, as mychanoids have unique characteristics that new players may not be able to intuit



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Luke R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2017 14:46:46
Overall I really liked City on the Edge. I thought the varied amount of activities, exposure to the different personalities, factions and kinds of threats the players might encounter in Chult made it a fantastic introductory adventure. The missions although rated for 60 minutes of play can accommodate a much longer session if need be. If anything, the 60min/per mission is difficult to attain unless moving rather quickly through the content. My only complaints are the time spent versus the awards received and some lack of “box text” in areas that could have used some further descriptions to better set the scene. As a creative, but new, DM it is nice to have the box text to paint the scenes with some color before throwing characters into a new setting. I went through and suplimented the descriptions using background from the hardcover. I also sifted through some of the descriptions for the DM within the modual to provide more dialogue and description for the players which helped. The issue I have with the awards is that for, what was, 8 hours of playtime my group could only max out their xp for completing the 5 missions at around 300-500xp. I just think as a player coming out to play Adventurers League at the comic shop for two sundays and only barely getting to level 2 might make me feel a little cheated. Not to mention there is a steep initial cost for adventurers entering the jungle: Hiring guides for 150g up front, using downtime to purchase essential supplies from the merchant princes and stocking up on food, ammo and materials. Characters may not have enough capitol to properly outfit themselves Otherwise I really enjoyed City on the Edge and will continue to use it to introduce characters to Port Nyanzaru and Chult before moving them into the hardcover adventure. Especially because this gives a much needed padding to the player's initial levels, gold and downtime to make essential purchases before their expedition into the unforgiving jungles of Chult.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Grand History of the Realms (3.5)
by Matthew E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2017 13:28:29

A cynic might dismiss this book as a novella-length version of the kind of historical timelines you might find on a fan-maintained Forgotten Realms wiki. That cynic is an idiot.

This book pulls together an astonishing amount of historical Realmslore and organizes it in a simple, chronological fashion. It's an essential resource for anyone wanting to enhance their game through a greater appreciation and understanding of the history of the Forgotten Realsm (both in Faerun and beyond).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Grand History of the Realms (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ed Greenwood Presents Elminster's Forgotten Realms
by Matthew E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2017 13:23:21

I'm a sucker for Realmslore, and this book might be the most Realmslorey tome ever penned. There's nary a rule or system to be found within; instead, it's packed to the gills with the kind of flavorful minutiae that give breath and life to the Forgotten Realms. Five stars!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ed Greenwood Presents Elminster's Forgotten Realms
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
by Kaleb H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2017 13:17:08

While the hooks for non-Zhentarim members are pretty weak, I think this module offers a unique experience without boring players.

PART 1: MYSTERIES IN METHOD- I think that for normal AL players (ie lack of roleplay density due to time contraints), the interaction with Knight Aleyd is unnecessary. "Local rumors" leading the players directly to Brandywine would probably do just as well. Love the investigatory-style section, questioning witnesses, gathering clues, etc., and the ambush alley is a decent enough fight.

PART 2: TRUTH IN TEXT- The main highlight is the cool "chase" through the Archives/sewer where the players slowly realize that they aren't too far behind their quarry.

PART 3: THE DRAGON'S SWAMP- It's really fun to have a real dragon fight in a T1 adventure! It is also nice to have a bad guy (Ellison) that the players can choose to spare/help.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2017 12:49:59

So this is by far my least favorite epic I have played and/or read through. The fact that this forces characters down a path without giving them options made it underwhelming and flat out not make sense. (A table of all plate wearers SNEAKING into the place!).

The final battle was an absolute cluster which was hard to follow for dms, administrators, and players. The room was overly complicated which added to the mess.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tortle Package (5e)
by Evan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2017 05:59:41

The race is fun the adventure onthe otherhad is enough tomake new players to want to play anything season 7 related it's waay to hard andth damageon some of the traps is ridiculous



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX03-15 Szith Morcane Unbound (5e)
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2017 04:27:48

Epic conclusion to the Szith Morcane storyline. Some effort must still be made on the DM's side to tie in to the previous adventures, but the allowance of it is welcome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-15 Szith Morcane Unbound (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-14 The Sword of Selfaril (5e)
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2017 04:23:43

Ties up a loose end from an earlier module and give us some very memorable characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-14 The Sword of Selfaril (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2017 04:17:11

Enjoyed this module a fair bit. Allowed the characters good opportunities to RP throughout the investigation as well as actually face a dragon at the end. Would definitely recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2017 04:15:04

Very good module. The setting is cool and the puzzle is an especially good addition. My party steamrolled the combat because they were very optimized, but I can see the potential of the encounters, especially in the final boss room.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2017 04:12:39

Interesting module and setting, but the flow can be a little bit difficult to follow on intial reading. The locations are presented in the parts that make it kind of confusing on how they should be attempted.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2017 17:15:54

Like most of the mini-adventures this one suffers from timing issues - it's a REAL challenge to keep this one to 1h per mission, at least for most of the missions. Better to set aside 90m per mission depending on how much you choo-choo your group or how much RP they do.

The XP max at 100 is a bit insane, I found my group of 6 was getting a good 50xp above max for every mission except M3 - no player likes to see XP going to waste, I think 150xp max would have been more realistic.

Suffers from lack of perm magic item - I mean 5.5 hours (I seriously choo-choo'd the group when they went off rails) and we can't even toss a +1 weapon at them for their trouble?

Watch the Death Curse with Level 1s, I didn't fudge any rolls - but man I got close to killing players at least 3 different times - Chult is gonna kill you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by Adam S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2017 10:35:24

These one hour adventures are not as enjoyable for the hard-core AL player, but they are fantastic for new DMs looking to cut their teeth, or for sessions where you want to introduce new players to the game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 3513 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG