RPGNow.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL05-18 The Mysterious Isle (5e)
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2017 15:32:30

Did not feel like I was able to challenege my party. It had a qunique setting, a decent story, but in terms of both combat and role play, it was lacking.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-18 The Mysterious Isle (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Planes of Law (2e)
by Horrid W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2017 15:27:37

Basically it is a great product. The scans are decent mostly. But I'd rather see a reasonable naming of the files and what bugs me most is that all poster maps were scanned to small snippets. There is no whole map but several pages of parts of the map on which even the text is cut off and which are upside down, etc. ... that is really bad. Sorry to say but If I didn't buy it in a bundle I woulnd't have wanted to have payed 10 dollars for it... Others like the Planes of Chaos Box have large and complete scans of the poster maps... why not this one? On the other hand Planes of Chaos has its own issues... (see my review there) Please, please correct that... otherwise I can't give 5 starts.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Planes of Law (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2017 15:14:40

The Good: The chase mechanic in Part 2 is a lot of fun and I enjoyed how it was implemented: abstract areas, additional actions, complications, etc. A moonlit attack on a caravan with characters leaping onto wagons, trying to throw enemies off, and dodging obstacles? Yes, this is great!

The Bad: The faction-choice (bandits vs guards) caused more problems than the benefits it creates. This led to a lot of back and forth in the text about which opponents they'd be fighting as well as who might survive from one part to another. I really had trouble figuring out who was still around in the first half of Part 3 because of this, and I'm not sure why the text assumes that players acting as guards would immediately free the captives. Then again, my group had precisely zero interest in helping the Red Plumes do anything at all, so that didn't come up. The editing problems rife in Season 3 AL content show up here as well; DMs need to review carefully to make sure that they understand the intent of any given instruction or description rather than what was actually printed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-16 Boltsmelter's Book (5e)
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2017 00:08:48

Pros:

  1. The second half of the scenario offers some great opportunities for PCs to use strategy and wits to make fights easier.
  2. Relevantly 3D combat environments are both a rarity, and well done here.
  3. Allows for engagement with some Faerûn lore about dwarves and the God Moradin.

Cons:

  1. The start of the scenario is very railroaded and it's important to make it obvious to the PCs that if they stay they'll be overwhelmed.
  2. Many varieties of enemy in the same fight made running a chore for one combat, especially if a few of your NPCs are fighting with the players and have 3 different stat blocks, while the enemies also have 3 different stat blocks in the fight.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-16 Boltsmelter's Book (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-12 Dark Rites at Fort Dalton (5e)
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2017 22:57:02

I generally liked the story and 'visual' elements, but it falls down in even giving the illusion of choice or decent roleplay opportunities to players.

Pros:

  1. Well timed, easily able to stick to 2 hours across several runs.
  2. Pretty and flavourful environment to describe.
  3. Alright for new DMs due to the utter lack of moving parts.
  4. DMs have a chance to work in character backstory.
  5. Boat combat at the beginning is very "Pirates of the Caribbean."

Cons:

  1. A little boring, essentially a dungeon crawl with no puzzles.
  2. Severely restricts the choices, solutions, and tactics the party can take.


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-12 Dark Rites at Fort Dalton (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-11 Oubliette of Fort Iron (5e)
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2017 22:45:20

I love this one. It's essentially a dungeon crawl backwards through a subterranean digestive system, and you end up in the "brain" of the earthly cyst, with a strange artefact.

Pros:

  1. The idea of crawling through a digestive system eventually dawns on the players and it's reminiscent of "the Magic Schoolbus" from that point onwards.
  2. Has a near-perfect mix of puzzles, challenges, and combat.

Cons:

  1. Very little social/roleplay action, if you're after that.
  2. Really punishes parties without healing.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-11 Oubliette of Fort Iron (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-02 Embers of Elmwood (5e)
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2017 22:38:25

Pros:

  1. Great start/setup! :O
  2. Obvious opportunities for roleplay and rewarding PC ingenuity.
  3. Lots of options for the DM to prepare/pursue to change the scenario for those playing it again.

Cons:

  1. Can get very long and combat heavy, especially during the overnight period. The simple way to counter this is to choose one good encounter (my favourite is the flameskull), and see how they do with that. For the flameskull, they might not make the check to realise that it may regenerate without intervention, and attack them later as they sleep, producing a second encounter.
  2. Requires a fair amount of prep to pull off well.


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-02 Embers of Elmwood (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2017 22:28:53

Pros:

  1. Even with a full table each part should easily be finished within 2 hours.
  2. Thematic, with decent humour, bountiful flavour and continuing concepts introduced.
  3. All of them play into future adventure plot points released in Storm King's Thunder.
  4. All of them are self-contained, and are just as enjoyable individually as together.
  5. Perfect for new DMs, as they require little prep and are incredibly short on paper.
  6. Punishes players for being shitty/murder hobos, but not too much for a low-level adventure.

Cons:

  1. A little on the deadly side for adventures used to introduce new players to the system, requires some care.
  2. Some of the adventures are clearly longer than others, as a warning to anyone running several simultaneously.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
by Walter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2017 15:48:42

This is a cool adventure. I have both played and DMed it. Lots of fun both times. Really kicks off SKT nicely.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
by Walter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2017 15:43:28

This was a fun adventure. Some good plot hooks. I'm looking forward to running more from season 1.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
by geramy f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2017 09:26:35

I Dmed this adventure on fantasy grounds for a group that I normally play in . I thought it was laid out nicely, very informative for a new DM and easy to use. I had the use of maps that were part of the module, which worked out great for those early big battles. There was a lot of areas that the players could RP, which was nice to always having to slash and gash everything they saw. I feel that it was a great transition into a lot of the tier 2 modules.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeons & Dragons Essentials: Monster Vault (4e)
by FABIO M F D. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2017 04:28:26

Very, very, very good!!! Estou muito satisfeito com o produto aqui apresentado.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeons & Dragons Essentials: Monster Vault (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2017 00:13:48

I played this twice. The first time took one hour and the second time took almost four so you can strecth it out by paying more attention to the details and the options, but mostly this is a short module and really just half a story. It would have been far better to put the two halves into one module.

There is also very little linking this to the rest of the teir one story arc and for that reason I mark it down.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

In Volo's Wake (5e)
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2017 00:11:05

Lots of fun here. The short mosules are easy to prepare and run. Most can run for two hours which makes them good enough to be adventures on their own. The series is designed to make use of the new Volo monsters and it does a good job of this with each adventure focusing on a different one. Its also good that it is designed for first teir rather than level 1-2 like previous anthology modules. The last couple are quite scary once you hear what monsters your first teir characters will face. But the best thing is all good adventures and easy to prepare and run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-13 Jarl Rising (5e)
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2017 00:08:31

There is some good value in this module, but the second teir story arc of this season lacks a little compared to the other teirs. The party is sent on a recon mission, so this becomes mostly a road trip. There is a faction mission to deal with a noise complaint, which makes for a good fight, but little sense. Sadly the module felt padded out to the four hours and plays a poor role in the story arc.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-13 Jarl Rising (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 3010 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG