RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by Joshua R L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2016 16:58:57

Seems too rushed with some messed up editing on the third mission with the orcs. Theres was no explination about the Orog changes until the update.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2016 09:52:48

The module was pretty standard fare as far as Adventurer League stuff goes, but sadly, the continuing editing issues with the mod is also pretty standard fare. AL has been plagued since its inception with poor editing, and this module is no different. Even after a 'corrected' version was uploaded this week, there are still gross errors scattered around the module itself, and even the one combat they did "fix" still has significant issues.


Before, we could forgive the slapshod editing, because it was all 'volunteer' work, and we got the mods for free. However, now they are charging for them, and this is NOT the sort of quality you expect to have to pay for. I'm willing to give them the benefit of the doubt for this being their first one under the new pay-to-play approach, but they have really got to step it up quality-wise, or they will find themselves digging their own grave here.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2016 09:34:19

I've been running D&D and other RPGs at conventions for over 30 years, though this is the first DAL adventure I've seen with the intention on running it for my group. I cannot express my disappointment enough with what I've read. I've played about 10 DAL events since inception and for the most part they've been enjoyable (much, of course, depends on the skills of the gamemaster), but if 4-1 is any indication of DAL quaility then I may rethink my participation. If this is the quality of DAL events, then my 10 DMs where SPECTACULAR. Suits in the Mist looks like it was written like a first-time author with no editing assistance. Without question, I feel like I wasted my money here. I'm sure the Curse of Strahd book doesn't contain such sub-par editing and storytelling. If this is what I have to look forward to with DAL, then make these events Pay What You Want.


-- more over on Discussions tab --



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Faiths and Pantheons (3e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2016 17:53:53

Like another commenter mentioned, most of the pages here are scanned. A major disappointment. Had been looking forward to a proper PDF version of this.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Faiths and Pantheons (3e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Faiths and Pantheons (3e)
by Christophe M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2016 11:58:35

All the gods description parts, pages 12 to 150 are scanned images



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by Xavier D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2016 17:39:34

Several edit issues and still pondering why elks would actually attack a party and not flee.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ravenloft & The Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alex F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2016 13:46:16

Was hoping for a little more, but it's not like I spent any money to get it. The entire document is that single page you see in the preview, so you can just read it there and if it sounds useful, get it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ravenloft & The Dungeon Masters Guild
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Dungeon of Death (2e)
by Petr S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2016 15:36:09

Pretty adventure. Enemies are more than statistics - and cannon fodder. With little luck, player characters can make some temporary friend. On other side, layout of entrance level is... funny (most of "defensive arrangements" don´t stop intruders - interlopers simply don´t meet them).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dungeon of Death (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
by Adam U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2016 13:57:40

DEF worth the printed version. Love Goliath and would love more softcover books.


Maybe creating a section in the DM's Guild for items that you can get printed and sent to customers will help make more sales. Just like in 4th ED when WoC made the Dragonborn & Tiefling Race book.


Four new races and also more spells. Great pick up for any game that would like more diverse races.


I love having the actual softcover, really turns heads at the table. Thank you



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowghast Manor (4e)
by Patrick E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2016 16:53:35

Lovely tiles. Would give them 5 stars, if the red lines (cut marks) were on a separate layer so that I could choose to disable them. Please release more of the tiles products. This is just awesome and at a fair price!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowghast Manor (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

d20 Apocalypse (d20M)
by Chris W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2016 08:48:51

Pretty good product. Starting a d20 Modern "Mad Max" style campaign, and this is just what I needed. Can't beat the price, especially considering what the printed copies go for.


This book covers a variety of post-apocalyptic scenarios, so on the face not all of it would apply to what I needed. The actuality is that I was able to pull something useful from every section of the book.


Writing is solid, rules seem reasonably balanced, and art is better than one gets sometimes in these things.


Well recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d20 Apocalypse (d20M)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

L1 The Secret of Bone Hill (1e)
by SG-0401-5333 K. H. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2016 23:08:01

This is a great adventure but letdown by poor scan.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
L1 The Secret of Bone Hill (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by Afet b. T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2016 22:06:24

This is a relatively good adventure that provides a nice lead up to the passage to Barovia. There is an introductory encounter that feeds into four missions that can be explored in any order. Each of these provides the opportunity to fight or negotiate. I like that the adventure encourages the players to work past the fear-driven bigotry of the locals to develop a more nuanced understanding of the actions and motivations of the Gur. The transition to Barovia at the end is pretty good but leaves a key piece of information out: are the two NPCs with PCs after the crossing or not?


The negative here is, yet again, the editing. Sadly, poor editing has been a thorn in the side of all of the AL adventures since Phlan. For example, in Mission 2 boxed text describes a scene in a clearing. Then, two sections later, it becomes clear that there is a cart in the clearing on which there are lanterns providing light. An important detail for PCs to know. Or, in Mission 3, a pair of orcs inexplicably and abruptly becomes an uspecified number of goblins. It was reasonable to shrug off the editorial gaffs when the adventures were offered free to a closed group of DMs. But now that these are official WOTC offerings that cost money, it's harder to swallow. The two principal AL editors either need to step up their game or leave the task in more diligent hands.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04 Curse of Strahd Player's Pack (5e)
by Joshua F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2016 12:22:23

THIS IS A MUST.


Every store running an event should have this printed and in a folder to help build characters and give understanding. In addition I think the place cards should be printed and a link should be found on the stores web/social media page so that others can have access to the material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04 Curse of Strahd Player's Pack (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by Garrett V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2016 18:29:23

Ran the introduction and one mission last night and got a feel for the flow of things. The tavern encounter provided good background information on the two main NPCs so that a good roleplaying session could be constructed. The timing for completing the individual missions seems about right and running it did not feel rushed in the 2 1/2 hours we had. Although the distances between the fleeing Gur stretches the credulity of being able to track them all down in time, it is something that the players didn't mind having glossed over and so it wasn't as real concern yet. Providing the party with horses made rationalizing their ability to catch up alot more palatable. I rated down for the poor proofreading, particularly in Mission 3 and other minor errors. I find the transition text from the Moonsea area to Barovia unoriginal and lacking for the start of what is supposed to be a good gothic horror story so I will probably write my own. I still look forward to the treatment that will be given to Barovia, Ravenloft and Stradh. I hope they do the story justice.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 1836 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG