RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2018 17:44:48

This adventure really has a lot of things going on in it with preparing for the impending army led by Bad Fruul. It takes a bit more preparation to run this well and the number of options involved in fortifying Parnast can be overwhelming to some players. If pulled off right and managed well (and there are a lot of things to manage!), especially if it is run as an epic-like multi-table adventure, this can easily feel like one of the most epic tier 1 adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-15 Reclamation (5e)
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2018 17:37:15

A very linear adventure but, with mostly fun and challenging encounters and a very cool Giant rune puzzle! I would definitely play up the extraplanar nature of the library by describing astral vistas the characters can see beyond the library's walls.

My group got a little confused by the fissure involved in the secret mission though and almost tried to explore the Underdark entrance below it...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-15 Reclamation (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-14 Reeducation (5e)
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2018 17:23:15

A nice short dungeon crawl, but the encounters seemed pretty underwhelming for tier 3. If you add in some better-scaled theme-appropriate monsters into the encounters, it has the potential to be more encgaging. Even using the strong and very strong adjustments, my players had no trouble with it. I would recommend giving the boss character stronger minions.

It also seems weird that Seer got kidnapped in the first place, considering that she's supposed to be some Elminster-level character.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-14 Reeducation (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by Adam C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2018 15:02:15

This is a great starter campaign. I ran it with a group of six, ranging in zero experience to having been playing for years. It kept everyone’s interest, had some entertaining sections, and the entire group was given a chance to work together. I only had about 2 and a half hours to play, so we only did the first three missions, but that totally worked for us. I highly recommend this for beginners, but even experienced players will enjoy the missions.

The only thing I was sad about was the bear. There's nothing to suggest the bear would stay small, so my group immediately killed it, fearing it would return to size and attack. I wish there was a way I could let them know he won't be returning to a dangerous size. Oh well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Kent F W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2018 01:12:12

i have had two experiences with this module, firstly as a player at a convention, and then as a DM in a home AL game... as others have said, this module is heavy on puzzles and deadly traps. the puzzles were well thought-out, unique, generally fun, and the solutions were never so esoteric that the PCs lost hope. in my home game i tried a relaxed pace with some roleplay in the beginning, and we had more than doubled the runtime for the adventure by the end of it (it is designed to be 2 hours). even when i participated in the adventure at a con, the DM made the wise choice of dropping the middle room from the dungeon so that we would make it through in time. i would HIGHLY recommend keeping this option open if you are on time constraints, because the nature of the puzzles will have some groups taking much longer than intended. this can easily be run without a grid, though some of the trap rooms might need a sketch to make them clear to the players. in this, unlike some modules, the included maps seem to mostly parallel the descriptions. initiative seemed a funny thing in this module, as the encounters were rarely combat-based, yet some effects were listed as lasting a certain number of rounds. knowing when to enter initiative and when to leave it is the task of the artful DM with this adventure in particular. there is a unique and endearing NPC that offers the quest to the players, fun to roleplay, which gives the ending to the module all the more impact.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

REF4 The Book of Lairs II (1e)
by Ron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2018 21:17:23

It is almost unreadable. The scan is so bad! There are missing letters and and it is blurry. I can't find any way to get a refund.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
REF4 The Book of Lairs II (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crypt of Lyzandred the Mad (2e)
by Aaron W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2018 15:52:57

Lots of neat content in this module but the quality of the scan is poor.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Crypt of Lyzandred the Mad (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2018 17:00:37

Super tough tier 4 adventure. It has tough combat, it has a timer for success/fail, really makes these high level PCs "work hard for their money". The item at the end is.....Legen......wait for it.....dary!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2018 16:16:21

This is a VERY trap heavy adventure and is a lead in to one of the Classic Carnival Dungeons, White Plume Mountain. It's not bad, but could be tough to keep the attention of newer players.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2018 16:12:49

This is a great adventure and a perfect tie into Ruins of Khundrakar for Season 6. As a Player I was in a party of mostly 1st level characters, and it gave us a TPK, so it is extremely tough if you have a semi devious DM. As a Dungeon Master I love how this Author took Kobolds and made them EXTREMELY deadly and EXTREMELY devious.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Stephanie B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2018 15:24:50

(THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS-- and tips for GMs preparing to run this adventure)

My group of 4 level 3's played this over the weekend. It took a little over 3 hours to finish; I would budget at least 3 hours for a newish group of PCs.

The introduction and betting fell a little flat. The main NPC has a dialect that is difficult to get around-- I worked it by simplifying the dialect a bit, and prefacing the RP with "this NPC has a difficult accent, and that's deliberate." I also had had pre-existing contacts between NPCs and the players-- Pock Marked Po made a return in this adventure to serve as an introduction.

The betting scene was very basic-- the avarice-minded PC was into it, but nobody else really was. They all wanted to examine the animals before the race, partly for evaluating their bets, and largely because they thought there was a big cheating investigation plot they needed to pursue. They were doggedly pursuing as many clues and leads as they could, but the reality is, this module is a bit thin and doesn't support it. There's no guidance for which dinosaur in the betting round has been doped-- and there really ought to be.

If I were running this again, I would beef up the cheating angle, and flesh out one of the rival teams in the race section as a more dedicated cheater, so the PCs have someone to accuse.

The race was surprisingly engaging for the players. They had previously played the dinosaur race mission in 0701, so I worried that they would find this to be "old hat." It was not-- the different mechanics were engaging, especially when I made comparisons to the Triwizard Tourney at Hogwart's. In the second major section of the race, they really got into the interference aspect of the race-- and here again, the module didn't strongly support counter-interference from the rival teams. They were rather pre-programmed and weren't set up to do anything to retaliate against the PCs. If I were running this again, I'd have one of the rivals cheat more heavily, and use all manner of dirty tricks against the PCs.

The final encounter felt tacked on, and the PCs got very frustrated with the terrified little girl. They had little patience for a non-combatant who had no agency. I don't think I'd run that section differently, but it would have been smarter in hindsight to have introduced her before the races, when the PCs went down to the animal pens to do their investigation. Then they'd have seen her normally, and would have felt some kind of connection there. You could even put in a clue or two earlier where the PCs might spot the yuan-ti woman, or have better foreshadowing.

I give this a 4 out of 5, largely because there are enough places where you really need to tweak the adventure to make sense, but the bones are there, and you can make those tweaks without really taking it out of the Adventurers League format.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
by Brandon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 22:28:05

This module is fun to run and has a great set of opportunities for roleplaying as the adventurers recruit allies to the fight, and combat as they face down the hordes of Bad Fruul. Although the arc of the adventure is fun, and the urgency of completing preparations within an unclear time window is fun, the adventure is tough to run and the concept of siege points is tough to follow. It is often unclear how many and what kind of siege points to award for certain objectives, and the sections concerning siege points are spread out and in different fonts, making it tough to find sometime. Section 2 should end with a table that indicates what events the players completed and how many points they get and of what kind. My version would be:

Defend in Parnast or old parnast - 5 or 10 fortification points, advantage on training or fortification checks, respectively

Fortify town - X Fortification points

Train villagers - X Training points

Scout environs - X Scouting points

Feed orcs false info - 5 Scouting points

Chandra survives and is in town at start of siege - 5 training points

Hope Gralm keeps his word - 5 scouting points or Convince gralm to help - less than DC15: 5 scouting points, DC between 15-20: 10 scouting points, DC above 20: 20 scouting points. There are also no rules for gralm aiding in the final battle

Persuade the fey - DC less than 5: nothing, DC between 5-9: blassios joins, DC between 10-14: Blassios and 2 sprites join, DC between 15-19: blassios and five sprites join + 5 scouting? points, DC between 20-24: blassios, oblivillish (no stats) and 10 sprites join + 10 scouting? points, DC over 24: blassios, thornacious, oblivillish, and twenty sprites + 15 scouting? pioints



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Carole O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 21:15:44

This is actually one of my favorite AL modules that I've run to date and a wonderful break from the combat heavy, go and retrieve a person or kill an objective type modules so prevalent this season. Run as the adventure hook to WPM, it was extremely effective at motivating the party to go inside after "Kelvan". A lot of memorable moments-my players are still talking about the room of gears.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Carole O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 21:12:48

My players loved this adventure, especially all the quirky kobold "inventions". The scorpion on a stick almost drew blood from the players over who would take it (for the remainder of the adventure). It's too bad the flavor of that item wasn't added to a permanent magical item at the end.

My only criticism is that the guidance for the kobolds moving after the alarm is tripped is confusing. The first room is supposed to be empty, with kobolds in the walls, but also kobolds move to that room after the alarm. I had the moving kobolds ambush the party there. How the kobols moved in the walls was also a little unclear, and I would have appreciated a little more clear guidance on that aspect as well with advice as to how players can interact with the wall-bolds.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tortle Package (5e)
by Carole O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 21:09:10

The Tortle Package has been my AL group's favorite part of TOA so far. The adventures they had on the island frequently come up in conversation. The variety and uniqueness of each area of the island provides something for every type of player. The exploration adventure hook was easy to remember and reorient the group when they tried to remember what they needed to be doing. The challenges were tier appropriate without being over or underwhelming and the guidance provided in the module was accurate and helpful. I will definitely replay this adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 4438 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG