RPGNow.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2017 17:27:12

Took another group through this last night. I have been struck by how great this adventure is. It's an excelent start for Level 1 adventurers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX3-01 Harried in Hillsfar (5e)
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2017 21:29:36

This particular module consists of five scenarios or "mini adventures". WotC seems to think each of those should run in about an hour each. In my experience, they take about an hour and a half to two hours each. The setup for the adventure overall focuses on the rantings of a madman. Somehow, the players realize he is actually prophesying, and they turn that into clues that lead to five separate scenarios. That felt really weak, but I ran with it anyway because, with a public group, we didn't really have time for an in-depth "session zero" to get the group together. I would have liked a better introductory hook.

The scenarios themselves vary. Without getting too far into spoiler territory, the first two felt too much alike: go to a farm and discover a mystery, then halfway resolve it by trying to be heroes. (That first scenario nearly led to a TPK - some of the demonically-affected creatures can present a significant combat challenge!) The third scenario felt even more disconnected from the overall storyline. However, I really liked running the fourth and fifth, and the reactions of the players (especially to scenario four) indicated that they really felt immersed: creepy stuff was happening and they had to work to figure out how to resolve things. 

Grabbing it and making it your own will allow you to deal with that rough setup, which is mostly just a problem in the way the AL set up this particular content. Therefore, I wouldn't recommend running this as an adventure. Think of these instead as five encounters (or maybe just the last two) that you can drop into your campaign to foreshadow some great evil stalking the world or just to set the tone with demons and undead and cultists. 



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-01 Harried in Hillsfar (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by David Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2017 08:35:18

It is a great intro to the setting and world problems that are introduced in season 5. The five mini adventures keep it short and make it easy to have players new to 5E and AL sit in on a quick game or two to see if it's something that interests them. Each one has its own quirk that challenges the players to prime them for full adventures. I especially enjoyed the creativity of reimagined stat blocks for altered creatures, and some new ones not in the MM. I used some of them to liven up my SKT hardcover chapters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by David Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2017 08:32:03

This set of intro adventures I have mixed views of. They are decently written, but I feel like only the last one really sets the stage for what lies ahead this season. The others have a feeling of going out to rescue people that Darwinism might suggest should just be left to their fate, a comment (or others similar) I have heard a few times running this set.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX3-01 Harried in Hillsfar (5e)
by David Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2017 08:27:43

It is a good intro to the city of Hillsfar and what lie ahead for season 3. The five mini adventures keep it short and make it easy to have players new to 5E and AL sit in on a quick game or two to see if it's something that interests them. Each one has its own quirk that challenges the players to prime them for full adventures, though I found one can be a bit overwhelming and can punish the players a bit harshly considering it is something usually run for brand new players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-01 Harried in Hillsfar (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
by David Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2017 08:25:24

It is a good intro to the city of Mulmaster and what lie ahead for season 2. The five mini adventures keep it short and make it easy to have players new to 5E and AL sit in on a quick game or two to see if it's something that interests them. Each one has its own quirk that challenges the players to prime them for full adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
by David Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2017 08:23:08

It is a good intro to the city of Phlan and to how AL modules are written. The five mini adventures keep it short and make it easy to have players new to 5E and AL sit in on a quick game or two to see if it's something that interests them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by David E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2017 19:23:53

I ran this in a store and played it twice at a con. It is a pretty standard low level dungeon adventure with interesting mechanics. I love the traps and the names of some of the NPC weapons. Make sure the party has plenty of potions of healing because the final boss can easily TPK a party.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by David E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2017 19:11:48

I ran this four times at Origins and had a lot of fun with it. My players seemed to enjoy it as well. It is heavy on puzzles and the DM should be very careful about describing them. For example, if a door in the text is described with a golf ball size hole in the center, players will start looking for golf balls. DMs need to be aware that when reading the text to make sure they don't mislead characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Michael L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2017 23:54:05

((spoilers below))

As puzzles go, this adventure has them and they're decent. The thinking on some of them are a little out of the box for some groups, so be prepared to either let them die, or push them forward.

It's great that it's tied into the Book adventure, but that unfortunately makes it a lame stand alone adventure. The group I ran it for had no idea they were going to be going into one of the most famous D&D modules following this, so that was quite fun as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
by Sammy Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2017 18:32:56

Great Adventure with some fun events that can happen when you make it to the end. Also a great puzzle that every table has had a fun time figuring out and doing so far.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast (5e)
by Sammy Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2017 18:31:50

Pretty decent adventure, but a few parts seem to be set up quite strange from a DM perspective if the players choose to split up at all and try doing multiple things at once, E.G. someone stay with Chandra at all times.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
by Sammy Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2017 18:30:34

Great adventure with plenty of prep for adventurers to make it feel like they are having a truly dynamic impact of the story.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unearthed Arcana: The Artificer Class (5e)
by Daniel O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2017 17:59:05

So far I've only tried this class (Alchemist) in one game and that was at level 4.

Originally I was scared that this class would be incredibly over powered at this level as the damage dice and healing would be quite high. I am happy to report that this was not the case.

In fact I didn't have much luck in my game as my DM managed to pass just about every Dexterity save he rolled for the monsters, in the end I resorted to using my daggers and crossbow to at least deal some damage. Half damage on success would be a great start for the Alchemical Fire, also maybe describe the target area a bit better. A 5 ft radius could in theory hit 9 squares but I doubt that was the intent (how much of a square must be covered to be "hit"?), the area of a large monster would probably be a more accurate description. Perhaps the area could be increased at higher levels. Changing the Alchemical Acid to an attack roll against AC would be swell, as something that doesn't rely on a saving throw would be fun. I also ended up rolling a lot of ones and two's for my attacks, resulting in less than the minimum damage of one of my daggers. Perhaps add something (Int modifier) to the damage or have a minimum damage equal to Artificer level?

A few more Alchemical Formula that unlock at higher level would be nice too, perhaps at 5, 7, 9 and 15 (Like the Warlock), maybe even with other Formulas as prerequisites (Like the Thunderstone to unlock the Shatter-stone). Spells to take inspiration from here could be: Grease, Stinking Cloud, Faerie Fire, Bindness/Deafness, Hold Person, Blight, Light (flare!), Shatter, Wall of Fire and Snilloc's Snowball Swarm. Either as separate formulas or as more powerful versions of the formulas that don't currently scale with level. E.G. Smoke Stick could become more like Stinking Cloud at level 9.

I agree with most people here that the Mechanical Servant doesn't really fit in very well, especially since it doesn't scale at all. Either make a dedicated Artificer Specialist for having a pet, and make it scale well, or remove it completely from the class.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Artificer Class (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by Timothy K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2017 16:18:28

Fun couple of adventures.

These are really good for if you have a short amount of time and would like to do 1 or 2 parts.

Mechanically very simple and not challenging for the players, but they do a good job of introducing the odd themes of Barovia!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 2720 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG