RPGNow.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mines of Madness (Next)
by Alexander K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2017 17:01:09

Beautiful. This is the campaign that every player wants to delve into.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mines of Madness (Next)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
by Timothy K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2017 17:00:52

A very fun adventure, however, if the players don't figure out how they're supposed to get out of the cave, it'll take a VERY long time to complete, and possibly some very strong hints.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
by Timothy K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2017 16:53:34

Plenty of fun.

I really liked the aspect of discovery as the players went along, as well as how the adventure didn't railroad them into fights and rewarded them for diplomacy - stuff you don't always see in AL adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unearthed Arcana: The Artificer Class (5e)
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2017 22:08:35

Some notes on my end since I compared this iteration of the Artificer class with it's original form in 3.5.

Artificer in general:

The Wondrous item could be expanded a bit more and allow the artificer to repair or recreate said items at a fraction of the cost.

Magic item creation could be expanded more into grafts and infusions. Spell scrolls and spellbooks can be broken down into their magical essence to be grafted onto weapons and armor. I would like to propose that grafted items are non-tradeable in Adventurer's League and can only be shared within the campaign and will only work when the artificer who created them is with the party. Tinkerers could also have their own schematics book where they store their plans for constructs as well as spells copied from spell scrolls. They follow the usual wizard rules on copying spells, but not get any discounts since they don't specialize in them. I do argue that when creating spell scrolls, they should at least get a reduced fee since they will use them either in grafting or infusions, or as emergency spells slots.

Gunsmith:

Gun variations would be nice and giving the players options on how to customize and improve their weapon like increasing range, clip improvements so that reloading can be done during short rests or when the party is out of combat, since, compared to other ranged users, they can't retrieve their ammo again, stealth options, etc.

Ammo crafting would be nice as well. Giving the option to create elemental ammo as well as ammo for specific scenarios would keep gunsmiths busy during short rests. Downtime activities can be provided for gunsmiths to search for components for their ammo, which would entail a schematics list.

I'm okay with the Mechanical Servant staying for Alchemists and Gunsmiths, but give them options to upgrade them or add features based on the subclass. Gunsmiths can add armaments which will require gold, materials and downtime, alchemists can augment theirs with a delivery system or a portable lab where they can concoct potions and chemicals while on the go.

Alchemist:

More variations on concoctions and allow Alchemists to craft their own personal concoctions based on components used, my suggestion would be that the spell components used in certain spells would be the guide on what formulas they can make.

The mechanical servant can be replaced with a homunculus. Give characters on how they will create theirs. Will they grow them from a bottle, tailored to their specifications or go the Frankenstein route, mish-mash body parts harvested from fallen enemies and build your own monster.

More transmutation options. Spells that allow the manipulation of matter should at least be in the Alchemist spell list.

Proposed: Engineer/Mechanist/Tinkerer.

The automaton/construct class. Taking a cue from the Revised Ranger beast enclave, they start out making simple automatons for mundane tasks, like shining a light, providing surveillance by having a connection to the tinkerer through their eyewear, becoming simple traps or alarms. Then by level 3, they build their Major Construct. Sizes vary from Large to lower and the CR2 option can remain. I would like to argue that constructs should at least have higher AC than their biological counterparts and they level-up alongside the tinkerer through improvements or upgrades.

Also, variations on constructs would be appreciated. You could have combat constructs and you can have non-combat constructs. Trap creation would be welcome as well.

I'd like to also offer up a suggestion that higher level tinkerers can make their own humanoid constructs, sort of like a puppet maker. At level 5, they can make a non-combative humanoid construct that can assist them in making more constructs, thereby reducing the duration of making constructs by at least half. And in place of the clone spell, a high-level tinkerer could basically make an automaton version of themselves to replace them in the event of death. Or something similar to Simulacrum as well.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Artificer Class (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2017 12:59:16

So I downloaded this to give my players a way into The Forge of Fury that WASN'T blood-soaked (though one would've preferred that, really), and I thought I would be able to run it in one sitting. Turns out, I needed two, because my players were afraid of kobolds. Aside from some typos (which I have come to expect), the adventure had good flow. from area to area, it seems as if the progression was carefully thought out. My only complaints are that the final battle seemed a touch underwhelming, even after scaling for the size of my party. And the tie-in to Forge was a touch weak, given where it deposited you.

Overall, though, A Thousand Tiny Deaths is well constructed, and offers an alternative with where it DOES link up. If I had downplayed the danger with my narrative, my players might have gone all murder hobo on it (and one tried), so I'm glad I worked it like I did. Enjoy this module! A fun time for all!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by André V. R. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2017 12:50:23

Fun and deadly! This module easily leads to a TPK, but remains the best hook into the Forge of Fury adventure even after the publication of the alternative hooks: dndadventurersleague:hooks-the-forge-of-fury written by Alan Patrick.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
by Jeremy J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2017 09:32:44

This was my first adventure I ran as a DM at my local store. I thought it was laid out nicely, very informative for a new DM and easy to use. I had the use of maps that were part of the module, which worked out great for those early big battles. There was a lot of areas that the players could RP, which was nice to always having to slash and gash everything they saw. The only problem I found was that, when you have a full table (6-7 players), it was hard to stay on track as far as time. I found that I swept over some parts that the characters might have enjoyed more. Overall, I was very pleased with the adventure and more importantly, so were my characters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by daniel r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2017 08:20:51

Really fun adventure for players but both times I've ran this I've almost TPK'd the whole party. Other than that can potentionally flow smoothly from the end of Sunless Citadel and is very helpful for starting Forge of Fury



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2017 23:17:07

Adventure League's module DDAL06-02, The Redemption of Kelvan is a classic dungen crawl adventure for characters in the second tier of play (levels 5 - 10). It sends one back in time to older editions of Dungeons & Dragons where you feared the dungeon itself as much as any creature you might across inside it. Traps are the star in this module and players will need to be ready to look beyond simple skill checks and a high passive perception in order to succeed. Logic puzzles, riddles, misdirection, and "red herrings" all work in concert to create an adventure that will challenge even the most experienced players and plague those that come unprepared. In the attempt to bring something new to Adventure League by embracing some of the old, this module suffers some notable setbacks.

Players have little no warning about what it is exactly they are about to embark on. After many seasons of mainly "Hack & Slash" modules, they have little reason to think otherwise. What they come face to face with is an adventure whose focus is so much on traps being the main obstacles, as well as source of experience, that failure to manage those obstacles will make them glad for the minimum experience that can be earned. One flaw in this is that individual players can then become soley responsible for having cost a table considerable amounts of experience and this situation can be a source of possible conflict.

The idea of a module centered around traps and puzzles is not bad, in fact it is extremely welcome. The writer does a fantastic job in creating unique, inventive, and entertaining puzzles for players to manage throughout the course of the adventure. The issue that arises is how the players are typically expected to be able to solve some of the puzzles that they come across: use of arcane magic.

Woe to the group of players that enters this dungeon with no serious arcane casting class. Even that is not a guarentee though since there a couple spells or arcane abilities that are easily overlooked and not utilized by characters in a style of play that has mainly emphasized combat for some time. In addition to this, simply count yourself lucky if you find a player in your group who happens to know that one specific ancient language that a player really has no reason to choose aside from having it prepared for this particular adventure.

These requirements for success is what brings me to my main critique of the adventure: how to utilize obstacles in an adventure. When you place obstacles in front of players, you absolutely need to make sure the players have a chance to what is needed in order to succeed. If you create a creature that for some reason can only take damage from sources of fire, then you make sure players have a way to deal fire damage to the creature. If you put a locked before the players, you need to make sure that they have a way to open it that is not dependent on what was chosen during character creation. Failure to address this can cause the ugly beast known as "meta-gaming" to surface.

A creative DM can easily find a solution to this dilemma. The agent who sends them on the task can appraise the party and see if they are lacking a key component. A casting of a spell, at an inflated cost, can remedy the deficiency or perhaps the possibility of hiring some NPC to fill the gap could be utilized. These ideas could even enchance the adventure as it would give the players a sense of urgency for the spell cast may last only so long or the hired hand may meet an early demise if the players are not careful.

I do not want to end on a negative note though. This is not an adventure is not bad. It is hopefully the first of many similar adventures to come to the world of Adventure League. Despite my critique, the adventure can be quite enjoyable. It is never easy to walk that fine line of "challenge vs. frustration" and The Redemption of Kelvan simply takes a few missteps along the way. It came extremely close and one can only hope that the writers will be able to create more adventures of this nature and avoid some of pitfalls present here.

This module fills a void in the library of Adventure League where the aspects outside of combat (story-telling, roleplaying, puzzles, etc) can see the light of day. It puts the "crawl" back in "Dungeon crawl" and it offers those who create characters not optimized for combat to have their fifteen moments of fame as well. Just pray to Tymora that you have one in your group before you enter.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2017 22:45:06

This adventure has a great story with the giants, not trying to fight the giants, but to keep the peace with the giantkind. I didn't get a chance to run it, but I read and prepared the adventure, but the table I was going to run fell through and got canceled. I think it would have been a great advneture to have run though. It has options for the DM to choose and some good roleplay encounters that can get intense or suspenseful, based on what the party decides.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2017 22:32:55

A really great low-level, introductory adventure to the region of Parnast, the Storm King's Thunder storyline. It takes the protecting a caravan adventure and raises the stakes, with plenty of danger from various goblinoids to a desert sandstorm! I'd say it is not a 2 hour adventure, definately should be played out in a 4 hour timeframe.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2017 22:26:35

Run this as a mini-epic, 3 tables! It is basically designed to be run that way, but running it for a single larger party, I say larger, as the first time I played it, there was only 3 of us. We barely survived as we had a well balanced party of Druid, Ranger and Paladin.

There are optional small quests or missions before the invasion of Parnast. There are plenty of options asl well to help the town and the townsfolk prepare for the final battle. This is a great adventure to be run at a convetion or a multi-table game store event.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-13 Jarl Rising (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2017 22:15:14

I liked the optional encounters that there were available, however, I thought adventure story was tedious and confusing.

The final encounter turned out to be very difficult with the spellcasting Ogre, it can be a good challenge for higher level characters. A tacticical and well planned encoutner can turn out to be either fun or very frustrating. So be careful what you plan for.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-13 Jarl Rising (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2017 22:04:06

Another great adventure with all sorts of alternatives to straight hack and slash or classic dungeon crawl.

Skill competion, I say competition as the party tries to outdue an NPC. An object puzzle, with real handout to give the party to put together. A mission/quest to diplomacy with monstrous creatures, exactly like the title says.

I ran this a few times at a local convention and the players at each table had fun and liked the alternative adventure style. Expecially the drinking games!

I highly recommend that you try this adventure out if you're looking for an alternative adventure to other D&D modules.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Catharin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2017 10:48:43

This was super-fun, but I can see where it's not for everyone. It's almost entirely puzzles and traps - the players wound up with a total of two rounds of combat. For the more hack-and-slash lovers, this might be frustrating. For people who are bored with the typical "oh you find a trap. Ok you disarm it," this is going to be a blast. (Possibly literally, depending on which traps they fail.)

It wasn't hard to prep, and can be run theater of the mind pretty easily. The puzzles were well written, and the traps were placed logically and fit the environment. The difficulty will depend on party composition and player cleverness, so it's hard to say where it falls on that spectrum. I'd suggest looking at who you've got rather than just party size/level before making the difficulty adjustments.

All in all, this will definitely become one of my go-to mods for pulling out to run on short notice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 2708 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG