RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Fright at Tristor (3e)
by Martin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2015 11:58:21

This adventure was created as part of the Living Greyhawk campaign, but it can be played as is with no modification, or with very small adjustments should you want to play it using different rules than 3rd edition rules.


The premise of the adventure is that 20 years ago, in the hamlet of Tristor, a terrible incident happened. Rhennees (similar to gypsies) came to the village and sold their medications. Because of a terrible mistake while mixing ingredients, two persons died and a small boy was left blind and paralyzed from the waist down. The townsfolk gathered and visited mob justice on the Rhennees, killing all of them but one young boy they forced to watch. At the time the adventure begins, the young boy is back and using a disguise and a trained bear, mutilates and kills livestock as well as farmers around Tristor, seeing his actions as justice for what happened.


The region is also infested with orcs and a few encounters as well as what I would consider a sidetrek as it is unrelated to the main plot is provided to reflect this. The first part of the adventure relies a lot on investigation and several of the encounters occurs on farms that have been attacked. Although not specified, this part is a lot easier with character who can track. Even the remainder of the adventure is easier if such a character is present. In any case, the characters may feel a bit helpless as they chase after clues and are confronted by some unsavory residents of Tristor. The way the residents intervene and act is actually, in my opinion, on of the strength of the module because they are depicted as having motives of their own and are not simply there to help the pc's. There are also consequences to their actions, some of them plunging right to their deaths.


The last part of the adventure provides a description of a few locations outside Tristor and cover the final showdown with the main opponent. The showdown is not particularly impressive. It is not bad, but it is unremarkable: the characters find the cave where the Rhennee survivor lives under the identity of a local woodsman and they may just let him go if they cannot succeed a sense motive check to realize he is not who he says he is. I am not a big fan of that.


The adventure also does not have a lot of maps. Most important areas are depicted, but the encounter with the main antagonist does not have a map. I am also not a big fan of the reliance on tracking to find clues. It is a perfectly good way to find a clue of course, but there could have been other ways and the fact players often need to wait for thing to happen or may miss clues should they decide to search the area around Tristor is not the best adventure design I've seen. Many of the encounters featured in the last part could have been hinted in rumors heard in town. And since these encounters provide very meaningful clues, players could have been able to prevent some of the murders. The fact that they can't do it if the adventure is played as written makes the adventure a bit railroaded, in a manner of speaking.


In any case, not a bad adventure, but there is not much new in the adventure. It is not flawed however, so if you want to play a campaign in Greyhawk, it would make for a good choice because it is makes great use of the existing campaign elements.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Fright at Tristor (3e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2015 16:06:55

I definitely feel Impressed by a lot of what 5e has offered, and this small, but content packed supplement is great example of the quality of 5e. A simple add-on of interesting races and spells, that can be used in any campaign, to me, is a simple by. And the duel purpose of assisting campaigns in this specific setting is wonderful. The races, atleast, are pretty unusual. And many Dms may feel immediately afraid of balancing issues if they were to add them in their campaign, but I honestly see these races as an example of what Wizards of the Coast was able to do in the core rulebooks with both the races and classes. Add awesome abilities and really cool sounding powers, that are wonderfully balanced with the rest of the game. I'd say this may be only one of the first of a great line of supplements for Dungeons amd Dragons 5th Edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Magic of Eberron (3.5)
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2015 13:05:42

Nice pdf but it is more of a background/history book rather than being particularly useful in play. Kinda expected lots more spells it they are pretty low in number. The least useful of the Eberron books. For once it did not have me reaching for pen and paper



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Magic of Eberron (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

GAZ3 The Principalities of Glantri (Basic)
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2015 11:40:05

The pdf is 102 pages (the original book was 96 pages, a detached cover and large map of the country and Glantri City). The PDF is a good quality scan and retains all the information found in the print book. The cover art was done by the fantastic Clyde Caldwell. While this book is a D&D "Basic" book, there is so much here of use that it can really be used with any D&D system. This book really set the stage for all the other Gazetteers to follow.


The first part, Welcome to Glantri, gives a very brief overview of what the country is and what this book sets out to do.
Up next is the History of Glantri. I spent hours and hours reading this over and over. I won't go into great detail, but linking Glantri to ancient Blackmoor was wonderful in my mind. Mostly because I loved the link but also I had done something similar for my own games. What follows next is a time line from 3000 BC, The Rain of Fire (Before Crowning of the first Emperor of Thyatis) to 1000 AC (today) and even on to 1200 AC. I always wondered if the Rain of Fire that destroyed Blackmoor was related or even just the same spell that destroyed the Suel in the Greyhawk world.


Geography of Glantri is next. Like much of Mystara, Glantri is a mix of all sorts of races and people, but Glantri also has it's fair share of "monsters" those will be detailed later. Glantri's climate is also touched upon, making it one of the colder lands.


The is followed by The Glantrian Economy. I really enjoyed this section because it really breathes life into the people that live here. Each of the Principalities is detailed here for the first time. A quick read and one immediately recognizes analogues to Scotland, Italy, France, and even Transylvania. Glantri is very cosmopolitan. We move into the Grand Army of Glantri and Politics and Rivalries of Glantri. Glantri is the place to play out political intrigue where everyone is mage of some sort or has one on retainer. Like the Economy section, this section breathes more life into the people of the land, in this case all the great houses. I will admit once again that the interior art by Stephan Fabian links this to Ravenloft in my mind. Not only are there humans here, but vampires, werewolves and liches ruling. We will get to witches in a bit.


Guilds and Brotherhoods are also one of the more important features of this book and life in Glantri. There are so many here that characters could each belong to many and none overlap. Some are complimentary to each other and others at cross purposes. Really good fodder for role-playing.


Glantri City by Night details what happens to the 39,000+ residents when the sun goes down. The book is like a what we now call Modern Supernatural. So all sorts of "monsters" come out and mingle with everyday people. It says "by Night" but really this an overview of the city itself and all it's sections. It reminds me of a travel guide to London I once read, so I am rather fond of this section.


Living in Glantri City details life in the city including the laws, who is in charge, magic use and various holy/high days. There is no religion in Glantri, but there is a state philosophy. Of course it is tied in with magic.


The Great School of Magic. Outside of Hogwarts or Professor Xavier's school has a school been so rich detailed. Though there is enough here to make me want more, a lot more. This is followed by Creating Spells and Magical Items and The Secret of the Radiance. The source of Glantri's magical power.


Nest we get into The Seven Secret Crafts of Glantri. If you only buy this book for this section then you will be well rewarded. Think of these as schools or even colleges of magic. Each one ads something special to the Magic-User class, almost like a Prestige Class or Paragon class feature. They include, Alchemy, Dragon magic, Elemental magic, Illusion, Necromancy, Rune magic, and of course, Witchcraft.
We wrap up with Adventures in Glantri.


The Gazetteer series were works of art and none more so than the Glantri book.


I mentioned before that this book would work fine with other versions of D&D. Looking deeper into the Seven Secret Crafts of Glantri, one could EASILY replace the Arcane Tradition feature of the 5th Edition Wizard and replace those powers with the craft powers. The 5e wizard gets 4 Arcane tradition powers/features and the Basic craft wizards get 5. They work out to about the same levels too.


So if you have not picked this up, do so. I highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ3 The Principalities of Glantri (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

WGR4 The Marklands (2e)
by Nicola R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2015 04:25:19

The quality of the scan is superb, except for the cover and back cover. they are too dark (fix this if you can).
Overall a great product for a great setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WGR4 The Marklands (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon #216 (4e)
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2015 13:17:04

If there was a negative scoring system them I would give this a minus score, really, really disappointing content.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon #216 (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Exemplars of Evil (3.5)
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2015 13:14:09

Great. They off, good art work, good idea's and guidance for dms. Plenty of well thought out villains and their minions plus actual adventures and scenarios based around each villain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exemplars of Evil (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aurora's Whole Realms Catalogue (2e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2015 13:13:53

Brilliant book. Whether you want to offer some unusual items to sell to your players in a large city, or looking at spicing up a treasure horde with interesting knick knacks, this is the book for you. The descriptions are well written with a bit of flavour and will give your players ideas for inventive play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aurora's Whole Realms Catalogue (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragonmarked (3.5)
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2015 13:09:56

The eberron 3.5 books blow most supplements out of he water. Great hooks, detail and artwork.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonmarked (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Enemies and Allies (3e)
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2015 13:07:31

Great book this with lots of nicely different NPCs, including the original characters from the 3.5 players hand book - at three different level. We are using them as a framework for 5e.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enemies and Allies (3e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon #207 (4e)
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2015 13:03:59

Its got vistani, so its good. Great art work. Better than most of these later magazines



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon #207 (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2015 14:16:10

Plane Scape is as good as it gets almost better than the new sword coast adventurers guide



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D1-2 Descent into the Depths of the Earth (1e)
by Jacob A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2015 16:35:18

This is a great romp through the Underdark. A really cool thing to read (and run!) in 5E. You could definitely mine this for some cool alterations to Out of the Abyss or any Underdark campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D1-2 Descent into the Depths of the Earth (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Return to the Tomb of Horrors (2e)
by Donald B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2015 12:23:18

On the whole, I got what I paid for with this product. I needed a digital copy of the original Tomb of Horrors module (which is included in this package) so I could adapt it into my VTT environment. I have tools to export the images and text for re-publication purposes. My only complaint is that the OCR was not clean. This required me to hand edit all of the content. Other than that, it was exactly what I needed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Return to the Tomb of Horrors (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

B4 The Lost City (Basic)
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2015 20:45:34

If you have the Moldavy D&D Red Book...then you should have B4 tucked away in your collection somewhere...Moldavy wrote B4 himself for the Red Book so it's a bit of a no brainer. B4 is a sort of Tomb of Horrors for Original D&D, that is lots of traps but without the unbelievable fatality of S1 (yes we all love the Sphere of Annihilation...but this is an introductory module after all). My favorite element of B4 is that the wandering monsters are mostly made up of the wandering nutballs that inhabit the Lost City, which create a lot of opportunity for players to actually role play (i.e. ally themselves with various bands of city dwellers, etc.) and not just hack and slash their way through this dungeon.


B4 is a great module which may require more work on the DM's part than other Original D&D modules, so in a way it's an introductory module for players and a more intermediate one for DMs.


Long story short...if you love Moldavy style, then you probably own (or will own soon) B4 The Lost City.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 1661 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG