RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
by Samuel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2018 21:31:34

A simple, straight forward exploration adventure with a tough fight at the end. It has very little set-up, just grab it and go. Great opportunity for a creative DM to have fun with NPCs. Great to run on short notice, just classic D&D.

I almost had the party TPK themselves trying to save one of their comrades unconscious in the razorvine at the final encounter, while the razorvine bush was on fire, so that was fun! But everyone was standing up, nervous, excited, so that was all the more gratifying.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
by Kenneth K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2018 17:52:27

This came out during the holiday season and was a hilarious Christmas D&D adventure, right down to the tacky sweaters. My party, known to be hard on AL modules, went along with the storyline because it sucked them in and they had a great time. Speaking of that iconic sweater, two of the seven players have added it to the general description of their characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2018 17:35:01

Absouletely loved this adventure. Offers some replayability with the pseudo-random encounters at the beginning which are quite fun on their own. Also did a great job of showcasing the dangers of the jungle, both with the undead horde as well as the ambush of bone spirit nagas. The tribe of birdfolk and their whole story with The Big One was quite interesting though a bit weird how quick they decided to go against their guardian deity. Also weird how those birdpeople apparently have no qualms about sacrificing their own people (both to The Big One as well as Ubtao).
The last part inside the giant dino and the fight after were very well done and made for an awesome scenario. My party of 4 (APL 6) was really challenged by the boss and had a very thrilling fight.

Would like to see more adventures like this in the future, with multilinear paths to the goal and a very well crafted boss scenario.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
by kemper s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2018 10:35:35

Got the hardcover, print on demand version. Very nice. Great version of the game, very playable with expansive rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
by alan t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2018 03:03:54

it was really really good! like all the one shots i buy it was to fill a gap in our own campaign which is a storm kings thunder game. It provided a perfect template to change slightly to suit our own story. it was easily scaled to suit my party and the time constraint aspect was a really great piece of extra pressure. Also it had really great NPCs to DM!

definately recommend especially if youre playing Storm Kings



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Eric A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2018 17:53:43

Excellent introductory adventure if you're planning on running the Forge of Fury. Provides a good alternative to the standard entry methods into the dungeon. Unique gameplay and challenge forcing a party to use different tactics than just charging in and killing as players are prone to do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-03 The Executioner (5e)
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2018 13:00:42

I really wish I could give this module a higher rating, but it was abysmal to run.

The entire adventure plays like an extended cutscene. I was basically forced to railroad the players so that they would actually make any progress towards unraveling the mystery, and by the end of it the identity of the attacker was still unknown to them.

The players latched onto random rumors that were given out in the beginning as red herrings, fixating on them almost to the exclusion of the main plot.

The rumor about the Burgomaster's taxes backfired when one player literally said he would stand outside the Burgomaster's mansion for days on end until he decided to engage in discussion.

Avoid this module. It's not good.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-03 The Executioner (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2018 12:43:47

This adventure was fun. It wasn't the greatest one I've ever run, but I enjoyed the players' confusion about the events until the last minute when they found the journal in the cave.

Part 2 was weird. Having a bunch of different encounters seemed really weird. Additionally, the timeline on the blizzard was really confusing, and I basically ruled that the players made it to the cave just in time, and then spent the night there to wait out the blizzard.

Three Pillars breakdown:

Hard to do, honestly. It depends heavily on what you choose/roll for Part 2, so you have great latitude in controlling your ratio. Here's what my group ended up with:

Combat: 40%, 3/5: I picked "Bad Dogs" for Part 2c, and the fight was... balanced, but uninteresting. The last fight was very underwhelming, despite using the Very Strong adjustment

Exploration: 20%, 5/5: Very little in the way of exploration. Basically the only thing the players have to explore is the campsite, which is written fantastically. I enjoyed asking each player how they want to look around, and using their description to pick a skill and give them information. I also used "This Does Not Belong Here" for Part 2a, so there was a bit more exploration/investigation. My players enjoyed the tambourine

Roleplay: 40%, 4/5: The roleplay with the elves and in the final encounter were compelling and set the theme for Barovian adventures. Death, starvation, cold, pain, sorrow, regret, etc. Fantastic themes.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2018 12:31:57

Fantastic introduction into the Curse of Strahd season of adventures.

One thing that I had to fight my players really hard on was that despite the imperative from Aya Glenmiir (who they had met in previous adventures!), I had to remind them time and again that the Gur should be kept alive. Fortunately, I think the quest would be fine even if one or more of them died, I do not know if any of them are important later on. Of course, there's always the "The Dark Powers raised them from the dead", but I think leaning on that too hard ruins the verisimilitude.

Three Pillars Breakdown:

Combat: 50%, 4/5: Some of the fights are underwhelming for large parties; despite the adjustment guidance my players stomped a few of the fights

Exploration: 15%, 3/5: Underwhelming at times

Roleplay: 35%, 5/5: The Gur were all very compelling characters, and a certain Hag was creepy as hell. Aya Glenmiir is a fantastic recurring character.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
by Steve S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2018 12:30:32

This adventure is short, sweet, to the point. It has a little of everything you would want in a table top game - a clear mission brief, urgency, exploration, some RP, and a problem that is pretty much sandbox. Players have a lot of leeway to be awesome in more ways than one. Lovely adventure. Just be warned you are very likely to overrun time lol.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2018 12:27:45

I ran The Rot From Within trilogy when our hardcover adventure made it back to Port Nyanzaru. The hooks into each adventure and the trilogy as a whole were fantastic (though I recommend DDAL07-07 before DDAL07-06), and it served as a great interlude.

Be warned: this is not a 2-hour module.

Our group usually makes it through a 2-hour module in the 3 hours allotted to us. I deliberately slow things down and let them take their time to make for a more fulfilling experience, rather than finishing half an hour early or more.

For this module, I warned my group that it is very long for a 2-hour module, and that I would need them to move more quickly through combat in particular. We started about 10 minutes early, and managed to finish this module in 3.5 hours, going just over our allotted timeslot, despite rushing through it. If you have the appropriate-faction PCs in your group, there are four fights. We skipped the faction-specific fight entirely; I simply estimated how long it would take them to defeat the single enemy (2 rounds), and simulated the effects of it making attacks for those rounds, so that they would be appropriately worn down for the last fight.

Three Pillars breakdown:

Combat: 75%, 5/5: Combat is well-balanced and compelling (my party loved the girallons and giant ape)

Exploration: 15%, 3/5: not much to explore, and what there is is... slightly confusing

Roleplay: 10%, 4/5: Very little roleplay, though it is compelling and feels good for the players



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2018 11:40:06

I loved this adventure. My players have mixed feelings. Good role-playing almost caused a TPK as we bascially repeated the fight in the flooded village. The RP opportunities were great and the combat satisfying. Overall a very well written module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2018 11:34:09

This module did a good job of setting up the rest of the series and keep the theme for the season. Once into the heart of the module it got a very Indiana Jones feel, the pace picked up and did not end till the conclusion. There are some good early on role-play opportunities.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2018 08:47:07

This is my go to adventure when I have to DM but dont have any prep time. It's a pretty straight forward dungeon crawl with a bit of social interaction thrown in the middle. Some of the rooms are dark, bizzar and quite fascinating. If I had one problem with the dungeon it's the boss fight at the end, where the boss is almost guarenteed to get away. At that point the players don't even understand why there are undead roaming around..they basically stumble into a room with non undead and the guy in charge flees.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2018 08:13:54

When reading the adventure I was expecting someone was going to die, but it didn't happen. I expected the legendary actions/resistances to be more effective but she still got ripped apart really fast. I think the group had a harder problem trying to get away up the tunnel at the end. I noticed some other people saying the first fight with the yellow creeper and zombies was problematic but I think that's more on the DM to express the fight as hopeless. My group is also paranoid so they avoided the corpses and studied the obelisk and figured out the puzzle before combat began. I think in retrospect I probably should have started the fight before they'd gotten into place to press the buttons to keep things exciting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 4558 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG