RPGNow.com
Browse













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDEX2-11 Oubliette of Fort Iron (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2017 10:57:01

This was the first 2 hour adventure I ever ran, and like all 2 hour adventures, I find that it is more of a 2-3 hour adventure. This is essentially a straight dungeon crawl. The encounters can require some player thought, not just an ability check. The final fight is fun to RP.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-11 Oubliette of Fort Iron (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-10 Cloaks and Shadows (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2017 10:52:03

Overall, I like this module. The first encounter is a fun chase/evasion. The detective work in the middle in fun as well. Lots of choices for the party to choose from and lots of paths to take. The final fight can be interesting. My only complaint is the magic item. I feel it is overpowered for tier 1. Other modules downstream until the player with the item hits tier 2 are much harder to run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-10 Cloaks and Shadows (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-13 Jarl Rising (5e)
by Rachel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 20:36:13

The overarching plot on this one was a little lacking / vague. My players kept forgetting why they were trying to get to the outpost, and I had to remind them 3 times. That being said, I still had fun with this module and let my group roleplay a lot. They are a think-outside-the-box kind of group and enjoy stratagizing encounters. So to that end it took them 3 sessions to finish, about 6-7 hours.

The various encounters were really fun and various. I especially liked the hill giant encounter! I had a lot of fun with the caster-boss at the end, too. She had enough hps so I actually got to use her spells, unlike other caster-bosses I've presented to the players. I was very happy to see the random weather rolls again. I let the sniper roll them this time so he couldn't blame me for the gusty-snowfall rolls. haha!

It wouldn't be a complete review without mentioning how much the wording of the description of the B____ in the Snow encouner made me laugh. These writers are very clever people. :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-13 Jarl Rising (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
by Rachel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 20:12:32

I really love that this module wasn't just hack-and-slash. There is ingrigue and a mystery to solve. Of course if you want hack and slash, you can go that route, too. ;).

The weird river encounter spawned some good-natured fun in our group, and our sorceror got a bit mischieveous. Haha. Good fun was had by all! :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
by Rachel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 20:02:18

This was the first module I ran and I am a bit concerned that the bar has been set so high. lol. This was so much fun to run, and really fun for my players. They are a think-outside-the-box kind of group and had a lot of fun with the enronomental factors. :). I felt that the NPCs were given good groundwork personalities (DMs flesh it out of course), and the random encounters were well varied and all were interesting.

I do have to say that my favorite thing in this module was rolling for the weather. lol. The sniper was on edge to see what that d4 read. Haha!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-08 Foulness Beneath Mulmaster (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 16:48:27

I love dungeon crawls! Or in this case - a sewer crawl. Nice straightforward mission, not much to side track the PCs. The twist at the end can be fun to mess with the party (not quite dead). My only gripe is only one map, or even lacking clear guidance on drawing the other areas. As a visual DM, I like to "see" what is going on, and I do not think I have ever run this the same way twice. Despite that, this is a fun one for combat heavy groups.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-08 Foulness Beneath Mulmaster (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-07 Bounty in the Bog (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 16:44:27

A good solid "get out of the city" adventure module. If your party is weak on outdoor skills (survival, animal handling), then this can get messy. A fairly straight forward adventure, without a lot of potential side tracks for the party. I upped the final fight a bit (average to strong) as the party had not taken much damage up to the boss fight, and I wanted to give them more of a challenge. Good, but not great.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-07 Bounty in the Bog (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-06 Breath of the Yellow Rose (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 16:40:45

At first read through, I thought this would be a boring adventure to run - but my party proved me wrong. I had a couple of rogues who hammed up the RP sections so much, that we could not help but have a blast. The investigation can go horribly wrong if the players do not RP well, but as a DM I love playing up the NPCs as basically movie characters. Need a questionable noble? Think any Bill Paxton role. Need a lordly type? Think Christopher Lee as Saruman. You can fit them in here and have lots of fun. And then the rogue says "I make herbal sleeping suppositories and stick them...."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-06 Breath of the Yellow Rose (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-05 Flames of Kythorn (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 16:35:12

A good module, but not a great module. I have both played and DMed this adventure. The first encounter could seriously damage the party if they become scattered and unfocused on the objective (I had someone "help" with NPC healing). This adventure does have a time limit of sorts built in - so if your party is the type to expend every resource and demand a long rest, then you will have a long session of grumpy players. Another set of Mulmaster nobles gets involved, so depending on how things go, they could become patrons, or enemies! I found the freeform nature of the final fight(s) challenging to run, but if you do not have a rules lawyer at the table then you can make it work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-05 Flames of Kythorn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-02 Embers of Elmwood (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 16:28:37

I love this adventure! A nice 4 hour intro to Season 2 - Mulmaster. This module gives you some great leeway in letting players go wild with the RP, but enough combat (especially the second combat - very scalable) to satisfy the bloodthirsty amongst your players. This module also gives the DM a lot of leeway in how to handle the RP.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-02 Embers of Elmwood (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
by Jim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 14:44:28

Still new to DM'ing DDAL, but this was an awesome module to run. A straightforward dungeon crawl with interesting twists to direct at players who like to loot everything. Great small option for some festive RP in the middle of it all, plus some interesting traps/problem solving. A few of the rooms were freakin awesome to challenge the players with maniacal giggles (Sorry, no spoilers) played well with my DM style.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Gail D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2017 17:53:18

These are perhaps my favorite intro adventures to an AL season thus far. Whilst I agree that the experience does not necesarily lend itself to just 5 hours of play, these are fantastic missions that can be run as a set or individually side by side with hardcover adventures in Chult.

When run as a set, the first hour of 7-01 usually seems to be spent getting introduced to Port Nyanzaru and the other players in the party. There are so many sights and sounds, out and about, that to rush this first glimpse of Chult would do it a disservice. Following that the missions hit their stride and allow for relatively quick gameplay. Still, I would schedule 2 4hr sessions to run 7-01. The players may only get to level 2, but what they lack in experience, they make up for in roleplay/development of their PCs and balancing group dynamics.

I adore the detail and focus on location, npcs and flora and fauna. 7-01 imbues its adventures with just the right about of Chult flavor to get players excited and provide ideas for RP situations.

However, it would do well to recall that this is an intro adventure, meant not only as a gateway to Chult but also for easy gameplay for new DMs. I do believe it straddled that line very well in that regard. I hope to see the faction agents further fleshed out in following tier 1 adventures.

The primary issue with 7-01 for some, may be its lack of permanent magic items which could put off a large swathe of AL players in the longterm. They may opt for other tier 1 season 7 adventures that do offer the opportunity to grab a shiny item instead. However, I quite enjoy a couple of the story awards in "A City on the Edge" and find them to be better by far than a number of the regularly seen uncommon magic items that populate t1 adventures.

Looking back at my runs of 7-01, I would honestly recommend running these amidst Guild Adept adventures and ToA hardcover. That way, not only do players get XP for RP during hardcover hours but it allows DMs not to worry about figuring out which sidequests to pick when they can simply switch to a 7-01 mission in the second half of the session. Alternatively, running Cellar of Death (Guild Adept adventure) would also offer a seague directly into the hardcover, post 7-01. Overall I found this particular AL adventure delightful, with many opportunities for fun with dinosaurs, trips to the bathhouses and filthy rainy days out and about. Definitely recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

One Grung Above (5e)
by Greg M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2017 13:02:21

I've had the file opened for 30 seconds and already have great ideas for both new characters and new adventures!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Grung Above (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

One Grung Above (5e)
by Lysa C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2017 12:08:24

A great race for those creative players who really enjoy roleplaying quirky characters! Notably, the grung's poisonous skin and ability to speak only Grung seem like they could lead to some FUN TIMES. The descriptions of the One Grung Above characters are a nice touch as backstory inspiration and as insight into what it means to be grung.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2017 17:07:32

This adventure has it all - RP, combat, dragon. It is called "Dungeons and Dragons" after all. I admit I forced my combat group to RP through the hags, but it was worth it. The final fight was awesome. Even though 2 players critted and technically killed the boss, I used the box text and made their characters shiver. They actually thought there was another fight after the end fight. Keep the group to the timetable, and you will be fine. I find my groups are always wanting to long rest after EVERY fight. Make them earn the XP.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 3502 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG