RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by Alexander W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2016 17:18:05

If you want an adventure that is value for money, and can give a long introduction to level 1 characters entering Barovia then this adventure is for you. I am planning to run the whole of DDAL04 so I was happy with the product of the written module here.


I ran the game much over time than what was expected. DDAL0401 ran for around 5-6 weeks. I really enjoyed spinning out Faerun and happily letting my characters feel the Forgotten Realms until dumping them into Barovia which is so much different a twisted. I love the contrast this module can create.


If you are running a homebrew game I would still recommend this game and adjusting some of the encounters. Plan ahead and you should be fine to get ideas from the module. Its a really good price for anyone with the Curse of Strahd hardcover book that wants a better more refined entry for level 1-4 into Barovia.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
by Alexander W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2016 17:09:36

I just finished running this adventure. I did this in two 3 hour sessions. The players really did enjoy the adventure and picked up everything that was "suggested" by their DM. I'd love to add spoilers to this review and talk about how all the players understood the story and at which parts suprised them, made them laugh and made them think. We haven't got to crying yet. But I am close, I am so very close !


Seriously, I enjoyed running the game, it seems well balanced for the characters, the story for a DM was fun to set up and the land of Barovia is chilling and great to imagine !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D&D Basic Set - Player's Manual (BECMI ed.) (Basic)
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2016 18:39:54

My favourite D&D version.... but where are Expert, Master, Companion and Immortal?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set - Player's Manual (BECMI ed.) (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hasken's Manor (3.5)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/07/2016 10:28:14

This adventure concerns goings-on in a tiny port by the name of Haskenport, founded on a shallow inlet by a paladin who fancied retiring to the area. He built himself a manor house and a dock, then a chance discovery of some particularly tasty mushrooms led to a small gourmet trade that built up the settlement a bit. Some ten years ago the paladin passed away, leaving his lands and manor to the local church - but they have struggled with the upkeep and it's not in very good condition. Worse, it appears some hobgoblins have taken up residence there...


There's a bit of background which reveals all that's going on in and around the manor, and a few hooks to get the party involved - although the thought of clearing monsters out of a manor house ought to be sufficient for any bunch of adventurers worth their salt. We get quite a bit of detail about Haskenport, sufficient to make it come alive not just for the purposes of this adventure but as a location within your campaign world, although there is no plan of the settlement although there are several detailed ones of the manor house.


The adventure itself consists of two encounters and the exploration of the manor house itself. It's all nicely put together and provides opportunities to talk as well as to fight. As written, psionics are involved: but if you don't care for them there are notes about how to provide non-psionic alternatives and still maintain the flavour of the adventure.


It's a nice straightforward adventure that actually has quite a bit to it once you get to grips with it, with a few suggestions for follow-up activities that could even see the party settling down in the manor if you want them to have a base - at 7th-level they might be looking to establish somewhere to settle down.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hasken's Manor (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by Sharon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2016 21:23:37

This intro module provides good bite-sized adventures for people new to DnD. I ran parts of this adventure for seven different groups of entirely-new-to-DnD players.


The frame story was compelling, each of my groups felt motivated to pursue the quest and didn't feel railroaded into the story. That's a strong point for me. Also, thinking of the chapters as negotiation, infiltration, wilderness, or resuce helped me as a DM make them feel different from each other--not just fecth-n-kill--and to encourage different styles of play for each one. The challenge of the icy slope and surprising bushes was particularly fun and all my groups enjoyed it.


My big objection is to chapter 4 with the recurring character, JG. Especially for players who are playng DnD for the first (or nearly first) time, it is confusing and frustrating to encounter a foe who is clearly evil and nonetheless to have to decide 1) they can reasonably rely on her word when they make a bargain, 2) the task she sets is reasonable, and 3) it would be a complete waste of time to fight or trick her. Having run this several times, each time the party almost "failed" becuase they made totally reasonable guesses that she wasn't to be trusted, what she was asking them to do was wrong, and/or they could fool her if they were clever enough. Very bad material for an intro adventure.


Given the bullet list in chapter 4 of ways for the DM to "overcome" the party's objections to the task set by JG in this chapter, I think this problem must've come up in a playtest or two. It would've been better to substanitally re-write or drop this chapter. Advice to DMs running this module, skip the JG chapter. (Sadly, this chapter often seemed to be the most importnat one to my parties becuase of the hook with the comatose/cursed/poisoned cook's assistant.)


Otherwise, again, I had fun with this adventure. It was flexible and not railroaded, had options for different play styles, and at least one engaging challenge. Overall, a good adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

M1 Into the Maelstrom (Basic)
by Steve V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2016 17:00:45

Having snagged a copy of the Master Rules back when Paizo was still selling the old TSR PDFs, I was hoping we'd see some of the Master level adventures pop up over here. Can't say I've ever played or run an adventure of this high a level, but it's good to have at least one module available to support the rules. Very imaginative, with evocative illustrations. Good background info on Glantri and Alphatia. My only quibble is that the scan of the cover illustration is too dark. I'd love to give it a whirl with the right group of players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
M1 Into the Maelstrom (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-16 Boltsmelter's Book (5e)
by Thomas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2016 11:14:29

I ran this in a home game for a party of 4 2nd level adventurers.


Disorganized and forced storyline, with some logical gaps that left me scrambling and my players striving to figure out what to do next. Good intentions, poor design.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-16 Boltsmelter's Book (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bad Moon Waning (3.5)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/05/2016 10:09:07

Set in and around the settlement of Deepwood, this adventure can be placed in any remote wooded area of your campaign world. The background notes reveal the underlying secret of the settlement, but even outsiders are aware that not all is well in the town: the town's priestess being ripped to shreds by a werewolf who turns out to be an upstanding member of the community will give that impression. And yet, it's not a werewolf problem...


The adventure is very freeform, with encounters and investigations around the town that can happen pretty much in response to party actions. The really interesting thing about it is the deep moral questions that it poses, questions that the townsfolk themselves must face, never mind the party. This one ought to get them thinking.


To aid in running it, there's a map and detailed notes on Deepwood and the people who live there, along with plenty of hints and tips to help you play an array of NPCs. This is an adventure that includes a lot of interactions, and needs the party to have their wits about them and their eyes open. Careful preparation is key, but it should prove a memorable interlude.


Depending on what the party finds out, various ways are suggested to get them to the climax in a nearby valley - a nice way of completing the adventure without having to lead them by the nose! Even neater, a brawl is going to take place irrespective of what the party does - or even if it gets there in time - as rivals are spoiling for a fight. There are a few suggestions for handling the aftermath and follow-up adventures, but overall this is a well-crafted and thoughtful adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bad Moon Waning (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Eye of the Sun (3.5)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2016 07:46:34

This adventure has its origins in the dim and distant past, when lizardfolk were a dominant civilisation especially in jungle areas. The extensive backstory tells how they built a temple in a remote mountainous area to their deity, and how, over time, they became proud and fell away from the gods, angering them... and their empire fell. Spin forwards to the present day, and the settlement of Tooj-Reh is puzzled by strange lights from the nearby jungles. Perhaps the party will be able to find out what's going on?


Various hooks are supplied to get the party into the right area, and once they reach Tooj-Reh - possibly having to dodge a forest fire on the way - they have an opportunity to gather information about what appears to be going on in the area and get asked to investigate (if their curiousity has not already been piqued enough!).


The structure of the adventure is quite free-form, there's one encounter whilst the party is in Tooj-Reh (and if that doesn't get them interested, nothing will), one in the jungle on the way to the long-lost and abandoned (or is it?) temple, plus the exploration of the temple itself. The temple is based on one featured in the Map-a-Week series on the Wizards of the Coast website, which is still available at the time of writing if you follow the link in the PDF - worth doing as the map provided here is labelled and you might want a blank version to show your players.


Of course, travelling through a jungle is an adventure in itself, and there's a sidebar on the jungle environment to help you. The temple too is well-described and there's plenty scope for further adventure once the immediate threat has been dealt with - although the assumption is that the party will fight and destroy rather than attempt to find a peaceful solution.


This adventure has the heady excitement of Indiana Jones-style exploration of ancient sites, battling against primitives and assuming the general superiority of current civilisation over that of the past... with scope for more thoughtful characters to try and figure out past civilisations and their secrets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Eye of the Sun (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fallen Angel (3.0)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/03/2016 08:18:53

This adventure is set in Elton, an isolated hamlet that can easily be placed in a remote, hilly area of your campaign world. A few weeks ago, a strange light appeared in the night sky over Elton and the hooks provided to get the party involved touch on this - perhaps someone wants it investigating, perhaps the party paladin (if you have one) is dreaming dreams about an innocent child in danger, or maybe someone has heard rumours about a strange young man suddenly appearing...


There's a comprehensive adventure background to explain just what's going on, and then we launch into the adventure itself, beginning with the party's arrival at Elton - which has apparently just suffered a raid! They'll soon be able to find out about the raiders and what they took, and hopefully will be willing to pitch in and see about righting some wrongs.


Information gathered, the rest of the adventure revolves around an assault on the raiders' lair. You will have to decide where it is and get the party there, but a plan of the subterranean lair itself is provided. There's a delightfully complex and detailed Bad Guy and his horde to defeat, along with evidence of dark experimentation... the party will be in for a fight, these guys have no intention of stopping for a chat. Oh, and there's a rather sweet young fellow to rescue and the party may find out who, or rather what, he is as well.


It's a neat little adventure, with possibilities for follow-up adventures, and just the sort of thing a relatively low-level party of adventures ought to relish!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fallen Angel (3.0)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Temple of Redcliff (3.0)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/30/2016 07:12:52

Set in any convenient area of your campaign world where there is mountainous terrain and an extinct volcano, this adventure begins when the party arrives in the settlement of Redciff which is all a-buzz because the mayor has vanished, after behaving a bit oddly for the last few days.


The background for the DM explains what is going on, and a couple of rather weak hooks are provided to get the party to Redcliff in the first place. You may prefer to come up with something of your own, or just locate Redcliff on the way to somewhere that the party does want to go and run this as a side-adventure when they pass through. Once there, however, there is plenty of background to help you bring Redcliff to life, nestled as it is just below the caldera of an extinct volcano. There's people to talk to and information to be gathered in the settlement.


An abandoned temple dedicated to Heironeous is up there in the caldera, rumoured to be haunted and generally avoided by the locals... and this, of course, is the location for the adventure itself. The plan provided is based on one of the Map-of-the-Week series from the Wizards of the Coast website (the original is still available at the time of writing via the link in the PDF), and there's a detailed description interspersed with more of the backstory. Interesting though it is, it is unlikely that the party will discover much of it as the main Bad Guy is not interested in talking, apparently he will fight to the death (or run away if he can), not being even interested in surrendering never mind any negotiation.


It makes for a neat interlude but given the near-impossibility of actually finding out what was going on, scope for further adventures is limited. Of course, the original plot behind it all may well still be bubbling along and erupt later if you so choose...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Temple of Redcliff (3.0)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Up Front Compilation Rulebook
by Scott B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2016 22:26:57

This is great!!!
I made the mistake of selling my copy of UP FRONT
Thinking that the new one was comimg along soon
after that fell apart i was bumbed out!!!
VAULT to the rescue!!!!
Now I have game with the new errata cards!!!!!
And also the jungle deck ( no more pertending the
woods card is realy jungle) for my dealings with the
Japanese.
All 3 rule books now on my iPad what more could
one ask for?
IF your into Up front and even have the original
game I would get the jungle deck and the errata cards
at the very least!!!!
Thanks Wargame Vault.
Scott



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Up Front Compilation Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Environmental Impact (3.0)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/29/2016 10:49:53

This adventure is a botanist's nightmare (or delight, depending on your point of view) as an ecoterrorist druid defends his patch of woodland against all comers. Havung started off as a botanist, I like adventures that make use of fantasy plants as well as fantasy animals...


Location-wise, all you need is an undeveloped forest area with a nearby human village, the frontier settler sort of place - so you can put it anywhere suitable within your campaign world. The DM's background explains exactly what's been going on - and going wrong - and there's a brief adventure synopsis before we get a few hooks to get the party involved. Most involve providing the party for a reason to visit the village in question, a place called Sumpter; but if your party boasts a druid amongst its number, he might be having disturbing feelings about a looming inbalance in the area, and want to do something about it.


The adventure opens the morning after they arrive in Sumpter, with a nasty encounter in the street outside where they are staying. The locals will be happy to supply them with what information they have, they are quite desperate for help. Rations are running low and the forest around the village is full of marauding plants and other monsters. You can see why a bunch of adventurers turning up is a welcome sight for them... and the remainder of the adventure involves exploring the forest and dealing with anything untoward that they encounter.


An area map is provided along with copious notes about what the plant monsters will try to do. They're running out of resources as well and becoming increasingly desperate... Various options for dealing with the situation are discussed, along with ideas for further adventure. It's basically a forest 'weedkilling' scenario, but if your group likes that sort of thing you could play up the horror angle of walking through a forest and not knowing which plant is about to pounce! A neat angle on the druidic love for nature.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Environmental Impact (3.0)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shoals of Intrigue (3.0)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/28/2016 10:32:03

Time to get wet! This adventure involves intrigue in a coastal town, but the investigation leads the party underwater - so you will have to make sure that they have access to spells or equipment to survive when submerged.


The backstory for the DM explains what has been going on in Flundspoor, Blakemire, and neighboring port cities - places where there is a thriving market for spies as the cities vie with one another for the best trade deals and other advantages. Sometimes, rarely, their competition dissolves into open warfare... and there are those who seek advantage from their squabbles. The general background as recounted here is common knowledge to locals, but there are some specifics that will, perhaps, become known as the adventure unfolds.


A wide array of hooks are provided to get the party involved, partly depending on where they happen to be. If they are in Blakemire, they might get hired by the local lordling: one of his spies is missing and he'd like him back. But there are other routes to get them into the adventure, some - as befitting a plot that involves spies - being quite devious.


Should they be able to do so, there's a fair bit of information to be gathered and they are going to need a ship - fortunately various routes are laid out whereby they can find themselves afloat. Once at sea, they will eventually come across a wreck - and that's where the adventure proper begins. Being a wreck, it has of course sunk and this is where the need to be able to get underwater comes in. The adventure assumes that the party has what it needs, so you'll need to make sure that provision has been made in some manner.


This wreck is near a chain of uninhabited volcanic islands and - in true James Bond style - the villain of the piece has made a lair in an inactive volcano. A basic map of the interior is supplied (based on one from the Map-a-Week series on the Wizards of the Coast website, the original is still available at the time of writing), but you'll need to come up with your own group of islands.


It's a delightfully original adventure, with opportunites to fight and to talk. In particular, if your party likes intrigue, the entire setting and background provides scope for a whole series of adventures based around the port cities and their fondness for espionage... and if they don't polish off the villian he's likely to have more plans for the area... and maybe for them, too. Or he might seek to hire them. The scope is massive, and I can feel ideas beginning to spawn even as I write.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shoals of Intrigue (3.0)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

H3 Pyramid of Shadows (4e)
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2016 12:58:34

Great adventure with a lot of details focused on intense confrontations and combat. While there are opportunities for a DM to build in more role-playing into the scenarios provided, the basic story line is a more straight forward dungeon crawl. I am actually using this as a 5E D&D caimpaign using the full H-series for my son with 5 characters (including 4 NPCs I run for him), so I am doing a lot of work to prepare and run this so my experience will be different than a true adult D&D game. However, as I'm reading through the materials I could see this being a lot of fun for adults too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
H3 Pyramid of Shadows (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 1832 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG