RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
by Jeremy J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2017 14:41:45

Great introductory adventures for anyone new to Adventurer's League or D&D in general. Could use a little bit of editing and updating to bring it in line with the current AL Player's Guide and DM's Guide.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
by Jeremy J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2017 14:40:37

A lot of new mechanics here, so DMs do need to perpare well ahead of running this adventure. Although a 4 hour adventure, it can easily take 6. Like most AL modules, it could use a little editing but is otherwise the most epic Tier 1 adventure I have ever read, well done!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
by Thomas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2017 13:23:16

I had a lot of fun running this adventure and my table loved it. It has a great sense of scale and they felt like they were actually affecting the events around then which helped get them invested. Fair warning though, it is important as a DM to give the players an understanding of what they are up against. If they want the best results, or are just very brave/reckless they can find themselves in truly dire situations.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2017 12:23:15

I utilized this as a sneak peak into Barovia with a group I am running through LMoP, Using the Barexit loophole to get the players out of Barovia to finish LMoP before a proper CoS Campaign.

This adventure really captures the atmosphere for the CoS campaign, with the scenes painted very bleakly and the change up in the different monsters players will face in Barovia. Additionally, while the players were able to avoid some of the more dark moments (the possible ending scene specifically, should the players bring a PC back), those scenes do play into the feel of this world very well.

The combat encounters we decently scaled. With 5 4th level charecters they definetly felt the pressure, but were also able to avoid the final combat encounter completly through good RP and choices they made at the start of the adventure.

If you are needing an entry into Barovia, and have charecters above the DDAL04-01 threshold, this adventure fits the bill and runs very smoothly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Elder Evils (3.5)
by Simon H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2017 19:03:00

Some elder evils, some merely middle aged.

Honestly several parts of this book should merit a four, unfortunately they're dragged down by other chapters and given how poor some of those feel for a title called Elder Evils while even the good chapter aren't too long and I really can't justify giving this title over a three.

Each chapter of this book (post the intro of course) presents a different potentially apocalyptic scenario and some suggestions on how to integrate it into your campaign along with a climatic encounter complete with maps and full info. They also include info on adapting the evils for the Faerun and Eberron settings. The trouble with this approach is that several of these chapters feel disjointed, illogical (and not in a good way) or incomplete. Not to mention that for a title called elder evils some of the presented evils feel pretty lackluster. Some do not, several of the chapters present some pretty good options with a lot of potential that, if they were the quality of every chapter in the book, would have me debating giving this a five star rating. It doesn't help that the first two/three suggested elder evils all felt like a swing and a miss to me. Why does an undead moon suddenly give up and leave the atmosphere if the party defeats it's surprisingly weak (so to speak, still CR18 with some nasty enviromental advatages) avatar? How the hell is a rising mythos monster making each day have two hours less daylight worldwide a subtle sign that only the most dedicated paranoid conspiracy nuts catch? And so on.

Every chapter is a seed, and some of these are really good seeds that gave me what I was looking for. I think for what Elder Evils' sets out to do that 3 stars is a fair rating, some of it really doesn't work and you're probably going to have to put a lot of work even into the ones that do to get what the book's promising out of them. But it can be done, and some of these ideas have some really neat high level implications. I'm not sure I recommend the book at it's current price ($15, and definately not for the $30 mark) but if it's on sale and you're looking for some high level plot seeds it might be worth a look.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Elder Evils (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
by Adam G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2017 08:46:37

This is a pretty good mod. The finale is a bit rough, the swamp trek is a bit easy. I would have preferred to do this in a 4 hour block where I could run part 2 right after, as this seems like an incomplete mod without it. The hooks didn't seem to work for my party, so I created my own. The faction assignment though was awesome and fit very well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-18 The Mysterious Isle (5e)
by Peter W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2017 17:13:04

Felt like a decent introduction to tier 4, aka we can ROFLstomp things. The adventure mostly uses monsters of really low CR given this is for characters of level 17+. It's made more interesting by being underwater, which will likely hamper most weapon users, and the choice of monsters that get advantage on attack rolls once characters are below max HP. However, with water breathing readily given out, spellcasters will destroy those monsters with little effort. To increase the challenge, I gave every monster maximum hitpoints for its hit dice so that combats would last a few rounds.

My bigger disappointment doesn't lie as much with the author, though they could have adjusted things. The boss monster chosen is a CR17, but it's nothing more than a sack of HP and big attacks. Spellcasters shut it down quickly. For a creature like this, WotC should have given it legendary actions and saves, something the author could have added to it as has been done in other AL modules.

Overall, a good first look at world-changing power wielded by players and letting them be the badasses they are at this tier.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-18 The Mysterious Isle (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by Steve B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2017 15:20:06

These are excellent if you have completely new players in your game. Watch out some of the encounters (especially #5) as they can easily take out low level PC's.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
by Jose A. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2017 15:19:16

Like another reviewer, I also have mixed feelings about this module. Overall, my players and I enjoyed it, but since my players had played in the previous modules leading up to this one, the information provided by SEER was already known to them. We enjoyed the roleplaying aspects of it. Well some of it, you don't get to really do any RP in Part 2, since the players are so far away from the giants, and the giants don't respond to any verbal threats. The distance and the number of giants present means physical attacks would be ineffectual and suicidal. Seeing their reaction to Hartkiller & his appearence was priceless. The moral dilemna of the problem put before them, and the optional fight with the Beast of Talos was challenging and fun. We were all dissappointed that the final fight was very underwhelming. My players would have preferred to have a more hands-on role in fighting Ryndolg, instead of watching it. The Giants in the Snow fight would have been mostly forgettable if it wasn't for the fact that I kept rolling Nat 1s on my attacks.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-13 Jarl Rising (5e)
by Boat L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2017 12:20:47

Not as bad as I was expecting given some of the extremely negative reviews.

Yes, there are some technical issues. Not sure if these have been updated or addressed since I downloaded and printed, however, it was a little confusing to see this balanced for a party of level 10 characters. Someone else has already said this, but how can you balance up for that in a tier 2 game? How can you have a Very Strong party if an average party is at the top of the tier? Don't sweat it. My tier 2 table was APL 7 or 8 and creamed the adventure as written. Start at average, and turn up the gas when the table starts flexing.

Yes, there is some copying and pasting from previous modules.

My favorite thing about this module is the ability for the DM to really decide the course of events. The first and last encounters are pre-defined, but the whole middle of the adventure is up to you as a DM to decide what happens. If you were really nice, and actually cared about not railroading your players, you could probably work out a way that gives them a choice about how to proceed through the random encounters presented. The random encounters were well thought out and enjoyable.

Treasure drop is meh - seen a lot of these trying to get passed around the FB trade groups.

This adventure is combat intensive, but the combats are really good. I purchased the map pack and printed them in large form to serve as battle maps as I didn't feel like drawing for that session. The maps are great! I was able to repurpose one of the maps for a different random encounter that I wanted to run, and no one but me at the table was any the wiser.

I suppose the end is a little offputting, as you are within sight of the big bad and his army but can't do anything about it. However, this serves to build tension for the next adventure in the Tier 2 series.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-13 Jarl Rising (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Boat L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2017 12:05:18

Really good little module here. I have run it many times, mostly for players entirely new to the game. It works really well as an intro adventure for a couple of reasons:

  • It's short - around 2 hours of runtime keeps new players from losing focus, and forces the action to keep moving
  • Good mix of roleplaying and combat encounters - This one presents a really challenging roleplaying moment as you have to decide what resources you have to sacrifice. The combats are fun and engaging
  • Player choice - player decisions have a VERY real impact on how the story and events unfold

Overall, a great module. It has a unique atmosphere in relation to the rest of season 5 given its desert setting, and transitions players in a great way from the Moonsea setting of previous seasons and CCC into the Sword Coast. This will continue to be my go-to for new players, even over DDIA or 5 episode modules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
by Boat L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2017 11:54:18

Ooh, this one is good.

As a DM, you are going to need to be flexible however, as the options presented to the characters leaves it wide open to how they approach the situation. You could probably run this a dozen times and never have it shake out the same way twice.

Keep an eye on the clock however, and be ready to advance from Sections 3 to 4 if the action is slowed. I would recommend abbreviating the introductory section, and keeping things moving through Grimshackle jail as well. You could easily spend the whole session exploring the content in Section 3.

This adventure will allow players to feel empowered, as their tactical decisions have a real impact on how things play out. It is refreshing to see content for ALL of the factions presented.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-08 Tales Trees Tell (5e)
by Boat L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2017 11:45:10

This adventure offers up a variety of challenges to the players - and not just in combat.

This one will test the player's ability to be diplomatic iff they so choose and also test the luck of their dice a fair bit too. I enjoyed running the investigation sequences, and the adventure offers a great deal of flexibility to the players in this regard. Certainly one of the less railroad-y adventures in season 1.

A creepy big bad will make the players ask themselves how willing they are to be cordial with the dark fey. A must play to introduce players to the spellcasting services available to them in season 4.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-08 Tales Trees Tell (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
by Boat L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2017 11:37:29

This is the one that has it all - dungeons AND dragons.

This module has really well fleshed out and interesting NPCs. The social interaction and investigation is engaging. Running this the first time is definitely in my top 5 memorable D&D moments of all time. Players still talk about this one - remember to never stand in a line when charging a black dragon!

Builds extremely well off of the setup of the previous adventure, and it contributes to a vibrant understanding of Phlan as a city. Could be worth picking up and running just for being able to add the treasure as part of your DM rewards, but is an outstanding example of what great adventure writing can look like as well. Great pacing - gradual buildup leads to an explosive climax.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
by Donald P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2017 11:10:23

This is my second favorite intoductory season module, behind Season 5's, though I think that this module does a better job balancing roleplay and combat scenarios.

Good mix of types of adventures to be found. Several of the scenarios will force new players to get out of their comfort zones and roleplay a bit. There are a couple of classic dungeon crawly, hack-n-slash scenarios for balance as well.

This is a really good type of module to run when time is questionable. Having each scenario break down to ~1hr really lets DMs and players be flexible. You will have to push a bit to complete them all in a normal 4 hour con timeslot.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 2361 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG