RPGNow.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
by Thomas K. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2017 17:03:39

To be honest, I actually like the Wu Jen order, yet I have to agree with everyone else - It is far from a psionic order; Psionic is more about manipulating the mind and body of oneself and others, while also exerting certain telekinetic control as external manipulation. I deem that these reviews might as well be constructive criticism, so here goes:

It is basically easier for me to say which disciplines I found less psionic, than mentioning the ones I found fitting; "Mastery of fire", it just feels too arcane, as everyone else is pointing out, and it hardly makes sense in the context of psionics; There are basis for the exception to the rule, such as Charlie from Firestarter, yet to be fair she is more of a one-trick sorcerer than a psionic. "Mastery of Ice", as before, yet even more so, some of the abilities of this discipline could work, yet it needs revision; more on that later. "Mastery of weather", this one is just too externally based, hence not much to do with psionics. "Mastery of light and darkness", well while not entirely implausible, it needs to be focused around internal manipulation, because otherwise it is more of a magical effect than a psionic effect. "Mastery of wood and earth" is overall fine, except for the "The wall of wood" and "Armored form", the last one is basically the "Iron Durability"'s abilities "Steel Hide" and "Iron Resistance", I know that psionic is all about flexibility, but why bother making such similar abilities then, maybe make "Iron Resistance" into "Steel Form", and make it a 7 psi. 10 min. conc. with similar effect to "Armored form" or just plain out similar to "Armored form", period. On a more positive note; The afforementioned disciplines, bar "Mastery of light and darkness" make for great development material for a very dedicated Way of The Four Elements Monk, it could be used there, adding in "Mastery of water" as well. Basically I see the Wu Jen as a more dedicated Way of the Four Elements monk as it is now.

Alas there is room for improvement, and I will not just leave you hanging - You see, I feel like the flavor text to the "Order of the Wu Jen" inspires another dimension than the five elements, and that is - Astral materia and construction, I was a fan of this back in 3.5 Expanded Psionics, and I think it could work here as well, with terrain manipulation through Astral superimposement, basically using material of the astral plane to alter the material plane to ones own design; while also bringing back somewhat underpowered summons, yet with huge flexibility in how they can be imagined. I have not worked on any material yet, alas I see huge potential in bringing the Realm of thought and dream into the mixer.

I am inclined to give you a mediocre rating, yet I still want you to know that there is so much more potential here, and hence work to be done. Looking forward to future editions and psionic in 5e, I believe it has it's place, especially because I LOVE the eccentricity of playing a Mystic.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Kyle D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2017 23:01:40

An excellent change of pace from the usual hack and slash combat moduels out there. I was fortunate enough to play this mod before DMing so made the whoel expereince as a DM much smoother. Multiple challeneging puzzles throughout the entire thing that both my groups really enjoyed. The clues for Area D where pretty ambiguise would be my only critique.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

AD&D Core Megabundle (1e) [BUNDLE]
by john o. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2017 14:53:04

For an extra couple of bucks, I would think it better if the Unearthed Arcana was included with the bundle. Still, very good without. IMO, UA is the best 1E book and should've been included.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AD&D Core Megabundle (1e) [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

FOR4 The Code of the Harpers (2e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2017 20:22:30

Could be better organized, but packed with background material.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
FOR4 The Code of the Harpers (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-10 The Artifact (5e)
by Ri G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2017 18:36:41

This adventure is like Ravenloft Clue. I really enjoyed it, but maybe I missed something, it wasn't clear how to get the adventurers to get interested in the murder, or why they should care to figure it out. They can just sort of stumble thru it.

I feel as if this adventure would have been better done elsewhere in Barovia, with the same dramatis personae!, by having less conflict with the player's interest in exploring the Amber Temple.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-10 The Artifact (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-09 The Tempter (5e)
by Ri G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2017 18:32:48

This is a fun adventure. Get creeped out by weird visions, attack a hedge maze, what's not too like?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-09 The Tempter (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-08 The Broken One (5e)
by Ri G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2017 18:30:01

This was a very solid adventure. Luca made for a very memorable NPC that the players were very interested in helping out. The main problem I had with this module is there are several new NPCs that are regulars in Barovia that are introduced just now in this adventure. How have the PCs not met these people? I don't know, but the other NPCs were confusing. The boss fight was a very fun battle.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-08 The Broken One (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-07 The Innocent (5e)
by Ri G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2017 18:25:50

I am not sure how I feel about this one, there are Yuan-ti here, the ghost of a troll from Season 1, a powerful NPC that is given little to no introduction other than the title "Visitor". I honestly got lost here. There were too many random parts stitched together, and the confusing typos from the earlier versions of this pdf did not help anything.

Overall this could be an interesting adventure, but you would need to put a bit of time and foreshadowing from other adventures ahead of time!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-07 The Innocent (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
by Ri G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2017 18:22:14

I am any use of fey creatures in stories, but the use of Jeny Greenteeth is very well done. I liked the use of rhymes in the story and games that these creatures play. Overall a nice capstone to the tier 1 portion of the season.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-05 The Seer (5e)
by Ri G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2017 18:17:16

This was a fun adventure where the players have a chance to interact with and learn more about the Vistiani.

Overall, I felt there could have been a little bit more explanation about how these Vistiani fit in the storyline a bit more. Regarding the metaplot, if Esmae had appeared here, or some of the Vistiani here had a more memorable role later, that would have made this story stand out more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-05 The Seer (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-04 The Marionette (5e)
by Ri G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2017 18:11:29

I loved this adventure.

There are lots of little details here, from the gothic setting to the creepy toy soldiers. This is a fantastic adventure to both play in and run as a DM. I do believe this adventure is AL's answer to Death House. It was thoroughly enjoyable!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-04 The Marionette (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-03 The Executioner (5e)
by Ri G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2017 18:07:25

On its own, the module is only O.K. As a companion / followup to 4-02, it just simply fell flat. It looks like the story was written out of sync with 4-02 and as such there is no guidance about how to deal with Laszlo's interactions with regards to the fate of Aliana from the previous module. I felt Laszlo as written here fell flat. The story needs to have something to make it more fun and memorable. Honestly the most memorable thing about this adventure is the magic item that the players made fun of.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-03 The Executioner (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
by Rocky P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2017 18:01:51

At this point in the Psionics current iteration I don't see a reason to introduce them at all. They are only another type of magic, with the same old blasty powers. Wu-Jen, I'm pointing at you and your elemental masteries.

I'm not happy with the results. It's a re-hashed version of the d20 class bloat. It's really necessary to add a fire psionic? You already have a fire wizard (mainly evoker), a fire warlock (fiend), a fire cleric ("Light") a fire sorcerer (UA: Phoenix), a fire monk (four elements), a fire druid (any Land druid), etc. You aren't really adding something new.

I want a new class to be different than the other classes, to fill a niche, offering at least a somewhat different flavor of powers. The Wu-jen is only another arcane type, intelligence based caster. And that's it. A blasty caster. Like if we hadn't just enough blasty casters. He even gets to cast arcane spells. So the question is, why do we need adding psionics if its going to be another wizard variant?

Fact is, there is a niche. The niche is the powers specifically linked to psionics in fiction. You can remove the science flavor by only changing the names. There isn't much place in Arcane magic for things like telekinesis (1 cantrip, 1 level 4 spell). There isn't any place in clerical magic for the same thing. But you can expand it from a psionic and it is a logical expansion for it. Call it "Order of the Far Hand" (as ¡t was going to be called) and you are done with the "sciency" flavor without repeating the same ol' "I cast a fireball" powers (detonation).

I want a guy who can be all Carrie-like, like a poltergeist throwing knives with its mind. I want Darth Vader choking someone with "disturbing lack of faith". I want a frikin guy that can lift an ogre with the power of its mind.

Also, I want a telepath. A true telepath that could read minds, erase memories, and plant deception on another creature's brains. I may also like a creature with clarisintience from a different kind (aura reading, psychic imprint, etc) than the wizardry type. Let the wizard have their blast. It's enough with the laser cleric stepping in its toes in medium armor.

We could safely say that when someone is making another elemental wizard, is that they are losing creativity. Like someone say in the comments I'd rather prefer a crappy copycat of the jedi than another blaster caster. Of course, I would prefer not having simply a jedi, and having a class with its own flavor. Note that even if I like some of the points introduced here, just for balancing reasons I will rate this article with a 1 instead of a 2. Some people haven't any critical sense. They only see perfection here, for unknown reasons.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
by Ri G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2017 18:00:47

I thoroughly enjoyed this module, it left a lot open for the dm and the mystery about Laszlo and Alina was very intense for the group of people I played with. My only problem with the module is it felt railroady in the fate of Alina and the werewolf pup. As written, no matter what the players do or try to do, the story steers itself away from these NPCs making the PCs feel more than a little helpless.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by Ri G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2017 17:54:56

This was a quirky series of 5 adventures. I enjoyed them at the time of purchase because they introduced the setting and theme, but looking back they were overall fairly forgettable. I suppose if you are going to run the DDAL adventure series this is a decent into, but compared to the very memorable Death House, it fell flat.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 2708 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG