RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
X3 Curse of Xanathon (Basic)
by Ward M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2014 00:27:06
This module details the Jarldom of Rhoona in Vestland, part of the Northern reaches. The plotline of the module involves a conflict between the gods Cretia and Forsetta. Oddly enough, there is only passing reference to these deities and their followers in the module. (they aren't even mentioned in GAZ7)

I had to do some research online to learn who these deities were and what their worshipers were like. I feel that is a flaw, which is why I only gave the module 3 stars.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
X3 Curse of Xanathon (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Sun Boxed Set (2e)
by Teos A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2014 13:51:42
The original Dark Sun boxed set is more than a fantastic purchase for collectors. It is one of the best boxed sets ever written, with a fantastic blend of rules, story, setting, maps, art, and introductory adventure. The whole does a fantastic job of immersing the reader, whether player or DM, in this very original setting.

The setting material is especially useful, even for fans who own the more recent 4th Edition Campaign Guide. The organization of the material on the terrain, for example, really brings the desert to life. Many secrets abound within the pages, exciting the DM with ideas for campaigns. The city-states are portrayed in their original vision, before any additional material had been provided and before the release of the Prism Pentad novels. Ideas such as the character tree still have value today, regardless of the edition you use to run Dark Sun.

This product includes the introductory adventure as both a file with are for players and the adventure for DMs, the setting book, the rule book, the cover art 'poster', the map of Tyr, the black-and-white hex world map suitable for adding notes, the color map of the world, and the short story. The art is particularly useful, allowing DMs to digitally copy the art and print it out for use in games. Excellent purchase!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Sun Boxed Set (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dreams of the Red Wizards: Dead in Thay (D&D Next)
by Avi K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2014 02:38:10
NPC and Map artwork are in a seperate Zip file, and the module comes with the playtest version of the rules for 5e. The maps are great, with a different stylized map for players and GM for the bulk of the module.

The role of "event coordinator" is great, and should be a success for any large group, but the module also appears to be easy enough to run for just a single table without the event coordinator. The event coordinator adds to the experience, but not to the story.

The module itself is pretty much a railroad dungeon crawl, although how the dungeon is explored is very open, and it's likely that the group will not find everything on their first run through (assuming they survive to the end)

Mosters in the module are different from those in the original playtest package, however the module wars that the monsters are still in "playtest" mode, and not finalized. Combat difficulty can vary dramatically between monsters, and players, so a DM must gauge the party carefully. Though the module is designed for levels 6-8, I found it is very easy to increase or decrease the difficulty for other level ranges.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dreams of the Red Wizards: Dead in Thay (D&D Next)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HR3 Celts Campaign Sourcebook (2e)
by Stefan D. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2014 01:58:10
Still an excellent book with enough info to suit any system. Scanning quality is good. Only reason it is not getting 5 stars is that it lacks enough adventure seeds to get one started.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
HR3 Celts Campaign Sourcebook (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

RM4 House of Strahd (2e)
by Jay T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2014 11:43:23
I was hoping to run this adventure, but was a little disappointed to see the poster map was missing. I have to shelve it until the is updated into the product. It is disappointing.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
RM4 House of Strahd (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
by Greg M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2014 09:50:52
I bought this just for the sake of nostalgia. So many memories of pouring over this book with my brother and friends from school. I remember every drawing and almost can't stand to look at the new books--they don't have the same appeal to me. Anyway, poring over these rules is a fun way to spend a rainy day, whether you are 12 or 45 years old.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragons of Faerûn (3.5)
by Jamey J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2014 17:59:43
The Faerun 3.5 is a great pdf and awesome add to D&D collection.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragons of Faerûn (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
by James L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2014 16:58:51
I came to the OSR with the creation of retroclones, namely Labyrinth Lord and Basic Fantasy RPG. When this PDF was made available again I purchased it immediately. The writing and organization are clear and clean; Moldvay has created an amazing edition of D&D that is timeless. I'm so glad this and the Cook/Marsh Expert books are available again, and it is well worth the purchase. While I still appreciate the retroclones, I'm sticking to the real thing for my gaming. My only wish is an option for a nice hardcover!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

RM4 House of Strahd (2e)
by Stephen T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2014 16:32:07
The adventure updates the original I6 to 2nd Ed. The scan of the book has a few wonky pages, and unfortunately the poster maps are missing. It would be difficult to run this adventure without the map of Castle Ravenloft!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RM4 House of Strahd (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

From the Ashes (2e)
by Jeremy G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2014 03:47:42
I've always liked FTA simply because there is adventure here and bucket loads of it. Both books are crammed with adventure hooks, high intrigue, mystery and wonder. The post war Greyhawk setting is a dangerous place but is somewhere that adventurous souls can really make a difference.

The new (2014) scans clock in at a mighty 144mb but the quality is greatly improved over the previous versions. The text is much clearer and easy to read and the maps are no longer cut up and spread over several pages of the PDF.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
From the Ashes (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

GAZ5 The Elves of Alfheim (Basic)
by Darin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2014 15:23:31
One of the BEST in the Mystara GAZ series. Provides nice alternate rules for advancing elf characters (needed in the BECMI rules).

The scan for this release is top notch (including the large map).

Run, don't walk to the "add to cart" button on this one.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ5 The Elves of Alfheim (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D&D Basic Set - DM's Rulebook (BECMI ed.) (Basic)
by Will H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2014 13:36:22
Excellent OCR'd edition of the book with everything clean and well presented(including the illustrations).

1 Minor error:

note, in the 1st Group Adventure, the grey box flavor text on page 8 - #20 Entrance is actually a duplicate of room #30. And should read :

"The 20' wide doors open inward, and you see the remains of a bare 30' x 40' room. Empty doorways are in the middle of the east and west walls; the doors are missing. A normal door is in the middle of the north wall. The room contains some trash and rubble, but not enough to conceal a creature."

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set - DM's Rulebook (BECMI ed.) (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ALQ1 Golden Voyages (2e)
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2014 11:36:04
I admit to being a "Voyages of Sinbad" nut. That helps make this one of my all-time favorite RPG supplaments.

The voyage begins with a quest for the "ultimate treasure". The authors then discuss different styles of role-playing, and what makes an "ultimate treasure" for each of the different type of players. I've used the player-type guidelines to help shape my games for decades.

The islands themselves are well thought out, but most important, the authors never forget that this is for a role-playing game, and so every island and location is rich in adventures appropriate to player characters. I used many of these islands and locations when running a fantasy earth campaign (using Runequest rules). They fit beautifully.

The physical information on arabian-style ships is thorough, and the rules for trading and the merchant life are nicely detailed, and well balanced (another rarity).

Okay - I'm a fan.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALQ1 Golden Voyages (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Al-Qadim: Arabian Adventures (2e)
by Jeb B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2014 23:56:04
An excellent tome, with all the material and rules you need to run an Al-Qadim campaign (or any other Arabian Nights-themed campaign). Great at getting the cultural details across, too. This would have been worth $9.99, so it's a steal at $4.99, especially with the high-quality scan.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Al-Qadim: Arabian Adventures (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Faces of Evil: The Fiends (2e)
by Jeb B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2014 23:52:23
An excellent Planescape sourcebook, a must-read for anyone with a campaign involving fiends. It's especially notable for its details on the lesser-known fiends, like the yugoloths and gehreleths. Had the scan quality been just a little bit better, I would have rated it higher, but it's still a good book.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Faces of Evil: The Fiends (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 1407 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG