RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2017 15:56:33

The early plot additions were a boon as it gave the players a chance to show off some of their new skills while giving an additional sense of urgency to the plot. Both secret missions were played out and helped to aid the group a feeling of accomplishment along with some payback from earlier adventures. Some mistakes were made and learned from in addition to players overcoming some unseen obstacles to build a better storyline.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2017 15:48:08

I would recommend giving your players more information about why the bandits must be disbanded and the leader captured as they may ask questions and try to tie him in with a Robin Hood style outlaw. The module does give some information such as rumors and the like to flavor the NPCs, but some additional work may be needed. I had the scouts outside the prison assassinate the bribed guard as he ran out alone to show how they address such failures. The bandit meeting went over quite well as the PCs divided into small strike units to sabotage each side and cause them to further distrust each other and enter into battle twice just to have the orc raid crash in and cause more havok. The players loved it and the additional challenge of a live scene proved enjoyable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Timothy J. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2017 07:58:39

The main content of the module is fun, I got plenty of laughs and good cheer out of most of it. However, it did drag on a bit long. The puzzle bit was kind of pointless. The words are entirely too short to present any challenge to anybody with more than an elementary school reading level, e.g. a five letter clue with a single vowel has very few options. If there's ever an update, they should be at least twice as long and multiple words each.

The main plot of the module, however, doesn't really seem to relate to the content. There's a briefing by the quest giver that talks about it, and there's some rumor gathering, but there's no actual advancement of it. More than once, I had players wanting to check out the pens and gather clues more directly (instead of just as hearsay).

I think the module would have been improved by a slightly shorter race, and an additional (if optional) encounter with some of the alleged antagonists. Standing this module up alone makes the adventure hook feel like a red herring - an excuse to get the players into the race.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Dave C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2017 05:52:51

A big end to the trilogy, even if the links are tenuous. Nonetheless, there are some really big set pieces and it's best that some sort of map is used, even though you might not want to use a grid. Inexperienved players might have a hard time with this one, and a few bad rolls can make things go south for a party, particularly if they're low level.

Overall, a good combination of puzzle solving and combat with a sprinkling of exploration and RPing, often all happening together. In the future, this might become one of the fabled PC killing modules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Dave C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2017 05:46:47

The telematch style dinosaur race is silly fun. Make sure you allow players to come up with ideas and going beyond making it more than just a bunch of skill checks. You might also want to add some NPCs to add some more RP opportunities to the race. A fan of one of the PCs, a boastful rival, for example.

The puzzle part of the race was a little confusing; best to be prepared. The fight at the end feels a little stuck on, and if there's a cleric in the party it can even be a little trivial.

Overall, this module has a beginning and ending that shows its hinges, but still an enjoyable module that is quite unlike any of the other AL modules. Recommended and remember the Death Curse!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Dave C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2017 05:32:15

Lots of RPing for thie adventure, which is quite a refreshing change. The final fight isn't very challenging, so the DM might want to up the mobs for it. Our group enjoyed the middle portion of the advnture, which is the biggest challenge. Extra points for a very fun NPC.

Overall though, the trilogy isn't very strongly connected, and shows that each portion was written by different people. Nonetheless, it does tap on the environment of Chult and its atmosphere.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

In Volo's Wake (5e)
by Jim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2017 00:41:49

I enjoy the 1 hour (!) mini adventures at the start of the seasons. This set of modules for Volos is quite fun, with an exciting variety of short adventures which are great for short attention spans, newbie DMs, or experienced adventurers looking for some camaraderie and fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
by Jasmine L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2017 15:18:52

I liked this module a lot. Spoilers ahead.

It has some amusing personalities—I particularly enjoyed playing up the dwarf in the pit screaming and shouting "Aaaa! Aaaaaa! I don't wanna diiiie!" to occasionally interrupt the exposition section, and having the Dragonchess-playing flameskull picking things up with his mouth to move them around and then talking to the players with his mouth full.

The combats were fun and made good use of the death curse rules to increase tension, with the burrowing worms potentially causing instant death and the wraith-type enemies potentially draining max HP. I didn't kill anyone, but I think I put the fear in my players. The boss has maybe a few too many concentration spells in their kit—can't have Cloudkill and Greater Invisibility up at the same time, for example—so I would recommend tweaking it a little. Maybe replace Cloudkill with Synaptic Static, etc.

The module is nice and short, running about 2–3 hours, with a section that you can skip if you're pressed for time. This makes it easy to fit in a limited time slot. I found it pretty simple to prep too—the final fight has some complicated stuff going on, and you have to track time, but it's fairly straightforward for the most part. The hook at the end leads nicely into the next adventure in the trilogy, and if you run that one after this one, I recommend supplementing its hook with the information from the letter.

All in all, this is a good adventure, and I don't think it will leave your players down in the dumps. ;-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-04 Mayhem in the Earthspur Mines (5e)
by Jasmine L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2017 09:59:12

Some spoilers ahead.

I really enjoy adventures that offer agency to the players. Mayhem in the Earthspur Mines, with one minor exception (the yeti setpiece is a bit railroady), does a great job of that. There are multiple valid ways to approach almost all the challenges in the module. In some respects, it's written more like a hardcover adventure, with the philosophy of "Here's the location, here's a goal, have fun." However, at the same time, it provides enough guidance that the DM should be able to anticipate and prepare for the majority of plans the players come up with. This is good. It's what I love seeing in a module.

I like that there is a different assignment for each faction, and that they match the factions' ideals—Harpers want to free the slaves, Emerald Enclave wants to protect the elemental guardians, Lord's Alliance wants to recover sensitive documents, Order of the Gauntlet wants to heal a desecrated altar, and Zhentarim don't care about any of that and just wants the player to carry out a hit against a guy who did them wrong.

There's a nice magic item drop that fits well thematically with the story. I also like the tie-in with the Sword of Selfaril later in the season.

I do have to say, this is probably not a 4-hour mod. I think you could get it done in 4 hours if you hustle it along, skip some optional fights, handwave the gargoyles...but for the most part, I'd budget 6 hours for it.

Anyway, all in all, a good adventure. I approve.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-04 Mayhem in the Earthspur Mines (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

I9 Day of Al'Akbar (1e)
by John W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2017 16:32:27

What can I say? I loved this when ie came out back in the day and this copy brought back good memories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
I9 Day of Al'Akbar (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Customer N. W. .. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2017 13:43:39

Given the constraints of being a 5-mini adventure type of module, and that it needs to serve as the introductory module to the Season 7 storyline & the ToA hardcover, it is understandable that the mini adventures each represent a certain fragment of the life in Chult, or a hint of larger threats to come.

With those prerequisites in mind, I think the module did a decent enough job to shake things up and not seem too redundant. The raptor race was an interesting and unorthodox addtition to the module. Not everyone liked it, but I'm glad the writers decided to get creative.

However, since each mini adventure is limited to a small time frame and needs to complete itself within an hour of gameplay, many of the more interesting details were either omitted from the module all together, or did not have enough time to be fully fleshed out. As such, the overarching story, though still present, felt disjointed at times.

Ultimately this wasn't a bad module. I don't have much beef with the content itself, I just really am not a fan of the 5-mini adventure format.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
by Brent D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2017 16:51:40

Epic finish and I loved it, but this adventure is near impossible to finish in 4 hours without either cutting out a huge segment (kidnapping/rescue dungeon crawl), or eliminating most of the town role play and just forcing your players to systemically roll all the rolls for Siege Points. If you let your characters actually ... roleplay ... or complete everything in the module, you'll find yourself rushing through the epic end fight in order to finish playing in alloted time. Obviousy, this ONLY matters if you are playing in an enviornment where there is a time crunch.

This module is super cool, just horribly timed. Not sure what group play tested this, but they sure as heck didn't consider a lot of players try to talk to NPCs, delibirate actions with each other, etc.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by Kevin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2017 09:59:08

I have run this adventure multiple times now, and for groups ranging from experienced players to first timers and have enjoyed it every time.

The adventures are well balanced for the intended levels, with only the ice cavern feeling as if it might be overly challenging. I am a particular fan of both the number and variety of story awards available to be earned, both positive and negative.

The only critique I would have is that the mini-adventures are very challenging to run in the 1 hour blocks they are described as being for, especially with newer players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Kevin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2017 09:54:18

I've run this once and played it once and both times found it to have very good potential but to be slightly lacking in execution.

On the positive side, I really liked the idea of the puzzle entrance and I found the atmosphere of the cavern/temple/what-have-you below to be absolutely fantastic.

On the could be improved side, I found that the execution of the puzzle entrance was not actually all that challenging in either of my experiences (playing things very hands off while playing and letting the other players take lead since I knew how it worked). Also, as a DM I found the writing of it somewhat confusing, particularly things like the bodies of the soldiers and what they had on them. As for the combat, I loved the atmosphere and build up to it, but I found it somewhat underwhelming in terms of challenge presented, mostly due to imbalance in the action economy of 1-2 enemies (even powerful ones) against a full 5-7 person party.

On balance though I really enjoyed the adventure even if it is probably my least favorite of the trilogy and would recommend it, especially for people looking to flesh out their players' experience in Chult.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Bradley D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2017 16:45:47

A great module to complete a meh triology for tier 1. The opening encounter can quite easily become deadly with poor planning or rolls, as my players all broke their buttons after choosing to press them all at once initially but led to a great narrative as they fled for the "safety" of the stairs going underground. The 2nd combat encounter is quite fun although DMs will have to vary the use of the legendary actions based on the party.

As others have mentioned the parts 2 and 3 of the trilogy have some issues with Wadumu and how he is portrayed but over all the players and myself enjoyed this thoroughly today.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 46 to 60 (of 3717 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG