RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ravenloft & The Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alex F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2016 13:46:16

Was hoping for a little more, but it's not like I spent any money to get it. The entire document is that single page you see in the preview, so you can just read it there and if it sounds useful, get it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ravenloft & The Dungeon Masters Guild
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Dungeon of Death (2e)
by Petr S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2016 15:36:09

Pretty adventure. Enemies are more than statistics - and cannon fodder. With little luck, player characters can make some temporary friend. On other side, layout of entrance level is... funny (most of "defensive arrangements" don´t stop intruders - interlopers simply don´t meet them).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dungeon of Death (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
by Adam U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2016 13:57:40

DEF worth the printed version. Love Goliath and would love more softcover books.


Maybe creating a section in the DM's Guild for items that you can get printed and sent to customers will help make more sales. Just like in 4th ED when WoC made the Dragonborn & Tiefling Race book.


Four new races and also more spells. Great pick up for any game that would like more diverse races.


I love having the actual softcover, really turns heads at the table. Thank you



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowghast Manor (4e)
by Patrick E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2016 16:53:35

Lovely tiles. Would give them 5 stars, if the red lines (cut marks) were on a separate layer so that I could choose to disable them. Please release more of the tiles products. This is just awesome and at a fair price!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowghast Manor (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

d20 Apocalypse (d20M)
by Chris W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2016 08:48:51

Pretty good product. Starting a d20 Modern "Mad Max" style campaign, and this is just what I needed. Can't beat the price, especially considering what the printed copies go for.


This book covers a variety of post-apocalyptic scenarios, so on the face not all of it would apply to what I needed. The actuality is that I was able to pull something useful from every section of the book.


Writing is solid, rules seem reasonably balanced, and art is better than one gets sometimes in these things.


Well recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d20 Apocalypse (d20M)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

L1 The Secret of Bone Hill (1e)
by SG-0401-5333 K. H. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2016 23:08:01

This is a great adventure but letdown by poor scan.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
L1 The Secret of Bone Hill (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by Afet b. T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2016 22:06:24

This is a relatively good adventure that provides a nice lead up to the passage to Barovia. There is an introductory encounter that feeds into four missions that can be explored in any order. Each of these provides the opportunity to fight or negotiate. I like that the adventure encourages the players to work past the fear-driven bigotry of the locals to develop a more nuanced understanding of the actions and motivations of the Gur. The transition to Barovia at the end is pretty good but leaves a key piece of information out: are the two NPCs with PCs after the crossing or not?


The negative here is, yet again, the editing. Sadly, poor editing has been a thorn in the side of all of the AL adventures since Phlan. For example, in Mission 2 boxed text describes a scene in a clearing. Then, two sections later, it becomes clear that there is a cart in the clearing on which there are lanterns providing light. An important detail for PCs to know. Or, in Mission 3, a pair of orcs inexplicably and abruptly becomes an uspecified number of goblins. It was reasonable to shrug off the editorial gaffs when the adventures were offered free to a closed group of DMs. But now that these are official WOTC offerings that cost money, it's harder to swallow. The two principal AL editors either need to step up their game or leave the task in more diligent hands.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04 Curse of Strahd Player's Pack (5e)
by Joshua F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2016 12:22:23

THIS IS A MUST.


Every store running an event should have this printed and in a folder to help build characters and give understanding. In addition I think the place cards should be printed and a link should be found on the stores web/social media page so that others can have access to the material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04 Curse of Strahd Player's Pack (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by Garrett V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2016 18:29:23

Ran the introduction and one mission last night and got a feel for the flow of things. The tavern encounter provided good background information on the two main NPCs so that a good roleplaying session could be constructed. The timing for completing the individual missions seems about right and running it did not feel rushed in the 2 1/2 hours we had. Although the distances between the fleeing Gur stretches the credulity of being able to track them all down in time, it is something that the players didn't mind having glossed over and so it wasn't as real concern yet. Providing the party with horses made rationalizing their ability to catch up alot more palatable. I rated down for the poor proofreading, particularly in Mission 3 and other minor errors. I find the transition text from the Moonsea area to Barovia unoriginal and lacking for the start of what is supposed to be a good gothic horror story so I will probably write my own. I still look forward to the treatment that will be given to Barovia, Ravenloft and Stradh. I hope they do the story justice.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by Ronald L G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2016 14:00:51

Nice adventure. On par with previous season starting events.
Provides the players with a deep lead in story respective of the history of Ravenloft.
Nice NPC character desciptions. Not just the typical bait and hack short adventures.
Provides previous story tie-ins for the die hard long toothed players but also provides direction for new players.
Lots of opportunities for role play however time constraints will limit these if a 4 hour run time is expected.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mines of Madness (Next)
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2016 13:09:42

Can't wait to run this with my players. Told them to bring extra PCs just in case.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mines of Madness (Next)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by Sean F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2016 12:59:53

I don't know what I wrong with the person below me, but I can say that I am of Romani descent and find no problems with this module. Having playtest most of the other modules for season 4 I can say that I still have yet to have a problem with how they are presented in the modules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by Aaron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2016 11:46:33

Considering how good AL adventures have been with including gender and sexual diversity, I was really disheartened to see the antagonists of the first AL adventure for Season 4 to be stereotypical "thieving gypsies". Spoilers below.


-
-
-
-
-

The players are confronted by a group of Gur, a nomadic people native to the Forgotten Realms who are clearly based on the real-life ethnicity known as the Romani (or Roma) people, commonly referred to with the ethnic slur "gypsies". The DM is told, up front, on p. 5 of the adventure, that the Gur "committed a host of crimes" "as befits their reputation". So in this module, the Romani-surrogates are not just treated like criminals, but they are presented as explicitly living up to the stereotype against their people. Similarly, on p. 6, the author states that the Gur "proved to be as treacherous as their reputations suggested". If it wasn't already problematic to present slightly veiled versions of human ethnicities as if they were negative, racist stereotypes, for those stereotypes to turn out to be true is just awful.


I'm also made uncomfortable by the language used to describe the Gur on p. 6, where they are called a "human race infamous for in the Realms for their nomadic lifestyle". The use of the word "race" here is very troubling. Presumably the author intends the term to be read as "ethnicity", but the idea that different ethnic groups consist of different "races" of people is something that was popular among 19th century eugenicists, not something that is acceptable in the 21st century. Moreover, if the author intended the term to refer to "races" in the traditional D&D sense, then this is even worse, because it implies that the Gur (and thus the Romani) are a separate species from the rest of humanity, on par with elves, or dwarves or halflings.


I kept hoping that at the end of the adventure, the Gur would prove to be innocents who were misunderstood by the other characters in the adventure. But no. Hricu really was sent to steal someone else's magic wand, Rilynin really did steal the gems, Kehkim really did steal the weapons and, while Ozzcar didn't actually curse the cook, he did drug him... All of this is supposedly done for purposes of self-preservation, but it still hews to closely to traditional racist stereotypes to be comfortable.


Seriously, this sort of thing would not be acceptable if it was written about proxies of other real-life ethnicities or cultures. It's not OK to do with the Gur/Vistani/Romani either.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Curse of Strahd Dungeon Master Rewards
by Wrich P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2016 12:18:45

Excellent incentives, well thought out, and meaningful. The program moves into Highly recommended territory from simply acceptable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Curse of Strahd Dungeon Master Rewards
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

GAZ4 The Kingdom of Ierendi (Basic)
by William E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2016 10:35:14

Just excited I can finally get all the old gazeteers. Never had the resources when I was a kid, but now this is awesome. Some of the time this particular book almost seems to make light of itself, but if you concentrate on the content it shouldn't bother you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ4 The Kingdom of Ierendi (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 1741 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG