RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Player's Handbook (3.5)
by Chris A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2015 11:39:06
This PDF book is beautiful, and the small file size (39 MB) makes it very convenient for use on portable devices (e.g., iPhone, iPad, etc.) I haven't seen any flaws on the pages yet, and I love the resolution! With the graphics, you don't start noticing pixels until you get past 200% zoom; with the text, you can zoom to 600%, and the letters still look perfect! In fact, at 600%, the letters look like master-level, hand-written calligraphy! I can't say enough good things about this book! It is, of course, fully indexed and searchable, and is very legible even on small screens (such as the iPhone 5, which is what I have it on.) Add to that the fact that it costs a mere $9.99, and you've got a surefire winner!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Master's Guide (3.5)
by Chris A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2015 11:30:36
Beautiful, rich colors, and delightfully high resolution make this PDF book extremely attractive, especially considering the file size (33 MB); it is fully indexed and searchable, and I have detected no flaws in the page images. This is your "go-to" DMG if you're playing 3rd edition. I downloaded mine to Dropbox, then used my iPhone's Dropbox app to import it into my Kindle app. Now I can peruse it at my leisure, no matter where I am. You can't go wrong with this PDF book, especially for a mere 9.99; I highly recommend it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon #188 (4e)
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2015 02:26:21
These are normally very good. This one has only very short adventures, and none of them are very original.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon #188 (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
by Jacob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2015 19:10:19
l love this....the book is everything me and my players needed. I am very happy it has the information on more races. The goliath is one of my favorite races and they work grat with the other races. My only complaint would be it doesn't work on my tablet(nook hd). But that is a hardware not pdf problem. This is a wonderful book. And its free. If you are into 5th edition D&D (and you should be), you need to get this.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
by jeff s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2015 13:35:48
It's ok some of the clues are a little obscure but overall a good scenario a long standing adventure that stands. The test of time

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ghosts of Dragonspear Castle (D&D Next)
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2015 13:41:07
It is ok. Gives you a chance to have a digital adventure that lets you playtest our nice shiny 5e players handbook and dm's guide without paying the pretty big bucks that are being charged for d and d books nowadays.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Ghosts of Dragonspear Castle (D&D Next)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

EBERRON: Shadows of the Last War (3.5)
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2015 13:32:02
I had some of these in hard copy before they vanished in to the ether. They are all good, and really capture the world of Eberron. We are now using these with 5e.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
EBERRON: Shadows of the Last War (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eberron Campaign Setting (3e)
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2015 13:27:10
This is without doubt the best campaign setting for d and d. It is a fresh and different now as it was when released, and now I'm pdf. We played eberron with 4e and that was pretty good, but the depth in 3.5 is so much better. With minimum work you can use it all with 5e, which is proving popular with all but our most for hard 4e player.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eberron Campaign Setting (3e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Races of Destiny (3.5)
by Elliott R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2015 12:41:58
I love this book. It provides a number of great options for species and settings common to every campaign, as well as ways to make them the focus rather than the backdrop. Human and city options are the main things I like from this book, and it pairs very well with Cityscape. A very good book to have if you want to run a game entirely in a city, with politics, guilds, and varied races crammed together in close proximity. I also like pairing this book with the Human Paragon from Unearthed Arcana, especially if I'm playing an evil priest of Zarus. Fun book that expands on my favorite race. Also, dopplegangers and the Chameleon prestige class. Awesome.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Races of Destiny (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
by Brad A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2015 12:41:13
The scan PDF was properly formatted and easy to download. The content was a little light, but helpful in adding more to the world of 5e

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HHQ3 Thief's Challenge (2e)
by Ricky P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2015 21:14:15
Pros:
Great sandbox, very little railroading
As advertised, well tailored to a single PC playing a thief (emphasizes skulking, larceny, and investigation)
Great NPCs with motivations that match the tone of the story

Cons:
The "bad guy"'s plan seems a little weak, and it would not at all be guaranteed to lead to "bad guy"'s desired outcome.
The location of the town and the town's purpose (maintaining a river lock) where most of the adventure takes places does not make much sense from a practical real-world perspective. This really is not a problem, but might lead to the player dropping out of character to question the verisimilitude.

Overall, I recommend this adventure. Run as-is, it is very good. With a few tweaks, it can be great.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HHQ3 Thief's Challenge (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Up Front Complete Game [BUNDLE]
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2015 17:00:41
Finally! The groundbreaking wargame classic from the 80s is finally available outside badly worn used copies or pristine copies that cost and arm and a leg. In both cases, you really hate to play it in order to at least preserve the components. Efforts to republish the game over the past 15 years have met with more drama than an entire season of "The Guiding Light."

This is a straight-up scanned version from Second Edition, with reminder text in the Action Deck enhanced for legibility.

Action cards are printed on Poker sized cards, which are a tad wider than the original deck. This makes sleeves easier to find, as they fit perfectly in sleeves for M:tG. The backs have the images expanded to fill the entire card to excellent effect, while the front of the card maintains the same ratio, leaving a negligible bit of white space on the left and right margins. This deck has the most errata that needs to be applied: Marsh cards should have -1 instead of +1, Card #7 should have a 1 instead of a 7 in RPC position 9, and all the black RNC Movement cards should have INF shifts 2 to the right instead of the left. Remember: you'd have to do the same thing to your $150 copy off eBay. The cards are flexible and riffle shuffle easily. As stated previously, the reminder text has been enhanced for legibility.

AFV cards are printed on the same size cards as the action deck, and have been slightly enlarged to fill the size of the card, as the original cards were smaller. The errata on some of these cards were already applied by the time the Second Edition was published, so no problems there.

Personality cards are printed on mini-card size cards, and the images were reduced from the original size of the cards. This will leave a smaller footprint on the gaming table, which is nice. I'll have to play a game or two to determine whether the size reduction will make reading the game information during play more difficult (Morale and Firepower numbers, for example).

The rulebook is a PDF scan from a well-preserved copy, and the scan quality is fantastic. There's only a slight discoloration on the back of the rulebook, which is pretty common for a game 30-some odd years old.

The counters are available as both PDF for self-printing, or printed on the same card stock as the card decks. The card stock version is the most convenient for those who simply want to cut and play, but it's very much worth putting forth the effort to apply to sturdier material such as cardboard or wooden square pieces you can buy at Craftparts.com.

As for the game itself, it's incredibly tense. The game is designed to produce the type of fog of war and chaos that soldiers faced on the battlefield. The Designer's Notes in the rulebook should be required reading by all wargamers, as it explains the method to the madness. There are "gamey" elements to play, such as the fact that groups don't have flexibility to move to one side while they have flexibility to move to the other due to the A/B/C/D nature of group formation the game imposes.

Learning the game can be a challenge, as there are tons of fiddly bits you have to remember. Once you've played the game a few times, things fall into place, and game play will quicken with only minor reference to the rules for handling situations that don't occur very often. You have to be patient with both the game and yourself, roll up your sleeves and dive in as best you can, and go back and review areas that are unclear. The effort is definitely rewarded.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Up Front Complete Game [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2015 13:55:51
I am pretty impressed with 5e. This is a quality document. Unfortunately I am facing a 4e rebellion with my players refusing to even roll a 5e character at the moment!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

P3 Assault on Nightwyrm Fortress (4e)
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2015 13:51:45
This is why 4e got so much criticism. Little plot, one fight after another. Even our resident Raven Queen paladin hated it. Much better adventures in the dungeon magazines, and much more value for money.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
P3 Assault on Nightwyrm Fortress (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragon #386 (4e)
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2015 13:47:36
I use these to flesh out campaigns and npcs. They are very useful and very good value for money. Especially since 4e is finished.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon #386 (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 1576 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG