RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 20:13:32

I wanted to give this 5 stars, but I can't. The plot (Part 1) was good, Part 2 was damn near perfect, but then it started to unravel a bit in Parts 3 and 4. Only having X # of hours to get to the camp, and time actually matters as to how many Dwarves are still alive when you get there-I love it, brilliant work here. The "open ended" nature of the siege literally was "We're here, now what?", so 5/5 and 3/5 works out to only 4/5.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 13:17:22

One: Amazing story and good finale to the Bad Fruul storyline. Two: whoever decided to go 3 table mini-epic was a genius.

Now usually in D&D you have RP, you have trappy/skill contest stuff, and you have some combat. There are almost always one at a time. Weaving together all 3 in one here was wonderful. Did task A well? Did task B well? Did task C well? Suceeded in previous adventures? Good, not enjoy auto-killing waves 1, 2, & 3, and half of wave 4 which you now have a massive ally for. Even with all but 2 enemies being slaughtered beforehand, the last 2 (Bad Fruul and mount) still but up a hell of a fight! We had 27 people + 3 DMs (including a few n00bs) and everyone loved it.

I may even consider re-running DDAL 5-2, 5-3, 5-10, 5-12 & 5-16 again to replay this amazing story arc.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 13:05:51

I didn't realize how plot heavy Tier 1 was until I'm now going back to review it. But this Bad Fruul storyline was so well done it was engrossing. DDAL 5-2/3, 10, 12, & 16 are all amazing expeditions (yes I realize there are 2 more, but they're both terrible). The Romeo and Juliet storyline here was surprisingly well done, and the thing ending in a massive fight at the Cabin in the woods. So well done all around!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 12:59:42

This was amazing. Great RP moments (Doth thou even hoist bro?). So fun. Also, the thing acutally made sense in the grand scheme of the Bad Fruul storyline.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 12:42:11

A clear sequel to DDAL5-02, but yet destinct and good enough to stand on its own. Introduces many main characters in Parnast, and establishes the basic plot of the season (at least for T1). The forest side trip was certainly a nice side-trip for the group, and the chaos at the end was well executed. Good job.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 12:38:19

Good start to the season, a fun little escort mission. Looking forward to how this all plays out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 12:33:57

Ok, I'll admit the ending was amazing. The start, however was a bit slow going (especially after DDAL5-18, which we ran before breaking for lunch) and I want to say didn't accomplish anything-except it did: the Monk failed a Con save and got Mummy Rot! I can honestly say, no one excepted a giant mech robot (er, "golem") battle-so props on that. Part 1 of the final battle was relentless with wave after wave of enemies, once they seems to get that under control, then bang-Plot Hammer upside the head and the Eye is gone! Part 2 was an interesting idea with the chase, but the group was in mid-combat mode and all the other enemies just left, so they weren't very delayed heading into the chase. Part 3 was where the awesome happend for us, with the dragon mounted chase, and a T4 Sorcerer who really really was dying to try out his new Meteor Swarm spell and very happy to be outside of all the water so he could enjoy his new toy. Reading the module, it looks like Part 4 of that fight could have turned nasty if they let dude get back to his castle, but again-Meteor Swarm kind of avoided that, as he never got back to his castle.

On a side note: this is the first AL legal Meteor Swarm for us, the previous Meteor Swarm(s) were both the same week- Sunday night in a 1st Ed campaign I hit the group with it, and then that Wednesday the DND Next Playtest Dead in Thay has a Lich (I switched out spells) guarding the Doom Gate which hit 4 tables worth of PCs with it, killing 23/28 targets. Our sorcerer was very happy to have reached the apex of destruction with this spell, and it was a fitting end to the first T4 game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-18 The Mysterious Isle (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 12:16:06

Several things I liked, the combat was a challenge for the group, but nothing they couldn't handle either. They lucked out and bypassed the "get to the island" fights by rolling all "ally" encounters. Having all the combat underwater isn't as big of a challenge to a T4 group as I suspect the author intended, and while "throws some large HP giants at things" is a decent stragety normally, it is somewhat solved by any party that happens to have a Horn of Valhalla handy (or 2) to call for reinforcements.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-18 The Mysterious Isle (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-04 Mayhem in the Earthspur Mines (5e)
by Adam G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2017 08:39:28

This was a great experience. The adventure hook of "partying the night before" fit perfectly with my group...and added to the excitement of the coliseum. Although the mod says it can be done in 4 hours (which we did) I feel it could have used more time, as the mines are huge, with alot of opportunity for exceeding 4 hours. The mod gives alot of extra fluff for factions as well, so it was great to see that in a mod. I will definately run this mod again for other groups.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-04 Mayhem in the Earthspur Mines (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
by Robbie P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2017 01:29:57

Excellent way to wrap up the Parnast story. I love how all the different stories connect together, and how you can find characters from past mods to help with the defense. It almost has a "Seven Samurai" feel to it, or "Magnificent Seven" if westerns are more your style.

That said, I'd like a little more DM guidance on running it as a mini-epic. I love that we can do that, but some tips on table coordination, dividing up tasks and combat, and so on would be really useful, especially for players who've never been part of an epic before.

I also kind of feel that the Mud Mephits from "Beneath the Fetid Chelimber" could have joined the defenses too, but I don't know how much help they'd really be. So that's a really minor thing. I also had no idea sparing Kagrota Threeteeth was even an option, I've never once seen her left alive.

Definitely challenging combat, so it makes the players work for their win, which I'm totally good with. Really nice item drop as well.

Overall, nicely done, ties together and concludes everything in Parnast very well. (How do things go with Wallace and Elspeth after it's all said and done, though?)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast (5e)
by Robbie P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2017 01:19:36

Overall a fun adventure; I enjoy the investigation, and the combat and tasks are balanced and challenging enough.

I'd have liked to see a little more about the two evil twins, since most players I've run it with never got to learn that there are two of them, given the manner in which they completed their tasks. Pity they don't survive the module. (Actually, when I first tried this as a player before buying, the DM totally skipped over the character's introduction and we thought he was just some random guy. Missed out on some great story elements that way.)

I haven't had a player ever feel particularly much like reporting to Gundar instead of Ragnar, though I'm glad they left the option open. And I certainly like the little "fueding families/star crossed lovers" subplot going on with their kids.

Great item as well, definitely a mod worth running for that alone.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
by Chester C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2017 23:38:20

A Dish Best Served Cold actually shows the characters that not all giants are evil and sometimes there is something out there much more evil than giants rampaging about. The characters are tasked with rescuing a kidnapped Frost Giant Child. They later found out about a group of humans that devote themselves to killing giant kind but have stopped so a renegade group has decided to try and start it up again. There is opportunity for roleplay to be had in this adventure with a bit of combat along the way. Overall this adventure is fun, simple and easy to do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
by Chester C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2017 23:36:16

In Dire Need is an adventure that requires a bit of thinking, planning and sneaking. Basically the adventurers are tasked with getting to rescue a platoon of dwarves that went missing. They travel all the way to the last known location and find a large camp filled with monsters are in their way. This adventure shows that the character's cant always go charging into combat at every monster and will need them to think of a way to get in or out. It is a fun adventure to run for players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
by Chester C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2017 23:33:09

Uninvited Guests is the follow up adventure to the Black Road. The players are tasked to hunt for food in the forest and there is a bit of roleplay to be had when interacting with the villagers. Ofcourse when they get to the forest they are faced with a problem with the faeries. The events in the adventure will depend on the actions of the players. Overall, this is a fun adventure with lots of roleplay opportunities with the villagers and the faeries and even some fun combat that depends on the player's actions and decisions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Chester C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2017 23:30:48

The Black Road is a good adventure that introduces one of the story lines in Storm King's Thunder. Bad Fruul's name will be mentioned and it will be important because it is the storyline's antagonist. The adventure is straightforward and simple and there is a fun combat in the end. The players may interact with the NPCs or with the enemies in the end but the combat may hurt the new players. Overall it is a fun adventure



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 2320 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG