RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
THON - Warfront
THON - Warfront
$40.00 $10.00













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL04-03 The Executioner (5e)
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2018 14:47:12

Even with all the fixes and suggestions on how to run, to this day it runs like a cutscene only serving to show that someone the players thought was dead is, in fact, not. And then you kill him in the next module. This could easily be incorporated in the preceding module as a cliffhanger to keep players enticed by the mysterious of the land, or as a hook in the following adventure instead of the hard stop.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-03 The Executioner (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2018 21:45:58

This is my favorite 5e adventure! The dinosaur racing rules in the Tomb of Annihilation are a bit vague. This adventure greatly expands on those rules. My group loved it so much, they want to do it again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
by Ameer B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2018 19:17:01

BLURRY PRINTING The physical quality of the book is good however, the print quality is fairly mediocre. The resolution is way below 600 dpi (I would guess around 200 dpi) making the text appear somewhat blurry. It appears to also be printed with an ink-based color printer of some sort. Another factor is probably the low resolution of the particular scan they are printing from. Despite the aforementioned issues, the book is usable and fairly well made.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2018 09:59:13

I've only run this once and I don't do a lot of DMing, so it's quite possible that I don't have the skills to make this module shine. The concept is a nice change of pace from your standard hack-and-slash, but it takes a lot of work on the DM's part to fill in the blanks. It has everything you could want--creepy carnival, creepy clowns, creepy maze, etc., but it somehow seems less than the sum of its parts. It might actually be better to run everything but the combats theater of the mind and not try to design and draw an entire carnival on the grid. I ran it with several people I know and play with regularly who were willing to play a RP-heavy module, but it still felt like I had to railroad pretty hard to keep them moving forward. This is not something I'd want to run with a table, especially a full table, put together at the last minute with complete strangers.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2018 08:57:19

While the hooks into the adventure could use some work (fortunately I've been running my players through the hardcover and just found a way to get them to executioner's run besides the hooks the adventure provides), this module does a good job of making the dungeon-crawl feel dungeon-crawly without actually needing any maps.

The catacombs are sufficiently creepy with a teensy bit of effort on the DM's part.

The provided monsters and encounters (especially the Spawn of Kyuss) are well-balanced for party strength.

The chess section gave my one player with Dragonchess proficiency a time to shine! He rocked it! Huzzah for making use of otherwise-useless proficiencies!

The final fight is a mess. The rules for the mote are scattered across three pages, so make sure you read and reread those three pages and make sure you're intimately familiar with how the encounter is supposed to work. The things I missed in my playthrough:

  • The tentacles actually have an AC and HP separate from the Mote -- I used the Mote's AC and just guessed that each tentacle had 1/6 of the Mote's HP
  • The captives have 0 HP -- I thought they were at full health, so they immediately joined the fight once freed, which made the escape sequence SUPER easy because they were all conscious and only the PC that died had to be carried out

As written, it does not seem that there is any way for the players to learn Jaru Tasca's name. There also is no explanation of what she is. Undead, certainly, and a spellcaster, but what kind? Is she a lich? There's no mention of a phylactery, so I doubt it, but I floundered for what to call her.

Despite its flaws, though, the module told a fun story, the flameskulls and Spawns of Kyuss provided fantastic challenge (and instilled a new phobia of being in "Fireball Formation" in my playgroup), and it's great fun. My recommendation is actually to run this after DDAL07-07 and before DDAL07-08 -- we ran them in that order due to DM illness, and the story seems to flow better that way. Just don't mention at the end of DDAL07-07 where the masonry came from. Tell them at the start of DDAL07-08!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2018 08:16:31

My go-to mod when it comes to S7. Loved the final boss and all of the fun encounters preceding it.

That boss almost killed a shield guardian, wasn't hit for almost 3-5 turns, since they spent it mostly afraid (melee martial characters hate him) and one way or another, more than half the party is gonna go down.

Loved this as much as I loved Forgotten Traditions



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2018 14:34:56

Very memorable boss. Sadly the design of the fight robs most of the challenge. He should have likely been something like CR20 and made into a CR17 for Tier 3, not CR17 and downleveled to CR11ish.

The adventure is cool and my players loved the final fight, even if it ended in round 2. (Our 2nd playthrough killed the boss without him taking a single action).

Like much of this season's content the difficulty is too low, and there are too many fights tiers below the party.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
by Donald M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 21:49:32

While better than the original, see my first post on the matter in the discussion tab. Things are more smoothly streamlined in the revision, but still some issues remain. Overall even with the changes, the module is still lackluster for a tier 3 adventure, and with a decently equipped party, this module is a simple dungeon crawl, with little substance or challenge. There is very little outside of the magical darkness in this module that will challenge a balanced party in this tier, as even one bad save on the final big bad ends this fight can end this fight before it begins, and as a result makes the four hours that go, make you ask yourself - are we there yet?



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
by Wei C. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 12:13:03

Terrific module, short and bite-sized yet brings out the best in roleplaying. First the introduction breaks the mould as players get a request for help from someone totally unexpected, and then there is the investigative flow of events, as well as being on the trail and a race against time. The investigation culminates in a role playing encounter that can be very critical for most parties (they would not have much of a chance if they failed), and ends off with a very appropriate and cinematic fight. Best of table top, put nicely into a two hour module... hmm well there's a minor quibble, could easily run into three or four hours, but great adventure nonetheless!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-14 The Sword of Selfaril (5e)
by Wei C. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 12:09:51

A very lovely balance of story telling and roleplaying. The first encounter can really be short circuited by RP but the story just flows forward and takes it in stride. The character that the players support is also interesting to roleplay and has very distinctive traits that can easily be brought out with voicing and lines. If any caution is to be applied, it would be that the timing is easily exceeded and one should take care the descriptive parts do not get over long, nor so many questions asked by players that the game falls behind schedule. This module made me love Mulmaster setting as as a DM and no regrets for that!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-14 The Sword of Selfaril (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-10 Cloaks and Shadows (5e)
by Wei C. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 12:06:18

This is a terrific adventure. When I first read this module, I was like omg how am I going to do all of this in one sitting? But then the diagram at the back on the adventure flow and having the newspaper article that lets the players control the flow of deciding how to "choose their own adventure". And yes its so amazing such a (relatively) simple module has so much replayability! It is so awesome! If there is any flaw, it would be that the front part lends itself too much to metagamers who try to disrupt the story by ending it before it even started. That's really a small thing though compared to how the rest of the adventure goes. Best of all, it is not deadly and it is relatively unlikely that a crit will kill low level adventurer for most of the module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-10 Cloaks and Shadows (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-14 The Darklord (5e)
by Wei C. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 12:00:31

The story has too many back references to places stories and characters that never appear in the adventure, and it says a lot that most of the text is actually trying to get DM to buy into how the villain became so powerful. In any case, players are not privy this information. For those who have not played the related stories, this is bound to get lost ; for those who have, it is still very likely to be lost. And for the item that can be used to make the final encounter easier, it is hardly mentioned, and the final area is full of distractions that have relatively little to do with the encounter and seem intended to distract also from using the item also. So we know who the villain is trying to transform into, does that have any bearing to defeating the encounter? And why is the villain so powerful, mechanically so much more powerful than even Strahd? (The CR rating is grossly inaccurate) The spells themselves are also dangerous, and combined with the special abilities (which cannot be counterspelled, cannot be dispelled) it is a very deadly showdown that manages to make little sense in context of the setting, unless you buy into all the text that only the DM can see. On the plus side, there is room for a DM to merciful and not kill people after party is unable to pull through. Play with a strong heart and with a DM you're cool with.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-14 The Darklord (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-10 Cloaks and Shadows (5e)
by Gabe J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2018 22:58:40

I'm a big fan of this adventure. It's good just as written, with a lot of depth and replayability, and it also gives plenty of room for an experienced DM to tweak and add, or to help their players go off the rails. There is good buildup to the main antagonist and the final fight is quite fun. It helps get the PCs into the mood for one last encounter that the villain is showing off the above-average magic item. The adventure itself is cohesive in theme, well laid out, very well paced, and provides a good variety of challenges for the players. The last of the many things I like about this adventure that I'll touch on is that it starts strong with the interview as a great chance for RP, which is something I look for in mods I play with new groups or strangers online. Definitely a good module to pick up, I can't say enough good about it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-10 Cloaks and Shadows (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2018 21:03:24

Weird sort of compartmentalising with this adventure, the first half is essentially a walk-through where the characters pick up cool stuff, the second half is a chaotic combat that will easily take upwards of 2 hours to complete.

Not a whole lot else really.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX3-03 The Occupation of Szith Morcane (5e)
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2018 20:58:23

There a lot of exposition in this adventure whihc is nice, but not a lot of explanation for the DM. Some of the maps and areas are not laid out as well as one would like. This final combats are a lot of fun though and I'd be willing to run this adventure again!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-03 The Occupation of Szith Morcane (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 4565 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG