RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
World Builder's Guidebook (2e)
by William E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2016 16:16:26

If an individual is interested in world building this is an awesome supplement. There are tables for randomness, or an individual may use the items in the tables as inspiration. The book will take an individual from a macro (top down), or micro (bottom up) approach. Individuals are certainly not limited to these options. There are areas that cover pantheon building, racial dispersion, and terrain assignment. This can be used alone, but will probably really shine if combined with other supplements. I feel the value far exceeds the 5 dollar price, and I am happy with the purchase. There are also downloadable/printable hex templates.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Curse of Strahd Dungeon Master Rewards
by Titan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2016 20:23:04

I downloaded this when season 4 began. I think it's awesome, and gave me more incentive to run the book this season. Now I'll be starting at level 3 for 'Storm King's Thunder', with bonus gold and experience from DMing 'Curse of Strahd'. I hope something like this is available for season 5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Curse of Strahd Dungeon Master Rewards
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragonlance: Fifth Age Dramatic Adventure Game (SAGA)
by Philip C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2016 17:13:19

Because this product doesn't come with the map and the cards necessary for actually playing the game (which I really would like to see an explanation for), it's tough to go all five stars here. This isn't a playable game today when you purchase it. But I do have to say that when it comes down to it, Fifth Age is a game that was ahead of its time. It borrows some things from the '90s turns in game design and re-worked the magic system in ways that were really quite smart. Furthermore, there are some really neat mechanics here and I think it's still a cool game.

Being totally frank, Fifth Age feels like a setting where one can play Dragonlance and have one's own heroes. The setting changes were quite unpopular at the time, but I think that Fifth Age is built to really accomodate your own epic tales. Canonical characters exist in the world, but with the arrival of the Ancient Wyrms, and the development of Mysticism and Sorcery, there's so much to carve out without falling in the shadow of the Heroes of the Lance. I particularly like the magic system, which splits magic into "inanimate" and "animate" domains, adding some heft to common priestly magic, and evening the scales between priests and wizards. Furthermore, this ended up being a fascinating and dramatic post-apocalyptic setting; almost like Dark Sun meets Dragonlance.

Naturally, it failed to have the kind of success and longevity the game deserved, but I'm rediscovering it right now all this time later and I'm enjoying the heck out of it. Now if only I could get the cards...

A Final Thought: This game has one of the best DMing chapters ever written. I really think it's a shame that more people haven't read it, because it's some great advice.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonlance: Fifth Age Dramatic Adventure Game (SAGA)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-04 The Marionette (5e)
by Camden D. T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2016 16:00:20

Continity was hard to follow; the flavour text and the descriptions in the room often did not match. In the vision, for instance, It the description of the sort of music being played were completely different. The toy soldiers also needed a much thourough explanation of how to be used; they nearly made the rest of the adventure boringly easy for my players.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-04 The Marionette (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D&D Companion Set (BECMI Ed.) (Basic)
by Brad E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2016 09:40:03

This is NOT a complete scan. The inside cover of the DMs book is missing; a non-trivial issue as it contains a decent piece of Elmore art along with the Introduction. Further, the map in the Player's book is combined into one page instead of split as in the physical copy. This is very annoying if you want to print the document.

Eagerly awaiting fixed PDFs...



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Companion Set (BECMI Ed.) (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mines of Madness (Next)
by Janna G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2016 13:33:15

I ran this for 5 level 10 players and it took us about 6-7 hours total. I scaled up some encounters to make them more challenging and completely removed some of the minor monsters to speed up gameplay. As written, you may have some frustrated players. Some of the traps are pretty harsh, and some places could use more clues. I changed a few things to create a more enjoyable experience for my players. The ending could use some work. Abracadamus is supposed to be a good-aligned wizard protecting a magical stone from evil, yet he asks the players to die and solve an impossible riddle or get attacked by a dragon, which is kind of lame. I'd re-work his character a bit more if I ran it again. Overall, very fun with some changes. My players got really attached to HugHug - it helps if you can pull off a cute voice for him!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mines of Madness (Next)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

X9 The Savage Coast (Basic)
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2016 11:29:20

This title is the one I've been waiting to drop for far too long. I consider it one of those BEMCI modules that were part of my "formative years" admist the Satanic Panic of the 80s.

A great scan. While in the intervening decades since I first purchase this in High School, much of the criticism about X9's "slog through the wilderness" I find to be tempered by the setting X9 develops.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X9 The Savage Coast (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

PHBR4 The Complete Wizard's Handbook (2e)
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2016 13:16:05

This is a good scan of the product. The text is clear, and I cannot see any evidence of anti-aliasing or blurring of the letters when zoomed in. These two PDFs work fine on my old, underpowered tablet, zoomed in on my phone, and on my Kindle (not all PDFs sold here load quickly and work properly on these three devices). The bookmarks are well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PHBR4 The Complete Wizard's Handbook (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Player's Handbook (3.5)
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2016 13:14:46

This PDF has severe problems - it loads very slowly on my phone, fails to load on my tablet, and crashed my Kindle. By comparison, the much-larger Rules Cyclopedia PDF loads quickly and reads fine on all three devices. On my phone, which can display the PDF albeit slowly, each page takes nearly a minute to change. I think this is because of the way the graphics are packaged and loaded, but that is just a guess.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2016 13:13:24

This is a well-done modern PDF, with bookmarks, clear text and good art. I prefer the first printing to this later release, but that is probably 90% nostalgia.

This PDF seems to have severe problems - it loads very slowly on my phone, takes 10 minutes or so to load on my tablet, and crashed my Kindle. By comparison, the much-larger Rules Cyclopedia PDF loads quickly and reads fine on all three devices.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

X8: Drums on Fire Mountain (Basic)
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2016 13:10:37

X8 is the first D&D module I remember reading as a kid. It is a fun adventure, the plot is very much like playing through a classic James Bond movie only with D&D rules and weapons. I have been waitng years for this scan, as it was not one of the ones sold during the last PDF run.

Unfortunately, the scan is bad - the text is blurry and challenging to read on my tablet, phone and Kindle. I wish I could give this module a higher rating, as it is one I wish everyone had the chance to read and play.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
X8: Drums on Fire Mountain (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

PHBR5 The Complete Psionics Handbook (2e)
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2016 13:07:15

This is a good scan of the product. The text is clear, and I cannot see any evidence of anti-aliasing or blurring of the letters when zoomed in. These two PDFs work fine on my old, underpowered tablet, zoomed in on my phone, and on my Kindle (not all PDFs sold here load quickly and work properly on these three devices). The bookmarks are well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PHBR5 The Complete Psionics Handbook (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

GAZ3 The Principalities of Glantri (Basic)
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2016 13:07:04

This is a good scan of the product. The text is clear, and I cannot see any evidence of anti-aliasing or blurring of the letters when zoomed in. These two PDFs work fine on my old, underpowered tablet, zoomed in on my phone, and on my Kindle (not all PDFs sold here load quickly and work properly on these three devices). The bookmarks are well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ3 The Principalities of Glantri (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeons & Dragons Expert Set Rulebook (BECMI ed.) (Basic)
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2016 13:06:53

This is a good scan of the product. The text is clear, and I cannot see any evidence of anti-aliasing or blurring of the letters when zoomed in. These two PDFs work fine on my old, underpowered tablet, zoomed in on my phone, and on my Kindle (not all PDFs sold here load quickly and work properly on these three devices). The bookmarks are well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeons & Dragons Expert Set Rulebook (BECMI ed.) (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2016 13:06:27

This is a good scan of the product. The text is clear, and I cannot see any evidence of anti-aliasing or blurring of the letters when zoomed in. These two PDFs work fine on my old, underpowered tablet, zoomed in on my phone, and on my Kindle (not all PDFs sold here load quickly and work properly on these three devices). The bookmarks are well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 1928 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG