RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2017 15:30:22

A Walk in the Park? No kidding. Last combat is less dangerous than the final combat in 7-1! There so little experience available to recieve that it's impossible to get more than the minimum experience with a party of four players!

The writing is weird too - does no-one check for continuity?

Seriously diappointed in the module with issues that playtesting should have picked up on.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2017 15:28:20

Lots of good ideas here, however the opening puzzle is very poorly written, it feels like it was written out two or three times in different ways, resulting in a bit of a mess rather that a clear flow - activating the cetral obelisk activates the first step, which then activates the zombies etc.

The final battle require some careful DMing as it's very easy to one-hit KO a level four character with the special abilities. Also the invoke nightmare feature is essentially a death sentence on any character with a low INT save.

I really don't understand the Wadumu character. How has he duped the party exactly?



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Christopher M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2017 09:50:46

This one is great for long-time players - it really made them respect kobolds again (especially after the first fight, as the attitude went from "Meh, just some kobolds" to "AAAGH! THE KOBOLDS!"). The final fight can turn very deadly very quick, so it's important to guage the players and how well you as a DM think they can handle a tough fight with their available resources. But it made a nice segue between dungeon crawls from TftYP.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
by Christopher M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2017 09:44:14

As the first T2 set of 5 mini adventures in AL, this was kind of an odd bird. I enjoyed it. My players enjoyed the adventure, though they weren't keen on a lack of magical items in a T2 module. Still, it went over pretty well. The idea is that the factions are working together to find new locales for their bases, and five of the prior search parties haven't returned. Guess who gets to go checking on them...?

  1. Five Corpses in Denial - I've seen several reviews mentioning how these adventures tend to run long. This one certainly did (though for me, it balanced out later adventures that ran shorter). The puzzles were pretty straightforward (though there was a definite "ick factor" from some players).
  2. Four Angry Snakes - definitely a good one for RP and skill checks, while being less combat oriented. Some of the "set-up" for the last fight may make some players run long, but mine did it pretty fast and ended the module with time to spare.
  3. Three Bargaining Coins - this can be a tough fight witha real "Children of the Corn" feel to it. The NPCs offer a list of potential "rumors" that don't add much and could slow down the game. There is also reference to false wine ledgers that maybe were part of an earlier draft and should have been cut? But it ends in a big final fight that can be tough for PCs.
  4. Two Depressed Runes - This is a combat-heavy adventure. The players figured out how to enter the tower pretty quickly. Combat got spread out across the floors of the tower which made it challenging to DM, but they made it through fine.
  5. Once accepting Altar - this one wasn't as big of a winner - PCs had to follow the voice in their head to help NPCs they'd never met in a temple to a strange god...okay. They enjoyed the fact that they got to fight some dinosaurs, though.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by CR M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2017 09:24:13

This is a fun, straight-forward adventure set in two scenes. The final combat can be brutally fun (as a DM, you should monitor how the PCs are faring and adjust accordingly, especially since there is no easily accessible exit to this final chamber without defeating the BBEG).

I think adding a way for PCs to escape the final room would have helped, the final "betrayal" comes out of nowhere, and the end has a lot that gets glossed over (you travel through miles of caves, but then end up back in the main city...neatly wrapped up in one sentence) and that could have been padded some more, but overall it was a fun adventure and the players all enjoyed it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by CR M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2017 09:13:51

Not much of a beginning, no real conclusion, just kind of a bridge between two better modules (with a commercial for the author's Twitch channel mashed in there...SIGH!) without much to it. Granted, some of the encounters have potential (the mud slide is fun, if it weren't the only thing in part 2), showing how the drug is made made for a properly shocking moment, and the idea of the "fishers" could have been incorporated veryt well into the adventure. Instead, you get a series of unrelated encounters and a shopping trip. Not so fun.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by CR M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2017 09:02:01

This one is a little odd. It's a fun change for regular players to race dinos, but for new players it can be a bit of a surprise ("This is D&D, we fight orcs right? Well, no, not this time..."). The story hook doesn't come into play for most of the module ("There are accusations of race fixing...no, don't investigate anything, just go gamble on some of the races"). Some of the race mechanics can be fiddly, and the fight at the end feels a bit tacked on.

Overall, it's not my favorite, but it's not the worst AL module I've seen. I may run it again just because it's easy to set up (and run TotM) as a DM, so that's a good thing.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Alex C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2017 09:59:41

By FAR the worst one in the series. DMed it for my first group, completely skipped it with my second. Here is why:

First of all Screaming wind is suddenly the quest giver while in the first story it was Soggy Wren. I understand that somewhere down the road Soggy has given the satchel to Screaming Wind to investigate the poison but this isn't noted in the adventure AT ALL! Oh and Screaming Wind has this cat familiar all of a sudden.

Then we get to the second part. The demonspawns on the bridge. The kids try to steal something from the party and run away. If you don't follow this up with a chase scene or the Thug encounter this adds completely NOTHING! After that we get to the satchel shop. Don't get me wrong, I love Satine Phoenix and her GM tips show but god damn don't plug your own damn Twitch stream in your story. Hugely unprofessional and again the shop doesn't add anything to the story. The owner has no info at all and isn't an intresting NPC either. I think Satine made him an awesome NPC in HER story with HER players but it didn't translate very well to paper.. OH and there is this random Grung NPC which wants to be the party's guide. (He get's introduced just as abruptly as I started that sentence)

After the grung introduction and the party's free magical item from the frogman we are on our way into the jungle. I once read somewhere, when you add traps to your story make them mean something. Make them real encounters. Sadly the writer didn't get this memo. A mud slide which again adds NOTHING but luckily we get a sob story from frogman to make up for it...

The whole last chapter is messed up. They enter the city, get a tour but Frogman tells the party to wait till it's evening to enter the city..? But the party is already there and get's a tour from the freaking guards. Eventually the party finds a hut where some ritual stuff is happening and kill some snakemen. Tadah there is your story.

If this is the content we are getting for AL I'm glad that my party decided to play ToA non-AL so i can just skip this one. My party now defeats the dino's from story one, Screaming Wind is there with Soggy to explain the whole situation and tells them she has a Grung informant who knows where the stuff is made. The party will go into the jungle, find the small campside of the yuan-ti at the entrance of the lost city in story 3 and we'll just go on from there. Luckily story 3 is way better!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX3-02 Shackles of Blood (5e)
by Hristo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2017 17:54:57

Proceed with caution:

  • hard railroad - the characters need to be captured (and you can't let them escape) - players hate this
  • a memorable last fight in a gladiator arena with super cool mechanics - takes a lot of time to prepare and play it through mentally, be ready to fudge dice to make it interesting (and to avoid slaughtering lvl1-2 characters); the arena fight might get rather trivial if characters have exceptional mobility or teleportation spells such as misty step - best to run this for characters without these abilities
  • few roleplaying opportunities
  • the adventure is tweakable to fix some of the railroading issues, but requires a lot of work and soliciting ideas from the internet - one should not need to do this in a paid modue
  • I would advise against running this as a novice DM


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-02 Shackles of Blood (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Matthew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2017 17:00:28

My players seemed to enjoy this adventure, but I felt like the bard was kind of marginalized, without much to do. Meanwhile, the party druid was an all star providing food and water after the caravan was mostly lost in the sandstorm. Also, my players basically wanted nothing to do with the Zent caravan, which bummed me out, considering I'd planned to try to humanize the faction through them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2017 15:47:41

Lots of traps, plan accordingly!! If you have a combat heavy party, they will struggle with this one. If you have a very cerebral group, they will enjoy this adventure. It was a blast to run as a DM, and I admit I got a thrill out of watching my party struggle with the traps. Either they figured out the traps and blew the DC or they had no clue and I had to throw them a bone. My only complaint is the lack of Season 6 adventures, which is not the fault of the writer, but rather WOTC. It is fun to run - do so!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2017 15:36:59

Season 5 Introductory adventures - designed to run as a set. My table had not done Season 1 or the Book (Hoard of the Dragon Queen). If you are in the same situation, run the adventure as a chaotic time with many factions vying for power. That worked for my group. I feel these are well written and they were well received by my group. I enjoyed running the adventures (but Season 1 is still my favorite). Your players wil quickly learn when to be agressive and when to be diplomatic. A good solid intro to help you ease players into Season 5. You can morph the Season 5 book (Storm King's Thunder) to suit your party if you run these mini modules first.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-14 Escape from Phlan (5e)
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 21:45:06

I really enjoyed running this module. While it is a little light on actual roleplay, it offers plenty of opportunities for players to engage in creative problem solving. The fact that the characters enter the mission without a definite way out lends a bleak air to the module, that really pushes some groups to get all of the VIPs as soon as possible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-14 Escape from Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 13:51:51

This is the combat module of the 3. The first encounter is rough, particulary if you split the party (or if they split themselves). The second one is very difficult. This is what I would expect from a tier capstone, similar to the big bad of Hartkiller's Horn



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 13:34:47

IMO, the weakest of the trillogy. I have been running this at 1 1/2 hours, mostly roleplay. I love that the focus is on RP and Exploration, and the mudslide has been enjoyable. Other than that, the module is forgettable



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 3712 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG