RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Bill P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2016 16:19:02

Great introduction, lots of player choices and roleplay. Good mix of combat. We took way too long, 4 hours.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DSR2 Dune Trader (2e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2016 13:54:00

GREAT Dark Sun resource no matter what edition you have. Lots of flavor for the merchant houses of Athas and rules for the Trader class. The biggest plus is the lore for running none traditional economic focused campaigns. Great buy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DSR2 Dune Trader (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2016 12:58:40

I've been picking up more and more pdfs from DriveThruRPG. This is a roughly 30 Mb file that has been well bookmarked. They not only sorted the spell book marks by level, but even bookmared each spell! Quite happy with this purchase, and it has made referencing my wizard's spells a breeze. Should also mention the file has text recognition so you can search for terms if you are not sure where to find an obscure rule.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

B8 Journey to the Rock (Basic)
by Martin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2016 12:10:31

This adventure is a very good low-level adventure. The characters are tasked with journeying to a place simply called The Rock, and bringing back its secret. The players can choose one of three paths to reach their destination, each path offering different challenges and different environments.

Once they finally reach their destination, the characters will have to face a Crone of Chaos before finding a way to enter The Rock. Once they get in, they will have to choose wisely if they wish to discover the secret hidden here.

I really liked this adventure because it offers encounters with a large variety of adversaries and not all of the encounters are resolved by combat. Several can be resolved with negotiations and wise choices. Each of the three trails also has two encounter tables, one for daytime and one for night time. This is something that is rarely seen in recent adventures, but something that makes a lot of sense and makes life easy for GMs. As for the encounters tied to the story, most of them are nice and fun. A few feel like filler or seem a bit strange, but they can be easily modified or replaced.

Interestingly, once the characters reach The Rock, the GM has two options on how to end the adventure based on how hard the ending should be for the characters. Once of them is a non-combat option which is nice to see since the fight with the Crone of Chaos could have been hard on the characters.

After the conclusion, there a great section on how to run additional adventures using the material found here and suggestions as to where to place the adventure in the context of the campaign world developed for D&D. The ending also provides a kind of lesson for the players that All that glitters is not gold. I have not seen this very often in roleplaying games.

While the encounters provided are interesting and that the adventure itself is well written, it is also pretty straightforward. Besides choosing one of three trails, the characters pretty much follow the trail and get to their destination. Advice is given should the players choose to travel without using the roads. At least, the encounters are varied and bring diversity to an otherwise pretty straightforward story.

If you like old school gaming, I believe that this adventure can be easily adapted to other rules set and even if not played as is, it has good material for scavenging.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B8 Journey to the Rock (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Timothy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2016 22:32:32

Just ran this tonight on fantasy grounds, and I thought it was a really well done module. It packs quite a bit of choice into a 2 hour adventure, and gives the DM a lot of leeway in letting the players choose how to make it through. It also has a good range of threats, with some combat and some skill based encounters. I did not notice any editing errors. There are several player handouts, as well as a handy DM flowsheet, which I think should become a standard for all AL mods because it is so helpful. Great mod, pick it up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eberron Campaign Setting (3e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2016 10:47:38

I had the dead tree version of this Campaign Setting, and I bought it again nearly twelve years later. The Eberron Campaign Setting book presents a fresh, new take on adventuring in D&D, presenting a world that is every bit as evocative as the Forgotten Realms. Eberron surprisingly, has depth and breadth in one book, and later expansions brought the world to light. It is unfortunate that the world, however, suffered from a marketing blitz. This causes the world to be forgotten very soon despite how good and fresh it is. Eberron deserves much more than the blitz it got during it's short life.

PRODUCTION VALUE The Graphic Design of this product sets a new standard for new books, and this is followed up with it's expansions. The layout is wonderful and each page or two has a graphic. This was Wizards of the Coast's RPG R&D at it's hieght, and the Graphic Design shows. Every artist that worked on the Eberron Campaign Setting made the campaign setting come to life for so many people that bought the book. The book is in full color and the art ranges from cartoonish to beautiful. The book is gridded wonderfully, and it is easy to find the information you need without bookmarks. But the book is bookmarked, thank goodness.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eberron Campaign Setting (3e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Storm King's Thunder Zhentarim Faction Kit
by Riccardo R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2016 10:12:31

just not worth it. Not enough info or anyhting the paper is thin and rough.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Storm King's Thunder Zhentarim Faction Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Riccardo R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2016 22:12:00

Needs a print friendly version. Thats the only complaint so far.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Storm King's Thunder Zhentarim Faction Kit
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2016 04:05:10

I don't see how anyone can give this 5 stars. The quality isn't there. No original content, blank pages, the interior paper is like old news print. The ONLY nice thing is the gloss cover.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Storm King's Thunder Zhentarim Faction Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2016 18:14:15

See here for a good review: https://merricb.com/2016/10/02/5e-adventure-review-treasure-of-the-broken-hoard/

I enjoyed the mini-adventures, particularly the 3 that provided roleplaying opportunities, though I did have to pull my punches a little as each of them can easily be deadly for a 1st level party. They're not as detailed in terms of social interaction sense as previous season's modules, but they do provide a good introduction to exploration and combat and stick to the allocated timeframe better.

I'd have rated the adventure more highly a Vitual Tabletop (FG mod) file had been provided on release! ;-)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Storm King's Thunder Adventurer's League DM Kit
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2016 16:41:34

This item is less useful than a folder purchased at a big box store.

I recommend running away now and NOT purchasing this. It is a complete waste of money. There is no new/original content and the way this was printed and bound make it less useful than just making a copy from your SKT hardcover and printing off the resources linked below which are free and in PDF form.

Front Cover - Glossy, looks nice Inside Front Cover - blank Page 1 - repeat of cover Page 2 - blank Page 3 - Hekaton's Lament http://media.wizards.com/2016/dnd/downloads/DnD_SKT_HaketonsLament.pdf Page 4 - No text, has a rune on it

Page 5 - DM Table/Faction TEnt http://media.wizards.com/2016/dnd/downloads/DnD_TableTentsSKT.zip

Page 6 - completely black Page 7 - SKT Flowchart (SKT hardcover page 17) Page 8/9 - artwork of Giants from SKT

Page 10/11 - map of Northern Swordcoast http://media.wizards.com/2016/dnd/downloads/SKTPreview_map.jpg http://media.wizards.com/2015/images/dnd/resources/Sword-Coast-Map_HighRes.jpg

Page 12 - Items in a Giant's Bag (SKT hardcover page 18) http://media.wizards.com/2016/dnd/downloads/SKT_Items_in_a_Giant_Bag.pdf

Page 13 - Random Wilderness Encounter's chart (SKT hardcover page 69) http://media.wizards.com/2016/dnd/downloads/EL4_SKT_WildEnc_0824.pdf

Page 14/15/16/17/18 - Appendix B from SKT hardcover (pages 233-237) Page 19 - blank Page 20 - duplicate of back cover Page 21/22/23 - blank Page 24 - blank except for a barcode Inside Back Cover - blank Back Cover - Glossy, looks nice



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Storm King's Thunder Adventurer's League DM Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Storm King's Thunder Zhentarim Faction Kit
by Tim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2016 23:30:31

I purchased it to see what was in it. Printed and shipped quickly.

Has Zhent art inside, PC Sheet, Adventure logsheet, 7 player maps, a player tent for the table, 3 blank sheets for note I presume. An opening sheet greeting you as a Zhent Member and what they strive for. couple of interior art pieces.

Overall I like the quality of it and will pick up 1 of each, possbily more if more of my players side with one faction.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Storm King's Thunder Zhentarim Faction Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Storm King's Thunder Harpers Faction Kit
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2016 16:08:50

$4.99 plus shipping costs make this an expensive product for what you get. The faction kit is a softcover book, with a character sheet and character details sheet (no spellcasting sheet is provided), a map of Faerun the same of that in Storm King's Thunder, in addition to a few other player maps used in the first chapter of the campaign, and a Harper table tent that seems difficult to get out withour ruining the book. All of these pages are present with no easy means to rip out, stictched much like any other book's pages to its binder.

The table tent and character sheets I can print for free, so I paid about $5 for a small bunch of maps and a filler page with a piece of artwork related to the campaign on it. Then I paid the $10 shipping cost, and 9 buissness days later I recieved the product via mail delivery, totaling to $15 dollars for a few detailed maps and a piece of artwork.

Many will be disapointed with the product with the little content it has. I myself like the idea of these faction kits, which for seasons 1 and 2 of AL play were folders that could easily hold any papers you needed, and provided you with a letter of introduction to the faction and a table tent, all of which were handed out for free. This softcover book, although with great content, has no easy means of storing the papers a player may want, hence why I find myself using a paper clip to attach my character's spellcasting sheet and writing other info. related to my character on the inside cover.

In short, the product is overpriced for what little it provides. I am happy otherwise with it, save the lack of any spellcasting sheet present in the book.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Storm King's Thunder Harpers Faction Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
by Joshua P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2016 10:35:48

I've written a short review (no spoilers) of this adventure on my blog: https://goo.gl/FfLx3x



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Storm King's Thunder Lord's Alliance Faction Kit
by Riccardo R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2016 09:49:17

One welcome letter Character sheet Player Tent - very thin paper. Faction recruitment tent maps and info the palyer doesnt need relating to SKT. Don't see any kind of perforation to tear out the tents. Limited info on the faction.

Was hoping for a deeper detail of the factions here. Instead it's mostly art that's in the book already.
No way to easily print these out as they provide no pdf.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Storm King's Thunder Lord's Alliance Faction Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 1973 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG