RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2018 01:52:55

A shady individual with possibly precious information needs to be found! But you need to work nicely with hags to do it? Yes you do! This is a great module for roleplaying, and provides a great way to make the final fight even tougher for whoever drinks that foul concoction. I had a wonderful time running this as well as playing it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2018 01:49:33

I'm always a fan of roleplaying modules, and this one is no exception. This does a very good job of keeping you on pace: if you have plenty of time, you can roleplay more, otherwise, it tells you how many activities they can get into before continuing. A very funny irony that the mission giving NPC is ignored by everyone, and everyone has a tale to share about her that makes her seem crazy. But she is right this time! This also has a pretty challenging final boss with neat tactics! I would recommend this to anyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2018 01:44:20

This was a very challenging tier 4 module. My first time playing, we had the same character die twice! That's how you know it's good! Once again, a very good way of putting in an NPC that doesn't need to be fought, and that does bad things if you do fight her. The story awards for this are also very nice. However, this has never been run in 2 hours, even when I ran it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2018 01:34:13

5 very enjoyable missions! I liked these better than the ones from the other seasons. The dinosaur races have been fun every time I run them, and that fight with the kenku is pretty rough. I do have the same complaint with this module that I did with Over the Edge. What is the use of the Triceratops Society story award? Where are these people at? Because I haven't seen them in any of the modules or hardcover.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2018 01:26:17

This was a fun idea! I think it allows for tier 2 characters to be silly and get into some fun just like tier 1 characters do. A great way to also introduce characters to the land of Chult! Full of dungeon delving, puzzle solving, and that god awful sweltering heat! Where is that story award for the Yuan Ti supposed to be used? Maybe in the hardcover? Because I have yet to see it come up in any of the mods, I was a little dissapointed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
by JAMES T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2018 20:32:23

I've played this one and ran it. It was one of absolute favorites to DM because it has a lot of good mystery work, some excellent roleplay and some fun combat encounters. There are some errors in the module (Aya goes from being a Moon Elf, to a Half Elf, back to a Moon Elf), but if you make your notes properly and play it well, you leave enough clues for your PC's to connect the dots and follow the trails. And who doesn't love Lair Actions? BBEG's are always a blast to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
by JAMES T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2018 20:28:01

If you can't really get the 5 hours in to run this one, survey your players by their factions and only run the ones that represent the factions at the table or break it into two parts. My favorites in this series were the Harper, Emeral Enclave and Order of the Gauntlet ones anyway. The Emeral Enclave one, if you play it right, is an absolute blast for players who love to rollplay. Handwave a 'detect magic' type implement by having the faction rep give them a crystal that can perform that function by concentrating on it or something similar. As an intro to Phlan and the issues in this season, this set is great.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
by JAMES T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2018 20:23:17

If your players enjoy being gumshoes, love the social aspect and really get into character interaction, this story will not disappoint. Starts with a 'bar fight' and ends with a Dungeon Crawl -- what's not to love?

If you play up the social interaction, rollplay and investigation angle of this adventure, you'll have a blast with it. If you're just looking for combat encounters, your players might be bored until the last act.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
by JAMES T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2018 20:19:05

I've watched this one on Roll20Play, I've played in the adventure and I've DM'd it. I really enjoy this particular adventure, though it really pays to do a little preparation beforehand. Other than the 'finale' my characters were able to avoid combat throughout the entire span so were able to spend much more time being 'gumshoe' detectives. My table decided not to build any fortifications, so they really only had to deal with the ambush party and I hand-waved (like was suggested) that the boat and Elisande were carried off to the boats in the water. Again, most of this adventure works if you play up the creepiness factor and if you run the combat like the author suggests, throwing only the two 'leads' and the entire remainder of mobs into the 'roll for both, whoever wins remove a mob' style. Only engage the mobs directly with the players if the players engage. Combat was smooth when run in that style which is what the author suggested.

A great continuation of the story of Phlan.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
by Mathieu P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2018 20:16:33

This module was enjoyable.

But I must admit it felt a bit like it lacked something... I think I really really liked DDAL07-07 so I got my expectations pretty high for the final chapter of the trilogy.

Also, I think it is too bad that this module REAAALLY overlaps with one of the Guild Adept adventures Ruins of Matolo.

So a great module. Playable in 2 hours no problem. But missing a little something.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-08 Tales Trees Tell (5e)
by JAMES T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2018 20:06:52

This particular adventure was my favorite one (next to The Scroll Thief) for great social/rollplay time with the characters. Such a good rich story and some compelling characters. That being said, it has some issues. When Jenny is intended to be the BBEG and presented as an obvious threat to the characters, why doesn't she have any lair actions? If the PC's do make the absolutely insane choice to fall into combat with her, the way she's written now, she'd be blown away easier than the Displacer Beasts. I decided to play upon the unsettling nature of the Fey, their sense of innate magic and enchantment and use that to 'beguile' the player character's into believing she was much more dangeous than she was designed.

I thoroughly understand she's not in a coven, but this character signed the original Fey pact. She's been around for centuries. Two days ago she animated scarecrows and needle blights just to be vicious. If she's attacked in her home demesne, she should be doing at least that kind of summoning. Fighting her should seem much worse than taking on the 3 Displacer Beasts at least.

Other than that, I loved this one. It gave my player characters a chance to really work at their persuasion checks and social interactions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-08 Tales Trees Tell (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX3-08 The Malady of Elventree (5e)
by Gael L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2018 14:14:48

Quite a fun and challenging adventure, with many interesting encounters (especially the last one) and good roleplay opportunities, which I would definitely recommend the purchase of.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-08 The Malady of Elventree (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
by Gael L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2018 14:08:58

I loved everything about this adventure - the settings, the games, the encounter, the personality of Slab... I ran it near Christmas so it was quite fitting, too.

I decided to add a character called "Candy Bill" to present the games in a more friendly way that Ouen Azemar was capable of and thus better motivate the characters to play the games and earn the Midwinter Candle.

It was really funny to have "enemies" who would not attack the players but simply steal fruits (while dancing, of course!), it added a very comical touch to the battle, which I'm always all for.

What I prefer about this adventure is how every character could find a game where its best skills would be used to good effect. I strongly recommend this purchase, especially during Christmas month.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2018 20:56:08

I enjoyed the lack of combat for the majority of the module, and the final combat was fun and interesting enough to keep the players engaged. The roleplaying at the beginning was also very fun, as my players tried hard to solve the mystery before proceeding onto the race. The race itself, as many have pointed out, is far too clunky to be fun or engaging. It amounts to just constantly rolling dice, both for the players and the DM, and the rules are not laid out in a clear manner. I would have preferred something more akin to DDAL07-01.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2018 20:40:54

Winter's Flame is a cute scenario, perfect for a holiday game in the Northern Hemisphere, or a Christmas-in-July game down under. It has a beautiful ending that, when lovingly described, leaves players gushing over it every time.

A note to DMs: I've run this a few times, and the main challenge is building tension whilst letting players have fun at the games. I found that getting each player to have a shot at a game before they discover something that brings up the tension a bit is a good way to time it. Having said that, you know your players and if they need more drama to stay invested I'd wind up the games quickly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 4444 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG