RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2015 21:52:46
Ring Side Report- RPG Review of Elemental Evil Player's Companion

Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea everyday!

Product- Elemental Evil Player's Companion
System- Dungeons and Dragons
Producer- Wizards of the Coast
Price- $FREE! here http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/145542/Elemental-Evil-Pl-
ayers-Companion-5e
TL; DR- If this is what WotC's future looks like, I'm on board! 93%

Basics- Horrors of the elemental apocalypse are upon us! It's time for new heroes to rise! This book provides new player options including new races like the deep gnomes and the genasi. This book also proves a surprising number of spells for almost all the classes except for clerics

Mechanics or Crunch- Honestly, it's good to get ANYTHING from the currently quite WotC. The new races are all well done. These races are not anything new for the system, but they are new to the current rules set. The spells all look great, and they add some new diversity to the ones from the core set. It's just good to get some more! The one problem I do have is the exclusion of clerics from the rules. What here is good, but he absence of some things are noticed. 4.75/5

Theme or Fluff- This does have some fluff to it. Each race has a write up that adds some impressive diversity to the races in the Forgotten Realms. Again, these write-ups are not anything new as the races are all old favorites from at least fourth edition, but it's good to hear what these races have been up to since fourth edition DnD ended. The spells all have some great elemental flavor. What I did want that wasn't here was some bonds to draw characters in as well as some background on the adventure. My players all loved this new book, but the current season doesn't have that much background to front load the adventure like the Paizo Player's Companion books for their adventure paths. I love what I'm reading, but I'd like a bit more to bring the playing in. 4.25/5

Execution- I'm really digging the new layout for the DnD books. This book feels like an RPG, but it also feels fresh. Sure it's a short book, but getting this much content from another company would cost you $5 from Monte Cook games, and Paizo doesn't even offer this much content in their free player adventure path companion books! The font is good, the spacing is great, and the art is fantastic. There is only one piece of art that I know has been reused, so that's even more top marks for WotC, who has notoriously reused art in the past. If you can keep this up, I'll buy more player books when they happen! 5/5

Summary- This isn't perfect, but it is amazing. And, it's FREE! I'm really surprised that this book is free. It's got an impressive amount in it for the first really player expansion out there. I know that we, the player base, can't expect to get free books forever, but if this is the treatment I'm going to get for all of the adventure seasons, I'll be happy. I would like more, but for the price and the content, I'm thrilled! 93%

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
by Joshua O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2015 13:35:05
Magic stone was such a core cleric spell, was wondering why it's no longer on the cleric list

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
by Connor H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2015 23:50:51
It's an absolutely fantastic expansion to the already incredible fifth edition core rulebooks. It's a must have, for sure. Especially if you intend on using baddies and characters in a setting involving Elemental Evil.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
by Gwendolyn B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2015 15:46:28
Gives write ups in the style of the so-called "non-core" races from the PH (like half orcs and such) for Aaracockra, Svirfneblin (yay!), and that artefact of 3.5 the goliath race. Also a full species (with sutypes) write up for the Genasi which I thought was very well done. Plus about 40 new spells heavily skewed to a few schools in particular.
Spells are a mixed bag, some are versions of classics but most are not ones I recognize. Really was looking forward to the races and in that sense it delivered. Really can't argue with this for the price. :)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
by Alvin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2015 13:05:29
I expected more. Specifically I wanted Elemental Domains for Divine classes. There aren't any new spells for Clerics. And when I think about elemental evil I think worshippers and divine. there was no new Warlock Patron or elemental themed sorcerers or wizards. Basically I just felt like it was too short. I would have gladly paid for a much larger product than have this for free.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
by Rob D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2015 12:54:08
I liked the new spells, as the game can always use more of these. However, I found all the new races unsuitable to my campaign. Also, some of the new races just outright stink of power creep. 50 feet movement for Aarakocra? Flying from level 1? 1d12 for goliaths? No thanks. None of these will ever find a place in my games.

If you want to make new races, do not break any soft 'limits' already established by the others.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
by Jonathan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2015 12:52:30
The fact that more than half the pages are devoted to spells is disappointing. I can only hope that future supplements have options for all classes, not just spell casters.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
by Brandon R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2015 03:49:37
One of the best versions of Dungeons & Dragons. The book is well written with detail and has everything inside (rules, monsters, equipment, classes, etc) to get started playing. If that is not enough the site has lots of old school legendary adventures that are compatible with this classic edition of D&D. The book conveys the spirit and feel of true old school D&D. I highly recommend it to every gamer that enjoys fantasy roleplaying games.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

In the Cage: A Guide to Sigil (2e)
by David L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2015 04:14:59
I am going to keep this short, but this is probably the best city supplement ever released. There is no other city like it. I ran a Planescape campaign setting for ten years and with the whole multiverse at my fingertips we still rarely left Sigil. Why bother to explore the multiverse when you can stay where you are and have the multiverse come to you?

As another reviewer mentioned in addition to the city description there is are a lot of sample handbills, menus, advertisements and official proclamations that provide a great amount of flavor and make great player handouts.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In the Cage: A Guide to Sigil (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Return to the Temple of Elemental Evil (3e)
by erik C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2015 21:28:40
A must play it is a bit long though. I suggest skipping most of the town bull crap and just fill the player with the story and info and items. Saved us about 7 sessions time.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return to the Temple of Elemental Evil (3e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Speaker in Dreams (3e)
by erik C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2015 21:25:50
This is not a dungeon its kinda like a shit show that randomly happens when you character is having fun. Its pretty good but my players rather play an actual quest. Party of 6

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Speaker in Dreams (3e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
by Keith D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2015 16:24:22
The scan was very good. No problem with the transaction. The module itself was very well written and fun. I went through it with my group in about 3 or 4 gaming sessions. This was a much better way of getting old AD&D modules compared to finding old tattered ones on ebay.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

U1 The Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh (1e)
by Rich F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2015 10:08:50
This is more of a rating of the scan and the support process, rather than the adventure, which others have covered here and elsewhere.

This adventure was put up for sale Nov 1, 2013. It had problems with cropped text from the beginning. Despite two updates (that I can recall), cropped text still exists in the version downloadable today.

I've contacted dtrgp/dndclassics/rpgnow about it at least twice, and contacted WotC once, as they are apparently who handles the scanning and updating/errata, etc... The issue still remains.

We're coming up on nearly 18 months since this was released, and this issue hasn't been resolved. I'm not sure who takes the blame for that, but I don't really think this is acceptable. I also don't think this is the image drivethrustuff and wotc want to put forth. So come on guys, get this, and the other adventures in a similar state, fixed. Pretty please.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
U1 The Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
by Jeff G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2015 15:10:43
This brings back memories of the late 70's when I started D&D. Many of the rules I won't use, but there are many little forgotten gems that I will be using for my campaign. A good buy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Player's Option - Skills & Power (2e)
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2015 22:25:46
This was one of my first purchases after I got the AD&D 2nd Edition core rules, and it was a big influence on me! Before my eyes, every class and race was broken down into a point system, and many other options presented besides! The results may not always be balanced, but this toolkit gives you a lot of fun options for the game. Highly recommended.

One warning - the scan could be better, many pages are a little crooked, and a little yellowed. (Hence the 4/5 instead of a 5/5.) But it's perfectly readable.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Option - Skills & Power (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 91 to 105 (of 1580 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG