RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DL2 Dragons of Flame (1e)
by Ronald O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2014 12:11:37
I've been waiting for these since the PDF publication of all of the old TSR titles were announced. I want to go back and compare how the original modules compare to the novels and fill in the missing holes - holes partially filled in a few years back with the release of the _Lost Chronicles_ series.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DL2 Dragons of Flame (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DL1 Dragons of Despair (1e)
by Ronald O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2014 12:11:07
I've been waiting for these since the PDF publication of all of the old TSR titles were announced. I want to go back and compare how the original modules compare to the novels and fill in the missing holes - holes partially filled in a few years back with the release of the _Lost Chronicles_ series.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DL1 Dragons of Despair (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Undermountain: Halaster's Lost Apprentice (4e)
by Vladimir O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2014 12:10:24
The Quality of this PDF is really good, I looks great printed. I do however urge DriveThru RPG to Ask Wizards for the maps that should be included with the adventure, and put them on separate files that can be easy to print, without them the product seems incomplete.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Undermountain: Halaster's Lost Apprentice (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
by Dominic L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2014 14:35:34
My friend at school DM'd this back in the day.
33 years later I bought it from this excellent website (excellent scan), printed it so I can now DM it for my son 33 years on!
Its amazing how much you remember- incredible.

This is where the 'mad hermit' made his first appearance (every adventure we played after this seemed to have a mad hermit in!)
Love the back cover picture too
Highly recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ghosts of Dragonspear Castle (D&D Next)
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2014 09:07:26
SPOILER ALERT...Excellent story. Not a fan of dwarf-orc half orcs however. yuck. However, the rakasha as the main villain is great. Also it is a great one-stop shop for the new D&D next rules. I consider it a must have!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghosts of Dragonspear Castle (D&D Next)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
by Marco F. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2014 06:33:10
To see this was a real treat for my eyes. I remeber when I used to play in the Grand Duchy my first campaigns, back in the 80s. The thing is, reading this now just gets me more and more interested in previous editions of the game. The quality of the writing is pretty high, the setting is well put together, even though some things may bring an unexpected smile on the reader's face. The scan is very good, it's a pity though there isn't an actual digital copy of this. Maybe in the future?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

PHBR5 The Complete Psionics Handbook (2e)
by Daffyd W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2014 17:40:02
An excellent resource for those wanting to try something outside of the core classes. With a balance of offensive and defensive psionic powers, and backed up by proficiencies designed specifically for psionics, this book will give you a good range of flexibility to play your character.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PHBR5 The Complete Psionics Handbook (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
by Dominic L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2014 15:55:02
I downloaded this free on joining the DnD Classics website. I remember playing this with my friend Andrew in 81 or so. Its a good introductory adventure, but many of the rooms in the two levels of the dungeon are not filled. There is a list of monsters and treasure- and the DM is supposed to place them as he sees fit. Worth getting for completeness but later dungeons in the B series are much better. Thanks.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
by Dominic L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2014 15:51:02
I own the Eric Holmes Basic D&D but wanted this version, as I am starting to run D&D campaigns for my son, and I found it is more complete, and the quirks of Holmes' version have been ironed out. Great to have access to this - Expert book next!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

GAZ2 The Emirates of Ylaruam (Basic)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/14/2014 11:49:54
Adventuring ought to include visits to exotic locales and this gazetteer provides an introduction to something a bit different, based on mediaeval Arab desert culture. It is primarily aimed at the DM, although certain sections can be shared with players.

It opens with the history of Ylaruam. First, it is told in a tradional Arab oral storytelling style... and then the curtain is drawn back to allow the DM a glimpse of the real history. The traditional version could be shared with the party, if they are particularly good researchers or, more likely, happen on a good story-teller in the marketplace and listen attentively to him. The DM version is a rather more balanced overview, and culminates in a timeline, which is cross-referenced with other parts of the D&D 'known world' should your party have knowledge of that as well.

Next we look at the lands and ecology of the Emirates (as Ylaruam is referred to by locals). There are notes on geography, topography and climate - with the majority of the area being desert, dry and hot predominates, but there are wetter coastal areas and some highlands. Different terrains are described, as well as typical flora and fauna.

The next section deals with the peoples of Ylaruam. This is mostly flavour, describing the appearance and characteristics of different population groups, and this is followed by a discussion of the economics of the area. Different Emirates are described, each has its own strengths and weaknesses, products and so on which it is useful to be aware of (especially if the party wishes to engage in trade).

A discussion of 'Society in the Emirates' follows, beginning with Al-Kalim and his discovery of the Eternal Truth, upon which the religion followed by many dwellers in this area is based. There is masses of information here, which devotees are doubtless conversant with and which should prove fascinating to anyone who seeks to understand the religion and culture of the lands they visit. Sufficient detail is provided for any character who embraces this faith to role-play his devotion convincingly. Turning to game mechanics, the 'clerics' of the Eternal Truth (who are called Scholars) are detailed, along with the spells to which they have access.

We then read of secular society and how it is structured. Again, even visitors will hopefully come to understand the particular customs of the area... and the DM should master it so that the NPCs portray it accurately.... there's even a note that an XP reward should be given should the party gain the respect of the locals! Government and politics, daily customs and observances, the nobility... and bureaucracy in abundance... it's all here, a wealth of information to make the Emirates come to life. For those who enjoy intrigue-laden games, there is plenty of scope for intricate plots here.

The centre section - designed as a pull-out in print versions - is 'player-safe' being entitled What Everyone Knows About the Emirates, and as such may be given to curious players to read. The rest should in the main be kept to the DM, sharing information as appropriate (except, perhaps, in the case of a character who is a native of the Emirates). This section also includes all the game mechanical information necessary to generate characters from the Emirates, including rules for the essential art of storytelling. The character class of Dervish - a desert druid - is also introduced.

Back to the DM-only material with a detailed overview of an example village, Kirkuk, complete with map and inhabitants. This section is littered with plot ideas, as is the final section, Campaigning in Ylaruam.

This is a real gem, a beautiful and convincing setting to enjoy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ2 The Emirates of Ylaruam (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

H1 Keep on the Shadowfell & Quick-Start Rules (4e)
by Brandon M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2014 20:34:09
High quality scans and even the maps are included, would definitely pick up this for campaign and encounter ideas.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
H1 Keep on the Shadowfell & Quick-Start Rules (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
by Kyle G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2014 14:06:42
I am so very happy this is back on DriveThruRPG after a long absence.

Scan is good and reads well. A great detail for the starting country for most Basic adventures.

Hurry up and get the rest of the Gazetters out so that I can buy them too!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Birthright Campaign Setting (2e)
by Nicholas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2014 01:01:26
This a great scan of a product I missed back in the day, and which sells for stupid money in print. Especially great care was taken with the maps, which are in one complete page rather than split into different pages -- great for those of us with large format printers, and easily printed in pieces through Acrobat for those who don't.
Finally, kudos for WotC and DTRPG for listening to their customers and adding the war cards, which were missing from the download when first posted! I'm looking forward

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Birthright Campaign Setting (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Birthright Campaign Setting (2e)
by robert h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2014 19:57:33
As promised, I've updated my rating to 5 stars now that the warcards have been added to the download. Nice scan of one of my favorite campaign settings. I'm looking forward to seeing the rest of the series being released in PDF as well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
by Harald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2014 06:44:31
A very nice classic supplement. It shows how much you can pack into 64 pages.

This new file is superbly scanned, with full OCR and aligned pages, and much more readable than the original PDF that was available for a while. While the genre may seem bland these days, the tactful description of the various churches of Traldara and Karameikos (beholden to the same pantheon, but interpreting it much differently) still sticks out as me as an eminently playable but differentiated treatment of human religion.

This plus B10 Night's Dark Terror can easily provide dozens of sessions using the original D&D rules. If you're bored by the next big epic thing, this might be just the right thing to get you back to the ground.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 91 to 105 (of 1395 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG