RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
NPCyphers
NPCyphers
Pay What You Want













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
by Alexis G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2018 17:05:03

I've both played these adventures and run them. Typical of the 1 hour adventures they take far longer to run than 1 hour. Prioritize which adventure based on which factions party members belong to. Unlike with tier 1, there is no overarching plot, and the quest giver doesn't seem to get mentioned again (I have not seen the t4 adventures yet). None of the locations seem to come up in other adventures that I have seen.

1 - I ran this one but did not play it. It was one of my favourites. I would recommend using the time saving options (I did this for all of the sessions I ran, though it doesn't make sense for other enemies to explode). It was a good opportunity for gross descriptions which the players ran with. 2-This one can take time due to lots of combat. When I played it was completely derailed by a druid with a staff of the woodlands conjuring a wall of thorns. It's one of the few adventures that requires medical skill proficiency, though failure doesn't seem to have much consequence. 3- this one can take a ton of time if charm/control attempts by the NPCs are successful (which is likely with the trap). I was expecting an adventure to get into more detail about some of the questions raised at the end. I think this was a missed opportunity. Characters without ranged attacks might have a hard time, but a party with lots of immunity to charm might have too easy a time. 4-I really enjoyed this one, but again it can take a lot of time with a BBEG spellcaster using charm/control. The entry can take a long time to figure out. When I played it the DM penalized us for finding other working solutions, unlike the text directed. The squares on the floor could lead to a quick TPK through accidental friendly fire, but didn'tcome into play in my experience. 5- I did not play or run this adventure. It's notable for the hobgoblin iron shadows, which I haven't run into elsewhere.

Overall this was ok. Like someone else said, I like the idea of 1 hour adventures of a higher tier, I just wish they actually were 1 hour, and seemed to have more connection to the rest of the season.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Alexis G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2018 16:34:15

This has been one of my favourite modules of season 7 so far. It is not recommended as an emergency pick up and run without prep.

There are a few consistent criticisms that I read in reviews here when prepping and I agree with. 1- continuity with Wadumu in description (colour), and character (part 3) - his betrayal really doesn't make sense. 2-It is a long adventure and better suited to 4 hours.

I ran for a small party (Very Weak) and they had difficulties with the first part due to numbers. The waves of zombies really took their toll on resources, but they really seemed to enjoy it. They also wasted a lot of time trying to explore the ruins of the buildings on the outskirts. I would recommend to anyone recreating the maps to zoom in and just include the clearing as the buildings are a distraction. The clues to the door lock is on the flipside of the page describing all the defenses, so the whole section needs to be read in advance to prep it. . I printed the clues on a handout which I distributed as each riddle was read. I think was helpful for the players. It takes a little extra prep to get everything sorted (e.g. the description when doorway is opening not included in original description), but is worth it. The entry

I asked players to prepare some character background info to prepare for part 2 which freaked them out to everyone's enjoyment (good place for Xanathar's tables). If your room allows it, I'd recomend walking around the table, to make it seem like the voices are coming from all over the cavern. I think the adjustments for a very strong party would be tough, but more entertaining. The legendary actions for the BBEG were quite impressive,but the very weak adjustments were very easy (but time consuming). for a resource drained weak party to defeat. One character almost died staying behind to kill zombies in part 3.

Guild Adept adventure Hunter fits very well before or after this adventure



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2018 09:32:07

Definitely requires some adjustments during the final fight to pose a bit more of a challenge. Poor editing however made for a frustrating experience and greatly takes away from what over al lcould have been a great trilogy. If the DM works for it though, it can be a great game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2018 09:14:43

PRetty good overall. Some people definitely end up needing some heavy handed hinting at some points. Good plot through the module, but trigger happy players who spend resources tend to have a harder time through the last half. With that in mind, it is really important for the DM to adjust as necesarry.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2018 08:48:21

This was a reall fun mod overall and a great way to introduce interesting mechanics for players as opposed to slogging out a million and one combats. It did take longer than 2 hours, but it's worth budgeting that extra time in order to take your time with the roleplay and skill chalenge. It also gives the opportunity to really indulge the player's creativity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2018 08:40:40

All the fun of the underdark, fitting right in with the S3 theme. The usual madness always makes for a fun experience, and being able to give the party choice always makes for a fun experience as does faerzress. I don't think it's anything special, but overall it's a fun and fairly balanced mod.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2018 08:34:38

I found the adventure hooks rather frustrating, my players hate being 'voluntold' to go do things, and it doesn't leave them invested in the story or their involvement. Given that it's a 2-hour slot and time is of the essence (and the tendency for modules to run over) searching for background appropriate adventure hooks is a luxury many don't have. That is however, more of a pet hate than world shattering problem. Still would have been nice to have some further hooks listed.

That being said, the rest of the adventure was good overall. The overall theme and concept war fun and the interactions with NPC's made for some fun encounters. The puzzle was basic but fun, and the combats were good too.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2018 08:18:01

The combat was very hard for the players, they struggled quite a bit, but as a whole the adventure was good. The escape of the enemies at the end, leading to failure of the mission can be frustrating, and I think that it's important to challenge the players not to work against them in the final encouter especially in cases where the party is weak/very weak and the party make up is poor.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2018 20:23:31

A fun module. A really entertaining excursion out of Phlan, but keep your players moving or the exploration will take time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2018 20:21:24

Excellent module that is well put together and is enjoyable to run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
by Pablo V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2018 16:04:12

The Mystic Class offers a wide variety of features which trades the use of traditional spellcasting and the use of techniques to a more "out of place" character. There is one thing that might throw off any intention of trying out this class: there is too much to take in. Managing Talents, Disciplines, Psi points and how much you may use at one time to fortify (or not) your disciplines requires a more dedicated D&D player.

As a role-playing class, I see plenty of possibilites in a medium party (5-7) though again, in a more complex story rather than a simple "go get this done" story. Hope to learn more examples on how a Mystic Class fits with the rest of the playable classes out there.

Regards,



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
by Brent D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2018 01:29:23

This mission was efficiently created. It's clear, concise, and uses the exhaustion mechanic effectively in order to make the final fight and escape a nail biter.

Tier 2 modules are hard to balance. I've found that some of them attempt to make fights difficult by increasing the number of combatants, but the result is the fight turns into a drawn out slog. Or the flip is the problem: some writers introduce strong enemies that destroy a party before they have a chance. This one balances this challenge using other mechanics, and it made all the difference (as I stated: exhaustion ... also enemies with unique abilities and a puesdo "liar action" in the final fight).

I really have no complaints. A party that is on the edge of Tier 3 (Levels 9 to 10) will probably blow through this one though ... at that point, character abilities supersede the powers of these enemies, even with them APLed at level 8.

I'm interested in the next part of this trilogy!

~Brent



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
by Heath B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2018 12:39:20

I believe this to be my favorite AL adventure that I've run or played; admittedly, that's a relatively small sample size but for me it ranks easily with "Defiance in Phlan" and "The Marionette."

I really love that this adventure is so bold as to change the underlying premise of the rest of the season. "Tyranny" is a keystone in melding the convenience of drop-in play with the engagement of campaign play. It doesn't matter in what order you play the prior adventures of Season 1, and it doesn't really matter in what order you play the other Tier 2 adventures of Season 1. The presence of so many recurring NPCs provides an easter-egg pleasure for consistent players as well as the opportunity for resonant DM character arcs for a tightly-knit table of players. As such, "Tyranny" provides a trophy of an experience for the first adventure Level 5 characters play; and a thrill of anticipation for the upcoming adventures.

It is true that there is more setup here than in other AL titles; one danger for DMs is in luxuriating too much in the "cut scenes" (if I'm using videogame terminology correctly) that propel the party from one encounter to the next. However, my worry about getting out the relatively-lengthy boxed text in a concise period of time lent an appropriate urgency to the narration.

This module rewards prep time spent by the DM; reviewing notes on the recurring NPCs, checking stat blocks for special abilities such as flight; referencing spell lists to understand the deadliness and use of spellcasters. For example, in between the two times I've run this module, I reviewed the rules of the spell "death ward" and it made the relevant encounter memorable in a welcome-to-the-big-leagues kind of way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2018 12:22:05

Good: Challenging Combat Excellent Traps Great Lore DM Tips: Set some time aside to give a clear image of the puzzles/traps.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
by Marilyn S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2018 11:27:35

My players love it! I just joined the Adventurer's League at my local comic book shop. It was my first time DM'ing publically, and everyone really really loved it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 91 to 105 (of 4700 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG