RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
by Kal G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 17:18:36

A really fun, light hearted adventure for the holidays. Players enjoyed all of the mini games



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
by Kal G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 16:55:52

Ran this for a group of 7 players. One player dies about an hour in and had to come back as a level 1 character. Even with that everyone had a great time. I made my party decide before the siege begane how they would spend all of the siege points without letting them know how many rounds there would be and it helped the siege run smoothly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
by Jeremy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:59:06

A difficult and deadly dungeon crawl, this could easily have been slated at a 4-hour adventure rather than one for 2-hours. The pressure of finishing in 2-hours caused players to try to rush through, which ended messily for many of them.

Party composition seemed to affect whether victory would be achieved or not, as well. While it's nice to plan for a group that has all its bases covered, when running AL at a store level, you often are left with a large imbalance in a group, which seemed to lead to many problems in this module as well. However, this IS a Tier 4 adventure, and players should expect (and welcome) such a challenge. Just hope that someone can escape to get those who have fallen resurrected... ;)

The story before the adventure is interesting, and as a lore junky, it was a welcome addition.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
by Jeremy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:51:01

This was an amazing addition to season 5 of AL play, and the mini-epic option proved to be worth running this again at our local game store.

In both instances, the players were hard pressed, and in fact failed to finish within the 4-hour time slot. Fortunately, we were playing at a store level, and not at a convention, so time was not such a factor. However, for those planning to run this at a convention, be aware that it seems to run longer.

The point system for successes on preparations against the imminent attack was quite useful, especially when using visual tokens for those points. As those points then dwindled away during the final attack, players had to start worrying about how much to spend and when, adding a distinct level of anxiety (which was fantastic)!

I definitely recommend this module, and if possible, the chance to run it as a mini-epic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
by Jeremy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:45:26

I have experienced this module as both a DM and as a player, and it was fun both times. While I prefer the first half of this duo (Durlag's Tower), the Tomb aspect was a good time as well. Definitely falls under the dungeon crawl category, with some interesting traps (which also proved to be confusing at times) and some terrific combats (which also were confusing at times).

If anything, this module could benefit from some clarifying points. One such detail was brought up by players, and was quite nitpicky, but also made sense...if you have a trap drowning you in flammable alcohol, and that alcohol is pouring down stairs into a room with lava...is everyone just screwed from the get go? ;) And in that same lava room, the map could use some thought on the monsters hiding there, their size, etc.

However, overall, I enjoyed this module from both sides of the DM screen, and have often recommended it and its predecessor to DMs looking for something to run!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Christopher M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:42:19

This was (I feel) the weakest season introductory module printed to date. There were cool things in the module (The dinosaur race was suprisingly the best part of the whole thing) but for the most part, motivations and the ability to move characters quickly through this was hard.

I ran this for ~24 game hours at a convention a few weekends ago as a way to get new people/returning people to play AL content. In previous years, motivation was pretty easy ("There's dragons attacking, you should look into it!" , "The giants are doing things! Supposedly there's treasure nearby!") and super simple to get a group of level 1's hooked on. In this, there was almost ZERO motivation unless you were part of a Faction, and even then, that only gets you motivation for your faction's adventure.

Previously the intro adventures were faction-related, but mostly because you would meet a faction member part way through who would help out. As questgivers, I think only Poe and Screaming Wind had fleshed out motivations. Alastar seemed like a rich guy doing it because he missed his servant Derio unless you could read his mind, Wren seemed like a drunk that was just doing it because Nerissa was making him, and I'm still not sure what the Lord's Alliance contact was trying to accomplish. I think Nerissa getting weaved in to 3/5 of the adventures was new, but was not pulled off well. Unless you ran them in order, you didn't recognize her in 4, or party members already knew her before the race, in which case the Nerissa vs Poe conflict loses all tension.

Since most people didn't care where Chult was, I had to handwave pretty heavily that "there's adventure here, and a Death Curse that everybody wants dealt with" as the reason most of these people were here. Zindar (remember the gold half-dragon from the start of the module?) as a contact point to send you to each of the faction quest givers was weak, and was more of a local guide than 'important quest giver.' There was no reason to come back to him, so I had to railroad that between sessions as well.

Other things that I thought were weak:

Adventure 1: The map is VERY unclear where you should see the wavy lines puzzle on the wall the first time. It looks like it's in the lower West section of the map based on the description, but from what I could tell, it should be visible in the lower East section so that you can potentially bypass the tripwire trap. Also, a picture/example of the wavy lines would be cool. I know among 3 DMs we each described these VERY differently, even though they seemed important.

Adventure 2: The gladiator fight with Slicer seemed very small. I was regularly running 6-7 players at the table, and the map they gave you had VERY little space to move around in. After the surprising excitement of the dinosaur race, it was kind of a huge letdown.

Adventure 3: The idea of "help village against encroaching blight" is cool, but execution was flawed. The jungle was dark for what seemed to be no reason, and there really wasn't a good time for the party to be attacked by the swarm or the moving bushes (also did they walk around or just aggresively lean toward people?) before getting to the weird path. Then once they had the amulet at the end of the weird path, there was no way to immediately tell it was the cause of the blight. Most of the parties I ran through this section had to be explicitly told "yes this is it, go back"

Adventure 4: This adventure (beyond the motivation of Alastar Bol) was pretty solid. I liked how characters could call upon Pockmarked Poe for additional info if they knew him. The one part I HATED about it was how after they got a clue to the triangle puzzle (great!), the module just says that "the puzzle is easy, only Intelligence DC 12 to figure out" and doesn't actually give a solution/order to ANY of the other puzzles in the area. Just "DC 12 to figure out the order". Every party I brought through had different theories with the wall puzzles inside and the proper order, and I just went with whatever they said if the reasoning was good as opposed to having a concrete answer I could work with. The timed zombies at the end was excellent, but the room setup was weird. You could only really see the evil wizard from right in front of the ramps until you got all the way around to threaten him, and the only way in/out of the pit was those cluttered ramps. Still an excellent fight each time.

Adventure 5: I was only able to run this once, so I won't comment specifically on what I felt was weak here, beyond the general "lack of motivation" and also Nerissa being shoehorned into the party once again (hope you met her and were allies before!)



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-08 Durlag's Tower (5e)
by Jeremy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:39:02

One of the most enjoyable modules from the SKT season of AL play, this is the first half of what is really an 8-hour (or longer) module, finishing up with DDAL-05-09, Durlag's Tomb. Of the two, this is my favorite, and it gives players not only combat to deal with, some of which can prove to be quite harrying and deadly, but exploration and social interaction. Some of the social encounters can bypass combat, which is always refreshing to see in AL play, for those of us who enjoy a good fight, but also like to save those who need saving.

An interesting note, I expereinced this module as both a player and a DM. I ran the module first, and played it a few weeks later with a DM who had not played it before. The experiences were very similar, which can often NOT be the case with AL modules. To me, this speaks volumes to how the author managed to clarify points, leading to a similar experience between tables.

The end is a bit of an awkward cliffhanger, as the module breaks to move on to the next module, as it often the case with storylines that are designed for 8-hour play, but are forced into two 4-hour packages. In the end, it was a satisfying game, however, and I always recommend this module and its follow up to DMs looking for something to run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-08 Durlag's Tower (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Jeremy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:29:18

One of the more fun intro adventures for a season, A City of the Edge was full of action and adventure, not all of which relied on combat! More than introducing the storyline, it also does well at getting the players and characters introduced to Chult and Port Nyanzaru, new locations for AL play.

In the past, I have not been a huge fan of the five 1-hour short adventure compilations, but I feel like this one pulls it off much better.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:25:44

I was a bit let down to see that after 5 hours there is aboslutely nothing but a wild goose chase. Wish this tied in to the season a bit more than just having the curse.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:24:35

This was an AMAZING break from my table's stressful and tolling experiences with the Death Curse. I would love to see these midway games expanded upon and made in to more than just a simple roll of a single type.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:23:19

I wish more emphasis had been given on the plot twist in earlier adventures. The only downside I experienced was having to explain who it was. The fight was a lovely difficulty to keep my players on their toes.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:19:58

The only downside of this adventure is that the couple of times I've run this, my adventurers keep wanting to loot the Orc of his faction symbols. The cave is phenominal and the look of terror/joy that crosses my players faces at the revelation is always a joy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:18:38

It is a nice mixture of fun and difficulty. DMs take caution, the final fight can easily overwhelm an average party if you're not careful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Collin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:16:05

This is the most unique module I have run in AL. It very much is what the title says and builds a great picture of the fantastical nature of port nyanzaru. At the start it seems to be a nice fun but relaxing day for the players but they are thrust without being forced into a wild ride of skillchecks that create an exiting tension between them and the challenge they are facing. It does a great job of unifying the players to a common goal. helping them to work together for a common goal more objectively than just combat does.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Collin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:11:41

This module starts off a bit confusing. The partie's motivation to continue from the previous adventure is a little forced. The complications do not build together logically until the party makes it outside of the city. The time in the jungle and the rules for the complications of traveling are great, it creates a good sense of atmosphere for the players and an anticipation for whats ahead. However, without running the next module immediately after this the conclusion leaves a lot to be desired and leaves the players confused with what they've accomplished.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 91 to 105 (of 3952 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG