RPGNow.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDEX3-01 Harried in Hillsfar (5e)
by Daniel E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2017 21:28:28

Like all of the multi-part DDIAs, about 3 of the 5 mini-adventures are a blast. One is a bit boring, and one is just confusing as all get out.

That said, if your party can get themselves pointed in the right direction, the individual challenges are pretty fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-01 Harried in Hillsfar (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
by Daniel E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2017 21:24:44

Ran this for my normal group because the warlock really wanted the RotPK +2... It only cost him his brain. :D Seriously, for a party that's not used to plane-shifting, psychic-damage dealing, brain-eating enemies, this is a fun module with a couple fights that will kick them in the pants!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Daniel E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2017 21:18:02

Don't confuse this for a DDIA. It may have an 01 numbering but it is a buzzsaw for all level 1s. Works great at intended Average Party level!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast (5e)
by Daniel E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2017 21:14:42

The perfect module if your players actually want to roleplay for a change! I enjoy watching players come up with new and inventive ways to tackle the obstacles all over town.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
by Jeronimo E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2017 17:26:58

Highly unbalanced, crappy class. Most effects are too powerful to the approximate level (ignoring the DMG's guidelines to make spells), and the class lacks coherence and balance. The psionics here have no reason to be at all, as it is the same thing as magic, even dampling any proper identity. There is a lack of historical powers like Telekinetics, and an arcane class that could do... everything.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
by Alister L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2017 10:58:24

PSA: I really cannot understand why anyone would ever say playtest material is fine. It's supposed to be flawed and all of it always is. People who give this stuff 4 star ratings are telling the creators that this playtest is perfect and shouldn't be changed and its people like them who are responsible for the shitty Unearthed Arcana that becomes reality. Reviews shouldn't be negative but they should always be CRITICAL.

My group and I absolutely love psionics and always have. We're all huge Star Wars fans and to us Psionics represent the closest we can get to Jedi and for that alone we love them. With this iteration of the Psionic there are several things I love and several that I loathe. Firstly, for the most part I love the versatily of powers. As much as I appreciate mind control and telekinesis powers, I love so many of the utility Disciplines that the Psionic gets (Aura Sight and Third Eye are fantastic). This is totally a personal thing but I for one wish all the Disciplines had more neutral names in that they don't sound all the same or have the name of their Order plastered all over them so it makes it weird for other classes to use (the Nomad Disciplines are the worst in this regard, followed by the Avatar). Again, this is just a personal preference and I can't really call it a fault per se. Another thing I really love is Consumptive Power. I've seen other people talk about it but I just think this is such a badass ability and I really hope it some version of it makes it through playtest. Ok, now to things I don't like so much. Psionic Mastery is terrible for several reasons. It requires extensive amounts of book keeping and it slows down a lot of combat encounters which is never a good thing. There are so many little parts to it that literally everyone in my group had a different interpretation of it and what's worse is that after reading through it multiple times we still couldn't decide on the right one. This ability should be either massively streamlined or scrapped completely. Also, like literally everyone else, I despise the Wu Jen as does most of my group. We love Psionics for their distinction from magic and the Wu Jen spits on that idea. I'm OK with some ability that might make it possible to replicate a spell (maybe like a psionic Counterspell) but the Wu Jen is an insult to psionics everywhere. One recent reviewer said something along the lines of "You can't shit on Wu Jen unless you also shit on Eldritch Knight and Arcane Trickster." This sentiment is utter bollocks because neither the Fighter nor the Rogue is a class specifically supposed to be separate from Magic. In addition, many of the Wu Jen's Disciplines are so similar to Wizard spells that you really have to ask yourself, "Why the hell didn't this bloke just pick Wizard?" And the answer always seems to be "He's a bloody Powergamer." Those are a couple of things I love and loathe from the Mystic class in its current iteration. I hope that playtests and some balancing and tweaking will make the Mystic worthy to be a 5e class.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
by Sean S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2017 14:02:04

I found that this was a fantastic approach to the "Psion problem"; I've been messing with psionics since AD&D and this is by far the simplest and most elegant approach I've seen. I don't understand some of the complaints I've seen here and can only assume that folks had their own ideas for how this should be and are upset you didn't go the route they did. I like that psionics and magic are interchangeable because nothing holds up a game like having to jump between two books because your aboleth is resistant to psionics but not magic, the complaint that the Wu Jen is too reliant on the wizard is laughable unless it's also pointed at the Eldritch Knight and Arcane Trickster.

The idea that any class can have "too many options" is also absurd, we don't need a dozen separate psionic classes that are effectively the same except for their power selection and one or two class features; the Expanded Psionics Handbook suffered from that glut and killed a lot of people's interest in broaching the subject until 4e came out. A base template class that's modified by archetype is a brilliant and efficient method to offer variety without splitting hairs to Nth degree; looking back, you can see that the 5e Warlock was almost a prototype for that style of class building. All members of that class can do X, how you do X is then modified by your archetype and power choices.

I earnestly hope that the creators don't get disheartend by the masses bucking against change, if folks looked at this without any pre-conceived notions from prior editions I think they would see it was a solid class and I hope to see more along these lines in future UA and official releases.

Keep up the great work guys!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Colin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2017 09:26:08

I ran this when it premiered at 1d4 Con, and it's a really good module. It has some clever traps throughout, and is sprinkled with enough combat opportunities to keep things interesting for the more action oriented players. Depending on your table, this mod can easily run over two hours (about three hours for my table of four) given that it requires a lot of problem solving.

My only real quibble, which was echoed by a player or two at my table, was the final room. It's more steampunky feel just didn't fit with the Netheresean mottif that colored the rest of the adventure. So it just felt a bit out of place and not in keeping with the general mileau of the module. It was a cool room, but it just felt wedged into a bunch of rooms that had a very different vibe to them.

Otherwise, my table really liked this module. Makes for a great set-up for White Plume Mountain and the second Epic of the season.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2017 03:25:36

This is grade A playtest material and my favorite iteration of psionics in D&D yet. It was the right choice to make one psionic class to cover the wide variety of psionic characters. Other people have complained that this class is too versatile and too powerful but it isn't. It isnt more powerful or versatile than a wizard, bard, druid, or cleric with the right spell selection. This is definitely a step in the right direction. I would like to see more Unearthed Arcana articles like this



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
by Franco R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2017 08:35:00

This is a completely unbalanced, powercreeping class, without a real design concept behind. It is a shame, as the mystic has a great potential behind. I hope that Mearls and company improve this by balancing it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2017 23:08:37

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths manages to balance the experience for both beginners and veteran players starting at Tier 1. Proper usage and deployment of traps keeps the party on their toes and the possibility of a forewarned enemy allows the DM to craft more complex and challenging scenarios for combat.

Also, this is where I introduced a new tactic for my monsters: the drop kobold (kobolds taking advantage of the natural darkness and hiding in the ceiling) and the barrel kobolds (hiding in crates and barrels, waiting for players to start investigating). Made my players paranoid to the point of stabbing walls, barrels, checking every single corner for ambushes.

For those going directly to Forge of Fury, this could be a good place to introduce your main boss. I used it to incite fear to my players when the final boss of Forge appeared after they just barely defeated the module's boss. Kept them on their toes for the whole first floor.

All in all, a good module for starting players and DMs and a good way to introduce people to D&D 5e.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
by Esteban R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2017 23:08:27

Ok, I will repeat myself a little from the comments section, but I have made certain points clear. Obviously, I don't like this iteration of the mystic. I liked it much better in previous installations, and I think that the class is pretty broken. As it is right now, I do not want to allow it in any of my games without some heavy improvements.

My arguments, summarized, are:

1)Über-flexibility of the Psychic Focus. The possibility of rather big, unlimited benefits from it is baffling. Right now, there is no resource expenditure with them, so you have all of them whenever you need it except in combat. Proposed fix: I would suggest 1 change of focus by short rest, much as the fighter's features.

2) Power creeping of several disciplines. Adaptative Body singlehandedly destroys from level 1 any resource management in any survival adventure (no breath-no sleep-no eat??? Without even expending resources?? Why we even need a ranger?). Brute force can manage to make stupidly high amounts of damage, bypassing the limits of PP expenditures by using several effects on different timings. Most Wu-jen disciplines, like Mastery of Force, are bags of holding of massive powers, as it contains powers worth 8 spells. Proposed fix: Make disciplines a little less powerful. Sever some of them in two or three disciplines.

3) Psi Points progression is counter-intuitive and annoying. Come on, people. There is absolutely no easy way to remember this. The increases of PPs are insane. I know that they are the same of the Magic Points on the DMG, but they are clumsy. Proposed fix: A real improvement over this would be using "Psi Points Dice", much like Hit Dice, that would increase with Intelligence modifiers. The dice could even increase at certain levels (first you have a d4, then a d6, then a d8, then a d10, and last a d12).

4) Psionics after 11th level ignore concentration. The only real benefit of the Mystic past 11th level is insane: ignore concentration with Psionic Mastery. Also, this mastery isn't tied to the order's disciplines, so you can choose anything. Proposed Fix: Revise this rule. Concentration is, right now, the only thing that prevents caster supremacy.

5) Soul knife: it seems weird within the other orders. The only real distinctive role is to use magic (psionic) knives. It sucks, people.
Proposed Fix: should be a thief or fighter archetype, not a Mystic one. This way, you shouldn't worry about giving Order Disciplines some relevance.

6) Psionic as magic. Why? Psionics in previous installations were independant of magic. Psionics working as a different power source made sense. If not, they are only weird wizards. Proposed Fix: Make psionics independant from magic; many of their principles work nevertheless, and tie them to the specific effects (an elf has resistance over mind control, no matter the source). If you keep the powers below the choke point, this shouldn't be a problem. Magic isn't precisely weak, right now.

7) Potent psionics. I'm a little bit tired of anyone having better damage on weapon attacks than a fricking fighter "just because they don't have extra attacks". Fighters (or maybe Rogues) should be top-notch here, not at the bottom. Proposed fix: Potent Psionics should only be a Psi powers increase. You can give the extra dice of damage to the soulknife archetype only, and made that archetype a fighter's one.

8) Psionic mastery is moot. Aside from cancelling the concentration mechanic (huge boon), is just more Psi Points. Proposed fix: Make mastery matter. Don't give extra PPs, give some huge benefit (like bypassing the Psi limit of a discipline power) or extra effect ("Mastery Power") to the tied disciplines. And tie that disciplines to the Order's ones. Another possible fix is giving permanently the Psychic Focus.

9) Lack of Archetype Disciplines relevance. This is a neat idea, poorly implemented. If you have disciplines tied to an order, give them some relevance, much like the Wizard Schools. Proposed fix: You could easily fix this. Maybe Psychic focus work only with them? Maybe giving a psychic focus bonus permanently whenever you gain a Psionic Mastery feature? That would be thematically appropiate. And at later levels, gaining the focus bonus isn't as game-breaking as it is in the early levels.

10) Later levels lameness: right now, the Mystic is in a very rough draft form. Past 11th level, the only relevant thing is ignoring concentration, something that most DMs would banish at sight. But there isn't any real reason to keep being a mystic past that level. This leads to multiclassing more than on any other class. By 11th level, most classes have some neat power that further specializes them. This is tied to the general lack of cohesion of the class. Proposed fix: Give the mystic interesting toys to play. Real ground breaking powers tied to their orders: Make telekinetic ones flight at will, the telepaths beguile the masses, the immortals revive, etc. I don't know. Neat powers.

11) Discipline Learning: There should be an option to learn a new Discipline without gaining a level, much like the wizard does. And even you can play with rules for researching and creating entirely new Disciplines. It's weird that very intelligent people don't do that.

Overall This should be a neat class. I like the sci-fi flavor, the powers, etc. But right now it has a poor execution, and it is badly broken. I really don't like the powercreeping of several Unearthed Arcana options. Some of them are brilliant (like the first Feats, the Demon magic, or the clerical spells, like Ceremony). As it is right now I don't plan to allow them on my tables.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
by London F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2017 17:33:23

This is a exelent adventure that can be enjoyed multiple times due to some customization of the encouters. It has an interesting plot and multi-factited characters/villains. It can be part of a longer story-line if played with the other modules, but is just as fun as a stand-alone as-well



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-03 The Executioner (5e)
by London F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2017 17:02:22

This aventure is a very detailed with lots of clues to be found for its story to unfold. It is best played as part of a larger story-line with the other modules, but can be fun if played as a stand-alone. it is good if your players like uncovering a mystery, but can be difficult if they are un-motived by a mystery and won't explore on thier own initiative.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-03 The Executioner (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-05 The Seer (5e)
by London F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2017 16:15:30

A fun romance adventure with a dark twist. Should be done humoriously in the vistani camps to contrast the horror and curruption of the final battle. It's good for a hoiliday event like halloween or valentines day.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-05 The Seer (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 91 to 105 (of 2730 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG