RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL04-09 The Tempter (5e)
by Kal G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2017 14:47:55

Fun adventure, it connects really well with the DDAL04-08. Could use a better story hook.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-09 The Tempter (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
by Justin D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2017 10:18:15

This is one of my favorite T2 Modules. It's one of those ones with a good mix of role play, critical thinking and interesting problems to solve.

The Good Lots of interesting things going on. This one has environmental hazzards in combat and it's great! I always love it when the environment comes into play. And that happens in multiple locations!

The Bad One part that I didn't like is tha ability to kill off a character if they try to be heroic. And I mean completley kill them not even wish can savethem kill them. Not only that bit it dosn't have much warning either. Perhaps if these kinde of conciquences are put in future modules, there could be a sidebar suggesting how the GM could explain the potential lethality of the players action.

The Scary I have to say though, that Beast is CRAZY! An evil GM could easily TPK the whole party. The breath Attack alone... and as a legendary action... If your group is not high T2, this would be a very difficult fight.

The Inspired I am a big fan of seeing these "divine touched" creatures pop up. They add unique and interesting fights that midigate player knowledge and make for an interesting battle. And the thought that the gods are actively trying to influence the world is fun. I'd like to see a lot more of this in the future! Who feels like angering a god? Show of hands?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-13 Jarl Rising (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 20:43:57

Building on the clues from 5-11 (which I admittedly missed), the penultimate expedition in season 5's Tier 2 storyline did everything it was supposed to. Can the war against the giants hinted at in 5-5 be avoided? Does the Jarl have the Horn hinted at in 5-11? Plot wise 5-13 answers these questions and sets up 5-17 perfectly. On it's own it is pretty similar to 5-4 and 5-5 in that it's a basic walking around in the snow where a few things happen (a formula which has worked great in the past), so it won't get any points for creativity-still a solid expedition I thought. It's better as a key link in the story arc.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-13 Jarl Rising (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by Anthony O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 20:43:04

One of the best intro modules ive had the opportunity to run. They loved it. It took 2-2 hour sessions and they solved some of the riddles a little faster then I liked. However, they enjoyed the introduction to the giant at the end of module 5 and are looking forward to future seasons.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 20:31:15

If I had reviewed this before I probably would have gave it 4/5. I liked it, it had a lot of nice traps in it. There was a big, difficult battle at the end. So far so good: 4/5. Going back now and re-reading it after finishing the entire season I had missed several plot points in the story arc the first time around. What I initially thought was simple background info on giants turns out to have been MAJOR clues to what comes later. This was a lot better done I had first realized. So as a stand-alone: 4/5, as part of the 5 part Season 5 Tier 2 story arc: 5/5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 20:23:54

The only real knock against this is that it is only 2h. Excellent plot, trying to prevent war against the Frost Giants. Again, as in DDAL 5-04 time management is actually still a thing. The random side-quest in Darkwater Run added a bit of fun (at least the Ettins did, I didn't try the others). The combat-less ending was rather sudden. I think there was potential to make this 4h and maybe alter or extend the ending.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 20:13:32

I wanted to give this 5 stars, but I can't. The plot (Part 1) was good, Part 2 was damn near perfect, but then it started to unravel a bit in Parts 3 and 4. Only having X # of hours to get to the camp, and time actually matters as to how many Dwarves are still alive when you get there-I love it, brilliant work here. The "open ended" nature of the siege literally was "We're here, now what?", so 5/5 and 3/5 works out to only 4/5.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 13:17:22

One: Amazing story and good finale to the Bad Fruul storyline. Two: whoever decided to go 3 table mini-epic was a genius.

Now usually in D&D you have RP, you have trappy/skill contest stuff, and you have some combat. There are almost always one at a time. Weaving together all 3 in one here was wonderful. Did task A well? Did task B well? Did task C well? Suceeded in previous adventures? Good, not enjoy auto-killing waves 1, 2, & 3, and half of wave 4 which you now have a massive ally for. Even with all but 2 enemies being slaughtered beforehand, the last 2 (Bad Fruul and mount) still but up a hell of a fight! We had 27 people + 3 DMs (including a few n00bs) and everyone loved it.

I may even consider re-running DDAL 5-2, 5-3, 5-10, 5-12 & 5-16 again to replay this amazing story arc.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 13:05:51

I didn't realize how plot heavy Tier 1 was until I'm now going back to review it. But this Bad Fruul storyline was so well done it was engrossing. DDAL 5-2/3, 10, 12, & 16 are all amazing expeditions (yes I realize there are 2 more, but they're both terrible). The Romeo and Juliet storyline here was surprisingly well done, and the thing ending in a massive fight at the Cabin in the woods. So well done all around!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 12:59:42

This was amazing. Great RP moments (Doth thou even hoist bro?). So fun. Also, the thing acutally made sense in the grand scheme of the Bad Fruul storyline.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 12:42:11

A clear sequel to DDAL5-02, but yet destinct and good enough to stand on its own. Introduces many main characters in Parnast, and establishes the basic plot of the season (at least for T1). The forest side trip was certainly a nice side-trip for the group, and the chaos at the end was well executed. Good job.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 12:38:19

Good start to the season, a fun little escort mission. Looking forward to how this all plays out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 12:33:57

Ok, I'll admit the ending was amazing. The start, however was a bit slow going (especially after DDAL5-18, which we ran before breaking for lunch) and I want to say didn't accomplish anything-except it did: the Monk failed a Con save and got Mummy Rot! I can honestly say, no one excepted a giant mech robot (er, "golem") battle-so props on that. Part 1 of the final battle was relentless with wave after wave of enemies, once they seems to get that under control, then bang-Plot Hammer upside the head and the Eye is gone! Part 2 was an interesting idea with the chase, but the group was in mid-combat mode and all the other enemies just left, so they weren't very delayed heading into the chase. Part 3 was where the awesome happend for us, with the dragon mounted chase, and a T4 Sorcerer who really really was dying to try out his new Meteor Swarm spell and very happy to be outside of all the water so he could enjoy his new toy. Reading the module, it looks like Part 4 of that fight could have turned nasty if they let dude get back to his castle, but again-Meteor Swarm kind of avoided that, as he never got back to his castle.

On a side note: this is the first AL legal Meteor Swarm for us, the previous Meteor Swarm(s) were both the same week- Sunday night in a 1st Ed campaign I hit the group with it, and then that Wednesday the DND Next Playtest Dead in Thay has a Lich (I switched out spells) guarding the Doom Gate which hit 4 tables worth of PCs with it, killing 23/28 targets. Our sorcerer was very happy to have reached the apex of destruction with this spell, and it was a fitting end to the first T4 game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-18 The Mysterious Isle (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 12:16:06

Several things I liked, the combat was a challenge for the group, but nothing they couldn't handle either. They lucked out and bypassed the "get to the island" fights by rolling all "ally" encounters. Having all the combat underwater isn't as big of a challenge to a T4 group as I suspect the author intended, and while "throws some large HP giants at things" is a decent stragety normally, it is somewhat solved by any party that happens to have a Horn of Valhalla handy (or 2) to call for reinforcements.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-18 The Mysterious Isle (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-04 Mayhem in the Earthspur Mines (5e)
by Adam G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2017 08:39:28

This was a great experience. The adventure hook of "partying the night before" fit perfectly with my group...and added to the excitement of the coliseum. Although the mod says it can be done in 4 hours (which we did) I feel it could have used more time, as the mines are huge, with alot of opportunity for exceeding 4 hours. The mod gives alot of extra fluff for factions as well, so it was great to see that in a mod. I will definately run this mod again for other groups.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-04 Mayhem in the Earthspur Mines (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 91 to 105 (of 2354 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG