RPGNow.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Cloak & Dagger (2e)
by JP R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2017 16:57:29

This is the second product I buy and the first one was really high quality so I didn't think to look at the sample before I bought this one. It was a bad surprise when I opened the PDF to see that it was barely readable. So I advise anyone who wants to buy this to look at the sample first to see if the quality is good enough for you.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cloak & Dagger (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Demihuman Deities (2e)
by David V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2017 14:58:47

I have no problems with the content of this supplement, but have been very disappointed with the quality of the scan. I have the other similar PDF supplements (F&A and P&P) and "Faiths & Avatars" is far higher quality image than either this one or Powers and Pantheons. Twice the size, but much more usable and readable.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Demihuman Deities (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Carnival (2e)
by Ben l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2017 14:22:32

Lots of good fluff but found the reading a bit rough. It is almost entirely written as if a person is talking to you. While in parts gives you a good idea of how that NPC will intereact with the PCs, unless you read the whole thing does not give you the highlights. That said it has very interesting concepts and good adventure ideas, just the chapter format is not that great.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Carnival (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2017 00:57:12

That Talos remhoraz was a great fight! I have a tough time everytime I play it. The rest of the mod is good. The roleplay with Good King Hartwick is really nice, and I love retelling the story of the end fight with the Jarl. The boss fight for the characters has room for improvement though, as its really not as cool as the fight happening with the Jarl. I understand why it is that way story-wise, but it felt too much like the last fight in Sword of Selfaril. Also, that's the 3rd time I've seen the Dagger of Venom as the magic item, please stop lol.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-10 Cloaks and Shadows (5e)
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2017 00:51:22

A great story right from the start! A whodunnit and a race to clear your names. I love the locations that can be visited, especially the guy with the flying machine! I always enjoy running this adventure, because the roleplay in it is fantastic. Simply a well made module that my players always have fun with.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-10 Cloaks and Shadows (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-13 The Horseman (5e)
by Tosh L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2017 23:02:29

I thought this was a challenging, dark, and enjoyable module that emphasized the insanity that Barovia can drive its beings. The fights weren't too much of a challenge, except for, of course... the boss fight. This boss is rivaled only by the "Dark Lord" (both of them) herself. His mind-flayer, blue-dragon, mongrelfolk, monk combination is truly terrifying that could easily mean one to two deaths for the party. Nevertheless, it's one that is both awesome and frightening to run. I would not advise this adventure for anyone who has qualms about deadly adventures (I actually wouldn't recommend any of season 4 for said people). My only issue with this is that at certain parts the editing could use a little work, and the fight with the elves can be a bit clunky with so many combatants.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-13 The Horseman (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-12 The Raven (5e)
by Tosh L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2017 22:52:26

A module that is very confused on what it wants to focus on. Does it want to focus on the gothic element of railroady (something I'll get to in a bit) wolf fights? A set of combats that... admittedly work ok? Or the strange roleplaying moments with the ravens (which I actually enjoyed, it just seemed kind of wierdly tacked on as a tie-in to ravens)? Whichever one you choose you still have the major problem of railroading. There's a general rule that goes with modules which is that you'll agree to the missions and whatnot, but it seems really strange that the adventurers are trying to get a person who is known as a fanatical terrorist (Ixusaxa Terrorsong) away from some Orcs... why? What's wrong with the orcs having her? I get that we have to rescue Sybil and all, but why Terrorsong? This part annoys me to no end. For this is the third time that we've seen her and we haven't really learned anything other than: "She's a smart elf who is/was a fanatic." If she's showing up so much, shouldn't we provide some information to actually make her a three-dimensional character. Why did she join the cult? How did she escape trial and execution (DDEX1-13 [at least I'm assuming execution would be the result of the banite judicial system] events). Then there's the wolf fight. This is a really silly and honestly time-wasting fight. The whole "Was it real?" idea is interesting and fine for a campaign, but AL modules have to be designed to be used in a convention style game, and when you have an encounter that essentially is just a big useless time waster it kinda just sucks away from the clock.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-12 The Raven (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent (5e)
by Tosh L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2017 22:30:06

An ok puzzle module, that suffered severely from lack of proofreading and understanding how D&D mechanics work. It has ok ideas and a... kinda forgettable story to be honest with you, but it just falls flat from the amount of errors that would have been easily noticable on an additional read-through.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
by Tosh L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2017 22:27:30

Another great mod by Travis. This hits all the right keys with a pretty awesome set of exchangeable encounters, creative traps, and interesting atmosphere. Then there is the boss fight. This is seriously deadly, and proves that sometimes you just have to run!

Amazing job



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
by Brian D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2017 22:17:28

A fun adventure which provides descision making from the PC's to fight, how to travel etc. Every step of the way the party's decisions effect how events play out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-14 The Sword of Selfaril (5e)
by Brian D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2017 22:12:15

A well put together adventure. It provided a equal amount of role play and combat. I would have like, as a DM, a little more fleshing out of the faction interactions. ie where, who, and motives.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-14 The Sword of Selfaril (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
by Aaron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2017 20:10:36

Purchased for Roll20. Excellent art. Due to the high resolution of the maps however, some of the larger maps load very slowly. The designers did an excellent job of placing a lot of detail into the DM layer so that players won't see anything unless they're supposed to. Tokens/monsters are already pre-placed onto the map, saving a LOT of prep time. It's pretty much just plug and play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2017 16:32:01

This is the first part of a two-parter, and it's definitely a fun change of pace! I will try to keep this relatively spoiler-free, but players should probably just know that we really enjoyed this module and it's not all fighting.

What I liked

Unlike most AL modules, this primarily will test the characters (and players) ability to handle social situations as well as explore their environment to carry out infiltration and espionage assignments. It does this pretty well for the most part, including some pretty memorable scene setting. The fact that the adventure includes - and in fact needs - no maps whatsoever helps with this, because we can run it in "theater of the mind".

In almost all situations, the adventure has a fairly open design, encouraging the DM to reward the players' creativity and come up with their own solutions. This will keep everyone on their toes as the adventure proceeds, but that also means everyone works together to create and tell a cohesive, interesting story. Related to this: the adventure has explicit failure conditions! The players can do what they like, but if they make poor choices, they could find themselves on the outs with little to nothing as a reward other than the fun of play itself.

The module does include some combat, and the final fight provided a lot of entertainment. A few "WTF!" moments from the players really cemented that for me - it was a well-balanced fight for five characters between levels 2 and 4. (Hint: clerics and paladins can really shine!)

What I didn't like

Despite the openness, the adventure starts off with a pointless "roll to continue" mechanic. What happens if the players fail the investigation roll? That would be boring and the game session would last less than five minutes. Bleh. Also, the use of spell scrolls to get them into the Tower misunderstands how that mechanic works, because any class without that spell on their list (and indeed any non-spellcasters) can't use those scrolls.

Tips and conclusion

The above are minor nitpicks. I replaced the scrolls with a frail old bard who just needed to cast one seeming. Also, the main event seems to take place at Midsummer, but the next module (Death on the Wall) keeps talking about heavy snow. You can either move this module to Midwinter or change the references in the next module to rain (I chose the latter).

This provides an epic penultimate session for the storyline and I really recommend it to groups looking for something other than "I look for traps around the door" and "I swing my sword at the monster".



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-13 The Howling Void (5e)
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2017 01:50:59

So many choices, and they're all great! Awesome story hook, cool challenges to rescue the monks, and I love that personality swap! I love the timeline and how the opposing cult operates. And the swap between the cloud giant and the other giant is just great fun! XD The final encounter is pretty tough too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-13 The Howling Void (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-15 Reclamation (5e)
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2017 01:38:50

I really enjoyed the encounter for the Order of the Gauntlet, as the enemies were actually a challenge for the players. The shield guardians and nagas aren't really that hard. And honestly, that puzzle is a joke, and it doesn't provide any alternatives for players who have already played it. And the final fight isn't even a challenge when I change the spellcaster into an archmage.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-15 Reclamation (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 91 to 105 (of 3084 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG