RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
Quetya
Quetya
$1.99









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Carnival (2e)
by Billy L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2013 19:23:26
This is an excellent read and an excellent source. I am surprised to see such an all around product for AD&D2E. The characters and campaign setting contained in this book will be an excellent resource in any campaign but add layers of complexity to a Ravenloft campaign in particular.

This is an excellent read regardless of the system you use or if you intend to game with it at all.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carnival (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

H1 Keep on the Shadowfell & Quick-Start Rules (4e)
by Mick O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2013 15:28:15
Totally unable to open the download, so can not give a positive review

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
H1 Keep on the Shadowfell & Quick-Start Rules (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
by Jonathan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2013 17:47:16
You know... I first played this back when I was a very young man. I later adapted it to work with AD&D 2nd Ed when I was DMing one of those campaigns... It worked well then, and it works well now! I recently adapted things AGAIN and made this work with my Son and some of his friends who are just starting out in the world of RPGs... They enjoyed themselves as much as I did back in my youth.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Faiths of Eberron (3.5)
by Kristian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2013 17:59:01
While the content of the book itself is great, the quality of the PDF is lacking. It renders as image slices tiled into place, and I suspect its because of the method used to generate the PDF. This can be caused by using the distiller instead of exporting the document as a PDF. I would appreciate it if WotC could correct this by exporting it from a more current version of the InDesign (this was made with InDesign CS2).

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Faiths of Eberron (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D&D Rules Compendium (4e)
by Travis W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2013 15:56:54
Clear and concise publication of all the rules and errata of the Dungeons and Dragons 4th edition RPG. I use it on my iPad and Nook HD and it works flawlessly with both devices!
-Travis

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Compendium (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

H1 Keep on the Shadowfell & Quick-Start Rules (4e)
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2013 09:15:14
A ran this adventure a while back and thoroughly enjoyed it. Recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
H1 Keep on the Shadowfell & Quick-Start Rules (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Keep on the Borderlands: A Season of Serpents [Chapters 1-5] (4e)
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2013 20:10:19
Great if you like D&D Encounters. Excellent for new players or combat-oriented party.

Includes all five chapters as separate PDFs. Includes maps for each chapter as PDFs. The maps were all made from dungeon tiles. Does not include the sample characters, tokens, condition cards, reward cards, and play tracker that came with the actual in-store packages. But those are not needed at all and missing those items does not significantly reduce the value of this product.

Definitely recommend.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Keep on the Borderlands: A Season of Serpents [Chapters 1-5] (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
by Nicholas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2013 15:42:05
It's a nice way to introduce new players to role-playing games. I wouldn't use it for experienced players, but again it is a good introduction to the whole RPG experience.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
by Matthew G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2013 13:09:42
A respectable attempt towards something few might ever consider. I have to admit that this is a completely usable, even enjoyable little introductory packet for kids. However, with that said, I must also concede that - to me - it seems a bit skewed. For example damage is greatly simplified to the point of everything being single point wounds, while other elements seem woefully complex for a 6 year old.

The plot is easily basic and fun enough to entice a child, and the thought behind the product is spot on. There needs to be more bare bones releases like this to introduce or even maintain a young player-to-be in such a enjoyable hobby.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ghosts of Dragonspear Castle (D&D Next)
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2013 21:54:40
(This is where I should have posted my review. To TPTB, please feel free to delete my review in the Discussion thread. Yes, Grandpa is an idiot.)

One of the things which bugged me when Advanced D&D took over from Original D&D, is that suddenly there was this concern about "balance." None of the new players wanted to play in a game where they didn't have advantages over the NPCs (or as the new guys called all NPCs, "monsters"). This alone made the game less of role-playing and living a character IN the story as well as CREATING the story with the GM and other players.

Conan stories were much more thrilling when he was hopelessly outclassed and/or outnumbered, and fought (or cheated or lucked) his way through anyway. Those were the types of characters our groups played - and you could almost see the wood chips from all the pulp.

So the concerns that this adventure was not "balanced" and that the odds were stacked against the PCs? That made me buy it.

And it is deliciously, horribly, unbalanced. We used to call this "danger" and our PCs lived for danger.

....except for that one cowardly human/deep one hybrid in my wife's campaign....

This series plays and reads like an old-fashioned serial, complete with impossible situations that would make my parents HAVE to pay another dime to see the next chapter "Next week, in this theater!"

Me? I got to watch those serials (one chapter a day) on television. From 1976 onward, I got to roleplay them.

Kudos, Mr &/or Ms "et al" -- this is a thinking man's adventure!

*jeep! & God Bless!
---Grandpa Tzhett

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghosts of Dragonspear Castle (D&D Next)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

H1 Keep on the Shadowfell & Quick-Start Rules (4e)
by Stirling W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2013 20:43:59
I have to admit that I've only read through this adventure, and have not (Yet) had a chance to run a group of players through it. That said, I was very impressed with the product in general. It gave the necessary information to get a novice GM and a group of new unexperienced players on the right track and keep them there. The Keep part of the adventure is a standard dungeon crawl, but there are multiple opportunities to role play encounters with the nearby village inhabitants, and I was pleased to see just how varried the different encounter types were.

If I had any nitpicks, they'd be minor: A novice playing a magic user is going to be confused by terms like close burst, blast, barrier, and the like, that are used to describe his attacks. Yes, the GM's information does indicate what they mean, but it would be better if a legend or a side bar could have been provided for the mage's use so they wouldn't have to keep asking the GM how to use their own powers.

I also would have like a depiction of the Kruthic as they are the only creatures encountered that a player unfamiliar with D&D might want an explanation of, and which were not already illustrated.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
H1 Keep on the Shadowfell & Quick-Start Rules (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Undermountain: Halaster's Lost Apprentice (4e)
by Sascha L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2013 00:35:04
This one is a really great product, but letting me down by missing the counters and maps! The adventure itself is well organized and written, with nice and interesting encounters and combats. For a fan of the Realms looking for an adventure for beginners I would point to the one contained in the Campaign Setting, because this one is not too easy and surely no pushover for beginning players struggling to come to terms with the rules of D&D4.
While I would really give this adventure the points for a nice 4 to 5, the missing maps and counters pull that to a three point rating.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Undermountain: Halaster's Lost Apprentice (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vault of the Dracolich (D&D Next)
by Alex C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2013 16:44:50
I agree with Alexander L's review about the content. I gave it five stars because the main reason he down graded it was the assumption that because the DnDNext playtest is over that the playtesting download is not accessible. His assumption is false. Since the items you need such as character creation rules and bestiaries are still available as a free download from the WOTC website. Not to mention they are easily found and signing up is a fairly painless process as well. So my only gripe and it is a very minor one is that the folks who wrote the description for this product should have made this clear in the item description.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vault of the Dracolich (D&D Next)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/09/2013 10:57:23
A simple introduction to role-playing suitable for little children - but equally capable of captivating the young at heart irrespective of age - this product reduces everything to the very simple yet retains the essential charm of role-playing: you as character, and something going on around you to which you can respond.

The concept is simple, the 'graduation exercise' from a village's basic combat training class that all youngsters are required to take. Cut-down rules contain the basics of rolling dice to hit and to damage monsters, and blows dealing points of damage subtracted from a monster's (or character's) total. Instead of initiative, monsters and then characters take turns to act (just moving around the table to determine order as far as characters are concerned). The action takes place on a simple board, showing starting locations of the monsters. Counters are provided for characters and monsters, and each has simple basic stats laid out.

And the sketch of the young red dragon is just sweet!

Although it looks as if it were thrown together quickly, it is deceptive in its simplicity. If you want to introduce youngsters (or anyone else for that matter) to role-playing without getting bogged down in a full-blown ruleset, this could serve as a good starting point... and it comes at the right price!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

T1-4 Temple of Elemental Evil (1e)
by Brandon M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00
A good read for a new-ish player to D&D (going on close to four years now). I am certainly thinking about adapting this to D&D Next.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
T1-4 Temple of Elemental Evil (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 106 to 120 (of 1394 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG