RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Dungeon Masters Guide (1e)
by William T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2016 01:25:14

This is a good-quality copy, but, as a nostalgic owner of print DMGs with both the Sutherland and Easley covers, I can't help but feel it would have been a more pleasing product with both original covers included (maybe as addenda), especially Sutherland's iconic wraparound artwork.


For those who had previously obtained scans from WotC, this IS a new scan , and is not missing p.175, as in earlier editions. Also, the ad on p.235 has been replaced with the TSR Wizard logo and p.237's product listing is now a Gygax Memorial Fund notice.


Other than that, the scan is clear and readable, and will be a worthwhile purchase for the nostalgic gamer or the devotee of the Old School experience.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Masters Guide (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

B5 Horror on the Hill (Basic)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2016 11:35:55

Great pdf version of this module. I owned the hard copy 30 years ago and it got lost over the years. I bought this pdf version after trying to find other pdf versions online and failing to find a complete, good version of it.


This version is complete. It's even color on the cover and back cover, just like the old-school modules. Everything is included.


Overall, great version of this module. Definitely recommend, and it's easily converted to 5e. This is one of the best older modules. Fun for players and DMs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B5 Horror on the Hill (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mines of Madness (Next)
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2016 09:36:43

Awesome! This adventure has it all and wonderful for the DM. Most fun I have had in years.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mines of Madness (Next)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wilderness Survival Guide (1e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2016 14:42:08

The Wilderness Survival Guide provides a large collection of rules for wilderness adventures. The black and white illustrations are very good. The rules are well-written. The writing is a bit dry with the occasional joke thrown in. The rules try to strike a balance between heroism and realism in terms of their application. The book is a great resource. For example if you want to run an adventure where the the characters must escape from a prison camp into a cold winter and survive the journey back to freedom, this book provides lots of rules that would help with that simulation, including rules for frostbite, hypothermia, finding food, water, and shelter, starting a fire, as well as rules for moving through the wilderness. In D&D, every once in a while getting to your destination should be a huge part of the adventure. This book provides lots of add-on rules for an interesting trip through the wilderness.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderness Survival Guide (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D3 Vault of the Drow (1e)
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2016 16:57:30

Classic module which truly explained, and demonstrated, the legendary Drow Elves. This module maps out a large Drow city, in the Underdark realm. It is classic, old-school, in every way. Much of the city is left blank, for description, to allow the DM to develop it as they see fit. Key encounter areas are detailed, of course. It is not a place for the blundering warrior to waltz through, smashing every evil creature he sees... That would be suicidal. It is quite daunting to look at the city map, and realize just how much of it is a blank canvas for the DM to paint in their vision of the city. While the DM could fill in all of the blank areas, it is also possible to just gloss over the blank areas of the city, and only play those areas detailed by Gygax.


With regards to quallity of the scan, it is quite readable. The maps are clear. It is fully complete. The price is a bargain compared to rare copies which occasionally appear on sites like e-Bay, Amazon, and other online vendors of OOP books, and gaming materials. If you want a copy, buy it now. There is no guarantee it will be around in the future. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D3 Vault of the Drow (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

H2 Thunderspire Labyrinth (4e)
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2016 13:14:30

I appreciate the structure, plot lines, and detail in a 4TH edition adventure. i am converting them to 5th edition rules, which takes some work but it is well worth it given the detslis in the maps especially.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
H2 Thunderspire Labyrinth (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragons of Autumn (3.5)
by Scott B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2016 11:49:50

Was exactly what I was looking for in a DL campaign adventure. The maps threw me for a loop until I read earlier reviews (I hadn't read the adventure the the very end) and definitely 5 five stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragons of Autumn (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

S1-4: Dungeons of Dread (1e)
by Andy A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2016 16:24:14

As a lifelong DM (since 1978) and huge fan of the S-Series modules, I was excited when this premium edition hardcover came out in 2013! I do enjoy it - it's great to have all the adventures in one tome and I've run them straight out of it several times. The pdf is good too - easy to read, print from and most importantly - it's easy to search!


I do have several complaints, however... The "premium edition" (both HC & pdf versions) missed the opportunity to include the gorgeous color covers (front and back) form these classic adventures. The artwork from the original artists (David C. Southerland III, Jeff Dee & Erol Otus) are some of the best in the hobby's long history (plus S1 & S2 had TWO covers - monochrome & full color) - and WotC has missed an opportunity to preserve them as color plates. The biggest shame of all is that the stellar color plates from the original S3 module are reproduced in black & white, which really doesn't do justice to them at all (they're grey and grainy). What a shame, as the addition of these would have made these "premium" editions truly premium - and the final archival collection of some of the best adventures published in the history of the game. WotC truly has no excuse not to include them in the premium .pdf as they already have the hi-res scans from the separate module pdfs.


Also, sadly, unlike the A-Series premium versions, there is no additional content for the S-Series (besides the forward by Lawrence Schick, which is cool but short). That's too bad, as I was certainly available to write up an editorial ;)


Lastly, the amazing frontispiece of S1 by DCSIII is incredibly blurry! Sadly, it seems that WotC used a low-res image of this classic piece for the "premium" version. This was present in the hardcover print premium edition and wasn't corrected for the .pdf. That's just bad judment and editing. So, 3 out of 5 stars from this DM.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
S1-4: Dungeons of Dread (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A0-A4: Against the Slave Lords (1e)
by Andy A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2016 16:11:21

As a lifelong DM (since 1978) and huge fan of the A-Series modules, I was excited when this premium edition hardcover came out in 2013! I do enjoy it - especially Skip Williams' stellar A0 Danger At Darkshelf Quarry, the author's prefaces and the way it looks on my old school RPG shelf (it's a gorgeous book!). It's great to have all the adventures in one tome and I've run them straight out of it several times. The pdf is good too - ieasy to read, print from and most importantly - it's easy to search! My only complaint, and it's a minor one. The "premium edition" (both HC & pdf versions) missed the opportunity to include the gorgeous color covers (front and back) form these classic adventures. The artwork from the original artists (Jeff Dee, Jim Roslof & Erol Otus) are some of the best in the hobby's long history - and WotC has missed an opportunity to preserve them as color plates. The A0 cover is only hinted at (as a thumbnail on the removable cardboard that came with the HC). What a shame, as that would have made these "premium" editions truly premium - and the final archival collection of some of the best adventures published in the history of the game. WotC truly has no excuse not to include them in the premium .pdf as they already have the hi-res scans from the separate module pdfs...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A0-A4: Against the Slave Lords (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Fright at Tristor (3e)
by Dustin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2016 13:21:18

I loved the adventure.
Granted, I am a noob (both as a player and as a DM) but I thought this was a fantastic story.
Yes, it is a campaign for level one characters, but it is by no means a cakewalk. The primary antagonist is very unique, powerful, and difficult to find. I would say the campaign is not so much encounter oriented as it is political. This adventure gives the players a few unique challenges (at least in comparison to the linear, encounter based "adventures" that I'm used to playing with my awful DM friend).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Fright at Tristor (3e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2016 11:41:20

This is the heavily censored 2013 version, which does have the benefit of being a modern digital copy which allows copy/paste to work. Making it easy to personalize for you own use. It is disappointing that the reference sheets are not a modern digital copy, but the older low quality scan which is hard to read and does not allow copy/paste. That is why I can only give this four stars out of five, since it would have required very little effort to have provided the updated reference sheets too.


In any event, with the ability to copy/paste the text, add back the censored material, format and print your personal copy, it is a great value.


As always, they should be deeply ashamed that they watermarked the product. This is called insulting the customer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Ettin's Riddle (3.0)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/05/2016 07:20:33

This early scenario was originally released as a free download as part of the 'Original Adventures' series from Wizards of the Coast. Aimed at characters of around 2nd-level, it casts the party as unwitting agents of the deity Heironeous, whose scheme to punish a rather over-zealous (not to mention cruel) cleric has somewhat backfired.


With plenty of background material to ensure that the DM knows what is going on, the party is presented with a situation in the village of Newkeep - an ettin has destroyed the only bridge across a nearby river, and the villagers would like some help in dealing with it. A few hooks are provided in case the party doesn't accept the challenge at once, and then they can get on with attempting to track the ettin, lie in wait for its next visit (it has taken a fancy to the village cattle so comes nearly every night) or attempt to solve a cryptic riddle that's appeared on the wall. One they actually come face-to-face with the ettin, there's an interesting moral dilemma for them to solve...


It makes for a nice gentle adventure with scope for more than 'bash monster, take the loot', with a good feel of Newkeep as a place existing outside of the needs of a party of adventurers for somewhere to adventure in. There's a complete annotated map of Newkeep with the main locations and people described, and resources to help you run the party's initial arrival and subsequent investigations. Oldkeep, where the ettin has made its lair, is also mapped and described... and the ettin is not the only opposition that the party will face.


A nice adventure with a lot more to it than originally meets the eye, giving scope to develop the characters' personalities and style, a good one for a fairly new party.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Ettin's Riddle (3.0)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Khyber's Harvest (4e)
by Joshua S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2016 09:59:51

This is a decent starting 4e adventure. However, it assumes you are already familiar with the Eberron setting, the dungeon has only a single pathway, and one of the rooms seems to have typos in it. But my table had fun, so I can't say it's bad. Worth the free price, anyway.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Khyber's Harvest (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
by John M. W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2016 15:03:36

Really happy to see these being re-released. Hopefully this means we will see Greyhawk, Blackmoor and the other OD&D booklets released over the coming weeks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
by sebastian c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2016 16:21:43

When was relaesad i was 1 year old, and i´ve started playing in the 90´s, so i´ve played it several years ago after realeas, And i can tell that despite the years and editions this is the most maleable of all editions, its undoubtly the best. And Ive played at least once all the editions including the 4th edition. Dave And Gary were an invencible couple in game disaign. Sorry for my english, i could red better than write or speak.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 106 to 120 (of 1769 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG