RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2017 23:18:55

This is a a GREAT mostly non combat adventure. The players skills are used pretty heavily and there is even some room for creative solution making. The only issue I have with this adventure, is the same issue I've had with every adventure so far in the DDAL07 series. The CR of the adventure isn't at a level to challenge the players as well as it could. It's like the authors realized that the Season 6 adventures were Colossally hard and went to far the other way to nerf the adventures in Season 7.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2017 19:06:24

5 Corpses was a fun one, and a great way to kick off season 7’s T2 storyline. The Time Limit note on pg5 added a nice twist to those fights, and it worked well.

4 Angry Snakes was another great idea. Albeit given an hour to prepare for the fight it ends rather quickly, but to “correct” that would be punishing good players for playing well-and that is something I am not in favour of.

3 Bargaining Coins is one of the most difficult modules I have seen in 5e (DDEX3-16 and 6-3 are brutal as well, a certain side quest in season 5’s T2 storyline is nasty as well). Unless the DM is merciful, it a guaranteed TPK. It’s not a fair fight for the party, even if they didn’t have an environmental disadvantage to boot, a pair of Lv11 Warlocks would be trouble for a T3 group, let alone a T2 introduction party.

2 Depressed Runes didn’t really work all that well either. Puzzles depend on player knowledge, not character knowledge, so that’s always an issue. Thankfully there are multiple solutions, and the chance at skill check for hints. The fight afterward would have been better entirely on the top floor with the hazards in play instead of splitting the enemy party (Don’t you know you never split the party?) and not benefiting from “home field”.

1 Accepting Altar was a lot better than the previous two. Good plot hook, 2 solid encounters, boss had a trick or two up his sleeve.

All told 3 great modules, 1 bad one, and 1 that was kind of average, so like 3.5/5. I think having 5 1h intro adventures for T2 was probably better on paper then it ended up in reality, especially coming out the same day as DDAL7-1 5 1h T1 intro adventure came out. Technically it was to come out a month later, but having the Intro adventure come out a month after the season started didn’t make much sense either.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2017 18:22:00

While this is an amazing conclusion to a phenomenal trilogy, there is one glaring issue that needs to be addressed. The puzzle: now allow me to rant for a moment-generally in D&D it is considered proper to separate character knowledge from player knowledge, however a puzzle/riddle is the exact opposite of that, a 8 Int/Wis Barbarian played by someone with a Master’s degree can solve them in his sleep, while an 16 Int/Wis Divination Wizard/Knowledge cleric played by some high school dropout will never get it. A puzzle, particularly the one here, is integral to advance the story, so if a group gets stuck, or decides to over-think things (especially if they’re wrong) just grinds the session to an absolute halt. Even if they give up and resort to blunt forcing it, most of their resources are drained right before the climactic showdown with the villain after 3 adventures.

I thought this was going to be a 5 star module until I ran it, but I have to take off 1 for the puzzle.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Thomas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2017 09:37:20

This was a lot of fun for myself and the table. I really liked the encouragment from the author to make the interaction in the Fane to make things more dramatic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Nicole H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2017 06:48:32

I’m new to DM’s guild and this module really shows me all the great content I’ve been missing out on.

First off I like the variety of ways this story can be transitioned into. Either with the first piece of the trilogy or with many story hooks to get your players to this point.

I also am really happy with the overall danger level of the module. It has enough danger and risk to keep players invested, on their toes, and on the pursuit of the next piece of the puzzle. But it is not so tough as to ward off players afraid to fully dive into Chult’s deadly jungles.

The story also presents a lot of whimsy and enjoyable cultural experiences as the party explores this strange new land and its peoples. It’s good clean fun, which I enjoy most of all in my campaigns (both as a player and as DM).

I may very well have to seat Chult into the world of my home game so that my players can take a trip into unique world, Tomb of Annihilation or not. 5 stars!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2017 23:14:50

A Walk in the Park is great for giving players a taste of the dangers in Tomb of Annhilation. It's good to see that within a short adventure, players recieve enough description to get the flavor of three different areas of Chult.

I like how the narrative fits in with the rest of the Jungle has Fangs trilogy. A Day at the Races gives a fun begining with dino races and just a tinge of mystery towards the end. A Walk in the Park furthers the mystery and also gives a clear indication that Chult is dangerous. Whispers in the Dark expands on a character introduced in A Walk in the Park, completes the mystery, and gives a climatic battle. I appreciate having a little narrative element that gives some continuity to each adventure and furthers the goal post of the overall story.

Overall A Walk in the Park: A good mix of fun and deadly jungle adventuring.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Night Below: An Underdark Campaign (2e)
by Mark T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2017 09:55:54

While the black and white pages of this module are very crisp, the color maps, particularly the large map sheets, suffer from some very obvious quality loss. These oversize pages are fine for viewing as an entire page at once, on a monitor, but if you are zooming in, or for printout, especially at full size, the quality loss is substantial.

The module itself is an awesome 2e AD&D adventure... and ports quite easily to first edition AD&D as well. Migrating it to 3rd or later editions is substantial work, and would require significant changes to maintain game balance.

If it hadn't been for the color map quality loss, especially on the large poster maps, I'd give this 5 stars, quite handily.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Night Below: An Underdark Campaign (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Thomas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2017 12:21:12

This was a good introduction to the hardcover. It gives the players a foundation to build on within Chult, some starting money, and a chance to interact with the Merchant Princes. As others have said, the modules do last longer than a single hour.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-08 Durlag's Tower (5e)
by Charlie G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2017 18:06:23

This is a very fun mod to run, as well as play in. It features some fun combat and an interesting puzzle. It can be quite a challenge and doesn't feature much opportunity for roleplay though, so those might be a factor to consider for your playgroup. Still, I'd recommend this adventure, whether you're looking to play or run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-08 Durlag's Tower (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Thomas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2017 14:16:53

First off, the campaign itself has some really good ideas. It fleshes out the grung race a bit; making them a bit more dynamic and robust. There are some good mechanics in certain situations that made the whole adventure a bit more fun and out of the ordinary.

However, I felt that the story needed a bit more fleshing out. The character dynamic was good, but the story itself needs a bit more detail for my personal preferences.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Thomas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2017 13:30:04

The races in this module were different than those in 07-01; they focused less on combat and more on group ability checks, puzzles, and overall collaboration, which was a nice change of pace. My table really enjoyed the change of pace as they have been trudging through the jungle with the Hard Cover the past few weeks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
by Matthew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2017 07:58:10

My players really liked the Harper adventure in this module. The interaction with the spy can go many ways and pretty much any way it can go is going to be fun for the DM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-10 Cloaks and Shadows (5e)
by Charlie G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2017 06:09:08

A very fun mod with a decent amount of opportunities for both roleplaying and combat. And, I do love the mystery investigation slant to the adventure. It also has a flexible story, which allows for excitement in multiple runs and playthroughs. I highly recommend this mod.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-10 Cloaks and Shadows (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
by Richard W. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2017 10:57:29

Fun combat encounters and roleplay, but the story is somewhat disjointed. Go help the elves, and then go help Jeny Greenteeth. There is a lack of a connector there.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Richard W. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2017 10:55:26

The traps aren't really intuitive and can be easily avoided even though the adventure states that they aren't supposed to be able to. There are hardly and combat encounters. Also the story doesn't make alot of sense when run as a lead in to White Plume. Kelvan escapes into the mountain, and then never resurfaces in the actual White Plume.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 106 to 120 (of 3712 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG