RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
by Kyle G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2014 14:06:42
I am so very happy this is back on DriveThruRPG after a long absence.

Scan is good and reads well. A great detail for the starting country for most Basic adventures.

Hurry up and get the rest of the Gazetters out so that I can buy them too!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Birthright Campaign Setting (2e)
by Nicholas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2014 01:01:26
This a great scan of a product I missed back in the day, and which sells for stupid money in print. Especially great care was taken with the maps, which are in one complete page rather than split into different pages -- great for those of us with large format printers, and easily printed in pieces through Acrobat for those who don't.
Finally, kudos for WotC and DTRPG for listening to their customers and adding the war cards, which were missing from the download when first posted! I'm looking forward

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Birthright Campaign Setting (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Birthright Campaign Setting (2e)
by robert h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2014 19:57:33
As promised, I've updated my rating to 5 stars now that the warcards have been added to the download. Nice scan of one of my favorite campaign settings. I'm looking forward to seeing the rest of the series being released in PDF as well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
by Harald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2014 06:44:31
A very nice classic supplement. It shows how much you can pack into 64 pages.

This new file is superbly scanned, with full OCR and aligned pages, and much more readable than the original PDF that was available for a while. While the genre may seem bland these days, the tactful description of the various churches of Traldara and Karameikos (beholden to the same pantheon, but interpreting it much differently) still sticks out as me as an eminently playable but differentiated treatment of human religion.

This plus B10 Night's Dark Terror can easily provide dozens of sessions using the original D&D rules. If you're bored by the next big epic thing, this might be just the right thing to get you back to the ground.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2014 15:54:07
As an introduction to retro gaming this is an excellent place to begin. Of course the BECMI Rules Cyclopedia is a complete resource but the Moldvay is a great way to get started with the absolute basics of low level adventuring without having to wade through pages of information neither DM or players will need for at least 2 adventures. Currently introducing my children to the game with THE LOST CITY. Much fun and excitement.

The PDF's are good quality and I have printed and bound with spiral binding - a perfect old time resource.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Carnival (2e)
by Billy L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2013 19:23:26
This is an excellent read and an excellent source. I am surprised to see such an all around product for AD&D2E. The characters and campaign setting contained in this book will be an excellent resource in any campaign but add layers of complexity to a Ravenloft campaign in particular.

This is an excellent read regardless of the system you use or if you intend to game with it at all.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carnival (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

H1 Keep on the Shadowfell & Quick-Start Rules (4e)
by Mick O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2013 15:28:15
Totally unable to open the download, so can not give a positive review

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
H1 Keep on the Shadowfell & Quick-Start Rules (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
by Jonathan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2013 17:47:16
You know... I first played this back when I was a very young man. I later adapted it to work with AD&D 2nd Ed when I was DMing one of those campaigns... It worked well then, and it works well now! I recently adapted things AGAIN and made this work with my Son and some of his friends who are just starting out in the world of RPGs... They enjoyed themselves as much as I did back in my youth.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Faiths of Eberron (3.5)
by Kristian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2013 17:59:01
While the content of the book itself is great, the quality of the PDF is lacking. It renders as image slices tiled into place, and I suspect its because of the method used to generate the PDF. This can be caused by using the distiller instead of exporting the document as a PDF. I would appreciate it if WotC could correct this by exporting it from a more current version of the InDesign (this was made with InDesign CS2).

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Faiths of Eberron (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D&D Rules Compendium (4e)
by Travis W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2013 15:56:54
Clear and concise publication of all the rules and errata of the Dungeons and Dragons 4th edition RPG. I use it on my iPad and Nook HD and it works flawlessly with both devices!
-Travis

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Compendium (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

H1 Keep on the Shadowfell & Quick-Start Rules (4e)
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2013 09:15:14
A ran this adventure a while back and thoroughly enjoyed it. Recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
H1 Keep on the Shadowfell & Quick-Start Rules (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Keep on the Borderlands: A Season of Serpents [Chapters 1-5] (4e)
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2013 20:10:19
Great if you like D&D Encounters. Excellent for new players or combat-oriented party.

Includes all five chapters as separate PDFs. Includes maps for each chapter as PDFs. The maps were all made from dungeon tiles. Does not include the sample characters, tokens, condition cards, reward cards, and play tracker that came with the actual in-store packages. But those are not needed at all and missing those items does not significantly reduce the value of this product.

Definitely recommend.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Keep on the Borderlands: A Season of Serpents [Chapters 1-5] (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
by Nicholas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2013 15:42:05
It's a nice way to introduce new players to role-playing games. I wouldn't use it for experienced players, but again it is a good introduction to the whole RPG experience.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
by Matthew G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2013 13:09:42
A respectable attempt towards something few might ever consider. I have to admit that this is a completely usable, even enjoyable little introductory packet for kids. However, with that said, I must also concede that - to me - it seems a bit skewed. For example damage is greatly simplified to the point of everything being single point wounds, while other elements seem woefully complex for a 6 year old.

The plot is easily basic and fun enough to entice a child, and the thought behind the product is spot on. There needs to be more bare bones releases like this to introduce or even maintain a young player-to-be in such a enjoyable hobby.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ghosts of Dragonspear Castle (D&D Next)
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2013 21:54:40
(This is where I should have posted my review. To TPTB, please feel free to delete my review in the Discussion thread. Yes, Grandpa is an idiot.)

One of the things which bugged me when Advanced D&D took over from Original D&D, is that suddenly there was this concern about "balance." None of the new players wanted to play in a game where they didn't have advantages over the NPCs (or as the new guys called all NPCs, "monsters"). This alone made the game less of role-playing and living a character IN the story as well as CREATING the story with the GM and other players.

Conan stories were much more thrilling when he was hopelessly outclassed and/or outnumbered, and fought (or cheated or lucked) his way through anyway. Those were the types of characters our groups played - and you could almost see the wood chips from all the pulp.

So the concerns that this adventure was not "balanced" and that the odds were stacked against the PCs? That made me buy it.

And it is deliciously, horribly, unbalanced. We used to call this "danger" and our PCs lived for danger.

....except for that one cowardly human/deep one hybrid in my wife's campaign....

This series plays and reads like an old-fashioned serial, complete with impossible situations that would make my parents HAVE to pay another dime to see the next chapter "Next week, in this theater!"

Me? I got to watch those serials (one chapter a day) on television. From 1976 onward, I got to roleplay them.

Kudos, Mr &/or Ms "et al" -- this is a thinking man's adventure!

*jeep! & God Bless!
---Grandpa Tzhett

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghosts of Dragonspear Castle (D&D Next)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 106 to 120 (of 1407 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG