RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Players Handbook (1e)
by Rich F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2015 07:34:16

This (very short) preliminary review covers the re-release of the PHB, from July 6, 2015.


Overall, this is much better in many ways than the original 2007 release. While I'd personally prefer the full original cover, I appreciate the new text layout. Cutting and pasting works well from the PDF to MS Word 2013, which will help when I want to create spell books for characters. The only downside is the same as the physical release of the premium hardback: some of the scans are a bit dodgy/pixelated, notably the "Magic Mouth" full page art. However, this is a minor issue. One bonus: I didn't have to re-purchase this, as I had previously done so in 2007.


Thank you WotC and OBS, for making the best version of D&D available again. I hope the the MM, DMG, and UA follow, along with the original rules, supplements, and chainmail are to follow!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Draconomicon (3.5)
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2015 11:27:58

This is one of my favorite 3.5 books. The artwork is gorgeous, and there is plenty of it--the major dragon types all get their own full body drawing in addition to head studies, anatomical doodles, and even in-flight sketches. The amount of "fluff" is super high as the book includes descriptions of dragon lairs, life cycles, languages, gods, even more down-in-the-weeds info like a dragon's metabolism and senses. If you prefer rules to fluff, the book offers tons of that as well: dragon prestige classes, feats, spells, and a ton of sample dragons (with full stats) in addition to over two dozen new dragon-based monsters. There are even example hoards and tables to help you build unique treasure troves for dragons in your campaign. The end result is that this is one of those rare books that's not only super useful for anyone who wants to add more mechanics in a gaming session, but it's also a ton of fun to read. PDF quality is excellent, even at very high zooms, and the whole package is bookmarked and searchable. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Draconomicon (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

N2 The Forest Oracle (1e)
by Larry D. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2015 22:45:08

This is the worst published adventure I've read to date. I can't recommend it for any reason other than completing a collection of old TSR modules.


There are so many egregious examples of a lack of thought or logic in this adventure. From the start of the module through almost every encounter, the lack of thought is apparent and it's impossible to suspend disbelief for it. This extends to not only the situations described, but also to the setting elements along the way.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
N2 The Forest Oracle (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

S5 The Dancing Hut of Baba Yaga (2e)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/30/2015 09:33:40

This is the official/unofficial continuation of the famous S series. I picked this one up because it was about Baba Yaga and my kids have gone through all the S modules now.
This module is for 2nd Ed AD&D and from the earlier days of that system. I "feels" like a late 80s adventure instead of a mid 90s one (1995). I think in part this has to do with it's origins and that the Roger Moore Dragon magazine (March 1984) article about Baba Yaga's hut was still on people's minds at the time.

This adventure is more plot driven than the other S series adventures. Baba Yaga is more of a defined character than say Acererak or Drelnza. In fact she is presented in much of the same manner as Strahd was in Castle Ravenloft. Though there is the assumption that the PCs wont be so stupid as to attack her. Could the right group do it? Sure, but that is not the fun of this adventure. The fun here is investigating her magical hut and finding things that might be unique in your world.
The Hut itself is almost a mini-campaign world, complete with it's own rules of magic and control over the daylight and nighttime hours.
Each level of the hut is designed for different level of characters. It does recall some of the "funhouse" dungeons of the S series in terms of what is being offered but there is some logic applied to most of the rooms. Others unfortunately feel like filler.
It is a fun adventure, but not one that really lives up to the S legacy or the potential of Baba Yaga herself.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
S5 The Dancing Hut of Baba Yaga (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

G1-3 Against the Giants (1e)
by christopher p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2015 13:32:41

I had and played this module in the early eighties and absolutely loved it. Being able to gain access to these old modules again is awesome. Very good quality and will purchase again. Would love to see even more of the old stuff go up for sale.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
G1-3 Against the Giants (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

I2 Tomb of the Lizard King (1e)
by Jonathan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2015 12:54:14

A clever interpretation of a mundane plot idea (go into a swamp and fight lizard men). A very challenging module for the recommended levels.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
I2 Tomb of the Lizard King (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

T1-4 Temple of Elemental Evil (1e)
by Kevin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2015 19:32:38

There are a number of quality issues. The content is fun. This instance is, however, frustrating. There are several cases where an entire line of text is missing, but due to randomness of fully automated OCR, non sequitur sentences are left behind. I wonder if a full document then page by page word count validation would have detected where these pages are, and consequently lead to a higher quality document I know that the product before me is not usable.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
T1-4 Temple of Elemental Evil (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

FR11 Dwarves Deep (2e)
by Tom B. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2015 20:21:34

Lots of info to help both players and DMs bring the dwarven culture to life.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FR11 Dwarves Deep (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
by Andy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2015 17:34:30

I've been waiting for the first 5th edition player's supplement. Well, look no further, here it is! I am glad, though, that most of the supplements so far have been adventures and not new character choices. 4th was lousy with a bunch of new character options every month, but I think that was so everyone would stop buying books and subscribe to Insider, instead.

This book is just a couple new spells, couple new re-introduced races (Go away FR, I want Ebberron Warforged!) Simple, good stuff. Isn't 5th the best so far!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ravenloft Domains of Dread (2e)
by Nathan s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2015 15:43:23

Very good content excellent rules and ideas along with expansion lore for the Ravenloft world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ravenloft Domains of Dread (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Forgotten Realms Atlas (2e)
by Donald B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2015 12:48:38

The original content itself was very useful for any campaign set in the Forgotten Realms. While I purchased this for use in 5e (because the official material is rather limited so far), I found that much of the content is still relevant and very useful for putting local adventures into a global setting. This material is dated so some grace needs to be extended (including the style of the illustrations and maps). The quality of the scan itself is decent. I would have liked a higher resolution scan so I could zoom into some maps without getting a grainy look. The alignment issues also raised by others is valid but not wholly problematic for me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Forgotten Realms Atlas (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

FA2 Nightmare Keep (2e)
by Jonathan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2015 08:28:36

A suitably unsettling dungeon that features lots of creepy-crawly monsters and traps before the final showdown with a lich. The lich in this module is a very satisfying villain to defeat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FA2 Nightmare Keep (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

GAZ3 The Principalities of Glantri (Basic)
by Jonathan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2015 08:01:34

A fun, lighthearted, look at wizards in the known D&D world nation of Glantri. Lots of inspiration for DMs looking for plot ideas. It also includes a 1-on-1 adventure for 9th level wizards who seek to graduate from a wizard academy. I have run that adventure 3 times and only 1 wizard successfully graduated. Another highlight is the "palace intrigue" of how different wizards in the country are plotting with and against each other. "Palace intrigue" is difficult to write for D&D and Glantri does a very good job of creating interesting factions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ3 The Principalities of Glantri (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

C1 The Hidden Shrine of Tamoachan (1e)
by Jonathan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2015 07:48:42

This module makes for a fun evening of adventure with a smaller group as there are only 3 characters in the party. Playing it tournament-style makes for a race against time to get out of the shrine before the characters are overcome by poisonous fumes. We timed the adventure and my group barely made it out. There were only a few minutes left on the clock.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
C1 The Hidden Shrine of Tamoachan (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Volo's Guide to the Sword Coast (2e)
by Jonathan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2015 07:41:59

All of the Volo's Guide series offer great adventure ideas in the form of a travelogue written from the perspective of Volo with commentary by Elminster. Volo's Guide to the Sword Coast offers dozens of possible adventure hooks in the Sword Coast region. Stimulating reading for DMs looking for ideas to use in the Forgotten Realms or their own campaigns.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Volo's Guide to the Sword Coast (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 121 to 135 (of 1661 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG