RPGNow.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL05-13 Jarl Rising (5e)
by Daron F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2017 15:05:03

If you and your players like brutal environments and combat, then they will like this mod. I was in such a situation, but you still have to do some hand-waving. If you have a long-running group with a druid, you owe it to them to run this module for the reward.

Pros:

  • Very straight-forward and punishing.
  • Gives the DM a lot of options for encounters that they can use to challenge or help the players get through the module.

Cons:

  • One of my players offered to cast scrying to see what was going on. I basically just gave him inspiration for the idea and said he was not able. It would have been nice for the module to explain why this was not an option.
  • The objective also does not make a ton of sense, and seems to be a tremendous amount of work for something a mid-level druid could do alone with little risk.

If things have to make sense for you and your party... maybe pass this one over? Otherwise, there is some good smashing to be found here.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-13 Jarl Rising (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
by Daron F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2017 14:55:59

Really wish I had the opportunity to run this as a multi-table event. Great mod.

Pros:

  • Structured and satisfying way for the players to get the town ready for invasion.
  • Offers a "kick-in-the-door" option for rescuing an NPC.
  • The seige / fort / training point mechanics were quite awesome.
  • Final encounter is pretty well scripted, can incorporate an NPC from a previous module.

Cons:

  • If the players are clever, they can game the point system to make the final encounter quite trivial.
  • For single table run-throughs, my six players earned FAR too many points and I gave them fewer days than suggested.

I had a tremendous amount of fun with this mod as a DM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast (5e)
by Daron F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2017 14:50:57

My players had a ton of fun in this module. The activities in the module plays a lot on their existing knowledge of the NPCs in the town and spawned a lot of pretty hilarious RP experiences.

Pros:

  • Great module to run for players that are on the season 5 tier 1 track.
  • Lots of great RP opportunities and places for skill monkeys to shine.
  • Very well constructed final combat.

Cons:

  • Not a great module if you just want to "power through" because the DM would have to spoon-feed the players way too much.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
by Daron F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2017 14:44:25

A really fun module, but getting out of the site is kind of a shoehorn. I would have liked to see the latter parts of the adventure to be more structured.

Pros:

  • Satisfying to complete - you are ultimately trying to save a bunch of dwarves.
  • Final encounter can be fun (tobogans anyone?).

Cons:

  • The "wrestling" option was very awkward. I had a hard time accepting that the ogres would not wipe out the party (or subset of the party) doing this.
  • Why do the dwarves have to wait until the PCs get there to get out of the site with the suggested "plan"?

I would have liked to see a little more structure. The escape could have been either (1) you go with the dwarves plan and have the final encounter on the "sleds" or (2) the PCs have another creative way to get them out and the ogres launch an attack while they are preparing.

For (1) give suggestions on how the combat should play out while on the sleds, such as start with X opponents and add Y opponents every round for 3 rounds, or something like along those lines. Set the players up for thinking of creative ways to prevent the opponents from entering combat.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Daron F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2017 14:32:30

I've run this module a few times now and is great for new players. It has a good mix of combat and role-playing, a good item, and segues well into the rest of the tier 1 modules.

Pros:

  • Meaningful interaction with NPCs that show up later in the story.
  • Opportunity for an extra RP-based encounter.
  • Gives the players the ability to actually make a decision about how to proceed beyond the "guards".

Cons:

  • Can easily go over time with the "guards" encounter. To get through this in a reasonable amount of time you have to push the players pretty hard.
  • The sandstorm encounter is kind of awkward, would have liked this to be a bit more structured.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-11 Oubliette of Fort Iron (5e)
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2017 12:46:45

This is a fun and quick module to run. All of the PC's had little to know strength so they had to cleverly use the boats to cross. It was interesting to have them figure out how to cross. All in all fun mod.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-11 Oubliette of Fort Iron (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-14 The Sword of Selfaril (5e)
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2017 12:42:28

Although I am new to DMing, I must say that this is my favorite module to run. I really enjoyed how the players reacted to Raston Shal and I thought they were going to attack him. All in all a lot of fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-14 The Sword of Selfaril (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-10 Cloaks and Shadows (5e)
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2017 12:38:31

Players and myself loved this mod. The flow chart really helped me keep track of what the players did and should do next. The players really enjoyed the chase at the end. I am looking forward to dming this again and possible playing it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-10 Cloaks and Shadows (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Races of Eberron (3.5)
by Dalen J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2017 12:33:44

Excellent read. (Wish they would use the alternate cover art for this.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Races of Eberron (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX2-03 The Drowned Tower (5e)
by Jonathan F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2017 15:02:38

The Hook. 3/5

Pro: It got everyone involved right away.

Con: It doesn't really address the "why are these people from different factions that haven't adventured before traveling together?" question.

But who cares about those questions?! This is organized play and somehow these rag-tag groups end up together anyway!

Investigation. 5/5

I really enjoyed running the investigation.

Delve. 5/5

Very interesting and detailed delve. The stairs-by-stairs thing was very realistic and made sense (even if it meant parties may skip the 3rd floor).

Some of the traps aren't clearly marked where they are, but this isn't too bad.

For those using battlemats, I re-shaped the final floor (replacing the bend with a wall the PCs have to go right or left around) to make it fit into a 44x12 area (instead of the 30-ish x 30-ish L). I was able to fit all interior rooms on my mats with 1 on my small mat (20x22), 2 on my big with the re-aligned bottom room on the big mat.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-03 The Drowned Tower (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Forge of Fury (3e)
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2017 12:37:53

Great adventure! Easy to modify for difficulty or game edition and comes with detailed maps. The only downside in story line is how the orcs managed to accumulate the quantity of trade goods across a rickety rope bridge, but worth every penny.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Forge of Fury (3e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Asa H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2017 17:52:03

This is a great to use "intro" module if you're not a fan of the 5 1-hour DDAL05-01 module.

I ran this at my FLGS when we had an overflow of brand new players on AL night. The module does a good job of sprinkling flavor throughout and gets to party to Parnast in a tight 2 hour romp.

The favorite of the tables was definitely the sandstorm that party needed to shelter from.

Bugbears, Hobgoblins, and Goblins oh my!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
by Asa H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2017 17:45:39

This is a fun one for sure!

I ran this as the capstone module for my online group of AL players.

The lore really starts developing with this module as the characters basically go through a guided tour of giant culture. This was the first real dungeon crawl for them since the dripping caves in Ch1 of SKT. But they adapted quickly enough to the traps and magic zones to make it a success. As always I am surprised at the time estimates of modules, we just finished at 5 hours of play.

The difficulty of the final fight is definitely something that the DM needs to be aware of at all times. Be ready to ramp it up or down based on your groups progress.

The various encounters and traps made available to the DM allowed a degree of "homebrew" customization, I can see running this adventure multiple times and re-arranging thigs so it never feels old.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
by Robert F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2017 17:30:38

Alan is a master of the adventure writing craft. This adventure captures the tone and flavor of Barovia spot on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Robbie P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2017 15:35:05

Everything flows together well (the players didn't need any nudging by me to immediately follow the map and search for traps), and the quantity of kobolds plus their hit-and-run tactics are just enough to keep the players on edge and challenged without overwhelming them. Facing a boss with Fireball while in tier 1 can make the last fight dangerous for low-level characters, but I see that as a plus, so long as the DM doesn't go for a 2-turn kill.

The item it gives is a very nice one as well for tier 1, my players were quite pleased with it.

On the downside, the different cavern rooms did get a little repetitive; fight kobolds, they flee, search for traps, repeat. I'm fairly certain my players have had their fill of kobolds, winged and otherwise, though it does make perfect sense from a story standpoint, since it is a kobold's cavern, and I honestly can't think of how one would mix that up aside from the different types of kobolds it offers.

I'd have liked it to connect a little more to Forge of Fury, rather than "This is what happens on your way to it," since it is billed as a lead-in adventure.

Overall, though, it ran smoothly and my players enjoyed it, so as far as low-level mods go, there are worse ways to go.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 121 to 135 (of 2559 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG