RPGNow.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL04-04 The Marionette (5e)
by Jose S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2017 08:53:20

I ran this cold. It read well enough, and the quick back to back little side adventures were a nice touch. The table I ran enjoyed the quick thinking requried to get it done. I ran a table of three players of level 3-4. They handled the encounters well enough without modificiation.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-04 The Marionette (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
by Jose S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2017 08:49:04

The tone set for this adventure appealed to my table when I first ran it. They weren't too thrilled about the story award, but the eventuality of it had been warned to them before if they decided to play CoS mods. All in all, the story was written well enough and the table wished to continue in the storyline.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
by Alex S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2017 20:18:26

So you can't decide between Bard, Sorcerer, and Paladin? Why not be all of them at the same time?? The Mystic has a lot of potential, but has some serious balance issues.

Pros:

  • A totally new set of spell-like abilities! One of the biggest issues with 5e has been the same-ness of many classes and creatures that all draw from the same pool of spells. The mystic finally gives people something new to play with, and a lot of it! There are enough abilities here to power 4-5 distinct classes...

Cons:

  • You can easily fill the roles of 4-5 distinct classes with a single character. You can essentially be a Sorcerer with 3-4x as many known spells, a Bard with even more skill versatility, a potent elemental blaster, and a major melee nova damage dealer all in the the same character by around level 5. No joke - I just built this character. You also get a slew of special abilties for every occasion and a lot of built-in self-recovery.
  • You'd think that this would come with either a limited single-encounter output like the Warlock or a lower level of between-encounter recovery like the Bard... but you'd be wrong. At level 20 you can be slinging the equivalent of 16 level 5 spells per day before you even start spending your HP as a resource to cast even more spells!
  • Okay, but you can still only cast one spell per round, right? Wrong again! You have no per-turn limit and as many disciplines include reaction and bonus-action abilties you are usually able to sling 2-3 spell-equivalents per turn. Lets not even start on the action-economy-destroying Psionic Mastery.

Suggestions to fix it (do some of these, not all):

  • Split Mystic into 5 distinct classes based on the Orders - give limited cross-discipline versatility instead of a sub-class.
  • -OR- Reduce the number of overall disciplines and especially cross-Order disciplines that characters learn. I'd suggest scaling to 5 in-Order disciplines and 3 of-choice disciplines by level 18.
  • Apply the PSI limit to your entire turn, rather than to a single discipline
  • -OR- Scale the PSI limit as a half-caster rather than a full-caster (3 at 5th level, 5 at 9th level, 6 at 13th level, 7 at 17th level)
  • -OR- limit Discipline use to your current Focus (change Psionic mastery to allow you to use more than one discipline at once...)
  • Replace Psionic Mastery with something that doesn't undermine the basic structure of 5e.
  • Base the Immortal's temp HP on proficiency bonus rather than Int mod to make it less overpowered at low levels.
  • Reduce the amount of proficiency-swapping available to the Nomad. (seriously, it is silly)
  • Give psychic powers the same common-sense restrictions as their spell-equivalents (e.g. charmed creatures realize that they were charmed when the effects of lower-level abilities wear off)


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-07 The Innocent (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2017 02:31:06

This was just sort of WTF? I even had the chance to playtest this, our group submitted our feedback saying it was off, and nothing was fixed. It just doesn't fit with the rest of the season, if you got rid of the Innocent and the Raven, you would have a much better flow to the overall storyline, When I ran season 4, I almost skipped this one, but I was after that season completion, so I ran it anyway. Avoid if possible.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-07 The Innocent (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-08 The Broken One (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2017 02:25:45

Out of the NPCs from season 4, few are as Memorable as Luca. Fewer still are the adventures where you can actually avoid most of the fighting... but the broken one stands as one of those few. The final boss is pretty amazingly disturbing and this adventure leads well into the subsequent one, unlike some of the later adventures Cough the raven Cough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-08 The Broken One (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-14 The Darklord (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2017 02:20:17

For the culminating adventure, it was a bit underwhelming. The first bit of exposition and the first combat counter were pretty amazing. The castle was a bit meh, if you are going to make her have minions, make the minions relevent, don't just give her garbage and expect her to be memorable. The horseman would have made a better "final boss" than the Darklord. I will say if you switch out her minions for something that actually makes sense, say npc's from volos? Then you have one hell of a fight, but as it is written the entire thing is pretty lame.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-14 The Darklord (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-13 The Horseman (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2017 02:16:16

Why? Why did you make the greatest boss fight out of any module I have played or ran (I have played or ran pretty much everything to include available CCCs and Baldman Games), and put him into a disposeable story. It would have been so easy to build up this fight, foreshadow stuff in earlier adventures, just someone mentioning in passing, hey there is this headless horseman dude. But no, instead you create one of the most memorable characters and fights and make him barely relevent to the overall storyline except for the out of the blue thing that he has that the party needs.

If you get the chance to play this, I would definitely recommend it, but I would just note that it doesn't make a whole lot of sense within the overall season 4 storyline.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-13 The Horseman (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-12 The Raven (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2017 02:11:25

Skip it, it is like the person who wrote this module had no idea what was going on with the rest of the season and just did his own thing following the few guidelines given. There is a touch of story tie in, but the later modules have ways to explain not having done this quest and still having access to those story things. It isn't worth the time to play, it has a forgettable story and frustrating combats.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-12 The Raven (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL04-09 The Tempter (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2017 02:08:45

One of my favorite modules out of all seasons, decent role-play, decent combat, enduring consequences for player decisions. It has a little bit of everything, but still does it well. I would recommend this for almost any group were it not for the fact that it will get your character trapped in barovia and wind up either costing you downtime to get out, or it will take playing one of the later adventures. Still worth the play though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-09 The Tempter (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2017 02:06:02

A more investigational type adventure, with all the experience really tied to one brutal combat. Be careful to note the APL and how to scale as it is nearly impossible to have a very strong party. I Looked at the adventure wrong and I wound up killing everyone in the final fight. It is a decent module to play with a very popular reward.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2017 02:01:19

I won't say so much as to spoil the mod, but it can be very combat light, and there are several twists and turns that have thrown off every group I have seen play through. I like puzzle mods, but for puzzle mods it only takes one person to spoil it for everyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2017 23:11:30

I agree with some of the balance issues previously mentioned. Also soul knife does not fit in with the rest of this class and seems like an afterthought.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
by Preston H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2017 16:48:47

If it concerns you, I do spoil some of the endgame information of the module, so be warned.

I think this really is one of the best starting adventures for D&D. You get a town, a mystery, some wilderness exploration, and some not-too-big dungeon crawls. This being an older adventure for 1e, it will require some not insignificant fixes and tweaks. You'll need to figure out stats for NPCs like Father Abramo, Misha Devi, the evil monks, and others, and you'll need to make some serious tweaks to either the 1e spirit naga or the 5e spirit naga to make the final fight both fair and challenging. Fortunately, conversions do exist online that you can use to aid this process.

Additionally, the module probably will have more magic items than your players will know what to do with if you leave it unchanged. While I don't think you should excise them all, as I think even low level player characters should have a handful of interesting magic items in order to evoke excitement and awe at the world's magic, I would advise that one exercise a smidgen caution about how many items they leave in.

Finally, I remain wary of any module that recommends that a high level NPC tag along with the party, as Against the Cult of the Reptil God does with Ramne. However, when I ran the module I was able to simply leave Ramne out (well, the party found him dead, killed by the cult), and they were still able to successfully maneuver the lair of the reptile god. The module even has recommendations on what tweaks to make if the party goes without Ramne.

Overall, Against the Cult of the Reptile God is a great starting adventure, and I'd recommend it to any DM interested in taking the time to work with the module to make it function for 5e (unless you're running a game of AD&D, in which case you're good to go and more power to you). Make the module yours, and you and your party will have a good chance of having a great adventure with a little intrigue, a good heart, and plenty of adventure and danger!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
by JEFFREY C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2017 16:30:12

I ran this for the first time a week ago and my party had a great time! I do appreciate that there was consequences for just going in and murdering everything and stealing all the treasure. The undead encounters are fun as well as the final room. The module is a bit more combat centric but people had a great time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
by Adam G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2017 23:49:09

I really enjoyed this Tier 4 mod. My party, and I, thought the fights were a little lackluster, especially the end, but the flow of the adventure was well paced. I wish there were more (recent) tier 4 mods like this for AL.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 121 to 135 (of 2842 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG