RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Familiar
by W. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2014 02:20:11
If you're like me you've always secretly wanted to play a game as a cat, with all the sly stealth and attitude that comes with it. If you're also like me you've had your GM shut you down every time the idea has come up - but not anymore. The Familiar Class for Labyrinth Lord not only opens new doors for roleplaying, (and it does that, not only by allowing you to play a cat or bird or rabbit, but with the dynamic between yourself and the PC wizard you serve) but does it in a way that makes the class very cool and very attractive to play. With a handful of spell like abilities the class makes solid use of the relationship between the Master and Familiar PCs, giving them mechanical reasons - as well as rp excuses - to work together and protect one another. Should the unthinkable happen, however, and the PC Wizard die, the class does not abandon the Familiar, but provides both rules for finding another person to fill the Master role and, in the mean time, gives the character enough tools to remain a strong, viable member of the party. With a solid layout and easy to understand rules, the Familiar should fit easily into any game.

But more importantly, I can finally play a cat!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Familiar
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dragon Slayer
by Joseph C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2014 17:16:55
An interesting addition to labyrinth Lord. A bit more specialized than I like but very flavorful and role-playing heavy. Unlike some hyper specialized classes this class can thrive in a standard delves without having to worry about being a load on the party.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Slayer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dark Elf
by Joseph C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2014 17:06:18
A jack of all trades class, the dark elf is an excellent addition to the ranks Labyrinth Lord library. FYI these aren't drow. They are more like the Norse conception of dark elves, and to be frank that suits me just fine.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Elf
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Articles of War
by Joseph C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2014 17:00:52
The latest release from Barrel Rider Games doesn't disappoint. Nice clean rules, covering classic fantasy tropes such as fighting with a weapon and torch, smashing shields to bits, and a absolutely excellent alternate system for weapon usage among the base classes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Articles of War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Angel
by Joseph C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2014 16:56:09
I am an avid buyer of barrel rider games supplements and I saw that the Angel was available. I grumbled and assumed that this would be overpowered and a campaign breaking class.

Happily I was completely incorrect and may not see it in everyone's campaign but the angel in a campaign where you have a little bit of everything is no more game breaking than a fighter or magic user, its actually balance class with a little bit of interesting role-playing to keep it fresh and interesting.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Angel
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Barrel Rider's 2012 Bundle
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:46:47
This is a great deal. 16 of BRG products. For 10 bucks you get Halflings: Tales from the Fireside, Archer, Half-elf, Swashbuckler, Half-orc, Dark Elf, Bandit, Bounty Hunter, Undead Slayer, Barbarian, Assassin, Dragon, Smith and Scholar, King Betrayed, Wanderer and the new (and not available separately) Combat Styles. Not a bad deal at all.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barrel Rider's 2012 Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wanderer
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:40:48
This seven page document details the Wanderer class. It's like a non-magical (and less combative) Ranger. It has some nice skills and powers and would work well in any game. What struck me is how quickly I was thinking of NPCs to fill this class and sending him in with my current Old School game. Lots and lots of potential with this one. Also unlike the other classes with have some archetypes I can relate to earlier editions, this one seems fairly unique to me.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wanderer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The King Betrayed
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:40:21
This one was another surprise. It is an adventure for characters 3rd to 5th level. The art in this is greatly improved and the adventure itself looks like it is a lot of fun. Complete old-school feel. At 15 pages it is just about perfect for an afternoon.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The King Betrayed
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Sylvan Elf
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:40:01
This is one of the newer classes. Five pages, 1 for cover and 2 for the OGL, this is for wood or Sylvan elves. Like the normal elf, this one is part fighter and part spellcaster. But in this case the spell caster is Druid. To support this the package includes a 13 page document of spells. Actually it is really nice. To date this is one of my favorite of the BRG classes. It takes a very simple idea and gives you a simple (as in elegant) solution.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sylvan Elf
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Swashbuckler
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:39:35
I am not a fan of pirates. I know people love them, I never quite got it myself. For me it is always "ninjas" that get the vote. The Swashbuckler class allows you to channel your inner pirate. Like all the BRG class the book is not long (5 pages with 1 for cover and 2 for the OGL) but it gets right to the point and delivers a solid class. If you like Swashbucklers (and this one is more Erol Flynn and less Captain Jack Sparrow) then this is a good buy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swashbuckler
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Plague & Shadow: Wererats
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:39:05
All about Were-rats. Again this is not a class book, more of an indepth monster guide. There is history, new creatures and magic items. Not at all what I expected and I mean that in the most positive way. It was much more than I expected.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Plague & Shadow: Wererats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Minotaur
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:38:41
The Minotaur seems to be one of those classes/races that people either love or hate. Myself I am not a fan. BUT that doesn't mean that this is not a good class. It is one of BRG newer classes, so it is well thought out and written. Plus it is a good class. I mean there is nothing about it that says it is unplayable to me and I am sure that the people out there that love Minotaurs will be very happy with this. For me, I might "skin" it and make a Half-Ogre class.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Minotaur
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mercenary
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:37:50
This one is really neat. It's a Starships & Spacemen class for starters. And it works great for that. In truth it is three classes that you can use how you need. This takes S&S from something that mostly "Star Trek" and makes it more Traveller. What I think is most interesting here is the market this opens up for BRG. Suddenly LL classes could now be converted to S&S classes with this template in mind.
I noticed the S&S compatibility license but not the OGL. Might need to add that.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mercenary
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Halflings: Tales from the Fireside
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:35:14
This one is a bit different. First it is longer than all the other books at 23 pages. This is guide on playing halflings and what you can do with them. It is actually a rather fun book. It even has an evil counterpart in a monster section.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Halflings: Tales from the Fireside
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Half-Orc
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:34:36
Another one of the missing races from the "Basic" versions of the books. The Half-orc is a fighter with some nice abilities to cause extra damage and fear in others. Compared the classic Dwarf and Halfling classes this one works quite well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Half-Orc
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 44 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG