RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by S M K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2016 14:05:30

Fantastic! This will be my space opera go-to for the foreseeable future!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Frozen Fortress of the Winter Warlord
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2015 08:58:52

I've enjoyed reading several of Spahn's character creations for Labyrinth Lord over the past few months, so it doesn't surprise me that he can write a heck of a good adventure as well. The part you read to players is italicized and monster/treasure stats are separated and indented, making reading easy on the eyes. The module has new magic items (I especially love the sword). New creatures! (My favorite is the Clerical Lich). The bad guy at the end has an entire page dedicated to him - the character development is really good. There are a couple of NPCs and player handouts (text) of Notes & Journals to hand out. A couple of small suggestions if any updates are planned: use actual #'s for the locations, don't spell out twelve (12). Also I would remove "NPC" from the monster stat line and just bold print the actual monster name instead. Not including the maps, the PDF is over 50 pages. So you're getting alot of value for such a fair price. I was very impressed with what I got for my money on this purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frozen Fortress of the Winter Warlord
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by forest r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2015 14:27:24

I picked this game up on a recommendation from a friend. After looking it over I am glad I did. With the release of a certain movie I have decided to use it for my winter campaign at church (Yes, Role Playing Games have a place in Church.) Once some of my group found out they could run generic versions of a certain group from said movie they were hooked. I am looking forward to running this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

White Box Chivalry [Swords & Wizardry]
by Wayne H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2015 20:04:04

James eats dreams and lives White Box Swords and Wizardry. You can count on all of his supplements being great and this one lives up to that reputation. It doesn't contain new classes, but rules on becoming a Knight and learning knightly skills. If you love White Box, you will love James' work



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box Chivalry [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

White Box Chivalry [Swords & Wizardry]
by Joshua D. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2015 11:16:41

t this point in the long game of the OSR, +James Spahn and Barrel Rider Games need no introduction. James has made a name for himself in quality material. His White Star Sci-Fi setting for Swords & Wizardry White Box has not dropped below 5th place on RPGnow's hottest 100 listing since the day after its release nearly a year ago, and many of his over products dot the list on any giving day. I suspect his newest product, White Box Chivalry, will be on the top 10 before the end of the weekend and for good reason.


White Box Chivalry is a 13 page box that adds knightly conduct, appointments, and life to the various fantasy worlds of Swords & Wizardry White Box. While mostly tables, White Box Chivalry is nicely detailed, and doesn't miss a beat in its explanation on the hows and the whys behind how a player-character could stumble into knighthood. All-in-all, its a good read and is easily implemented into any pre-existing game.


Unfortunately, it does have some flaws. The Accolade System, while awesome, is mildly confusing and I needed to read it three times before I got a handle on it. Also, while billed as being available for any race/class combination, it leans very heavily toward human/fighter (for obvious reasons) and is very hard for any other races or classes to achieve the honor. Still it is a minor gripe and one that leads to some interesting questions about different demi-human kingdoms (Dwarves instantly come to mind) and how the negative and positive racial modifiers would change based on location, peoples, and cultural values.


Like the majority of James work, White Box Chivalry is very gameable, and is seeded with the DIY mindset of the OSR. It works best as a framework to be altered, changed, and evolved/devolved to the liking of individual tables and groups.


Reviewed originally at: http://geniuslocigames.blo-
gspot.com/2015/11/mini-review-white-box-chivalry-by.html?m=1-



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the great review! I appreciate a constructive point of view and did indeed design the product to be altered, changed or modified to suit an individual campaign\'s needs and styles.
White Box Options: Psychic Talents [Swords & Wizardry]
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/11/2015 12:31:19

At 10 pages this book really exemplifies what people love about S&W. Quick and easy rules that slot in nicely with the game they are playing. This is more of a psychic wild talent add on. Feels similar to the wild talent powers in AD&D1 or even OD&D. Random table of powers and descriptions of all the powers. Not a bad deal for just under 2 bucks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box Options: Psychic Talents [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2015 12:09:16

I'm not familiar with Swords & Wizardry, but I bought this based on the reviews. I was expecting a bit more, which I don't fault the publisher. It's got a common theme for space RPGs and the rules and mechanics are simple and familiar based on older RPGs. (I say that because some of the concepts I had already included in my old Star Frontiers games way back when -- one example, Star Knights). Overall the product is a good buy for the money and a great tool to expand upon, especially if you want to keep things simple.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Class Compendium
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2015 23:30:45

Original review from http://realmsofchirak.blogspo-
t.com/2015/09/capsule-review-class-compendium-for.html
based on the print edition which I purchased.


The Class Compendium from Barrel Rider Games is at last available in a print format. As I understand it this is a compendium of prior classes which were sold individually, although it looks to me like there's a whole lot more in here....235 pages' worth, in fact. It's available in print and PDF for $29.99 or PDF only for $9.99. If you do a lot of OSR gaming, I suggest a print copy for the table.


The Class Compendium is aimed directly at Labyrinth Lord but as with most OSR content you can adapt it with minimal fuss to your preferred brand of retroclone (or just use it straight up with B/X D&D). Here's a quick run-down on the book's contents:


4 new wizard classes (alienist, familiar, thopian gnome, wild wizard)
3 new dwarf classes (ragins layer, runesmith, warchanter)
4 new elf classes (dark elf, greensinger, half-elf, sylvan elf)
5 new halfling classes (burglar, feast master, huckster, lucky fool, tavern singer)
4 new clerical classes (angel, friar, inquisitor, undead slayer)
3 new knight/fighter classes (commander, dragon slayer, knight)
5 new barbarian warrior type classes (barbarian, berserker, gladiator, samurai, sword master)
5 new monstrous classes (dragon, goblin, half-ogre, half-orc, treant)
3 classes based on the Lost Boys/Peter Pan (fairy, lost boy, pirate)
4 new thief type classes (acrobat, explorer, fortune teller, wanderer)
4 evil classes (cultist, damphir, death knight, eidolon)
4 urban adventurer classes (bandit, bard, bounty hunter, watchman)
4 victorian steampunk classes (automaton, investigator, metaphysician, shootist)
a page of new equipment (elf-shot bows and bullseye lanterns)
a page on mastery points and other classes (using some sword master class rules to enhance core classes)
three pages on firearms rules (and 8 weapons in detail)
over 60 pages of spells (includes core LL spells and new spells; basically a spell compendium to support the classes in this tome)


That's a lot of stuff --52 new classes in total. What you get here is sufficient to provide a lot of flavor and thematic focus for any LL or B/X style campaign, and most of these classes (barring the racial classes) can be used as-is with Swords & Wizardry or OSRIC. The fact is....you could provide this book at your table, and baring specific setting limits (i.e. no monster or evil classes) you could readily end up with an entire table that does not contain a single one of the core classes in your campaign.


Without actually playtesting each class it's hard to comment on their mechanical viability, but each class I've read has distinct features and qualities to make them stand out from just playing "core." Nothing in particular looks overbearing....although I imagine you might not want to let someone roll up a death knight in your otherwise vanilla dungeon crawl, unless they plan on being the villain.


You could pick and choose classes from this book as well to flesh out a campaign idea: steampunk games, monster-centric games, urban adventures and even a setting focused entirely on non-magic users could be well supported with this book. The idea of a Lost Boys style Peter Pan adventure in Neverland is intriguing, too (sorry in an earlier blog I suggested you could to Alice in Wonderland due to a momentary brain lapse, I meant Peter Pan!)


Class Compendium also wisely avoids vampiric classes (which suffer in every iteration of D&D I've seen), although the damphir is done quite well.


Oddly there's only one east-Asian class here: the samurai. Perhaps a future tome will add the shukenja, wu-jen or kensai types that would let one flesh out a proper Asian fantasy campaign. Elves are another exception in this book: you get four new classes, but only one is a themed class (greensinger), whereas halflings get five unique classes and dwarves another three. So we now have "dark elf" for example, but no "dark elf ranger" or "dark elf matron" or even something like a bladesinger.


There are also a lot of spells....a huge number in fact, but many are reprinted from LL, adding the additional details necessary to support the classes in this tome. As such, if you have a spell casting character from this book, you can also use the Class Compendium to manage his spell lists.


In terms of style and art, the book is utilitarian in design, easy to print out if you choose not to go with a POD option, and the art is a mix of creative commons, royalty free and commissioned art....all of it looks good, nothing offensive or tonally off.


If you're like me and always felt that the racial classes of B/X D&D were the major stumbling block to properly enjoying the game, then Class Compendium definitely helps fix that. If you like diversity in class options, this book is for you. My advice is: get this, you will find it well worth your investment. A+



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Class Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by Paul W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2015 22:26:53

Fantastic port of Swords & Wizardry. The base campaign is very Star Wars-y, but this toolbox can be used for any fast-action sci-fi gaming using an OSR base. Indispensable in its simplicity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

White Box In Boots [Swords & Wizardry]
by Harry K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2015 00:26:39

Every so often, you come across an idea so brilliant, so clever, so you that you wonder why you didn't think of EXACTLY this years ago. This is one of those ideas. Literally, Puss In Boots re-imagined as a player character class for Swords & Wizardry. Not a human-sized, scaled up cat, no sirree. A cat-sized cat. With cap, cape, a dagger, and of course boots.


Absolutely brilliant.


-punkrabbitt



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box In Boots [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by Jeremiah M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2015 00:04:13

Okay, I will go ahead and write review. I covered this on youtube, if you want more rambly version.


First, the only reason I give this a 4 instead of a five is there is no 4.5. I like the game, overall, but I would not say it is for everyone. It is a system meant to be hacked, like the old D&D often was. If you have the bug of a game designer, and you are just looking for a framework to make stuff, this is awesome. It is structured off the old school model of D&D, using a complete compatibility with Swords and Wizardry. It is, by design, stripped down and simplified. The game is a start to a project.. I want to make something and here is my start point.


There are a lot of people that will not work for. Many games come complete with all you need to slip into them. No need to hack a bunch of stuff to fit in. The worlds are detailed in many books, with a lot of lore to learn. I love those games too, but White Star is not like that. You have a basic system to learn, some little bits of lore give you starting point, and you do the rest yourself. If you are not looking for that, this game may not be for you. There are a number of third party people making content for White Star, so you really can fill a lot of stuff it might lack, but the main reason to buy it is to try your hand at making your own stuff. It does that job really well.


Beyond the game design elements, the actual published work is solid. It is well laid out, and has a good amount of art. The art is better than a lot of indie publishers manage. The text is easy to read, and I spotted no glaring errors in the text. It is a professionally put together pdf.


Anyway.... those are my thoughts. I don't write many reviews, but maybe I should do that more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by Keith P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2015 19:34:37

An outstanding use of the Swords & Wizardry (read: original D&D) rules and mechanics, if the latter had been designed for space opera rather than fantasy.


Like original D&D, White Star's rules are simple and straightforward, and leave considerable room for the referee to tailor elements of the game to meet the needs of his/her campaign. For example, I love the generic races, which allows the referee to plug in whatever classic (or home brew) race of beings suits his/her needs. I also like the way that melee and missile combat rules are carried over to starship combat. The rules also contain an excellent bestiary.


The only two drawbacks are the lack of encounter tables, and cover art that just didn't seem right. But those are not showstoppers.


I would love to see a series of adventure supplements similar to the classic AD&D G- and D-series modules. I would also love to see a POD copy made available for those of us who don't like reading PDFs.


Outstanding game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2015 20:26:56

Great artwork with an amazing layout! The application of Swords & Wizardry Whitebox rules set in scifi format is elegant and familiar. This book is perfect, I need to own a copy in hardback.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by Jerry L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2015 00:49:25

White Star euphoria has seemingly overrun the OSR community at large of late...
Not a shocker, it is the best retro-clone space rpg currently available.
Praise has been littered high and low since its release with little constructive criticism, aside from the omission of encounter tables perhaps.
But really, there are more pressing concerns that have not been addressed, such as:
Isn't it strange that ALL of the classes in this stand-alone OSR rulebook are considered IP and not Open Content?
Wow.
That's like the traditional Cleric, Fighter, Magic-User, and Thief never being allowed for use in any publisher's product.
How can archetypes so common to the sci-fi genre (such as Mercenary or Pilot) be considered anyone's property anyway?
Another issue is that there are only generic monikers for races with no options given to customize them.
"Brute" race?
Maybe there was a self-imposed deadline (May the 4th, SW Day) to unleash this .pdf a bit sooner than proper development time would allow for?
Honestly, with a few more minor tweaks, White Star becomes the be-all-end-all of S&W Space Opera!


Liked: Overall Concept, Layout, Writing, Equipment, Ships, Bestiary
Disliked: No Encounter Tables, Classes and Races aren't Open Content, Races need customization Options.
All of these things are ESSENTIAL to the core rules before even CONSIDERING releasing a
print version!!!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
\"Isn\'t it strange that ALL of the classes in this stand-alone OSR rulebook are considered IP and not Open Content?\" Actually, this has since been updated and Chapter 2 is now considered Open Content. Thanks for the review!
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2015 13:13:22

Buy this right now. Seriously. Tidy, well written, awesome sci-fi game. This is all you need to adventure in space!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 90 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG