RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Spiritual Warfare the RPG
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2010 13:04:02
Not sure what to think about this one.
On one hand it is neat little rpg and the premise is certainly noteworthy. On the other there is nothing here that is "fantastic", it feels like a homebrew or indie game (which is fine) but it lacks that spark that you get with the best Indie games. Not being a Christian I can't judge it on that merit, but I certainly give the author credit for trying something new and for trying to bridge a gap that should be bridged. In the end I'll give it a point for "good job on you!" and another for really trying to bring something new to the market. Despite the warning on the cover, I am not a Christian and I didn't hate this game. I am not likely to ever play it, but then again I am not the target audience either. One thing I can't deny, the author reinforces the fact that the characters are supposed to be good and just heroes. This puts it firmly in the same mindset of modern versions of D&D.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Spiritual Warfare the RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Spiritual Warfare the RPG 4th Edition
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2010 02:32:42
Warning: To Catholics. I suppose we 'still' aren't Christians.

System is okay. Not too hard to bypass the questionable use of scripture. If you want an almost four color approach to fantasy and morality then this is pretty appropriate.

The given setting withstands superficial scrutiny. To be entirely fair, it is very difficult considering the sources and subject matter.

You will possibly like this game if you don't think too hard about it, and are a more fundamentalist type who doesn't think rpgs all reek of the pit, which is unlikely since, well read the big banner thingy.

0 stars for the predicable, perpetually recycled anti-Catholic (under?)tones.
2 stars for the game itself.
5 for what I believe is the authorial intent.
1 for the execution of same

Overall. 'Eh'.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Spiritual Warfare the RPG 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Blaze of Glory: Wild West Campaign Setting
by John H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2009 12:52:19
Forty-two page supplement 17 which are actual rules, 17 pages worth of a so-called setting, 1 page of index, & 4 pages of crappy maps. The rest is worthless. You have to own Golgotha Games’ “Spiritual Warfare” core rules to use this supplement.

This product is not worth what I paid for it. Where is the supernatural aspect of the game (a few Rhema, which is similar to spells, will not suffice)? The one page intro tries to explain what is going on but I can not figure out exactly what “is going on.” The only setting is a typical wild west town with no supernatural within its borders nor outside of it either. There is no stats on Angels or demons. The core “Spiritual Warfare” rules did not even have stats for a bestiary. There is no random event generator like in the core book either pertaining specifically to the west United States. The Old West slang section (2 pages) is sparse ( I have better resources than this section). The maps at the back of the book of “some” (5 total) buildings is awful (crap really). There is hardly any information on the American West throughout the supplement.

I am very disappointed. I wanted to have some sort of fleshed out Weird West setting to fight demons in the wild wild west. Demons and Gunslingers? Where are they? If you are looking for horror or the strange west you would be better to pick up “Werewolf: The Wild West” “All Flesh Must Be Eaten: Fistfull ‘O Zombies”, or “Deadlands”. If you want straight up Old West then look to purchase “Coyote Trail”, “GURPS: Wild West”, “Gunslingers & Gamblers”, “Boot Hill”, “Dust Devils Revenged”, Aces & Eights”, or “True20 Wild West”.

If I could I would like a refund or at least ½ of the purchase price back. Skip this product unless you really want to teach people scripture from the Bible or to role-play morality lessons (which is a good thing and then I would bump the rating to 3 stars).

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Blaze of Glory: Wild West Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Spiritual Warfare the RPG
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2008 19:55:18
Spiritual Warfare is a prime example of a "home-cooked" RPG. In other words, it seems that a role player simply combined several features from his favorite published games, made minor cosmetic changes and gave the resulting soup a new title. In spiritual warfare you can play a Human, an Elf, a Dwarf or a Halfling (sound familiar?). Your character has six stats including "strength," "spirit" and "fortitude" (minor cosmetic change). Your stat scores are actually pools of dice, not unlike the mechanics of the "Deadlands" system. To be fair, the game system is easy to learn and use, perfect for novice role-players.

Spiritual Warfare's conceit though is that this is a Christian RPG. The characters are expected to fight demons in the name of Jesus. To aid them, the characters have access to "rhema." These are passages of the bible which players can recite from memory to invoke an in-game miracle. This device was lifted part and parcel from the game "Dragonraid." At best it demonstrates grotesque lack of originality. At worst, it is outright plagarism.

Furthermore, it seems ironically blasphemous to take a real-world book that many people regard as sacred and turn it into a spellbook. Even the devil can recite scripture for the purposes of warping it out of context. Using the Word of God to invoke spells makes the bible seem like superstitious hoodoo. In short, this "game of ministry" is ironically blasphemous.

And contrary to the disclaimer, I do not dislike this game because of its Christian theme. I dislike it because it is a bad game.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Spiritual Warfare the RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Spiritual Warfare the RPG
by carlos f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2008 14:35:01
Ive tried to keep a very open mind about this book, honestly i have, but i just cant stomach it. Roleplaying and preaching just dont mix well in my opinion.
You aproach the evil heathen shaman. quote the scriptures, test his beliefs and try to convert him... If you roll well, maybe youll get a faith point and have a new member of the flock. If you roll bad, well thats tough.. better luck next time. If you roll bad when i GM a game the heathen shaman converts you, and you spend the rest of the saga sacrificing goats, painting yourself blue and singing blasphemous hymns to Yog Sothoth.
Theres absolutely no chance of anything remotely like this ever happening in this ruleset. Roleplaying is about living different lives, being a different person, not putting yourself in an elf disguise and doing exactly the same things you would do in real life. I respect people who think otherwise , but theres absolutely nothing in this game to rouse my interest.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Spiritual Warfare the RPG
by Anton S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2007 22:08:24
Interesting to see an rpg that is explicitly Christian in nature (D&D went with made-up gods to keep from offending anyone). I thought that the idea of the other fantasy races worshipping the Christian God of men kind of amusing, I always assumed that Elves would be more into the Druidic or Pagan stuff at least, and the assumption that the other races are descended from man, instead of maybe being created by God equally could lead to a slight superiority complex in men over the other races (God made us first so we're better than you) not very Christian, but men will be men, but I suppose that could be someones campaign idea. And the idea of using rhema(memory verses for all you Sunday schoolers) and the recitation of them in-game to invoke the power of God to smite your enemies or bless your allies is an interesting approach. If you memorized it, it takes you a shorter number of rounds to cast it, otherwise you spend a round or two looking up the scripture in-game. I'll have to do a little research to see if any scripture was taken out of context or not ( I'm picky about that sort of thing) but I don't want to start an argument over literal vs. metaphorical vs. any other type of interpretation.
The art was OK, but not up to WOTC standards. Some of the art in the book reminded me of the old red and blue book days.
I also found it a little strange to place in in a fantasy world, why not take a Christian game and set it during the Dark Ages, like the old computer rpg Darklands, it put you in medieval Germany, just that everything that was folklore or Catholic dogma actually exitsted. But overall it seems a good rules set, I might get my gaming group to try out a session or two.
I suppose this is just the game to get a Christian who still thinks D&D is "of the Devil" interested in a roleplaying game. But being a Christian who has been involved in D&D for over 20 years, this seems almost silly. I mean, in all our games, we're the good guys, fighting the bad guys and we really didn't pay much attention to in game religions because it was just a game and an evil demon was just another XP bank.
I also think the cover art should be part of the rulebook document.
So overall, the game looks solid enough, but it suffers in the art department compared to other products out there, but for the price range, I didn't expect to get blown away. Rules overall look solid and playable. Layout is good, text is readable. But when compared to other products out there from other publishers, it needs some work.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Spiritual Warfare the RPG
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2007 19:49:40
An absolutely awwsome Christian RPG. Well designed, well written, and a community forum that lets you create in the game world, and have access to the game designer.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spiritual Warfare the RPG
by Ricardo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2005 00:00:00
Very poor fair, strongly evangelical theme Christian RPG.

QUALITY: Poor

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Spiritual Warfare the RPG
by Karl K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2005 00:00:00
When I purchased this I had no idea it was a Christian RPG. Decent enough game not too preachy.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Foes Manual Vol. 1
by Isaac P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2003 00:00:00
The monsters have great stats and dificuly and are great for play;however the names given to them need a little work...actually they need alot of work.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Foes Manual Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
The names of the foes have been reworked. Enjoy!
Spiritual Warfare the RPG
by Isaac P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2003 00:00:00
This game is great I love it and it takes normal RolePlaying and finally adds a biblical side to it...Its a true master work.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Spiritual Warfare the RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Spiritual Warfare the RPG
by Butch K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2003 00:00:00
I belive that only One word describes AWSOME!!!!!!
God Speed

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Foes Manual Vol. 1
by Butch K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2003 00:00:00
I belive that only One word describes AWSOME!!!!!!
I love it
God Speed

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Foes Manual Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rhema Cards
by Tim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2003 00:00:00
Handy item for Spirital Warfare. I one wish would be to have the option of a set of cards without the back ground art, other then that, it's great.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rhema Cards
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Blaze of Glory: Wild West Campaign Setting
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2003 00:00:00
There was nothing inherently WRONG with the idea of a movie about *Jesse James Meets Frankenstein's Daughter* - it combines two of our favorite genres. What sunk the movie (other than a deliciously ludicrous title) was inept handling. If we're going to combine horror with the Wild West, we really need to do it well!

*Blaze of Glory* does it very well indeed.

Like its parent game of *Spiritual Warfare* (which you'll probably want also, though *Blaze* adapts well to many other rulesets), PCs will increase their chances of survival by gaining experience and knowledge of the mechanics of the universe. Knowing how to use an anti-demonic spell is as important as knowing when NOT to use it. Your average cowpokes are just as likely to not recognize the good guys from the bad, and the PCs will not gain friends by throwing lightning bolts about.

Strongly recommended -- and reallllly fun gamemasters will throw in some historical and legendary figures. I'm dying to see how Brett Maverick would react to a gambler who was being backed by Lucifer himself!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blaze of Glory: Wild West Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG