RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Infinite Trinkets
by P. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2016 11:09:18

This is a really neat bit of work for anyone running a game. The charts are well organized and work for those who like the random dice angle as well as those who want to find fast ideas (I'm in that latter category).


Coupled with the Infinite Tomes (from the same publisher), this allows for filling dungeons, laboratories, and libraries of all kinds!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Trinkets
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

5e Fiendopedia: Exotic Aberrations
by Gaetan V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2016 00:29:06

The artwork here is definitely 4 star quality. It looks very good, especially for the price. But the overall product has issues.


The most glaring issue here is formatting. The Stat Blocks are very non-standard. They break across columns, there are no dividing lines, they're not blocked off from the picture, they're just kind of a mess to read. If you look at something like Dan Coleman's "New Twist on Old Monsters" or stuff from Alea Publishing, they following the Wizard's MM layout quite closely. Alea's formatting may be even better than the original.


There are no page numbers.


There are also several rules and text problems. One creature has the "magical weapon" requirement, but the text is not consistent with the MM. Another creature has the ability to take 2 Move Actions in a turn which is incongruent with the movement rules in 5e (just double the movement). A few new Traits are created, but the wording is awkward. None of the creatures have proficiency on any saves, even the big ones, which makes the CR20 a little sketchy. "Legendary Actions" have been renamed to "Mythic Actions" for unknown reasons.


The last oddity is the incongruity of images to abilities. One creature has fly & climb, but no clear way to fly. Another creature has a "bludgeoning tentacle" attack but the picture clearly has 4 limbs with big claws.


For the price tag, these are some fun ideas, but they lack polish.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
5e Fiendopedia: Exotic Aberrations
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
We took your comments and incorporated them into an update. Thank you! Much of the reason for the odd layout, using the term \"mythic actions\" instead of \"legendary actions\", etc. was to be careful not to step on any legal toes. Now that the 5e SRD is out, we were able to adjust some of that. The lack of page numbers is because this product is envisioned more like the 2e D&D Monstrous Compendium where you can add our other Fiendopedias together and put them in a 3-hole-punch binder. (And sort them alphabetically... so the page numbers would very based on how many of these you have.) I think most of the rules issues you noted are cleaned up. The Neothelid has a magic fly (innate constant) ability, which is why it can, but doesn\'t have wings or anything like that.) The clawed tentacle now does slashing damage. If you\'ve got remaining specific critiques, please let us know at support at inkwellideas dot com
Infinite Tomes
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 13:23:47

Nice set of tables for randomly creating book titles, not only for Wizards' magical research book titles, but you can also create book titles for religious books to be found in temples, as well as historical book titles, which you might find in a sage's library, or the library of an aristocrat, as well. I discovered very quickly, that I preferred to peruse the table lists, to create my own titles. I also discovered that the making of book titles provided inspiration for possible adventures, based on the book titles, as well as the author names I created.


Overall, this product was worth every penny I paid for it. It will serve me very well in creating library book titles for a wizard's spell research library (I have created 100+ titles, thus far, and I am still going...), but it will also allow me to make up interesting book titles for other things (noblemen libraries, as well as temple libraries), which will inspire me, and my players, I hope, with adventure ideas.


I highly recommend this product if you want a fun way to populate library book titles for your RPG's. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Tomes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

NPC Portraits Deck: Fantasy
by Mark L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2015 12:53:49

Really love these. Wrote a review on my blog here: http://masterofdungeons.blogsp-
ot.com/2015/10/sunday-review-npc-portraits-deck.html

-

I highly recommend these, I improvise a ton in my games, which leaves my NPCs a little lackluster, plus these cards have good visuals for me to show my players. I recommend it, but I'd definitely pick up the physical cards, they're high quality.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NPC Portraits Deck: Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Encounter Decks 3
by Mark L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2015 12:51:26

Could not love this any more. Wrote a review at: http://masterofdungeons.blo-
gspot.com/2015/09/review-encounter-decks-3-by-inkwell.htmla>


I definitely think every DM should pick up this deck. I absolutely love it and it has been great for my style of Dungeon Mastering.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounter Decks 3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Encounter Decks 1
by P. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2015 14:41:06

This is a really wonderful product for ANY GM who has players of a, shall we say... 'creative nature' when it comes to following a planned adventure. Each card is chock-full of help for any number of situations, and even though it has a definite 'high fantasy' bias, I have found applications in many different kinds of RPG situations.


While I do give a 5-star ratings, there is one thing that would make this a lot better. A higher level contrast on the PDF file would make it easier to read these when printed out in black and white, and the text is difficult for my old-person eyes to read in B+W. In full-colour they look glorious, of course, and despite that I still love these cards! Well worth buying!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounter Decks 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Inkwell Stock Art: Skeletons (4)
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2015 09:55:14

Nice set of stock art. The skeletons do look a bit unnatural and could use some refinements but are okay. However if you look closely you can clearly see that this set is just ONE skeleton in ONE pose with different equipment sets.


All in all not a bad set but considering that it is just one pic with different cloth layers the price seems a bit high.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Inkwell Stock Art: Skeletons (4)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the feedback Christian. I know your comment is a couple months old, but for a while I just wanted the product to stand on its own and not give a knee-jerk response. However, we get so few reviews that I felt I should point out the below: Let me share with you our pricing strategy: basically, our stock art has a list price of $9.95, with a dollar extra per version when we do alternate versions of the creature. In this case we\'re doing 3 extras, so the list price is $12.95. I hope that the preview shows that it is the same skeleton/pose with varying clothing/weapons. We\'re not trying to hide that. We think $9.95 is fair for a generous stock art license of some very good art and the alternates add a bit more versatility/value. So my main point is we\'re not asking for 4x the price because there are 4 skeletons. We\'re not even asking for 2x the price.
NPC Portraits Deck: Fantasy
by Doug C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2015 12:43:33

I pre-ordered this through Kickstarter. The artwork was a bit of a let down, but the overall usefulness of the cards for NPC ideas is quite good.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
NPC Portraits Deck: Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monster Stand-Ins (Paper Minis)
by Marc H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2015 12:54:26

They work great and are super easy to use in the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Stand-Ins (Paper Minis)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creature Decks: Fate Core RPG Aberrations & Magical Beasts
by Nick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2014 18:27:31

The good: this is the perfect addition to any fantasy-based Fate game. There just aren't enough Fate monster resources out there, and having these creatures as easy-to-manage index cards is wonderful. The set has almost every monster you want and comes with good and reasonable options for all the creatures. You have Pegasus, two types of Nagas, Kraken, Otyugh, a Phase Tiger, and dozens more! If you want a more in depth book of monsters, pick up the Collectanea Creaturea, but if you want monster cards ready to go and drop into your game, pick this up! I'm certainly buying the rest of the decks, for over two hundred different Fate creatures.


Updated Review: This review previously complained about confusing editing. Unfortunately, I missed the author's explanation on the back of the title card, so everything makes perfect sense. I can now unreservedly give this card set 5/5. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creature Decks: Fate Core RPG Aberrations & Magical Beasts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Inkwell Stock Art: Basilisk
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2014 11:16:56

Great piece of artwork in a convenient format, which we were very happy to use in one of our publications.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inkwell Stock Art: Basilisk
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cityographer Fantasy City Map Icons (Any Editor)
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2014 15:03:29

The buildings in this pack are gorgeous. Don't let the plain terrain on the cover turn you off. It is designed for Inkwell's Cityographer program, but it works fine in Campaign Cartographer 3. It takes about 90 seconds worth of effort to create a symbol catalog for it in CC3. A tutorial on how to do this is here: https://w-
ww.youtube.com/watch?v=s5Lhz-QLpX0



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cityographer Fantasy City Map Icons (Any Editor)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Inkwell Stock Art: Zombies (4)
by Chris W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2012 20:00:29

This one's a keeper. Disgusting, rotten, horrifying... you can almost smell 'em! Plenty of freedom in the license, great quality and fit the genre well all at a great price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inkwell Stock Art: Zombies (4)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Inkwell Stock Art: Elemental, Fire
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2012 04:55:13

The stock art collection coming out of Inkwell Ideas continues to impress for various reasons, and the fire elemental is yet another of those pieces.


Struck me more as a minor elemental, with an almost playful sense to it, in a destructive violent way lol. Would love to see this artist's take on perhaps the same elemental type at a higher progression, or even an elemental lord.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inkwell Stock Art: Elemental, Fire
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Inkwell Stock Art: Dryad
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2012 03:22:37

For what it is the image is well done. Very clear and well colored. My issue would be that it seems a lot more cartoonish then it needed to be in the end. I think between the very bright colors and the facial expressions, not to mention the "bikini" of leaves, this image comes off almost as a whimsical take on a dryad...a Saturday Morning Cartoon version perhaps. Still, if that works within what you need, then the image is of good talent and skill, I just would have liked to have seen a more serious look at the dryad.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Inkwell Stock Art: Dryad
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG