RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Crawling Under A Broken Moon fanzine issue #12 (DCC)
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2016 21:22:58

Welcome back to the warm glow of the radioactive campfire my fellow mutants and adventurers. We've got a brand new glowing issue #12 of Crawling Under A Broken Moon. This is the type of issue that it crammed with material that can add the weirdness into the wastelands. This is the issue that could make an entire mini campaign happen in one issue. If your players don't hate clowns don't worry they will by the time they encounter the bastards and horror of Buddy O’Burger in the wastelands.
What do you get when you combined cannibalism,clowns, fast food chains,and minor gods of the wastelands? Well you get the cult, background, creatures, adventure opportunities, patron tables, minor monsters of Buddy O’Burger. Basically this brand new cult, patron, and faction all in one.
Here's what you get in this issue's tasty happy meal of pipping hot DCC radioactive glow of gaming goodness.



The lore of Buddy O’Burger, the beneficent burger god of Feasting, Customer Service, and Cannibalism.
Full deity and patron information including patron spells
A new class for those blessed by the gloved hand of Buddy.
Descriptions of Buddy’s hench-creatures and servants.
But is it worth the four dollars and fifty cents for the download? Yes in spades! Suddenly clerics have a brand new patron to really make their friends uncomfortable. You see buddy really does live up to his parody nature of certain beloved clown restaurant mascot and he's really, really, nasty. Buddy's cult is one part wasteland post apocalyptic fast food chain, two part's Eighties sci fi horror movie, and three parts of awesome. The dungeon master get's a complete cult and wasteland god patron with a really nasty secret not including the cannibalism. This issue is packed with everything you need to construct a full mini campaign. You can use the entire contents of this issue as full blown post apocalyptic faction with a minor god as the backbone of a wasteland territory. The artwork and layout of this issue all focus on Buddy O' Burger and using this mad bastard god and his forces as the central adventure hub as an enemy or friend of your mutants and adventurers.



Issue #12 Crawling Under A Broken Moon carries everything that a cleric of Buddy O'Burger needs and gives the dungeon master everything he could want to align these wasteland fast food cannibal cults into their DDC waste land games. Every thing from Buddy themed spell burn to taint as well as a cast of fast food minor mascots who have become minor god spirits in their own right is covered. This issue is both parody and more then slightly disturbing campaign fodder. I can see using this material in a modern DCC game where the post apocalyptic vibe is turned slightly down and the horror factor is high. This cult could fit into any small town America road warrior pit stop. The magic items and artifacts alone are awesome enough to bring the volume of weirdness up to thirteen.
If you want your clerics to have some very disturbing patrons and yet have some pre apocalyptic background action straight out of an 80's VHS comedy and horror movie then this is it. But is it useful? If you haven't figured out by now this is a solid issue with lots of weird potential to keep a Crawling wasteland campaign going for months. Grab this issue and bring the shining cannibalistic fast food faith of Buddy O'Burger to your corner of the wasteland. Five out of five for originality and dangerous fun with a weird bent
Eric Fabiachi
Sword and Stitchery Blog
Want to see more on this and other fanzines plus
original OSR content. Please subscribe to
http://swordsa-
ndstitchery.blogspot.com



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crawling Under A Broken Moon fanzine issue #12 (DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crawling Under A Broken Moon fanzine issue #5 (DCC)
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2015 01:07:51

Everyday at three o'clock when school let out I raced home to watch He Man and the Masters Of The Universe. Alright not really, He-man was awesome but I was too busy dodging bullies and playing in graveyards and besides I was more of a Thundarr The Barbarian kinda guy. But He-Man was later added into the roster of characters when I began to really understand the old school cartoon movement and the He-Man/Conan connection. Which brings me to issue five of Crawling Under A Broken Moon issue #5 for the Dungeon Crawl Classics rpg. Basically issue number five of CUBM is a big fat post apocalypitic love letter to Eighties He Man. Serious this issue is one huge passing OSR right hook to the get after school sword and sorcery barbarian cartoons. But is it good? Yes it is if A, Your into the material that this issue is featuring and B. The ideas here are fully developed with an eye toward giving the dungeon master everything they need to get this sort of campaign off the ground with little issue.
Far in the northern reaches of Umerica lay the lands of Aetheria where the Masters of Castle Oldskull do fierce battle with the lich Skull-Or and his mighty minions!


Articles on both the lands of Aethera and the neighbouring Darklands
The Aetherian Hero character class
The Ancient tech of the Un Men! The secret to the power of Aetheria.
And, the Wizard hating Warrior Patron, Castle Oldskull

The awesome here is turned up to eleven with all of the material in this issue directly related to getting your parties playing in the lands of Oldskull and doing in a bit of a state of style. This material isn't going to be to everyone's liking but if your into having your gonzo action notched up and the ideas here are fresh, well done retreads but done in such a cleaver way as to actually make this very playable.
But is it worth your time? Well yes, yes it is. The ideas here are to take the tropes of He-Man twist them on their ears and then make them as a playable PC class with the the Aetherian Hero.The campaign setting of Aethera and the neighboring Darklands is not only playable but fits the DCC game and adventure setting very well. There was a huge chunk of He - Man was the background material and peoples. Here we get to dive behind the curtain and gets a feeling for the Ancient tech of the Un Men! The secret to the power of Aetheria in the wasteland and for your campaigns. We get the full damn sword and post apocalyptic treatment in issue five and it tears deeply into the pop culture myth and mythology of this very issue. We have everything from major players in the storyline to half forgotten PC's. All of this is done with style and wit this includes the Wizard hating Warrior Patron, Castle Oldskull. Should you grab Issue five of Crawling Under A Broken Moon? Yes and in point of fact if your into He Man or any of the 80'd cartoon universes then this is issue for you.
Eric Fabiaschi Sword and Stitchery Blog.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Crawling Under A Broken Moon fanzine issue #5 (DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crawling Under A Broken Moon fanzine issue #1 (DCC)
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2015 01:45:04

Crawling Under A Broken Moon takes it points from every post apocalyptic trope known in science fantasy movies, literature, gaming, and spins it through the DCC rpg system. The issue is pretty nicely packed with some very familiar material here. The first article describes maintaining the air of what its like trying to describe the post apocalyptic world to your players. There's an artifact condition table and some pretty solid advice. Next up we get the technologist and in true DCC fashion we get a nice little rounded out PC class. There's enough here to work with and add into the back part of the DCC system. This class is probably one of the most useful folks for a full post apocalyptic party. The class is pretty well balanced for a gonzo game. Over all the first couple of bits are not bad at all.
Weapons of the Wastelands which includes rules for Firearms,gun smith work, and lots of familiar modern firearms and some energy weapons thrown into the mix.
Twisted Menagerie gives four mutated mutant monsters for the DCC wasteland crawl campaign. The Sharkhana is a humor filled nightmare for your adventurers to encounter. The mutant menace reminds me of a certain 90's shark themed cartoon and it hits a certain nostalgia spot. The Debris Elemental is a monster I've seen used in quite a few old school rpgs and this is always a favorite to see it used in the ruins. The sentry bot is perfect for your malls of murder or ruins of doom. It comes with a complete chart for its behavior and malfunction, this looks like it would be fun to play around. The Lobstrosity is a take off on the Lovecraftian Mi Go retrofitted into the UnAmerica setting.
Blooms Fashions is an adventure location that can be dropped into any mall or ruined strip mall. Not too bad of a location to drop into a game. I can see using this in some ways. Not a bad first effort for a fanzine, personally I'd wait till she goes on sale. And then grab a copy but all in all its worth the effort for a download.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Crawling Under A Broken Moon fanzine issue #1 (DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crawling Under A Broken Moon fanzine issue #6 (DCC)
by Daniel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2015 13:21:56

Best issue yet.


DCC meets Car Wars in the wasteland roadways of post-Apocalyptic Umerica. Evocative but simple rules for vehicles, chases, and vehicular combat. A class that definitely fits the setting well, and feels unique rather than tacked-on. Gang generator. 100 Road-side encounters from the excellent blog Elfmaids & Octopi. A perfect new monster with a built-in reason for the PCs to go looking for it.


This issue makes me want to write an adventure just to play with the new toys. It's that good.


Get it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crawling Under A Broken Moon fanzine issue #6 (DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crawling Under A Broken Moon fanzine issue #3 (DCC)
by Daniel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2014 14:45:25

Consider this a place-holder for a full review.


With issue #3 CUABM really comes into its own. This issue offers more info for making 0-level PCs suitable for Umerica, and it offers a suitable 0-level funnel for those characters to die horribly in. There is a ton to like about this funnel as well.


Kudos!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crawling Under A Broken Moon fanzine issue #3 (DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crawling Under A Broken Moon fanzine issue #3 (DCC)
by Venger S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2014 12:23:09

I was given a complimentary review PDF of this product.


Crawling Under a Broken Moon fanzine issue #3 is my first encounter with CUaBM, but not my first encounter with Dungeon Crawl Classics fanzines or gonzo, post-apocalyptic science-fantasy. Overall impression: it's awesome!


Issue #3 is pretty much all adventure. As in, the entire thing is a zero-level funnel adventure for DCC. It's got a sweet little hook that's as familiar as it is compelling: a settlement is being harassed by raiders who can kick the crap out of them. You start out as one of the settlers! Although, later in the background section, it mentions that the settlement in question tried to raid someplace else and because of that failed raid, they must now pay a tribute, like reparations or something. That paints a different picture. Less sympathetic but a little more interesting. Really, a GM could go either way.


So, the entire reason for going into this creepy, forbidden mall is salvage. Find enough stuff to load up the tribute truck and your village won't be destroyed or looted beyond all recognition. The module includes rules for determining how much stuff will take up room in the tribute truck. Pretty neat, although it may become a hassle to track after awhile if gamers are math-adverse (like me).


What I want to know is... how many of these farmers-turned-adventurers are looking for weapons or magic/tech items in order to thrash the enemy raiders? If I was playing, that would be my #1 priority. No one puts baby in a corner. Did I just say that? Hells yeah, I did!


I like the three factions within the mall. The map and occasional "bad art" are also cool.


Besides a few typos, one criticism I have is an over-reliance on modern D&D skill checks and standardized rules yielding a mechanical bonus or penalty. For example, in Ward's Forest of Bugs and Shrooms there's a haze of spores in the area which has an effect on PCs hanging out there for more than a few minutes. Great stuff. But then it goes on to say, "Any PCs staying in the area for more than a few minutes must make a Fort save DC 10 each 30 minutes or suffer a 1 die penalty to their action dice due to mild hallucinations for the next 1d3 hours." I would have rather had a description of physical or mental side effects or an illustration of what those hallucinations might include. Stuff like that. Not a huge deal but it's the little things that count.


I love all the various locations - sunglasses hut, food court, ice dream (?) parlour, etc. Some neat descriptions evoke a vague sense of both Escape from New York and Dawn of the Dead (the original, of course). Not so much Thundarr the Barbarian but that doesn't really bother me.


There are some notes at the end on where to go from here (short but very sweet), followed by new monsters. I got to give an extra special shout-out to these bizarre creatures. They're 1 part silly, 1 part strange, and 1 part awesome. I can totally see myself using them in other OSR type adventures, either standard D&D (retro-clones) or something like Mutant Future / Gamma World.


I'm glad CUaBM is out there and that I've been exposed to it like a radioactive fungus - bring on the mutations!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crawling Under A Broken Moon fanzine issue #1 (DCC)
by Jeffrey K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2014 17:34:33

If you ever wanted to adventure in the world of Thundarr the Barbarian, or if after checking out the Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG thought "Man, I wish someone would make this rule system work with a Gamma World type setting", then the Crawling Under A Broken Moon fanzine is just want you've been looking for. Don't let the word 'fanzine' discourage you, as Reid San Filippo has created some top-notch content here.


A Look Inside


The neon orange cover offers an excellent logo, with so-so artwork, but don't judge this book by its cover.


Page 1 offers an Introduction, explaining the background and purpose of the fanzine - to bring the post-apocalypse to Dungeon Crawl Classics.


Page 2 provides a Table of Contents, Credits and Submission Guidelines.


Pages 3 to 5 gives tips on running DCC in a post-apocalyptic science fantasy setting, along with a useful table to determine the condition of items found.


Pages 6 to 13 offers a new DCC character class, The Technologist, which will fill a necessary role in any post-apocalyptic adventuring party.


Pages 14 to 16 provides statistics for guns in DCC. This is another essential article, as what would a post-apocalypse setting be without firearms?


Pages 17 to 22 contains four new monsters. The best one of these is the Lobstrosity, which reminded me of a Lovecraftian monster, the Mi-go, yet gave a refreshingly humorous take on the monster which fits in with a DCC post-apocalyptic setting perfectly. I hope to see more Lovecraftian monsters given same treatment in future issues.


Pages 23 and 24 describes a new location, which could be in one of the stores of a mall. I like the idea of locations in future issues fleshing out a "Mall of America" type area.


Summary and Conclusions


This fanzine is chock full of content, with much of it being very essential in order to run a post-apocalyptic campaign with the Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG. For what this issue does, getting both a hard copy and PDF for $4.00 is a steal. I haven't felt this thrilled by getting a magazine in the mail since Autoduel Quarterly, especially since it states next issue will have the Mutant Character Class. The bottom line is purchasing extremely useful content such as this is a very easy decision to make.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crawling Under A Broken Moon fanzine issue #1 (DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tales of Wyn D'mere Role Playing Game!
by Dan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2003 00:00:00

While Shield of Faith has thus far failed to help flesh out their Tales RPG with additional suppliments and books (which is why I took off a star), the base book and system are definetly one of my favorites of all time. Unlike other clunky & hard to use RPG systems that focus almost solely on the "what" of charectors instead of the "who", Tales system of taking background choices and having that influence what you can learn and such works very nicely to help flesh out "who" a charector is. The charector creation can be a little confusing and hard to get used to, but the complexity supports a very complex charector that is made specific to each player. If SoFS could get off their behinds and update the Tales system, and add to it, they could very easily have the best RPG on the market, for the cheapest price too.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of Wyn D'mere Role Playing Game!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tales of Wyn D'mere Role Playing Game!
by Tim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2002 00:00:00

Tales of Wyn D'Mere is one of the more inovative role-playing games I have every played. Character creation, while long and leaning on the complex side, allows for the creation of a character's history and background while building the character like no other system I have ever played. Characters are whole beings durring creation, making for a much more natural role-playing experience, as they have a true history that is mapped out through the creation.


Once you get to actualy playing, the system flows quite well. There is some math involved while playing, but nothing that requires anything more complex than a sheet of scratch paper to add up high rolls. The game plays very naturaly, and allows for great customization of characters, as well as the world set around them. Monsters are origional and will keep players guessing as they run into new and exotic creatures. The world is rich in detail with plenty of room to customize your own little nitch of the world.


I highly recomend this system to any moderate to advanced roleplayer who is looking for a system that weaves characters with depth and personality as well as moving quickly along with mechanics.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG