RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mining Colony
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/10/2014 11:07:54
Nice simple yet elegant plans for a mining colony on a planet, moon or large asteroid - somewhere without an atmosphere, or at best with one that's unbreathable. The base exists on two levels (more if you decide to add in bits of DramaScape's Space Station blueprints) with a small surface presence and more extensive tunnels underground.

What's nice is the amount of background information provided. Naturally, you can discard any of it that does not suit your requirements but there's a lot of useful stuff about the importance of the atmospheric processing plant and the hydroponics facility and a neat sketch map - suitable for a player hand-out - giving an overview of the layout.

As for the full blueprints, they come as multipage versions with square or hex grid (or none) that you need to print out and assemble and as giant JPEGs for virtual tabletops, poster-scale printers or those who want to edit the plans in a graphics package before use. The single-sheet images come without any grid.

Whether you're planning a claustrophobic Aliens-style game, a passing visit to a mining colony, an artefact hunt or any other plot that includes mining or excavating activities, this could prove very useful.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mining Colony
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Catacombs
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/25/2014 09:33:10
I'm getting claustrophobia just looking at this!

It's a complex layout of lots of small chambers and twisty passages, patchily lit and with great potential for an exciting underground investigation whatever genre of game you are playing. Modern and even future games may well include this kind of structure - just imagine creeping around one in your spacesuit!

There is a single page overview and segmented miniatures-scaled versions with hex grid, square grid or no grid in the PDF, and giant single-sheet JPGs for virtual table top users (or those with access to poster-printing facilities). The high standard of almost photo-realistic crisp art that we've come to expect from DramaScape is displayed, with lots of detail down to smashed coffins leaking bones over the floor.

Accompanying text gives a verbal description of the complex room by room and also some suggestions for how to use it in your games, all fantasy-themed.

My only quibble is that half the fun of dungeon-crawling is not knowing what is around the next corner, and this battlemap's design makes it quite difficult for the GM to reveal it stage-by-stage rather than all at once.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Catacombs
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Above Decks Volume Three: Tramp Steamer
by Dennis M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2014 11:03:06
This is a great steam ship map I used for Space: 1889. I did not mind that there are no interiors. We could imagine them. It uses 3 ft. squares and hexes, which is fine, though I would have preferred 5 ft., which is the default in the Ubiquity rules, I don't know about others. The print-out is pretty large (2x8 pages). Uses up a lot of ink (esp. cyan), but looks impressive once cut and taped together.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Above Decks Volume Three: Tramp Steamer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Sacrificial Pool
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/03/2014 12:33:52
Creative and well-conceived, this tile set gives you a printable map of an oceanside sacrificial pool embedded in a larger complex. In general, it makes a great scene for a big confrontation, and the introductory text even suggests a possible adventure hook. DramaScape provides square overlay, hex overlay, and no overlay maps for printing—which is great, but really should have been handled with PDF layers instead of three versions of each tile. You also get one large map for VTT use. The coloration of the scene brings coral to mind, which is good for a seaside facility like this, but the textures seem overdone and the edges between features would be more helpful if they were a bit more distinct. Even so, it's a unique and useful product. Do be sure that your printer has at least a full 8x10 printable area, however, or you'll lose some of each tile.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sacrificial Pool
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Sewer Junction
by Andrew J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2014 23:26:12
I really want to like Dramascapes work. I want them to be good for the sake that they are so prolific if nothing else. However, no matter how much I want their products to be good, I just can't.

If I use anything that they produce for my games, I spend the whole time trying to confer with my players as to what each thing is supposed to be. Their maps are just so much visual noise with no clear distinction between one object and another. Each "map" appears to just be a series of commercial textures overlaid over each other haphazardly. The shadowing, when it exists, follows no lighting logic.

The creators for this company produce so much, I just wish that they would instead take the time to make a few items of quality. Unfortunately, their products are simply unusable.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Sewer Junction
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Space Station
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/30/2014 09:59:52
You can get starship plans a-plenty for your SF game, but space stations are less common. So it's good to have a comprehensive and versatile one...

This one is pretty good as far as it goes. There are five levels in all and something called an 'outer platform' which is a little unclear as to what it is for, precisely. The bulk of the cubic is in two accommodation levels, one designated officer country with space for four of them along with kitchen, wardroom, conference space, a couple of offices and the mysterious Alpha Core. The other is much more cramped with space for 48 crewmen. They get a kitchen, mess hall and a large but shared bathroom space (officers have en suite facilities). The other three levels are a medbay, a bridge and the security facility, complete with a cell block.

As well as the usual overview there's a second one which shows what the individual spaces are - the main version, used in all the scale drawings, has drawings of the furniture and other fixtures and fittings rather than labels. The full-scale drawings come in single sheet (for virtual table top use) and in 3 forms of page-by-page - square grid, hex grid and plain. The single sheet versions are plain and ungridded, one sheet per level. These are all 'line art' blueprint style rather than photorealistic, of course, fitting in with other issues in this series. I find the drawings less crisp than I'd like, but they give a good impression of what's where.

However, what sort of space station is it? What do all those crewmen do? There are no work areas, no docking facilities, nowhere for visitors to go... it feels like you have only got part of the picture, that this might be the resident staff block of a larger space station rather than the whole thing.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Space Station
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
You know when you really need a way to sneak in and there is that coms array you have seen with an airlock next to it, well thats the outer platform.
Skull Cove
by Eric L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2014 16:08:10
This will be a great addition to the 50 Fathoms PPC I'm about to run. Interesting NPC's and Savage Tales. A lot of artwork and the 360 viewer is a sweet touch as always. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it lacks a VTT version of the map (could be made available as a freebie perhaps?) and I wish the 360 viewer was also packaged as a player handout. I run most of my games online and being able to share that portion of the product with the players would really add to the experience. Thanks for a great product!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Skull Cove
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Virtual Tabletop Tokens Fantasy Vol 1
by Malcolm W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2014 16:30:02
I agree with Ian's assessment of the file names. Extraordinarily poor choice. That said, the tokens are pretty nice, and worth the $2.99 I paid (on sale). Just wish I didn't have to rename them all.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Virtual Tabletop Tokens Fantasy Vol 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Virtual Tabletop Tokens Fantasy Vol 1
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2014 06:49:43
I understand the categorization of the tokens as is, but I was supremely disappointed in the lack of useful naming of the individual tokens. Monster 3 does not tell me that it is a spider, as a result I am going to have to go through all the icons and manually rename most of them, and I'm only doing that because I paid for them, otherwise they'd be binned as too much effort.

Regards

Ian Murphy

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
SciFi Floor Plans [BUNDLE]
by Brett T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2014 01:34:32
Anything with VTT files is awesome!
The traditional method of shipping tiles in PDF files is something I now actively avoid. They are more trouble than they are worth.
If you use Virtual Desktop environments such as D20Pro or Roll20, I have found this incredibly useful.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SciFi Floor Plans [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Bank
by Joshua T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2014 22:34:07
This map was great works great for skirmish games and horror survival games.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Bank
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Beach House
by Joshua T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2014 22:33:07
This map was great works great for skirmish games and horror survival games.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beach House
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
CityScape Vol1
by Dave G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2014 14:10:30
It's good, however note that this is only for print and play use, it's no good for VTT use, however, see the alternative product :-).
I bought this before they released the VTT version, which is the same set of tiles, but in jpg format instead of PDF as you get here.

Note that 2 pairs of tiles are almost identical (rail and river going under a bridge - left & right), so you could almost say this is only 33 tiles, but that's still sufficient to build a good layout.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CityScape Vol1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
CityScape Vol1 Virtual Tabletop Version
by Dave G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2014 14:03:37
Great set of tiles, plenty of detail and enough variety to allow a large variety of city blocks to be built up.
Roads, rail tracks (with rails crossing over and under roads), and a variety of buildings and typical scenery to place alongside the roads.

It is missing a curved turn however, so you've got to work on right angles for every turn unfortunately.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CityScape Vol1 Virtual Tabletop Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Beach House
by Dave G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2014 13:40:21
Nice house, very handy map.

VTT image (jpg) has labels, and both levels on the one image unfortunately, which detracts from the immediate use, but that is easily rectified with a bit of judicious editing.

An ideal lair for a villain though!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Beach House
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 183 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG