RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Vulcan Class Logistical Production Unit
by william b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2017 13:21:42
Well thought out, with useful information and suggestions for both Ref and Player. Even thug there are no deckplans included it isnt a problme for this particular vessel. Since it is likely that every vessel of this type will be different and players will not be spending a great deal of tie aboard the vessel. A Quick tuhmbnail sketch of the interior created by the Ref should be all a game session might need.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vulcan Class Logistical Production Unit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vehicle Handbook
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2017 20:01:24

Lots of great options. From bicycles to massive anti-grav battleships, if you can invision it you can build it. The system is easier to follow then the one for spaceships (High Guard), but then again a minivan isn't as complicated as a starship.

My main complaint is the example vehicles don't go tell you how many spaces are being used for crew/passengers. The book suggests 1–5 (or more) per person, but the exact number isn't given for the examples.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vehicle Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Reach Adventure 2: Theories of Everything
by Marius F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2017 03:58:33

Bought it, read it, but never found it worth running.

This adventure is based entirely around the conflict of a set of NPC's. To run this as intended you need to be an exceptional GM. Or at least be a great voice actor. With out beeing able to play out wierd conflicts between NPC so that the PC find them interesting and try to brake up the fight/argument I think this is not going to work.

I'm playing around with the idea of turning this into a one-shot by using the NPC's as pre-generated PC and letting the players sort out the conflict, and the GM taking the role that was intended for the players.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Reach Adventure 2: Theories of Everything
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Referee's Briefing 2: Anomalies and Wonders
by Marius F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2017 03:52:39

13 page of interesting ideas for places the PC can visit. A few of them gave me ideas that could probably result in a few sessions og gaming. Though expensive for rather few pages I found it worth it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Referee's Briefing 2: Anomalies and Wonders
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Referee's Briefing 1: Companies & Corporations
by Marius F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2017 01:40:37

This small booklet contains 17 pages describind companies that can be inserted into any campaign. A few of the companiex have neat ideas, but most of them are fairly standard. Though it is a ok product it is not awesome value for money.

I'm giving it three stars becaus:

  • Non of the companies got me reel exited
  • Non of the companies was interesting enought to spawn of adventure ideas
  • All of the companies is usable in my current campaign as added falvour


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Referee's Briefing 1: Companies & Corporations
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vehicle Handbook
by Philip G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2017 14:54:17

This is an interesting supplement for a few different reasons. First is that it provides players and referees alike a good amount of information concerning vehicles in the near future and how to go about modifying and creating your own. The rules provided in the beginning are based on a system of “spaces” that can be allocated different things from cargo to weapons to travellers to armor. The number of spaces a vehicle can have is based on the general chassis/design. A light ground vehicle for example can have between 1-20 spaces whereas a ship would have 50+ spaces. The spaces determine how much room you have for “Stuff”, the base cost of the vehicle, and how many tons it takes to freight your design in the cargo of another vessel. Those with high guard (or other similar games with starship design) will feel right at home with trying to optimize things and keep them under a size and cost. After reading through the book I fired up my favorite spreadsheet software to keep track of costs and sizes and went about designing an armed six-seater vehicle. The process was pretty straightforward except when things bog down calculating the exact cost of the “spaces” of a vehicle, especially when armor comes into play. Some things like camo are X cost per space, whereas some things like armor are a percent increase per space. The book makes it clear that you always go back to the first value when calculating, but it does get a bit messy. Options wise there are plenty of things to do with your vehicles and you can construct pretty much anything from a TL 3 sailing vessel to a TL 10 hover tank to a TL 15 bioweapon-sporting submarine reasonably quickly. Things with armor and multiple “plusses and minuses” to agility, speed, fuel economy, fuel capacity, cargo storage, personnel capacity, and ammo storage can get a little much to manage, but it’s all doable and it gets easier as you run through a few different designs. The book also makes it clear that at the end of the day you should use whatever makes sense to you regardless of what the rules say to do. There are even suggestions on handling cheaper mass-produced vehicles as needed. The second half of the text is a guide to a bunch of standard vehicles that you can expect to see in a traveler game from a P-51 (cunningly called the Vanguard) to a Nuclear Machinegun toting drone. Some of the images that the authors chose to go with the vehicle designs remind me of 1990s adventure game graphics where they show pre-rendered (in glorious 8-bit color) 3d models that were never quite right. It’s not a bad thing as this is just the basis for a paper and pencil RPG, but sometimes my players like looking through these books as if they were fashion magazines for the latest model. From an editing standpoint, the book is fairly well done but it needs a bit of love from a spelling perspective as there are some glaring typos that seem out of place in a modern, slickly produced document. The charts are easy to read and the authors were smart to include references directly to the core rulebook, high guard, and supply catalog as needed. The PDF runs well on my tablet as well as desktop computer. All in all, it’s a pretty solid handbook for designing your own vehicles for use in a traveller game. The provided examples are great for modifying or as a basis for your own designs. There are little things that bother me from a mechanic perspective such as sensors and how modern electronic warfare is conducted, but I can just imagine how that would needlessly complicate things to have specific in game rules controlling them. Content wise 4/5. It’s good and gets my imagination going without burdening things too much. My ultra-modern T-80U with ERA and laser point defense will certainly slow my players down.
Value wise 2/5. It is far too expensive for just a PDF, and it’s pushing it for a softcover. It would have been great had they included a page for say "light tank" and then showed how it changes over time across new technology levels with appropriate graphics. 50-60 pages of those kinds of things would have been great. The book also misses a few modern technologies such as missile/laser warning systems, gunfire locators or even ballistic tracking radars to make it easier to locate hidden attackers. Get it if you want to design your own vehicles and get an idea of extra vehiclular options, otherwise the ones in the core book plus a little imagination here or there will satisfy most of your gaming needs. Now if you'll excuse me I have to finish my horse-drawn planetary defense motorcycle design...



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vehicle Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Referee's Aid 8: Traders & Raiders
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2017 13:06:54

A nice overview of raiding and piracy in Traveller. No hard numbers here, just some good ideas for scenarios and methods to generate scenarios. Lots of text here. I liked it, and it gave me some decent scenario / plot ideas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Referee's Aid 8: Traders & Raiders
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Universal Planetary Profile Sheet for Traveller
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2017 12:54:43

It is inexpensive, but you get what you pay for. This is essentially a sheet for UWP with a rollbar to print out the detail lines from Traveller products for the UWP String. Nothing fancy. You have to calculate the potential trade codes out yourself. I printed out a sheet of this for a planet and players were non plusssed, because this just tabulates what you get from the book reading of the UWP code.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Universal Planetary Profile Sheet for Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Space Encounters
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2017 12:48:13

Good clear easy to read tables here. Lots of good ideas for combats, etc. for the busy referee who is stuck for something happening in space.

Especially the jump in and out of the system diagram, that helped to make it clear what is going on. Lots of good encounters ideas. I can't wait to expand on this. LIKED IT A LOT.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D66 Compendium 2
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2017 12:44:50

Solid product. I bundled this and Compendium into a binder to take with me to Traveller sessions as Referee. Great stuff for ideas.

This also works as a brainstroming setup for writing. looking at the names, events and places, then with it all in your mind get a flavor.

Easy enough when printed out to change up some details by crossing out and writing in new ones. can't wait to make up some of my own tables. This product and compendium would be well served by including a few table blanks numbered 11 to 66.

10 bucks well spent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D66 Compendium 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Victory at Sea
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2017 07:23:08

I have played several scenarios using 1:6000 scale naval miniatures and find the rules to be a decent balance of accuracy and ease of play. There are some rules that need to be modified such as the air and anti-aircraft sections. For movement, it is more accurate (and quicker) to alternate moving formations of ships as opposed to individual ships. I also found that using AP and Super AP special abilities gives too much advantage to heavy guns as well as the Weak special ability should not apply to firing on destroyes and below. I also noted the torpedo belt is a good rule but needs some clarification as rerolling every damage die that was succesful seems a bit extreme. I have yet to include submarines to test those rules. Overall, a good set of rules.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Victory at Sea
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book 0: Introduction to Traveller
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2017 13:48:37

By my reckoning, this falls cleanly into the "basic version" category of intros rather than the "light version": I personally think 34 pages is a little more than some players are interested in reading to test a new ruleset, as some of mine have strong feelings about 'homework'.

The introduction page seems like a solid and compact overview suitable even for new players. The chargen section does a reasonable job of presenting everything you need; it's hard to make the lifepath rules sleek and simple, but it's well-explained at least.

I do think the choice to restrict careers was sensible (it saves a lot of placecount), but I'd question the choice of Army and Navy only. It's great if you want to run a fairly pulpy combat-based game, but that seems to massively limit your options. Most of my sci-fi background, even the planet-hopping stuff, is in civilian-focused stories; moreover, the primary focus NOT being on combat is one of the more interesting things about Traveller to me. I think this would be much improved by swapping out one of these (probably Army) for a sample civilian career. That way, a GM can easily have players generate characters naturally suited to and motivated for a game that's either got a combat focus, or a more exploratory and social focus. As it stands I think you could get the wrong idea here and assume it's essentially about fighting - especially as the lack of setting information means it's easy to write up a group of space pirates to fight, but hard to plan the mapping of an undiscovered planet.

The rules also omit the Draft rules entirely, but have not been adjusted - there are multiple references to the Draft, including a "see opposite" when "opposite" is a textbox about commissions - and this is likely to be quite confusing to a player or GM not already familiar with the rules.

Similarly, a lot of the pagecount comes down to quite detailed descriptions of what each of the skills does. I think a genuinely light ruleset could be created with abbreviated versions, but on the other hand, for the GM it's nice to have these.

There are some presentation glitches in my copy: bold text is misplaced so it sometimes runs over the normal text, causing some legibility issues.

I think this free version gives you plenty to run trial games of Traveller and establish whether you might be interested in turning it into a campaign where the fuller rules and expanded sections on equipment, trade, spacecraft and background would be needed. However, it does have the substantial downside of including no setting information whatsoever, no information on species, and definitely no plots. A GM with a good idea what they want to do with a crunchy sci-fi game should be fine, a GM who likes the idea but wants more support may have trouble.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book 0: Introduction to Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Caennai Class Merchantman
by Patrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2017 09:13:06

Nice design and useful new ship BUT some (big) proofreading of the text is badly needed (and this is a comment by a non-native english reader) !



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Caennai Class Merchantman
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

High Guard: Aslan
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2017 10:21:34

A new edition revamp of the Aslan (Book1) ships from MGT, now with added 2-D deckplans (alas, not in color, but with some helpful furniture and machinery). PROS: Solid color art and stats in the new Traveller format, interesting axonometric plan drawings, some supporting info.

CONS: Didn't have 2-D plans initially, when I purchased the supplement (But thanks for adding them....), the 2-D plans are also not in color-but are superior to the B/W plans in the original MGT Book1 Aslan supplement. Little new information on Aslan naval command structure or clan tactics was provided (cf. Fighting Ships)-one hopes this may appear in the forthcoming Pirates of Drinax mega-adventure in support of the Prodigal Outcast or Finale chapters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
High Guard: Aslan
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Space Encounters
by Alexander I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2017 22:01:32

Many ideals I haven't seen anywhere else. Good attempt and well worth the price if you need a collection of roll tables for space encounters. Adds a section on starship detection and combat with damage tables.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Space Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 668 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG