RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Solomani Rim
by Gary R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2013 14:40:23
What can be said about the Solomani Rim? The lay-out was good and well presented .I like'd the inclusion of 2 new alien race's ,both of which was couver'd with enough detail to keep them playable . the Maps where as the standard set in the other sector books and you had enough detail on the more intreasting planets to help along any writers block you may have as a Gm , with enough systems left in broad brush strokes so you can spread your elbows. The only things i didn't like was the lack of a example of a vegan spacecraft and having to scratch my head as to the meaning of mr in the notes to the planets.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solomani Rim
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Legend: The Spider God's Bride
by Samuel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2013 11:44:48
The version now available is the updated SGB, with all of the conversion problems sorted out.

"The Wolf" (Darren Pearce) made sure the following was done:

Fixed: NPCs, this includes restoring description, tactics and possessions.
Fixed: Monsters in adventures.
Fixed: Monster appendix.
Fixed: Chapter on gods, cults and demons with Legend style Sorcery as the basis for the cults themselves.
Fixed: Adventures (minor text) with additions and clarifications.
New: Magic items.
New: Magic chapter.
New: Poison appendix

Brilliant set of scenarios set in the World of Xoth.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend: The Spider God's Bride
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Walter the Wobot - 3D Model
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2013 15:16:19
Let me start by saying that this is a very good, detailed model of Walter. The problem with this piece is that no effort seems to have been made to make sure that it prints well. In it's default position, you will need to print extensive supports, which will almost certainly cause you to break the overly delicate arms when you try to remove the supports. Further, many of the details are scaled so that even at a .01 layer height, they are obscured.

Reposing the model, and then splitting it into a few pieces to eliminate overhangs would have made this a nice, easy print. As it is, even with significant work and experience, I can't get a satisfactory print from this model. I'm sure it prints beautifully on a professional grade printer, but I'd imagine most of the prospective buyers on this site, like me, are going to try to print with a sub-$2000 consumer printer.

I'm a gamer, and I'm a 3D printing enthusiast. I'd love to see the two come together like this. But, unless the models being sold can be easily printed by consumer-grade hardware, I think this will just lead to a bunch of unhappy buyers, who will wish that they'd spent $4.50 on a lead model.

Great idea. Horrible execution. Don't buy this unless you have significant 3D printing expertise and a fairly high-end printer.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Walter the Wobot - 3D Model
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Book 1: Mercenary
by Glen W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2013 10:33:52
When I purchased this book I thought it was going to be more like the original Mercenary book. However, it was not. The thing I liked most about the original was the in depth treatment of creating military characters such as Army or Marines. This book took an entirely different tack and created all new classes of mercenaries that began from Army, Marine or another branch first. Although I understand it I am still disappointed that further detail for Army and Marine characters was left out. I enjoyed rolling histories and missions, earning ribbons etc for my characters with the original rules. That often helped to flesh them out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book 1: Mercenary
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Vikings of Legend
by George T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2013 08:49:14
It is a good book but it's 234 pages and hard to navigate.

I only use digital books now and there is 1 bookmark in the whole book. I know the books pdf's are protected but being unable to add your own bookmarks is poor, making it user unfriendly for skipping to specific sections.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vikings of Legend
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Monsters of Legend
by George T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2013 08:20:21
Had to mark this down as you have to buy it if you want Legend statted creatures, I also find it very annoying that I can't add bookmarks to the pdf.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Legend
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Starports
by Timothy T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2013 00:19:13
Look there some material in this book. However, it could have been a lot better.
1st: You did state what level each starport could get. Like A starport should get everything, But B starport should get as much as A starport, so what the difference then. Besides what's in Core Rule book, you did not even include type information.
2nd: How about pictures of starports, or even maps. Like for example: Make diagrams of each starport, then each add on you what or buy paste or tape that on, too.
3rd: All different extras that come along with that type of starport. For Example: special Imperial bases also.
Maps would nice too.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Starports
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Legend: The Spider God's Bride
by Niels A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2013 20:43:57
The Spider God's Bride is a collection of Sword and Sorcery adventures in the mold of Robert E. Howard's Conan and Kull stories. To be upfront, I do not play the Legend System so I really did not pay attention to the stats for the NPCs and the Monsters. I am actually going to use it with Crypts and Things. What I really loved about this product were the adventures. The title alone comes across as a the title of a novel from the 70's or 80's that would find in a used book store these days complete with a lurid cover of brawny warrior with a broadsword protecting a beautiful, scantily clad woman from a demon from the pits of Hell. Evil cults, dark gods, demons, rogues, cut throats, fowl sorcerers, mysterious women: all of that you can find in these adventures. I really think that this product captures the spirit of Sword and Sorcery fiction. Mongoose did a great job with the old Conan RPG and The Spider God's Bride shows that they still do sword and sorcery RPG adventures better than just about anyone.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend: The Spider God's Bride
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cities of Fantasy - Stonebridge
by armand b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2013 18:42:37
a very good book as far as the writing goes. I enjoyed reading it immensely, and it was quite useful. Sadly, the file is so compressed the illustrations are really, really messed up. Hence the 3 stars only.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cities of Fantasy - Stonebridge
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ultimate NPCs
by Hoyle A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2013 19:08:55
This is really an excellent resource for any type of game. It's focused on D20 fantasy, but the first 70 pages or so are all quite useful no matter what system you play. Sure, that Orc might be a prison guard brute, but that's an easy fix. Also there are TONS of tables, for example surnames in English, Celtic/Irish, French, German, Gypsy, Italian, Norman, Japanese, Russian, Saxon, Scottish, Viking, plus Arthurian, Dwarvish, Elvish, and Orcish. There are tables for clothing types and styles, hair styles, appearance quirks and minor mannerisms. This alone is worth the current asking price of the book!

There are alignment tables. Is this evil character cruel, or just lazy? Xenophobic or arrogant? Is your hero npc patient or peaceful? This really helps flesh out characters to make them more real.

Then there are scads of character descriptions with stats (which you could tweak for different systems) .. Really good and believable backstories!

Who lives where and why is covered too. Now this is more specific to a feudal fantasy setting, but you can probably tweak this with a little imagination.

In short, this is a GREAT resource for the current price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate NPCs
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Star Fleet: Romulan Reference Cards
by Kent C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2013 16:46:29
Awesome job on the reference cards. Well worth the purchase.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Fleet: Romulan Reference Cards
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Legend: The Spider God's Bride
by james g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2013 06:21:54
This is a conversion to the Legend rules system based on an original D20 publication by Morten Braten from Xoth.net.

As it stands now (23rd Feb 2013) its a real mess because of the way the conversion was handled - all of the stats for NPCs are essentially unusable - however, Mongoose have responded to complaints and have commissioned a revision which is currently being worked on. It is unclear how long this is going to take or what the result will finally look like.

My original review: (which is still accurate as things stand)
There are some real problems - little consideration of how magic works, how cults work, cultural backgrounds lack detail, NPCs and especially NPC sorcerers and magic users have been very poorly converted. The original D20 NPC antagonists are fairly powerful spell users, here they have been translated to very bland low skill magic users - not only have their spells been reduced to one or two spells - it's usually the *same* two spells from sorcerer to sorcerer. Much of the characterisation has been lost because of this, let alone the fact that these NPCs are now pushovers due to the huge reduction in their capabilities.

Given that the whole point of this publication is to convert the original D20 book to the Legend rules I think it is very poor value. I would recommend going to to Xoth.net and buying the original directly from him and doing the conversion yourself, it's also almost half the price of this.

There's one plus to this version - it's got better maps.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Legend: The Spider God's Bride
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Monsters of Legend
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/14/2013 07:37:32
Wer sich von den bisherigen beiden Artikeln zu Legend (Grundregelwerk | Spielbericht) dazu hat verführen lassen, das Spiel einmal ausprobieren, dem werden ein paar ordentliche Monster gefehlt haben. Gerade, wenn man noch nicht so viel Erfahrung in einem System hat, ist das Improvisieren schwierig. Darum setze ich meine kleine Serie im dritten und letzten Teil mit einer Rezension von Monsters of Legend fort, dem Kreaturenbuch zu Legend.

Erscheinungsbild

Das Werk liegt mir als englisches PDF vor. Es ist, wie schon das Grundregelwerk schlicht gehalten, enthält aber alle paar Seiten über ein großes Monsterbild. Leider sind diese eher einfach und immer in schwarz/weiß gehalten, aber keinesfalls schlecht gemacht. Ich hätte mir nur inspirierendere Darstellungen gewünscht. Die Lesbarkeit ist durchweg gut. Einen Index gibt es leider auch hier nicht. Dafür steht das Werk unter der OGL, wie schon das Grundregelwerk.

Inhalt

Das Buch enthält - Überraschung - ein Monster nach dem anderen. Es gibt zu jedem eine kurze Beschreibung und alle nötigen Spielwerte. Insgesamt enthält das Werk 77 Kreaturen, die in die Gruppen Humanoide, Wirbellose (in diesem Fall meist einfach Insekten), Dinosaurier und Reptilien, legendäre Kreaturen (Fantasywesen, wie Werwölfe oder Zombies) und fallen. Mit dabei sind vor allem Klassiker, wie Bären, Wölfe, Orks und Medusen. Ein gutes Grundpaket also, um die Spielercharaktere ordentlich zu quälen oder sogar 6 Fuß tiefer zu legen.

Als ich einen Bär auf die Abenteuer gehetzt habe, fiel mir auf, dass Tiere keine Evade-Fertigkeit haben. In diesem Kampf haben wir mit vollen Regeln gekämpft und der Abenteuer im Nahkampf kämpfte mit einem Langspeer. Um daran vorbei zu kommen und den Gegner überhaupt angreifen zu können, brauchte der Bär allerdings genau besagte Evade-Fertigkeit. Nun kann es sein, dass Tiere nicht unbedingt viel Zeit ihres Lebens darauf verwenden gezielt auszuweichen. Eine Fähigkeit, die jeder Charakter ohne es zu lernen hat, und die eine zentrale Rolle im Kampfsystem spielt, sollte aber jedes Monster haben.

Zudem gibt es bei Legend Regeln für NSCs, die es dem Spielleiter erlauben, diese im Kampf einfacher handzuhaben. Dazu gehört auch die Möglichkeit, dass der ganze NSC nur eine einzige Trefferzone hat. Dafür hat er dort mehr Trefferpunkte. So ein Wert wäre für den normalen Standard-Ork hilfreich gewesen, fehlt aber in den Buch.

Am Beginn des Buches gibt es noch Erklärungen von Spezialfähigkeiten und Sonderregeln, wie z.B. Regeln für Geister. Es gibt auch einen längeren Abschnitt über Kreaturen des Chaos, in dem es eine Tabelle für chaosbezogene Eigenschaften und Körperformen (arachnid, vogelartig, ...) gibt. Was es damit auf sich hat, ist mir nicht klar geworden. Ich denke mal, es hängt mit dem Setting von Legend zusammen.

Insgesamt bietet Monsters of Legend solide Hausmannskost. Nicht viel Besonderes, aber als erstes Monsterbuch sollten auch zunächst die üblichen Monster abgedeckt sein, bevor es abgefahren werden kann. Trotzdem ist die Qualität nicht die Beste.

Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis

77 Monster für umgerechnet 8,95€ bzw. 14,92€? Da kann man nicht meckern. Aber etwas Farbe und schönere Bilder hatten dem Werk gut getan. Trotzdem ist es definitiv nicht überteuert. Der Preis geht in Ordnung. Einen Bonuspunkt gibt es an dieser Stelle für das Veröffentlichen unter der OGL.

Fazit

Monsters of Legend ist ein eher schlichtes Buch für den kleinen Geldbeutel. Es gibt einem das an die Hand, was man zunächst braucht, um in einer Fantasywelt loszulegen. Wer Legend spielen will, der sollte es sich einmal anschauen. Auch für „Selbstschreiber“, die Regeln für ihre Welt suchen und dabei Legend in Betracht ziehen, lohnt sich ein Blick. Sie können sich viel Arbeit sparen.

Unsere Bewertung

Erscheinungsbild „3/5“ Schlicht, aber keineswegs schlecht.
Inhalt „3/5“ Es sind einige Monster, doch die Qualität lässt ein wenig zu wünschen übrig.
Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis „4.5/5“ Mit dem aktuellen Rabatt gut, sonst würde ich einen halben Punkt weniger geben. Zudem gibt es einen Punkt Bonus für die OGL.
Gesamt „3.5/5“ Ein solides Werk, das einen Blick wert ist.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Legend
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wayfarers: Trouble at Niven's Creek
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/11/2013 10:54:33
Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2012/02/13/tabletop-review-trouble-
-at-nivens-creek-wayfarers/

Author's Note: This product was actually available for FREE on this site a year ago.Now it's been re-released for five dollars, which is a bit nonsensical. The free version has also been removed meaning that if you didn't pick this up last year, you're stuck having to pay the five dollars. The below review as for the original free version of the product. I enjoyed it for what it was but I had to knock the score down for the strange and sudden decision to charge for a formally free adventure.

I’m a sucker for free adventures with foreboding names and so when I saw Trouble at Niven’s Creek, I knew I was going to download it. Of course, the fact it was a free adventure with one of the neatest covers I’ve seen in a while didn’t hurt either. Even though DriveThruRPG.com lists Trouble at Niven’s Creek as a OGL/d20 adventure, it’s actually for the Wayfarers Roleplaying Game. More specifically it’s for the Revised version of Wayfarers…which won’t be out until later this year. This made going through the adventure a bit more difficult. After all, it’s filled with system specific terminology and without the core rulebook, the lexicon can come across a bit nonsensical. The good news is that the original version of the Wayfarers core rulebook is on Drivethrurpg.com for less than four dollars. Which means if you download this adventure and the system seems like an interesting one, you can always try to make it work with the original version of the rules or wait for the Revised edition to be released.

Trouble at Niven’s Creek is for three to five players between 0 and 2nd level. Yes, there are 0 level characters in Wayfarers. It threw me off a bit at first too, but I remembered 1st Ed AD&D had something similar going on with Cavaliers. That’s not the only thing that will throw you for a loop as you read the adventure. Trouble at Niven’s Creek has neither a clear beginning or ending. Instead, it leaves that in the hands of the GM. This is a bit odd, especially for an adventure that says it was, “created to be run at a convention or as an introductory adventure.” I would think an either of those would be a little more concrete or hand holding, but that’s not how Wayfarers does things. The writers of the adventure itself seem to pride themselves on that, but it also makes the adventure a bit inaccessible to new GMs.

The adventurer revolves around a group of missing surveyors. This party went to explore “The Tomb of Vey Moss” and never came back. The PCs are there to solve what went wrong and recover any bodies that they can. The adventure then hinges on exploring the Tomb along with the DM deciding who betrays who as well as why, when, where and how. The adventure itself gives you a set of possible outcomes but they are only vague threads that the GM need to fully flesh out.

It’s not just the endings that the adventure is sparse on details with, but with locations and NPCs as well. The major NPCs only get about a paragraph of description while minor NPCs get a sentence. The entire town of Niven’s Creek only gets three-fourths of a page. For GMs and players who like a lot of detail to their published adventures, Trouble at Niven’s Creek will probably rub them the wrong way. “How big is this building? What can I search?” Etc. Etc. For a GM just looking for a few plot threads that they can weave into their own unique story however, I can definitely see this adventure going over well.

The one thing that is nicely detailed is the Tomb of Vey Moss itself. I won’t spoil things, but the whole plot of the Tomb reminds me of my old Rastipede from Spelljammer. This fourteen room dungeon gets six pages of description. It’s not the most intricate of interesting of locales, but it’s fine for low level characters. The Tomb contains a nice variety of monsters and magical items for the party to find, although it does seem to have a LOT more treasure than one would expect for an introductory level adventure. The adventure concludes with several pages of monster stats, NPC stats, a list of magic items, a random monster chart and finally, some pre-generated characters. In fact the only thing missing from this adventure is a set of quick start rules. I’m not sure why Trouble at Niven’s Creek doesn’t have QSRs, as that seems like a glaring oversight. After all, the Revised rules that the adventure is made for aren’t out yet and so something should be included to make it a) playable and b) decipherable to newcomers. Sure the contents will make sense to those that already own the original version of Wayfarers, but a free introductory adventure needs to be inviting and sadly, that’s something Trouble at Niven’s Creek just ISN’T.

I found the system in Wayfarers to be interesting, and this particular adventure piqued my interest enough that I’ll probably pick up the Revised rules once those are released, but for now I can’t really recommend the adventure. Newcomers won’t be able to make heads or tails of what is going on and people who already own the older version of Wayfarers will probably want to wait for Revised before picking this up. At the same time, the adventure IS free and it’s an interesting look at a system most gamers are probably unfamiliar with so although I can’t outright recommend, I can say that those gamers who are always interested or curious about gameplay mechanics might enjoy pouring this adventure over.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wayfarers: Trouble at Niven's Creek
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Book 0: Introduction to Traveller
by Shane M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2013 04:23:57
I used this to help get through a session where the players were rolling their characters - as we only had my core rule book between 6 of us. It's a cut down version of the players side of the rules and there's enough there to take care of most of the character creation process without having to refer to the core rulebook. It also gives the army and navy careers in full as well. There's other material inside as well but I didn't get to that - but it's useful to have to hand either printed or on a device. The page numbers referenced in the text won't make sense as they refer to the original core rulebook and not this cut down version but it's no big deal if you have the core rulebook as well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book 0: Introduction to Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 46 to 60 (of 513 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG