RPGNow.com
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
D66 Compendium 2
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2016 20:56:20

Very useful, despite my limited RPG time these days, I find it useful for both RPGs and Sci-fi wargames.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D66 Compendium 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D66 Compendium 2
by Richard N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2016 14:50:35

I purchased the first compendium some time ago and found it to be an awesome tool for helping with adding flavor to my campaign. I use it at least once or twice every session and when I am preparing. So when I saw that the 2nd was out I snagged it right awayand was pleasntly surprised to see that they "kicked it up a notch" this time around. Not only are there pages and pages of names for everything from people to pets to famous space battles to recreational drugs, they have added D66 Event tables for careers to use during character creation! And they are awesome! I would highly recommend this (and the 1st one!) to anyone who has ever had that moment when a player asks "So, what is the name of...." and you drew a blank.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D66 Compendium 2
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2016 00:04:00

I was looking for some new Events to use. I asked for suggestions and was told this was what I wanted. So I came and bought it. I was not disapointed in any way. Not only did it have an event table for "Life Events" but lso had events for each of the core careers in the Traveller core rule set. Some fo these are great background ideas. Add to that the book has many more tables that will be quite useful I am sure. Overall this product was well worth the price I paid for it. I would strongly recomend this to any Traveller GM. I am glad I added this to my collection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encyclopaedia Arcane Chronomancy
by gerald h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2016 02:51:59

I'd really thought that Demonology had to be the lowpoint of the Encyclopaedia Arcane series, until I read the Chronomancy installment.

Basically the entire book revolves around the Chronomancer feat. It requires 5 ranks in Knowledge: Continuum (inclass Bards & Wizards only until you take the feat.), spell casting, and for you to pick two of five listed metamagic feats. Three of which aren't in either the core rulebook or this one. No idea if they even exist. One of the required is Quicken Spell, which you won't be able to use for several levels if you're getting it Chronomancer as quickly as possible. Which you'll probably need to, since all acquisitions are preceded by going insane.

You're a fighter who has learned too much about the continuum & paradox because Chronomancy is a thing? Congratulations, you're insane. And going to be completely insane, increasingly homicidal, and overall handled like a bad npc until you pick up 5-6 levels of Wizard. So you can take the chronomancer feat and pick up a quirk. Most of which are badly written potential death sentences. No you don't get a choice on how YOUR character responds to the knowledge, the book has spoken.

Oh, and you get to track multiple types of paradox and run them through the clunky rules to determine how it's going to affect every type of roll on your character sheet. Doesn't this sound fun?

Then there's ritual chronomancy which allows you to complicatedly, but quickly, perform things that would actually be fun if you did them the hard way. Also, it massively increases paradox, which will wipe you out of existence eventually. Or give you more quirks. Yay.

You also have two prestige classes, one of which requires you to be an 8th level wiz/sorc then give up spellcasting for a bunch of abilities that mostly only work against chronomancers. It also requires multiclassing to pick up the six required feats. The other requires basically every feat or skillpoint on your character sheet for ten levels to qualify for. Don't worry, it doesn't include Concentration. You didn't need that right?

Chronomancers are supposed to be lonely hermits according to the book, which makes them a bad choice for a PC in general. Especially since the only way it really seems like this book would work for a party is if everyone was a wizard aiming for the same prestige class.

Frequent, bizarre death (Paranoia) and insanity caused by an insane universe (Call of Cthulhu) can work just fine, and even be part of the appeal, in a game. However, those all have strong thematic reasons and everything works towards it. That leads to fun role play. AE Chronomancy combines clunky mechanics with hamfisted railroading to lead to annoying roll play instead.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Encyclopaedia Arcane Chronomancy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Jeremiah Roleplaying Game
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2016 17:05:30

I only watched a few episodes of this show, but I can tell this sourcebook seems to capture the feeling of the show well. It is an interesting and well thought out post apocalyptic world. At around $5, the price is great for the pdf.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jeremiah Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Touch of Power: Core Rule Book 1
by Kerry H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2016 20:50:12

Well that was a waste of $5.99, this book has absolutly nothing to do with Traveller (mechanics or settings wise) from what I can tell. It appears to be nothing but a poorly written fantasy heartbreaker, so I find it really odd that it's showing up under Mongoose's Traveller's Aid Society stuff.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Touch of Power: Core Rule Book 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Introducing.. Alicia Debeaux
by gundabhai j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2016 01:38:14

Wow what A Relief To watch this amazing book. Please help the community by making your reviews constructive and informative. Give reasons why you think this product is good or bad. Reviews which lack constructive elements may be deleted since they don't offer the community useful information.

If you feel that this product was poorly scanned, or had some other technical issue, please contact us and let us know about it so that we can resolve the issue.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Introducing.. Alicia Debeaux
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Traveller (French Language Edition)
by Damien T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2016 22:35:23

Traduction de l'anglais vers le français bâclée, paragraphes manquants, et de nombreuses phrases dénuée de sens... un parfait exemple d'incompétence de la traductrice Sandrine THIRACHE à éviter à tout prix ou mieux écrivez à l'éditeur aprés avoir lu un exemplaire du livre et vous aussi râlez pour que ils corrigent ce livre qui mieux traduit serais un super livre à posséder en VF, sinon il vous restera la VO et le dictionnaire anglais/français !



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller (French Language Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Traveller Core Rulebook
by Bruce O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2016 13:23:32

First i need to establish some bona fides. I have been playing Traveller since 1980. This is a great iteration of the game. It covers basic combat, vehicle combat, and ship combat. All the careers from the original are in there, including most from Citizens of the Imperium. World Building basics are in. The only thing missing from the original Little Black Books is Starship design. Gone are the complexities of some versions. This edition goes back to the original 2d6+skill, and adds a stat bonus. The digital version comes with an easy to read "printable version" which removes the art and saves memory. Overall i am loving it! And nobody dies in character generation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Traveller Core Rulebook
by stephanie m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2016 10:20:02

Really disappointed. I was an early adopter to the beta PDF. We were offered $20 off the final product (essentially pay half up front) and what we got was a poorly printed POD version on poor paper which caused colour fade and leakage. It also had a curved cover with heat/moisture wavy pages.

Turns out there's another version with the amendments at Mongoose. A print run with better paper for the same price. We werent told about this individually, the owner mentioned this on the forums (which i dont frequent) and after he'd taken the money. The first I knew of all this was when my inferior copy turned up in the post.

I feel ripped off and wont be buying mongoose stuff ever again.

If you really want this edition, DON'T buy it here. Go get the proper version for the same money at the publisher's website.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Reach Adventure 1: Marooned on Marduk
by Che W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2016 09:06:53

This is the very definition of an adventure on rails. While there are some interesting characters and a nice one-page map / stats for a shuttle, the adventure is presented like the outline of a novel. The product could be enhanced by having some meaningful choices given to the players. It cries out for a local area map with locations to explore and a range of possible solutions to the situation set up. To run, the Referee will undoubtedly want to use the core ideas but flesh out at least a small part of the described world in more detail.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Reach Adventure 1: Marooned on Marduk
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Bronze Case
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2016 22:55:39

This is a fun little romp through a backwater planet, where the player characters are caught up in a situation where their good samaritan actions put them smack dab in the middle of a criminal underworld war, and some industrial espionage dirty tricks. The Bronze Case is presented as an "aside": the PC's ship is undergoing maintenance for a bit, and one thing leads to another, and they're helping a beautiful secret agent courier the epynomous bronze case to an undisclosed destination. Gangsters. Spies. Corrupt Cops. Car Chases. Road trip!

The Good: the adventure is very come-as-you-are. There's no major plot rails here. If the PCs mess up, they mess up and they might have some explaining to do to the local constables, but they're Travellers, and they'll leave the port on their starship soon enough. If they are more successful, they'll have made friends with some corporate espionage assets. The NPCs are statted-up using the new Mongoose Traveller 2nd Edition rules, and are given some basic personalities. The GM is given some tips on running car chases using the aforementioned rules. There are some fun little encounters to run, and some low-powered combats to fight, all with some pretty solid worldbuilding context.

The Not So Good: The Bronze Case is very come-as-you-are. If the PCs do not buy in and be good samaritans, rather than amoral murder-hobos, there is no adventure. There are ways to address this problem, but nothing is mentioned in the write-up. There are a couple of places in the adventure where there's a little bit of railroading, but it's all in good fun, and can be avoided, with a bit of GMing. As well, there are plenty of adventure hooks to thread by the end of the adventure, but nothing is brought up: by the adventure's end, there could be a criminal organization with off-world ties that has it in for the PCs. And the industrial espionage angle is not followed up either. Lots of adventures can be spun off of the Bronze Case, but there are no follow up scenarios suggested.

Fixing the buy-in: Instead of having the players choose to be good samaritans in order to run the Bronze Case, the PCs might already have the main NPC friend in the adventure as a contact in their list. This way, they're doing this contact a very big favour, and have motivation to go on the adventure. Most PCs will not have all their contacts named and fleshed out. This is a great opportunity to introduce a new contact for a player whose character hasn't been able to leverage their contacts into an adventure, or an asset yet.

I'd also suggest fleshing out the highly corrupt, yet very in-your-face security forces and criminals on the planet in question. There are plenty of good RP opportunities that are glossed over between the PCs and a variety of shady characters, and possibly including an NPC police detective tasked with handling/containing the PCs and their adventure would make for another interesting layer for this adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Bronze Case
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OGL Steampunk
by Mark L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2016 15:28:34

I took advantage of a price reduction on this title since I'm working on adding some steampunk technology to a game in a fantasy setting.

The information provided is extensive, filling up a 300+ page book with a variety of characters, options, mechs and such to keep any fan of the theme happy while creating and designing various PCs and equipment for a campaign. The contents are well organized and easy to understand.

The only thing that disappointed me was an issue with the geration of the pdf that appears to have prevented many of the graphics from being included on the pages. Large sections of some pages are blank, outlined by text in a way that the reader can tell some type of graphic is intended to be placed there. The missing graphics don't detract from the information provided, but I'd be interested to see the images that are missing, if only to support the descriptions outlining those areas.

The ideas presented in the book will be handy in adding steampunk elements to any existing setting in addition to setting up and running a game solely based on the contents.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OGL Steampunk
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend
by James L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2016 10:28:47

For $1 it's hard to go wrong with this! I also commend Mongoose for publishing this under the OGL, it has allowed for other BRP-based games such as the new Delta Green. While this volume doesn't include any monsters, it could certainly be used for human-centric/exclusive games, and would work well for Game of Thrones. While I'm not the biggest fan of hit locations, it does add some grit to combat, which again could be used very well for low-fantasy and very deadly games.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Traveller Core Rulebook
by Fabian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2016 03:59:41

Traveller is definitely the best game at the things it tries to do. This edition of Mongoose's streamlined and accessible variant is no different. However, leaving out ship construction rules, one the THE most important elements for anyone trying to make the universe their own is an unforgivable mistake. Although I absolutely love the look and feel of this iteration and the rules have received some very welcome improvements, I cannot in good conscience recommend this for players with a similar use case as mine - namely play in a setting that is not the standard Traveller one.

I recommend picking up the first edition, which has fully featured starship construction rules.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 679 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG