RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
I am Mongoose, and so can you!
by Dom P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2015 17:11:23
This is an exceptionally interesting and well considered book. If you have ANY inkling of going into the complex world of RPG business then this is mandatory reading. Whether you are going to establish your own TSR like behemoth of a company or just thinking about self publishing a simple supplement our scenario this book offers important and clear advice.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
I am Mongoose, and so can you!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

2300AD: Liberty
by ASergi A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2015 13:22:15
It would be simply perfect if it could include some general and inspiring full-colour image of a planet landscape. This is typically a lack in every module: planets are not always Earth-like, and depending on the star type the sky and the light would be quite different from Earth.

But it is an excellent module, very well written. The colony is realistically described.
The adventures are awesome. Excellent examples of open investigation adventures, with fully fledged and credible characters.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
2300AD: Liberty
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

2300AD: Libreville - Corruption in the Core Worlds
by ASergi A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2015 13:11:24
I was reluctant to purchase this module as I already purchased long ago its antecessor Rotten to the Core.
It is an excellent complement to the old module, with lots of new and good contents. The adventure module is excellent: a good example of open adventure on which the players have the final say on the outcome of events.
The only but: the city map and lack of general landscape images. Some color would be appreciated. And some additional information on the different city zones (eg the different slum area and the base of the Beanstalk).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
2300AD: Libreville - Corruption in the Core Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

2300AD Core Rulebook Revised
by AA C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2015 06:32:16
Esperaba mucho más de este libro.

Los contenidos se centran en convertir 2300AD a las reglas de Traveller, dejando poco espacio a la ambientación, (que debería ser prioritaria en un sourcebook). Es más, al convertir a UPP la información de sistemas y planetas, apenas hay información útil para crear aventuras. El aspecto interior es horrible. Ilustraciones casi inexistentes y de baja calidad, maquetación espartana y de difícil lectura. ¡Ni siquiera tiene hiperenlaces a la tabla de contenidos!

Me gusta mucho 2300AD, pero seguiré usando las ediciones anteriores porque este libro no cuesta lo que vale. Se salva de tener una estrella porque tiene unas pocas cosas buenas, como por ejemplo un nuevo enfoque basado en las tecnologías actuales.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
2300AD Core Rulebook Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend
by Macezar A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2015 03:00:56
After reading and doing some playtests, I must admit it is a good system. Not the best one out there, but good.

The thing I really liked about it was the freedom to create anything you want. Remember that persona from your favored book? The one able to wield magic, sword, while being a rogue and a smooth talker? Well it is possible! Of course you would never be better than someone specialized in a few choices.

The combat is brutal and exiting. It’s a shame that it’s overly complicated to play in forums. Due to its mechanic, were players have the opportunity to react instantly to an enemy action. It makes any situation involving combat; take too much time to resolve in PBP for forum rpgs.

The magic though could have been worked a little more. It feels overly simplistic.
Basically, you create your own ‘magic school’, or organization, that has a fixed set of spells known. As you progress in that organization, you get to learn and know more powerful spells. The bad thing is, after the game start, it’s hard to keep the same ideas you had before the game, when you created your magic path. So, if you want to ‘learn’ other spells, you would need to start another path, from the beginning.

One of the other things that I found a bit annoying is that everything is rolled against one another. Maybe I’m spoiled by d20 system, where you don’t depend on your enemy roll to determine if your action it was successful or not. You just compare to your enemy ‘innate’ value. Of course the DM could make some small changes and adapt it, but even then it feels it could be better from the start.

Anyway, it is a good system, maybe for those like me, that compares everything with d20 system, it could be made a bit different, but that are some minor things, and easy to modify if you are aware of them beforehand.

Rate: 4/5

Macézar out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Paranoia Playtest Pack
by Conrad W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2015 19:34:20
Considering that this is the playtester pack, this was good - and I cannot wait to see the full product.

The Pros:
* Narrative Voice is Perfect - it is written in a tone and pace that matches the predecessors brilliantly and reminds me and my players of all the mandatory fun we had back then, getting us straight into the mind-set to play!
* Hilarious - I could not help but to actually laugh out loud and occasionally read out some lines to those around me, even if they were complete strangers on the bus I was on.
* Card Action System - quite a brilliant addition to the game, makes games that much more devious and fun!
* Character Generation - simple options, but deviously designed to get the most fun out of what can be a tedious time, and also to get the rivalry between players going early on.

The Cons:
* Contradicts itself in places - maybe part of the narrative voice (see above)
* Needs clearer Terminology - players familiar with roleplaying games may mistake terminology, such as the use of the word 'turn' which is used both as when a player acts , but also as what a player does, which has created confusion.
* Not Print and Play - you need to make the cards up to play, which takes a bit of work. Character sheet is located separately, which while not a big deal, I feel should have been included.
* Missing Feedback Mechanism - as a playtest I believe it should include an method for specifically submitting feedback, which it does not. This would be the perfect opportunity for one of the classic Paranoia 'forms'.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Paranoia Playtest Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Paranoia Playtest Pack
by Kornel F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2015 14:33:07
Hi,

It looks like fun. I like the new post google glass world.

The rules sound straight forward... but I did not had the chance yet to test them.

Cheers,

Kornel

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Main Rulebook
by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2014 21:59:35
This is a fair attempt at updating what is essentially classic Traveller (CT) little black books to 8. I say 'fair attempt' because although the basic idea was there, it was rather sloppy in it's execution. Overall production quality and layout is no improvement over rpgs from the late 1980's to early 1990's. Artwork consists of basic monochrome drawings in a style of the same vintage, yet other rpgs have moved on with a much more sophisticated level of production. With modern computer graphics available to us all these days, there is really no excuse for such sloppy and lazy production. Character generation is ok - somewhere between little black books 1- 3 and books 4 - 8. Starship construction is essentially books 1 - 3. Larger ships require 'High Gaurd. '

Overall, considering that this is just a core rule book, it is farly expensive for what you get if you pay full price for it. I actually purchased it on special when it was really cheap. At the price I paoed ot was actually a bargain! At full price, however, it is as with a lot of othe Mongoose 'Traveller' rpg products, overpriced.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Main Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book 0: Introduction to Traveller
by Daniel J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2014 08:07:37
excellent book. But I found some typos through out the pages. could anyone fix it?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book 0: Introduction to Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

One Crowded Hour
by Mark P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2014 03:04:41
This adventure is well presented and edited. It contains a clear plot, plenty of nice "set pieces", good suggestions for appropriate skill checks, well defined NPC's and clear map of the ship.

The storyline has a gritty and fairly "realistic" feel, and there are plenty of oppertunities for roleplaying and learning the truth behind it. I'm looking forward to running One Crowded Hour very much indeed.

It's a game for one session, but still good value for money. Very pleased with it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Crowded Hour
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Traveller Main Rulebook
by John G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2014 09:43:52
This is an expensive product for something that was ripped straight out of the d20 3.5 SRD with just the mechanic changed from d20 to 2d6. It's very much like CT in what it does and only the mechanic and skill lists are new, really.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Main Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book 10: Cosmopolite
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/14/2014 08:16:00
If you choose a military or scout or merchant career for your character you have a wealth of options to choose from... but until now if you have decided that he is (or at least was before taking up adventuring) a Scholar or an 'ordinary' Citizen, you were a bit limited, at least as far as rules went, for what you could use to create your background - and that all-important skill set.

First, though, there's the question of education. Before you even start your career proper your character might wish to attend university. This replaces your first term in a career, and like any path you need to roll successfully to get in. If you fail, you have to choose something else or even submit to the draft. Characters who'd like to get some real-world experience first may take a couple of terms in a career before going to university - this could be an opportunity for a career change if you have, say, served a couple of terms in the military, then go to study before embarking on a quite different life thereafter.

Graduation confers a few benefits such as a bonus on entry rolls to certain careers and the option to make a commission roll if entering a military career. There is also the option to attend medical school, which takes another term but sets you up as a qualified medical doctor. Rather disappointingly, there isn't an option here to attend graduate school and 'pile it higher and deeper' to gain a PhD. There are several tables to help you write your character's backstory, the usual 'lifepath' events... and these, of course, crop out throughout the book as each career option is explored.

Next comes a detailed exploration of citizen careers. It covers just about every civilian occupation that isn't a merchant, a noble or an entertainer. Here is the backbone of civilisation, the people who make ordinary everyday things happen. There are three main areas: artisans (who make things), funcionaries (who administrate) and 'pillars of society' - these last include politicians, union leaders, diplomats, activists and more; those who feel that their ideas can make a difference to the common good. Each area subdivides enabling you to create a whole range of backgrounds from day-wage labourer to an architect designing whole cities (or starships) or the next revolutionary computer chip, the individual who runs a city to the fellow who comes to fix the plumbing, a rabble-rousing agitator to a lawyer or diplomat or an elected representative... just about anything you can think of doing can be covered by the rules in this section.

We then move on to the scholar careers. For some strange reason, the assumption is made that scholars study science of some kind... I'm sitting in a university writing this review in my lunch break as it happens, and even if I'm in Computer Science we have all sorts here from fine arts and history and languages through sciences and a large business school; and they'd all regard themselves as scholars! Anyway, there are various options from those who work in laboratories (or libraries) to field researchers who get out into the real world to pursue their studies to the lone genius following his ideas in isolation. Even here, oddly enough, you cannot gain a PhD but if you take the lecturer path far enough you might gain the title of Professor.

Then there's an interesting half-way house between Citizen and Scholar - the Teacher. It's a whole new career path for those whose burning desire is to pass on information to others as guru or instructor. We next come to mustering out benefits, handled in the same way as for any career, although there are some special options depending on which of these careers have been followed.

Next is a discussion of 'Scholar-Travellers' - how to use that scholar character as an adventurer and how to turn a member of another career into a scholar, perhaps later in life when he's ready to reflect on the world around him rather than react to it. This is followed by matters important to any scholar's heart: funding and publishing ('Publish or Perish' as they say in academia!) complete with the necessary rules to make it all happen. Scholars are funded by bodies given the catch-all title of Societies and Fellowships, these can be anything from wealthy companies or individuals to full-blown universities. Some examples are provided to help you get going, use them as is or as templates and inspiration for creating your own.

For those who want to play them out in detail, there's a complete breakdown of the research process complete with the necessary game mechanics - like a lot of Traveller, you can have a lot of fun playing through these on your own creating a rich background for a character who may never see 'play' in the accepted role-playing sense of the world. Again there are examples which could be used as the underpinnings for a game based around scholarly pursuits, or to inspire your own.

There are more options too: special advantages (and disadvantages) of having exception Education or Intelligence scores, rules for gifted amateurs, citizen options, a whole bunch of rules about teaching (and learning), the development of networks - a citizen advantage that helps you build up a network of contacts wherever you go - and more.

A thoroughly fun and detailed work that helps to round out the peoples of your Traveller universe with all sorts of different folk... if nothing else, something for the military to defend and the merchants to sell to!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book 10: Cosmopolite
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Minor Alien Module 1: Luriani
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2014 23:24:29
I am very glad that Mongoose had done the MINOR RACES sourcebooks .It gives a new depth to the races that most players might not play or now gives them a reason to play them ! I am looking forward to the next MINOR RACE book !

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Minor Alien Module 1: Luriani
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Encyclopaedia Arcane: Nymphology
by Tremayne P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2014 17:25:30
The pdf couldn't be decompressed or opened by any means. I tried mutiple programs, downloaded some new ones to try to get it to open, it didn't. It's sitting on my computer and in my google drive and I can't open it. I wish they'd just mailed me a copy. Wasted my money!

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Encyclopaedia Arcane: Nymphology
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend/Deus Vult: Rouen
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/01/2014 11:15:03
Skilfully mixing real-world history with the background of the Deus Vult campaign setting, this is the story of Rouen: trading centre and capital of Normandy, visited from Scandinavian lands as well as from Europe... and with strongholds of the Order as well. Based there or just visiting, there's plenty of atmospheric detail to allow the city to come to life for your players.

History, citizens, their amusements, the appearance of the city and the locations within it - they're all here, painted vividly and atmospherically. Naturally the cathedral is described in detail, complete with sufficient material to allow you to describe services even if you are not familiar with the mediaeval Mass. At every turn are notes which can be used to provide incidental events that heighten the role-play and give the feeling of really being there.

Of course, as well as the regular merchants, clerics, nobles and everyday working folk, there are others. An occultist hidden away here, the Order's Preceptory there... and a thriving Jewish community, not to mention a trapped demon. The practice of Medicine - as a science divorced from clerical healing that is - is in its infancy, but there is at least one noted Doctor in town, with some fascinating notes on early medicine and the advice given to doctors in how to conduct themselves.

If you have not already had quite a few ideas, there's a whole chapter of encounters to use when the party is in Rouen. Some will provide but passing diversion, others are good for a side-adventure if not a whole scenario in their own right should you so wish. Several important citizens are provided in full detail, including stat blocks - allies, patrons, enemies, chance encounters: again, whatever suits the needs of your plot or party actions. There is also a Bestiary section with an array of new creatures to introduce into the mix.

Finally, there are a couple of adventures in and around Rouen that you may wish to run. Both provide plenty of interest and excitement, with investigation as well as combat required to resolve them.

The one thing that's lacking is a map of the city, although there's a sketch map of the surrounding area in one of the adventures. That lack and the odd typo a good proof-read ought to have caught are the only flaws in a fine city to add to the alternate history that is Deus Vult.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend/Deus Vult: Rouen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 581 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG