RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2015 12:16:26
Highly creative and humorous in a snarky way, but ultimately unusable for what I was planning. The gods I wanted to portray in my campaign would be ones from Earth history, including as many of the "petty," or household gods we still know about. I didn't get past the "B" gods before I lost interest, since I felt like I was reading a compendium of someone's demonstration that they have far too much time on their hands. Maybe somebody who is trying to make a campaign filled with dark humor could find this list useful.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
by Corey W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2015 20:23:19
I thought it was going to be more planned out and useful. It uses the words "petty gods" in the wrong way. When used in the past, it referred to gods warring over petty rivalries at the expense of men. Thus, I thought I would find a lot of good antagonists and bosses, but found little in that regard. It's a book of humor to entertain yourself on a monday night, not a useful role-playing supplement.

The book includes the mostly useless demi-gods, servitors, cults, magic items, scrolls and spells.

There are things there of use, but several themes are repeated and many of those "petty" (or rather, "pitiful") gods and other individuals and items would be best served as a simple list of gods and other stuff with unstatted single paragraph descriptions, like a glossary. I'd be far more interested in one or more mythologies demonstrating the petty rivalries of lesser gods, common or previous unheard of, that earn them the name, rather than a loose assortment of demigods most of whom are absolutely meaningless to game play. I was hoping for some bosses, but barely 1 in 10 are worth any use. The listed magic items should be related to the gods shown, but most are just simple useless magic items that don't really belong in a book about gods.

As the Preface indicated, they were rather enamored with the name, just as I was, (It's a great name,) but had absolutely no plan in its execution. (A great name is meaningless if you are not inspired to a great plan.) Like the box, Reflecting on Unknown Gods, indicates, its not very exciting.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2015 22:02:10
Pros:
- Tons of awesome content
- Very Helpful
- Free
- Even Better than D&DG

Cons:
- Not Applicable

A real Must-Download. Get it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
by Zero C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2015 22:30:33
This is a really big book of weird godlings. It is rich with ideas and contains a good dose of humour, too. It is OSR-based; I would like to see stats for related game systems.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
by Matt D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2015 07:25:18
Wow, really blown away by the sheer size of this. Lots of stuff you can pull into your old school style game right away and the best part is it's FREE.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
by Legion M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2015 21:03:46
This is one of the most impressive outpourings of creativity I've seen in a long while. If you don't appreciate the likes of Neub, Azwa, the Patchwork God, Ochlos Volgus, Quachil Uttaus and Saint Biritus (I'm going to stop there) you must be a follower of Sovereign Bastard.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
by n8 m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2015 20:47:01
Some cynical minds may review this and only see a few 'joke' gods, and decide that is all it is, but anybody who has run or played in a ground-up old-school D&D game has probably had more than a few puns and personal amusements sprinkled into the games myth and lore, so such a complaint is hardly worthy of consideration. Furthermore, although some of the deities listed within this volume are certainly campy or tongue-in-cheek, many are surprisingly serious and even significant.

The core function of this volume is not to act as a stand-alone pantheon of deities for your campaign (although one could be produced from it's many entries), but to give you the tools needed to fill in the gaps and give you an immediate answer to what quirky cult is dominating this strange little village in the swamp, or who the mysterious guests at the inn are supplicants of.

Dismissing a volume of this size with numerous entries and beautiful illustrations as farcical demonstrates that the volume was not thoroughly read or comprehended, and more so, failing to appreciate how a supplement like this can enrich a game where nothing in it is used verbatim.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
by Thorin T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2015 19:38:46
F*ckin' amazing! 400 pages of pure imagination fuel! The minute I dove into reading a lot of the entries I was immediately trying to figure out how to put some of them into my current campaign. Feels like I'm back in middle school, picking up the Deities and Demigods book for the first time again!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
by Martin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2015 15:03:15
I give it a 2 because it's free. But mostly it's 400 pages of joke gods and monsters, of which none seem in any way funny to me. Appendix A is a 10 page article by M.A.R. Barker about creating religions for realistic fantasy games, which might be worth reading for people interesting in the topic. Sadly, he'd already been dead for 3 years when this book was made, so he probably didn't have any part in making this.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
CC1 Creature Compendium
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2015 10:02:39
Do you need monsters fast for tonight's game or shall we say something unique to torment your adventurers? Something to slip in between the cracks of your ruin or sci fi base? Well,the Creature Compendium has you covered.
There are monster books and then there are those monster catalogs that include stuff you wished you'd thought of as a DM. Well, the Creature Compendium is one of those. And if your thinking that this book can't be used with your AD&D 1st edition or OSRIC games then think again. According to the company's website: Creature Compendium for OD&D, AD&D, and B/X D&D. This 92 page supplement has a host of new creatures to harass your players with. This thing is wall to wall artwork by Richard Leblanc Jr. And its very well done, this is a dual statted book and I know what your thinking, so what big deal? Well it means that you can use any of these critters right out of the gate upon your adventurers. Each monster is "dual" stated for 0e/1e and BX. Sometimes there is no difference. For example an AC of 3 in AD&D is roughly an AC 3 in BX and the monsters will either list 3 or some other close number. Movement rates are easy to convert of course and alignments are different systems & edition, but all in all it is still easy to convert.
The Pdf clocks in at about 92 pages for two dollars and the monsters are well worth the pdf and man these things could easily be incorporated into a wide variety of games or campaigns.
And all of these monsters are perfectly suited for a wide variety of dungeon environs but that's not all. Many of these horrors are straight up generic enough yet weird enough to go right into a post apocalyptic wasteland or better yet your favorite space based dungeon. Seriously there is a ton of potential and I love the way that you get your money's worth out of this product. Using these with White Star or Swords and Wizardry would be a snap as these monsters have a very old world pulp quality to them.
Look this is exactly the sort of book that I need for tonight's game, monsters pulpy enough to fit into any environment but different enough to give the PC's pause and make them come up with a plan for the horror's demise. And these monster's are not going to go down easily, they're capable of taking out an entire party of adventurers with relative easy if the party isn't careful. There's a lot of potential here for TPK's if the players' are not paying attention to the monster's patterns,behaviors, and attacks. These horrors don't follow the usual monster biology BS that so many writers slip into the background. The author knows his stuff and keeps things busy and interesting in the background of the design of the critter's. Several of these horrors could be mini adventures into themselves and here's where I mentioned White Star or one of the sci fi retroclones being very useful for a quick night's one shot using these things.
With the revive on the post apocalyptic front these horrors could easily be slipped into the back drop of an advanced Mutants and Maze's game of Mutant Future. Of particular use is Appendix A gives the DM Treasure Types by Edition. 0e, 1e, HB and BX. There are subtle differences in each, but it's easy to convert between each. Appendix B gives us the monster XP totals for various editions as well. 0e, S&W, BX/BEDMI, LL, 1e and OSRIC. These are essential elements that I wish, wish other retroclone systems would incorporate as well. The bottom line is this grab the damn book right now and don't wait, for the price this is really a no brainer. Five out of five because its so well done and I can't find fault with it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CC1 Creature Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CC1 Creature Compendium
by Dominique C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2015 10:28:59
Excellent product, I love it! Except for the relatively mediocre cover, it's like the old Fiend Folio done right! That is, a Fiend Folio with more interesting monsters. The layout is top notch, and the art reminds of old school monster books. Excellent, I love it. It's one of the very few OSR books that I later intend to buy in printed form (POD). If only it could be released in hardcover (I only saw it in softcover at Lulu), that would be great...

I only have a minor bad point with this book: It is dual-stated, but for games that are very similar (i.e. 1e/Osric and basic/Labyrinth-Lord). Personally I could use a monster book that has 1e/Osric stat-blocks with both games; for me the basic/LL stat-block are useless.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CC1 Creature Compendium
by James M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2015 20:18:13
Every page of the Creature Compendium is filled with pure awesome. And at less than a penny per fully-illustrated creature, New Big Dragon's Creature Compendium delivers value like no other product on the market today.

Whatever your flavor of Old School, the new Creature Compendium supports it, with bells and fireballs on...

Whatever your campaign style, you will find a plenitude of creatures in this volume to populate your campaign. Or you might even be inspired to create a whole new campaign setting based merely on the monsters found in this volume.

The art is gorgeous Old School style black and white line art, and would fit in nicely along with the works of Sutherland, Dee, Otus, Roslof, and Willingham. With the layout style, I felt like I was reading a supplement for the old Moldvay/Cook edition published by TSR in their heyday.

The only way this product could have been better is if it had even more creatures! But now, that would be greedy, wouldn't it? As it is, this is among the best ways you will ever spend $2 for a game product... it would be a deal even at the full retail of $5.95.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CC1 Creature Compendium
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/10/2015 16:43:29
"Remember those flashes of inspiration that electrified your brain when you first picked up that hardback volume of monsters all those years ago?" Richard LeBlanc begins this new monster book right where I need to, reminding me of the absolute JOY I had holding the 1st Ed. Monster Manual in my hands for the first time.

This book doesn't quite fill me with that joy (that is a TOUGH act to follow) but it does come close and for the price it is a damn fine book.

So what does this book have? Well it is 94 pages total and over 200 new monster for your Old-School game. Which system? All of them, or nearly enough. Each monster is "dual" stated for 0e/1e and BX. Simply read the stats that work the best for you and take what you need from the other. Sometimes there is no difference. For example an AC of 3 in AD&D is roughly an AC 3 in BX and the monsters will either list 3 or some other close number. Movement rates are easy to convert of course and alignments are different systems, but all in all it is still nice to have.

There are a lot of fun monsters here too. A mix that reminds me of the old Fiend Folio to be honest. Even the art, which is good, reminds me of the FF a lot. Every monster is illustrated, or if they are not I didn't see it. So a lot of art.

Of particular use are the two appendices.
Appendix A gives us Treasure Types by Edition. 0e, 1e, HB and BX. Subtle differences in each, but best to line up what you are doing.
Appendix B gives us the monster XP totals for various editions as well. 0e, S&W, BX/BEDMI, LL, 1e and OSRIC. Great to have.

If they wanted to capture the feel of reading the old MM then they were successful. If you love old school games and monsters then this really is a must buy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TM1 The Ogress of Anubis
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2015 01:59:44
Are you looking for an old school adventure with an ancient Egyptian style theme capable of supporting a wide variety of retroclone system and with an actual challenge to you parties that can be played in one night or stretched into a mini campaign with lots of potential? And do want it for free?
Well TM1 The Ogress of Anubis just might be your answer for your old school AD&D 1st edition or OSRic style system.
Fully compatible with a wide variety of retroclone systems as well, this adventure offers thrills,chills, and some really nice twists on the usual themes of the pseudo Egyptian setting.
The plot follows some of the classic OD&D and basic D&D plot outlines that while we've heard as DM a million times but here are twisted around in something that comes more out of a pulp style weird tale then the usual D&D plot line.

According to the Rpgnow blurb:
Azeneth believed the life of the high priest (or priestess) should be as comfortable as that of the kings and the gods. She spoke her contempt for her father’s “weakness” loudly and publicly, almost from the time she learned to talk. As she neared her teens, she made it known her plan was to supplant her father and become high priestess of the temple, sometimes claiming it was her place as the incarnation of the goddess Nekhbet.
Many say Azeneth has the power to command serpents, and it was she who sent the asp that killed her father Kemosiri. Regardless, she Azeneth believed the life of the high priest (or priestess) should be as comfortable as that of the kings and the gods. She spoke her contempt for her father’s “weakness” loudly and publicly, almost from the time she learned to talk. As she neared her teens, she made it known her plan was to supplant her father and become high priestess of the temple, sometimes claiming it was her place as the incarnation of the goddess Nekhbet.

Many say Azeneth has the power to command serpents, and it was she who sent the asp that killed her father Kemosiri. Regardless, she seized her position as high priestess of the temple and set about her accumulation of power and wealth.

Recently, children from the villages around the temple have begun to disappear. Rumors abound that Azeneth is sacrificing them and cannibalizing them because she believes this will make her wealthier, more powerful, and more divine. The people of the villages have begun to refer to Azeneth as the “ogress of Anubis”—believing it was Anubis himself that made this woman mad, and commanded her to consume the children she sacrifices. her position as high priestess of the temple and set about her accumulation of power and wealth.
Recently, children from the villages around the temple have begun to disappear. Rumors abound that Azeneth is sacrificing them and cannibalizing them because she believes this will make her wealthier, more powerful, and more divine. The people of the villages have begun to refer to Azeneth as the “ogress of Anubis”—believing it was Anubis himself that made this woman mad, and commanded her to consume the children she sacrifices.

All of the usual suspects are in this adventure but its been written in such a way to be dropped into an existing campaign or as a convention style one shot. The module's encounters are weirdly pulpy and highly entertaining. The module works within the plot perimeters but the maps,handouts, rumors tables, allow for play expansion and can quickly be expanded into a mini campaign. Since downloading this one a few years ago, it looks as if new material has been added into the background of it. In fact it looks like a ton of new work has been added to make this one even better.

Includes the following: information for adapting to different OSR rules editions; adventure background; regional overview (small map + info on villages and wandering monsters); information on the temple compound and its vicinity (including wandering monsters); a detailed map of the temple compound; a 4-page detailed encounter key for the temple compound; new monster (animal mummy w/ 7 variants, statted for Oe/BX/1e); "generic" stats for all monsters and NPCs mentioned in the adventure; 12 pre-generated NPCs w/ details; 10 adventure seeds (for continuing adventures in the area); and 8 additional unkeyed maps (7 tombs, 2 caves, 1 sunken city) for use with the adventure seeds.

Everything here is a nice blend of mythological weirdness, old school solid encounters, and the maps and keys for the temple compound could be used for a wide variety of other games. The Animal mummies could easily be used for any old school D&D Egyptian themed game or added into the backdrop of your own campaign world and this is one of the strengths of this particular set of adventure pulpy weirdness thrown into the structure of an old school adventure.
The encounters are balanced, the maps are well done, and the whole adventure has a nice internal Egyptian style mythological tone that is perfect for both an existing D&D style game or as change up to a more old world Egyptian campaign with a touch of high weirdness in the background of it floating around.
Do I think that this adventure is worth the download? In point of fact I actually do. Here's why! This adventure can easily be added into the back drop of your favorite sword and sorcery campaign. The adventure will keep a set of PC's very busy as well. It works with a wide variety of old school retroclone or basic D&D or OD&D games and it could be used as the frame work for an existing game or as a touch stone to a whole mini campaign featuring an Egyptian style game. All in all this is a solid adventure worth your time, energy, and because its free it has a nice touch of the pulp that will challenge your adventurers and keep them coming back to the table for another round.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TM1 The Ogress of Anubis
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

AX2a Sandbox Resources: Hex Map Pack
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2015 14:42:23
I really like the hex maps. The versatility of the different scales allows me to tailor it to the needs of my campaign.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
AX2a Sandbox Resources: Hex Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 34 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG