RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
by Lee W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2018 15:00:56

THIS IS MY FAVORITE RPG BOOK in all my years of gaming (beginning circa 1983)! I have an extensive collection of fantasy RPG books and am a huge fan of the OSR "movement". With that said, I'd never give up this ONE book. It is a delight to read; this is the book that gets removed from my shelf the most!

The book is more like a rogue's gallery in that each "petty god" is an individual entity. Many have interwoven stories and relationships, which is an incredible touch. At the beginning of the tome, there is a list of powers that all deities are expected to have, then the book goes into individual listings. However, I've chosen to disregard any "divinity" to these entities, instead making them unique NPCs. Power-level varies, of course, but all of the characters are memorable in very relatable ways! There are tragic figures, flippant figures, pitiful figures and, of course, petty figures!

Thank you to all the contributors and editor that made this tome possible! I can't recommend this book enough!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CC1 Creature Compendium
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2018 17:24:32

I was only going to get two monster manuals, I would get this one for inspiration and B/X Essentials: Monsters for reference (when certain modules mention a monster but don't provide information about the monster.)

Veins of the Earth is great, Monstrosities is great. I'm glad I have them. However, I find CC1 essential.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CC1 Creature Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

d30 Sandbox Companion
by Zach R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2018 23:10:36

This is the best $5 I've spent on this site. The book is well laid out, the tables are comprehensive while still allowing room for your own imagination and everything is easy to grasp. If you want a book with random tables for a sandbox campaign buy this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d30 Sandbox Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CC1 Creature Compendium
by Cold C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2018 18:38:33

Not all the creatures are great, but the good ones are very good. This one should have a price on it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CC1 Creature Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

d30 DM Companion
by Dave L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2018 18:20:38

A nicely designed throwback that can be helpful for any campaign you are preparing, regardless of edition (although it is defintely slanted towards OSR). Lots of fun tables to get your creative juices flowing. The dungeon mapping master key really brings back memories of grinding out random dungeons from the AD&D DMG. Thanks!

PS - while a d30 is useful, you can just use a d6 and a d10 to accomplish what you need to with the D30 DM Companion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d30 DM Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

d30 DM Companion
by Richard L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2017 11:51:12

After purchasing the D30 Sandbox Companion and falling in love with it, using it constantly, I decided to try some of New Big Dragon's other products. I picked up the D30 DM Companion along with the Creature Compendium and Basic Psionics Handbook.

While I'm finding the Sandbox book a lot more useful for me personally, that is in no way diminishing the value of the D30 DM Companion. Some of the tables weren't as useful for me personally because I have other books or tables I prefer(I use Central Casting's Dungeon book to build most of my dungeons, for instance), but for those that do not have another method they prefer, the dungeon construction rules seem pretty solid for creating old-school dungeons. I'm not sure why the Dungeon Features tables weren't put after the Mapping Key and Worksheet, instead of having Character Generation in between them, but that's okay.

Speaking of which, it wasn't long ago that I was asking some of my players if they had a resource of premade characters that could be used quickly. While this Character Generation system isn't very deep, it does give some basic random information such as a balanced spread of Ability Scores, race, class, motivation, weapon(s), armor, and a few other items(quill and ink, parchment, holy water, etc). You still need to decide their level and determine all that goes with that, but again this does give you a framework of a character that you can fill out in play, if you need to toss a new character into a game without preparation.

The various dungeon tables such as Embellishments, Debris, Molds Slimes and Mushrooms, etc are fun. I've used similar tables from the 1st edition DMG for random effects, but these tables are more extensive and offer more options - after all, the DMG didn't have multiple Mushroom tables, did it? Note that these come with an effect table, in case your adventurers feel like randomly eating some lichen.

The trap generator is great, and I have to say that from a slight position of disappointment - that disappointment being that I had personally created trap tables based on all the basic kinds of traps and variations I could find("basic" meaning not an extensive deathtrap) and I was quite happy with it. Now, it seems, my own tables are obsolete and I'll be using these. The magical traps were also great.

On the same page as magical traps is a poison generation system. This is fine for people who don't use the "Poison Types" as given in AD&D and need to randomly generate a poison and effect. I like the table, but not sure at the moment if I prefer to use that or the poison types. The table is still great and I can see how it would be extremely useful for those that want to generate such details at random.

Monster encounters is where it gets serious. There are random monster encounters, which include 270 monsters from various editions(some of which have their name changed, such as the Hobghoul, which I was delighted to see as it was always a favorite monster of mine). I'm not sure how the "monster levels" work, which range from 1-9, and of which my 6-7th level PCs could take out the monsters in the 9th level list - or at least many of them. However, I still look forward to trying the tables out and seeing what happens, and - this is the best part of all - ALL 270 MONSTERS ARE GIVEN CAPSULIZED ENTRIES! That means this D30 DM Companion is worth the price JUST FOR A QUICK REFERENCE OF 270 OF THE MOST COMMON MONSTERS IN EVERY EDITION! More complex monsters will still probably require you to crack open your monster book, but most of them have pretty much everything you need, at a glance, on one line!

Finally, we come to the Quick Treasure Horde Generation. It appears as if it would replicate the 1e treasure tables, as well as BECMI tables, pretty accurately and much more quickly. However, as a 2e player, I may have to modify these, since they differ from the 1e tables. Still, as useful as these quick d30 tables look, it would be fairly easy, and VERY worthwhile, to convert them over.

The gem and jewelry tables are useful, though I'm not sure why the jewelry is limited to elvish and dwarvish. I had already been randomly rolling gems using a list of gems and precious stones, but it wasn't a proper "table." I hate when a game says "you find a 10 gp gem." I'd rather say "You find a 1/8" emerald." That being the case, the gem table here will be my go-to from now on. (I will adjust it for my own money system, and also by size descriptions, however.) The random weapon, armor, and protective item tables, including descriptions and magical effects, also looks like a lot of fun, though I do have my own weapon, armor, and ring description tables I created that I still prefer, though I will no doubt incorporate some of the D30 tables into mine. (Also of note - my own weapon, armor and ring tables reference a couple of tables in the D30 Sandbox Companion!)

There are a number of more item generation tables, but two I wish to comment on: First is the potions table. I'd only recently begun to go into better detail about potion appearances with smell, taste, consistency, etc. I was doing so from a table I found online. And while the online table is more extensive, having up to 100 colors, the truth is I don't need 100 colors. Having the tables I need on one page is much more helpful for me, so this will be my go-to from now on. It even includes what kind of container the potions are in, something else I had only just begun to incorporate, and this table is better than the one I was using. Oh, there are also random potion effects, if you want to roll one quickly instead of using the DMG tables.

The second - and last - table I wanted to comment on was the random miscellanious magic items. I love items like this. It's why I use the Book of Marvelous Magic so often. I love quirky, offbeat, comical, or clever items. The deathstone amulet could product a whole subplot in the campaign by itself, the lock knocker is one of those useful but funny items I love so much, the mightbringer items are the kinds of things a powerful warrior would go on epic quests to collect, creating its own campaign. I'm not sure what this company has about "emerald stinkbugs" either, since it is both an item in this game, and a monster in the Creature Compendium!

All in all, this book is fantastic. In fact, as I go back through it for the review, I am realizing it is even more useful than I thought on the first two times through. Honestly, if you only use 25% of the tables in this book, you will get your money's worth for the download.

I would go so far as to say every DM should have at least this one and the d30 Sandbox Companion.

I will review the other three books I mentioned at the beginning soon - but all I will say is, I can't WAIT for future New Big Dragon products. If future products are of the quality these four books are, I will be a fan for life.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2017 13:06:31

Huge, crowd sourced compendium. It's great. So much art, so much creativity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

d30 DM Companion
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2017 21:32:42

So many great tables for your toolkit. Helps get me out of my head where i may accidentally repeat things.

Not anymore. i love this. i had to buy a d30 and I'm so glad i did.

Even has a one page dungeon template, too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d30 DM Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CC1 Creature Compendium
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2016 17:06:13

Seriously, I can’t say enough good things about this book. Without a doubt this is the best pub I have picked up here on DriveThruRPG. This manual is professional-looking, absolutely functional, and nails the old school flavor. I am running Keep on the Borderlands, and I am stocking the hills and caves with the critters in CC1. PC’s beware!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CC1 Creature Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CC1 Creature Compendium
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2016 08:49:57

This is a very good product and I definitely feel I got more than my money's worth. It's well laid out with an easy to read font with quality drawings, and as a bonus it includes stats for 0e,1e and BX variations. It has drawings for nearly all of the monsters (so far only found 1 missing), which helps a great deal when quickly scanning all the unfamiliar creatures and you are looking for just the right one.

I do wish publishers would include an index based on HD or challenge rating or similar to help the poor DM quickly find an appropriate monster, but hunting through the book is fun and really not a chore.

As a point of interest, I came back to pay for this because I thought maybe I had "paid what I want" of $0 to preview it first, but found I had bought it and decided to review it instead. Now I want a print copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review. For those interested in print copies, they're available from Lulu.com: http://www.lulu.com/us/en/shop/product-22133783.html
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
by William L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2016 21:13:42

This book was an excellent resource for my campaign. I even re-directed much of it to fit the tone of this great book.

The layout is excellent and the price of FREE makes it an incredible bargain.

This is an excellent read even if you don't use it directly. I translated it to 5E — which isn't hard.

I heartily recommend this book.

-bl



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
by Neil P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2016 22:14:39

Actuall old school is not my thing to play, but I still enjoy a good read. And this is one. Full of imagination, thrills, and a few good laughs as well (gives ol' Disney a what for). I don't expect much for free, but this is the quality of a major for sale product. The production is darn good as well. If you are running an old school game get this fer sure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
by Bob P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2016 19:38:31

This is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would have happily paid $30-40 for this free product. I have been waiting for this for YEARS!! and it was worth the wait!!!!!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2016 14:04:41

Incredibly comprehensive. It has more petty gods thanyouwill everuse. A must have!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
by Torsten O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2016 19:20:34

This has everything I had been hoping to add to the game I'm running. Gorguos art and layouts. The writing has been consistantly clever and evocative. I'm a fan.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 58 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG