RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
Starship Arena
Starship Arena
$0.99 $0.50









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Edge of Space: Science Fiction Roleplaying
by Brett B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2014 22:36:09
The game is what it is. It's eight pages of a minimalist attempt at a complete game setting. What it is not is what the reviewers made it out to be. Not that playable. Not that complete. Not that wonderful. It's a simple 2d6 game without much of anything that is innovative or clever in it's mechanics or setting. At a buck, I don't mind taking a chance. However, my expectations were ratcheted up by the reviews. I don't think I'll get another game based on the reviews. Having the text in various formats is a plus, but there are certainly better systems and more complete games that are completely free.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Edge of Space: Science Fiction Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Pool of the Alchemist
by James G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2014 14:09:51
A delicious bit of old-school wickedness that can be easily incorporated into any old-school adventure. Dare you drink from the Pool of the Alchemist?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Pool of the Alchemist
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Edge of Space: Science Fiction Roleplaying
by Marc D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2014 09:44:49
As fan of the Warhammer 40k fiction and boardgames, I was looking for a rules-lite and affordable alternative to the thick and costly RPG books from Fantasy Flight -- and I found it!

This nice little d6 system has it all - character creation, weapons/gear, skill checks, combat, enemy stats, movement. There is an even information for the setting and includes a mini-module adventure.

As to what this game is "lacking", well that's a matter of opinion. For me I like making it up on my own by using my imagination.

Time to purge the xenos threat...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Edge of Space: Science Fiction Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

SideTreks 01: The Crossroads of Spyley
by Tim S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2014 07:11:27
Matt jackson, the guy who makes all those cool Moleskin Map series on RPGNow and his maps can be found in many OSR products including my own Manor zine a few times, has released what I hope will be a new line of products called, Side Treks. His first venture out is called Side Treks: The Crossroads of Spyley.

These kind of products have always been some of my favorites and ones I like to create myself. The Crossroads of Spyley is a small location along a forest that can easily be plopped into your fantasy campaign. If you need an interesting location for your players to stay at along the way or maybe their exploring the forest and need a base of operation this product does that and more.

First off, you get one of Matt's fantastic maps. He's getting better with each product he produces. The map is clean and crisp. He has three buildings at the crossroads detailed within the overall map, The Drunken Dragoon (tavern), Marreno's Store, and a big ass barn. This strangely rainy location is subtle and effective. You're not going to find any huge drama going on, but some people going about there everyday life with interesting back stories. It's a great canvas for a GM to create their own drama that could occur.

And I love the reason why it is raining. Nice touch.

I really like The Crossroads of Spyley. I will find a place in my current world to place it. It's too good not to. If your a fan of small interesting locations that you can use at a moments notice and love good maps then Side Treks: Crossroads of Spyley is for you. It will cost you $1.99 to get a copy and is well worth it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SideTreks 01: The Crossroads of Spyley
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the review! Glad you enjoyed Spyley!
Moleskin Maps 04
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2013 17:19:23
I am a gamer from the Wayback machine and his is the sort of tool I like. It delivers exactly what it promises… maps that I can drop into any game quickly. Simple dungeons with descriptions left up to my imagination, easy record/statistic sheets associated with the individual maps, a small GM version of the map and a larger table version of the same. I love this. A map always seems a simple enough thing, until you need one, and then it can be a bear. These maps can be used on the fly. The best part may be, that they can easily be re-purposed and used again. The price is pretty sweet too.

In my opinion, this is a good tool to train younger DMs on how to make simple adventures, no matter what system you are running. All you do is write a background, a few memorable rooms, pick a handful of encounters, a couple of major treasures, and presto – a basic dungeon. It’s a Good confidence builder. I think my younger cousins will get a lot of use out of this.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Moleskin Maps 04
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Shrine of Olikulese (FAE)
by Keith (. T. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2013 15:50:37
Nice, clean module with a great layout and maps. The adventure uses the Fate Accelerated system which is east to comprehend and run. The authors have a nice selection of magic items, monsters and pre-generated NPCs. This would be a great, short adventure for those getting back together for the holidays.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Shrine of Olikulese (FAE)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Stitching Church
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/08/2013 18:40:58
The Dragonslayer Pantheon products by Chubby Monster Games are designed by author Andrew Shields to be incorporated into existing game worlds and provide a new take on one of the religions attached to a god. Each religious order presented includes the common knowledge about the order as well as the secret knowledge of the initiated, non-player characters tied to the order, its practices, suggestions for power levels and adventure hooks using the order and advice for incorporating the group into an existing setting.

Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Stitching Church is more a network of preachers and agents dedicated to the god of pain and suffering who seek to free people of service to the cruel gods, to seek the divinity within. They act to let people find their own path in the world, freed of the dictates of gods who cause naught but suffering and death to get their way. A few radical members of the church actively strive to weaken other religions but most members just try to lead people to a better and more peaceful way. Naturally, the Stitching Church is not usually welcomed by other faiths. It is an unusual faith and one that is suitable for stories and adventures out of the norm.

Overall, I think the Dragonslayer Pantheon product provides a useful set of ideas and options to spark adventure and interest in various religions in a game world.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Stitching Church
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Temple of Celestial Revolution
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/08/2013 08:25:50
The Dragonslayer Pantheon products by Chubby Monster Games are designed by author Andrew Shields to be incorporated into existing game worlds and provide a new take on one of the religions attached to a god. Each religious order presented includes the common knowledge about the order as well as the secret knowledge of the initiated, non-player characters tied to the order, its practices, suggestions for power levels and adventure hooks using the order and advice for incorporating the group into an existing setting.

Temple of Celestial Revolution watches the stars, and when the time is right, they topple kings and destroy governments for all things must change, and power structures left to long corrupt and fester. The Celestial Revolutionaries seem likely to end up in opposition to traditional adventurers as they seek to tear down the country in which the adventurers operate in, but the cult’s goals could align with others and allies are always welcome. The Celestial Revolutionaries are also playing a long game of divine politics which could conflict with other aims or lead them to hire adventurers to advance that agenda. Many options in play could arise from this militant cult. A map of the Way Station of Nurlen, a staging post for the sect, is provided as well.

Overall, I think the Dragonslayer Pantheon product provides a useful set of ideas and options to spark adventure and interest in various religions in a game world.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Temple of Celestial Revolution
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Cult of Summation
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/08/2013 08:25:34
The Dragonslayer Pantheon products by Chubby Monster Games are designed by author Andrew Shields to be incorporated into existing game worlds and provide a new take on one of the religions attached to a god. Each religious order presented includes the common knowledge about the order as well as the secret knowledge of the initiated, non-player characters tied to the order, its practices, suggestions for power levels and adventure hooks using the order and advice for incorporating the group into an existing setting.

The Cult of Summation seeks to reduce the knowledge of each individual life to a clear, concise and complete summary, unfortunately they tend to do so through the carefully applied arts of torture. The Cult maintains prisons, libraries and torture chambers, usually in the same complex. The Cult is pleased to serve their Goddess through these tasks, though direction is often given through visions that the cultists receive when undergoing near death experiences. The Cult is unlikely to be friends of adventurers but they may be a place that prisoners can be housed and information gained, if one is willing to bend to the dictates of the Cult. A map of the Prison Library of Stavrok Falls is also provided.

Overall, I think the Dragonslayer Pantheon product provides a useful set of ideas and options to spark adventure and interest in various religions in a game world.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Cult of Summation
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Silent Bite
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/08/2013 08:24:45
The Dragonslayer Pantheon products by Chubby Monster Games are designed by author Andrew Shields to be incorporated into existing game worlds and provide a new take on one of the religions attached to a god. Each religious order presented includes the common knowledge about the order as well as the secret knowledge of the initiated, non-player characters tied to the order, its practices, suggestions for power levels and adventure hooks using the order and advice for incorporating the group into an existing setting.

Silent Bite is a secret religious society of hunters and revolutionaries, dedicated to driving the corrupt from power and promoting the will of the goddess. It is an aristocratic conspiracy that, at its best, seeks to break foreign domination, cull corruption and promote a meritocracy (through the better class of people of course), at its worst, it uses terror to maintain the aristocracy. It is a group that could recruit the player characters or be in opposition to them or both. It also includes a nifty random conspiratorial cell generator.

Overall, I think the Dragonslayer Pantheon product provides a useful set of ideas and options to spark adventure and interest in various religions in a game world.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Silent Bite
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Brass Horseshoe
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/08/2013 08:21:36
The Dragonslayer Pantheon products by Chubby Monster Games are designed by author Andrew Shields to be incorporated into existing game worlds and provide a new take on one of the religions attached to a god. Each religious order presented includes the common knowledge about the order as well as the secret knowledge of the initiated, non-player characters tied to the order, its practices, suggestions for power levels and adventure hooks using the order and advice for incorporating the group into an existing setting.

Brass Horseshoe is a branch of a warrior cult which knows that wars are not won by courage alone, training, discipline, and logistics win wars far more often. The Order of the Brass Horseshoe seeks to provide and perfect those skills to anyone going to war, seeking perfection in their craft and efficiency in war and in clearing up its aftermath. There is a good question and answer section about how the members of this sect view war and their place in it. The Brass Horseshoe Order is extremely useful allies but it is a pain if they are aiding your enemies.

Overall, I think the Dragonslayer Pantheon product provides a useful set of ideas and options to spark adventure and interest in various religions in a game world.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Brass Horseshoe
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragonslayer Pantheon: Order of the Sacred Deep
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/08/2013 08:20:10
The Dragonslayer Pantheon products by Chubby Monster Games are designed by author Andrew Shields to be incorporated into existing game worlds and provide a new take on one of the religions attached to a god. Each religious order presented includes the common knowledge about the order as well as the secret knowledge of the initiated, non-player characters tied to the order, its practices, suggestions for power levels and adventure hooks using the order and advice for incorporating the group into an existing setting.

Sacred Deep is a mystery cult dedicated to keeping the secrets of the caves and under-earth, secret. They are shadowy but not evil, though their action could easily prove disruptive to adventurers, they are not overly confrontational -in most cases- more an annoyance. Yet they could also become allies under certain circumstances. A very flexible group that could be entirely overlooked by player character yet could still impact them in interesting ways. Also, this volume, the first of the Dragonslayer Pantheon products is free, so you can try it without risk and see if the structure and layout appeal to you.

Overall, I think the Dragonslayer Pantheon product provides a useful set of ideas and options to spark adventure and interest in various religions in a game world.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Pantheon: Order of the Sacred Deep
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Moleskin Maps 04
by Tim S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2013 22:22:00
Volume Four of Moleskin Maps by Chubby Monster Games from the hand of Matt Jackson. If you read this blog, on Google+, read nearly any gaming blog Matt's maps are there. His map style looks so simple and eloquent. Like the rest in the series there are 10 maps included with 10 adventure sheets to go with them. These focus on underground maps, one with ruins. All the maps are useful. A quick flip through the book and its easy to come up with ideas on the fly to fill these caverns.

A few weeks back I needed something to get my brain going and I was drawing for crap, so I got one of Matt's maps out, numbered the encounters and soon I was going full tilt on a mini adventure. I don't know about most of you, but for me, the map comes first. It helps me develop the adventure. Sometimes I know what I want ahead of time, but its good practice to use other's maps to exercise your adventure writing skills.

The 4th volume of Moleskin Maps is fertile ground for ideas. And I've praised the utility of the adventure sheets in the past. I like the no nonsense layout. You get your maps and a tool to use with your map. Done and done.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Moleskin Maps 04
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Moleskin Maps 04
by Anthony H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2013 12:23:48
I am now the owner of all four collections of Moleskin Maps, produced by +Matt Jackon at Chubby Monster Games, and I wanted to take this opportunity to provide a short comment regarding them.

Mr. Jackson has provided four excellent sets of what appear to be hand-drawn maps (if I understand correctly, they are inspired by maps that he had originally drawn in his Moleskine, thus the name).

There are 11 maps in volumes I & II, and 10 maps each in volumes III & IV. Most of them are underground caverns, although there are also a campsite (possibly two, depending on your interpretation of the map, a small village and a farm in volume I, as well as some other non-underground locations in the other volumes.

Each volume is a pdf with maps, and a location key sheet for the GM to set up what the map is going to represent.

If you visit Matt's blog, you can find samples of his work, to see if you like what you see.

In addition to a nicely laid out pdf, each volume also has a zip file containing high resolution PNG files, which you can use in your virtual table tops, or print out as needed for your not so virtual tabletops.

The price is very reasonable on these, and I highly recommend them to GM's who need some inspiration for locations.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Moleskin Maps 03
by Anthony H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2013 12:23:30
I am now the owner of all four collections of Moleskin Maps, produced by +Matt Jackon at Chubby Monster Games, and I wanted to take this opportunity to provide a short comment regarding them.

Mr. Jackson has provided four excellent sets of what appear to be hand-drawn maps (if I understand correctly, they are inspired by maps that he had originally drawn in his Moleskine, thus the name).

There are 11 maps in volumes I & II, and 10 maps each in volumes III & IV. Most of them are underground caverns, although there are also a campsite (possibly two, depending on your interpretation of the map, a small village and a farm in volume I, as well as some other non-underground locations in the other volumes.

Each volume is a pdf with maps, and a location key sheet for the GM to set up what the map is going to represent.

If you visit Matt's blog, you can find samples of his work, to see if you like what you see.

In addition to a nicely laid out pdf, each volume also has a zip file containing high resolution PNG files, which you can use in your virtual table tops, or print out as needed for your not so virtual tabletops.

The price is very reasonable on these, and I highly recommend them to GM's who need some inspiration for locations.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Moleskin Maps 03
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 41 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG