RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
OneDice Universal
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2016 04:53:45

I bought the PDF and print versions of this book. I also bought OneDice Cyberpunk and I have left a review for that product. In a nutshell, OneDice Universal is a quick-to-learn, simple yet highly expandable game system which is perfect for getting a game up and running at the drop of a hat. As a parent with very little spare time, I can see our group adopting this as our go-to game. With an ever expanding range of books in the OneDice system, I can definitely see us buying all of them (and actually using them) Great product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OneDice Cyberpunk
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2016 04:46:07

I've only flipped through the PDF while I wait for the printed book version to arrive, but I have to say that I am very impressed. The system is so very straight forward and simple, yet not so simple that it doesn't leave room for expansion. In fact, the possibilities are endless with the OneDice system. I'm not soing to go into detail about the system as there is a quick-start version of the OneDice system available here on DriveThru. The overall feel of OneDice reminds me of the simplicity of Fighting Fantasy, and in fact there is a solo adventure in the quick-start book which is classic example of this general feel. Cyberpunk RPGs can be notoriously complex because of the cyberspace/matrix/jacking-in element which is a hard thing to put into practice at the game table, but the cyberspace rules in OneDice CyberPunk are so straightforward that it's going to a breeze to play. I can't recommend OneDice CyberPunk, and the OneDice system in general. As a parent who doesn't get much spare time, this is the perfect game system for me and my family. Also the publisher has priced all of the OneDice books very reasonably so I can see myself buying all the printed books eventually. Money well spent, and a fantastic book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Cyberpunk
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Streets 2nd Edition - Core Rulebook
by Patrick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2016 16:07:34

Simply my favourite cosmic horror game! Wonderful period, loads of atmosphere and game mechanics that only support the experience rather than get in the way!

LOVE IT



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Streets 2nd Edition - Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Renaissance Deluxe
by Patrick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2016 16:00:55

Truly wonderful piece of work! Cannot speak highly enough of this system; if you wanted CoC to be a bit more detailed or for BRP to get to the point, get this.

If you love the idea of a period not often covered by the plethora of games available today (1640-1740) then get this. Even if you are just a bit curious, then, for the price, get this :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Renaissance Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Renaissance - D100 black powder SRD
by Jay M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2016 22:42:18

Your fucking kidding me, this product is so good you should be charging people to look at it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Renaissance - D100 black powder SRD
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OneDice Supers
by Joe J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2016 20:45:59

We have a total of 7 players for our RPG experince, and dice rolling with that many people can be a hastle, plus several people are new with RPG's. Once dice is awesome for a big group, new players, or those like me who like simple game mechanics so I can focus on the story. I also have the fantasy version, and although both are simple to learn, there is plenty of depth that can be added. I really like this game style.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Supers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OneDice Supers
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2016 23:10:21

Everything needed to play is in this product.

The system is very straight forward: Roll a single D6 and add the appropriate Ability (Strong, Clever, Quick, Power) and an appropriate Skill (from a good size, but not overlong list) and any Gifts (a robust selection of powers) against a Difficulty set by the Gamekeeper or an opposed roll. That's the system in a nutshell.

There also Flaws, Embellishments (think perks) and Covers (a template which is, essentially, a profession you spend half of your skill points on).

I found character creation took less than twenty minutes for a superhero game. And play was smooth and quick.

One very intriguing facet is what OneDice calls Skins, in this case three, which fill in the details of a setting and have rules that alter the rules to one degree or another.

I really can't recommend OneDice Supers enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Isles Poster Map (Pirates & Dragons)
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2016 09:34:27

I had this map printed full size (2 feet x 3 feet) at a local print shop on glossy poster stock. It is gorgeous!

If you are a Pirates and Dragons players, or just a map geek this is one to add to your collection. High resolution, full colour art work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Isles Poster Map (Pirates & Dragons)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OneDice Quickstart
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2016 13:49:19

Good for what it does. Meant to be a quick to learn and do game. Not 97 pages on different weapons, but broad categories, like sword - not katana vs short sword vs claymore etc. And the same with all other areas. Simple mechanics makes it useful for solo. So you spend time on the story, not looking up pages of rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Streets 2nd Edition - Core Rulebook
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2015 06:38:56

Considering the instability of the various RuneQuest/Legend editions, and with Chaosium due to release another RuneQuest edition next year, it was probably quite a wise move to develop the Renaissance system as it's own thing.

However, there is nothing better than an entirely self contained game and setting and this one has great potential now that it's been formatted this way. The layout and organisation is sound, with some nice illustrations of the period and the writing is clear and compelling.

It's sits nicely alongside the Clockwork and Chivalry game (also Renaissance based but set about 100 years earlier), and offers some excellent Cthuluoid scares in an 18th Century London setting. It does beg the question whether the Clockwork and Cthulhu supplement will also get a 2nd edition with a full set of rules in the future? Indeed, one wonders whether they can keep making historical settings of this ilk in maybe the 19th and 16th Centuries too? It would certainly make a fine collection!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Streets 2nd Edition - Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Abney Park's Airship Pirates
by Ryan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2015 05:53:01

Note: Will refer to this book as APAP in this review. Also this will describe how I've been using the book, to give you some idea of it's flexibility.

Mechanics: Uses the Heresy System, created for the Victoriana RPG. When you are making a test you roll a number of d6 equal to their Attribute + Skill. Every 1 and every 6 they roll is a success, with a roll of a 6 exploding. An average test requires two successes to be considered successful. The more successes achieved, the greater the success. Complications are added in the form of Black Dice, which represent adverse or difficult circumstances. These are rolled as part of the dice pool, but for every 1 or 6 rolled on a Black Die, a regular success is negated. It creates a very player driven game, as a DM you really only need to roll for contested items, like combat so you can focus on the narrative -- which I've found very important in the system. To give players a feel of the 'universe' and to give them time to react, describing the scenes around them is very important. A note on Black Dice, incidentally, I've found using them exclusively for aspects of difficulty outside player control is the best way to use them -- using them too much seems to give the impression you're 'picking' on the party. Environmental things, e.g. 'Your Airship is fighting another one in a storm, all handling and gunnery rolls have 2 Black Dice or perhaps 3, as the ship is rocking and shuddering in the high winds and lashing rain.'

Setting: The setting speaks for itself honestly. Steampunk. Airships. Fighting tyranny with piracy! I personally use this to supplement my Victoriana 3rd Edition game, with it's airship rules. So, you can "co-mingle" the systems rather easily. The books setting itself is both brilliant, and at the same time incredibly cheesy - Which may or may not be your cup of tea. From the name of the main antagonist, to other aspects of the setting make this more lighthearted than Victoriana is - it's good fun if you want a more over the top swashbuckling adventure. For your more hardcore RPG fans, who want a serious game, you might want to consider tweaking some of the setting information -- which is why I've used the Victoriana 3rd edition's Crimean War as a backdrop/catalyst nations developing new engines and airships for combat. And so use the airship rules to supplement the game. The flexibility and cross-over of skills means the two books can compliment each other very well.

Essentially, I think it's a really good buy if you want to play a steampunk setting with an emphasis on sky-boats!

Summary: I think it lacks the depth, of a truly hardcore RPG setting, which is really the only thing stopping me from giving it 5 Stars. In combination with Victoriana, which is really the best thing to compare it to, you can create some absolutely fantastic games. But alone, it's a fun entertaining, swashbuckling adventure through the skies.

It stands up on it's own by offering an alternative "future", the Caribbean of the Skies. A dystopian Empire to contend with, whilst your crew bravely uphold their cunning ruse to trade in 'legitimate ports' before making a run with their black market cargo to High Tortuga. Cannons. Swordplay. Stupidly named Airships, because your RP group are all Manchilds. Bargain.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Abney Park's Airship Pirates
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OneDice Universal
by Edwin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2015 07:50:39

First off is what Onedice is. This is a simple rules set that gives you the skeleton and muscle to run just about any game you want without having a huge amount of rules to bog down game play. You want a space cowboy game with elves running around casting spells, this rules set allows you to do it without having to search through a huge tome every time a question pops up.

What Onedice is not. This is not a product that gives you a finished game world to play in. It will take some work on the part of the GM and player's to flesh out the setting they like. Options are presented in the book as "skins", but even these are just basic overlays that are more examples of how to tweak the rules for your game than worlds you can drop players into.

Character generation is basic point buy, with options for special abilities. Advancement has the option of being level based or point buy. This is an option I wish more games employed. Game play is simple. (Single d6+modifiers vs target number)

The rules set does lack in the opponent department. While there are some creatures list in the book, they are not many. A broader selection would have been useful to use as examples if you want to convert some over from other games. Conversion, though, is very simple. (I've gotten it down enough that I can use OGL creatures on the fly.)

Onedice has become my group's rules set, even to the point that we are using it to run games in established settings from other game companies.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OneDice Abney Park's Airship Pirates
by Ade J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2014 15:48:36

I have the "original" version of this game as a glorious hardback and love it... However, since buying the print version of this edition I have decided that this is the way forward. The One Dice system is a fast, furious and simplistic set of rules that can easily be adapted to any setting. It has become my generic system of choice over Savage Worlds and GURPS.

This book contains all the rules AND the setting. Absolute bargain for the price. I am combining it with the One Dice Steampunk rules to create the ULTIMATE Steam game.

The art adds to the flavour rather than detracts from it and the writing/editing is excellent like the other Cakebread and Walton partnership products.

Highly recommended and at this price, no downsides to it at all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Abney Park's Airship Pirates
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OneDice Pirates & Dragons
by christopher c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2014 14:18:37

Awesome read, wonderful game! Simple yet intelligent rules ! Would love to see modules and solo tables for those of us who do not have groups !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Pirates & Dragons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Renaissance Deluxe
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2014 14:12:36

Light on flashy art... But an amazing set if rules in a well laid out format.

Anyone who is interestintense role playing in a 16th through 18th century setting , whether historical, semi-historical, or historical fantasy style setting should seriously consider these rules. This is likely my favourite BRP variant (BRP = Basic Role Playing, the same engine used by such games as "Call of Cthulhu" and "Runequest").



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Renaissance Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 67 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG