RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
Naval Perils
Naval Perils
$2.00 $0.00









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Rolemaster Combat Minion (RMSS/FRP License)
by Timothy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2014 19:34:06
This is the best aid ever for Rolemaster! I love it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Combat Minion (RMSS/FRP License)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ERA for Rolemaster
by Wayne T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2014 01:27:38
This application has huge potential! The complete lack of documentation is not helpful at all but the program is relatively intuitive once you realize the flow of the interface. I must admit that I did not view the Tutorial video before writing this and will modify my review if the tutorial answers all my questions. The free version is extremely limited but it has me interested enough to at least purchase Character Law and see what we have.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ERA for Rolemaster
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ERA for Rolemaster
by Charles C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2014 15:12:02
I have not been able to get it to open and do anything. So far all it does is take up memory.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Please post the specifics of your problem on the Rolemaster Software board of the ICE forums at www.ironcrown.com so that we can figure out what is the problem and get you running. Best wishes, Nicholas HM Caldwell, Director, Guild Companion Publications
AutoHARP SF
by Adam L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2014 14:41:57
In theory, this would be essential software for HARP SF. After all, character creation takes many hours without software assistance and combat would be so much easier if you didn't have to flip through the book so often just to find the right critical tables. But at least it's still playable compared to Rolemaster, where you kinda have to be able to grasp Non-Euclidean angles and other Lovecraftian mathematics. Especially where magic/psionics is concerned.

But theory is not practice. I downloaded this a few months ago. When I first installed it, it had all the functionality of a demo. However, when I tried to install the SF database, it was literally impossible to do because it kept running into this error: the installer can't even open the file for writing.

At first, I just wrote it off as a lesson learned; don't bother getting character creation software from Guild Companion because it does not function.

I tried again recently, and it's still the same problem. I thought I'd check and the software certainly hasn't updated as far as I am able to tell, so it's pretty much just as useless as it was back then.

As for contacting the creators of the software, HOW? There is no presented way of doing so. Which for this, is another fatal flaw.

So it's pretty much back to not using a computer for HARP gaming, because this program is little more than a $20 demo.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
AutoHARP SF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I am sorry to hear that you have been having difficulty with AutoHARP SF. Please post the specifics of your problem on the HARP Software board of the ICE forums at www.ironcrown.com - that is where we provide technical support. Best wishes, Nicholas HM Caldwell Director, Guild Companion Publications Ltd
Spacemaster Privateers
by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2014 23:39:04
An excellent game for advanced RPers. Very detailed - would be great to see the rules implemented in a sci-fi CRPG.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spacemaster Privateers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

RMFRP 1999 Arms Law
by Alexandre K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2014 01:47:22
nice book ! but im looking for rolemaster second edition book

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RMFRP 1999 Arms Law
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

RMFRP Races and Cultures
by Frank R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2014 15:24:45
A tad too "un-generic" for my tastes. Great material, but may require some work to incorporate this in a campaign that is not set in Shadow World.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RMFRP Races and Cultures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadow World: Emer III
by Sebastian K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2014 15:26:39
Got my softcover version last week from England. The distribution setup works out nice. Had it been shipped from the US I'd still be waiting.

Material:
The quality is in line with Cloudlords of Tanara and Xa-ar. In short: Solid! The paper has a good feel to it. The colors come out crisp and the spine makes a quality impression. I opted for softcover because these fit right in with my other ICE products from way back when. And although the PoDs are brand new, they pick up the thread where the old ones stopped. Overall I was impressed with the volume of this new tome. Given it's size, it still is a pleasure to read.

Structure:
For me, this is the biggest plus aside from the captivating content. First of all, I really like the logical structure given to material released for Rolemaster and Shadow World. All the books I ever held in hand were very well executed and included an introduction, a clarification of abbreviations, the game material itself, followed by tables and a search index. This is paramount for internal product contingency and makes it possible to put aside a book and come back to it - maybe even years later - and still be able to quickly find what you're looking for. Being able to sift through 30 years of gaming material while using the same indexing mechanism is probably unique to gaming industry products and reveals a distinct level of professionalism.

Layout:
Then there is the matter of type setting and formatting. The reason why I tend to buy and collect older publications is that they are for the most part "black text ond white paper" in a recognizable letter size. One evil that came with electronic publications was the idea to cram more words onto a single page because anybody with a computer could simply magnify the page on his monitor until it appeared readable. What works out with 140% magnification does not work out when trying to read the printed product. The often seen habbit of putting full scale full color illustrations underneath the text made things only worse. The production run in tiny print saved the publisher about six to ten pages while giving the product a miserable usability. Reading tiny print on full color pages is a real pain. So, based on these observations, when looking at Emer III, I am happy to see a book where everything was done just right:
- Well selected type setting
- Good formatting
- Readable, black on white two column layout to make for an enjoyable reading experience

All in all: Great work !!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow World: Emer III
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadow World: Emer III
by Thomas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2014 04:37:47
Everyone who is familiar with Terry Amthor's work knows that his books are high standard. Emer III is no exception. It's all there: a rich history, detailled descripions of cultures, cool locations, maps, layouts, adventures etc. But what really sets Terry Amthor's books apart is the fact that they are so much fun to read. They don't read like a dry sourcebook at all. The texts are so full of details, history and background, you just can't put it away until you've read it all through.
All in all, the setting of Emer III is quite exotic and even a bit unusual for RPG adventures. This is not your usual run of the mill fantasy sourcebook. The exciting jungles and rainforests described here made me want to stop my currently running campaign and start an explorer-type campaign right away.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Combat Minion (RM Classic License)
by Brian O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2014 12:32:59
Awesome tool that has made my life so much easier! Saves me time flipping through all the combat tables, figuring out initiative, etc. It takes away the dread of trying to GM so I can concentrate on the more creative aspect of running a campaign

Thank you for creating this incredible software tool, now that I have it I don't think I can do without it now!

Brian

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Combat Minion (RM Classic License)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rolemaster Combat Minion (RM Classic License)
by Randy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2014 16:27:37
This is the product we have all waited for if you love Rolemaster. It speeds up combat and tracks it as well. It uses all the RM2 Arma Law tables and give you those nasty critical results. I have waited 20 years for this. Very simple to use and setup, watch the videos (I didn't and missed a very easy step). Enjoy

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Combat Minion (RM Classic License)
by Timothy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2014 08:42:58
I used this for the first time this weekend with our group. It took me one evening about 1.0 hour to input all the PC's in our group then another 2 hours to input all the NPC (villains) for our upcoming adventure Saturday. The software worked great and I installed this on my IPad so this is very compatible with an IPad. Combat and keeping track of critical hits was great. We slowed combat down a little as my group wanted to roll their own "to hits" but they agreed to allow the software roll the "critical hits". This software definitely speeds up combat even if you take time to manually input your PC's "to hit" rolls. I highly recommend this software and I hope ICE plans on continued support for the future. Just one users opinion. Tim D.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow World: Emer III
by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2014 11:45:40
The following review was originally posted at Roleplayers Chronicle and can be read in its entirety at http://roleplayerschronicle.com/?p=41136.

Emer Atlas III is a Shadow World sourcebook for Rolemaster, detailing the southeastern areas of the Emer continent. It contains a very in-depth look at the regions history (including a very detailed timeline), geographical features, flora, fauna, cultures, climates, weather, NPCs, adventure hooks, and the kitchen sink. It’s presented in an extremely straight-forward, easy-to-read manner and flows quite nicely from beginning to end. The majority of the book is dedicated to pure source material that can be translated to any fantasy system desired and then supported by Rolemaster/Rolemaster Classic/Rolemaster Fantasy/every Rolemaster version currently supported. These mechanics are presented in a supportive manner, completely disconnected (physically, as in layout) from the source content, preventing them from getting in the way. Thus, you can casually read through all the source material and then come around it again at the end through the use of the mechanics.

Calling Emer Atlas III a sourcebook is simply not enough. It is THE sourcebook detailing the southeast of Emer. In other words, this isn’t your standard sourcebook; it sets quite an amazing benchmark. Let’s start at the beginning with the region’s history. Author Terry Kevin Amthor chose not to simply provide the readers with the basic historical look at the region. Instead, he got down to the absolute nitty-gritty, bringing you all the way back to the very first intelligent roots that arose in the region. He then takes you through this entire history leading up to present day (this spans 200,000 years). I will admit that I often became confused by the fantasy-lingo used during this timeline, but the more I read, the more I understood.

From here, the book moves into an extremely detailed look at the region’s climate, geography, flora, fauna, and inhabitants. Funny enough, I could have sworn this section was written by a climatologist and geographer, or a general scholar of those items. I was floored by the amount of information, but better yet, how plausible, believable, and realistic it seemed. I know those are basically the same thing, but that’s how I felt. Best of all, it was written in a way that can be easily referenced at a later time. This is mainly due to how they formatted the headers by including the climate zones in the headers of each applicable item (such as a particular poisonous plant).

After this highly-detailed information, the book moves on to what I would consider a more typical sourcebook format. It reviews the major areas within the southeast region, detailing the cultures, inhabitants, NPCs, and cities (with maps). There is a bit of a background story relating to the waxing and waning powers within the region and their source; a short chapter is given over to detailing this further and outside of the other content that its typically dropped into. Finally, Emer Atlas III takes everything you’ve already learned and gives it meaning by providing eight adventures and adventure hooks (the really short ones I would consider adventure hooks). What I would consider an appendix provides maps of the region and a chart of applicable fantasy weapons.

All in all, Emer Atlas III is an amazing book. If you are a Shadow World fan, this is a definite must have to expand your world in such a detailed manner. If you are just a Rolemaster fan, then you’ll be provided with a vast quantity of adventuring ideas, NPCs, weapons, and cultures to drop into your game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow World: Emer III
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rolemaster Combat Minion (RM Classic License)
by Mikael O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2014 04:47:16
I recommend this to speed up Rolemaster combat without sacrificing flavor and detail. Works great!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Combat Minion (RM Classic License)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Guild Adventurer #1
by VP401533 K. H. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2014 03:55:43
I was astounded, jaw hanging. I heard about rolemaster and HARP (but never played it) but never the guild adventurer magazine.

So, one fateful day, I was scouring around in DTRPG for a new game system to sink my "eyes" into and I chanced upon rolemaster. So I asked myself, why not?

I wanted to have a feel of the writing style, gaming perspective, theme and mechanics so what better place to start this exploration than through their own in-house magazine?

A few clicks later (and lightening of my wallet), I bought this magazine.

Cover art is well...meh - mundane and to be honestly, quite amateur work but a fine reminiscence of old school RPG (e.g. D&D BECMI, 1e/2e) so it is ok with me.

Length of the magazine is fine - not the cheapest in terms of ratio for pages per dollar spent but its ok. Articles - there are six. There are two supplementary articles fleshing out a tavern and a coach inn and four adventures (varying from RMC to HARP to Spacemaster).

What can I say to these articles? Wow! The detailing on the tavern and coach-inn are simply fantastics. Everything in it are fully usable whether on the intended campaign or to be used elsewhere (and the articles even advise how it can be done).

As for the adventures, at a read through only (without actually using it in play), there are simply terrific. Old-school, fine writing styles, thematic and flavorful.

This magazine (unlike some other magazines I bought and reviewed) gives me worth in every page and articles.

This magazine has convinced me. I'm going to embark on RMC - made an order for all the basic core books and definitely going to purchase the rest (and future) of the guild adventurer magazines.

Kudos to the everyone who worked on this. I have never been WOWed for a long time

PS: PF was mundane but still enjoyable and D&D 4e was yucks. So this gives you a gauge of what I meant by my appraisal of their (guild companion publication) work.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guild Adventurer #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 90 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG