RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Guild Adventurer #1
by VP401533 K. H. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2014 03:55:43

I was astounded, jaw hanging. I heard about rolemaster and HARP (but never played it) but never the guild adventurer magazine.

So, one fateful day, I was scouring around in DTRPG for a new game system to sink my "eyes" into and I chanced upon rolemaster. So I asked myself, why not?

I wanted to have a feel of the writing style, gaming perspective, theme and mechanics so what better place to start this exploration than through their own in-house magazine?

A few clicks later (and lightening of my wallet), I bought this magazine.

Cover art is well...meh - mundane and to be honestly, quite amateur work but a fine reminiscence of old school RPG (e.g. D&D BECMI, 1e/2e) so it is ok with me.

Length of the magazine is fine - not the cheapest in terms of ratio for pages per dollar spent but its ok. Articles - there are six. There are two supplementary articles fleshing out a tavern and a coach inn and four adventures (varying from RMC to HARP to Spacemaster).

What can I say to these articles? Wow! The detailing on the tavern and coach-inn are simply fantastics. Everything in it are fully usable whether on the intended campaign or to be used elsewhere (and the articles even advise how it can be done).

As for the adventures, at a read through only (without actually using it in play), there are simply terrific. Old-school, fine writing styles, thematic and flavorful.

This magazine (unlike some other magazines I bought and reviewed) gives me worth in every page and articles.

This magazine has convinced me. I'm going to embark on RMC - made an order for all the basic core books and definitely going to purchase the rest (and future) of the guild adventurer magazines.

Kudos to the everyone who worked on this. I have never been WOWed for a long time

PS: PF was mundane but still enjoyable and D&D 4e was yucks. So this gives you a gauge of what I meant by my appraisal of their (guild companion publication) work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guild Adventurer #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HARP College of Magics
by Bruce M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2013 12:08:22

Great supplement! Adds loads of new spells and a spell creation system. It has options to specialize priests and many more options that I have yet to explore.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HARP College of Magics
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HARP Martial Law
by Bruce M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2013 12:07:16

Amazing supplement! This is an updated and revised version. It offers a different set of combat tables that include hit hit locations. This is a must have for any HARP gamer!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HARP Martial Law
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

High Adventure Role Playing Fantasy
by Bruce M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2013 12:04:43

Excellent game! It''s a complete and easy to learn RPG. You can be a variety of professions/classes and you can choose to be a mixture of more than one race. There are also excellent multiple supplements out for this game that give a variety of options to customize HARP as each GM sees fit. Great Product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High Adventure Role Playing Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Guild Adventurer #3
by Bruce M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2013 13:16:24

The Guild Adventurer magazines are awesome. They provide some great gaming supplements that are extremely helpful in in or out of a pinch. You can't beat the low cost of these PDF's for the quality and amount of what you get in each ezine. They are more than worth the cost!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guild Adventurer #3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Guild Adventurer #2
by Bruce M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2013 13:15:52

The Guild Adventurer magazines are awesome. They provide some great gaming supplements that are extremely helpful in in or out of a pinch. You can't beat the low cost of these PDF's for the quality and amount of what you get in each ezine. They are more than worth the cost!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guild Adventurer #2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Guild Adventurer #1
by Bruce M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2013 13:15:13

The Guild Adventurer magazines are awesome. They provide some great gaming supplements that are extremely helpful in in or out of a pinch. You can't beat the low cost of these PDF's for the quality and amount of what you get in each ezine. They are more than worth the cost!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guild Adventurer #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

RMSS Arcane Companion
by Helmut K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2013 16:02:08

Sometimes the text is cut off, for example on page 18. Some tables are hard to read, for example on page 24. Sometimes you can't even read the text at all, for example on page 25 (rightmost column in table T-2.8 looks like black on black) + page 33 + page 113 + page 128. The spell types in the spell list section can be hardly read at all on nearly all spell lists. I know that the product description says that the Quality is Imperfect, but not being able to read some critical, in my opinion, Information makes this product less than useful. Fortunately i still have the printed book. This is not the kind of product i am used to buy from Guild Companion Publications. The flaws nearly made me regret my purchase.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
RMSS Arcane Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rolemaster Classic: Creatures & Treasures
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2013 22:26:15

This is an excellent supplement for Rolemaster, though it is light on some specifics such as Monster Base Spellcasting bonuses. My biggest issue here is that page 143 is missing, has been for over a year, and there has been no update published. Pretty sloppy.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Classic: Creatures & Treasures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
You are the first person to notice *and* report the missing page. Thank you for reporting the problem. It's now been fixed and you should be able to download the updated file. Apologies for any inconvenience.
RMFRP The Armory
by Ted F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2013 21:34:59

This is a good expansion for Rolemaster, including many Asian weapons not in Arms Law. It has a couple of "joke" "weapons" that i didn't receive well, but maybe others would like them. It has at least one historical sort-of-inaccuracy in that the three sectioned staff was typically longer, but it works "as is." Overall this is a good product and worth buying especially if you want to use Asian weapons in Rolemaster.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RMFRP The Armory
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

City of Archendurn
by Ted F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2013 10:29:59

This product is good. I will be using it in my campaign under a different city name. I would have liked to see the city divided into sectors and described in that manner, rather than more specific places as it appears to be described after general descriptions. But that's just my organizational preference, the product is good.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City of Archendurn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dun Cru
by Ted F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2013 10:22:34

Well constructed adventure with a nice plot. Artwork could be better, but I see that as minor. I plan on using this in my campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dun Cru
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rolemaster Companion I
by Ted F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2013 12:40:14

I love the Rolemaster comanions. Be careful not to use all optional rules, otherwise in total they will unbalance your game. Pick and choose what works for YOUR world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Companion I
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rolemaster Classic Arms Law
by Ted F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2013 12:39:14

Great game. I've always loved Rolemaster, and this rule set is great. Finally, a combat system that gives good realism. I only have two beefs: 1) It has no means of rolling for "called shots" - as in real life you can certainly "shoot for the head". 2) The armor tables are a bit too restricting. Real people wearing full plate have no trouble doing back flips, cartwheels, and other maneuvers, so they shouldn't be quite as restrictive. Medeival pictures are available of archers wearing plate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Classic Arms Law
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rolemaster Classic Spell Law
by Ted F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2013 12:37:24

Great game. I've always loved Rolemaster, and this rule set is great. I especially like how flexible the spell system is.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Classic Spell Law
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 120 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG