RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
City of Archendurn
by Ted F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2013 10:29:59

This product is good. I will be using it in my campaign under a different city name. I would have liked to see the city divided into sectors and described in that manner, rather than more specific places as it appears to be described after general descriptions. But that's just my organizational preference, the product is good.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City of Archendurn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dun Cru
by Ted F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2013 10:22:34

Well constructed adventure with a nice plot. Artwork could be better, but I see that as minor. I plan on using this in my campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dun Cru
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rolemaster Companion I
by Ted F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2013 12:40:14

I love the Rolemaster comanions. Be careful not to use all optional rules, otherwise in total they will unbalance your game. Pick and choose what works for YOUR world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Companion I
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rolemaster Classic Arms Law
by Ted F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2013 12:39:14

Great game. I've always loved Rolemaster, and this rule set is great. Finally, a combat system that gives good realism. I only have two beefs: 1) It has no means of rolling for "called shots" - as in real life you can certainly "shoot for the head". 2) The armor tables are a bit too restricting. Real people wearing full plate have no trouble doing back flips, cartwheels, and other maneuvers, so they shouldn't be quite as restrictive. Medeival pictures are available of archers wearing plate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Classic Arms Law
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rolemaster Classic Spell Law
by Ted F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2013 12:37:24

Great game. I've always loved Rolemaster, and this rule set is great. I especially like how flexible the spell system is.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Classic Spell Law
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rolemaster Classic Character Law
by Ted F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2013 12:36:13

Great game. I've always loved Rolemaster, and this rule set is great.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Classic Character Law
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rolemaster Classic: Creatures & Treasures
by Ted F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2013 12:34:48

I love rolemaster, and this is a great supplement to have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Classic: Creatures & Treasures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rolemaster Classic Spell Law
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2013 05:26:45

In my mind, this is the book that makes Rolemaster so unique. Spells grouped to list (for example, flight and teleport) and then further into class and realm; this gives the feel of an organic way that spells might actually be learnt in a fantasy world.
The spells and skills around them allow for a GM to run a low or very high power game. Spells are designed to be used creatively, not just blow stuff up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Classic Spell Law
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rolemaster Classic Arms Law
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2013 05:21:14

Arms Law is the oldest part of Rolemaster and is still the core of this great system. The old and mostly ignored initiative system has been refreshed but takes nothing from the tactical environment, in fact it adds some new tactics. It is also great to have a good digital copy of the critical tables. I really like how there is a table of optional rules to further allow GM's to tailor their game.


"You knock foe out for 6 hours with a
strike to side of head. +15 hits. If foe
has no helm, you kill him instantly."


Always wear a helmet!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Classic Arms Law
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rolemaster Classic Character Law
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2013 05:13:11

It is great to update my old RM2 Character Law with this revised version. I especially enjoyed reading it from cover to cover and realising all the things we've done wrong over the years!
Rolemaster continues to be my all time favourite game system as it allows great scope in power levels and great diversity in character creation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Classic Character Law
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Essence Companion
by Kory D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2013 13:33:33

I have an old tattered version of this it is nice to get it in PDF. Very Nice



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Essence Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rolemaster Fantasy Role Playing
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2013 23:25:59

Solid book. If you're a player in a RoleMaster campaign, this should be your first book as it has a lot of information a player needs to know, and racial information and statistics. Character Law has further customization and race information, Arms Law has charts on different weapon damage, and Gamemaster Law has the info that of course the GM needs.


Don't mind the old-style images, embrace them as this is from an era where gameplay comes before flashiness and political correctness. Races have realistic attributes, movement speed, etc. which is cool. Of course, until everyone in your group has a good understanding of the mechanics be prepared for things to take a LOT longer than D&D/pathfinder. It's definitely worth the intellectual exercise even if you don't immediately have a group to play with.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Fantasy Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

RMFRP 1999 Arms Law
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2013 23:20:26

This is the best combat system I've ever read. The book doesn't really go into detail of mechanics too much, as you will need "Rolemaster Fantasy Role Playing" and "Gamemaster Law" for those details, but this book has a full set of tables for how 29 weapons perform against 20 armor types. Slashing weapons (sometimes) end up as blunt criticals against heavier armor, piercing does better against chain, and there is even a martial arts section for how sweeps/strikes performs against different armor types, as well as "monster" tables for natural weapons like beaks, claws etc.


Even if you don't play Rolemaster, you should get this book/PDF for the fun of reading it over.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RMFRP 1999 Arms Law
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

RMFRP The Armory
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2013 23:15:56

Additional weapons are cool and provide fun options. The difference in this vs arms law, is that the arms law combat tables are more realistic. Against full plate, a 2H sword ends up doing Krush criticals, where in The Armory, all criticals for a given weapon are always a specific type, but weapons that have the possibility of doing other critical types may choose to do so at a set penalty.


This loses the randomness of combat a bit, and this makes me a bit disappointed in the book as I liked the core mechanics much more. I liked the realism in all slashing weapons turning into bludgeoning criticals against full plate, since that's kind of what ended up happening in real life.


This book is a step back, I recommend that you get Arms Law instead. It probably wouldn't be too difficult to change these crit tables to be like a similar weapon from arms law.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
RMFRP The Armory
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

City of Archendurn
by JK R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2012 03:14:28

A reasonable description of a fantasy city with a Celtic flavour. It is clearly intended to be adaptable to a range of campaigns and rule systems, and so leaves some details vague (for example, there's only brief information on the city's spell-casters). Stats are provided for both Rolemaster and d20.


On the down-side, the production is basic. The maps are simple, but functional, and the layout is minimal. The only piece of art in the book (unless you count the cover) is so poor that it's hard to imagine why it was included - fortunately, there is only the one of it.


The positive is that the book is fairly thorough. It is 54 pages long, and includes descriptions of culture and society, as well as a number of locations. Floor-plans focus mainly on inns, and there are a number of plot suggestions, and many bits of useful detail. The feel is intended to be Celtic and low-magic - the latter in particular, may require some adaptation to be useful in a typical d20 campaign.


Overall, it's a reasonable product, but nothing outstanding. It does the job adequately, but no more than that. It may be particularly useful if you're looking for something with Rolemaster stats, since there isn't too much of that about.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
City of Archendurn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 110 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG