RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Toy War
by Kevin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2013 12:12:32
I was really impressed with this rule book. It's a great introduction into the world of role play games. Can't go wrong for the price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Toy War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

UNSanctioned: The Dream Corrupted
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/04/2013 11:55:39
It's always fun when a game takes a position and sticks to it. UNSanctioned does not go the route of replicating an existing comic book company's expansive super-world, carefully calculated to be close enough to our world to absorb brand new comic book readers but wide enough to encompass every possible thing a comic book writer might have thought of in the last fifty years. Instead, it creates its own mythology and its own themes, and pursues them relentlessly.

Set in an alternate 2003 in which electric cars are the norm, super-beings are empowered and controlled by the law, and the United States pushes the world towards global hegemony, UNSanctioned has as its central conflict power vs. justice. Real-life poltiicians, celebrities and organizations are used, albeit in altered ways since the world they grew up in was very different. The metahumans who work for the Peacekeepers, a souped-up, sinister UN organization, get celebrity, money, admiration and a license to hunt their own kind down. The renegades who fight against the system are vilified in the press, targeted by law enforcement, and must disguise their identity and struggle with questions of guerilla tactics and terrorism.

The system of UNSanctioned is a point-buy system similar to the many point-buy systems superhero RPG fans have used for years. You buy three core stats, then add or average some of them to get things like hit points and perception rolls. Skills and superpowers are also purchased out of this pool. The system uses two ten sided dice and you try to roll under a target number that's modified by the situation and your abilities. It seems solid, and tries to avoid the point inflation that some other supers RPGs suffer from.

Most of the book is taken up with descriptions of the setting, including fake news stories and advertisements. These give a real flavor to the world and provoke lots of ideas about the core theme.

One interesting thing about UNSanctioned's format is that it comes on smaller 6" x 9" pages, with a single color "cover. It's clearly made to be printed out and stapled or bound into a 168-page booklet. There's no "printer friendly" version, though, and the graphics-heavy nature of the pages make it so that actually doing this will be quite difficult.

There are no bookmarks in this material - a very serious omission given the wide variety of things presented in this book, the lack of an index and the need for reference during play. However, I'm reviewer tilting UNSanctioned up one star because it really strongly pursues a core concept and expresses it well - this is a setting I want to explore and have adventures in. It really raises a lot of cool questions.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
UNSanctioned: The Dream Corrupted
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TFS Super Clips #3: Super Scenes
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/24/2012 16:43:48
This clip art package was a bit of a mixed bag. I found that the more dynamic action scenes were definitely better pieces than the ones that we posed. The posed pieces had more of a wooden quality to them, while the action scenes were definitely much more dynamic and living pieces of art. For the price, I do think this package is worth it for the dynamic pieces of art. They would definitely liven up the art of a super-hero game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TFS Super Clips #3: Super Scenes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TFS Super Clips #2: Female Heroes & Villains
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/24/2012 16:38:42
The quality of this collection was less than that of the male super-hero clip art (and there were three fewer pieces of art of the same price), but the art in this package was still well drawn, by an artist who has an idea of what a woman's body looks like. Except for a couple of pictures that were closer to fan service than art, the quality over all was decent. There is still some exaggeration, but this is super-hero comic book-styled art.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
TFS Super Clips #2: Female Heroes & Villains
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TFS Super Clips #1: Male Heroes & Villains
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/24/2012 16:33:26
For $5 you can purchase twenty pieces of black and white line art of male super-heroic figures. They are definitely of a period belonging to the Image Comics-styled art of the 90s, but the quality isn't actually that bad. You receive a nice range of types of characters and poses, which can all be used for either commercial art, or they would make great illustrations for a character sheet. I like the more vintage feel of the art, but that is the sort of super-heroic characters that I enjoy. I have yet to find something in a Team Frog clipart package that was not useful for me.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TFS Super Clips #1: Male Heroes & Villains
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Big Damn Armies
by Craig D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2012 15:49:58
Did not like it and would not have purchased it at all if I could of reviewed the contents. The game is basic and the counters for "Big Armies" are just poor quality, do not recommend it sorry.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Big Damn Armies
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Super-Powered Miniatures Combat
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2012 21:39:12
Pros - I like the idea of a system to model any hero figure I have with a consistent points system
- Gets right to the fight without all the role-playing fuss

Cons - Too many typos
- Lots of combat resolution requires opposed rolls, really slows things down
- Not enough sample characters
- Rules promise support on vendor website, still nothing to be found there months later
- Feels rushed and abandoned

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Super-Powered Miniatures Combat
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Toy War
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/08/2012 20:57:53
Have kids? Do they love to play with anything from stuffed animals to toy robots or action figures?
Do want to introduce them to the world of RPGs? Well then this might just be the perfect game.
Well, not perfect, but really, really, really good.
Toy War takes so very simple rules (and also teaches kids how to use a ruler) to bring their favorite toys to life. Each toy has a purpose and something it does well. In one session we brought in a baby harp seal (was cute), a toy Dalek (can shoot), a space ship and some D&D dragons. We came up with this idea to rescue some fish and we were off. The adventure is fast and fun. In the end we saved the fish, only to have them eaten by the baby seal.
Depending on your kids this could be a game of structured make believe or even an on-going saga. Or it can be a great diversion for a rain or snowy afternoon.
Worth every penny and then some.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Toy War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Team Frog Studios Clip Art Col. #2: Sci Fi
by Al S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2011 13:04:35
While some of the pics are a little cartoony I do like the style of the product overall. Most of the pics would be better for a science fiction game with a light hearted as opposed to a gritty feel (like if your product was meant to have the feel of Firefly as opposed to Star Wars). My only complaint is I feel the license is a bit restrictive. You are only allowed to use 6 pictures from the collection in any given product. While that hasn't proven an issue for me yet, I would have rather had the freedom to be able to use as many as I wanted in a project. Still, the price isn't bad for the number of pictures you get.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Team Frog Studios Clip Art Col. #2: Sci Fi
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Supermegatopia
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2010 14:52:42
Supermegatopia uses anthropomorphized, super-hero animal characters in an urban setting -- that's the best thing I can say about this game. Most of the rulebook is cartoon comic pages, with some game mechanics thrown in for good measure. It says it's the HERO system, but it doesn't bear any resemblance of HERO that I can remember (you should know I haven't played HERO in about 25 years, though).

Over-priced; wasted money; never will use it.

Needs more work to be a game, not a comic book. (The Art is good for what it is; Layout is OK.)

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Supermegatopia
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CRITTERTEK: Cartoon Critter Giant Robot Combat
by Paolo V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2009 03:55:45
Rules :
Simple and fun. Allows for a lot of customizing.

Setting :
The setting is ideal younger players with the cartoon style and for the grown up it´s a parody of
the games and tv shows of their youth.

Add on : Critter Commandos 3rd Ed.
The same goes for Critter Commandos 3rd Ed.

Attention: Younger Players could be overwhelmed by the possibilities of the game without the help
of an older player.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CRITTERTEK: Cartoon Critter Giant Robot Combat
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Critter Commandos (3rd Ed.)
by Paolo V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2009 03:54:23
Rules :
Simple and fun. Allows for a lot of customizing.

Setting :
The setting is ideal younger players with the cartoon style and for the grown up it´s a parody of
the games and tv shows of their youth.

Add on : Crittertek
The same goes for Crittertek.

Attention: Younger Players could be overwhelmed by the possibilities of the game without the help
of an older player.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Critter Commandos (3rd Ed.)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Toy War
by Paolo V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2009 17:19:19
good game for introducing children in a non violent way to tabletops

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Toy War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Big Time Professional Rasslin - Steel Cage Deathmatch Edition
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2009 11:31:37
Honestly, this is not the best wrestling game I've ever seen. I won't say it's the worst, because I think the original WWF game fromt he early 90's might have that honor, but it's not the top either. Essentially a wrestling minis game comeplete with printable wrestling ring battlemat, it breaks wrestling moves down to simple dice roll mechanics that quickly make most moves feel the same. There is movement allotment which in my mind slows things down too much as wrestling tends to be fast paced. The included "setting" material is is good with a tongue-in-cheek tone that pokes a little fun at the world of "Sports Entertainment". It's not a bad game by any means, but I wouldn't call it the best either.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Big Time Professional Rasslin - Steel Cage Deathmatch Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

American Military Arms
by Charles C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2008 16:57:53
interasting, not bad, but it seems to be a extreamly select of weapons. it uses only the most common weapons. the title of the book makes it seem like a compleat list not a let us select the ones i liked.

i agree with some of the stats but should have at least made the 1911 able to prone a target because it was made for pure stoping power, "if it does not kill em it will stop em in their tracks." thats what the 1911 was made for, power.

ohh and there is a typo it says "the mp14 is considerd a masterwork weapon" seemed a little funny to me considering mp is a term for machinepistol (submachine gun) you might want to wack your editor on the head.

not bad, wish it had more pictuers, fair price, agreeabule stats, whish it had umm more military arms. but i guess for less then a dollar cant expect much. i say it is a buy.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
American Military Arms
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 86 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG