RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info
Light OSR
Light OSR
Pay What You Want











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Location Crafter
by Charles L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2016 17:03:56

This was a great product, full of good ideas i love the abstract exploration model that is used. Makes those random houses that thieves like to entet much easier on me, and special for them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Location Crafter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Location Crafter
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2015 03:59:45

It is simple to use, genre neutral and let me tell you: it just works. A great add-on to Mythic GME. All you need to come up with is a good imagination and about 15 to 30 words for a small to medium location.


Your words are then divided into three categories on which you roll randomly to fluff out a location. Easy, simple to use, no frills and really well explained. You cannot get wrong with this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2015 20:33:06

What my wife said after the first GM-less session we played using the Mythic GM Emulator, " I can't believe it works". I have to say, that after losing our usual group of roleplayers and not playing a regular campaign for the last three years, this has been a godsend. Now, me and my wife can both scratch both the player and gamemaster itch, while not needing a large group to play with. Using it with the Cypher System (which lends itself nicely to improvisation gaming because of the ease of making up NPCs on the fly), and can't wait to use it while beta testing the Dresden Accelerated rules. I'm sure this won't be for everybody, but I can say that purchasing all three books in the Mythic series was one of the best things I could have done for my game ( or lack there of). If you're skeptical, don't be... you have to try it, it's awesome!


P.S. I have to say that at the moment, I have been using the GM Emulator, and haven't used the system rules presented in this book yet. Regardless, I'm glad I picked up all three books, they are well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Variations
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2015 20:29:52

What my wife said after the first GM-less session we played using the Mythic GM Emulator and Variations, " I can't believe it works". I have to say, that after losing our usual group of roleplayers and not playing a regular campaign for the last three years, this has been a godsend. Now, me and my wife can both scratch both the player and gamemaster itch, while not needing a large group to play with. Using it with the Cypher System (which lends itself nicely to improvisation gaming because of the ease of making up NPCs on the fly), and can't wait to use it while beta testing the Dresden Accelerated rules. I'm sure this won't be for everybody, but I can say that purchasing all three books in the Mythic series was one of the best things I could have done for my game ( or lack there of). If you're skeptical, don't be... you have to try it, it's awesome!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Variations
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Game Master Emulator
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2015 20:26:36

What my wife said after the first GM-less session we played using the Mythic GM Emulator, " I can't believe it works". I have to say, that after losing our usual group of roleplayers and not playing a regular campaign for the last three years, this has been a godsend. Now, me and my wife can both scratch both the player and gamemaster itch, while not needing a large group to play with. Using it with the Cypher System (which lends itself nicely to improvisation gaming because of the ease of making up NPCs on the fly), and can't wait to use it while beta testing the Dresden Accelerated rules. I'm sure this won't be for everybody, but I can say that purchasing all three books in the Mythic series was one of the best things I could have done for my game ( or lack there of). If you're skeptical, don't be... you have to try it, it's awesome!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Role Playing
by Guntis V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2015 15:01:14

Great game - and a great GM / Gm-less tool!
I've not yet digested the system enough to use it (just skimmed through the PDF for the first time).


And still: its' brilliance shines through clearly.


Damn, I'd never EVER imagine a tabletop RPG system where not only the world, not only characters and events can be improvised on-the-fly... but RULES??


Wow! Deciding, say, the rules of magic half-way thru adventure - isn't it incredible? And whatever else may come up during adventures?


Which automatically means - we get an ideally customized ruleset while we play. Because it's we, the particular group of players, who choose the rules. The way we like them!


I love this Mythic!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Game Master Emulator
by Devon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 10:39:20

I just finished reading through the book and I'm very excited to give it a try. Not only for playing solo games, but also as a gm-ing tool at the table. The process and advice presented in the book are very well presented.


Like all products, it's not perfect. I docked it one star due to the illustrations of scantily clad women throughout the text that have nothing to do with the book's text. Perhaps they are supposed to be adventures, I don't know. I found them distracting and lacking inspiration. There's no action in the art, just cheese cake.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Location Crafter
by Damian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2015 19:02:36

Cool location generator. Short book compared to Mythic. Worth the price. This is a universal "play as you go" location generator, or could be used before the adventure. There are many other tools online that have ways of doing this, some are free and could generate seeded maps with encounters.


You don't need other Mythic books to use this. It's for GMs who want to generate areas from scratch, or solo players who don't want to know what happens next. I enjoy supporting the author, because the Mythic books are trendsetters and are often imitated.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Location Crafter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Creature Crafter
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2015 16:33:23

I have been able to work this into Cortex Marvel, Dungeon World, and Monsters of the Week. This system is so flexible and allows you to be descriptive. I really like all of the products from these guys. Easily worth $5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Creature Crafter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Role Playing
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2015 21:09:30

Mythic is a concise, well-written volume of rules and ideas that delivers what it says. It will take some imagination and a little practice to get the most out of the concepts. Most of the thickness of the book is the elaboration of a few key, but simple ideas . Using a unique percentile probabilities chart, Mythic delivers the outcomes of your choices and any random events that may occur. It sounds over simple the way I'm saying it. Get the book and you'll see how cool the system is; It works!


The only thing I didn't like about this product was the pinup/cheesecake female drawings littered through the book. Way too much. I have the full version of Acrobat and I used it to paste solid blocks to cover some of them. Hey, we all have smiled at the sight of the female fighter with the chainmail bikini (she has the same armor class as the male fighter in full plate!). I just don't want to see 20 versions of her in a book I'm trying to take seriously.


I consider this product well worth what I paid for it. I could see opportunities for supplements here as well. I really want to explore the idea of playing Mythic (or my favorite role-playing game using Mythic) without a GM/DM.I believe Mythic is a real good place to start.


I will finish by saying the art, as cheesy as it is(cheesy in concept not quality), does not reflect the great work in the writing. I recommend the Mythic very highly. I'm happy I purchased it.


As always I like to say that this is my opinion and yours may vary. Peace.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Location Crafter
by Laura Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2015 21:44:57

The writing is comfortably conversational, lead-in to new concepts is clear and friendly, and new terms are pretty self-explanatory. The parts of the system are explained in the order they come up in use.


Location generation procedure is straightforward, and there's a nice blend of randomness and increasing tension as rarer or conclusive elements become more likely. The system is scope-agnostic, so you can generate a planet or a single room with the same method.


These are my favorite things about the Location Crafter system:



  1. Setup sheets you create are reusable! I could build any number of, say, wizard's towers from a single prep sheet, maybe making things just a little more generic if I intended to reuse them.

  2. Creating a location can be a game in itself. I had a great time just building out and mapping an area, filling out all kinds of details, and wondering when and where the more unique or endgame-type rooms and encounters would come up.


I had a little trouble figuring out how best to weight and prioritize the potential contents of a location, but the text definitely does give hints here.


Great system for developing interesting locations, and a lot of fun to use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Location Crafter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Location Crafter
by chris b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2015 13:42:14

A wonderful product, this will be my favored GM emulator over Mythic (yes, it does that too, and more elegantly, without the big Fate Chart you find in Mythic). It's fun creating lists of things that can go into a setting, and it's amazing how the elements can come together.


Using it mostly for solo play without a GM, it's particularly great at 'crawl sorts of adventures. This can be of all sorts, not just classic subterranean realms, but anywhere you wish.


Some great and solid ideas here of which I will be making use for quite some time. Highly recommended for those who wish a more improvisatory approach to building not just locations (as it says on the tin), but adventures...because story will be generated too. Some creativity required.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Location Crafter
by Matthew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2014 00:20:13

I love the Location Crafter.I can use this to detail setting or I can keep drilling down adding layers of detail as needed. Even better though. is that I can use the Location Crafter to randomly generate a setting, on the fly, when playing solo and add as much or as little detail as needed. No matter how you play or what you play, you'll certainly find this book a valuable in your role playing toolkit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Location Crafter
by Łukasz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2014 00:46:58

This is a random location generator mechanic, that is, you don't get ready tables to roll, this requires a bit more work from the GM. You prepare the tables yourself according to the rules and then roll on them to get the location schematic (which can be quite easily drawn as a map). It really is very freeform and system/setting agnostic, a very good thing for a tool like this. I can see this working very well with some improvised scenarios or adventure seeds, where the specific locations are not premade. This can be used on the fly during a session (I'm not really sure about this, it takes up to 1-2 minutes to get another location element in some cases, so it would be a noticable stop during gameplay) or during session preparation. I like how this scales from small locations like a single room to cities, planets or even galaxies.


I cut a star from my rating because of technical mishaps. The text should be justified to left&right (it' only left aligned) and there are extra empty pags at the end, also the lines on the worksheet are misaligned. If any of this gets corrected in a future version, then you can ignore this part.


Overall, this is a useful tool, the price is a bit high for the amount of pages, but this will be used very much in my games so I don't really mind. It takes a bit of effort to use but that's the cost of being universal.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Location Crafter
by Jonathan A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2014 17:43:26

If you're familiar with the Mythic System, you'll feel comfortable with this random amalgamator. To use it, you'll throw together a few lists of elements that will describe the different locations within your setting; the rules then give you a system for mashing these lists together to come up with meaningful encounters on the fly. Since it's completely freeform, you'll have no problem slipping in your scripted locations and encounters to form the backbone of the adventure.
The system is heavily subjective, so don't expect any rules assistance, but its narrative emphasis allows it to work equally well with just about any RPG system out there.
This book is great if you're comfortable with extemporaneous GMing. If you like for everything to be scripted beforehand, don't bother--this book isn't for you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 64 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG