RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info
Rank & Vile
Rank & Vile
Pay What You Want









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Location Crafter
by Damian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2015 19:02:36
Cool location generator. Short book compared to Mythic. Worth the price. This is a universal "play as you go" location generator, or could be used before the adventure. There are many other tools online that have ways of doing this, some are free and could generate seeded maps with encounters.

You don't need other Mythic books to use this. It's for GMs who want to generate areas from scratch, or solo players who don't want to know what happens next. I enjoy supporting the author, because the Mythic books are trendsetters and are often imitated.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Location Crafter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Creature Crafter
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2015 16:33:23
I have been able to work this into Cortex Marvel, Dungeon World, and Monsters of the Week. This system is so flexible and allows you to be descriptive. I really like all of the products from these guys. Easily worth $5.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Creature Crafter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Role Playing
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2015 21:09:30
Mythic is a concise, well-written volume of rules and ideas that delivers what it says. It will take some imagination and a little practice to get the most out of the concepts. Most of the thickness of the book is the elaboration of a few key, but simple ideas . Using a unique percentile probabilities chart, Mythic delivers the outcomes of your choices and any random events that may occur. It sounds over simple the way I'm saying it. Get the book and you'll see how cool the system is; It works!

The only thing I didn't like about this product was the pinup/cheesecake female drawings littered through the book. Way too much. I have the full version of Acrobat and I used it to paste solid blocks to cover some of them. Hey, we all have smiled at the sight of the female fighter with the chainmail bikini (she has the same armor class as the male fighter in full plate!). I just don't want to see 20 versions of her in a book I'm trying to take seriously.

I consider this product well worth what I paid for it. I could see opportunities for supplements here as well. I really want to explore the idea of playing Mythic (or my favorite role-playing game using Mythic) without a GM/DM.I believe Mythic is a real good place to start.

I will finish by saying the art, as cheesy as it is(cheesy in concept not quality), does not reflect the great work in the writing. I recommend the Mythic very highly. I'm happy I purchased it.

As always I like to say that this is my opinion and yours may vary. Peace.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Location Crafter
by Laura Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2015 21:44:57
The writing is comfortably conversational, lead-in to new concepts is clear and friendly, and new terms are pretty self-explanatory. The parts of the system are explained in the order they come up in use.

Location generation procedure is straightforward, and there's a nice blend of randomness and increasing tension as rarer or conclusive elements become more likely. The system is scope-agnostic, so you can generate a planet or a single room with the same method.

These are my favorite things about the Location Crafter system:
1. Setup sheets you create are *reusable*! I could build any number of, say, wizard's towers from a single prep sheet, maybe making things just a little more generic if I intended to reuse them.
2. Creating a location can be a game in itself. I had a great time just building out and mapping an area, filling out all kinds of details, and wondering when and where the more unique or endgame-type rooms and encounters would come up.

I had a little trouble figuring out how best to weight and prioritize the potential contents of a location, but the text definitely does give hints here.

Great system for developing interesting locations, and a lot of fun to use.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Location Crafter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Location Crafter
by chris b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2015 13:42:14
A wonderful product, this will be my favored GM emulator over Mythic (yes, it does that too, and more elegantly, without the big Fate Chart you find in Mythic). It's fun creating lists of things that can go into a setting, and it's amazing how the elements can come together.

Using it mostly for solo play without a GM, it's particularly great at 'crawl sorts of adventures. This can be of all sorts, not just classic subterranean realms, but anywhere you wish.

Some great and solid ideas here of which I will be making use for quite some time. Highly recommended for those who wish a more improvisatory approach to building not just locations (as it says on the tin), but adventures...because story will be generated too. Some creativity required.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Location Crafter
by Matthew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2014 00:20:13
I love the Location Crafter.I can use this to detail setting or I can keep drilling down adding layers of detail as needed. Even better though. is that I can use the Location Crafter to randomly generate a setting, on the fly, when playing solo and add as much or as little detail as needed. No matter how you play or what you play, you'll certainly find this book a valuable in your role playing toolkit.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Location Crafter
by Łukasz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2014 00:46:58
This is a random location generator mechanic, that is, you don't get ready tables to roll, this requires a bit more work from the GM. You prepare the tables yourself according to the rules and then roll on them to get the location schematic (which can be quite easily drawn as a map). It really is very freeform and system/setting agnostic, a very good thing for a tool like this. I can see this working very well with some improvised scenarios or adventure seeds, where the specific locations are not premade. This can be used on the fly during a session (I'm not really sure about this, it takes up to 1-2 minutes to get another location element in some cases, so it would be a noticable stop during gameplay) or during session preparation. I like how this scales from small locations like a single room to cities, planets or even galaxies.

I cut a star from my rating because of technical mishaps. The text should be justified to left&right (it' only left aligned) and there are extra empty pags at the end, also the lines on the worksheet are misaligned. If any of this gets corrected in a future version, then you can ignore this part.

Overall, this is a useful tool, the price is a bit high for the amount of pages, but this will be used very much in my games so I don't really mind. It takes a bit of effort to use but that's the cost of being universal.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Location Crafter
by Jonathan A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2014 17:43:26
If you're familiar with the Mythic System, you'll feel comfortable with this random amalgamator. To use it, you'll throw together a few lists of elements that will describe the different locations within your setting; the rules then give you a system for mashing these lists together to come up with meaningful encounters on the fly. Since it's completely freeform, you'll have no problem slipping in your scripted locations and encounters to form the backbone of the adventure.
The system is heavily subjective, so don't expect any rules assistance, but its narrative emphasis allows it to work equally well with just about any RPG system out there.
This book is great if you're comfortable with extemporaneous GMing. If you like for everything to be scripted beforehand, don't bother--this book isn't for you.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2014 07:37:36
The gold standard for solo role playing. I've used this in my AD&D 1E campaign as well as the virtual DM. Also consider the "Covetous Poet's Solo GM System."

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Role Playing
by Gary I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2014 14:06:48
If you buy this as a stand-alone RPG, you may find yourself a little frustrated by the emphasis on tables and on having to keep working out new success odds continually. But that's not really what Mythic is for - it's there to provide a slick, challenging, often exciting means of creating / abstracting story elements, actions, twists and turns and overall plot runs.

It's hard to take in until you start using it, but in reality the slick bit of this product lies in a relatively few pages: the concepts of a chaos factor, story interrupts, extreme successes and failures on probability rolls, and two "oh god that's such a simple idea but it works brilliantly" tables. What this does is provide a great way of crating a story 'on the fly' and challenging yourself, if you're GM / playing solo, or you and your group if you're playing without a GM, to interpret and add depth and colour as a story unfolds before you.

I have used elements of the system alongside The One Ring, and am about to use it in the same way with another LOTR RPG: the part-finished Hinter Lands. This is one of the suggested uses, and I found that I didn't need to do any system conversion - I use the Mythic system to shape and develop a solo story, and the other system to handle mechanics like character creation, skills and combat.

This is one of the strengths of the design: there are many ways to use it, in part of whole, with or without another rules system and in any setting. It has helped me to boil my own RPG use down to what really matters and what I really enjoy - storytelling and creation of my own myths and histories.

I strongly suggest you buy the supplement as it provides some more very useful tables, but I am very happy with Mythic despite my initial scepticism that something could really allow for solo roleplaying. It really does work - not for everyone perhaps, but certainly for those who enjoy story and its possible branches and diversions as much as sword-swinging.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Creature Crafter
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00
Very easy to use. It has a lot of great ideas for creatures built in, but you aren't forced to take what the tables give you. Flexible. Use it before a session or during a session. I think I mentioned its easy. Also fun.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Creature Crafter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Role Playing
by Richard H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2013 17:34:58
- Presentation- CHECK!
- Writing style- CHECK!
- Logical rules system- CHECK!
- Fun- CHECK!
- Versatile- CHECK!
- Online community/support- CHECK!
- Innovation- CHECK!
- Price- CHECK!

Okay, if you are on the fence (and I don't blame you because so was I):

The writing style is like "The Idiot's Guide To..." or "Dummies". Considering I was raised on Gary Gygax's random stream of thought and technical measurements, it was a refreshing pleasure to read clear and organized RPG system with tons of visual aids.

Mythic RPG is a free form generic system, based on odds, points, answering questions, comparing stats, and dice rolls, that can be played as a straight RPG, GM screen, family parlor game, idea generator, novel helper, and remains the only RPG system that I have come across that can be played as a surprise solitaire (not a Choose Your Own Adventure linear style). So if you are a RPG fan but can't seem to organize a game at home or on the internet, Mythic is your product. If you do run games with people at your home or elsewhere, this can be a pick up game in any setting. Wanna do a Star Trek RPG? Lord of the Rings? Horror? Cop? Superhero? Real life? Star Wars? Conan? Cyberpunk? Japanese? This is a one-stop solution.

Performing character creation, combat, and events takes practice even after you read them, but the author lays everything out with great examples and instances. Nothing is glossed over or omitted. There is a learning curve, of course, and practice makes perfect, but I already had a session with two family members and they loved it. They didn't feel it was an intimidating RPG like when I tried (and failed) to get them to play with Wizards of the Coast products.

The setting and themes are completely limitless, as are the storylines and character skills. This is the only UNLIMITED and INFINITE RPG system. I haven't played an RPG like it, so it gets full points for innovation in a world of DnD clones and remixed editions. Can the system be rigged? Sure, but the author freely admits this and has recommendations for obnoxious players and even hints for solo players to not cheat. Can the logic be "broken"? Only if you keep asking too many detailed questions (which the author warns against).

If you are not into creating things or random events, this isn't for you.

If you want more ideas on how to make specific settings and genres, check out the other product here (the Bundle Pack has both) and the Yahoo Group for more info.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Role Playing
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2012 13:11:37
Mythic is a fairly solid system and a great tool for game masters (or groups looking to play sans the game master). It places a strong emphasis on each player taking an active role in the process of generating the ongoing narrative of each game. In spirit it resembles other storytelling games (like The Onyx Path's World of Darkness games) although it utilizes a unique approach to that style of gaming.

The GM emulator is an interesting tool as either an aide for your game master or as a "substitute" for the gamer behind the GM screen.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
by Nicholas C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2012 08:17:37
I'm pretty sold on the potential of this [by its own admission] ridiculously simple yet ingenuously malleable/interpretable generative abilities.

I do wish I'd just picked up the GME, will likely just couple with other systems (Savage Worlds/HeroQuest most likely) but the full rules seem like they'd be fine. (confession: I only glossed over these sections) The one innovation I noticed in passing was the initiative-less combat system, though I didn't read how it works.

I have also noticed one glaring editing/printing error: the Event Focus table printed in the back of the book for convenience/printing does not match the one presented in the Randomness chapter, I presume as an artifact of an earlier edition.

Other than these small gripes, it's a clear, concise read with some not-so terrible (though arguably not-so-great and clearly over-sexed male audience skewed) art and a stupefyingly simple but great means for progressively generating a world and adventures!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Antonio M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2012 12:48:49
Mythic is simply amazing!!! It does EXACTLY what it's meant to. You can create adventure ideas if your stuck, you can play solo, gm-less, create surprises in mid-game, and it truly is compatible with EVERY RPG as long as you know the rules to that game. Honestly, the only down-side to this is that it doesn't have a human mind. Mythic is a great value and if you're looking for a way to simulate a GM, whether it to be played solo or with a group where the usual GM wants to actually play, this will successfully fulfill your needs. I caution you though, having a human GM who comes prepared and knows the rules and scenario like the back of your hand can't be beat by anything. Although Mythic is a very close second. I would go into how it works but previous reviews and the description itself sums it all up so I won't waste your time. All you need to know is that this system DOES work and it's so simple to use that your cat could probably use it as long as you could teach it how to play the RPG game of your choice.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 57 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG