RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mythic Game Master Emulator
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2014 07:37:36
The gold standard for solo role playing. I've used this in my AD&D 1E campaign as well as the virtual DM. Also consider the "Covetous Poet's Solo GM System."

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Role Playing
by Gary I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2014 14:06:48
If you buy this as a stand-alone RPG, you may find yourself a little frustrated by the emphasis on tables and on having to keep working out new success odds continually. But that's not really what Mythic is for - it's there to provide a slick, challenging, often exciting means of creating / abstracting story elements, actions, twists and turns and overall plot runs.

It's hard to take in until you start using it, but in reality the slick bit of this product lies in a relatively few pages: the concepts of a chaos factor, story interrupts, extreme successes and failures on probability rolls, and two "oh god that's such a simple idea but it works brilliantly" tables. What this does is provide a great way of crating a story 'on the fly' and challenging yourself, if you're GM / playing solo, or you and your group if you're playing without a GM, to interpret and add depth and colour as a story unfolds before you.

I have used elements of the system alongside The One Ring, and am about to use it in the same way with another LOTR RPG: the part-finished Hinter Lands. This is one of the suggested uses, and I found that I didn't need to do any system conversion - I use the Mythic system to shape and develop a solo story, and the other system to handle mechanics like character creation, skills and combat.

This is one of the strengths of the design: there are many ways to use it, in part of whole, with or without another rules system and in any setting. It has helped me to boil my own RPG use down to what really matters and what I really enjoy - storytelling and creation of my own myths and histories.

I strongly suggest you buy the supplement as it provides some more very useful tables, but I am very happy with Mythic despite my initial scepticism that something could really allow for solo roleplaying. It really does work - not for everyone perhaps, but certainly for those who enjoy story and its possible branches and diversions as much as sword-swinging.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Creature Crafter
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00
Very easy to use. It has a lot of great ideas for creatures built in, but you aren't forced to take what the tables give you. Flexible. Use it before a session or during a session. I think I mentioned its easy. Also fun.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Creature Crafter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Role Playing
by Richard H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2013 17:34:58
- Presentation- CHECK!
- Writing style- CHECK!
- Logical rules system- CHECK!
- Fun- CHECK!
- Versatile- CHECK!
- Online community/support- CHECK!
- Innovation- CHECK!
- Price- CHECK!

Okay, if you are on the fence (and I don't blame you because so was I):

The writing style is like "The Idiot's Guide To..." or "Dummies". Considering I was raised on Gary Gygax's random stream of thought and technical measurements, it was a refreshing pleasure to read clear and organized RPG system with tons of visual aids.

Mythic RPG is a free form generic system, based on odds, points, answering questions, comparing stats, and dice rolls, that can be played as a straight RPG, GM screen, family parlor game, idea generator, novel helper, and remains the only RPG system that I have come across that can be played as a surprise solitaire (not a Choose Your Own Adventure linear style). So if you are a RPG fan but can't seem to organize a game at home or on the internet, Mythic is your product. If you do run games with people at your home or elsewhere, this can be a pick up game in any setting. Wanna do a Star Trek RPG? Lord of the Rings? Horror? Cop? Superhero? Real life? Star Wars? Conan? Cyberpunk? Japanese? This is a one-stop solution.

Performing character creation, combat, and events takes practice even after you read them, but the author lays everything out with great examples and instances. Nothing is glossed over or omitted. There is a learning curve, of course, and practice makes perfect, but I already had a session with two family members and they loved it. They didn't feel it was an intimidating RPG like when I tried (and failed) to get them to play with Wizards of the Coast products.

The setting and themes are completely limitless, as are the storylines and character skills. This is the only UNLIMITED and INFINITE RPG system. I haven't played an RPG like it, so it gets full points for innovation in a world of DnD clones and remixed editions. Can the system be rigged? Sure, but the author freely admits this and has recommendations for obnoxious players and even hints for solo players to not cheat. Can the logic be "broken"? Only if you keep asking too many detailed questions (which the author warns against).

If you are not into creating things or random events, this isn't for you.

If you want more ideas on how to make specific settings and genres, check out the other product here (the Bundle Pack has both) and the Yahoo Group for more info.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Role Playing
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2012 13:11:37
Mythic is a fairly solid system and a great tool for game masters (or groups looking to play sans the game master). It places a strong emphasis on each player taking an active role in the process of generating the ongoing narrative of each game. In spirit it resembles other storytelling games (like The Onyx Path's World of Darkness games) although it utilizes a unique approach to that style of gaming.

The GM emulator is an interesting tool as either an aide for your game master or as a "substitute" for the gamer behind the GM screen.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
by Nicholas C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2012 08:17:37
I'm pretty sold on the potential of this [by its own admission] ridiculously simple yet ingenuously malleable/interpretable generative abilities.

I do wish I'd just picked up the GME, will likely just couple with other systems (Savage Worlds/HeroQuest most likely) but the full rules seem like they'd be fine. (confession: I only glossed over these sections) The one innovation I noticed in passing was the initiative-less combat system, though I didn't read how it works.

I have also noticed one glaring editing/printing error: the Event Focus table printed in the back of the book for convenience/printing does not match the one presented in the Randomness chapter, I presume as an artifact of an earlier edition.

Other than these small gripes, it's a clear, concise read with some not-so terrible (though arguably not-so-great and clearly over-sexed male audience skewed) art and a stupefyingly simple but great means for progressively generating a world and adventures!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Antonio M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2012 12:48:49
Mythic is simply amazing!!! It does EXACTLY what it's meant to. You can create adventure ideas if your stuck, you can play solo, gm-less, create surprises in mid-game, and it truly is compatible with EVERY RPG as long as you know the rules to that game. Honestly, the only down-side to this is that it doesn't have a human mind. Mythic is a great value and if you're looking for a way to simulate a GM, whether it to be played solo or with a group where the usual GM wants to actually play, this will successfully fulfill your needs. I caution you though, having a human GM who comes prepared and knows the rules and scenario like the back of your hand can't be beat by anything. Although Mythic is a very close second. I would go into how it works but previous reviews and the description itself sums it all up so I won't waste your time. All you need to know is that this system DOES work and it's so simple to use that your cat could probably use it as long as you could teach it how to play the RPG game of your choice.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Role Playing
by Allan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2012 02:45:05
What a great product. Even if you don't use the GM emulator its full of idea's.

Allan

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Creature Crafter
by Ty G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2011 14:22:11
I purchased this item after reading positive comments on the Mythic site, nice and easy to use with a great variety of exotic creatures that can be generated. One of my favourites was for a D&D campaign I am running, a Flatfish that lurks on dungeon ceilings then drops onto its victims and crushes them, at 2+1 hd with Chainmail level of armour its no push over.
This would work equally well in a sci-fi setting, at $5.00 its a bargain, go on, treat yourself.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Creature Crafter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Role Playing
by Daniel H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2011 10:32:26
Very original and well produced, Mythic has a different style of roleplaying than many of us are accustomed to. Though there is still someone 'driving' the game, all of the players take a more active role in deciding their own fate. At its core, Mythic is almost a super-evolved form of the old "magic 8-ball" toy - players ask yes/no questions, decide how likely they are to be true, then roll on a very clever table to determine the outcome. The table's results shift as you progress into an adventure, with different events increasing the "chaos factor", which can lead to more extreme results.

This central mechanism is wrapped within a more familiar scene/act structure, and most of the book is dedicated to helping players learn how to best structure the flow of their adventure, and what sort of "questions" work best within the system.

In fairness, I must disclose that I have not yet had the chance to play Mythic as it was intended. I have used the "GM Emulator" (a set of guidelines for playing without a dedicated GM) to good effect in other game contexts, and with an open-minded (and like-minded) group of players I have no doubt that Mythic would provide a sufficient framework for campaigns of fun.

The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that, although there is an example session transcript, there is not a lot of guidance on settings and creatures. Granted, the rules have mechanisms to generate that stuff during play (and that seems to be the intent of the authors - generate as you go and make the setting your own), but I suspect a group that were not experienced roleplayers would have more of a learning curve for Mythic than for other, more mainstream games.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Role Playing
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2011 23:56:46
This is a solid system. Not only that it crosses over into the book writing realm with its GM emulator. I have had this product for several years now. Every now and again it is nice to be a PC and not have to be the GM. This product allows me to do this without feeling guilty. It also has a great deal of breadth in its treatment of plots and narrative thread that you shouldn't ever run out of new ideas.

Its truly genre non specific and should be helpful in Sci Fi or Horror or Steampunk or anything else you can imagine.

The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is a lack of settings.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
World vs. Hero
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2011 02:00:20
World vs. Hero is a cinematic, random-draw system where events are listed and then drawn when needed. For the money: if you like to write narrative and you are creative, WVH is worth $7.00 and more! It's a really good approach to story-telling, but game mechanics are vague and limiting in certain genres.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
World vs. Hero
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Game Master Emulator
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2011 21:04:05
Wow....I am a solo RPGer and this product is fantastic. It got me going into my campaigns and creates fantastic surprises. I easily adapted it into my Supers campaign and plan on using it for a Star Wars/Space style game.

I can't recommend it higher.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Game Master Emulator
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2011 19:49:55
I learned about this product on the Song of Blades and Heroes forum. Then I looked for reviews and found so much praise, that I had to check it out. Turns out that it really works for playing RPGs solo; I've just tried it last night with good results -- an interesting story with a couple surprises.

The mechanics of the "emulator" are actually very simple to learn, but I have to wonder how much playtesting was necessary to build them -- as well as the tables (which are few, and ingenious). I mean, there's so much interesting output from them, that it's not like a bunch of random roll tables. The text is clear and well-written, and there are lots of examples.

Even though I still have to try using the emulator for GM-less play with more people, I consider that this title was well worth its price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
by Max N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2010 17:26:55
I enjoyed this purchase very very much.

These GM emulation rules are quite enjoyable to use. Essentially, you're creating your own random tables of what can happen after a given event. Pretty nifty. Also, they can be used for writers suffering from writers block. Great purchase for anyone looking for thinking outside of their box.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 49 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG