RPGNow.com
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mythic Role Playing
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2017 14:44:12

I purchased this more for the GM Emulator features than the Roleplaying system. The main purpose of this system is to allow you to apply the tools in this book to play any RPG adventure without requiring a game master. This allows solitaire and cooperative play. The foundation is actually pretty simple system with two key parts: Yes/No table and two-word keyword system.

The Yes/No table can be used to present Yes/No questions to the system, with the chart providing a mechanism to determine the % chance of yes, no or exceptional yes/no. You roll percentile dice (1-100) to get the result. You ask questions of the system as you might ask a game master when you need more details of a setting or what's happening, such as "Is the market crowded?", "Do I find the gem on the dead goblin?", or "Is the weapons officer a traitor?" To provide a weight to favor the more likely answer, you determine how probable it should be for the answer to be Yes. For example, "Do I find the gem on the dead goblin?" might be unlikely if you have more powerful enemies that haven't been defeated and the gem is key to the story, or it could be very likely if you slayed the goblin in a dungeon where the type of gem is pretty common for the treasure the dungeon contains. You cross-reference this probability of being likely with a Chaos Factor, which begins at 5 on a scale of 1-9. The higher the Chaos Factor, the more likely are Yes and Exceptional Yes responses. This factor goes up or down between each "scene" of your adventure based on how chaotic you think the previous scene was.

The Yes/No table can also be used to determine % of a challenge succeeding based on the cross-reference of the skill of the character attempting the challenge with the difficulty of the obstacle or competing character. For example, if you want to determine if a Ninja succeeds in hitting a target with a shooting star, you would consider the Ninja's skill (likely Exceptional) with the difficulty of hitting the target (average for a target character with average dexterity). You then get a % chance of getting a Yes, No, Exceptional Yes, Exceptional No and roll percentile dice (1-100) to get the result. This is using the exact same table as above.

Finally, there is a two-word keyword system designed to provide you with a random two word combination to help stimulate (or "seed") your imagination to apply it to the current situation. You have a supporting table that can also determine the subject of the keywords, if applicable. For example, this can be used to generate a random event in a scenario when doubles are rolled on the percentile dice. The first roll would determine the subject, such as Player Character Favorable, and the next two rolls determining the two words from two different keyword tables that are used in combination. Each table has 100 different keywords. For example, you might produce a result of "Passion" and "Attention" from the two tables. So if you're a spy sneaking into a secret base and get a random event with "Player Character Favorable -> Passion Attention", it's up to you to apply it to the situation. In this case, I might say that nearby guards are chatting with a beautiful officer in the hallway that would allow me to sneak past them undetected.

The book contains more information about how you can apply this to your adventures, and it even uses this system to let you play a full RPG game without requiring any other RPG rules. Where the book really shines is in the way it demonstrates the use of the system in a variety of settings (Sci-Fi, dungeon, mystery, etc.). But if you already have a rule set that you like, such as Pathfinder, you can use the tools mentioned above to allow you to play your campaign without a dedicated game master (though one player or the group will have to provide interpretations on the results produced by the system, as well as when and how to apply the charts.

Why does this work so well? If you're just setting up the adventure without any guidance, you tend to direct the adventure along a particular path. Once you've set this process in motion, your mind will tend to propel forward in a particular direction. When you use the Mythic system, you interrupt your story at various points to determine whether the story proceeds as you initially design. When you get a No, Exceptional, or keyword response, you're forced to stop and reevaluate your story and might be forced to redirect the narrative path. That's where the surprise comes in.

The only problem I've had with this is that I haven't felt like the Chaos Factor has worked for me as intended. I've had several times when the Chaos Factor keeps dropping to the point where I can't get anything to happen. But I need to play around with this more, as I might need to be more proactive in making something happen, even if it's in a different direction.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Location Crafter
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2017 06:01:53

Excellent product for structuring encounters into a great night's session. I used this in Traveller to set up a city quickly that the players explored and then created a second 'location' being the journey out of a city towards a destination town in a forest.

It gave me a simple way of moving the story along - roll again on the table I had generated. It also provides for Random and Special locations, objects and encounters that stimulate your imagination. At a key point in the session I rolled two random words that changed the direction of the story.

I would absolutely recommend this product for all GMs who need a quick way of keeping players interested when they don't have time to draw up maps.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Location Crafter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Location Crafter
by Charles L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2016 17:03:56

This was a great product, full of good ideas i love the abstract exploration model that is used. Makes those random houses that thieves like to entet much easier on me, and special for them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Location Crafter
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2015 03:59:45

It is simple to use, genre neutral and let me tell you: it just works. A great add-on to Mythic GME. All you need to come up with is a good imagination and about 15 to 30 words for a small to medium location.

Your words are then divided into three categories on which you roll randomly to fluff out a location. Easy, simple to use, no frills and really well explained. You cannot get wrong with this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2015 20:33:06

What my wife said after the first GM-less session we played using the Mythic GM Emulator, " I can't believe it works". I have to say, that after losing our usual group of roleplayers and not playing a regular campaign for the last three years, this has been a godsend. Now, me and my wife can both scratch both the player and gamemaster itch, while not needing a large group to play with. Using it with the Cypher System (which lends itself nicely to improvisation gaming because of the ease of making up NPCs on the fly), and can't wait to use it while beta testing the Dresden Accelerated rules. I'm sure this won't be for everybody, but I can say that purchasing all three books in the Mythic series was one of the best things I could have done for my game ( or lack there of). If you're skeptical, don't be... you have to try it, it's awesome!

P.S. I have to say that at the moment, I have been using the GM Emulator, and haven't used the system rules presented in this book yet. Regardless, I'm glad I picked up all three books, they are well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Variations
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2015 20:29:52

What my wife said after the first GM-less session we played using the Mythic GM Emulator and Variations, " I can't believe it works". I have to say, that after losing our usual group of roleplayers and not playing a regular campaign for the last three years, this has been a godsend. Now, me and my wife can both scratch both the player and gamemaster itch, while not needing a large group to play with. Using it with the Cypher System (which lends itself nicely to improvisation gaming because of the ease of making up NPCs on the fly), and can't wait to use it while beta testing the Dresden Accelerated rules. I'm sure this won't be for everybody, but I can say that purchasing all three books in the Mythic series was one of the best things I could have done for my game ( or lack there of). If you're skeptical, don't be... you have to try it, it's awesome!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Variations
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Game Master Emulator
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2015 20:26:36

What my wife said after the first GM-less session we played using the Mythic GM Emulator, " I can't believe it works". I have to say, that after losing our usual group of roleplayers and not playing a regular campaign for the last three years, this has been a godsend. Now, me and my wife can both scratch both the player and gamemaster itch, while not needing a large group to play with. Using it with the Cypher System (which lends itself nicely to improvisation gaming because of the ease of making up NPCs on the fly), and can't wait to use it while beta testing the Dresden Accelerated rules. I'm sure this won't be for everybody, but I can say that purchasing all three books in the Mythic series was one of the best things I could have done for my game ( or lack there of). If you're skeptical, don't be... you have to try it, it's awesome!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Role Playing
by Guntis V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2015 15:01:14

Great game - and a great GM / Gm-less tool! I've not yet digested the system enough to use it (just skimmed through the PDF for the first time).

And still: its' brilliance shines through clearly.

Damn, I'd never EVER imagine a tabletop RPG system where not only the world, not only characters and events can be improvised on-the-fly... but RULES??

Wow! Deciding, say, the rules of magic half-way thru adventure - isn't it incredible? And whatever else may come up during adventures?

Which automatically means - we get an ideally customized ruleset while we play. Because it's we, the particular group of players, who choose the rules. The way we like them!

I love this Mythic!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Game Master Emulator
by Devon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 10:39:20

I just finished reading through the book and I'm very excited to give it a try. Not only for playing solo games, but also as a gm-ing tool at the table. The process and advice presented in the book are very well presented.

Like all products, it's not perfect. I docked it one star due to the illustrations of scantily clad women throughout the text that have nothing to do with the book's text. Perhaps they are supposed to be adventures, I don't know. I found them distracting and lacking inspiration. There's no action in the art, just cheese cake.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Location Crafter
by Damian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2015 19:02:36

Cool location generator. Short book compared to Mythic. Worth the price. This is a universal "play as you go" location generator, or could be used before the adventure. There are many other tools online that have ways of doing this, some are free and could generate seeded maps with encounters.

You don't need other Mythic books to use this. It's for GMs who want to generate areas from scratch, or solo players who don't want to know what happens next. I enjoy supporting the author, because the Mythic books are trendsetters and are often imitated.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Location Crafter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Creature Crafter
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2015 16:33:23

I have been able to work this into Cortex Marvel, Dungeon World, and Monsters of the Week. This system is so flexible and allows you to be descriptive. I really like all of the products from these guys. Easily worth $5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Creature Crafter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Role Playing
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2015 21:09:30

Mythic is a concise, well-written volume of rules and ideas that delivers what it says. It will take some imagination and a little practice to get the most out of the concepts. Most of the thickness of the book is the elaboration of a few key, but simple ideas . Using a unique percentile probabilities chart, Mythic delivers the outcomes of your choices and any random events that may occur. It sounds over simple the way I'm saying it. Get the book and you'll see how cool the system is; It works!

The only thing I didn't like about this product was the pinup/cheesecake female drawings littered through the book. Way too much. I have the full version of Acrobat and I used it to paste solid blocks to cover some of them. Hey, we all have smiled at the sight of the female fighter with the chainmail bikini (she has the same armor class as the male fighter in full plate!). I just don't want to see 20 versions of her in a book I'm trying to take seriously.

I consider this product well worth what I paid for it. I could see opportunities for supplements here as well. I really want to explore the idea of playing Mythic (or my favorite role-playing game using Mythic) without a GM/DM.I believe Mythic is a real good place to start.

I will finish by saying the art, as cheesy as it is(cheesy in concept not quality), does not reflect the great work in the writing. I recommend the Mythic very highly. I'm happy I purchased it.

As always I like to say that this is my opinion and yours may vary. Peace.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Location Crafter
by Laura Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2015 21:44:57

The writing is comfortably conversational, lead-in to new concepts is clear and friendly, and new terms are pretty self-explanatory. The parts of the system are explained in the order they come up in use.

Location generation procedure is straightforward, and there's a nice blend of randomness and increasing tension as rarer or conclusive elements become more likely. The system is scope-agnostic, so you can generate a planet or a single room with the same method.

These are my favorite things about the Location Crafter system:

  1. Setup sheets you create are reusable! I could build any number of, say, wizard's towers from a single prep sheet, maybe making things just a little more generic if I intended to reuse them.
  2. Creating a location can be a game in itself. I had a great time just building out and mapping an area, filling out all kinds of details, and wondering when and where the more unique or endgame-type rooms and encounters would come up.

I had a little trouble figuring out how best to weight and prioritize the potential contents of a location, but the text definitely does give hints here.

Great system for developing interesting locations, and a lot of fun to use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Location Crafter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Location Crafter
by chris b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2015 13:42:14

A wonderful product, this will be my favored GM emulator over Mythic (yes, it does that too, and more elegantly, without the big Fate Chart you find in Mythic). It's fun creating lists of things that can go into a setting, and it's amazing how the elements can come together.

Using it mostly for solo play without a GM, it's particularly great at 'crawl sorts of adventures. This can be of all sorts, not just classic subterranean realms, but anywhere you wish.

Some great and solid ideas here of which I will be making use for quite some time. Highly recommended for those who wish a more improvisatory approach to building not just locations (as it says on the tin), but adventures...because story will be generated too. Some creativity required.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Location Crafter
by Matthew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2014 00:20:13

I love the Location Crafter.I can use this to detail setting or I can keep drilling down adding layers of detail as needed. Even better though. is that I can use the Location Crafter to randomly generate a setting, on the fly, when playing solo and add as much or as little detail as needed. No matter how you play or what you play, you'll certainly find this book a valuable in your role playing toolkit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 66 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG