RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Thornburg
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2013 10:40:25
A small collection of places and characters. Some may find it a helpful launching point, but personally I found them too close to parody.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Thornburg
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thornburg
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2013 07:00:36
Definitely overpriced at $3.00. This "modual" could use an editor and proofreader to go through the document.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Thornburg
by Jason M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2013 00:50:03
I used Thornburg for my first couple of sessions with a group where everyone was new to Dungeon World, and it was a great success! Thornburg does a great job highlighting many of Dungeon World's guidelines, particularly "Play to find out what happens", "Draw maps, leave blanks", and "Ask questions and use the answers". As someone who is prone to go overboard with details, it was refreshing to have a sparse, yet interesting, setting to throw the players in and see what they make of it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Within the Devil's Reach
by Eadwin T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2013 04:25:27
Not really in the open question free form spirit of DW. Ask the players questions but basically crowbar them into the concrete adventure. Lots of magic items which basically circumvent the dangers too easily and the stories fail to fit together very well. Very disappointing for the price.

The artwork is lovely though!

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Within the Devil's Reach
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythos Tales
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2013 13:31:42
Billed as a very shortened version of rules to allow some easy roleplaying in the Cthulhu Mythos, the rules are, alas, too short. They lack the necessary detail to permit all but the most experienced Keepers to use them in any meaningful way. There is no discussion of what the players or keeper are supposed to do with the values generated, and no guidance whatsoever on how to fit the values into an existing scenario or campaign. Even a brief example of play (a paragraph or two) would have enormously improved the value of this document. It seems as if the author assumed a great deal of knowledge on the reader's part -- an assumption that usually proves wrong with this kind of material. One more page of explanation or examples would have made this item worth having. As it is, I can only thank my lucky stars that I didn't actually pay anything for this, because even a dime would have been too much. Were the author to go back and flesh it out even a teeny bit, my rating would undoubtedly be much higher, but as it stands, I can't give it anything other than a "two."
As always, the production values of the scan were outstanding. RPG Now continues to be the "go to" place for generally outstanding production values for PDFs.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mythos Tales
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your review. The values generated during character creation are the difficulties used during the game and also work as a pacing mechanism for the game. The bottom paragraph of "Playing the Game" tells you how to remove the dice when the players hit one of the triggers above. The game is meant for one-shot play and so I never imagined discussing long-term play. I agree that the game could improve with some examples of play to be sure and I will see what I can do about that. Again, I am glad you to the time for your review and I'm sorry you felt less than fulfilled with the product.
Within the Devil's Reach
by Anders N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2012 03:00:46
I find this a rather good adventure, but which would benefit from a slightly stricter approach and more stringent language.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Within the Devil's Reach
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thornburg
by Jeremy F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2012 20:39:40
You get an evocative map of the village of Thornburg, a handful of NPCs with instincts and moves, a handful of described locations, and some advice and initial questions to ask the players.

The advice reiterates what Dungeon World advises; Ask questions. Lots of questions. And Thornburg provides a solid list of loaded questions to ask. By building on their answers a GM knows what the PCs are interested in exploring.

Thornburg then goes on to include a section on Fronts, but it is in worksheet format. I think this is a weak spot. For me, the Fronts should come out after the first session, not during. There isn’t quite a clear explanation of this section.

The final section is a list of locations and NPCs. Each location has a slice of the map, a description, and one or more NPCs with an illustration. The NPCs are an interesting bunch. Lots of odd behavior in these characters, but most importantly, the NPCs have fully fleshed out moves and very unique instincts.

Buy this if: You like village maps; You want a little kick to get your Dungeon World game going; You are looking for a village that has the potential for odd things lurking around the corner.

Don’t buy this if: You are looking for a dungeon crawl, looking for only non-human opposition, you aren’t planning on sending your characters through small late middle ages villages.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Thornburg
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thornburg
by Bruce B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2012 13:55:11
I liked this a lot. It's short but it's rich in eccentric personalities, great fodder for continuing interactions. As a GM, I'm very much prone to overwriting, with a lot of detail that never gets used. Thornburg shows how to use a game like Dungeon World right, focusing on hooks that will actually matter in play. Each of the people and places has something a bit off about it (or way more than a bit), and doesn't tell you what's "actually" up with any of them. But each one is a standing invention to a group's players to guess, propose, discuss, debate, and otherwise invent their way into fun, dramatic messes.

I'm also very, very happy with the author's response to a couple of questions in private messaging: super fast and thoroughly gentlemanly and generous. I'll be looking for more like this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thornburg
by Lars K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2012 16:23:45
Of the 12 pages, only 4 pages provide an extremely short description of NPCs in locations. The rest is an introduction, blank pages and b/w illustrations. No map, and nothing much to build on for adventure modules.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG