RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Thomas C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2014 02:10:56
I played a couple of games of this with my 5 year old daughter (very short attention span) while on holiday.

I was very rusty and but the game mechanics are really straight forward and scalable. She absolutely loved it.

We played "Basement of Rats" a number of times (which did get a little tiresome on the 4th repeat, but she was still going strong), and then moved on to "Curse of the Shadow Walkers" which was more involved and much more fun to GM. My daughter liked this even more.

I am going to print out "Glade of the Unicorn" and give that one a go.

A hugely enjoyable game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Agust B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2014 15:36:16
Fantastic intro for kids in to the world of RPGs. My two kids (4, 7) had no trouble picking up the mechanics and surprised me with their creativity. The 4 year old didn't get strategy stuff but got a solid handle on the fighting mechanic very quickly. The 7 year old easily grasped mechanics and was starting to get a grip on strategy by the end of our first session playing Basement o Rats. Buy it if you have kids and you're even remotely interested in playing RPGs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hero Kids - Expansion - Hero Cards III
by Adam J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2014 16:02:33
Great addition to the basic set. The hero's are a lot more diverse than the ones I got in the starter set. If you plan on running more than 4-5 sessions and have more than 3 players you'll want this addition.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Expansion - Hero Cards III
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hero Kids - Complete PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Jeff M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2014 09:50:51
Just started playing D&D myself with a group of guys and I love it. Found this and I now get to explore my new hobby with my children. Hero Kids has created the basic building blocks I need to create some great moments with my kids. I almost didn't get the bundle, but I am glad I got it all. We have played a ton already and barely scratched the material that came in the bundle.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heroes Against Darkness
by Thomas C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2014 11:29:59
I got the book and the character sheet on the author's website, but downloaded it here, as well, so that I could give this review. I wish this title had more momentum, because I like it better than the alternatives right now. The mechanics make so much sense and it is, at it's root, a lot more powerful than other systems, because it has great formulas for templating and creating, rather than relying too much on pages and pages of bestiary. For those DMs who revel in the world-building and encounter-building experiences, this system is immensely satisfying. For players who would like to just get down to the role-playing and don't like being bogged down with minutia, this system is a dream.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hero Kids - Complete PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Rick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2014 22:44:27
Just played the introductory adventure with 3 of my kids ages 5, 8 and 12. I have been looking for a game all of us would look forward to playing because I just can't bear to play another bland round of Candyland! Hero Kids was easy to learn and we all had a blast. The rules are well-written and simple. I thought my kids would take awhile to pick out their heroes. To my surprise, they quickly selected a hero they connected with. I think we'll be playing this for quite awhile...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Loren N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2014 09:36:54
Purchased this one afternoon. After 10 minutes of printing and another 20 of cutting and taping, we were playing!

I've been trying to find ways to start introducing role playing elements to a 4-year-old. Hero Kids did the trick! Things I like:
- simple dice rolls and comparison of results
- the character and baddie images are very nice
- the maps are wonderful: our players love revealing new locations as we play
- plenty of open hooks for us to add rules or options as our players learn
- more than just combat: characters have other interesting items to achieve their goals with

"I want to use my bag of gold to distract the pirates!" - 4-year-old first-time role-player getting clever

I'm so proud to have successfully introduced role-playing to such a young gamer, this will certainly change his life.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heroes Against Darkness
by Christopher W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2014 23:20:49
I found this game by sheer luck while surfing RPGnow for inspiring material for running a game. All I have to say is....WOW!

I have always wanted to play and run in D20 games, but the rules formats never "clicked" with me. I always found the various editions of D&D to be far too top-heavy and cumbersome, with rules that are overly-complicated for what (I think) a player needs to play casually, and requiring too many books for a GM to flip through unless they are great at memorizing rules.

But Heroes Against Darkness had me immediately pitching the ruleset to my usual group- and for me to actually DM! It has just the right amount of detail versus accessibility, and I especially love the way that it allows me to easily and quickly build monsters, even for off-the-cuff random encounters. It is a very well put together book, with very nice artwork. And it's free, which is astounding.

The only gripes I had are that the areas of how skills impact the game, and Hybrid class creation, are virtually non-existent. But with some work looking on RPG.Net got me fixed up with some ideas from other fans of the ruleset, along with very positive imput from the author himself.

I would absolutely recommend this game to anyone looking for a good time around a table, and keep up the good work!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Jeffrey S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2014 09:39:40
I have 2 boys, age almost 7 and almost 10.

This game exceeded my expectations on awesomeness for kids in this range. The drawings, maps, and adventures are perfect.

Half (or more) of the fun for them is looking at the pictures and discussing the characters details and pretending to be one or the other. The actual game -- while perfect for them -- wasn't even the thing they were most interested in. As a result, just the first *map* of the Rats in the Basement adventure took us around an hour to finish, from printout, character selection, discussion of the game world, etc. In other words, you should expect to get much more than "30 minutes" of fun and play out of a single adventure.

Thanks!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Roger D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2014 20:04:01
Great. My kids really love this and ask for new adventures every weekend.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hero Kids - Complete PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Roger D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2014 20:01:30
Great. My 4 and 7 year olds really get into the adventures and role play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Jordan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2014 12:14:23
I briefly skimmed the rules and ran my kids and wife through the introductory adventure. My son (8) and wife really seemed to enjoy it. My daughter (4) had a hard time focusing on the game and kept wandering off. I did find the adventure to be a little encounter heavy. I would like to have seen a little more opportunity for role playing and character/setting development. Hopefully some of the other adventures will have more such opportunities.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heroes Against Darkness
by Lee P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2014 08:16:14
I was skeptical at first but upon reading the large 231 page free book I was impressed. A lot of great material and has more than enough to run a long campaign. A lot of flexibility and very easy to understand. It is a throwback to old school games.

If they decided to add more to this line I would download it as soon as it was released.

-Juce734

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Sandra R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2014 16:49:05
As much fun for Mom and Dad as it is for the kids. We thoroughly enjoyed our first adventure. The game mechanics are just right for both our 7 year and and 10 year old to understand. We had an epic night! Great introduction to RPG gaming.

Now I want to try using it with my students! Should make for some very interesting classes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hero Kids - Adventure Pack 1 [BUNDLE]
by Dan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2014 14:28:36
My kids (ages 7,5,3) *love* playing Hero Kids. The artwork is high quality, the adventures are well written, the mechanics work well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Adventure Pack 1 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 53 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG