RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Road to Ruin
by Thuyen N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 22:31:35

Bought this game as a single-player. Set up and rules are straightforward so you can get playing pretty quickly. Love how the tension increases as the game goes on. Decisions feel like they have weight behind them and I spent more and more time thinking through what could go wrong if I went here or there. Can't wait to play co-op with friends and see if we can all survive!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Road to Ruin
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by damien a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2017 13:33:56

Bought this for my students to play during lunch (grades 3-5) as sort of incentive for doing homework/positive behavior. I modified it slightly due to time constraints, etc...but so far they freakin' LOVE it. I have 2 kids on the autisism spectrum and a very shy child in one group and they are really into it (doing voices, giving them character traits, etc.) I intend to rotate groups of 4 kids at a time. Really well done game mechanices, etc. I never write reviews, but I felt like this realy deserves a wider audience. A really good tool in the hands of a creative GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by John Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2017 08:19:39

Simple enough rules for a four year old, seemingly heaps of potential for adventure customisation for years to come. First encounter went really well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Shannon H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2017 13:22:23

Totally worth it. Easily expandable, easy system for kids to learn role playing. My 8 and 11 year old girls really like it. One suggestion: use lego figurines for the heroes and bad guys, they fit perfectly into the one inch grid and don't fall over all the time like the figurine tents. Or use character tokens form Pathfinder, but Legos are more fun, and then if they really dig it you can buy some Reaper miniatures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Colin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 14:15:33

(Copied across from my posted review for the 'Complete Hero' bundle - if it's still on sale, well worth the price in my opinion)

I spotted that the Hero Kids Complete Fantasy Bundle was on sale for an absolutely massive reduction - $19.95 down from $63.83 - and so decided to pick the thing up. I'd played a few simple homebrew scenarios with my 5-year-old son, and had heard some neat things about this game.

I'm delighted with the results. A simple ruleset for my son, a clear guide for his first-time-GM Dad, and a rich collection of printables, inventory items and character sheets to really add to the experience. My son and I have both been having a great time with this - well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Colin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 14:13:37

I spotted that the Hero Kids Complete Fantasy Bundle was on sale for an absolutely massive reduction - $19.95 down from $63.83 - and so decided to pick the thing up. I'd played a few simple homebrew scenarios with my 5-year-old son, and had heard some neat things about this game.

I'm delighted with the results. A simple ruleset for my son, a clear guide for his first-time-GM Dad, and a rich collection of printables, inventory items and character sheets to really add to the experience. My son and I have both been having a great time with this - well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Robynn W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2017 14:17:21

First adventure has gone really well and the whole family (with kids of 4 and 8) is revved up for more. As GM I chose to be pretty flexible on the details of turn-taking, movement etc, for the sake of smoother game-play; I don't think the system as written is clunky, I just found the more organic approach worked better for us.

My only criticism is that the introductory adventure, Basement O Rats, is a bit too repetitive. After the first encounter my 4yo was already declaring himself sick of rats. But I'm looking forward to trying out other adventures, and inventing our own. (The 8yo is highly impatient to try her hand at GMing!)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Brad C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2017 12:27:41

OK, if you have little ones and are trying to get them involved, this is worth every penny. I was lucky enough to pick it up for the $20 sale price and could not be happier with, #1 the amount of content, and #2 the scenarios are very good. Being a DM and creating stories myself we added some things to a few of the scenarios to make them more involved/ difficult but in general they are good as is. I originally picked up the first scenario by itself and scince was hooked on the system design. Again if you have first timers, this is a great way to bring them in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heroes Against Darkness
by Daniel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2017 16:00:58

Seems pretty solid so far. I have not yet been able to run a game with it, but I like what I have seen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Josh K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2017 16:10:13

My son is 4 1/2 and so far he loves this. Only him and I have played so far, but I can imagine if he ever gets to play with his friends or when Mom gets to join he will love it even more. I haven't tried any other table top RPGs for him, but so happy he likes it. One rough thing for me (it's about him though, so it's definitely worth it) is that I've never played a table top RPG before. I've played plenty of video games RPGs though, so I understand the concept. But filling in and trying to make sense of some of the gaps in the instructions and story and how to actually do the gameplay has been a challenge for me. I would love to see a more easily accessible version (no previous RPG experience required).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Jesse H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2017 13:38:32

Really good. Played with my 5 yeard old and 3 year old. This their first time playing an RPG (and mine too!) went pretty well. Easy to understand rules. It's also fantastic that everything you need is included. Maps, hero minis, monster minis... Great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Pet Cards
by Travis R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2017 18:19:37

This is easily my 9 year old's favorite part of Hero Kids. He wants even more options to choose from when creating his entourage of friends (he plays solo, so I let him have pets as extra characters). Please release a second volume!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Pet Cards
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Yuletide Journey
by Travis R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2017 16:53:44

I tried this out with my 7 and a half year old at Xmas time, doing the appropriately themed Yuletide Journey. At first the rules were a bit daunting for him but he got the hang of it. When it came time to roleplay with the NPCs, however, he got embarassed and didn't really want anything to do with it. We ended up not finishing the story.

Today, my son now only a month away from being 9, we rediscovered Hero Kids and we played Basemet O Rats. He really enjoyed the rules and the combat, so much so that he wanted to play another adventure. So we broke out ye olden Yuletide Journey again. This time around he had a blast, though he still didn't really roleplay with any of the NPCs. He played along with the fantasy portion of it much more than last time, though, imagining the way the scenes looked and pretending to listen for clues.

I can say that, with a little prodding on my part, we both really enjoyed this module and finished it to the end. It is well written, though I think it could use a little more organization from page to page. Let me explain; it was sometimes jarring to read what came up right before a combat page. I would sometimes feel I was flipping back and forth trying to figure out what was supposed to be going on. But if a person has experience GMing for their friends, they would probably be fine.

My only reason for not being 5/5 is, as I said above, just slightly odd organization. The content itself is quite wonderful and I enjoyed the Xmas/Norse crossover :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Yuletide Journey
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Starter Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Victoria J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2017 14:18:05

Three stars for the excellent game system, HOWEVER I wouldn't suggest buying this bundle. I was going to start gaming with my pre-schooler and thought it would be a good idea to get not only the core game but a few campaigns as well. Despite this being labeled as a starter pack the additional adventures were all labeled HARD difficulty. Maybe this would be a good package for someone with older children or children who were already familiar with RPGs but it was not what I needed for my little beginner. I would suggest instead either buying only the core rulebook (the download comes with a beginner adventue that I have been using repeatedly) or going straight for the complete bundle. That's what I will be buying next, but even though I will be getting a discount based on the adventures I already bought in this bundle, I will still be paying more than if I had just gone straight for the complete one.

To test and see if you like this system, just buy the core rules. For additional adventures, your best value would be the complete bundle. Skip over this starter bundle, which isn't the best for starting out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Starter Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Monster Compendium
by Leonard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2017 05:55:19

Have to agree with everyone else. The best expansion to come out for the Hero Kids Fantasy game. The descriptions just open up so many story ideas and give a much wider picture of the Varld. Definitely worth it if you want to take your Hero Kids campaign to the next level.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Monster Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 145 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG