RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Wizard's Tower
by Thuyen N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2015 14:46:49
A solid and welcome addition to Hero Kids. The new monsters add a bit of spice to the mix.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Wizard's Tower
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Escape from the Ghost Pirates
by Christina B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2015 15:59:53
This was our first Fantasy Adventure other than Basement O' Rats, and it was everything we hoped for. It was short enough and straightforward enough to engage my 4 year old (he wants to play it again today). It went over better than the Space Adventures we had purchased, which I feel like is due to it having fewer unfamiliar terms (i.e. space-lingo was tougher for my son to understand). It was helpful to have the suggestions for role-playing opportunities (such as using cannonballs as an improvised ranged weapon, or suggesting the kid(s) search the pirates' belongings) right there on the page. Overall, very enjoyable!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Escape from the Ghost Pirates
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2015 14:45:03
Picked up the Fantasy Bundle for this. Played through the first adventure with my 5yo last weekend and he had a blast. Looking forward to playing the rest!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Daniel R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2015 10:10:00
I would like to thank the publisher's of Hero Kids for creating this great product as looks like it is going to be a regular gaming activity for my daughter and friends. We had our first gaming session this past weekend and it went over like gangbusters. Our group included two 7 year old girls (my daughter and a friend), two adult players (to help out), one 9 year old boy and myself as the game master. The kids picked up the basic mechanics very quickly and within an hour had advanced beyond basic combat into skill and encounter tests.

Everyone loved the creative and inspiring character cards, and we had almost as much fun cutting out and prepping the well drawn monster and hero tokens. We got through about 3/4 of the Basement O' Rats Adventure (which took a bit longer than expected due to the size of the party and some energetic role-playing on all sides of the table) before it was time to fold everything up for dinner. Groans were muttered by many at this time, and questions about when we would finish quickly came up.

My only complaint about this product (and it's a minor one) is that my daughter was a little disappointed we would not be using "Daddy's cool dice" sets.

The art is great, the story was fun, and the mechanics were simple enough to learn quickly while still leaving room for growth in complexity if need be.

Thank you from Buffy the Brute, Fred the Hunter, Sophia the Healer, Ash the Rogue, and Blackrose the Druid.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Vinicio A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2015 12:49:18
I played AD&D for over 15 years (as player and DM), so i could easily build something for my kids (6 and 8 years old).
I somehow end up on this set... im glad i did; not only saved me a lot of trouble by simplifying rules; i should add, very intelligently. :)

I love it, they love it, its super simple which is what i needed for my kids. Only problem is finding the time to play again since we had such a blast they dont want to stop playing :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Tiest V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2015 08:23:34
Haven't had a chance to play this with my boys, but seems well thought out. Really nicely described complexity progression for different age/abilities. I was disappointed that there weren't more female characters in the core rulebook: they start with male and female versions of the first two character types, and then it's just boys boys boys.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review Tiest. Five of the ten heroes in the core game are girls: Rogue, Hunter, Warlock, Healer, Warrior http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-gXe3I-6BSMs/UI8ZgXWwIGI/AAAAAAAAFFs/GauYFxwJPRM/s1600/Hero+Kids+-+Hero+Line-Up+-+540x153.png
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Mario R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2015 05:41:07
After trying to introduce my kids, girls 7 and 12, to dnd I decided to try a kid friendly rpg. After much trolling of the Internet, hero kids came up as the most often recommended. I bought the bundle on Saturday and have already played through Basement of Rats twice this weekend. The first time, I played through, the kids decided not to cooperate with each other and would leave the other behind at inappropriate moments. This ended with them being defeated by the rats and a lecture on why they failed, a great teachable moment for siblings who bicker a lot.
Last night we played through again, this time they talked things through, and they were much more happy with the outcome. We then talked about why they made it this time, and not the last. I think they understand completely now. This is not Monopoly or Sorry. They are already asking me to print up the next adventure, and I will try to fit in another one today. I am very happy to see them so excited.
I would definitely recommend this to any adult rpg player wanting to get their kids into the hobby. Great introduction, easy to understand rules. After playing through the bundle I may try to reintroduce dnd if they want, but with new adventures awaiting in Bayhaven, I will probably give them a choice. As for me, I kind of hope they choose Hero Kids, much less work on my part is involved, which means more time to play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2015 09:35:13
I've played this game with my two daughters, ages 4 and 5, and they really seemed to have liked it. They managed to play through the entire beginning scenario without stopping. I was a bit surprised.

The system is very simple, and I have to say that it works rather well. The girls were able to play with just a little bit of help and (more importantly) without getting frustrated. Instead of XP's in a typical RPG, they were rewarded with M&M's, which are infinitely more valuable to a preschool player.

The oldest is in kindergarten and reads only at Level 1. The younger child is still in preschool and doesn't read at all. Their math skills are pretty much limited to simple addition. Nevertheless, because of how the system works, they can understand the dice rolls -- how they work and how they are resolved -- and they can understand the "stats" of their characters. I have to remind them of their characters' "class" abilities, since they can't effectively read the words on their character sheets, but these abilities are few and some are obvious, such as the healer's ability to heal.

In addition to how the rules work, the system has a few more advantages for kids. The game is set up so that the characters themselves are children, which makes them much easier for young children to identify with and role play. The artwork looks like it came off of a Saturday morning cartoon show, which also helps young kids relate to the game and identify with their characters. The fantasy theme meshes well with what they are already familiar with from Disney films.

The system is completely d6. The idea is that you can be ready to play by raiding the family Yahtzee set. The materials are easy to print out and use. There are even free PDF's of the characters that can be printed for children to color or draw on.

Since my girls have asked (almost begged) to continue playing, I have bought the expansions to this game as well. I recommend this system to anyone interested in getting their children, particularly very young children, into the imagination-inspiring world of role-playing games. It's a great start.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Christina B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2015 18:34:11
This game was all I hoped for and more! My 4-and-a-half year old and I played it tonight for the first time (thanks to the PDF version, because he just couldn't stand to wait another week or so for the soft cover to arrive), and as soon as we finished, he wanted to play again. The basic rules, storyline (for Basement O' Rats), and character sheets were very age-appropriate, and he was very quickly able to understand the opposed dice pool concept. The storyline is flexible enough to allow (and encourage!) customization and role-playing. The story also lasted much longer for us than the 30 minutes suggested (it took us almost 2 hours), and while this may be because my son is so young, or because it was our first game and we were learning the mechanics, it worked out great. He doesn't have much of an attention span normally, but the gameplay and character involvement kept him super-focused and excited the whole duration, and we had no idea that much time had passed. We cannot wait to order more adventures!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Supplement - Coloring Book - Threats to the Brecken Vale
by Menno v. Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2014 07:43:49
The kids love these books. They're already preparing for a game without playing it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Supplement - Coloring Book - Threats to the Brecken Vale
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Supplement - Coloring Book - Heroes II
by Menno v. Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2014 07:43:43
The kids love these books. They're already preparing for a game without playing it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Supplement - Coloring Book - Heroes II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Supplement - Coloring Book - Heroes
by Menno v. Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2014 07:43:23
The kids love these books. They're already preparing for a game without playing it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Supplement - Coloring Book - Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Supplement - Hero Cards - Dutch
by Menno v. Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2014 07:42:22
We haven't played the game yet, but the fact that these cards are in Dutch makes it so much easier for the kids to understand them.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Supplement - Hero Cards - Dutch
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Rob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2014 13:19:53
Having been an RPG player as a kid I was looking for a way to share that experience with my two kids, 8 & 6. Hero Kids is fantastic fun for all of us! I get to be the controlling GM, adjusting play as needed for their experience. The kids get to delve into the rich experience of RPG games at a level appropriate for their age.
My Son (6) said it best when he stated how excited he was to be able to actually CHOSE what to do in the game, unlike his favorite video game!
We are now working on playing pieces for the game. There is nothing like mixing crafts with RPG gaming for kids!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Jon m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2014 16:08:21
I don't often give feedback on things but had to for this. I have played a bit of D&D when I was in my youth and enjoyed the game. My boys (9 and twins 6) like to play iPad and playstation. I thought I would give this a go to see if they Gould open their minds and be a bit creative rather than staring at a screen. The rules are pretty simple and easy to follow with flexibility to make your own bits up.
My kids absolutely love it. They come home from school and instead of asking for the iPad they ask for Hero Kids.
He have done a few of the adventures now I have also made a few up and have then traveling between quests with the use of the map.
This really is fantastic and a very good price. Best bet is to get the bundle. I find the games last longer than they say but that's 3 kids (plus baby sister stealing dice) and they have a character and pet each. You should get figures or use the standup cards. Get the kids to colour them in too! The couloring books are a great touch too.
When we are not playing the kids make up their own characters, pets and sometimes maps!
I just got the new space one too, but not tried that out yet.
fantastic game and great to spend some quality time with the kids. Also introduces them to RPGs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 77 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG