RPGNow.com
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Josh K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2017 16:10:13

My son is 4 1/2 and so far he loves this. Only him and I have played so far, but I can imagine if he ever gets to play with his friends or when Mom gets to join he will love it even more. I haven't tried any other table top RPGs for him, but so happy he likes it. One rough thing for me (it's about him though, so it's definitely worth it) is that I've never played a table top RPG before. I've played plenty of video games RPGs though, so I understand the concept. But filling in and trying to make sense of some of the gaps in the instructions and story and how to actually do the gameplay has been a challenge for me. I would love to see a more easily accessible version (no previous RPG experience required).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Jesse H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2017 13:38:32

Really good. Played with my 5 yeard old and 3 year old. This their first time playing an RPG (and mine too!) went pretty well. Easy to understand rules. It's also fantastic that everything you need is included. Maps, hero minis, monster minis... Great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Pet Cards
by Travis R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2017 18:19:37

This is easily my 9 year old's favorite part of Hero Kids. He wants even more options to choose from when creating his entourage of friends (he plays solo, so I let him have pets as extra characters). Please release a second volume!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Pet Cards
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Yuletide Journey
by Travis R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2017 16:53:44

I tried this out with my 7 and a half year old at Xmas time, doing the appropriately themed Yuletide Journey. At first the rules were a bit daunting for him but he got the hang of it. When it came time to roleplay with the NPCs, however, he got embarassed and didn't really want anything to do with it. We ended up not finishing the story.

Today, my son now only a month away from being 9, we rediscovered Hero Kids and we played Basemet O Rats. He really enjoyed the rules and the combat, so much so that he wanted to play another adventure. So we broke out ye olden Yuletide Journey again. This time around he had a blast, though he still didn't really roleplay with any of the NPCs. He played along with the fantasy portion of it much more than last time, though, imagining the way the scenes looked and pretending to listen for clues.

I can say that, with a little prodding on my part, we both really enjoyed this module and finished it to the end. It is well written, though I think it could use a little more organization from page to page. Let me explain; it was sometimes jarring to read what came up right before a combat page. I would sometimes feel I was flipping back and forth trying to figure out what was supposed to be going on. But if a person has experience GMing for their friends, they would probably be fine.

My only reason for not being 5/5 is, as I said above, just slightly odd organization. The content itself is quite wonderful and I enjoyed the Xmas/Norse crossover :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Yuletide Journey
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Starter Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Victoria J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2017 14:18:05

Three stars for the excellent game system, HOWEVER I wouldn't suggest buying this bundle. I was going to start gaming with my pre-schooler and thought it would be a good idea to get not only the core game but a few campaigns as well. Despite this being labeled as a starter pack the additional adventures were all labeled HARD difficulty. Maybe this would be a good package for someone with older children or children who were already familiar with RPGs but it was not what I needed for my little beginner. I would suggest instead either buying only the core rulebook (the download comes with a beginner adventue that I have been using repeatedly) or going straight for the complete bundle. That's what I will be buying next, but even though I will be getting a discount based on the adventures I already bought in this bundle, I will still be paying more than if I had just gone straight for the complete one.

To test and see if you like this system, just buy the core rules. For additional adventures, your best value would be the complete bundle. Skip over this starter bundle, which isn't the best for starting out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Starter Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Monster Compendium
by Leonard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2017 05:55:19

Have to agree with everyone else. The best expansion to come out for the Hero Kids Fantasy game. The descriptions just open up so many story ideas and give a much wider picture of the Varld. Definitely worth it if you want to take your Hero Kids campaign to the next level.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Monster Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Mines of Martek
by Leonard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2017 05:51:44

A good adventure that requires the players to think strategically to get past some of the encounters. It's far more than just hack and slash. And while the combat is challenging, we didn't have the same concerns we've had fighting other monsters (ghosts, vampires, skeletons) in some of the other adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Mines of Martek
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Colette E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2017 16:18:32

This is a comprehensive and fantastic guide to roleplaying for young kids. As a beginner GM, I was able to start our families first campaign with the addition of one game from Hero Kids and then use this format to build my own and the families own ideas and adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Lauren R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2017 13:17:45

This is perfect. My 7 year old son watches our DnD games in fascination, but hasn't been able to join because his reading and writing isn't great (the math, which seems to hold most kids back, is no problem). We've struggled to find a similar game he could play. Most of the games made for kids seem to be very limiting and boardgame-like. Hero Kids lets you do whatever you want, or whatever the DM will allow, just like in DnD.

My husband and son are playing a pair of brothers in the game I'm DMing. The older brother (my husband) is always putting the younger one (my son) down, telling him to hang back because he's squishy or not strong enough, and although the younger brother takes offense, it's clear the older one is just being protective. They bicker over who's going to hit things first, they get fed up and go different directions, leading to separate encounters and the occasional cry for help that may or may not be answered, they use dead giant rats as bludgeoning weapons... and as the DM, I can allow all this and decide what rules apply, just like I would in DnD.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Curse of the Shadow Walkers
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2017 13:02:53

We started playing the adventures with our kids (5 and 7 years old). They really love it! It's easy to learn the rules. We are happy to play RPG with our kids at such a young age. I wish I had started at 5 too! :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Curse of the Shadow Walkers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Supplement - Hero Cards - Dutch
by yves p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2017 00:36:42

Really wel translated to Dutch.

Instantly ready to play.

Great product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Supplement - Hero Cards - Dutch
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2016 01:11:31

My daughter, not quite 4, really likes this game (we've played Basement O' Rats over two sessions) and the bundle has a lot of great content that should keep us entertained for a long time. The rules, hero cards, monsters, and adventures are thoughtfully designed to be fun for the youngest gamers, and the rules are flexible enough for a wide age range. Every character has a varying number of d6's for Melee (Strength), Ranged (Dexterity), Magic (Intelligence), and Armor. Each character also gets a normal attack, special attack, and a bonus ability. An inventory of items like rope, bag of gold, and heals and skills like lore, tracking, and stealth round out the characters. You can use as much or as little of this as you want depending on the complexity your players can handle. The rules offer very helpful tips for running the game for players at different ages.

My daughter quickly picked out a character, gave her a name, and was able to move her paper mini around on the map and roll dice to fight monsters. I wasn't sure she would get the concept of the game at such a young age, but I needn't have worried. If your child loves fairy tales, inventing stories, pretending to be other people, and can recognize the number rolled on a d6, they'll have a lot of fun with Hero Kids.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2016 08:45:41

Perfect intriduction for kids. i can't believe how much my girls enjoyed this game. (7 & 9 years). A suprising bonus to the printable componoents, was that they loved choosing their characters and colouring them in, even before we started playing. They loved using their imaginations while still having rules and a bit of a challenge.The rats adventure was very basic but easy to embellish during play. The rules are quick and easy for them to understand but provide enough structure and mechanic for it to be fun. Also we took the advice of another review and used chocolate coins as treasure and tiny rocket sweets as life points.(Unfortunately I couldnt find any heart shape candies.)They got to eat the chocolate coins at the end, and the rockets when they knocked a life off a monster. (Mummy even got to eat some when her monsters knocked a few lifes off the heroes, yeah!). Normally i have to beg the children to play a game with me(sad I know), now its the other way round. I highly recommend Hero Kids.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Tomb of the Lost King
by James H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2016 21:52:12

My little brother really enjoyed the fact that zombies attacked, followed by greif at their continuous resurection. They got it after a while and I think we all enjoyed the puzzle parts. I really liked the final boss as it was fun being able to jump through the terrain and dodge them as they chased.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Tomb of the Lost King
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Mines of Martek
by James H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2016 21:47:59

Sadly none of the kids fell into the river lol. I would say that my family enjoyed the encounters. This is the first one we played that I took an interest in making it challenging and the fact that their are several ambush fights facilitated the damaged party fighting to stay up feeling I wanted.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Mines of Martek
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 136 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG