RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Pro RPG Audio: Marauding Golem
by Ruth A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2015 14:57:34
While I like tracks from platemail games and often find the title and small clip to be descriptive enough about the track generally, this time it failed. There's no real indication usually with the platemail games as to what the audio sounds like, but this one really does need some form of description, because it's not just a marauding Golem, the sounds in the preview are present the whole way through, with some sort of grenade launcher or sci-fi gun being fired constantly. it never really goes quiet for more than a few seconds, without a gun being fired. So this should be renamed as Golem first person shooter, under classification for steampunk or modern/sci-fi.

Also the fact that it's a golem is neither here nor there, it could be a giant, or godzilla type of creature or anything large and monstrous, rather than a golem. Buyer beware on this one.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pro RPG Audio: Marauding Golem
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pro RPG Audio: Winter Day
by john b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2015 13:05:08
Having one of our games set in an arctic landscape, this piece gets a lot of play. Nice howling wind that, when combined with a blasting AC unit, gives you the perfect ambiance for your cold themed games. Winter is Coming, but it isn't complete without this product from Plate Mail Games. I give it 5 frostbitten thumbs up.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pro RPG Audio: Winter Day
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pro RPG Audio: Hell's Howls
by john b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2015 13:01:55
Like most of Plate Mail Games audio, Hell's Hounds is a great mood setting piece that strikes the right balance of interest without being distracting. This particular piece is very eerie - good for your horror games when they get weird. I give it 5 severed sacrificial thumbs up.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pro RPG Audio: Hell's Howls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

People Places & Plots 3: Cult of Asmodeus
by JEROME M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2014 15:19:42
The Cult of Asmodeus Joins You!

This supplement is exactly what it says on the cover. It's one location with a few NPCs, one map and several suggestions for story hooks. You can use this standalone or in conjunction with the other People, Places & Plots supplements. I picked this up because I was looking for something to help flesh out one of my Asmodeus worshipping NPCs in my Pathfinder campaign - and what do you know - that's exactly what this helps accomplish.

I was working on a background master plot for my Asmodeus worshipping NPC and this seemed like the perfect way to flesh out the subplot. I love it because it comes with the NPCs of the temple that can be usesd as desired and it was very easy to drop the entire cult and temple right into my campaign.

For $1.50, you can't go wrong, so if you need to supplement your own little cult, this is the perfect place to start. I rated it 4/5 stars because the map is very graphically simple and is only one room - but that's what it is supposed to be. This supplement gives you the seeds you need to start the cult of Asmodeus in your homebrew whether it's in Golarion or elsewhere.

Give it a look!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
People Places & Plots 3: Cult of Asmodeus
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pro RPG Audio: The Playroom
by Brian D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2014 21:15:06
A very freaky track full of laughing ghostly children. I used this to great effect on an urban fantasy adventure featuring a boogeyman and kidnapped children trapped in an abandoned theme park.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pro RPG Audio: The Playroom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pro RPG Audio: Jurassic Forest
by Brian D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2014 21:05:39
One of my favorite tracks by this author. Perfect for a primeval jungle full of thunder-stepping and roaring megafauna. Besides the obvious time travel uses, it's also great for hunting hydra in the feywild swamps, visiting a mad-science island full of cloned monsters, space explorers landing a primal jungle world (as in the start of Hyperion), or high jungle plateau were pulp explorers might find creatures that time forgot.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pro RPG Audio: Jurassic Forest
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pro RPG Audio: Virtual Reality
by Brian D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2014 19:13:26
A solid cyberspace soundtrack, very Tron like. I prefer this track to the "Inside the Internet" track by the same author, but I admit I'm still looking for a good "hacker detected" VR track to use when the Intrusion Countermeasures launch or the hackers face off in a VR battle.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pro RPG Audio: Virtual Reality
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pro RPG Audio: Sunken Temple
by Brian D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2014 19:10:51
I once ran a D&D adventures featuring a flooded dungeon, where the players travel from room to room in a small boat instead of on foot. This is the track I wish I had when I was running it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pro RPG Audio: Sunken Temple
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pro RPG Audio: Small-unit Gunfight
by Brian D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2014 19:06:14
A useful track for a game like Shadowrun, the only suggestion for improvement is remove or reduce the police siren in the background. While the idea of increasing the tension by having the siren present is fun (because the cops are coming!) it also limits the track's use to scenes and genres that have cops to call.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pro RPG Audio: Small-unit Gunfight
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pro RPG Audio: Pharaoh's Tomb
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/11/2014 06:33:23
Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/06/11/tabletop-review-rpg-bac-
kground-loops-mp3-pharaohs-tomb/

Last month I reviewed one of the many tracks generated by Plate Mail Game’s very successful Kickstarter. I enjoyed 1890′s Train Plateform (Or Platform as it has now been corrected into) and it felt like it would be a good fit for my Call of Cthulhu games, especially the upcoming Horror on the Orient Express remake. As many of you know by now, I’m a big mummy fan. Be they fantasy or World of Darkness style mummies, so when I saw that Plate Mail Games had released a track called Pharaoh’s Tomb, I decided to see what that one was like as well. After all, I do love to run adventures in the Har’akir domain of Ravenloft, so I thought this might be a good fit for a dungeon crawl. What did I think? Let’s take a look.

Like all Plate Mail Games tracks, Pharaoh’s Tomb is ten minutes in length and designed to be run as a loop, providing continuous background noise for you and your players. Now I use background noise rarely, mainly because a lot of tracks designed for this sort of thing actually seem to distract players rather than enforce the food the GM is trying to provide.

The track almost lost me at first with what sounds like a weird bit of feedback, but is probably a Theremin. The noise occurs regularly throughout the track and I’m not sure what it is supposed to be, except that it occurs frequently and is annoying, distracting and loud. Maybe it’s meant to be a ghost howling or something?

The other major sound you’ll hear with the track is wind. It’s the one constant throughout the ten minute piece. Of course, if you’ve been in a pyramid, you’ll know it’s deathly silent in there, but what they hey – it’s for effect and it is very ominous even if it’s not very accurate.

There are occasionally other noises like a guttural moan that occurs once or twice, rare footsteps and even the clanking of chains (which would be more appropriate in a haunted house than a tomb of an Egyptian pharaoh), but the track is mostly wind and the weird synth/Theremin howling that just doesn’t fit the tone or location of the piece.

What’s most notable in this piece are the things that are missing. I would have put in the shuffling of feet on stone. Perhaps some creaking or noises from locations settling. The grinding of stone on stone for a trap or secret door being activating. The scuttling and scurrying of bugs (probably scarab beetles) and other things that are actually reminiscent of a pyramid. The idea of the track had a lot of potential but what I actually got wasn’t at all what I was looking for.

What’s here just in no way shape or form makes me think of a “Pharaoh's Tomb.” It’s too distracting and off-base for me to ever contemplate using in a mummy based adventure or campaign. Now your mileage may vary. The weird echo feedback playing every few seconds might be up your alley and you might not find the repletion and loudness of the track as distracting or annoying as I did. Taken on its own outside of the theme it is meant to portray, Pharaoh’s Tomb is technically sound and a decent deal considering it’s ten minutes in length for only a buck-fifty. While it doesn’t fit my needs or desires it the slightest, you can listen to the audio preview for the track over at DriveThruRPG.com and see if it is more your cup of tea than it is mine. In the end, while well priced and proficiently made, Pharaoh’s Tomb just didn’t work for me.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pro RPG Audio: Pharaoh's Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pro RPG Audio: Dungeon Realm 3
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2014 19:28:05
The drippy water, the occasional closing of a door, and the violin solo lightly playing in the background of this track all put me in mind of a "dungeon" in the sense of "prison in the cellar" rather than a "dungeon" in the sense of "mad wizard's underground menagerie." The overwhelming sense I get from this track is one of utter loneliness. Very effective, although the water dripping limits the range of situations in which you could use the track.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pro RPG Audio: Dungeon Realm 3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pro RPG Audio: Desert Cave
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2014 19:10:24
Mostly what you hear in this track is wind. Occasionally some rocks or pebbles will skitter along a hard surface. There's also quite a bit of chittering from some kind of animal—bats, perhaps, judging by the occasional flapping of wings. The overall effect is … well, not one of Wes Otis's better efforts. The chittering gets annoying pretty quickly, and the rest is primarily white noise. It seems to do what the composer/engineer intended, but the overall effect is just bland in my judgment.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pro RPG Audio: Desert Cave
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pro RPG Audio: Underwater World
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2014 18:25:29
This track sounds like just what you might hear in a film while characters are scuba diving or even an exterior shot of a submarine: water and bubbles, along with occasional sounds that resemble the "ping" of a movie submarine's sonar. Very simple and very effective, useful in multiple genres: fantasy, sci-fi, modern military, and superhero being the most obvious.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pro RPG Audio: Underwater World
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pro RPG Audio: Seashore
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2014 16:01:29
This track is absolutely straightforward: the sound of waves lapping up on the beach, with some sea birds calling out now and again. That's all there is, and that's all you need to evoke the sense of being on a seashore. It does seem to be a lonely seashore; there are no ship bells or foghorns or anything like that to suggest a lighthouse, port, or even sunbathers.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pro RPG Audio: Seashore
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pro RPG Audio: Alien World 2
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2014 12:18:55
This alien world is teeming with wildlife, so I assume the PCs are out in a wilderness area of some sort. The strange animal noises convey a sense of alienness, and occasional musical tones make the whole thing seem a bit eerie. You could probably even use this for a warped terrestrial jungle of some kind.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pro RPG Audio: Alien World 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 47 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG