RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Granitefist Clanholding & Mine
by JK R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2013 06:34:40
A 15 page description of a mine and associated dwarven village, including 5 1/2 pages of maps. The maps are basic, drawn up in Campaign Cartographer, with a few minor mistakes like apparently floating mountains here and there, but they're functional and serve their purpose. The accompanying text is generally brief, with just a line or two per room, and the mine is clearly meant to be 'typical' rather than an adventure site in its own right. For example, while we're told where gold and so on are stored, there's no hint as to how much of it there is, or whether or not it might be protected.

The book rounds out with seven stat blocks for dwarven NPCs living at the site, with a short paragraph or two saying who they are. The layout of the book is minimal at best, with the NPCs, for example, blurring into one another due to a lack of clear headings. The book isn't bad, if what you want are the maps, and maybe some stats, but there's nothing much to it - although it's fair enough, for the low price.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Granitefist Clanholding & Mine
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Adventurers' Home Away from Home
by Ron M. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/10/2009 11:44:57
Adventurers’ Home Away from Home
From: RPG Cartographers

Reviewed by:  Ron McClung

Adventurers’ Home Away from Home is a new d20 RPG Location Supplement from RPG Cartographers. Something new has entered the market giving us gamers a new online source for game play. This is the FCW file - otherwise known as Fast CAD file, created by Campaign Cartographer 2 and viewable by the FastCAD File view or the free view supplied by Pro Fantasy. RPG Cartography has started a series of map-based supplements that use this technology. These are some of the same people behind the Explorer's Guild and their line of similar products.

From the website:
“Away fade the stars
As the sun does rise
Lighting the road
We will travel by...”

Adventurers’ Home Away from Home contains details of several locations with maps and stats. Included in the ZIP file are maps and descriptions for the following: Goldenhaven Inn, some Stables, The Stag & Raven Boarding House/Tavern, Innkeep Residence, and Bear’s Skull Tavern.Included in the PDF are the descriptions of the above locations, as well as some rules for a common game of chance played in these locations called Murder of Crows. The maps are well done, using the brilliance of Pro Fantasy CC2 software. The locations are well-fleshed out and populated with several useful NPCs. Most of the PDF is made up of either black-and-white versions of the color maps or NPC stats.

Some art is just clipart obtained from various sources, and some of the original art is somewhat lacking but acceptable. The layout is well done, if not a little ink heavy for your printer. The CC2 maps are well done and very detailed.

In conclusion, this is a decent amount of handy locations for any GM to have. It can be worked in any campaign and would be an impressive addition to the campaign. The maps are very cool.

For more details on RPG Cartographers and their new d20 RPG Location Supplement “Adventurers’ Home Away from Home” check them out at their website http://www.rpgcartography.com.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers' Home Away from Home
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deluxe Map Pack
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2008 11:16:42
70+ odd maps in a clean format. Not terribly fancy, but better than I can do. The majority of the maps are for the interiors of various buildings for a city environment, in case you have a fight break out at the local herbalist shop, I suppose. For the price, not a bad deal!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deluxe Map Pack
by Joseph Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2007 01:36:19
If you need a map quick, this is a good supplement. The artwork is servicable and worth the money if you prefer to spend your time fleshing out NPCs rather than generating rooms. I used the supplement in a few pickup/trial game sessions and to run short side encounters. Sure, you could probably scratch out something servicable on your graph paper pad or using a paint program, but pressing "print" saves time better spent scaling the encounters.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers' Home Away from Home
by Brandt P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2007 00:00:00
This will come in very handy. It gives me a few ideas on future adventures. I like to run campaigns that move from one location to another and this will be very helpful.


LIKED: How easy it is to use

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers' Home Away from Home
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deluxe Map Pack
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2007 00:00:00
This is a good set of maps. It's fairly complete, too. It's not the best set of maps, but it's good to have these in the collection for those nights when the party surprises you and you have to play off the cuff.




LIKED: There are plenty of designs and something to use for virtually any fantasy campaign setting. At $1.50, it's hard to go wrong with this one.

DISLIKED: Maybe it's a nitpicking, but why are there plenty of indoor bathing rooms in this set, and not a single outhouse?

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Town of Umberham
by Geoff H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2006 00:00:00
I found this product to be full of useful material. The town of Umberham is the bulk of the iceberg here as there is good descriptive material for the surrounding area to satisfy a party of adventurers for several game sessions. There are a lot of NPCs, and while they are not all 100% fleshed out, there are stats for them, which is usually plenty to get by during a game session.

At over 200 pages in length, I feel I got my monies worth in purchasing this product.


LIKED: The maps are good, and the number of NPCs and regional material are also great additions. I found the inclusion of tables with prices for services and items in some of the shops useful.

DISLIKED: While there is a lot here, there is a lot of the town of Umberham that we don't get to know about. Also, I'd like some adventure hooks and to know how the different townspeople interact with each other. Some legends to go along with the region maps would also help.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Town of Umberham
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deluxe Map Pack
by Charles s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2006 00:00:00
Not bad, but not great. It's a selection of CC made maps that act well only as an example of what could be done with CC or CC2. But High quality or imaginative these maps are not.
The "Castles and Keeps Floorplans" or "etc Floorplans" series available here are better quality.



QUALITY: Disappointing

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Town of Umberham
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2006 00:00:00
Well, first of all, I have to say it isn't bad. However, the equipment for all of the characters in it is terribly wrong. TERRIBLY wrong, like 400k worth of equipment for a 5th level NPC. Also, a number of the maps in this were also in the Bundle pack I purchased, which was dissapointing to end up with duplicates.

QUALITY: Disappointing

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Town of Umberham
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deluxe Map Pack
by Zack H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2006 00:00:00
Lotta maps, lotta maps. The effort on a few them looks like very amateur campaign cartogrpaher work, but you can't beat that price. Plenty here for your money.


LIKED: The price, and the wide range of maps available.

DISLIKED: Every map wasn't exactly a work of art, but for the price, it's still a great bargain.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deluxe Map Pack
by Shane K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2006 00:00:00
The maps are a mixed bunch. There is far more interior maps of buildings and dungeons than areas or overland maps. The interior maps are in my opinion much better than the overland maps.

The overland maps seems to be too structured, not natural enough. The interior maps have good detail and have good layouts.

I did not like the town maps at all. They did not look like towns and they were not maps I would use in my games. Although, to be honest these maps are better than what I produce with Campaign Cartographer. I especially like that the product includes the source maps, allowing me to edit the maps for my own use. Of course this requires that you own ProFantasy's Mapping software.

One thing that is missing is a license. There is no indication of how I can use the maps, for example can I use these maps in my own product? Can I use them in a commercial product?

My full review is available here: http://churchofthegame.blogspot.com/2006/01/deluxe-map-pack.-
html


LIKED: There are some good maps in this collection and there are a lot of maps total.

DISLIKED: There are too many average maps. Too many maps I would want to edit before I would use them.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Map Pack
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2005 00:00:00
I was hesitant for a while about purchasing the map pack, since the reviews seemed mixed, and I'm a bit of a stickler with map quality. However, I figured if I could get just one decent map out of the pack, it might be worth the money.

I got a couple.


LIKED: Some of the maps, the overland maps in particular, are crisp and colorful. They can be inserted into ANY campaign, since text has been omitted (a real plus in my book!)

DISLIKED: The interior maps are a bit stiff and uncreative. Also, there is too much color used, particularly in the background where it's not even needed. A serious commitment to your local ink supplier is needed to print some of these mediocre maps out.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Map Pack
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2005 00:00:00
I have no complaints about this product nor do I really have any raves. I do not regret spending the money and it pretty much delivers as promised.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Map Pack
by Jose L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2005 00:00:00
This is a collection of generic CC2 (Campaign Cartographer) maps, which are easily utilized in most fantasy campaign settings. The maps are very nice, and they're well stocked with items appropriate to the theme of the map. Its easy to print out a tavern, house, shop, etc. whenever you need one quickly for a game. There is an included pdf with all the maps displayed for easy printing. Overall, an excellent value...especially considering the absurdly low price.



LIKED: Nice, clean maps with plenty of dressing. Included pdf file with all maps.

DISLIKED: What's not to like?

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SRD 3.5 pdf
by Eric H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/11/2005 00:00:00
The d20 SRD 3.5 is exactly that. It is a ~1200 page pdf containing everything about the SRD. The text is small and compact to accomodate the size of the work and I experienced a little blurring as I zoomed in to read it up close.

Navigation is made very easy in three ways. First you have typical pdf bookmarks that you can use easily to jump from item to item. This has been narrowed down to each individual entry in the SRD. Second, hyperlinks have been placed at the top of each page to Basics, Magic and Spells, Magic Items, Monsters, Psionics, and Epic. Lastly, the entire table of contents contains hyperlinks to every single item in the SRD. Need to look up Kobold fast? Open the table of contents, find Kobold, and click, you're there. Otherwise, a page listing is also offered.

The text is in two-column format which I find very easy to read and tables have been created for things such as monsters and character progression to make everything a little more organized.

LIKED: Very easy navigation of a gargantuan body of work. Very tight and concise no-nonsense treatment of the SRD.

DISLIKED: Hard question since I don't know everything about Acrobat, but I would have liked to be able to copy the tables right out of the text and place them into a word document without losing the column and row lines. It's certainly not a reason to avoid this product however.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SRD 3.5 pdf
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 32 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG