RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
For The Masses
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2016 17:54:00

Great set of rules playable,easy to learn and really enjoyable and I'm not a big Fantasy gamer more Historical. The rule's were recommended from another gamer on the Baccus Forum glad I took the chance and ordered them CUDOS to the authors!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
For The Masses
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Grand Fleets: Jutland Data Cards
by Joseph R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2016 18:23:51

The color is nice, but the cards are bigger than the normal card size used in all the other MJ12 products (3rd ed). 2.5in high vs standard 2.1in bizcard size. This means they don't fit bizcard holders if you managed to get those. And these are only the BB,BC, and cruisers. So you are back to using the B&W smaller cards for the other smaller ships anyways. I just don't think theres a lot of value add here. I could add color to the standard cards using software.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Grand Fleets: Jutland Data Cards
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Grand Fleets: Tsar & Emperor
by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2016 15:35:48

An interesting supplement including several battles - real and near misses - from the Russo-Japanese war, the 1898 war between Spain and the US, and the war between Greece and the Ottoman empire before WWI.

However you should know that just as the first supplement finishes its period before Jutland, this one mentions but does not have any scenarios for Tsushima.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Grand Fleets: Tsar & Emperor
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Grand Fleets: Tsar & Emperor
by Brad G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2016 19:36:59

Grand Fleets: Tsar & Emperor- Well up to the standards of the previously released volumes and it includes a good bit of history also. Very glad to have it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grand Fleets: King & Kaiser
by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2015 14:50:16

Six scenarios from the start of World War One, most with 'what if' variants, a couple of optional tweaks to the main ruleset, a simple campaign system, plus a pile of data cards for ships of the Royal Navy, German navy and Austria-Hungary.

Note the timescale in the description: 1914-1915. This means Jutland isn't included and will doubtless be in another supplement.

I got it when it was a 'deal of the day' and I'm very happy. Had I paid full price, I might well have been not so enthusiastic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grand Fleets: King & Kaiser
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Grand Admiral: Castles of Steel
by Tim W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2014 23:21:01

This is my go-to game for WWI fleet scale naval games. This game is by no means a rivet counter - but has enough meat in it to really feel like you are controlling fleets in WWI. The card activation system makes each game unpredictable which adds to the suspense. Gameplay is relatively quick with squadron sized battles taking about half an hour to major fleet actions taking a few hours.

You will need dice (lots of d6's) and a standard deck of cards to play this game. You'll also need some time and access to a colour printer and a good pair of scissors to prepare all the counters you need to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grand Admiral: Castles of Steel
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Starmada Nova Rulebook
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2014 05:53:21

Layout -- POOR. Boring layout, limited art that is pristine but not interesting or inspiring. There are not many pictures depicting space battles, neither inside the ship nor outside in space! The cover of the book is EXCELLENT, whoever designed the cover showed that s/he actually gave a d++n about what s/he was doing. It needs more art, and more-interesting art, something that will inspire me to play this game.

Text -- GOOD. Excellent for a tech manual, but not inspiring. The text does an excellent job for what it is supposed to do, but nothing more.

Game Play -- POOR. Mechanics are good, but there are absolutely no diagrams for spaceship design! It's all text and numbers, there are no layouts that might inspire what ships look like.

I don't know of any other games like this; this was my first purchase for miniatures spaceship battle. I am sorely disappointed: the cover sold me on the game, but I should have suspected something was not entirely right when I found there is no sample to review the PDF before paying 11.30 for this. I feel somewhat robbed; I hope I can salvage this space game (no pun intended).



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Starmada Nova Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ARES Expanded Rulebook
by Sam H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2013 02:51:43

ARES is a great and complete set of fantasy rules for 15mm or 28mm. One purchase gets you everything, and there are additional rules, errata, and expansions available free from the publisher's website.

If you want a set of fantasy or historical rules that has more crunch and a lot less randomness than Song of Blades and Heroes, this is what you want! Uses several sizes of dice and requires some mental arithmetic, so it's a good basis for building kid's number skills.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ARES Expanded Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Starmada Nova Rulebook
by Alexander O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/06/2012 21:10:54

This edition of Starmada has all the strengths of prior editions:

(a) a sort of elegance in the ruleset that allows for deep tactical options, while retaining a clarity of statement and explanation. Plus, the guiding rule of simple, but not simplistic, rules is still very much evident;

(b) the ability to not only custom-build your own ships, but also the options to custom-build your ruleset with Advanced Rules and Alternate Movement Systems in order to reflect the type of starship combat reality you want to emulate

(c) really clean and functional ship displays to help you keep track of your ship capabilities and damage;

(d) my favorite -- the default movement rules that reflect the inertia rules in space without having to keep track of two or three Delta V values for each ship.

I like the improvement in the diagrams, particularly the firing arcs. They go a long way to clarifying rules without lengthy discussions. I like the retention of clear examples for each rule. And I like the amount of fleet lists available to get a game going right away!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starmada Nova Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Starmada Nova Rulebook
by Thomas H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/06/2012 15:04:03

Having played a few games of Starmada Admiralty Ed. with my group I jumped at the chance to get a review copy of the new edition. Everything we griped about from AE sems to be fixed; the more over-the-top weapon options have been dialled back, movement has been streamlined somewhat at the expense of simultaneous movement being made an optional rule, and seeker alpha strikes seem to have been addressed. Smaller ships can be given escort traits to help them protect the bigger ones too, makimg them more visble. Personally I like that damage rules have taken a leaf from Full Thrust's book - direct system damage is out and threshold rolls are in at 1/3 and 2/3 damage - and weapon rolls have been simplified down to a single roll and a save for shields.

It still feels like Starmada, the customisation is very much present still despite the rules streamlining, but much of the exploitable features have been fixed. Games of AE, for us at least, degenerated into "big ships with super devastating weapons" and the new rules go a long way to address this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quantum Legions: Vanguard
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/01/2012 09:14:02

A solid set of basic wargame rules that can be easily modified to suit many types of units and battles. Because of its "sandbox" nature, I wouldn't recommend it for inexperienced wargamers, who may have trouble figuring out how to get started - but it would be a great choice for experienced players to use for introducing new players to the hobby.

The rules are clear and concise, and include tips on unit creation, changing scales, and using hex and open maps. The counters and force lists are very well done.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quantum Legions: Vanguard
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Starmada Rules Annex
by Gregory B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2011 13:11:33

The Starmada Admiralty Edition-Rules Annex brings together all the rules, options, modifiers and additions to this game and lays them out in an easy to use manner. This book is a must have for any gamer making use of the incredibly flexible Starmada rules system to play out campaigns or to simply run one off games for the guys in their favorite sci-fi setting. This book deserves the A+++ rating I give it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starmada Rules Annex
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

For The Masses
by David G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2011 14:41:05

Sorry to say but I found this game to be wanting.

Not enough army lists and requiring too much work from the gamer to create the armies and the ones provided aren't generic enough to help the beginner.

The hex system is a pain too and though you can download rules to use standard size bases with tape measuring system instead it just doesn't seem to feel right.

There is a forum for the game but good luck if you ever get an answer to your question this side of the turn of the century (that's end of the 21st C).

If you like games where you don't have individual figures then you might like this but if you like each figure to be a 1:1 base then you'll hate this game.

The command point system makes the game a bit too much like hard work.

But take a long good look at the preview sample before you persuade yourself to buy this game. You might like it. I didn't.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
For The Masses
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Starmada: The Admiralty Edition [BUNDLE]
by Charles C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2011 15:35:43

This review is for a good game with a bad pdf. I am on a Mac and if you are I'd suggest skipping this one until you can find a work around that the DRM will actually let you do. On this PDF there are pictures that will not show up and charts that are just blank pages in my book so I found a work around. Here it is. Go to Preview and re save the PDF under a different name. Here's the problem, Most of these PDF files have DRM that wont let you do what you have to do to fix the chart and picture problem.

Either fix your own PDFs before you try to sell them or make it possible for me to do so. As it stands I cant say Im excited about your game.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Starmada: The Admiralty Edition [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Starmada: Fleet Ops
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/10/2011 18:48:20

Starmada: Fleet Ops is a really good product, with solid everything. There are only a few gripes I have with it, and they're minor.

Probably the biggest gripe is that where they had a list of all the components of the ship, they didn't put the letters and numbers up that corresponded with the text description, which caused some angst when trying to figure out what stuff meant.

The second gripe is that there's a lot of math to be done to do some of the stuff. But that's my typical gripe with wargame-y stuff.

However, I really liked the art and the writing, and everything felt good except for that one little omission I mentioned first. Ultimately, it's worth a gander, especially if you're into that sort of thing, but be forewarned that you will run through ink and paper like there's no tomorrow if you print the stuff. There are also rules for conversion from Starmada proper, if you played it and now want to use ships from it in Fleet Operations.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Starmada: Fleet Ops
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 75 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG