RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
ARES Expanded Rulebook
by Sam H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2013 02:51:43
ARES is a great and complete set of fantasy rules for 15mm or 28mm. One purchase gets you everything, and there are additional rules, errata, and expansions available free from the publisher's website.

If you want a set of fantasy or historical rules that has more crunch and a lot less randomness than Song of Blades and Heroes, this is what you want! Uses several sizes of dice and requires some mental arithmetic, so it's a good basis for building kid's number skills.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ARES Expanded Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Starmada Nova Rulebook
by Alexander O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/06/2012 21:10:54
This edition of Starmada has all the strengths of prior editions:

(a) a sort of elegance in the ruleset that allows for deep tactical options, while retaining a clarity of statement and explanation. Plus, the guiding rule of simple, but not simplistic, rules is still very much evident;

(b) the ability to not only custom-build your own ships, but also the options to custom-build your ruleset with Advanced Rules and Alternate Movement Systems in order to reflect the type of starship combat reality you want to emulate

(c) really clean and functional ship displays to help you keep track of your ship capabilities and damage;

(d) my favorite -- the default movement rules that reflect the inertia rules in space without having to keep track of two or three Delta V values for each ship.

I like the improvement in the diagrams, particularly the firing arcs. They go a long way to clarifying rules without lengthy discussions. I like the retention of clear examples for each rule. And I like the amount of fleet lists available to get a game going right away!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starmada Nova Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Starmada Nova Rulebook
by Thomas H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/06/2012 15:04:03
Having played a few games of Starmada Admiralty Ed. with my group I jumped at the chance to get a review copy of the new edition. Everything we griped about from AE sems to be fixed; the more over-the-top weapon options have been dialled back, movement has been streamlined somewhat at the expense of simultaneous movement being made an optional rule, and seeker alpha strikes seem to have been addressed. Smaller ships can be given escort traits to help them protect the bigger ones too, makimg them more visble. Personally I like that damage rules have taken a leaf from Full Thrust's book - direct system damage is out and threshold rolls are in at 1/3 and 2/3 damage - and weapon rolls have been simplified down to a single roll and a save for shields.

It still feels like Starmada, the customisation is very much present still despite the rules streamlining, but much of the exploitable features have been fixed. Games of AE, for us at least, degenerated into "big ships with super devastating weapons" and the new rules go a long way to address this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Quantum Legions: Vanguard
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/01/2012 09:14:02
A solid set of basic wargame rules that can be easily modified to suit many types of units and battles. Because of its "sandbox" nature, I wouldn't recommend it for inexperienced wargamers, who may have trouble figuring out how to get started - but it would be a great choice for experienced players to use for introducing new players to the hobby.

The rules are clear and concise, and include tips on unit creation, changing scales, and using hex and open maps. The counters and force lists are very well done.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quantum Legions: Vanguard
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Starmada Rules Annex
by Gregory B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2011 13:11:33
The Starmada Admiralty Edition-Rules Annex brings together all the rules, options, modifiers and additions to this game and lays them out in an easy to use manner. This book is a must have for any gamer making use of the incredibly flexible Starmada rules system to play out campaigns or to simply run one off games for the guys in their favorite sci-fi setting. This book deserves the A+++ rating I give it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starmada Rules Annex
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
For The Masses
by David G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2011 14:41:05
Sorry to say but I found this game to be wanting.

Not enough army lists and requiring too much work from the gamer to create the armies and the ones provided aren't generic enough to help the beginner.

The hex system is a pain too and though you can download rules to use standard size bases with tape measuring system instead it just doesn't seem to feel right.

There is a forum for the game but good luck if you ever get an answer to your question this side of the turn of the century (that's end of the 21st C).

If you like games where you don't have individual figures then you might like this but if you like each figure to be a 1:1 base then you'll hate this game.

The command point system makes the game a bit too much like hard work.

But take a long good look at the preview sample before you persuade yourself to buy this game. You might like it. I didn't.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
For The Masses
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Starmada: The Admiralty Edition [BUNDLE]
by Charles C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2011 15:35:43
This review is for a good game with a bad pdf. I am on a Mac and if you are I'd suggest skipping this one until you can find a work around that the DRM will actually let you do. On this PDF there are pictures that will not show up and charts that are just blank pages in my book so I found a work around. Here it is. Go to Preview and re save the PDF under a different name. Here's the problem, Most of these PDF files have DRM that wont let you do what you have to do to fix the chart and picture problem.

Either fix your own PDFs before you try to sell them or make it possible for me to do so. As it stands I cant say Im excited about your game.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Starmada: The Admiralty Edition [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Starmada: Fleet Ops
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/10/2011 18:48:20
Starmada: Fleet Ops is a really good product, with solid everything. There are only a few gripes I have with it, and they're minor.

Probably the biggest gripe is that where they had a list of all the components of the ship, they didn't put the letters and numbers up that corresponded with the text description, which caused some angst when trying to figure out what stuff meant.

The second gripe is that there's a lot of math to be done to do some of the stuff. But that's my typical gripe with wargame-y stuff.

However, I really liked the art and the writing, and everything felt good except for that one little omission I mentioned first. Ultimately, it's worth a gander, especially if you're into that sort of thing, but be forewarned that you will run through ink and paper like there's no tomorrow if you print the stuff. There are also rules for conversion from Starmada proper, if you played it and now want to use ships from it in Fleet Operations.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Starmada: Fleet Ops
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Iron Stars [BUNDLE]
by Paul K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2011 13:01:19
I bought this when the price was a bit lower. A very nice set of rules and counters for Victorian space adventures.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Iron Stars [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Grand Admiral: Flashpoint Orange
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/15/2010 12:42:53
This is basically a good, if simple, naval combat wargame.

It's pretty simple: Roll the dice, confirm hits, do damage, next round, draw a card, see what you can do.

Ships are given a few factors that make the game fast, though I can't really vouch for how accurate it is, not really being a nautical guy (I've read Hunt for Red October, but that's as close as I get).

If you want naval warfare, I recommend this, if for no reason other than the fact that for $15 and a bit of ink and paper, you get a fully-featured game.

My main gripes: No plain images of the ships for us digital favoring players, meaning I get to find ship images myself, or use proxies. Also, the action card system could result in long periods of time consisting solely of inaction, as ships move over and over, without firing.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grand Admiral: Flashpoint Orange
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
For The Masses
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2010 09:56:24
This is a great alternate set of rules for fantasy miniature wargames. Because it's not tied to any specific line of minis, you can use any figures at all. The book has an extensive section on building your own units with whatever abilities you like, and a mathematical formula for determining their point value. I have yet to see a more flexible and customizable wargame system.

The rules are quick to learn for any somewhat-experienced wargamer, and they are clearly laid out. The book isn't jam-packed with art, but the artwork in it is good, and the diagrams are easy to read.

One thing I wish there was more of is additional sample armies. The book contains a number of detailed sample army sets, but with such customization abilities it would be great to see a menagerie of sample armies to rival some of the bigger publishers.

Finally, there's a lot of wonderful math and numbers to crunch, but not so much fluff text to describe what the numbers actually represent. In some ways, this is good, because in order to remain flexible the system needs to be somewhat abstract. However, the flip side to this is that beginners may have trouble constructing balanced units if they don't stick to the sample army lists.

I can see myself using this system for a very long time.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
For The Masses
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Grand Fleets: Second Edition
by Yuming S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2010 10:07:32
Hi, I can only get a 2KB file after clicking the download link , please sovle this problem as soon as possible!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grand Fleets: Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Starmada X: Brigade
by Dennis M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2009 23:48:33
My 16-year-old son and I played with these rules after we scrounged up some counters. The rules are easy enough to be fun and meaty enough to allow for some depth.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Starmada X: Brigade
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Starmada: The Admiralty Edition Core Rulebook
by Joaquim F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2009 14:36:58
It seems impossible, but this game is always keeping better. As for other games, that the 3.5 edition doesn't add a lot, or the 4th edition is only a way to make us spend more money, the handyvcraft made in the AE is suberb. The movement rules have the simple elegance of a math equation. Congratulations, Mr. Daniel Kast, you have here perhaps the best tactical spaceship wargame I ever played. And I have played a few...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starmada: The Admiralty Edition Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Iron Stars [BUNDLE]
by Joaquim F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2009 14:30:53
A good way to buy all the (still waiting for more) books from this fantastic game.

Joaquim Pedro Ferreira

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Iron Stars [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 68 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG