RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Bold Costumes, Black Hearts
by Richard A. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2012 13:52:48
I love this product. But I can't find where to get the Deeds Not Words rpg that it us suppose to be supporting. Does anyone know how to contact the publisher and get the main book?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bold Costumes, Black Hearts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Thaumatech: Modern Magic Items
by Chris F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2011 00:16:21
This is probably the most fun collection of magical artifacts for a modern campaign I've seen in a long time. It's HUGE and filled with lots of good ideas.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thaumatech: Modern Magic Items
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Book of Distinctions & Drawbacks Modern
by Patrick M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2009 18:27:00
I found this hugely useful for character creation as it contains A LOT of comprehensive descriptions for flaws and advantages. There are more flaws than advantages but I still found it very helpful. I converted it over to FUDGE for the campaign I am running.

I bought the The Book of Distinctions & Drawbacks standard edition as well, which I use in my fantasy campaigns.

Great price for the amount of quality content.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Distinctions & Drawbacks Modern
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Book of Distinctions & Drawbacks
by Patrick M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2009 18:25:01
This product is hugely useful for character creation and A LOT of comprehensive descriptions. There are more flaws than advantages but I still found it very helpful as I converted it over to FUDGE for the campaign I am running.

I bought the The Book of Distinctions & Drawbacks Modern edition as well.

For the content and breadth, it can't be beat and I have yet to find another good source for character creation "merits and flaws."

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Distinctions & Drawbacks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Deeds Not Words Revision 1.1
by Ingo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2006 00:00:00
Very good book with interesting ideas for playing superheros.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deeds Not Words Revision 1.1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Book of Distinctions & Drawbacks
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2005 00:00:00
I absolutly enjoyed this product. The level of depth it helps to add to characters is amazing. Now instead of just saying that your character is a prince(ss) in exile, you can purchese the title, the right to the land, and even extra gold. Naturally, in return for these benefits the character will have some difficulties, but that just makes the game more fun.


LIKED: The absolute variety of options. While this product does tend towards making very strong characters, as long as the GM sets guidelines there should be no complications.

DISLIKED: The only real downside is the increased time it will now take to make a character. There are so many options that it is hard to choose just the right ones.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Distinctions & Drawbacks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Thaumatech: Modern Magic Items
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2005 00:00:00
Great set of Magic items for Modern D20.

I wish this was out when my modern d20 campaign was in full swing!!!

still a great read and well balanced mechanics for items.

Plus lots and lots of rings!!!! love it all.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Thaumatech: Modern Magic Items
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Deeds Not Words Revision 1.1
by Troy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2005 00:00:00
An excellent, detailed d20 supers rpg. Lots and lots of stuff for a very small price!

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deeds Not Words Revision 1.1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Book of Distinctions & Drawbacks
by Chad I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2005 00:00:00
Reviewed this once on ENWorld - review is gone, now though. In short - the best, most complete merit/flaw system for d20 I've seen. The new version is more concrete in how it is supposed to be used and lends itself a bit more to min/maxing in the "standard" mode, but still just as useable as before. And as before, more Taints please!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Distinctions & Drawbacks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Book of Distinctions & Drawbacks
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2005 00:00:00
A very useful supplement, however as with any merit/flaw system (especially a "tacted on system" abuse possibilities abound. Police the use of this product carefully . . . don't let the players run amok min maxing PC's.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Book of Distinctions & Drawbacks Modern
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2005 00:00:00
d20 has some great ideas. Classes that act as a sort of archetype of character development, feats so that you can have more options as to more refined development, and quite a few prestige classes (or, in this case, advanced classes) to fill even more specific niches.

There is one thing that all of the above lacks, though, and that is the actual character in the character. And that is where this book comes in. Now you can get some drawbacks (which tells you what your character can't do) and distinctions (which are little perks, but you can get extra feats, which I do highly suggest).

Many gamers feel that taking a drawback is somehow making their character weaker. In a sense that is true. However it has two benefits: one, you get a distinction of similar value, and two, you have made your character distinct from all of the others. You have something fun to role-play.

LIKED: Drawbacks! They are great. Take a flaw and your character will no longer be a flimsy cardboard cutout.

DISLIKED: I found many of the distinctions to be lame. I just go for an extra feat, because all of the rest seems to be useless (to me, anyway).

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Distinctions & Drawbacks Modern
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Laying the Smack Down! Revision 1.1
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2005 00:00:00
A great addition to Deeds Not Words. It starts with about 14 pages of feats, about 14 pages of weapons and armor (including quite a lot of improvised weapons), about 6 pages of combat rules, and about 60 pages of NPCs and setting data.

LIKED: Can you say options? I like how it has a lot of combat options. When you have superheroes beating each other up, the more options the better. Hit locations are handled quite well.

DISLIKED: It has a bunch of NPCs in it. Granted, this is considered a virtue for most people, but I would rather it had more rules and crunchy-stuff.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Laying the Smack Down! Revision 1.1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Book of Distinctions & Drawbacks
by Jeffrey P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2004 00:00:00
This book is of great use to those DMs and Players that wish to add some "personality" to their characters to distinguish them more from the stock core classes and prestige classes.

I find the book fairly well balanced and the drawbacks are all very good in making sure that the players REALLY want to do what they think they want to do. They all have the potential to be quite burdensome to the character and not something I think anyone would jump into without due and careful thought.

Those of you in roll-playing campaigns will find this book to be of much less value. Those of you in role-playing campaigns may find this book to be a great deal of fun.

The one thing I need to do is cross-reference the content of this book with the WotC Unearthed Arcana list.

I recommend this book over another here at RPGnow: Distinctions & Demerits.



DISLIKED: Stayed away from purely role-playing drawbacks, but this would be a plus to almost everyone else.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Distinctions & Drawbacks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Laying the Smack Down! Revision 1.1
by Richard F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2004 00:00:00
Combat. Fighting. Mayhem. All these things and more. What a great suppliment to the DnW line!

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Laying the Smack Down! Revision 1.1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Thaumatech: Modern Magic Items
by Richard F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2004 00:00:00
There are some cool items in this book. I've not used them yet in my games, but they would be fun to play with none the less.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Thaumatech: Modern Magic Items
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 66 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG