RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Dungeon World
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/02/2014 07:02:14
WHAT WORKS: Holy smokes...talk about taking the World Engine and running with it. These guys clearly have a fondness for D&D tropes, because you don't write a 400 page book about emulating D&D tropes in a different game system without having some kind of fondness for it. Again, speaking from experience, the World Engine does work pretty well, so long as you're not afraid to improvise. The bestiary is impressive and covers a LOT of ground (not surprising, given the context of the game). Lots and lots of explanations.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: They may have updated it since then, but the PDF I've got had some clickable bookmarks and page numbers that went back to the first page instead of where they were supposed to go. This is still going to be an exhausting game if you can't improvise well (or your group just doesn't want to play along).

CONCLUSION: This is D&D for folks who don't want to play D&D. If you like the D&D tropes but want something lighter and more free flowing, this is a really good choice. If there's something that isn't quite clicking with the game, some folks made a Dungeon World Beginner's Guide as well that'll help you out. Given my experiences with tremulus, I'm inclined to consider Dungeon World for my group's eventual visit to Ravenloft, though part of me really just wants to go into an open setting and see what happens. It covers a TON of ground...before turning around and giving enough advice and examples for you to tinker with it however you need to in order to fill out the game you want to play. Adding it to the short list of games I want to get to the table sooner, rather than later.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2014/01/tommys-take-o-
n-dungeon-world.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon World
by James L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2014 16:53:44
I really enjoy the type of game that Dungeon World encourages, but unfortunately it just didn't seem to click for me. I also can't wrap my head around the notion that this is supposedly a rules-light system, yet it's 400+ pages. It doesn't bode well when a common recommendation is to read a free fan-created Beginners Guide just to understand this game.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Powers For Good #0
by Joseph R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2014 12:32:16
I haven't actually gotten a chance to see it on its feet yet, but from reading the rules Powers for good seems like a simple, fast, and low prep option for running super hero games.

Character creation is dead simple. Emphasizing troop style play the group as a whole creates a team and peoples it with super heroes. These heroes are loosely defined by their powers and a few key character elements. The game favors troupe style play, and players can switch characters between sessions easily.

The game play focuses on fast resolution and resource management. A diminishing die pool mechanic is used in a clever way to give the game play some depth.

All in all I'd highly recommend it for anyone wanting a good engine to play around with Legion of Super Heroes or X Men style super groups. While the game suggests that Justice League would be another option the game doesn't have any real way to model the difference between a Superman and a Shining Knight.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Powers For Good #0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Powers For Good #0
by Fred B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2014 14:13:56
Simple, Narrative Elegance.

The game starts by creating your team of superheros. You choose the team's name first. After that, each participant (Players and the GM) names two heroes. Yeah, just create two super hero names. That's it. This is actually a brilliant idea. Names are always something that people struggle with, and good names will spark creativity around the table. Now, you assign a power and personality to each of those oddballs. Done!
Next, you choose which of those heroes you will play this time (you can change heroes after each adventure). Flesh them out with 2-5 extra powers and you are good to go! Personally, I love this approach - it works great as a pick-up, or even a convention game, and gives you enough info to start roleplaying.

The system is simple, but also brilliant in it's simplicity. You get a set (core) of dice: d12, d8, d6 and a d4. You don't assign them to anything - you just have it. Treat it as, I don't know, your hero's current power. When you need to roll, you pick up any dice you want and roll them. If the total on the dice is greater than the Difficulty Level (GM never rolls dice, only assigns difficulty) - you succeeded!
Now, for each die you did not use in the roll, you get a Determination Point - you use those to add to your roll on 1 to 1 basis. If you failed - you get an extra point as well. Simple, and keeps players from using all their dice all the time (you want those Determination Points).
But wait! That's not all. "Each roll has consequences" - the book says. The die with the highest result in the roll is reduced in size (so d12 becomes d10, d8 - d6 and so on). This small rule makes teamwork encouraged. As even if you and your friends roll tons of dice to achieve something, only one of those will be reduced. Also, at least in my mind, the little line about the consequences tells the GM, that when describing success, they should always go with: Yes, but.

And that's it for the system - quick, simple and narrative - just like I wanted. Well, there are tips on how to GM and a sample "adventure" in the book. Both good chapters, explaining the narrative GM approach in some detail. So, even if you never played a story or narrative game in your life, you can get the hang of it.

Oh, one more thing - the game is licensed under Creative Commons - so nothing is stopping people from releasing their own hero teams, scenarios, rules etc. I really hope that people will jump on this game and start creating - I want to see Powers For Good #1, #17 and even #200!

Caveat: The game does not have much art, but what is there is really neat, full-page, supers lineart. But that's it. Because of that, some pages seem "naked" with just one column text. It doesn't bother me, especially at the price of admission.

This "review" was first published on my blog: http://level27geek.blogspot.com/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Powers For Good #0
by James D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2014 17:42:38
A super simple game with easy-to-follow guidelines for team and character creation. This should get a group of experienced players up and running in minutes and less experienced players should have fun learning the basics of role-playing. Certainly worth the price of a beer. :)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Powers For Good #0
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/13/2014 10:00:55
The introduction is brief, explaining that this first work in the Powers For Good line keeps it simple: one team of super heroes to play, one bunch of villains to go up against and the rules necessary to make it all work. One person is the GM, everyone else plays a 'hero apiece. Oh, and you need funny-shaped dice (the sort that are familiar to most role-players!).

On to Getting Started. Here we learn how to create characters. It's simple. Start with the team of superheroes, giving the team a name and listing the members, each person present (including the GM) suggesting two names. Then each player chooses which of the team they'd like to play (which doesn't have to be one that they suggested) and rounds that character out some. Those characters not chosen are the supporting cast and have greatly reduced statistics, being reduced to a brief description of their personality and powers. The player-characters are described in much the same way, only in greater detail - but still in narrative form. No numbers or dice as yet.

Next comes Playing the Game. Play is divided into two phases: Preparation and Action. Action occurs when the characters are acting in the face of an external threat provided by the GM, Preparation is everything else they get up to. Both are handled in the main by verbal descriptions of what characters are doing, the dice generally only come out during Action when a character wishes to use a superpower to accomplish something.

And here's the fun part. That's when you choose which dice to roll for what power - and it's not fixed, you choose each time. The thing is, as a 'core' each character has a d12, a d8, a d6 and a d4 - each can be used once during a given sequence of actions. Once you have chosen, roll the lot and compare the total against a GM-set target number - exceed that and you have succeeded in whatever you were trying to do. To reflect the character getting tired, those dice that were used are then reduced in size (a d12 becomes a d10 and so on down the line until the d4, if used that's gone), but are available for the next thing that you want to do. Once the Action is over and things calm down a bit, you increase the dice by one step again; and once the whole scenario is done, you reset back to the core values. Oh, and you can gain determination from various circumstances, which can be added to your die rolls.

The next section explains the GMs role, how to run the game and what sort of things you need to provide: information, threats and so on. There are some wonderful ideas for spurring the characters into action - vital components hit, things that collapse (under the characters, maybe) and the like. There are notes on managing the dice, setting target numbers and creating (and using) villainous plots to effect.

Finally, there's an adventure for you to try all this out on: Doctor Fission vs. The World. It is presented in outline, but is clear to follow and - being quite basic - should not require too much preparation to run effectively. The action should be fast and furious in the best comic book style!

If you want a fast, simple game that captures the essence of superhero action in an elegant and straightforward style, this is worth a look.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Powers For Good #0
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2014 21:51:44
Simple and elegant, words you don't often hear used to describe a tabletop RPG. I look forward to seeing more from this series!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by Adrian T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2014 20:49:02
Dungeon World is the Roleplaying Game I've been wishing I was playing while I'd been playing Palladium and D&D years ago.

Dungeon World describes itself as a conversation, and this is absolutely true. The game doesn't differentiate between "Roleplaying" and "Combat", treating everything as roleplaying in a seamless flow as the players and GM talk about what is going on.

The game is very improvisation-heavy, giving the GM tools to decide what happens when the players either look to them to see what happens, or when they roll the dice. Instead of a binary pass/fail state, the game uses a good result/good result with complication/bad result, interested in consequences as opposed to success and failure. When the GM speaks, nothing never happens!

The rules are divided into smaller chunks, called moves. A move consists of a trigger, which is usually something a character does, or an event that occurs, then a mechanic for deciding the consequences, often rolling 2D6 and adding a stat, and the consequences, which the move will direct you to something interesting happening. Character sheets have everything you need on them to create and play your character. Character creation is fast, consisting of a few decisions that help describe your character, their motivations, and their origin You also have bonds with the other players' characters. This gets the players talking about their characters' relationships with each other very early on in a way that shapes the kinds of adventures they will have.

The GM has rules as well, helping them decide what to say in any given situation. The game plays very fast, bouncing between the GM and players and the rules very smoothly. Everyone describes what is happening, or what their characters are doing, while paying attention to see if they trigger a move. When a move is triggered, it steps in, directs the action to a particular consequence, and steps back out.

The game doesn't have a setting of it's own, but instead encourages the GM to ask questions in the setup phase to establish the setting. The benefits of this method is that there's no great dump of information that the players have to wade through. It also allows the players to introduce elements they are interested in and shape the types of adventures they will engage in. As the game goes on, and more questions are asked and answered, the world fills up with exciting and interesting details.

Dungeon World can be a paradigm shift in focus for people used to more traditional RPGs, with it's emphasis on improvisation. Players and the GM will need to rely heavily on their imaginations to simulate the world and bring the consequences of their actions to life. Tactical depth in the game also doesn't come directly from master of the rules, but of positioning your character in the events and places that allows them to get what they want. This makes talking about what's going on, and the GM being honest about the situation and consequences very important, so the players can make informed decisions.

If you are looking for something that plays fast, and requires very little preparation time to set up, and you love making up adventures as you play and bring surprised, I recommend Dungeon World wholeheartedly.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon World
by Bryan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2014 12:20:40
Dungeon World is a beautiful game.
The rules can seem a like a vague, loose mess at first, but with a little further in depth reading (and consulting the game guide on the Dungeon World home page) you begin to see the beauty in the chaos.
DW is designed from the ground up to bring the narrative (or fiction as they put it) first. Combat has no set turn order, or special separate mechanics, and the GM is encouraged to play it by ear, and swing focus around the table organically as the narrative dictates. The GM is told, in no uncertain terms, to ignore the mechanics when they would make no sense in the narrative

It can be very confusing at first, but I would encourage you to keep plugging away at it. For those who find the rules especially challenging, as I did, I heartily recommend consulting the DW Guide:
http://www.dungeon-world.com/dungeon-world-guide/

Happy gaming!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by Emery M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2013 14:13:17
Up until recently my only experience with pen and paper RPG's was Dungeons and Dragons, from AD&D up to 4th Edition. I recently got into a gaming group on Roll20 that alternates from D&D 4e and Dungeon World. We've had a few sessions on Dungeon World now and I gotta say I really like the mechanics. It's similar and familiar but also different. The ability to create and resolve bonds with people in your party is a great idea. Simplified combat is nice for a lighter game with less focus on looking through sheets of abilities. The game is focused on keeping a steady flow of conversation going be it GM to players, players to game or players to players. I also like how the game is whimsical in it's approach. I feel very comfortable with this game and I recommend anyone who loves pen and paper RPG's to try it and even if you're new to the gaming genre, this would be less reading, more gameplay and experience to try out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by Simo T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2013 07:06:24
After one session of the Dungeon World as GM, I like it. The system is easy to learn for players and character-creation does not take lots of time. I like how the players are encouraged to take part into creating the world and the system offers excellent support for GM for how to orchestrate the first gaming session.

The GM content and how to create Fronts is not as clear as the player's section of the game. I do not yet know how well creating fronts supports me in preparing for the character's adventures, but the general idea that the players and their characters are the ones who create the details of adventures is excellent.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by Collin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2013 12:54:58
I love this game, it's a refreshing take on an old school game. The focus on the interactions and winging it over the old school games I used to play makes for a really fun game. Totally recommend this product!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by Katie M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2013 12:10:31
Product delivery was top notch. More importantly, it's the elegant RPG system I have been looking for -- old school flavor without too many mechanics to bog you down. I look forward to playing more and more!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by Jonathan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2013 16:33:09
If you are looking to add a bit of awesome to your fantasy gaming. Well buddy, this is for you.

10 bucks will buy you a paradigm shift in how to run a fantasy adventure. Fundamentally changing the way you and your players interact. It is a game that really immerses the players in the adventure world that is fashioned just for them. It is a system that allows your players to make the characters they want to play in the ideal game they want to play in.

It is well suited for playing around the table with friends or online using hangouts or some other such video teleconferencing. The system is very simple and can be picked up in under a half hour for players of any experience level.

I can not suggest this game enough. If it is not in your hands or on your shelf you are missing out.
So spend the best 10 bucks you have spent all month on something that will bring you thousands of hours of fun and amusement with your friends.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by Todd B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2013 16:18:17
Awesome new game - no matter what you are playing today, I daresay this will change how you approach running a game, how you engage your players and how you and your players share the creation of the world story of your game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 34 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG