RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ship of the Line
by Tony S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2012 18:54:26
I have bought just about all of the old time "sailing games". While this one may be very simple it is definately the easiest to start playing without getting bogged down in rules. I really enjoy it and think it's worth the money.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ship of the Line
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Privateers and Pirates
by Steven M W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2011 18:03:37
Tough review in all honesty. The game system itself deserves four stars at least, maybe five, but I find the inaccuracies in historic and nautical detail inexcusable. The game is fast moving, well thought out and quite playable. The character generation process is quick, intuitive and results in interesting characters. The combat system is fun and can be bloody lethal!

But the mizzen is not "the aft of the ship;" "anchors aweigh" has NOTHING to do with "throwing the anchor over the side;" the royals are set above the topgallants, not the other way around; there was no rank of "lieutenant commander" during the time covered; "fore" and "bow" are not interchangable; schooners are not "two masted with the foremast shorter than the aft;" square rigged does not mean "the sails at the front are square." And it just goes on.....

Given the proliferation of nautical lexicons available today this unfortunate tendancy to inaccuracy was avoidable and, therefore, quite lamentable.

Otherwise, the game is quite good and highly recommended!

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Privateers and Pirates
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ship of the Line
by Steven M W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2011 11:23:03
In actual play this turns out to be a fun little beer and pretzels game. As a simulation, however, it fails on a number of levels. My biggest problem with the game and the reason for a rating of three rather than four lies in the "historic detail" provided. I am a long time sailor, an historian and reenactor and a fan of nautical fiction for more than 40 years, so I speak with a modicum of authority when I say that the period and setting detail is rather off. I didn't expect a level of detail conversant with that of, say, Close Action or a Brian Lavery book, but I did expect basic terminology to be used properly. Sigh.

Is it worth owning? Yes. Is it worth playing? Yes. Is it a reasonably accurate portrayal of the subject matter and period? Not by a long shot!

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ship of the Line
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Biplane Barmy Refuelled
by Steven P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2010 22:03:04
Biplane Barmy Refueled fulfills its promise. It is a fast furious game of air combat in the First World War. It is NOT a simulation. If you want to model the differences in firepower between a Lewwis gun, twin spandaus, or the SE5 with a vickers and a Lewis, this game will leave you unfulfilled.....IF you want a game that can provide great competition and excitement in ten minute doses, without a pile of rules and equipment, step right up.

The basic rules are, well, basic:! Select a manuever(shown on charts) in secret, reveal it at the same time as your opponent, move your plane counters or models on the hex grid, then if in range and proper angle, fire your guns. Damage is simple and almost elegant.\

The advanced rules add altitude, variable sturdiness of planes, speed and agility. a two plane game swill still come in at about fifteen minutes.

The rulebbook is easily readable, has some good info on different planes, for those who seek more variety, some good "missions", and as a bonus, a glossary of WW1 slang.

The counters are very nicely done, and print beautifully. Charts are well laid out. There are two nicely drawn hexagonal maps that can be printed off and assembled.

nothing else is required except some d6 and d20 dice, and a pecil for marking advanced rule damage.

I really like this game. It provides the same level of excitement and guesswork that made "ace of Aces" so much fun, and palys even faster. Highly recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Biplane Barmy Refuelled
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Privateers and Pirates
by Fabian I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2010 03:31:31
When I first looked at the game I had mixed feelings. On the one hand the system seems to be a good mix of cinematics and simulation, and it's also fairly easy to understand. There are maps with traveling distances, scenarios, background info, etc. All very good, it has to be said. After I created my first character I really felt like starting to play immediately, always a good sign.

The one problem I have with this book is that it is messy. Yes, there is a overview of character creation both at the beginning of the chapter and at the end of the book under "Useful summaries", but that's already confusing because they're not the same. For example, the first one mentions that players start out with a sloop or brig, while the second one says players start out with no xp or advances. The points which say the same things are often formulated differently. None of the tables says something about choosing a home port, something that is only mentioned in the chapter about character creation. The chapter itself has a different order of steps than both of the tables, for example "Distinctive features" come second, while they are step 6 and 5 respectively on the lists. A quick summary of "Skills and Specialties" can only be found on the character sheet, but if you want to look for the explanation of a skill you have to flip through the whole chapter, because again the order of skills on the sheet is different from the order of skills in the chapter. For example: reflexes is the second category on the char sheet and fourth in the chapter. And that's only two examples.

All of these things could have been avoided easily, so while I think the game itself is a really good one, I cannot give it five stars because of it's slightly confusing and very incoherent presentation. That said, it's still worth your money.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Privateers and Pirates
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Gunslingers and Gamblers: Streamline Edition
by Jose J. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2009 03:38:51
Very easy to play. Perfect for playing in the wild west.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslingers and Gamblers: Streamline Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thanks Jose, glad you're enjoying it :)
Brujaria
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2008 03:42:16
An utter rip-off of a product-do not buy.

The inference on the product was that it was a 'stand-alone product ready to be plugged into your campaign" so you can add a given element (in this case, Mexican spell-casters) to your system as desired. This is untrue.

What you get a is thumbnail sketch of a western town ( a hundred words or so) , the information that some bandits (with names like Buffalo Annie) are hold up in a icy cave nearby, and a short paragraph describing the Brujaria. And then this gem of an instruction on the last page:

The Gunslingers and Gamblers rules do not make allowances for magic and supernatural
powers. Instead, the GM should use magic strictly as a plot device. The odds are that the
player characters themselves will know almost nothing about magic and whatever they do
know is likely to be wrong. A GM should keep this sense of mystery in mind whenever he or
she introduces a supernatural element to the game.

Yep, that's the 'plug in to your campaign' for adding Mexican witches.

Do not waste your money.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Brujaria
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Hi JD, I'm sorry to hear your disappointed in Brujaria. Of course you're entitled to your opinion but I do consider saying "its an utter rip of product" and giving it 1 out of 5 a bit harsh in the circumstances. Subjective issues aside I feel that I do have to correct some of your comments for the sake of anyone reading this review. 'stand-alone product ready to be plugged into your campaign' is not an inference. The micro-supplement is ready to go as is with Rosa and the other NPC's all statted up ready to play. The product does add a single Mexican spell caster to the game, Rosa, and provides everything you need to use her as an NPC. The product is categorised as Western, Adventure/Plot, NPC/Opponent.. not a rules expansion. Your comments on the length of the product are a little disingenous, implying that it's only a few hundred words and a few paragraphs. It is actually 1700 words in length. The quote you have taken is perfectly accurate, it would perhaps have been a little more useful to people reading this review to have continued it: "introduces a supernatural element to the game. Below are a few examples of how the witch woman‘s curse might affect different characters; The curse makes it so that the character can’t sleep, now matter how tired he gets. A character loses the ability to use his highest ranked Trait. You could describe this loss in a variety of ways.." This continues for another 100 words, giving game rules for five potential curses to be used by a Brujaria. Fair enough that it's not the detailed magic system you were looking for, but it's certainly enough to play Rosa as an effective NPC in your campaign. It does sound like you were wanting some kind of rules expansion for player chartacter Mexican magic-users and unfortunately this isn't what you were after and not what the product promised to deliver. To avoid any future confusion I've clarified the blurb to explicitly state that the product does not introduce a detailed sub-system for Mexican magic (excepting the rules for Brujaria curses). In addition, if you'd like to email me I'll arrange a refund for you.
Blazing Jets
by john f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2008 12:36:09
For months I have been looking online for a boxed games like this and have not found anything. I didn't even know stuff like this existed. I just stumbled into this web-site and couldn't believe that I could get a game for such a resonable price... and exactly what I wanted! This game is a great buy. It's fast and easy to play, but the only thing that I think it lacks is the speed factor. Like having to have enough speed to do a maneuver and stuff like that. I still think that this game is a very good purchase.
I most heartily recommend it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blazing Jets
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Hi John, Thankyou very much for the positive review for Blazing Jets and I'm glad you're enjoying it. Cheers, Jon FJG
Ship of the Line
by Wim N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2007 00:00:00
The pro's:
Easy to learn. The game has been stripped to the bare bones.
Counters included so you can play straight away.
Some original ideas regarding gameplay.
A point system for the ships.
Lots of historical scenarios.

The con's:
Very basic navigation. Again due to the stripping of the game.
Firing range of the ships is rather short.
The damage allocation is a joke.

Good game for those looking for a fast, easy to learn and relaxing game where you don't have to look up tons of tables. Avoid it if you're looking for a realistic alternative.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ship of the Line
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ship of the Line
by Eric T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2006 00:00:00
Great game, great system, it is very useful for naval combat and also using other game systems along with it, Pirates of the Spanish Main for example. What I also liked is the advance rules with added crew and officer options, different type of cannon shots, it is really a great game with alot in it that plays quickly if you want, thank you!!


LIKED: Advanced options w/ crew rating, officers, weapon add-on, scenerio generator!!

DISLIKED: Nothing

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Hi Eric, Glad you enjoyed it :)
Ship of the Line
by Warren S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2006 00:00:00
This is an absolutely fantastic game. It runs fast and is an easy play.

You will be able to play the basic scenario within 10 minutes after downloading and printing it out. (not counting the prep time of fixing up the stand-up counters)

The great artwork is not too harsh on your printer and helps get you in the mood for a good sailing ship battle.

I call this game a "Must Have"!!!

I'd give it ten stars, instead of the top limit of five, if I could!!!!

Fantastic... simply Fantastic!


LIKED: It's fast and elegant.

DISLIKED: Nothing. Absolutely NOTHING!



QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Hi Warren, Thanks for taking the time to post the review and I'm glad you like the game :) -Jon
Gunslingers and Gamblers
by Dave M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2006 00:00:00
Over the last year, or so, I've picked up almost every, in-print, Wild West/Cowboy roleplaying game. Each one had something I was looking for, but not the whole package. Until I bought Gunslingers and Gamblers that is. This is the first one that has everything I'm looking for. So? What is it I was looking for?

* An interesting, but ultimately simple, rules system.
* Captures the feel of the Wild West.
* Excellent background information.

Gunslingers and Gamblers gets big ticks for each aspect.

* The use of poker dice is a masterstroke. Yes, if you look deeply enough there's a feel of Yahtzee to the main game mechanic, but tying it in with poker dice means that it feels just right. Basically, the idea is that you try to get the best hand you can with 5 poker dice. Depending on the level of your ability (called a trait here), you might get the chance to re-roll some, or all, of the dice (much like discarding and gaining new cards in a real poker game).

* The artwork used throughout the PDF is appropriate without being over-used, while each chapter header includes a real-world quote from the time. Additionally, throughout the rules, the feel of the Wild West oozes out.

* Not only is there a wide listing of the different stereotypical people in the West, but a large portion of the download is devoted to providing excellent background information for both the novice and experienced Western GM.

This is, without a doubt, the best Western/Cowboy roleplaying game I've purchased (and, as I've already said, I've got nearly all of the ones currently in print!) I would whole-heartedly, and unreservedly, recommend it to anyone looking to run their own game or campaign.


LIKED: The rules. Some people might be put off by the Yahtzee comparison I've made above, but don't be. Combining it with poker dice means that it really works in this game and, in fact, actually adds to the general flavour.

The, premade, Harris County. Perfect for a GM that is either new to Western/Cowboy roleplaying games, or the GM who's a little stuck for time and needs a county in a hurry.

DISLIKED: Honestly? Nothing.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslingers and Gamblers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thanks Dave, much appreciated and I'm glad you like it :)
Privateers and Pirates
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2006 00:00:00
Really and truly a great game. Simple rules, quick characters, and elegant resolution. Provides information on everything from starving to burning to death, and has enough background information to start a campaign right away.


LIKED: Easy to learn, easy to play, easy to campaign, easy to have fun!

DISLIKED: Ship-to-ship combat is possibly the only thing that needs work, and you should take them up on their suggestion of using their Ships of the Line game to supplement your broadsides.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Privateers and Pirates
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Hi Michael, Thanks for taking the time to review the game and I'm glad you and your friends are enjoying it :) -Jon
Gunslingers and Gamblers
by Steve C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2006 00:00:00
Back in the Saddle: The Return of the Western RPG

?Gunslinger? joins a growing community of ?pure? western RPGs. While certainly not a ?history lesson with dice?, the game pays close attention to both the well-known tropes of the genre and the peculiarities and uniqueness of the historical context. In a true sense, this thoroughly is a complete western game and not simply a system grafted to a ?googled? together.

The slick system mechanic uses ?traits rolls? resolved with standard poker dice and chips. Here characters may be rolling against a static difficulty or a livelier opposed roll. More abstract than ?number crunching?, the mechanic is fresh and supports the flow story over endless bookkeeping.

Characters tend to be themed and specialized while still being capable of functioning within the larger game context. Importantly the combat system is flexible enough to represent both standard gunplay and the ?shoot-out? so central to the genre. A skilled gunfighter can end combat quickly yet the mechanic works well in balancing lethality with playability.

Rules aside, the bulk of the book provides GMs and players with the material to run solid old west game. From regional to local (Harris County Wyoming), the books supplies instantly playable locales. Other chapters cover environment, equipment, character interaction and the obligatory introductory adventure.

The strength of ?Gunslinger? is the playability and the completeness of the product. If you crave a ?purer? old west experience, get this game. If you preferred ?Tombstone? to ?Wild Wild West?, get this game. If the rage-inducing truncations (?fighting?, playin?, annoyin?) in most other western games made you buck like a bronco, get this game. It?ll be your huckleberry.




QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslingers and Gamblers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Cheers Steve :)
Privateers and Pirates
by Greg H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2006 00:00:00
"If you buy only one Pirate rpg this year!". But seriously, I'm very pleased with Pirates & Privateers. Its the first Pirate rpg I've looked at that I thought "I'd could run this straightaway without modifying anything". The mechanics are neat & quick, the background information is excellent and pertinent to actually playing games. Yes, it tends towards a 'grittier" style of play, but has the provision for Drama Points, which could easily be used to make a more cinematic game. Highly recommended.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Privateers and Pirates
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Cheers Gregg :)
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 37 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG