RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Delta Green: Handler's Screen
by Jean-Baptiste P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2016 12:27:08

This is a very professional piece of work. Apart from one minor typo, the quality is excellent, the illustrations gorgeous and the layout very easy to read. The scenario traditionally joined to the screen is good for beginners, relatively forgiving, although it might need a bit of tweeking for complete newbies. The starting rules are simple yet complete enough for any game master to start even a small campaign. All in all a very good buy, highly recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Handler's Screen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Delta Green: Kali Ghati
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2016 17:45:53

This scenario is an interesting read, and it is not a bad script for a Cthulhu-themed movie. Unfortunately, it is probably not a good scenario to run as a game. Alas. I'd only recommend it if the DM is either willing to use the PDF as a starting point then make major modifications to the scenario, or if you have players who are big fans of action & combat.


The fundamental issue is that there aren't really any points in this scenario where the players get any actual agency to make a decision, to choose whether to trust someone, to understand a situation and make the right call. The only way that you can really derail the scenario is via doing well or poorly in combat, and, well, that isn't really what Cthulhu is usually about, right? It'd certainly be very anti-climatic, IMHO, to have the party slain in straight-up combat against normal humans with guns. There are games that are based around small-squad tactics which you can play instead if you want to do that that have much better systems than Delta Green does for handling combat situations and making that interesting and gripping. The PDF is rather blase on this point, lightly recommending that characters with non-combat oriented investigators can simply take over US Army NPCs provided in combat. I don't think "drop your current characters and play War in Afghanistan Simulator with these soldiers" is what most people are expecting here.


Anyway, I don't want to spoil the scenario too much, but there's likely to be one combat on the way to Kali Ghati, then another combat at Kali Ghati. There isn't really a good way to avoid these combats short of "roll lucky" or "abandon mission". There isn't a solution or a way to fix things other than shooting your way out. There isn't a way to usefully earn the trust of the opposition. This is fine in Dungeons & Dragons / Pathfinder, not so fine in Cthulhu IMHO, whose system for combat is not great. Play to your strengths, not your weaknesses!



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Kali Ghati
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2016 21:24:25

You can find my complete review at http://www.th-
eredactedfiles.com/?p=2635


All together it feels like a more grown up and subdued approach to this standard horror convention. And in that, I think it succeeds at being even more effective at portraying the brutal costs your character is paying to stay in the fight. This is Delta Green after all: the results of mission accomplished is that life can continue to suck just like it always has.


And that's why I think I take greater satisfaction from the escapism of a game like this rather than Dungeons and Dragons. I am not special. I am flawed and broken and incomplete: I'm just human. But I'm going to do what it takes to keep my little corner of the world together just that little bit longer. And when my character trades two quarts of blood to keep that gate to the unknowable closed, I'll walk away from the table and get ready to go out tomorrow and feel that grim satisfaction of giving all I've got to make sure the world sucks a little bit less than it could Otherwise, because that's what it means to be Delta Green.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Delta Green: Need to Know
by Shane M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2016 14:37:24

The Need to Know adventure and rules summary is short and to the point, and serves as a good intorduction to the DG rules. The adventure is a quite linear and focussed, but ideal for a one or two hour introduction.


A great product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Need to Know
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Delta Green: Handler's Screen
by Shane M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2016 14:36:37

The screen is gorgeous and useful it its layout. I haven't yet come across any times I have wanted a table, or a reminder, and it hasn't been there.


The Need to Know adventure and rules summary is short and to the point, and serves as a good intorduction to the DG rules. The adventure is a quite linear and focussed, but ideal for a one or two hour introduction.


A great product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Handler's Screen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
by Shane M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2016 14:32:27

Delta Green has long been my favourite horror setting, and this rulebook delivers exactly what i am lookign for in DG rules-wise in spades. The sanity system tweaks, the bonds, the simple ways to do modern combat, the elegant skill system that custs down on rolls. Brilliant stuff. This would also work for any modern horror or investigative game.


The book itself is gorgeous and solid, and the PDF is just as nice to look at.


If you want dark modern horror with personal cost you will not regret buying this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2016 15:17:40

Delta Green has always been my go-to game for modern horror role playing since it first slithered into my life in the mid-1990’s. Back then, it was some of the most well-written source material for the Call of Cthulhu RPG. Now, with the release of the Delta Green: Agent’s Handbook, it is a fully self-contained rules system built around the same great setting that has been updated to the current era. All the things familiar about the Basic Roleplaying system are still there, but streamlined and geared specifically towards the Delta Green setting.


Everything you need to start playing right away is here, without having to wait for more books to come out. Chapters on overview, playing the game, character generation, combat, equipment/weapons, agencies, and tradecraft/terminology are all presented in an easy-to-follow format. Sprinkled throughout the chapters are immersive, vignettes of doomed Delta Green agents and affiliates -- a nice touch to give you an idea of what may be in store for your character in the not too distant future. Especially fun is the chapter on ‘Home’, a treatise on how interactions with friends, family, and a day job can either help or hinder your character’s ability to recover Sanity and cope with The Unknown. The art and format are what really shine and really can’t stress this enough. The fonts and tables stand out well against a background made to look like a well-read and official government dossier. The interior art is primarily made up of official looking documents and photographed scenes of people preparing for or experiencing the creatures and effects of the Mythos. The layout and imagery really help to suck you in to a hideous and unforgiving world. With each new section, you get a sense of the impotence of modern man when faced with the Mythos. At the very least, the visuals and short-story content will set the mood for the game, but more likely will be nightmare fuel for your players.


Whether new to the realm of modern horror or a veteran of the setting, you need this book. With the scenarios that are currently available combined with the incoming wave of additional source material slated to roll out, the Delta Green: Agent’s Handbook will keep you busy rolling up and killing off characters for years to come.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Lover in the Ice
by Trung B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2016 18:29:54

This scenario is for mature audiences and deals with sexual themes


Now that the obligatory warning is out of the way, time for the review! Lover in the Ice by Caleb Stokes is a great Delta Green scenario adopted from the original Call of Cthulhu system. Without going into too many spoilers, the agents are dispatched to a small town in Missouri in the middle of a terrible snow storm. Communications are weak and the environment is hostile. Tasked with investigating the condition of a Green Box, the agents discover it has been compromised and set off to find and contain whatever might be missing. And then, terror.


Caleb Stokes puts his spin on isolation horror with the agents cut off from major assistance and a very bad thing wandering around in the inhospitable environment. Intuitively paced, smartly written, and very engaging. Lover in the Ice is an exceptional Delta Green scenario that will put players to the test with finding out what's wrong and how to prevent it from killing themselves and dooming the country to a rather terrible fate. A great scenario for a one-shot or as part of a campaign. I would highly recommend it to anybody who enjoys Delta Green or horror gaming in general.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Lover in the Ice
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Better Angels: No Soul Left Behind
by Petri W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2016 01:54:12

Ok, I'll admit I backed this Kickstarter just on the strength of it being done by one of the RPPR guys (excellent podcast!), and it being a campaign for a game by the awesome Greg Stolze didn't hurt. I received the book some time ago, but only now got around to reading it. Wow. Just... wow. I read a lot of rpg stuff, and this is the best thing I've read in a long, long while.


It's a cynically hilarious take on modern (U.S.) high school education, and it shows that it's written by a real-life teacher -- there is a ton of darkly humorous material here about the realities of meager budgets, political backstabbing, and burned-out teachers. However, it's not nihilistic -- quite the opposite. The general theme is making a difference (however small) and the possibilities for redemption in a world where doing the right thing isn't usually all that easy. The book is giggle-inducingly funny, poking fun at pretty much everything, and the amazing this is that in addition to being a fantastic read it also sounds like a kick-ass campaign to play. The writing is flat-out excellent.


The plot? A group of random students & faculty get superpowers via getting possessed by demons, and must use their powers of eeeeviiiiillll to work good. Or not, depending on player whims. There's a nicely convoluted back plot, and the whole thing culminates in an apocalyptic showdown well worthy of Buffy. The campaign is split into ten linked scenarios, with lots of extra material helping flesh out the town and inhabitants. Some very nice GM advice is also sprinkled among the general mayhem.


It doesn't matter if you have the core game (Better Angels) or not. Get this. Read it. You'll be glad you did.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Better Angels: No Soul Left Behind
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2016 15:33:20

I joined this Kickstarter after taking a look at the early rules document. I was thinking about purchasing the new Call of Cthulhu at the time, but I instantly fell in love with these rules. They are the best horror RPG rules I've used. Super streamlined, with a great reworking of Sanity, and fantastic additions for downtime and family life. Another nice addition is Lethality, making combat realistic and frightening.
I really like conspiracy and "monster of the week" campaigns, and this game does both very well, with the bonus of existing within HPL's Mythos.
Character creation is fast, but you still end up with a deep character.
The information on government organizations is top notch.
You can easily run any previous Delta Green material or CoC scenario with these rules.
This is really the only horror game I'm ever going to need. It's perfect. Can't wait for more of the books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Delta Green: Need to Know
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2016 16:56:55

This is a solid adventure that is well written and complete. A nice short introduction to the Delta Green world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Need to Know
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
by Neal D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2016 09:38:05

This is a great book and my favorite interation of the BRP rules for a Mythos game and it does an incredible job of bringing personal horror to the Mythos and the impact that doing the DG job has on the characters.


In addition to this, it is one of the best books for information on US government agencies, both foreign and domestic, as well as information on the military. Even if you don't want to play an DG game, you could use this for a military or federal agent game.


Some of the best mechanical parts of the game include how Sanity and the Breaking Point works; Bonds that represent the relationships that PCs have with family, friends, and organizations that can be used as a source of strength, and will deteriorate over time as the PCs continue to hold back the dark; and Lethality ratings for weapons which is a percentage chance for some weapons to automatically kill a target (mostly human targets), and makes combat deadly which is appropriate for the setting.


Overall, it is a great new start for the Delta Green line.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Unspeakable Oath 20
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2016 09:23:58

It was an ok scan.


Also, even if I have no more to say about that subject, the form says that the review text must be at least 50 characters. Now it is.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Unspeakable Oath 20
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Delta Green: Kali Ghati
by Edward M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2016 10:12:48

Delta Green is the roleplaying result of August Derleth and Tom Clancy getting trapped in a teleporter accident. Full of veresimilitudinous military/intel action in a world where you could actually see humanity interacting with the denizens of Lovecraft's feverish "imagination."


This little adventure plaes the PCs in the ever-unpleasant hinterlands of the Hindu Kush in the even more unpleasant world of 2015 (or thereabouts). It's not a big adventure, but as usual for CoC, the implications of failure could be huge. I was particularly amused by how it takes account of likely PC actions like calling in airstrikes, using drones and trying to run off on their own...


Advantage: It's so realistic!
Disadvantage: It's so realistic!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Kali Ghati
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Delta Green: Briefing Documents
by Mike K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2016 00:38:28

It's very well laid out and makes filling out a character sheet easier.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Briefing Documents
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 130 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG