RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
Fury
Fury
Pay What You Want













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2018 12:32:07

Innovative, Rules-Light Sword and Sorcery Gaming.

An innovative class-based system which does away with skill entirely. I usually disdain class-based systems for skill-based ones. But this one works. It treats each of the dozens of classes as its own skill. Makes it very easy to build a character and know exactly what he can do.

A very strong freeform magic system featuring 3 types of magic. Alchemy is used to make items and potions. Miracles are used to manipulate luck (narrative mechanics are no longer 'meta machenics'!) and a more standard sorcery system for 'generic mages'. All 3 feel very different and all 3 work very well.

A small gazeteer of the setting.

A small bestiary.

3 Sample adventures.

Black and white art throughout. The PDF is bookmarked.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dogs Of War
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2017 03:23:01

Great beer and pretzels rpg. Fast and fun, this light rpg system (BOL Barbarians of Lemuria 2d6) allows players to get in quick on the action. The overall theme of the game feels like every 70s-00s action movie ever made from The Delta Force to The Expendable. As a GM you could easily craft missions and scenes inspired by the ActionAdventure genre. What is even better is that the system is not limited by this genre. For example, in the first oneshot game I ran as a GM, the PC's recovered WMDs that were....not from this world! Injecting SciFi elements. Heck yeah! DOW can easily support long term campaign play especially with an invested GM/players There are no long lists of charts or cross checking tables and the system mechanic is easy to grasp. As a guy with a busy schedule, I don't have 4 hours to run through ONE combat scene (looking at you other rpgs), so for me DOW hits that spot for 2-4 hours for an adventure. Get this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dogs Of War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The BoL Hack
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2016 20:04:32

I'm a sucker for Simon's games, and at $2.50, I didn't pass this up. The hack carries over the best aspects of BoL: careers, versitle non-Vancian magic, hero points, etc to a d20 roll over mechanic. The system here looks highly playable, but it lacks in one key area: monsters. There is a monsters section, but many Sword & Sorcery classics are missing. I would have liked to have seen either conversion guidelines from standard OSR, or random monster creation tables. And, and this is just my preference, I would like to see ship rules. I am a huge admirer of "Queen of the Black Coast".



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The BoL Hack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
You\'ll be pleased to note I\'ve updated the pdf with a few more pages of monsters
Crimson Blades 2: Dark Fantasy RPG
by Philip H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2016 16:34:52

Having bought the first edition, was v excited when this came out. The new rules are more consistent and easier to explain. Score of 18 now gets you a little extra +1 modifier. Book cover looks great. Would have been nice to see a bit more new internal art but guess this keeps the cost down and layout changes less onerous. Now we need to see platemail rules for magic incorporated as a supplement (it uses multiple d6 to cast spells). Great work again Simon.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Crimson Blades 2: Dark Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review! There is a little new internal art by Peter Frain (the cover artist). Maybe you have to dig a little to find it. I\'ll check out Platemail.
Triumphant! Super Heroic Role Playing Game
by keith b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2016 13:31:56

I will let the review by Zachary H. describe the mechanics as he does a great job.

I do need to add my thoughts. From a Super powers game I need quick character creation and fast, lite rules allowing creativity to manage how the powers are used. Triumphant does both of these things.

I normally try not to compare a game to other games as I feel that does a disservice to both games. However in this case I must compare it to SUPERS!. Both games have a similar feel of quick action not being tied up in rules but allowing the players and GM to be creative but with a simple resolution system allows for a structured system. I know I contradicted myself but both games do such a great job of mixing both.

What is different is the dice system which again Zachary describes very well and I will let that review do the talking. It does however play a little faster than SUPERS! which has been my favorite system for a supers game for quite a while and I have used a lot of them.

Triumphant may now be my new favorite for how the dice system works.

The reason I give it only 4 stars is because of the colored art and blocks of info. It feels like they tried for a top game layout but failed at the text layout. It would have been better had they just stuck to text only instead of adding the art but leaving the text the way it is. Nit picky maybe but I definitely wouldn't keep me from buying a revised version with a much more flushed out campaign setting, even in the same layout.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Triumphant! Super Heroic Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Go Fer Yer Gun!
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2015 12:56:35

I don't like it because I don't like turning ampluas into fixed classes. Also other rigid things in it



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Go Fer Yer Gun!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
by Stefan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2015 04:45:50

If you want to get into some crazy barbarian or pirate adventures this is the system to do it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Woodland Warriors Rpg
by Steve P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2015 06:05:36

This is terrific. I really like the simple way the rules have gone with using standard six sided dice. It works well. A good, easy to follow game with bags of flavour. A little starting setting, a starting scenario and expansions available to take the game into new genres. This is really well done. Thank you Mr.Washbourne for making this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Woodland Warriors Rpg
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
by Martin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2015 10:32:50

Wonderful rules-light game. Currently my favorite there is for any type of fantasy campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
by Paxton K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2015 11:36:08

The author has a barbarian world in mind with lite "steam punk" elements. I bought a source book and it really was fantastic. Much better than the initial game. In the source book, the author really shines and the source book could fit into many campaigns.

If you are looking for a barbarian game, this touches it but doesn't deliver. The setting books are fantastic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Crimson Lords: Dark Fantasy RPG Supplement
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2014 16:11:43

As usual Simon has created a rules light game that captures the feel of the genre perfectly. Crimson Lords is an excellent supplement to Crimson Blades as it adds a even more life to the world and for the PC's. If you like rules-lite and dark fantasy this may be the game for you. It definitely is mine



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crimson Lords: Dark Fantasy RPG Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crimson Blades: Dark Fantasy RPG
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2014 10:17:40

Crimson Blades does what it does very well. The game mechanics are very good, I enjoy the d6 take on Swords and Wizardry. The power level of the game keys well with mechanics of the game.

Characters are created by old school means of 3d6 each attribute in order. Attributes are each significant to the game but due to the nature of the mechanics modifiers related to mechanics are not overwhelming. Saving throws and major action needing dice rolls are all directly tied to attributes and these are only slightly modified by level as a character grows.

The classes are a familiar mix that fit the presented and implied setting very well. Barbarians don't trump Fighters but are still recognizably Barbarians of gaming and fantasy fiction. The thief is the master burglar of classic FRP but is not alone among rogues in the game as there are also Mountebanks the clever flim-flam con-men who steal with using their wits. Sorcerers are similar to old school magic-users and use the familar pseudo-vancian spell casting system but also make use of summoning to get access to flash-bang magic that is otherwise out of their reach. All the characters are presumably human except for the elder magic-using race the Dendrelyssi that draw most of their power from summoning.

As mentioned above powerful magic in this settign hinges on summoning and sorcerers and dendrelyssi will be able to draw upon a host of elementals, demons, and undead to get the serious work done. The abilites and differences between the various sorts of entities are spelled out and fairly comprehensive but will still need some work from the GM (and players) to flesh out for a campaign (this is a good thing really).

Combat is based on a simple mechanic of one attack roll per HD vs the Ac of a target. HD are scaled down and don't go up as quickly as in other games of this style so the mechanic works well. Characters and monsters tend to have fairly low HP(with a few exceptions) so combats will generally go quickly and can be very deadly. The mechanics make it easy to have fights with one or two PCs against a host of foes as combatants will usually hit unarmored foes.

There's a fair section of NPC foes and monsters in the game properly scaled to the setting and mechanics. Each has Dexterity (as initiative is tied to the dexterity score), armor class, hit dice (I think no monster listed has over 6), saving throws, speicla abilities, and challenge level/exp award listed.

The sample setting is brief and mostly an overview that serves it's purpose as further defining the implied setting without fully chaining the game down to the included setting.

The rules are simple and get the job done without obscuring the flavor and spirit of the setting. Even a first level fighter is going to feel like a mighty slayer of those that stand before him and sorcerers will be aware of their place in the magical world.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Crimson Blades: Dark Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crimson Blades: Dark Fantasy RPG
by sean w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2014 13:00:33

Crimson Blades succeeds in coupling an elegant system adapted from Woodland Warriors with an evocative setting influenced by Moorcock's Young Kingdoms.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crimson Blades: Dark Fantasy RPG
by Chris F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2014 21:25:17

Crimson Blades is an interesting modernization of Basic D&D, which drops the d20s for a d6 based resolution mechanic. The smaller die size gives combat a more consistent, less 'swingy' feel, and several other innovations distinguish Crimson Blades from other OSR games. Their interesting take on Elves, which owes a little more to Moorecock than Tolkien, well thought out Fighter and Rogue options make this my favorite retro-clone out there.

I also have to commend Beyond Belief Games on making good use of stock art and public domain artwork- they're taking advantage of Sine Nomine's generosity in putting much of their in-game art into the public domain. The designers made some smart choices- though a relatively small company, they were able to put out a great looking, well illustrated game with a minimal art investment. Good for them.

CHRIS



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Classes for Tombs & Terrors
by Dennis Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2014 02:49:11

In general Tombs and Terrors is an entertaining take on the idea of Dungeons and Dragons. It's a kind of 3.5v lite, with some old school flavor. It's incomplete and will require a lot of work from the Gamemaster to make a rich and satisfying game environment, but there's enough here to get you started and beginners can plunge into the action without having to learn great big volumes of rules.

In the main game we see characters rated according to six basic attributes (the ''Classics": Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, Intelligence, Wisdom, Charisma). What is interesting is there are six basic character classes that each makes one of these attributes it's Prime Requisite (Strength for Fighters, Intelligence for Wizards, etc.)

With the add-on Book of Classes what we see is eight new classes, some of which are balanced and well thought out approaches to multiclassing. For instance a Spellsword is a kind of Fighter-Magic User; light armor, lotsa weapons, and some spells. Similarly you have classes like the Knave, which is a Thief-Magic User, and the Lorewarden, who's a combination Cleric-Magic User. Again, these multiclasses are balanced and well designed. In addition there are a few new specialty classes such as the Witch/Warlock, a powerful new spell caster; the Marksman, a specialist in ranged weapons; and the Gallowglass, a sort of elite mercenary bodyguard.

On the whole, Tombs and Terrors, although more of a framework than a highly detailed modern RPG, is a good choice from among the many alternative games vying for your attention. If you're already familiar with old time D&D it's no problem to simply add the monsters and magic items from the old game. They'll fit right in. The Book of Classes for Tombs and Terrors adds welcome new flavor to the mix with many new character options. And the whole thing is free, so download them and see what I mean.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Classes for Tombs & Terrors
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 129 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG