RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Fudge RPG: Interactive Version
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2012 22:58:07
Unlike some of its other products, this is actually very useful. Though it only covers the sort-of-but-not-really-public-domain rules of Fudge, it's Darned Handy for building your own game system using the Fudge tools. By that, I repeat myself by stating that Fudge is not so much a game itself, as a whole lot of tools for making your own game, and making it VERY much your own.
With this program, one can pick and choose which Fudge "rules" to use, even some of the mutually exclusive rules. Once the game you want has been built by the simple method of checking off the portions of Fudge that you wish to use, it prints as a very nice document - one which, in my case, went immediately into a binder.
It was a good deal at its original price. Now that it's dropped to under a dollar, it's an out and out steal!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fudge RPG: Interactive Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Map Pack: The RPG Toolbox Vol 1
by Brian T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2012 13:53:28
This "product" had no instructions on how to access the data sheets, so perhaps I am just too dumb to use it. It came with a text file and a folder of data sheets and imagines. The data sheets were text also, and all the text files contained were links or buttons- none of which I could get to work. Since there are some good reviews of this product, I assume it works somehow, it just would have been nice to know what I needed to do to access the information before I wasted $2 on this and the World Generator. Dimensions Game Software are currently at the top of my "POS" list. This is a family site or I'd explain what POS stands for. Total waste!

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Map Pack: The RPG Toolbox Vol 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Medieval Society Generators: The RPG Toolbox Vol 2
by James W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2012 08:41:56
To echo an earlier review of this product, this is designed for a lazy person like myself. Yes, you could crack open the MMS sourcebook and generate the numbers by yourself... and if that's your preference, you do not need this product. I love it, however, because it gives you a random "base" from which to work, and then you can individualize from there without the hassle of generating every value and hoping that it all balances out in the end. For $0.99, it's worth the time you'll save.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Medieval Society Generators: The RPG Toolbox Vol 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Map Pack: The RPG Toolbox Vol 1
by Max D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2012 11:25:58
A very simple tool, but it's where its beauty lies. With its combination of low price and ease of use, I think it is perfect for beginner GMs who may not yet want to invest in expensive complex tools but who do not want to rely on someone else's maps either. You only need a browser and a paint app (to save the result, because unfortunately apart from taking a screenshot, there appears to be no other way). The tiles look nice, especially the islands. The bigger islands/coasts are best created by hand one tile at a time, and as for other generators, I found that using the random generator set to low percent density creates the "framework" that you can fill in further and edit. It also looks like it is possible to make your own tiles or edit the ones that come with the tool, if you're a creative user, as they are stored as simple image files.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Map Pack: The RPG Toolbox Vol 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Map Pack: The RPG Toolbox Vol 1
by Singh K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2012 18:50:22
Really? These little scripts are considered a product? If you found these on a website, you probably wouldn't bookmark it.

What you have a grids, with a bunch of connecting rudimentary tiles, some with bends, someone with 'chambers', some with intersections. It can randomly populate the grid with these tiles. The end result is very crude.

But then, it's only .99 cents. Save your buck for something else.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
iFudge RPG: Accessory Pack
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2011 23:33:22
A clunky character generator (Go with Metacreator.), a dice roller, and a slot machine using Fudge dice "spots." Bland and not that useful. This company did much better with their Interactive Fudge, where you could create and print your own rules flavors and adaptations into a cohesive rules manuscript.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
iFudge RPG: Accessory Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fudge RPG: Interactive Version
by William H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2011 03:29:36
While excellent for building a customized FUDGE rulebook, I found it cumbersome. It also really helps to already be familiar with FUDGE so you know which options you're going to pick, and while I first met FUDGE in its WWIVnet days, I must admit I'm not overly familiar with it. Best way to use: After selecting your options for each section, hit the printer-friendly version button, copy the resulting text, and paste it into your word processor. Then, touch up the format, print to PDF, and then, from that PDF, print your play-copy. Otherwise, you'll end up with lots of white space.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fudge RPG: Interactive Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Starting Points: World Building
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/08/2010 10:06:06
Outside of the actual game session, one of the best bits of role-playing is the sheer creativity of it all. You can dream up literally anything - without budget constraints or regard to the skill of your special effects team - and that thing can exist within your game world. It's even more fun to create things that actually might exist in some alternate reality, and it helps your players get into the game if your alternate reality hangs together in a plausible way. Here, then, is the purpose of this book: seedcorn of ideas to help your ideas begin to spawn as you decide upon that most fundemental part of your setting - the world itself.

The publisher's main product lines revolve around computer tools to help the creation process... but just as the 'book of lists to roll randomly on' can produce strange results so do they - and while the 'book of lists...' approach lets you look at the options your dice didn't choose, computer programs spit out the one piece of data. Looking at the unselected items - or just reading a list rather than rolling dice against it - may help kick-start your own ideas and help you along the path to creating a coherent and believable world of your own.

The process presented here presents a top-down approach - beginning with things like the number of continents on your world and the number of moons orbiting it, and working through geograpical, political and social concepts to the wildlife you might encounter. Being modular, you can start at just about any point - so if you want to design just one corner of one continent you can, leaving the rest to develop as and when you have need of it, or the time to expand your horizons. You may want a skeleton overview - there are five continents, say - even if only one will be the focus of adventure.

A good starting-point, even if the characters will never see it that way, is to visualise what your world looks like from space. (And who knows? One of my AD&D characters befriended a dragon who decided to show him that the world was round not flat and took him way, way up until the curvature of the world could be seen - then had to do a crash dive as neither of us had realised how thin the air was up there!) Even when you are only interested in one land mass, you need to decide if the people on it are even aware of any others and if so, the outline of the history of their discovery and what relationships if any exist. And it all develops from there - pertinent questions to ask yourself about firstly the broad strokes and then the fine detail of your world design.

Once you have the geography sorted, how do the people on your world organise themselves? An interesting point is that they may well have a term other than 'country' for whatever division of 'nation-state' they've devised, and just calling them Domains or Shires or something can remind your players that they are on a truly different world, an alternate reality, not just a clone of this one with point-eared fellows and magic that works. Styles of government, community sizes, the way each unit of population interacts with others... these all have a part to play in the background, even if that's not what the action of your game will be about. A derogogatory word about the wrong deity in a bar could spell disaster for a party, even if they thought they were there seeking work as dungeon clearers-out in a city with a troglodyte problem in the sewers - pity they'd not noticed it was a strict theocracy! Good basic design can spawn all manner of things (that one occured to me as I was writing... indeed, I'll be lucky not to have a world planned by the end of the review!).

A lot of the rest of the book is made up of extensive lists of plants and animals that might be found in the locality in question. Drawback is these are all very specific Earth flora and fauna, things which if not found in your neighbourhood are probably in the local zoo or botanic garden, or maybe in your favourite holiday spot. Possibly a better way is to look at the ecological niches that you need to fill and come up with your own names for the creatures there - the names don't have to be fancy, on your world maybe a 'redleg' is a shore-dwelling crustacean that fills the spot that a crab would occupy on Earth, so named for the hue of its limbs. Worry about what it looks like, fights like and tastes like later!

Overall this is a thought-provoking work, worth a read if you intend settling down to major world design. It won't do the work for you, but the suggestions herein ought to start you off along the right track. And the concepts are equally applicable whether it is a fantasy or a futuristic world you require: the sole known home of a mediaeval-style society or just another port of call for a starfaring one.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Starting Points: World Building
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Percentile Chart Generator
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2009 08:55:50
Not a bad program, very useful for making your own charts but as the description points out you may have to tweak the percentages some in a word processor to fit your needs. Also, the company is very quick to respond to technical concerns regarding their products, which was a really nice surprise. It sure makes me feel comfortable ordering more from them in the future.

Overall: good product, great customer service.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Percentile Chart Generator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Dudes 3D - LITE Version
by Noah A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2008 17:05:32
This is not a 3D game!! It's a 3D character generator---odd idea. You move around to make a character. Then what? The included rules weren't that engaging and the tabletop rules weren't that engaging. So, I used my character in Heroscape and used the attack/defend stats as the number of dice to roll and counted shields/etc and it was awesome. Now Heroscape is more like an RPG to me and I have developed an attachment to my character. Kinda like Heroquest but better. It's oddly compelling---I hope they make some better rules---until then...I might have to break out my Dragonstrike game to use with it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Dudes 3D - LITE Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Beast Builder: A Digital Companion
by Matthew P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2007 15:32:07
A terrible value, perhaps a fault of mine, as it is completely random, bears lose claws and bite for a tail attack. Not woth the money, but not the worst product out there.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Beast Builder: A Digital Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

World Building Generators: The RPG Toolbox Vol 3
by Clay M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2006 00:00:00
I think I missed the point here. I thought this was a world generating product. It wasn't---at least not in the way I had hoped.


LIKED: Not much

DISLIKED: practically everything. (Maybe I got the wrong idea about it.

QUALITY: Disappointing

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
World Building Generators: The RPG Toolbox Vol 3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Map Pack 2: The RPG Toolbox
by John K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2006 00:00:00
If you design your own adventures or can't seem to find something to match the game your playing this toolbox will let you create it. Sure beats drawing it on a battle mat


LIKED: very flexible.indoor or out.hex or square.not expencive

DISLIKED: not alot of variety. you need to buy more pacts to get different things but at this price thats ok.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Map Pack 2: The RPG Toolbox
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fudge RPG: Interactive Version
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2006 00:00:00
Covers the first 5 chapters of Fudge, where you can pick and choose which sections to print to give to your players for the Fudge game you will be playing.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fudge RPG: Interactive Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

iFudge RPG: Accessory Pack
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2006 00:00:00
The IFudge Accessory pack is the shorter edition of Fudge Interactive. It covers chapter one of Fudge, and has a html Fudge dice roller you change make a short-cut to on your desk top.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
iFudge RPG: Accessory Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 30 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG