RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
A Song of Ice and Fire Roleplaying: A Game of Thrones Edition
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2012 18:56:44
What works for me, a D6 game system that dispenses with the need for attributes and goes straight to what your character uses, skills (i.e. abilities). The system is built around the setting, not simply another D20 cut and paste job (THANK YOU Green Ronin)! Not only is the system tailored to the setting but they actually got it right.

What doesn’t work for me, it is not a print friendly book and no attempt was made to make it so. This was not an issue for me as I bought this as backup for a copy I bought from a brick and mortar store. However, for those that are looking at this as an alternative to purchasing a physical copy it would be a BIG issue.

If you want a backup to your physical copy of this book, that allows you to search through it for key words in a flash, then I can recommend it.

If you are looking for a cheap alternative to the physical book, which you plan on printing out, then I would say you should pass on this product.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Song of Ice and Fire Roleplaying: A Game of Thrones Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Trojan War
by James Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2012 14:28:18
This is a good RPG guide for guys and girls who like their RPG campaign which is centre around historical settings such as Greek, Roman or Viking settings. It is quite detailed in depicting the various Greek and Trojan heroes as they appeared in Homer's Trojan War. Overall the book is a good guide.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Trojan War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DC ADVENTURES Hero's Handbook
by Mattia N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2012 13:49:40
Simply put: M&M 3rd edition handbook with DC universe story and png... If I had know it... The artwork is a little random...

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DC ADVENTURES Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Power Profile #13: Illusion Powers
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2012 21:24:15
Although this series is a bit pricy, roughly $0.20 a page rather than the average PDF price point of $0.10 a page, I'm willing to pay that here because this is Steven Kenson's work. He's the Monte Cooke of Super Hero RPGs. The Power Profile series packs a lot into each issue, with a discussion of specific powers created using M&M3 effects and descriptors around a theme. Each issue also includes stats for various powers. This series, along with the random-roll character generation tables accompanying the Game Masters kit, makes M&M3 / DC Adventures almost as playable on the fly as rules-lite games like ICONS, BASH! and G-Core. It's worth noting that everything in the Power Profiles is optional, but I wouldn't venture to run M&M3 without it. My only minor quibble with the series is that the core rules page numbers referenced are for the M&M3 Heroes Handbook with no mention of the DC Adventures version. The systems are the same. It would be nice to have references for both, as I didn't buy both versions.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Power Profile #13: Illusion Powers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DC ADVENTURES Hero's Handbook
by Tony G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2012 20:47:49
I was waiting for a great Superhero game to be released, and here it is! This is a game my friends and I will be playing for years to come. The rules are a little weird at first especially if you are used to the standard RPG setup. This game doesn't use hitpoints, so at first it threw us, but once we were comfortable with it, I love it. All the big characters are here in this starting book, villians and heroes. The art is taken directly from their comics, so it is beautiful. Like I said if this is your first time using this rules set then it may have a learning curve, but once you have it down, your games can be fast paced and action packed!
Definately pick up the second and third volumes they have everyone you could want to use as an NPC. A must have for DC fans!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DC ADVENTURES Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Faery's Tale Deluxe
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/05/2012 17:12:21
Fairy tales do not tell children the dragons exist.
Children already know that dragons exist.
Fairy tales tell children the dragons can be killed.
-G. K. Chesterton (attributed)

One upon a time… is how most faerie tales begin. It is also how many RPGs can start as well. Both are flights of fancy, imagination, wonder, danger and magic.
The biggest Fantasy RPG of history, Dungeons and Dragons, shares many of the same elements of faerie tales, but D&D can be hard to learn, difficult to master and sometimes even scary. Not the game you might want to introduce a 6-year old too.

Well thankfully there has been a trend in the last few years in gaming; the trend to write games for a younger audience. Faery’s Tale represents one of the best of this trend.

Published originally by Firefly Games, http://www.firefly-games.com/, and presently by Green Ronin, Faery’s Tale is an enchanting game great for kids, and sophisticated enough for adults.

For starters you play a faery, a denizen of the Bright Wood. You can play a Friendly Faery like a pixie, sprite, brownie or a pooka. Or you can play a Dark Faery like a fallen faery or a goblin. You can encounter intelligent animals, other faery types, hags, witches, trolls, even humans and dragons.

Characters are defines, stat wise by their Attributes (Mind, Body and Spirit) and Gifts (magical abilities). There are also boons, titles and charms. Archetypes are called “Patterns” and think it gives it a nice mystical feel. Some faeries have natural gifts, others can be “bought”. Titles can likewise be bought.

The rules themselves are very easy. It is a simple dice-pool system based on the number you have for your necessary Attribute and Gift. So sneaking past a sleeping dragon might need Body and Acrobat. So if your faery has a Body of 2 and Acrobat 3 you roll 5 dice. Odd numbers are not counted and evens are a “Success”. The Narrator or Game Master decides how man Success are needed to complete the task. So she decides 3 Success are need to sneak past the dragon then they need at least 3 dice to come up to even numbers. A 6 “explodes”, allowing you to roll it again for maybe another success. That simple. All sorts of contests can be resolved this way.

The book gives all sorts of examples of play and suggestions, all the while never forgetting that the target audience for this is children and their adults.

Frankly. I love this little game. Like many I think I bought it to see what I could mine for other games, but finding not only a good little game but an extremely well written and though out one that works for both children and adults.

If you have young children that you want to introduce to gaming, then this is the game for you.

I also have to add. The art in this book is fantastic. It captures the feel of the game perfectly.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faery's Tale Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #14: Heavy Metal
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/29/2012 16:54:28
Like all of the threat reports come with a nice piece of color art of the character embedded in the PDF and a separate Hero Lab file.

Heavy Metal is the strongman of the Cybertribe (and brother to Sister Steel), tough and powerful, but also the youngest and most gentle of the team. An interesting character and very good at what he does (which is be strong and tough which you can be very of both at PL 11) and an important member of the Cybertribe but not the on the face of it the most interesting.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #14: Heavy Metal
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #13: Sister Steel
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/29/2012 16:46:07
Like all of the threat reports come with a nice piece of color art of the character embedded in the PDF and a separate Hero Lab file.

Sister Steel is the Cybertribe's field leader, strong, fast and effective. Her cybernetic shell compensates for his weakness of her body. Seeking to strike out at the world that has always beat her down, she restrains her anger to better protect her family. An effective and direct combatant (at PL 10) and an interesting character.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #13: Sister Steel
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #12: Rez
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/29/2012 16:32:33
Like all of the threat reports come with a nice piece of color art of the character embedded in the PDF and a separate Hero Lab file.

Rez is the Cybertribe's infiltration specialist, able to change her appearance at will. As someone who hated her appearance, her new found freedom to be anyone, anytime. Her powers are focused on being other people, which she loves as character, and is a fascinating build for an infiltrator. Again, an interesting mostly non-combat build (at PL 10) which allows for some fun and interesting plots.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #12: Rez
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #9: Motherboard
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/29/2012 16:12:59
Like all of the threat reports this come with a nice piece of color art of the character embedded in the PDF and a separate Hero Lab file.

Motherboard is the team leader and 'mother' of the Cybertribe, a brilliant scientist betrayed by an evil corporation and kept alive only by a life support cocoon. But her brain is alive and able to manipulate computers on a superhuman level. From their base (detailed here as well) she leads the Cybertribe in a private war against groups she considers evil, especially the corporation that tried to kill her. An excellent mastermind character with very limited combat ability (even at her PL of 12) with a morally ambiguous agenda if such appeals to a campaign.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #9: Motherboard
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Emerald City Knights Chapter 1: Life in the Aftermath
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/28/2012 14:45:43
For new heroes, and new game masters, this is a good starting point for a superheroic campaign. This adventure is nice as it touches on all of the primary types of scenes that can be used and provides a straightforward scenario to begin a team’s career.

Emerald City Knights, Chapter 1: The Aftermath is a 17-page PDF (15-pages if you remove the cover letter and OGL page) for the Mutants & Masterminds (3rd Edition) RPG written by Christopher McGlothlin and published by Green Ronin Publishing. This is the second part of Green Ronin’s Emerald City Knights adventure line for M&M (the first installment can be acquired free from RPGNow).

This follows the standard M&M layout, clean and easy to read with a variety of sidebars to clarify various points. Several nice full color pieces, including one that illustrates all the villains. Additionally HeroLab files for the four supervillains included.

This is a five-scene adventure arc with a mixture of action and combat scenes, a variety of people to meet and innocents to save, and ending on a cliffhanger (in the best comic tradition) that leads into the next adventure arc. The heroes are given a chance to be heroic and rescue people, meet some of the movers and shakers of Emerald City and get to fight members of F.O.E. (the Fraternal Order of Evl).

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Emerald City Knights Chapter 1: Life in the Aftermath
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Emerald City Knights Chapter 4: Sea Change
by Alessio S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2012 10:21:39
Great idea for an epic superheroic campaign!!! I want more adventures in this style. It remainds me the sampe project of the Adventure Path of Pathfinder, that has had a great success 'til now ;)
Keep up the good work, guys :)

I'm waiting for the final chapter: I'm very curious to see Collapsar and all its alien stuff!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Emerald City Knights Chapter 4: Sea Change
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Emerald City Knights Chapter 3: Power Play
by Alessio S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2012 10:19:14
Great idea for an epic superheroic campaign!!! I want more adventures in this style. It remainds me the sampe project of the Adventure Path of Pathfinder, that has had a great success 'til now ;)
Keep up the good work, guys :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Emerald City Knights Chapter 3: Power Play
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Emerald City Knights Chapter 2: Out of Their League
by Alessio S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2012 10:18:36
Great idea for an epic superheroic campaign!!! I want more adventures in this style. It remainds me the sampe project of the Adventure Path of Pathfinder, that has had a great success 'til now ;)
Keep up the good work, guys :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Emerald City Knights Chapter 2: Out of Their League
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Emerald City Knights Chapter 1: Life in the Aftermath
by Alessio S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2012 10:17:12
Great idea for an epic superheroic campaign!!! I want more adventures in this style. It remainds me the sampe project of the Adventure Path of Pathfinder, that has had a great success 'til now ;)
Keep up the good work, guys :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Emerald City Knights Chapter 1: Life in the Aftermath
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 510 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG