RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Freedom City, Second Edition
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2011 21:46:01
Fantastic. A well thought out and presented setting. I have stolen so many ideas from it. I am not even running a MM campaign (FASERIP) but I wanted ideas to color my world with and boy did I get them. I highly recommend.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Freedom City, Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vengeance in Freeport
by Michael T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/26/2011 16:52:06
Vengeance in Freeport is a 3.5 Dungeons & Dragons adventure for characters level 7 through 9. This review contains spoilers. I have identified groups experiences with the adventure using the PLAYTEST tag.

Vengeance links to the original trilogy in that Drac is still the bad guy. Even from the grave, he manages to threaten Freeport. He set a plan into motion that would, in the event of his death, leave the city shattered by bombs. The adventure opens with an explosion near the PCs and, from there, they are called upon by Sister Gwendolyn to investigate.

PLAYTEST: I’ve always felt that players get far too comfortable with adventures, just assuming that monsters sit around in dungeons waiting to die. I figure that as PCs get higher level, they should be reminded that they’ve made enemies, and that those enemies have enough resources to hurt their family and friends. This session reminded our heroes just how vulnerable they really are.

The characters first lead is a shard of pottery used in the explosion. But when they arrive at the potter's home, someone has beat them to the information--a group of orcs known as the Crimson Death. From there the PCs can either confront the orc group or follow the next lead to the wizard who commissioned a set of jars matching the one used in the explosion.

PLAYTEST: I changed the location of the explosion to the Last Resort from Tales of Freeport. I changed Parnass the Evoker to Kenzil, the wizard who commissioned Scarbelly to steal the staff of defense from the Freeport Trilogy. Scarbelly was put in charge of the Crimson Death as their leader. All this helped make tie the scenario into the events that went before.

No matter which path is followed, the PCs confront who now has the fire bombs and learn of Drac's final plan. But when the jars are accounted for, two are missing and scheduled for delivery to their targets at the same time.

PLAYTEST: Vengeance in Freeport seems more interested in having PCs solve a mystery than putting them in any danger, so I amped things up a bit. I changed the adventure so the PCs had time to stop the bombs, but to do so they had to split up and rush to different locations: the Temple of Yarris, Temple of Althares, Falthar's Curios (from Focus on Freeport), and The Courts. This was a much more exciting conclusion.

Overall, Vengeance in Freeport is an interesting follow-up to the trilogy. It just needs some tweaking to tie it more tightly to the characters and locations from the previous events.

Continue reading on Examiner.com: RPG review of Vengeance in Freeport - National RPG | Examiner.com http://www.examiner.com/rpg-in-national/rpg-review-of-vengea-
nce-freeport#ixzz1KfUfjepz

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vengeance in Freeport
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Villainous Archetypes 3
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/25/2011 21:53:58
Ten ready to go archetypes that you can drop into your game now, or tweak a bit. I grabbed this one due to the higher number of magical based archetypes. The Vamp and the Demon were instant hits. Of course the others are great too. The art is what you expect from GR, so it is fantastic.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Villainous Archetypes 3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds GM's Kit
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/25/2011 20:56:25
Fantastic art and easy to read. Print it out and load it into one of those GM screens you can buy at your FLGS.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds GM's Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/17/2011 15:52:06
The latest incarnation of Mutants and Masterminds is an evolution of the system, building on previous successes. If you like superheroes and variants of the D20 system, this is almost certainly the game for you. While the changes from the previous edition (and the core OGL) are noticeable, if you have played M&M before, you will have no problem picking it up. I have no complaints and think it is the best version of the game so far.

Mutants and Masterminds (3rd Edition): Heroes Handbook is a 233-page PDF (230-pages if you remove the cover and OGL) with writing and design by Steve Kenson and published by Green Ronin Publishing.

The layout is taken directly from the print version with a 2-column layout. The (many) tables are clear and interior is packed with impressive full color art. It is a great looking book, no doubt about it. The table of contents is very complete and there is an index as well, so finding what you are looking for should be easy.

3rd edition builds on the lessons of the previous versions of Mutants and Masterminds, combining flexibility and simplicity. Using the OGL as its basis for the rules, anyone who has played a D20 system game will have a basic understanding of the system though several parts of the game have been renamed from the base OGL (eight statistics rather than six, advantages rather than feats) and it uses a damage save mechanic.

The character creation system is point based and divided into power levels that provide a cap on, well, how powerful characters can be. This cap is applied to offense and defense, balancing off ability to hit with ability to inflict damage and ability to avoid attack with the ability to resist damage. The system is designed to minimize the danger of characters being maximized for combat effectiveness alone.

To help get players into the system there is an extensive chapter on character creation that talks about motivation, origin and other important things for the superheroic genre. Additionally, fifteen prebuilt archetypes (from crime fighter to martial artist, energy controller to mimic) are included as examples as what can be built or to just take and run with. Two example characters (The Rook - crime fighter and The Princess - powerhouse) are uses to show how character creation works.

Much of the book (about 60 pages or nearly 90 if you include gadgets and gear as well) is devoted to Powers, which are often the core of being a superhero, and ways to modify them. The power system is very flexible allowing a great deal of flexibility and customization in design of powers. It does not allow the same level of fine-graining as, say, Champions does but it is enough to build most characters and their powers.

The rules system is complete and clearly explained, though it might be a challenge to pick up for someone entirely new to roleplaying games. The Gamesmastering section is short but direct providing some good advice and ideas. Unfortunately while there are statistics for variety of basic NPCs (thugs, agents, animals) there are no sample villains or introductory scenario, both of which would be useful for new gamers.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sentinels
by Ian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2011 15:56:06
Re the previous reviewer, the por files are HeroLab portfolios. HeroLab is a builder program for M&M (and other games) which you will need in order to be able to open them.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sentinels
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sentinels
by Damon B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2011 22:11:23
I have several issues with this product. To start with the most glaring, half of the files are Corel PORs, not very useful without an enhanced graphics program that can open them. Why not the more standard gif or jpg, or even PDFing them like the others?

The layout is sub-optimal, since if you're reading them instead of printing them you have to scroll past large stat blocs to resume the text. This could easily have been prevented if the M&M2E style of having the stats up top and the text below had been adhered to.

The characters feel unfinished, if not bland. Unsurprisingly, the one that's the most developed (Ultramarine) is also the only one with three pages. The Rook also has potential (homage characters having almost as long a pedigree as Masked Adventurers), but pretty much comes off as a less stalkerish version of Blackbird II From Frredom's Most Wanted.

Most damning of all, it makes Emerald City seem like a rather boring place to play.

It does get a star for the Villain Notes, since at least three of the 'heroes' feel more like villain of the week material. Another star for the price, which makes this easier to take a chance on.

I'm sure several of these issues will be addressed when the writers revise the product after they develop a better feel for what they want the Em City to be, but until then it just doesn't do it for me.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds GM's Kit
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/28/2011 20:39:10
This one will be a short one folks. First off, the artwork on this bad boy is crazy awesome. Your assumption that the primary use of the GM kit is the handy dandy tables that summarize almost all the numbers you need to run the game. That's obviously useful and I love having it as a PDF over the physical screen.

Now for the surprise. Rather than an introductory adventure, Green Ronin went with a character generator supplement. Character generator you say? Well that's probably just a set of quick start rules that you could get anywhere. WRONG! The generator is an awesome place to create quick PCs on the fly for Con games or a one-shot. You can whip up NPC enemies almost as fast as you can come up with a concept. Choose your options to create what you want or roll randomly on the tables. There are 20 archetypes that start the rolls. Then you get sub-tables from there. Everything from Battlesuits to Weather Controllers are there with plenty of mechanical options which underneath provide flavor for how to play your character. Did you build your own suit? Inherit it? Get it as part of a military experiment? These are the types of choices that lead to different stats, skills, and traits as well as a framework within which your character's personality can shine. The only thing I can't speak to is the balance of the various characters. I would hope they are all roughly equal in power and capability, but it'll take some real world testing to get a definitive answer. This will absolutely make sure I run the game though. It's too easy to get ready and go with whatever superhero world you can come up with.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds GM's Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A Song of Ice and Fire Roleplaying Quickstart PDF
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/23/2011 00:41:55
Green Ronin now gives you the opportunity to explore The Seven Kingdoms. For anyone not familiar with the books, they follow the political and social intrigue of a handful of noble houses in a time of great conflict and when an ancient evil is stirring in the north. HBO has the rights to turn this into a TV series, which launches in a few weeks. Each novel in the series will be a Season and Martin is heavily involved in production (which is why he’s obviously not working on his next book – much to the dismay of fans). The major themes of loyalty, honour, trust and family are easily recognisable to any fantasy fan. Whilst the system has a robust combat system (and bloody, costly battles can be easily integrated as part of a campaign) the focus is very much on the social aspects of the story. Thankfully, the designers have stayed true to the core concepts of the novel and given players and GMs the tools to tell lavish tales of intrigue and betrayal. It offers an interesting system of linked abilities, called Techniques, that allow a character to customise how their character interacts socially with the rest of the world.

‘Journey to King’s Landing’ is a well-written, engaging module that really does deliver on the promise to showcase what the game is all about and can easily be played over a few sessions. There are six characters to choose from and all of them really display one of the unique aspects of the world. The authors clearly spent a lot of time reading the novels and faithfully rendering them into an RPG.

From: http://www.miragearcana.com/news-a-blog/40-game-night-blog-1-
2-free-your-mind

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Song of Ice and Fire Roleplaying Quickstart PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
by Raymond M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2011 04:43:28
This is a good game thanks for the stuff lets do it again sometime

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Damnation Decade
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/05/2011 22:33:54
I have a love/hate relationship with the 70s. I grew up in the 70s and have good memories of them. Loved classic rock, hated disco. Loved the new age occult revival, could have cared less about some of the other stuff. I grew up then, but consider myself a child of the 80s.

Damnation Decade though is the pure raw distillation of everything 70s, good and bad, into one awesome game. It is a historical game, in the same way Ghosts of Albion is about 1839. Damnation Decade takes a wrong turn in 1974 down a dead end. The world is sort of like ours, yet also very different in some key respects. Damnation Decade is also quite possibly the one RPG product to ever tacitly or implicitly illustrate that things under President Ford could have been a lot worse that what we really got. Reading through Damnation Decade is at the same time a trip down memory lane and an exercise in identifying puns and analogues to our real world. Green Ronin: did we really need a world where folk singer Edmund Fitzgerald sings about the Wreck of the Gordon Lightfoot? But I guess you are forgiven by giving us the first RPG product to feature a real Fantasy Island.

It reminds me of another great game, Solid!, which is also about the 70's. If Solid! is Parliament, then Damnation Decade is Grand Funk Railroad. Damnation Decade though gives something that Solid lacks; memorable NPCs. Sure if you can get past that most of them are amalgams of 4 or 5 70s figures, for example Humboldt Suede is not just a bad Hugh Heffner rip-off, he is part Hugh Hefner, Bob Guccione AND the Son of Satan. Though some are original enough to be useful outside the 70s atmosphere; Theramin Hunker for example could work well (maybe even better) in 21st Century games full of conspiracies.

Damnation Decade works great as a d20 game AND it has a True20 appendix that might even be better.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Damnation Decade
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Villainous Lairs: Amusement Park
by Mitchell H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2011 19:51:41
Ok, wish I got more for my money. Not bad just not complete in my opnion

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Villainous Lairs: Amusement Park
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds GM's Kit
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/27/2011 22:18:05
This product really consists of two distinct pieces, the GM Screen and the Quickstart Character Generator booklet.

The GM Screen collects useful charts and references from the Mutants & Masterminds 3e Hero’s Handbook and presents them all on three letter-sized, landscape-orientation panels. This is a product that most M&M GMs will probably want in print—I certainly have preordered a physical copy—but it also useful on-screen if you use a laptop, iPad, or similar device at the gaming table or like to carry such tables around with you for quick reference. If you happen to own something like the Savage Worlds Customizable GM Screen, you could of course print these charts from the PDF and slip them into the convenient pockets on the do-it-yourself screen.

The Quickstart Character Generator is a 48-page black-and-white booklet filled with tables that allow you to generate a balanced M&M character using random die rolls. This is supposed to save you time, I guess, but I personally don’t find it appealing for M&M.

The downloadable version of the product also includes a full-sized PDF of the illustrated side of the physical GM screen. Do-it-yourselfers will need to slice the printout three ways vertically in order to use the image for a homemade physical screen.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds GM's Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
by Gary W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2011 11:23:11
Character creation in this game is a headache. I understand what they were trying to do with the Power Effect thing, but in practice it is vague and confusing and complicated to get the powers you want. A simple list of powers, each with its options for customization, would have been better. "Damage" is too vague. Give me "Razor Claws". Why make players scratch their heads as to which Effects to put together to build a simple power like Invulnerability? The Power Level limits turn chargen into arithmetic homework.

MnM 3e is hampered by confusing mechanics, unclear explanations, and complicated chargen.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sentinels
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/08/2011 11:56:01
I love the new M&M and having these characters/archetypes is great. One of the ways I try to figure out a new system is see what sort of builds can be done. The characters are interesting and not just the typical DC/Marvel clones that plague so many supers RPGs. The art is top notch. This would be a great buy, but they also add the files for Hero Builder which is fantastic. They easily could have charged for this but didn't. If you have the new M&M3, then get this. If you are curious at all about the new version of Mutants and Masterminds then absolutely get this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sentinels
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 121 to 135 (of 513 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG