RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Sentinels
by Damon B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2011 22:11:23
I have several issues with this product. To start with the most glaring, half of the files are Corel PORs, not very useful without an enhanced graphics program that can open them. Why not the more standard gif or jpg, or even PDFing them like the others?

The layout is sub-optimal, since if you're reading them instead of printing them you have to scroll past large stat blocs to resume the text. This could easily have been prevented if the M&M2E style of having the stats up top and the text below had been adhered to.

The characters feel unfinished, if not bland. Unsurprisingly, the one that's the most developed (Ultramarine) is also the only one with three pages. The Rook also has potential (homage characters having almost as long a pedigree as Masked Adventurers), but pretty much comes off as a less stalkerish version of Blackbird II From Frredom's Most Wanted.

Most damning of all, it makes Emerald City seem like a rather boring place to play.

It does get a star for the Villain Notes, since at least three of the 'heroes' feel more like villain of the week material. Another star for the price, which makes this easier to take a chance on.

I'm sure several of these issues will be addressed when the writers revise the product after they develop a better feel for what they want the Em City to be, but until then it just doesn't do it for me.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Sentinels
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mutants & Masterminds GM's Kit
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/28/2011 20:39:10
This one will be a short one folks. First off, the artwork on this bad boy is crazy awesome. Your assumption that the primary use of the GM kit is the handy dandy tables that summarize almost all the numbers you need to run the game. That's obviously useful and I love having it as a PDF over the physical screen.

Now for the surprise. Rather than an introductory adventure, Green Ronin went with a character generator supplement. Character generator you say? Well that's probably just a set of quick start rules that you could get anywhere. WRONG! The generator is an awesome place to create quick PCs on the fly for Con games or a one-shot. You can whip up NPC enemies almost as fast as you can come up with a concept. Choose your options to create what you want or roll randomly on the tables. There are 20 archetypes that start the rolls. Then you get sub-tables from there. Everything from Battlesuits to Weather Controllers are there with plenty of mechanical options which underneath provide flavor for how to play your character. Did you build your own suit? Inherit it? Get it as part of a military experiment? These are the types of choices that lead to different stats, skills, and traits as well as a framework within which your character's personality can shine. The only thing I can't speak to is the balance of the various characters. I would hope they are all roughly equal in power and capability, but it'll take some real world testing to get a definitive answer. This will absolutely make sure I run the game though. It's too easy to get ready and go with whatever superhero world you can come up with.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds GM's Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
A Song of Ice and Fire Roleplaying Quickstart PDF
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/23/2011 00:41:55
Green Ronin now gives you the opportunity to explore The Seven Kingdoms. For anyone not familiar with the books, they follow the political and social intrigue of a handful of noble houses in a time of great conflict and when an ancient evil is stirring in the north. HBO has the rights to turn this into a TV series, which launches in a few weeks. Each novel in the series will be a Season and Martin is heavily involved in production (which is why he’s obviously not working on his next book – much to the dismay of fans). The major themes of loyalty, honour, trust and family are easily recognisable to any fantasy fan. Whilst the system has a robust combat system (and bloody, costly battles can be easily integrated as part of a campaign) the focus is very much on the social aspects of the story. Thankfully, the designers have stayed true to the core concepts of the novel and given players and GMs the tools to tell lavish tales of intrigue and betrayal. It offers an interesting system of linked abilities, called Techniques, that allow a character to customise how their character interacts socially with the rest of the world.

‘Journey to King’s Landing’ is a well-written, engaging module that really does deliver on the promise to showcase what the game is all about and can easily be played over a few sessions. There are six characters to choose from and all of them really display one of the unique aspects of the world. The authors clearly spent a lot of time reading the novels and faithfully rendering them into an RPG.

From: http://www.miragearcana.com/news-a-blog/40-game-night-blog-1-
2-free-your-mind

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Song of Ice and Fire Roleplaying Quickstart PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
by Raymond M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2011 04:43:28
This is a good game thanks for the stuff lets do it again sometime

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Damnation Decade
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/05/2011 22:33:54
I have a love/hate relationship with the 70s. I grew up in the 70s and have good memories of them. Loved classic rock, hated disco. Loved the new age occult revival, could have cared less about some of the other stuff. I grew up then, but consider myself a child of the 80s.

Damnation Decade though is the pure raw distillation of everything 70s, good and bad, into one awesome game. It is a historical game, in the same way Ghosts of Albion is about 1839. Damnation Decade takes a wrong turn in 1974 down a dead end. The world is sort of like ours, yet also very different in some key respects. Damnation Decade is also quite possibly the one RPG product to ever tacitly or implicitly illustrate that things under President Ford could have been a lot worse that what we really got. Reading through Damnation Decade is at the same time a trip down memory lane and an exercise in identifying puns and analogues to our real world. Green Ronin: did we really need a world where folk singer Edmund Fitzgerald sings about the Wreck of the Gordon Lightfoot? But I guess you are forgiven by giving us the first RPG product to feature a real Fantasy Island.

It reminds me of another great game, Solid!, which is also about the 70's. If Solid! is Parliament, then Damnation Decade is Grand Funk Railroad. Damnation Decade though gives something that Solid lacks; memorable NPCs. Sure if you can get past that most of them are amalgams of 4 or 5 70s figures, for example Humboldt Suede is not just a bad Hugh Heffner rip-off, he is part Hugh Hefner, Bob Guccione AND the Son of Satan. Though some are original enough to be useful outside the 70s atmosphere; Theramin Hunker for example could work well (maybe even better) in 21st Century games full of conspiracies.

Damnation Decade works great as a d20 game AND it has a True20 appendix that might even be better.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Damnation Decade
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Villainous Lairs: Amusement Park
by Mitchell H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2011 19:51:41
Ok, wish I got more for my money. Not bad just not complete in my opnion

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Villainous Lairs: Amusement Park
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mutants & Masterminds GM's Kit
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/27/2011 22:18:05
This product really consists of two distinct pieces, the GM Screen and the Quickstart Character Generator booklet.

The GM Screen collects useful charts and references from the Mutants & Masterminds 3e Hero’s Handbook and presents them all on three letter-sized, landscape-orientation panels. This is a product that most M&M GMs will probably want in print—I certainly have preordered a physical copy—but it also useful on-screen if you use a laptop, iPad, or similar device at the gaming table or like to carry such tables around with you for quick reference. If you happen to own something like the Savage Worlds Customizable GM Screen, you could of course print these charts from the PDF and slip them into the convenient pockets on the do-it-yourself screen.

The Quickstart Character Generator is a 48-page black-and-white booklet filled with tables that allow you to generate a balanced M&M character using random die rolls. This is supposed to save you time, I guess, but I personally don’t find it appealing for M&M.

The downloadable version of the product also includes a full-sized PDF of the illustrated side of the physical GM screen. Do-it-yourselfers will need to slice the printout three ways vertically in order to use the image for a homemade physical screen.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds GM's Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
by Gary W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2011 11:23:11
Character creation in this game is a headache. I understand what they were trying to do with the Power Effect thing, but in practice it is vague and confusing and complicated to get the powers you want. A simple list of powers, each with its options for customization, would have been better. "Damage" is too vague. Give me "Razor Claws". Why make players scratch their heads as to which Effects to put together to build a simple power like Invulnerability? The Power Level limits turn chargen into arithmetic homework.

MnM 3e is hampered by confusing mechanics, unclear explanations, and complicated chargen.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Sentinels
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/08/2011 11:56:01
I love the new M&M and having these characters/archetypes is great. One of the ways I try to figure out a new system is see what sort of builds can be done. The characters are interesting and not just the typical DC/Marvel clones that plague so many supers RPGs. The art is top notch. This would be a great buy, but they also add the files for Hero Builder which is fantastic. They easily could have charged for this but didn't. If you have the new M&M3, then get this. If you are curious at all about the new version of Mutants and Masterminds then absolutely get this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sentinels
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2011 09:06:10
I really like the 3rd edition of M&M. If you already own the DC Adventures book you will already be familiar with what this book has to offer. The system is very straightforward and everything is easy on the eyes. You can't go wrong with M&M.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Sentinels
by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2011 20:25:33
The M&M3 stuff I've seen come out so far has been quite good - interesting characters, great art and great plot hooks. This team looks like it's going to be quite interesting to read about as well, we've already seen their stats, so it's nice to see their backgrounds as well.

However, there's something not quite right here. The description says it includes writeups for the entire team, but the download only includes one character, Dragoneye. That writeup is good, but it's not what was promised - the entire team. As such I have to give it a bad rating.

The writeup for Dragoneye is itself quite good, and I would give it a much better rating if the entire team was included or if the download was labelled as "Dragoneye" rather than "the Sentinels."

[Update after having gone back to the page]

So apparently the issue is that each file was uploaded individually, but when you hit the "Get it now" button, you only get the first one. Seems the issue is a combination of RPGNow's code and an odd choice on Green Ronin's part. It would have been much easier and less confusing to just zip the files together into a single download.

Increasing my rating, but still knocking it down due to the download experience.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Sentinels
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/24/2011 19:12:57
I’m going to try and keep this one short. I haven’t had a chance to run a game yet, but I have played it a few times. The updated version is great though I can’t say how much has changed. I had a pregen when I played and a GM explaining the rules. The best part is the rules are pretty straightforward if you have ever played a d20-based game. You create characters using a point buy system to purchase attributes, skills, advantage, and powers. Calculate some defense scores and other standard RPG stats and you are pretty much ready to go. The book provides A TON of character archetypes to use and modify, lots of powers, advantages, regular and super powered equipment, and of course superpowers. The mechanics will be very familiar to experienced gamers and very easy to teach to new players (again just roll them up a pregen or give them one of the example characters in the manual). There are typical sections on creating adventures and series (i.e. campaigns) and other GMing advice.

Yeah, it’s your standard core rulebook, but I have to say it’s one of the best for superhero games. It seems fairly balanced and overall the book is laid out very nicely. Also, it’s GORGEOUS. The art is amazing and features tons of the standard superhero archetypes throughout from grimacing, gritty types to bouncy Barbies who can punch through a brick wall. I dig this book for sure.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #2: Junkpile
by Jason C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2011 12:23:04
I'm really enjoying the Threat Reports. Junkpile is exactly what he sounds like - an animated pile of junk. What makes the character compelling is the art and description of his personality and how much physical force is married to what amounts to a child's intellect. I look forward to using this character in-game.

I couldn't be happier with the purchase. The art, writing, price combo is perfect in my opinion.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #2: Junkpile
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
DC ADVENTURES Hero's Handbook
by Steven J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2011 23:51:10
To be up front I am a huge rpg geek and I love Superheroes and the DCU so I was looking forward to this book. The following is a general review of this book.

Good: Rules are generally pretty solid, if you liked the older version of M&M you will like this version. They did a good job on the lore/setting of the DCU.

Bad: The Editing/layout and word choices. I felt that it was difficult to find stuff in this book. I checked Chapter 8 Action & Adventuring to read up on combat (labeled as Conflicts ) and I find how to attack someone and defend but No way to deterring what the effects of getting hit are, in order to find that I had to check in the Powers Chapter. Another example the Psionic template on page 39 lists Mental Blast as a power the character has, but there is no power called Mental Blast, or even Blast, this falls under the Power Damage (Mental Blast). Seems as is they were trying way to hard to avoid terms that other Super games have used. Wish they would have gone for more classic and straight forward word choices even if they sounded more ‘Champions like’, and wish that chapter 8 was more straight forward even if that meant that you repeated yourselves a little.

Nit picking : Minor Fan boy nerd rage, they really gave Batman a higher Agility then Nightwing? Dick Grayson of the Flying Graysons, Circus Acrobat since he was 5, who has been shown time and time again in the comics as being far more agile then Bruce. Nightwing who’s number one ‘power’ in not being there to be hit, (vs. Batman who takes and lot more hits but just won’t stop). I was really disappointed in this, and hope that is addressed in the book of characters they are doing.

Do to the bad organization of really good material I would have to give this book 2 stars, especially new players I would have to say grab the old second ed M&M or wait until you can check out the new Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook and hopefully the information will be presented clearer.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DC ADVENTURES Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/29/2010 09:35:00
M&M 3rd Edition first off looks a lot like the DC Adventures RPG also from Green Ronin out earlier this year.

What are the big changes from 2nd Edition? Well GR is moving more and more away from the d20 3.0 standards and more into True20 land. That is the Abilities (and there are now 8 of them) are the pluses. So instead of Strength 18 (+4) like you see in other d20 games, M&M3 just uses Strength 4. Easy enough and a logical extension of their line of thought with True20.

I mentioned there are 8 abilities now; Strength, Agility, Dexterity, Stamina, Intellect, Awareness, Presence and Fighting. Agility and Fighting are the big new ones. Agility had been part of Dexterity and does some of the things Dex used to do. Agility relates more to "bodily dexterity" and dexterity is more like "hand-eye coordination". Fighting is now the close combat ability. Now while I rather see this more of a skill than an ability, this is a comic book world and it works here. There are "close combat" and "ranged combat" skills as well. So Fighting I suppose is more of a natural aptitude towards combat.

Skills are given greater coverage and are streamlined from the d20 3.0 base, but not quite as streamlined as say D&D 4. They are closer to Cinematic Unisystem in nature really. Skills are still linked to a specific ability like d20, but are also now detailed on what sort of action they are, move, standard or free. Much more detail is given for skills and how to use them in a variety of situations.

Feats have become more Unisystem/GURPS like and renamed Advantages. They are ranked and used very much like a Advantage or Quality would be used in another game. I can see the next evolution of True20 doing something like this too since they are organized in a similar manner to True20's powers.

Powers come next. Powers are similar to Advantages, but have a much greater effect on various game systems. An Advantage might boost a skill or change an aspect of combat. Powers go above an beyond that. In general the Powers are much more detailed than earlier editions. There are a lot of Extras and Flaws to add to Powers for a lot of customization. Gadgets and Gear are separated from Powers in this edition.

Damage is handled differently in this game. The Damage Track is gone replaced by a very Marvel Superheroes looking chart. The results are basically No Effect, some penalty all the way up to incapacitated. It is simple enough to use. I am of two minds on this. First, while I never really warmed to the damage track in M&M/True20 it was easy to use and innovative. The damage chart here is also very, very easy to use as well and works on similar principles. The chart has some Old School "feng shui" about it without it being an "endless chart".

Green Ronin has always produced top notch products. This one is no exception. I didn't notice much in the way of recycled text from earlier editions or even from DCA, but it very well could be there. I would be surprised if there wasn't really; I only really noticed one or two bits of recycled art and that was from their Magic book and Powers book for 2nd Ed. There were few other bits here and there and there might have been others, but if I didn't notice it that is the same as it not being there right?

All in all this looks like a great game and it might even be superior to M&M 2nd ed aka "The World's Greatest Superhero Game".

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 121 to 135 (of 507 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG