RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Supernatural Handbook
by Nenad R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/14/2012 06:39:02

This is an excellent resource on running horror games and sessions, and is highly recommended, even if you do not run M&M. There is an emphasis on incorporating horror into a superhero setting, but the book is full of ideas, as well as a good explanation of how to create horror, and how to create interesting antagonists.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Supernatural Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Supernatural Handbook
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2012 14:47:54

I was really looking forward to this Handbook and it fully delivers as a resource book on how to run a horror-based campaign, but more in an Agent of Freedom sort of way than as a supplement for superhero teams.

The background material on how to run supernatural adventures is very good and it comprehensively details the various horror options, stereotypes and backgrounds you can use. The problem is that it feels almost like a background for a separate campaign to Mutants and Masterminds rather than something that can be added to an existing campaign. There are numerous guidelines on how to run the various types of horror adventures for the various powerlevels but the over all feel of the material was that this is primarily aimed at skilled normals or lower level supernaturally-powered characters than level 10 and above powered metahuman heroes.

The various graphics are nice but those used to illustrate the character stereotypes in particular turned me off as they were more Sandman in style than Superhero and didn't work for me personally and the included organisation, Arcade is too US-centric for those of us who are not running adventures set in America (and would be extremely difficult to transplant to say UK or European soil) and again fails to provide sufficient hooks for including superheroes except as occasional support to Arcade's existing investigative teams...

Overall this would be an excellent supplement for streetlevel heroes (hence the 4 stars) but would be harder to make work for higher power levels and at present I'm not sure how useful this will be in an existing campaign - even one that is already magic-based.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #45: Jade Spider
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/14/2012 19:37:27

Each of the threat reports comes with a nice piece of color art of the character embedded in the PDF and a separate Hero Lab file. Each includes a prop cover letter from AEGIS, possibly useful for setting a scene, that gives a basic idea about what is publicly known about the character described. Each character is given a few plot hooks to help work them into a campaign.

Jade Spider (#45) is a merciless but very skilled martial artist and assassin, a dangerous killer who seeks only his own advancement and comfort. At PL 11, he is a dangerous and adaptable foe who can be used as an adversary in a wide variety of sales.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copies of these product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #45: Jade Spider
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #44: Ku Tu the Eternal
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/14/2012 19:18:57

Each of the threat reports comes with a nice piece of color art of the character embedded in the PDF and a separate Hero Lab file. Each includes a prop cover letter from AEGIS, possibly useful for setting a scene, that gives a basic idea about what is publicly known about the character described. Each character is given a few plot hooks to help work them into a campaign.

Ku Tu the Eternal (#44) an alien mummy, once god-king of the Olmecs resurrected by accident, he now seeks to rebuild his empire. Controlling awesome cosmic energy powers (PL 14), he rebuilds his army of transformed jaguar men and floating, laser-eyed stone heads. Perfect for an end of the year scenario and as a reoccurring threat.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copies of these product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #44: Ku Tu the Eternal
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #43: Dracula
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/14/2012 19:10:05

Each of the threat reports comes with a nice piece of color art of the character embedded in the PDF and a separate Hero Lab file. Each includes a prop cover letter from AEGIS, possibly useful for setting a scene, that gives a basic idea about what is publicly known about the character described. Each character is given a few plot hooks to help work them into a campaign.

Dracula (#43) the Lord of the Vampires, the classic undead villain (at PL11) perfect for a Halloween-themed scenario. Dracula has a long tradition of showing up in comics, now he can show up in your campaign as well. Stats for his summoned bats, rats and wolves are also provided.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copies of these product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #43: Dracula
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #46: Professor Zed
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/14/2012 19:06:54

Each of the threat reports come with a nice piece of color art of the character embedded in the PDF and a separate Hero Lab file. Each includes a prop cover letter from AEGIS, possibly useful for setting a scene, that gives a basic idea about what is publicly known about the character described. Each character is given a few plot hooks to help work them into a campaign.

Professor Zed (#46) has acquired the ability to travel between alternate realities, which he has plundered for useful technology making him into a serious threat (PL12). His most unusually power is his defenses, they are adaptive, making him immune to attacks he has already experienced, making him a challenging foe. He does wish to protect his home dimension (usually the same one as the heroes) from other dimensional marauders so that he can control it. I suspect Zed would be useful especially if you are doing transdimensional campaign or one with transdimensional elements.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copies of these product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #46: Professor Zed
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #42: The Eightfold Web
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/14/2012 19:05:50

Each of the threat reports comes with a nice piece of color art of the character embedded in the PDF and a separate Hero Lab file. Each includes a prop cover letter from AEGIS, possibly useful for setting a scene, that gives a basic idea about what is publicly known about the character described. Each character is given a few plot hooks to help work them into a campaign.

The Eightfold Web (#42) is a cult dedicated to an ancient spider deity rather than a single person. Using magic and ancient secrets, the sinister network works to control the world behind the scenes. The leaders of the cult, along with suggestions for their secret identities are detailed along with spells, summoned spiders and cultists. The Web can fill a multitude of roles in a campaign and will be especially useful as a foil for mystical and espionage oriented characters.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copies of these product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #42: The Eightfold Web
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DC ADVENTURES Heroes & Villains, Vol. 2
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/10/2012 16:41:57

Vol 2 of the Heroes & Villain write-ups for the DC Adventures RPG (but it also works for M&M3). This is the L-Z listing, "Lady Shiva" to "Victor Zsasz".

The write-ups are very detailed and make for good reading even if you don't use this in a supers game. If you are a fan of the DC Universe (mostly pre New 52) then this is a must have resource. If you enjoy DCA/M&M3 then there are plenty of great ideas here. Highlights include Zatanna and a bunch of minion stats. There are also stats for the "Super Animals", cultists, undead and Demons. Also included, soldiers, robots, monsters, ninjas and animals.

There are some repeats from the Core book.

All in all a great purchase if you are a DC or M&M fan.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DC ADVENTURES Heroes & Villains, Vol. 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DC ADVENTURES Heroes & Villains, Vol. I
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/10/2012 16:37:23

Vol 1 of the Heroes & Villain write-ups for the DC Adventures RPG (but it also works for M&M3). This is the A-K listing, "Adam Strange" to "Kobra & The Kobra Cult".

The write-ups are very detailed and make for good reading even if you don't use this in a supers game. If you are a fan of the DC Universe (mostly pre New 52) then this is a must have resource. If you enjoy DCA/M&M3 then there are plenty of great ideas here. Highlights include all the "Bat" family (except Robin and Nightwing, next book), Blue, Green and Indigo Lantern Corps., and even Tim Hunter. Oddly enough, Adam Strange is listed under "A", but John Constantine is under "C". There are some repeats from the Core book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DC ADVENTURES Heroes & Villains, Vol. I
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Power Profile #22: Strength Powers
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2012 11:11:47

Great ideas for ways to make your brick stand out. Well worth the 99 cents!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Power Profile #22: Strength Powers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Character Stand-Ups
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2012 18:08:58

I prefer double-sided figures, and not the fold-over tent style. HOWEVER, the artwork and very creative, and has imagininative characters that are SO specific and cover a wide variety of super hero powers and archtypes, you can't help but overlook the silhouette backs in lieu of "traditional" backs.

This set has been around for quite a while, and even with the "standard" figures that are out there now, you can NOT beat this set for originality and and just plain old fun.

I am not sure if Green Ronin has more figures sets out there, but based on THIS set, I would buy them ALL!

Great set, and a LOT of potential.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Character Stand-Ups
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DC ADVENTURES Hero's Handbook
by Gregory D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2012 13:07:51

I liked it, I am a total marvel person, and still I like it. They did not describe the combat very well or the character creation for that matter. But it is a solid product. The art is fantastic, and the powers and equipment divers enough that I could make any kind of super hero/villain. I did not play it yet, but I made some characters with the system and I am very happy with what I found.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DC ADVENTURES Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #34: The Hand of Sin
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/23/2012 18:28:00

Each of the threat reports come with a nice piece of color art of the character embedded in the PDF and a separate Hero Lab file. Each includes a prop cover letter from AEGIS, possibly useful for setting a scene, that gives a basic idea about what is publically known about the character described. Each character is given a few plot hooks to help work them into a campaign.

Hand of Sin (#34) an enforcer of the insidious Doctor Sin, apparently devoted to that villain and his goals. An expert martial artist with an unique secret. While only a PL of 9, the Hand of Sin is a skilled combatant and an especially good challenge for street level heroes.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copies of these product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #34: The Hand of Sin
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #30: Huntmaster
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/23/2012 18:26:51

Each of the threat reports come with a nice piece of color art of the character embedded in the PDF and a separate Hero Lab file. Each includes a prop cover letter from AEGIS, possibly useful for setting a scene, that gives a basic idea about what is publically known about the character described. Each character is given a few plot hooks to help work them into a campaign.

Huntmaster (#30) is an extra-dimension hunter, occasionally of bounties, but always of challenges. Equipped with powerful armor (PL13) and acting from his transdimensional base, he and his warhounds fear no prey and range wherever he wishes in search of new challenges. A useful character for a variety of scenarios and challenges.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copies of these product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #30: Huntmaster
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #31: Power Corps
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/23/2012 18:26:08

Each of the threat reports come with a nice piece of color art of the character embedded in the PDF and a separate Hero Lab file. Each includes a prop cover letter from AEGIS, possibly useful for setting a scene, that gives a basic idea about what is publically known about the character described. Each character is given a few plot hooks to help work them into a campaign.

Power Corps (#31) is not just a villain, but a team of villains in nearly identical suits of powered armor. While each member has their own skills, it is the coordination between them that makes the Power Corps such a difficult group to deal with. Useful both as operatives of another villain or acting for their own profit, the Power Corps fill an important niche in the supervillain ecology.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copies of these product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #31: Power Corps
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 121 to 135 (of 587 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG