RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 What's New?
Jackrabbit - AoV Solo (M&M3e)
Jackrabbit - AoV Solo (M&M3e)
$0.99









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Villainous Lairs: Amusement Park
by Mitchell H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2011 19:51:41
Ok, wish I got more for my money. Not bad just not complete in my opnion

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Villainous Lairs: Amusement Park
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mutants & Masterminds GM's Kit
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/27/2011 22:18:05
This product really consists of two distinct pieces, the GM Screen and the Quickstart Character Generator booklet.

The GM Screen collects useful charts and references from the Mutants & Masterminds 3e Hero’s Handbook and presents them all on three letter-sized, landscape-orientation panels. This is a product that most M&M GMs will probably want in print—I certainly have preordered a physical copy—but it also useful on-screen if you use a laptop, iPad, or similar device at the gaming table or like to carry such tables around with you for quick reference. If you happen to own something like the Savage Worlds Customizable GM Screen, you could of course print these charts from the PDF and slip them into the convenient pockets on the do-it-yourself screen.

The Quickstart Character Generator is a 48-page black-and-white booklet filled with tables that allow you to generate a balanced M&M character using random die rolls. This is supposed to save you time, I guess, but I personally don’t find it appealing for M&M.

The downloadable version of the product also includes a full-sized PDF of the illustrated side of the physical GM screen. Do-it-yourselfers will need to slice the printout three ways vertically in order to use the image for a homemade physical screen.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds GM's Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
by Gary W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2011 11:23:11
Character creation in this game is a headache. I understand what they were trying to do with the Power Effect thing, but in practice it is vague and confusing and complicated to get the powers you want. A simple list of powers, each with its options for customization, would have been better. "Damage" is too vague. Give me "Razor Claws". Why make players scratch their heads as to which Effects to put together to build a simple power like Invulnerability? The Power Level limits turn chargen into arithmetic homework.

MnM 3e is hampered by confusing mechanics, unclear explanations, and complicated chargen.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Sentinels
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/08/2011 11:56:01
I love the new M&M and having these characters/archetypes is great. One of the ways I try to figure out a new system is see what sort of builds can be done. The characters are interesting and not just the typical DC/Marvel clones that plague so many supers RPGs. The art is top notch. This would be a great buy, but they also add the files for Hero Builder which is fantastic. They easily could have charged for this but didn't. If you have the new M&M3, then get this. If you are curious at all about the new version of Mutants and Masterminds then absolutely get this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sentinels
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2011 09:06:10
I really like the 3rd edition of M&M. If you already own the DC Adventures book you will already be familiar with what this book has to offer. The system is very straightforward and everything is easy on the eyes. You can't go wrong with M&M.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Sentinels
by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2011 20:25:33
The M&M3 stuff I've seen come out so far has been quite good - interesting characters, great art and great plot hooks. This team looks like it's going to be quite interesting to read about as well, we've already seen their stats, so it's nice to see their backgrounds as well.

However, there's something not quite right here. The description says it includes writeups for the entire team, but the download only includes one character, Dragoneye. That writeup is good, but it's not what was promised - the entire team. As such I have to give it a bad rating.

The writeup for Dragoneye is itself quite good, and I would give it a much better rating if the entire team was included or if the download was labelled as "Dragoneye" rather than "the Sentinels."

[Update after having gone back to the page]

So apparently the issue is that each file was uploaded individually, but when you hit the "Get it now" button, you only get the first one. Seems the issue is a combination of RPGNow's code and an odd choice on Green Ronin's part. It would have been much easier and less confusing to just zip the files together into a single download.

Increasing my rating, but still knocking it down due to the download experience.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Sentinels
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/24/2011 19:12:57
I’m going to try and keep this one short. I haven’t had a chance to run a game yet, but I have played it a few times. The updated version is great though I can’t say how much has changed. I had a pregen when I played and a GM explaining the rules. The best part is the rules are pretty straightforward if you have ever played a d20-based game. You create characters using a point buy system to purchase attributes, skills, advantage, and powers. Calculate some defense scores and other standard RPG stats and you are pretty much ready to go. The book provides A TON of character archetypes to use and modify, lots of powers, advantages, regular and super powered equipment, and of course superpowers. The mechanics will be very familiar to experienced gamers and very easy to teach to new players (again just roll them up a pregen or give them one of the example characters in the manual). There are typical sections on creating adventures and series (i.e. campaigns) and other GMing advice.

Yeah, it’s your standard core rulebook, but I have to say it’s one of the best for superhero games. It seems fairly balanced and overall the book is laid out very nicely. Also, it’s GORGEOUS. The art is amazing and features tons of the standard superhero archetypes throughout from grimacing, gritty types to bouncy Barbies who can punch through a brick wall. I dig this book for sure.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #2: Junkpile
by Jason C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2011 12:23:04
I'm really enjoying the Threat Reports. Junkpile is exactly what he sounds like - an animated pile of junk. What makes the character compelling is the art and description of his personality and how much physical force is married to what amounts to a child's intellect. I look forward to using this character in-game.

I couldn't be happier with the purchase. The art, writing, price combo is perfect in my opinion.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Threat Report #2: Junkpile
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
DC ADVENTURES Hero's Handbook
by Steven J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2011 23:51:10
To be up front I am a huge rpg geek and I love Superheroes and the DCU so I was looking forward to this book. The following is a general review of this book.

Good: Rules are generally pretty solid, if you liked the older version of M&M you will like this version. They did a good job on the lore/setting of the DCU.

Bad: The Editing/layout and word choices. I felt that it was difficult to find stuff in this book. I checked Chapter 8 Action & Adventuring to read up on combat (labeled as Conflicts ) and I find how to attack someone and defend but No way to deterring what the effects of getting hit are, in order to find that I had to check in the Powers Chapter. Another example the Psionic template on page 39 lists Mental Blast as a power the character has, but there is no power called Mental Blast, or even Blast, this falls under the Power Damage (Mental Blast). Seems as is they were trying way to hard to avoid terms that other Super games have used. Wish they would have gone for more classic and straight forward word choices even if they sounded more ‘Champions like’, and wish that chapter 8 was more straight forward even if that meant that you repeated yourselves a little.

Nit picking : Minor Fan boy nerd rage, they really gave Batman a higher Agility then Nightwing? Dick Grayson of the Flying Graysons, Circus Acrobat since he was 5, who has been shown time and time again in the comics as being far more agile then Bruce. Nightwing who’s number one ‘power’ in not being there to be hit, (vs. Batman who takes and lot more hits but just won’t stop). I was really disappointed in this, and hope that is addressed in the book of characters they are doing.

Do to the bad organization of really good material I would have to give this book 2 stars, especially new players I would have to say grab the old second ed M&M or wait until you can check out the new Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook and hopefully the information will be presented clearer.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DC ADVENTURES Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/29/2010 09:35:00
M&M 3rd Edition first off looks a lot like the DC Adventures RPG also from Green Ronin out earlier this year.

What are the big changes from 2nd Edition? Well GR is moving more and more away from the d20 3.0 standards and more into True20 land. That is the Abilities (and there are now 8 of them) are the pluses. So instead of Strength 18 (+4) like you see in other d20 games, M&M3 just uses Strength 4. Easy enough and a logical extension of their line of thought with True20.

I mentioned there are 8 abilities now; Strength, Agility, Dexterity, Stamina, Intellect, Awareness, Presence and Fighting. Agility and Fighting are the big new ones. Agility had been part of Dexterity and does some of the things Dex used to do. Agility relates more to "bodily dexterity" and dexterity is more like "hand-eye coordination". Fighting is now the close combat ability. Now while I rather see this more of a skill than an ability, this is a comic book world and it works here. There are "close combat" and "ranged combat" skills as well. So Fighting I suppose is more of a natural aptitude towards combat.

Skills are given greater coverage and are streamlined from the d20 3.0 base, but not quite as streamlined as say D&D 4. They are closer to Cinematic Unisystem in nature really. Skills are still linked to a specific ability like d20, but are also now detailed on what sort of action they are, move, standard or free. Much more detail is given for skills and how to use them in a variety of situations.

Feats have become more Unisystem/GURPS like and renamed Advantages. They are ranked and used very much like a Advantage or Quality would be used in another game. I can see the next evolution of True20 doing something like this too since they are organized in a similar manner to True20's powers.

Powers come next. Powers are similar to Advantages, but have a much greater effect on various game systems. An Advantage might boost a skill or change an aspect of combat. Powers go above an beyond that. In general the Powers are much more detailed than earlier editions. There are a lot of Extras and Flaws to add to Powers for a lot of customization. Gadgets and Gear are separated from Powers in this edition.

Damage is handled differently in this game. The Damage Track is gone replaced by a very Marvel Superheroes looking chart. The results are basically No Effect, some penalty all the way up to incapacitated. It is simple enough to use. I am of two minds on this. First, while I never really warmed to the damage track in M&M/True20 it was easy to use and innovative. The damage chart here is also very, very easy to use as well and works on similar principles. The chart has some Old School "feng shui" about it without it being an "endless chart".

Green Ronin has always produced top notch products. This one is no exception. I didn't notice much in the way of recycled text from earlier editions or even from DCA, but it very well could be there. I would be surprised if there wasn't really; I only really noticed one or two bits of recycled art and that was from their Magic book and Powers book for 2nd Ed. There were few other bits here and there and there might have been others, but if I didn't notice it that is the same as it not being there right?

All in all this looks like a great game and it might even be superior to M&M 2nd ed aka "The World's Greatest Superhero Game".

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wedding Knight
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/10/2010 12:39:11
The introduction to this adventure provides an apposite reminder: in a game in which dynasties and bloodlines and the good of your House feature large, weddings are going to be very important events indeed. For players of the game of thrones, dynastic alliances are often sealed by a marriage, whilst the young may still harbour hopes of marrying for love rather than political advantage. Even if you are not getting wed yourself, there is plenty of scope during such an event to further your own ends as well as enjoy a good party!

So is the case with the wedding central to this adventure. Two minor houses are sealing recent agreement through marriage, having for many years been at odds with each other. One party is happy, affection having conveniently coincided with policy, but the other party has other ideas...

Various suggestions are made as to how to embroil your characters in events. The simplest, of course, is to have them invited as guests - quite likely if at least one of them is the scion of a House. If that House has a relationship with either of those involved in the nuptuals, they might have offered to host the event. If it's a one-off game, you could even substitute characters for the bride, groom or other major players. This might be more difficult in a long-running campaign, but of course just who is involved is open to modification to suit your plotlines... again, as noted in other published material, all is mutable to fit your campaign needs rather than something presented 'as is' for you to shoehorn and railroad characters into as best as maybe! There are literally loads of ideas presented, stir them up for your own spin on events.

We then move on to the main personalities in the tale to be told, with ample description and background to enable you to play each one confidently and know what they are trying to accomplish. This is followed by guidelines as to the course of events, with the timely reminder that once you introduce player-characters into the mix, things rarely go to plan! It provides, then, a framework upon which you can improvise as events play out.

The opening event is sheduled to be a feast, with plenty of opportunity for interaction. Next day a hunt is planned, a chance for more active characters to shine. But should you wish, other folks may take opportunities at either event to take action in furtherance of their own ends... and that wild boar may have other plans than being the centrepiece of a wedding feast. And then there's the ceremony itself... this outline is again strewn with ideas for twists and turns that you may choose to toss at your characters during the course of events. Each suggestion comes complete with hints as to how to play it out and notes on potential resolutions and outcomes. This is not an adventure to pick up and run, but one to consider carefully beforehand, to build into an ongoing saga or to use as a springboard for a whole campaign.

On the face of it, a simple interlude. Use it to its full potential - and support for doing so is there in abundance - and your characters will remember it for many years to come.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wedding Knight
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
A Song of Ice and Fire Roleplaying Quickstart PDF
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/09/2010 10:11:55
This is a beautifully-presented introduction to A Song of Fire and Ice Roleplaying - and indeed to role-playing games in general, as someone who likes the books the game is based on might encouter this product even if they don't role-play! (Just in case you don't know, the inspiration and setting comes from George R.R. Martin's epic stories which start with A Game of Thrones: a rich setting full of legends and intrigue and loads of political double-dealing, where debate is often done at the point of a sword!

Jam-packed into this book is a complete introductory adventure, six pre-generated characters and sufficient rules information so that you are good to go without further ado. To start, there's a useful summary of the current situation in the island continent of Westeros. For book fans, it is just before the opening of A Game of Thrones, about ten years since a revolution brought about regime change, a long-standing dynasty being overthrown and replaced by a new monarch called Robert Baratheon. Needless to say, not everyone is happy with the new king, and some of the former ruling dynasty would like to resume a reign that had lasted some 300 years...

The setting section ends with a quick run-down of the seven kingdoms that go to make up the land, then on to a summary of the rules and an explanation of the technical terms used to describe characters in terms of the ruleset. It is made clear from the start, however, that your character is a lot more than a set of numbers, these are just used to make the game work mechanically: you need to know your character as a living, breathing occupant of the shared alternate reality in which he is played. Basically, each character is described using a range of Abilities - which can be physical attributes like agility or endurance, learned skills like languages, or a reflection of his position in the world (status). Each Ability is given a rank from 1 (deficient in this area) to 7 (a legend in your own lifetime), and the appropriate one is used to resolve actions. Characters being pivotal in the stories to be told, you also have Destiny Points which can be used to manipulate the course of events. When you resolve an action, it is done by rolling as many d6 as you have ranks in the appropriate Ability, and adding the result in an attempt to exceed a 'difficulty' target set by the Narrator. Modifiers and penalties can apply, depending on the circumstances. There's a fair bit of detail on how to run combat as well. Next comes an interesting abstraction of intrigue - although if you don't like role-playing your intrigues this may not be the best game for you! It can be useful for determining how an NPC will react, or for handling off-scene intrigues when the result may affect the player-characters, though.

And so, on to the introductory adventure itself. The premise is simple: the characters are on a journey heading towards the city of King's Landing where the current monarch is holding a tournament when they get into a spot of bother and visit one of the inns along the way. As the tournament in question is central to the published adventure Peril at King's Landing, this can be used to launch your whole campaign as well as to introduce players to this system (or used as an incident en route if you begin that campaign another way, for example in the characters' home base when they decide to attend the tournament). Throughout, there are suggestions as to how to make the most of opportunities to try out different aspects of the rules, described clearly so that a Narrator new to the game ought to be able to handle them with confidence.

While it is a simple adventure, with the opportunity for a bit of interaction and a brawl, it serves as a good introduction both to the ruleset and to the setting of the game, being well-presented with an abundance of detail which you can build on for continuing adventures. If you don't feel inspired to rush out and grab the full game, then it probably is not the right one for you.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Song of Ice and Fire Roleplaying Quickstart PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Faery's Tale Deluxe
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/04/2010 12:23:24
I found this game while looking for a fairy game to use to rope my wife into RPGs. I picked it up thinking it would serve as a good "gateway" game, but was pleasantly surprised to discover a complete and interesting game. The mechanics are simple, yet interesting and full of potential awesomeness. It's also a short book and reads incredibly fast, so you could start a game the same day or the day after picking this up. The game is billed as for kids, and it's definitely simple enough, but I found it calling to me as I read through it. It's got enough depth to enable a group of adults to get deeply in a story, exploring the morality of actions, fighting Dark Faery and possibly becoming one yourself. I highly recommend this game. Even if you're not particularly fond of fairies (which I'm, my wife is) I think you'll enjoy this game. I'm excited and can't wait to actually sit down and run it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faery's Tale Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
True20 Adept's Handbook
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2010 00:35:17
True20 Adept's Handbook -- I really like True20: with that said, however, I am not really happy with T20AH. Although it IS a thorough examination of the arcane, the profane, and the occult, my games tend to treat magic as "mysterious" and "intriguing" -- not macabre and gothic. You will find much information pertaining to the darker side of magic: witchcraft, rituals, necromancy, sorcery, talking to the dead, etc.*

I bought it to supplement my super-hero and Star Wars (TM) games that I run with True20, but it did very little to help me with those games.

However, I rate things based on value, so I am giving it a 4 / 5 stars, the rating that it deserves for being a detailed and entertaining booklet.
If you like to run authentic magical campaigns, then this book is for you -- if you want to run comic heroes, stick with True20 rules or M&M.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
True20 Adept's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dragon Age RPG, Set 1
by Jonathan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2010 20:42:24
I'm getting tired of reading reviewers bagging on Dragon Age the pen and paper RPG just because it is based upon a video game and associated with a big company like Bioware. From this vantage point, if you don't like the video game you can complain about it (saying that CRPGs and RPGs are different animals and never the tween shall meet), or if you liked the video game you can complain that it's NOT ENOUGH like the video game.

Also, people are complaining that the rules are incomplete. Duh. It's for levels 1-5... an introductory set. I think this is a brilliant marketing tactic that we are seeing other companies doing in order to attract both nostaligic and new gamers. Kudos! I can get a a working game for half the cost of just one book in another system. I don't need 300 spells and 400 monsters to get started having fun.

Gimme a break.

I come from an old school background and dislike having too many rules and too many books. I'd rather spend my time actually playing than reading, organizing, and collecting vast arrays of adventures, skills, and splat books that I will never actually get around to using. I adore the Dragon Age tabletop pen and paper RPG and here is why:

- I've played it, unlike many of the reviewers with real live gamers, most of them experienced and sophisticated.

- We just have played Labyrinth Lord, Savage Worlds and 3.5 for years and I have to say, so far the reaction if extremely positive. By comparison to Labyrinth Lord, this is rules light with an actual world and a unified system that doesn't seek to recreate the past but instead seeks to streamline the advances in the hobby. Compared to Savage Worlds it has much greater flavor, is not a generic system, and has something that was a deal-breaker for us: Health points. Savage World soured on us because of it's wound system and how Bennies always just were used for soaking damage. Finally, compared to 3.5 it has about 1/10th of the rules to keep track of, and the world feels more "old school" / European rather than high fantasy bordering on science fiction.

- It hits the sweet spot with rules lite - with stunts and the dragon die concept it it elegant without being overly simple. With just the three classes and several backgrounds, combined with Talents and Weapons Choices, you can create a great variety of characters.

- The magic system is mana based, which I like. No more fire and forget!

- The world of Ferelden is full of very interesting takes on the classic races of Dwarves and Elves. There is a rich, detailed history of the cataclysm known as The Blight and how it shaped empires, religions, and cultures. This is probably the greatest connection it has to the video game. To me it feels like the Celtic culture during the dark ages.

- The tone is dark, gritty fantasy. This seems to be the trendy flavor we've seen in other products and I can say that it seems to work here very well.

- The 3d6 dice mechanic works great and with the curve is much more interesting than d20. Add in the dragon die concept and you've got something new and exciting, where each roll actually contains three levels: total score, if there are doubles, and how strong the dragon die is.

- The stunts system just rocks. SOOO much less complicated than feats, edges or other similar mechanics.

- The layout and art are strikingly good. I don't feel like I'm playing a generic system somebody whipped up in their basement, nor do I feel like I have a glamorous coffee-table book that is too pretty to get pizza grease on.

That's it. For the price of admission, this game will appeal to people looking for an elegant, rules-lite system that contains a deep, compelling world. If that's the sort of thing that you're after, than you'd be missing out if you didn't give it a shot.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Age RPG, Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 121 to 135 (of 502 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Green Ronin
Green Ronin
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (316)
 Hottest Titles

Mutants & Masterminds Atlas of Earth-Prime: U.S.A.

01.Mutants & Masterminds Atlas of Earth-Prime: U.S.A.
02.Mutants & Masterminds, Second Edition
03.Fate Freeport Companion
04.Emerald City
05.Mutants & Masterminds Power Profile #2: Armor Powers
06.AGE Bestiary: Chimeric Creatures
07.DC ADVENTURES Universe
08.Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
09.Mutants & Masterminds Power Profile #1: Fire Powers
10.Mutants & Masterminds Power Profile #3: Mental Powers
11.Mutants & Masterminds Power Profile #4: Summoning Powers
12.Mutants & Masterminds Power Profile #12: Magic Powers
13.True20 Adventure Roleplaying, Revised Edition
14.Mutants & Masterminds Power Profile #5: Tech Powers
15.Mutants & Masterminds Power Profile #22: Strength Powers
 
See All
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate
Powered by DrivethruRPG