RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
by Thomas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2016 06:42:20

I ran this for my group and we all decided that this was now our preferred way to play D&D. The journey and fellowship systems are amazing and easily produce detailed and enjoyable adventures with little prep from the DM. The added virtues (which are basically feats) are epic and allow for some highly individual characters and gives the classes a lot of replayability.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2016 16:08:32

I recently received a review copy of the Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide PDF from Cubicle 7 that is compatible with Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition. I'm a big fan of Middle-earth and ran a long campaign years ago with Decipher's Lord of the Rings RPG and a few one-shots of Cubicle 7's The One Ring RPG. So the setting is near and dear to my heart.


First, the book is gorgeous and the art and layout evoke the correct feel of J.R.R. Tolkien's opus. One thing I want to call out is the Contents section in the beginning of the book which gives a concise overview of what each section contains, which I think is brilliant aid for player's coming into our hobby for the first time.


Chapter One gives you information about the significance of 2946 in the Third Age and overview of the Free Folk of the North, the Free Folk of Eriador, the Free Folk of the South and the activities of the Shadow.


Chapter Two explains how the rules of Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide (AiMe, hereafter) differs from standard DnD 5th Edition game. It contains rules for creating characters, the Cultures of Middle-earth, the classes this book introduces, Middle-earth Backgrounds, Virtues (Feats), the Game Rules, Journeys (more later), Corruption, Audiences (meeting with the movers and shakers of the Third Age), and the Fellowship Phase (more later).


Chapter Three are the Cultures of Middle-earth, which take the place of 5th Edition's Races. The cultures detailed are Bardings, Beornings, the Dunedin, Dwarves of the Lonely Mountain (further defined by Erebor and the Iron Hills), Elves of Mirkwood (mechanically their advantages are appropriate covered without making them unbalanced), Hobbits of the Shire (further defined by Harfoot and Stoor), Men of Bree, Men of the Lake, Men of Minas Tirith, the Riders of Rohan, and the Woodmen of the Wilderland. I feel that the choice of using Cultures, as opposed to Races, perfectly reflects the spirit of Middle-earth and allows the various humans of the setting to get a proper treatment.


Chapter Four introduces the Classes unique to AiMe. You should play a Scholar if you want to uncover ancient secrets and use their power, master the art of healing, be admitted into the councils of the Wise, or know much that is hidden. The two specialties of Scholars are Master Healer and Master Scholar. Neither specialty is a spellcaster in traditional DnD terms, but both channel the awe of characters presented in the fiction. Both rely upon ancient and deep lore about the world around.
You should play a Slayer if you want to toss wolves and goblins from your path, take revenge upon the Enemy, fight alone, or in the front line of a company of warriors. It's specialties are the Rider and the Foe-Hammer. Slayer's hew closest to the Barbarian, but the Rider's reliance of mounted combat and the Foe-Hammer becoming a living weapon are interesting facets. I think both could be easily adapted as sub-classes for the Barbarian if a DM desired.
You should play a Treasure Hunter if you want to sneak into caverns and other dark and dangerous places, spy on the movements and plans of the Enemy, or steal your foe's treasure. One interesting element to the class is that you gain night vision out to 60 feet at 1st level. The specialties are the Agent and the Burglar. The Agent is an ingenious and thoughtful sort, who outsmarts his or her opponents.
You should play a Wanderer if you want to explore Middle-earth,
to hunt down and destroy the servants of the Shadow, guide a company of adventurers through the wilderness. It's specialties are the Hunter of Beasts and the Hunter of Shadows. I'm going to add that I find the Wanderer encapsulates my expectations of earlier DnD Rangers and would have no qualm using them as an alternative or a replacement in a traditional 5th Edition game.
You should play a Warden if you want to defend the Free Peoples against the Shadow, inspire your allies to yet greater deeds or bring hope when all seems lost. It's Expressions are Counselor (whose words hold power), Herald (whose abilities border into the realm of the Bard), and the Bounder (who focus on protecting others). I would seriously consider adding this class to fill a similar role to DnD 4th Edition's Warlord to a stander 5th Edition game.
You should play a Warrior if you want to defend the Free Folk with force of arms, wear heavy armour and fight with discipline,
command followers or master weapons to their fullest extent. It's Archetypes are Knight and Weaponmaster and both could be used for the 5th Edition Fighter.
One final note about Classes, each presents a Shadow weakness.


Chapter Five covers Virtues which are AiMe's term for Feats. Virtues are specific to a Culture, they are well designed and constructed and could easily add new options for a standard 5th Edition game.


Chapter Six details the Backgrounds of AiME, and each includes a character's Hope and Despair to really dig deep into the lore of the setting. The Backgrounds are Loyal Servant, Doomed to Die, Driven from Home, Emissary of your People, Fallen Scion, The Harrowed, Hunted by the Shadow, Lure of the Road, The Magician (a performer), Oathsworn, Reluctant Adventurer, Seeker of the Lost, and World Weary.


Chapter Seven covers Equipment, detailing such things as Dalish Fireworks, Dwarven Toys, and Cultural Heirlooms. Cultural Heirlooms cannot be purchased, only rewarded, and they take the place of 5th Edition's magic items. Heirlooms for each Culture are provided.


Chapter Eight introduces the rules for Journeys, as travel is greatly emphasized in Middle-earth. Phase One is Embarkation and each Player is given a task as a Guide, Scout, Hunter, or Look-out. Simultaneously the Loremaster determines Peril Rating of the Journey and 10 random types of encounters are detailed.
Phase Two is the Journey Events and Task Rolls. The length of the Journey determines the number of challenges the Players will face and the Loremaster is given methods to generate a DC for the Peril Rating. Additionally, 12 events are detailed.
Phase Three is the Arrival Phase and rules for modifying the Arrival rule are laid out. 8 arrival results are detailed and an optional rule for Tracking Time are presented. Finally, a (sweet) hexmap of the Wilderlands is included.


Chapter Nine details the Shadow and the Corruption mechanic is fully presented. Each Classes' Shadow Weakness is detailed, as well. Consequences of Corruption, such as madness and degeneration are detailed.


Chapter Ten covers Audiences, a rules sub-system for meeting with and seeking aid from the movers and shakers of Middle-earth, those that we have all read about or watched on film. Audiences account for Cultural Attitudes, which set the DC's for the meetings and the reactions of those you are meeting with are based upon the outcome of your skill check.


Chapter Eleven covers the Fellowship Phase, which adds another rules sub-system for allowing character to recover between seasons and helps flesh out what they were up to when they have gone their separate ways, sometimes for years at a time. It includes options for Rest and Recovery, Undertakings (accomplishments important to individual heroes), Training, Gaining a New Trait (a fundamental change to the character), Heal Corruption, Meet a Patron, Open a Sanctuary, Receive a Title, and Research Lore. While the Fellowship Phase is integral to the stories of Middle-earth, I will add that I would have gladly used these rules while running a 5th Edition game that I concluded this past summer and will look at using them in future games set outside of Middle-earth.


The book concludes with Pre-Generated characters to get you up and playing in minutes.


Cubicle 7 has always impressed me with their games and Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide is no exception. They have taken the fabulous work they have done with the One Ring and adapted it to Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition, with a supplement that both perfectly encapsulates what I want out of Middle-earth while expanding my options for standard 5th Edition. I couldn't ask for any more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2016 14:03:27

Product is an excellent adaptation of Middle-earth to the 5e OGL. Cubicle 7 also within days if the original release already released an updated and revised pdf based on fan input. Rules are new and interesting, and the product is wonderfully flavorful with regards to the setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
by Carol D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2016 12:49:08

I really like this supplement, there's a ton of well thought out information in it and a different look at how to play in Middle Earth! I am looking forward to running my first campaign for family members in Middle Earth. I think this supplement is inspiring and very helpful in getting me started. The culture aspect for the races and classes is really interesting and ought to help with the roleplay of the characters. The journey feature adds a lot to the play, with the roll tables to help determine how your next foray into the forest will go, its a huge help to the Loremaster! It's going to be a fun ride! Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
by Jimmy P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2016 16:18:40

ADVENTURES IN MIDDLE-EARTH is a 5th edition (Dungeons and Dragons) adaptation of The One Ring.


((Art))
The art is very Tolkienesque. For those who already own The One Ring, you will see familiar artwork. The layout is very similar to the one found in The One Ring as well. Overall, the art and layout design is very appropriate for the setting. It has this old school feel that really fits here.


((Mechanics))
In ADVENTURES IN MIDDLE-EARTH, you use the standard Dungeons and Dragons rules. The book completely re-writes the classes to capture the right atmosphere for the setting. For example, you do not have fireball tossing wizards in this game. You do have Scholars that can learn a few tricks not unlike what Gandalf could pull. You could introduce spellcasting classes, but the mood and balance could be compromised.


You start making your character by choosing a ''race'' such as Rohirrim, Dunedain, Bree-folk, Hobbit, Dwarves or Elves. Then you choose a ''class''. Then you choose a ''background''. At every step, the choices you make are again very Tolkienesque and fits the source material.


You get very interesting ''Journey'' rules - an adaptation of one of the most interesting mechanic found in The One Ring. You also get the rules for downtime called the ''Fellowship Phase'' - another great ruleset from The One Ring.


((Conclusion)
Adventures in Middle-Earth Player's Guide is a great book. Now, is it the book you are looking for?


I already own The One Ring, on which AIME is based. I love the art, the system and the atmosphere of The One Ring. If I was to run a Middle-Earth campaign, I would probably prefer to use The One Ring (look it up!). Having said that, I know The One Ring is not for everybody. It uses an abstract combat system (which I love) that can deter some players. The rolls use custom dice, which is also something a lot of people loathe. This is where this book comes in.


If your group likes Middle-Earth and the 5th edition ruleset, click that Add to Cart button ASAP. If your group already owns and likes The One Ring, then perhaps this pdf might gather virtual dust in your file folders. Even if you dislike Tolkien's work, well you can still find something useful in there, such as the journey or fellowship phase rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2016 13:13:31

I think AiME is a great product. Not only it inherited all the great art from The One Ring (John Howe, along with Jon Hodgson and Tomasz Jedruszek), but also created great new rules and system to bring the feeling of Middle-Earth to the 5th edition of D&D. Most of the presented abilities, feats and even skills have additional narrative focus. In my oppinion, it brings the narrative verve of 13th age to the 5th edition, with a dark tone. This dark tone comes from the corruption aspect of Tolkien universe, where characters fades into a bitter end.


I'll recommend this to anyone that either wants to run a Middle-Earth campaign but rather keep using the familiar rules or disliked the rules from The One Ring; or you want to add the additional classes and rules for Journeys, Corruption, Audiences and Fellowship Phase, which are all very interesting. I also wrote a short review in Portuguese on my blog.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Doctor Who - Paternoster Investigations
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/08/2016 08:38:52

Although Doctor Who visited Victorian England many a time, it was after the 2005 're-boot' that recurrent visits to the same place (London) and time commenced, with the development of a group of characters who remained constant visit to visit: the Paternoster Gang. This book empowers adventures that utilise this background and characters.


So who are the Paternoster Gang anyway? Basically they are a rather unlikely not to say unusual bunch who have come together in late-Victorian London to undertake Doctor-like roles in defending their patch from alien encroachment. They are led by Madame Vastra, a Silurian warrior no less, who was roused by the excavation of early parts of the London Underground and manages to conceal what she is under Victorian formal dress. She is assisted by her maid, Jenny Flint, who is rather more than a maid although presents as such to conform to the morals of the time... they've fallen for one another, you see, something the Victorians could not understand or condone, did they but know. So they live as lovers behind closed doors, presenting a different face to the world at large. She also has a Sontaran butler, Strax. All three are bound together by a complex back story in which the Doctor is heavily involved.


It starts off with An Age of Marvels. This covers the late-Victorian era and the Doctor's previous adventures there. Sweeping social and technological change, mostly steam-powered, mark it as a distinctive and pivotal time in Earth's history. The British Empire sprawls across the globe and fog swirls through the streets of London engulfing rich and poor alike - and the divide is wide indeed, with a clearly-defined class structure. There's a broad sweep of history, what 'Victorian' actually means and what went on throughout her reign, to enable you to capture the feel of the times in your game without getting bogged down in historical detail. There are notes on real historical figures, from the Royal Family to artists, scientists, explorers, writers and inventors. Then the narrative steps back to view everything through the lens of the Doctor and aliens being real, and being there. Timelines mix real-world and the Doctor and more to create an alternate history, and there are synopses of all relevant Doctor Who adventures (although if you want more detail you are best off consulting the appropriate Doctor Who Sourcebook from the series published by Cubicle 7 Entertainment.


Next is The Paternoster Guide to London. It's a lot more than a sourcebook to London of the time, although it is that; there's more specific material from the game point of view such as places used by the Paternoster Gang and useful contacts... not to mention some choice villains. And it opens with a delightful picture of Strax in his butler clothes pouring a cup of tea in perfect style. There's lots of detail about places to go - some real and some not - and just reading through sparks ideas for adventure even before you get to the next chapter.


Then comes Victorian Adventurers. What about Companions who come from this time and place? Or natives of it who intend to remain there and deal with any alien menaces that come their way? Here you find out how to create them, and see how the likes of the Paternoster Gang shape up in game terms... or perhaps you'd like to create your own group in similar style with whom to run your own adventures. Or they might be friends and allies of the Paternoster Gang. The options are legion, and there's plenty of material to support whatever you and your group decide to do. Yes, you too can be an alien... and there are some delightfully steam-punk Victorian gadgets to play with as well.


The Paternoster Campaign provides a wealth of advice about devising adventures and, yes, whole campaigns in this particular setting. It has a particular emphasis on the investigative style of adventure, the sort of thing Madame Vastra herself gets up to, especially when the Doctor isn't there to interfere. Again, just dipping in to this chapter starts ideas spawning and wheels turning, whether you want to bring an existing group here, create Victorian adventures as in the previous chapter and run adventures for them, or even have them step forth into the rest of the space-time continuum... the options are many.


Finally, there's a complete adventure, A Study in Flax. It's a bit of a murder-mystery, the clues leading to time-travelling mischief and people doing bad things for good reasons. There's lots going on, and several familiar characters are involved, some of them of course being alien.


This book succeeds admirably in bringing late-Victorian London as viewed from the Doctor's side alive. It will enhance any visit your group might make, or maybe inspire an entire campaign set there... but whether you merely visit occasionally or set up shop there, now you know what it's really like!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Doctor Who - Paternoster Investigations
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The One Ring - Horse-lords of Rohan
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2016 18:51:33

Amazing book! One Ring - Horse-lords of Rohan is a perfect expansion to One Ring! It adds the long awaited Rohirrim to the game (as well as the Dunlendings) and has rules for mounted combat, which is relatively straight forward. Rohan also adds so many new regions to the game that many players won't know what to do first! Saruman has almost a whole chapter dedicated to him, and players can even work for the big man (wizard) himself!


Besides working for Saruman, Fangorn is now an available region full of possibilities, such as getting an ent patron, clearing orcs from its depths, or exploring places even ents won't tread!


For anyone looking to enhance their One Ring game (or even play it closer to the time period of the War of the Ring) this book is a must buy! (also, Reviewer's note, IT HAS URUK-HAI AND THEY ARE AMAZING!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - Horse-lords of Rohan
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The One Ring - Erebor - The Lonely Mountain
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2016 18:34:39

One Ring RPG - Erebor is definitly worth every cent for both Loremasters and players alike! From the new cultures (though sadly more reskins of the Lonely Mountain dwarf with cool new toys) to the new enchanted items (Dwarf enchantments and how dwarves do it, Finally!) all the way into lots of famous npcs and new monsters (Like Murder lizards aka Dragons).


You also get maps and cool bits of info that you might not have known before (like the Toy fair of Dale!) and awesome rules to enhance your games of One Ring with the power of the Dwarves.


(I would also recommend getting Rivendell for the full working of Magic weapons and the like as sadly they didn't put it in here)


Definitly a 5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - Erebor - The Lonely Mountain
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Doctor Who: Adventures in Time and Space Limited Edition Hardcover Edition
by Alan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2016 13:06:31

This is hardly a comprehensive review, more of a first look. I have not played the game yet just looked at the system.


I am amazed how similar this is to Unisystem. It would be unbelievably easy to translate characters between the two games. At first this turned me off in a way and I really felt like Doctor Who the RPG was just fan service. Especially with the lets play the doctor and all his companions play style. I dug in a little deeper, and I did like using attributes to track damage instead of the more American hitpoint methodologies. Then I saw the innitiative. The innitiative is a beautiful beautiful thing. It along with the attribute damage (which I havent quite figgured out the nubmbers for yet but) allows you to put as much drama and mechanics into trying talking to and reasoning with an NPC or other character as most games put into combat alone. This is SO HUGE to help live up to Doctor Who levels of storytelling where often the most amazing thing that happens is a dialogue or a soliloquy that changes EVERYTHING. When you can put just as much interest fun and effot into ANYTHING in the game besides just fighting and literally use the same types of mechanics for ALL of it? Man that is something. I cant wait to try it out and see if it plays as well as it looks like it does. (I want to do a story of a Human collony caught in the midst of the Time War where the Doctor is elusive and mysterious and danger is everywhere and where Human compassion is fleeting yet Powerfull) Now to just find some players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Doctor Who: Adventures in Time and Space Limited Edition Hardcover Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The One Ring - Erebor - The Lonely Mountain
by Henri O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2016 18:48:11

It is a very consistent book, considering previous publications. It also presents a stunning art concept. Congratulations!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - Erebor - The Lonely Mountain
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The One Ring - Erebor - The Lonely Mountain
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2016 14:59:12

Let me start by saying the top-down map of the rooms and levels of Erebor is absolutely breath-taking, and I want to see a HUGE map of it.


This book is absolutely beautifully laid out, and I am grateful that it's about more than Erebor, being about the Dale-lands and the surrounding regions, as well as the well-developed layout of Dale itself. I've not finished reading my PDF copy of it, yet, but it's already the jewel of my collection, thus far.


There are adventures to be developed from every paragraph; had I a century left on this Earth, it wouldn't be long enough to play everything I would want to develop for my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - Erebor - The Lonely Mountain
by matthew p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2016 17:53:42

This is a must have for any dwarf fans! I love this book. It keeps the feel of Tolkein well and makes dragons and dwarves even more interesting than 1 Ring already does.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - Horse-lords of Rohan
by Vance B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2016 02:20:47

Well written and decent artwork. Kudos to cubicle 7 for such a brilliant product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - Horse-lords of Rohan
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The One Ring - Journeys and Maps
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2016 14:21:07

Brilliant!


I love maps, and these are fantastic. I love seeing Middle Earth the way it's laid out by these authors. As well, the 39-page Journeys book has a great many Hazard possibilities, and that makes me very happy.


All-in-all, a very well-made product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - Journeys and Maps
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 326 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG