RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Monkey, Ninja, Pirate, Robot Deluxe
by Jhonna N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2010 18:22:23
We love this game! It is very simple to assemble, and since we are avid gamers we have plenty of dice and counters. You can use coins, glass beads, raisins, whatever. Yes, it is unbalanced (my son ALWAYS wants to be the Cowboy but we mix them up so we get a random choice) but still fun. Even unbalanced, the die rolls don't always go the way of the powerful. Simple to learn and to teach, even for non-gamers. We found a few other character cards on BGG (www.boardgamegeek.com) that we downloaded to expand our game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monkey, Ninja, Pirate, Robot Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Prose Descriptive Qualities (PDQ) System Core Rules
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/21/2010 23:52:17
This is a great "rules light" game that focuses on storytelling and interesting characters. Characters are described by "qualities" rather than just numbers and this helps to really create interesting personas. There is enough structure to not leave you "up in the air" like some games, but it is still loose enough to let you make it your own.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Prose Descriptive Qualities (PDQ) System Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Monkey, Ninja, Pirate, Robot: the Roleplaying Game
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2010 21:03:25
Chad Underkoffler sees gaming through a more unique lens. I've collected just about all his titles, but find that this installment may be a bit too quirky. I recommend going with "Truth and Justice" or "ZoZ" before running with this.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Monkey, Ninja, Pirate, Robot: the Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Truth & Justice
by michael d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2010 22:25:51
At first I wasn't sure about this game and only bought it because of the recommendation of a friend. I'm glad I did.
The game is simple, easy to learn and great for one-shot superhero games as well as full blown campaigns. For GMs this game is a good way to introduce new, or younger players to rpgs. It is also a lot of fun for more experienced players. Now that I'm older my group doesn't have a lot of time for gaming so a quick system like this that is still able to offer everything we enjoy about RPGs is perfect for us. I can't recommend this game enough.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Truth & Justice
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Monkey, Ninja, Pirate, Robot Deluxe
by David G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2009 03:51:35
BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!-
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monkey, Ninja, Pirate, Robot Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
PDQ Sharp!
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2009 08:59:28
I am very pleased witht this new adaptation of the PDQ system. The dueling rules (my favorite part of the guide) are smooth and effective. If you liked Truth and Justice then you will like these rules as well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PDQ Sharp!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Prose Descriptive Qualities (PDQ) System Core Rules
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2009 16:25:15
I am a big fan of Truth & Justice so thi one is a no brainer for me. The pdq sharp edition of the rules system are very good as well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prose Descriptive Qualities (PDQ) System Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Truth & Justice
by Edward J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2008 15:05:50
Truth & Justice is easily my favorite supers rpg, hands down. With its working the PDQ system further to support a style that is heavy on role-playing and trifling on the over-complication that would force too much detail out of character generation before you even got to enjoy the game. The characters presented here are fun and inspire a world where players can explore and encounter things and people familiar and new, all dependant on your GM's & players' imagination.

While some would nitpick over the lack of some structure, its refreshing to me to find a game system that allows the GM & players "fill in the details" as you go along to make this undeniably YOUR setting. A supers game should be loose and fancy-free, and I love this game and what it presents that, suggests that and implies what can be done with gaming and running it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Truth & Justice
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Prose Descriptive Qualities (PDQ) System Core Rules
by Edward J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2008 14:58:20
Remniscent of THEATRIX, but with more of a structure to work with. I enjoyed what the PDQ Core Rules presented & it made me salivate for further works for the game system. Wonderfully simple, with enough structure to not overcomplicate the actual role-playing and adaptable GM-storytelling.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Prose Descriptive Qualities (PDQ) System Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dial S for Superhumans
by Edward J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2008 14:55:23
Despite nearly character sporting an "eye" on their chest, I found this collection of unique and interesting characters to be wonderfully supportive of the actual TRUTH & JUSTICE rpg. These characters touch on very different takes of superheroes (including Captain Security - a metahuman protecting a mall [of all things!]) and is worth a look, at least, when getting acquainted with T&J.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dial S for Superhumans
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Prose Descriptive Qualities (PDQ) System Core Rules
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2008 12:35:08
The Good: The PDQ (Prose Descriptive Qualities) is easily incorporated into other systems. Characters are rated by Qualities, but these Qualities also have "penumbras" where they -vaguely- apply. Also, Qualities are divided into -five- stat blocks: Mental, Physical, Social, Professional, and Other. The overall system is applicable to many situations due to its non-specific nature. For example, range is divided into "Near," "Middling," "Far," and "Too Far." Damage serves to reduce Qualities, as chosen by -the player-.
The Bad: Players who like their games crunchy, or with setting-specific rules, will probably hate this. Although Qualities are easily adaptable to a given setting, they do not "scale." Period. You can't match Superman against Robin, for example.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Prose Descriptive Qualities (PDQ) System Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dial S for Superhumans
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2007 08:09:28
Very good collection of superheros and an eclectic mix of powers. Most powers you will know, a few are unique. Descriptions are detailed enough you can use them in any system yet open enough for intepretation.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dial S for Superhumans
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Truth & Justice: The Turtlezilla Dossier
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2007 08:07:31
Despite the short word count, this is an excellent adventure, suitable for any science fantasy game.

Just needed a floating turtle island from fantastic literature to round out the options. Something airplanes land on.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Truth & Justice: The Turtlezilla Dossier
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Monkey, Ninja, Pirate, Robot: the Roleplaying Game
by alan d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2007 17:21:05
First, let me say that I got this for free during ThanksGiveAway 2007. I had never heard of MNPR:RPG before, nor had I heard about it's board game predecessor. I am sorry that it took me this long to find what has got to be one of the funniest RPG books I have ever read. All the gaming hours I could have had with this game makes me cry. Onto the game itself: If you’re into one-shots, or game with people who act like 12 year olds hopped up on Mountain Dew and Doritos, this is definitely something to look at.

Character generation is quick and loose, using the PDQ system. PDQ is sort of like Fudge meets Dogs in the Vineyard. Instead of hard ‘skills and attributes’ you have descriptive qualities and a ranking level which corresponds to a bonus (or penalty) to your rolls. Like DitV, you can combine your qualities whenever it benefits you to add to your rolls.

As players, you play Monkeys, Ninjas, Pirates, or Robots (or a very odd combination of the above) who fight Aliens, and compete with each other in various combat and non-combat skills for the Oh So Precious MOJO! Mojo are like action points and XP, and are handed out for winning combat, skill competitions, or for just being “Ninja-Like” – even if you’re not a Ninja.

If you’re still with me here, you’re probably good to get in on the game. This is absolutely a “Beer and Pretzels” style game, although the author does include some tips and comments about running a longer lasting and more serious (BLASPHEMY!!) style game. It’s suited very well for one-shot style action, or for short fun story arcs. While it could be used in a full-on campaign, it would take hearty (or brain dead) players to continue at length without turning into a giant mass of drooling insanity.

If you enjoy the ‘out there’-ness of the Hitchhiker’s Guide and other similar stories, then this is absolutely the game for you. If you find Monty Python a little too dry for your tastes, you may want to think of something a little more serious.

Likes: Game is fast, loose, and insane. No extra rules needed, or included. Batteries optional.

Dislikes: I wish I would have found this sooner (no point deduction). I wish the author would write some additional material that was hinted at in the book (like Zombies and Cowboys).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monkey, Ninja, Pirate, Robot: the Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Monkey, Ninja, Pirate, Robot: the Roleplaying Game
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2007 22:35:57
You can't really go wrong with Chad's work or PDQ in general if you want to run something free flowing.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 85 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG