RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Whistlestop Guide to Herbs
by JK R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2014 05:19:25
A 17 page (plus cover) booklet giving brief descriptions of real-world European herbs, and the sort of things herbalists thought they were useful for. 47 herbs are listed, each with a short entry describing its appearance and where you can find it, and one or two sentences on its uses. It's nicely laid out, with good line drawings of most of the herbs. It's usefulness in game is, however, somewhat questionable, except maybe as inspiration for potion ingredients or something, or if you're playing a low-magic game with a herbalist PC.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Whistlestop Guide to Herbs
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Silver Branch PDQ Fantasy Pack [BUNDLE]
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2011 14:53:48
A great bundle, owning both of these great PDQ games makes it easy to mix-and-match them to create your own ideal game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Silver Branch PDQ Fantasy Pack [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Jaws of the Six Serpents
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2011 15:14:21
I bought this PDF when it first came out, and it's one of the few that I like more every time I read through it. Of course I'm a classic Sword & Sorcery fan and a rules-lite game enthusiast. The PDQ system works well with the genre, as characters like Conan and the Grey Mouser are difficult to pin down into classes and levels, but one can easily assign qualities that reflect them. PDQ also allows for some shifting of narrative control. The best games I've played in have allowed this. The setting contains the genre staples.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jaws of the Six Serpents
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Loom
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/30/2011 13:23:41
Loom is an abstract, generic RPG rule system that uses playing cards as a randomizer. This is just a system - no setting or genre-specific material is presented at all. Characters are created by choosing one trait in each of six categories - Background, Capability, Drive, History, Face and Soul. "Ship's Captain" would be an acceptable Background trait, for example.

Conflict is resolved by drawing cards from the deck - 1 for fate, and another for each character trait that applies to the situation. The GM does the same for the opposing character or situation. The player and GM then choose a card and reveal them at the same time. The higher card wins the conflict. If winner of a test has more cards that beat their opponent's, then can play them to achieve a higher level of success. This creates consequences for the loser of the conflict.

These basic rules are then refined with several advanced and optional rules that allow for saving good cards for later conflicts, stress, aiding allies with saved cards, and more. It's a great rules-lite system for playing story-driven games without dice, in the same class as Risus. The author has promised to release some setting modules, and I'm looking forward to seeing them.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Loom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Loom
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2010 03:06:46
Loom is a card-based, cinematic / narrative rpg. Since there are already excellent reviews of this game available, I would like to point out that customization will yield rich rewards if you put forth the effort. Also, the price to purchase this game is under $5; how can you beat that?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tigers of Eternity
by Wayne R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2010 17:03:38
I can see where Tim is heading with this, it really has a great feel to it, but it suffers from the same thing as the core rules. That being that although Tim obviously knows what he is talking about, as a reader sometimes i was left going....huh?...what?

Then again, for the price can anyone really complain?

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tigers of Eternity
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Loom
by Wayne R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2010 17:00:58
Very enjoyable read, the rules have a LOT of potential!

The rules, although simple, could definitely use a few more examples for folks who may not be used to narrative games.

I think Loom could be a great system, it just needs some more time to develop.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Loom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Loom
by Stephen J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2010 20:18:58
First, I actually used this system for a test-run of a one shot game. Something I'm going to be polishing and bringing to a convention soon. So, I not only know how it reads, but how it plays. And, to my delight - it's very playable!

You have to have some experience with narrativist style game systems. My players and I did, so the process of negotiating stakes before drawing cards and resolving conflicts was not as confusing as it may be to other groups new to these concepts. On the other hand, the "Consequences" mechanic rarely ever came up so something else (like negotiating damage as part of the resolution) may be needed for action / combat scene resolution.

Also, the GM needs to have the flexibility to know when to use one card draw resolve a scene and when to stretch things out to two or three card draws. When done correctly, this really emphasized dramatic peaks and underplayed those less important, but common, "mook / henchmen" combats that occur.

The real gem in this system is how easy it was to wrap a custom setting with custom trait categories into this rule set. You could literally watch a movie or read a book and have a workable Loom version ready for play in just an hour or less. Character creation took less then thirty minutes, and the players had no real numbers or math to worry about - just describing usable traits in the categories I had established.

Finally, the highest praise I can give any system, especially an under tested, new, or experimental one ... is that it was fun! We played for about four hours, we had a blast, the players were well satisfied with the results, and they are open to using Loom for further gaming sessions.

I'm only giving this a three (3) star review, because it's a scant little thing that relies on a lot of external experience with these types of games and the paradigm's they employ to take Loom to it's full potential. But, this is a well respected designer / author and if Loom gets filled out a little with more guidelines and special case adaptations, I think it's value will increase dramatically. Especially for one-shot or convention game scenario designers.

At this price you have nothing to lose and a great new tool for your con-GM's toolbox and I recommend you do just that

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Jaws of the Six Serpents
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2010 04:46:00
Jaws of the Six Serpents is a Medieval-type fantasy genre world for the free PDQ game system. The PDF / book has a very nicely-done layout and wonderful artwork to accent the information.

While the setting is very detailed, it tends toward a darker vision of magic, so if you are looking for a fantasy game world that is a little more "light hearted" then JOSS is not for you. Save your 10 dollars.

If you don't mind that aspect of the book, then JOSS is a decent choice for the PDQ system, even at around 10 dollars (dark fantasy is just not my thing).

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Jaws of the Six Serpents
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

QMR - Book of Bewildering Beasts
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2009 16:21:28
This is acool product. The PDQ system can be ussed to create any kind of beastie for QMR. The collection found here has some really neat monsters. i would give an example but it would just spoil the read.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QMR - Book of Bewildering Beasts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Jaws of the Six Serpents
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2009 14:23:49
I confess mI'm relatively new to tabletop roleplaying, having a meagre three sessions of Dark Heresy under my belt, but I purchased the JAWS pdf due to the positive things I'd been hearing about the PDQ play system. The core mechanics focus heavily on roleplaying and storytelling, and while dice rolls still determine much of what comes to pass, it never feels like the rules are bogging down the game or in any way limiting my character or imagination.
I cannot recommend this game enough. If you're looking for some rules-light, creative fun, you really cannot go wrong with JAWS.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jaws of the Six Serpents
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Truth & Justice: More Power
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2008 17:42:34
Good review of powers for the Truth & Justice RPG (Atomic Sock Money). Some game mechanics will NOT translate to more realistic games, or games that carefully section out powers. But I think it is generic enough in places to interest superheroic games. Repeats some material from the Legends Walk line by the same author, and could use some more detailed description for powers to make them usuable in other systems in my opinion (which is the reason I got it, for another rules-lite system).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Truth & Justice: More Power
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

QMR - Book of Bewildering Beasts
by Edward J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2008 15:36:27
The fun continues! I enjoyed this product and appreciated the variety of monsters and beasts it offers. It definitely supports the freestyle attitude of QUESTERS without making you feel that there's going to be just one more sourcebook around the corner that you will feel compelled to buy multiple copies of because of the subliminal messages between the lines (or something). What I didn't like was that it could use more graphics for the creatures within this tome, but it's a minor quibble, really.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QMR - Book of Bewildering Beasts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Questers of the Middle Realms
by Edward J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2008 15:30:59
LOVE THIS!!!! For me, it reminds me of my favorite fantasy setting, Bill Wellingham's IRONWOOD (for THEATRIX)...and that is definitely a good thing. Tongue-in-cheek and adaptable for whatever style you'd rather have, this delivered in ways I didn't think possible when I purchased it. My only complaint is that it doesn't cover the different cultures in the setting as well as it could have done. I also would have liked to have seen a bit more character races offered right off the bat. Only a minor complaint, given the possibilities with QUESTERS and how you want to approach it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Questers of the Middle Realms
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

QMR - Ten Magical Thingies, vol. 1
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2008 07:22:57
Some outrageously creative ideas here (a potion to make you into a swarm of little PCs, a portable steed that may or may not be a horse)

Liked:
Generic enough for any free-from system (Fudge, FATE, Over the Edge)

Disliked:
*All to short.* Some game terms will not make sense if you do not
know the system (MOD, for example)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
QMR - Ten Magical Thingies, vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 31 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG