RPGNow.com
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
(G-Core) Guardian Universe: REVIVAL: Balston Group Module ROGUES
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2017 15:20:30

Balston Group Module ROGUES is a direct follow up to Jay's last release. In the Baslton Group Module we learned more about the inner working of the multinational organization. We learned the whose-who of the company heirachy. We also know that for all it's faults, the Balston Group is still dedicated to the greater good.

That's where the ROGUES come in. They are the shadow to the Balston Groups relative light. They are what happens when intellect is left alone to create as it will. ROGUES details several groups that hold to these tennents. They range from fully converted cybernetic Yakuza to Russian weapons systems. There are also examples of what happens with the ultra-intelligent begin dabbling in gene-splicing.

All in all I give Balston Group Module ROGUES a 4-star review. More of a 4.5 to be honest.. The only downside I see to it is it needs the previous module for background information. This isn't 100% necessary, but more of a personal, completionist point of view.

Overall another quality G-Core product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) Guardian Universe: REVIVAL: Balston Group Module ROGUES
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

(G-Core) Guardian Universe: REVIVAL: Balston Group Module
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2017 21:43:53

This product is brimming with background information. This product is different than nearly all other G-Core products. Most G-Core releases highlight the superheroes and villains of the Guardian Universe. The Baslton Group Module takes an existing company and expands it's info ten-fold.

The Balston Group is a massive, multi-national conglomerate. It fits a necessary role in any supers type of game, that of the Evil Corporation. But it does more than simply flesh out a bit of info and provide readers with a character or two. This product shows where Balston Group shines... in its multitude of subsidiaries. Each branch of the Balston Group is detailed. They are all fleshed out to provide readers with a great feel of everything the Balston Group can do, and what its up to.

Each subsidiary has a brief section covering what it 'does'. Some are geared toward healing the sick, some toward saving the Earth and some toward space exploration. The company is listed with a brief write-up of its backgrounds, it's key members and anything it is specifically known for. The star of this is the slew of important people that are featured. They don't wear capes but are still quite important. Each company has 1 (sometimes more) key employee that is given a great deal of attention. This information is great for GM's who want a better feel for the direction that subsidiary is going and for those that just need inspiriation.

The Balston Group Module is great. It does something that most other games gloss over and does it in an easy to digest way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) Guardian Universe: REVIVAL: Balston Group Module
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

(G-Core) GU: Revival ACE GUARDIANS
by Michael N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2017 15:25:17

Fun Super Group easily adaptable into any G-Core/FASERIP Super hero World.........A Fascinating Speedster and a fun adaption of an American Myth make this completely worth it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) GU: Revival ACE GUARDIANS
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

(G-Core) Armored Up: 2015
by Michael N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2017 14:48:47

Generate your own Armored Heros for your G-Core/FASERIP game. The Process is as fun as the result....getting that unexpected combination of Protection and Weapons makes your standard armor hero special and unique. It is rules light and can be used in ANY super hero game.....An Awesome Value.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) Armored Up: 2015
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

(G-Core) Guardian Universe: REVIVAL: SpyCorps
by Michael N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2017 14:34:33

A Great New addition to your G-Core/FASERIP Game.......a spy Organization with a Great Twist.....Lots of Spy Gear.....along with a bunch of Agent Templates......Art Work continues to get even better in every new release



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) Guardian Universe: REVIVAL: SpyCorps
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

(G-Core) Guardian Universe: REVIVAL: SpyCorps
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2017 19:29:44

I like my supers with an Iron Age feel. Where things aren't black or white and every action has a reaction. SpyCorps is a great addition to anyone that likes spies, sneaking around, assassinations and world-class treachery. There is a detailed write-up of the SpyCorps and its important staff members. There are several potent NPC's that would make excellent foils for a group of do-gooders.

Additionally there is a new character type: the Hellbrand. This allows Players to whip up characters like Spawn to rip into villains... or the good-guys.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) Guardian Universe: REVIVAL: Deep Space
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2016 13:00:33

There have been a multitude of G-Core products over the years. Most deal with what we would call low-to-mid level characters, others cover the high end of the spectrum. Deep Space goes even further. This new product for G-Core covers the most powerful beings in the Guardian Universe setting. Deep Space covers a myriad of different topics starting with the War of the Gods and what has happend until now. There are a number of powerful groups that have formed in the setting due to the actions of people far in the past. This butterfly effect has changed the very nature of the Guardian Universe to what it is today.

There are a variety of beings detailed here. Everything from the soldiers of different cosmic level groups to beings powerful enough to wipe out planets. Jay does an excellent job of creating a number of creatures that fill the different 'feels' that can be present in any Cosmic campaign. There are gods and mysterious creatures that defy the laws of existance.

Deep Space is compatible with games based off the vernable FASERIP system. There may be a bit of conversion necessary but those are minor.

All in all this is a great product. Not only for G-Core fans, but for people looking for ideas for any type of Cosmic Level based game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) Guardian Universe: REVIVAL: Deep Space
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

(G-Core) G-Core PRIME Campaign Resource
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2016 11:23:20

It's no secret I love super-hero games and G-Core. One thing though that I have always felt it, and many other games lacked was a good system for campaign advancement. I don't mean just guidelines for attribute or power growth. I mean things that simulate what is happening in the world thanks to the hero's actions.

This product covers both. It contains a slew of tables to roll on that help flesh out all sorts of details about the world around the characters. It contains everything from the reactions of people rescued to how to gain new powers in a G-Core. The best thing is that the majority of tables provided can be used for other super-hero games besides G-Core.

This is one of G-Cores best resources hands down and will help enhance any similar game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) G-Core PRIME Campaign Resource
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

(G-Core) Guardian Universe: Revival: Monsters Twilight 6
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2015 11:40:40

Jay Libby has been creating Halloween based G-Core expansions since the games initial release. This years product concentrates on the inhuman experiments of the Balston Group, a major player in the G-Core Revival Universe. Each of the villains introduced here are designed to fill monstrous roles within the organization and in a larger setting as well.

There are write-up for everything from a nigh-unstoppable clone to a device designed to boost and enslave another beings abilities. All the characters presented here are recognizable due to their human foibles, but just evil enough to be fun to use.

My only complaint is the lack of a prologue detailing the Balston Group. I know that there is already a G-Core release about them, but I think it would have been nice to have a brief over-view of them and their actions. This would be helpful for those who do not have the Groups release and could also be used to add a bit more information about their current actions.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) Guardian Universe: Revival: Monsters Twilight 6
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

(G-Core) Guardian Universe: Revival: Freelance International
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2015 16:26:24

Freelance International is the latest release by Jay Libby that details more of the massive Guardian Universe. The product is 20-pgs long and jumps right into it with a lengthy description of the companies history and current events. It has an interesting back-story and the company is large enough to allow it to act as an employer or enemy of the Players.

There are a variety of characters presented ranging from power-suited vigilanties to a night-unstoppable 5 year old (!!). The parts I like most though are the details about what Freelance International does for the rest of the world. Unlike most mega-scale corporations in this type of RPG, Freelance International has gone to great lengths to aid others.

Freelance International provides the GM with some great ideas that can be used as-is, or for idea fodder for their own campaign world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) Guardian Universe: Revival: Freelance International
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

(G-Core) Guardian Universe: Revival Setting Book
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2015 15:55:46

I like super heroes. I like reading all about the good and evil people that fill peoples imaginations. I think the variety of characters that are out there speaks volumes to the fun of comic books.

The one thing that is often overlooked in Supers RPG games is other settings. I have read many of them over the years but most of the time the are very simple write-ups that just touch on the world the writer envisions. This is not the case with this product. Guardian Universe: Revival Setting book is a detailed look at the history and 'present' time in Jay Libby's expansive comic book universe.

This book details the background and overall tone of the GU: Revival. It fills the reader in with information on the ins-and-outs of powerful organizations, nations, and even gods!

Although there are no statistics provided in this book the setting ideas make it well worth the $3.00 price tag. I fully believe that this can be mined for ideas for all sort of supers campaigns or even those that are running non-powered contemporary campaigns.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) Guardian Universe: Revival Setting Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

(G-Core) Italiano Orrore: Survival Horror Vol. 1
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2015 20:10:35

This is a handy product that helps the GM get ready for a night of normal people facing horrible monstrosities. There are random-roll tables for everything from creating the general plot as well as what sort of things the party runs into along the way. There is a great deal of variety in each table allowing for plenty of reuse for further adventures.

If I could I would give this a 4.5 over a four. The only things keeping it from being higher are that there isn't a lot of background detail or art. I would like some info on the overall 'feel' this field of horror in general. The art part is less of a quibble although I always like a good amount of art in anything I buy...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) Italiano Orrore: Survival Horror Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

(G-Core) Stairs of the Immortal
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2015 16:02:26

When I found out the Mir. Libby was going to create a fantasy version of G-Core I was a bit put off due to the fact that I was in the progress of creating one of my own. That being said I will bandage my wounded pride and give this game a quick review...

As I mentioned previously, Stairs of the Immortal is a fantasy version of G-Core Prime. Rather than simply taking what already existed and slapping fantasy tropes onto a fantasy hack, Jay took the time to create a fully fleshed-out version that retains it's simple premise and is still playable.

The main difference between C-Core Prime and Stairs of the Immortal is the characters. Characters in Stairs are designed to follow a path from a weak but playable novice-type character up to the point of being a nigh-unstoppable avatar of power. It's a fun progression really, and although once you start on a path you are restricted to it, there are still enough choices that two characters following the same one can be different. The base mechanic for Stairs of the Immortal is like that of G-Core. Roll 1d10 and apply all modifiers with the highest result winning.

Character's progress differently in Stairs than in G-Core. As one progresses they gather experience points, these points are then spent to 'purchase' the next rank in Attributes and Special Focus (skills). It is a rather simple way to handle it really.

Overall I really enjoy Stairs of the Immortal. It is a fun vision of his already easy-to-use Supers game and could even be used as a supplement for it with a bit of work.

I would give Stairs a 5-star rating, but I would have liked to see more examples here and there, a more diverse equipment/weapons/armor list (I understand its a simple system, but in this case more is best) and a thicker bestiary. That all being said it is very well done. Honestly, I would give it a 4.5 if possible...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) Stairs of the Immortal
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

(G-Core) G-Core PRIME
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2014 14:01:28

If you love the Old MSHRPG system, you will love this system. Its very reminiscent of the system, though with quite a few changes. The Rank system seems to be a little more borrowed towards the modern d20 range. You still have ranks and numbers, but now they are referred by the number instead of the rank. The skill system was adjusted to work off a single d10 multiplied by 10 to give a base number, which you add your Rank too, with any skill focus shifts.

THE PROS: IN-DEPTH ORIGIN & BACKGROUNDS: I do enjoy the expanded origins, and background system, and included skill focus system. Which brings elements which I always wanted to change about the old MSHRPG myself. Many of the origins, make sure you have some starting powers before you even have to roll to see how many powers you get. And lets you , create characters on vastly different levels from the very beginning.

HEROIC STATS! This system is very forgiving on poor stat rolls, and gives many options to make sure you have a decent set of scores. So in almost every instance, you will never be too sorry to get a low roll. This makes sure you have at least a majority of above average Stats.

THE CONS: STILL CLUNKY with RESOURCES: Though not a fan of the "Resource" point system with the original version of MSHRPG, I can live with it. Being rather easy going.

STILL MISSING SOCIAL STATS: Never really liked Popularity works great when you need to use your fame to your situations, but never really accounted for personal magnetism. And I always thought the game lacked a "social" stat, and that remains the same in this version.

SKILL LIGHT: This game is very skill light, which can be nice (just like the original system). But I prefer a little depth in this area, to help me create my characters. There is almost no help what so ever with this, so you have to use your imagination when assigning your skill focuses.

Over all I gave this 4 stars, because I have always loved the MSHRPG. Though I personally would have hoped for a slightly more divergent from the usual Rank & No.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) G-Core PRIME
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Brian, Thank you VERY much for your review! If you have any requests (other than the Social stat ;) ), please let us know! ~Jay Libby
(G-Core) G-Core PRIME
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2014 22:10:17

Some of you may have read my 4 star review posted yesterday. I have removed it because in less than 24 hours Jay Libby has responded to my critique and revised the PDF. I'm told there are more generic spacecraft to come, as well as additional apedices with combat examples and additional origins. Some inquisitive folks vacillating about whether or not to put down $2.50 for this PDF might be asking: what's the difference between G-Core Prime and other FASERIP legacy games? G-Core Prime allows for customization without complexity with the combination of an origin and a hero type, basically an archetypal power source-origin story seed and a career. This has evolved from an application of Jay Libby's Fuzion Bloks system. For FASERIP fans out there, there's an Ultimate Powers Book feel to the Origins in Prime that I like. For more info, see the previous review by Christopher C. If you have no context for what FASERIP was, think rules lite style over substance comic book action. This book is still evolving, and if it reaches 100 purchases, should see print as a robust and versatile game that Jeff Grubb and David E Martin could be proud of.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 53 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG