RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info
Rank & Vile
Rank & Vile
Pay What You Want









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Westwater RPG No art version
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2015 18:06:55
This is a somewhat difficult review to write. I remember that this game failed to Kickstart, and I feel that there is a much better version of this game living in the creator's mind. But this is the version we have.

The Good:
A B/X compatible Western RPG, with Gunslingers and Outlaws and rules for firearms.
Options for Historical or Fantasy campaigns
Enough monsters and treasure to run a small campaign for quite awhile, and if you run out... B/X compatible!
A semi-Sandbox adventure included that can generate multiple sessions of adventure.

The Neutral:
Beyond the cover, this game has no art. I'm OK with that, because I know art is expensive, but it does detract from the overall feel of the game.
Editorially, the game could use another pass or two. Nothing major, but a few errors here or there.

The Bad:
Nothing specific, just a general feeling that the game lacks something... some bright shiny thing to make it stand out from the rest of the B/X clones out there.
Again, the sadness that this could have been much cooler if luck and money would have been in its favor.

As a free product, this gets an easy 4 stars.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Westwater RPG No art version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Lost Lady
by Jo D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2015 14:11:45
This is a nice little module for a little side quest in a campaign especially for romantic good adventurers that love to be the good guys.

Shouldn't take too long to play so it can be used with part of a group while waiting on the rest to drop in. ;)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost Lady
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Lost Lady
by Herm B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2015 05:06:56
This is simple, to the point and has clear and easy options for adapting to different character levels and roleplaying systems. I can easily see myself making use of it when I need a quick one-shot.

The story is quite basic with a twist your players may or may not guess! Rather than include a lot of scripted dialogue, it tells the GM what effect to go for and leaves it to your creativity.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infestation
by Chris C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2015 15:59:11
Great job. This is a perfect filler for my campaign! Thank you and keep up the great work. I look forward to seeing more from you.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infestation
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

An (un)Deathly Storm
by Chris C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2015 15:49:57
Just what I needed for a filler. Keep up the good work and hope to see more

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
An (un)Deathly Storm
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Yokai Playable Race [5e]
by havok m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2015 12:46:53
If you're a player, this is a great book for variety in the early days of 5th edition. While the title implies it's a single race, it's actually more like 17 races with different stats. Want a faster race? There's a yokai for that. Want natural armor? There's a yokai for that. Want flight? There's a yokai for that.

If you're a DM, this is not so great as it gives way too much variety for players with little balance. There isn't a base yokai race or shared racial traits across them all, making it very difficult to remember. Some of the options seem unbalanced, and the ability modifier bonuses are a little too tailored for specific classes.

The format also needs work, with the special abilities of each race buried in a paragraph about its description. Making it fall more in line with the official 5th edition books formatting would go a long way to making it better.

My advice would be to make a basic yokai race (maybe something like +2 dex default and Scent) and then list the options and have them each give just a +1 to another stat, an advantage on a specific skill, and possibly some feature that emulates the base animal.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Yokai Playable Race [5e]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

An (un)Deathly Storm
by Me M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2015 20:26:11
A+ product, 10/10 stars! This one page adventure is definitely worth getting. It presents an interesting scenario that has a lot of possibilities. Perfect for when you can't do your regular campaign and don't have anything prepared! I haven't run this adventure yet, but next time I do a one-off game session I plan on using it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
An (un)Deathly Storm
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Reclaiming the Caves on the Borderlands
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/20/2015 10:29:03
I picked this up because I do enjoy seeing what others can do with such well trodden ground as the Keep and the Caves of Chaos. The cover claims to be 5th Edition compatible and uses the current OGL to get there. Personally if I were a publisher I would be staying away from this. It is murky legal ground right now and one I would not tread on. But lets move on.
The cover is nice and drew me in right away. The book is 24 pages, but minus 1 for cover, 1 for ogl, 1 for a blank page, 1 for an ad, 4 for maps and 1 more for a character sheet. So 15 pages of text.

The Good: There is a good section on pages 4 and 5 on playing humanoid races such as orcs, bugbears, gnolls and so on. Just the stats, nothing really on "how to play them" No big, these are the standard baddies for the last 40 years. We know them.
There is detail on how the caves are controlled and what can be the expected losses of the various groups of humanoids living in the caves over time.

The Not As Good For Me: The caves and the rooms themselves are not detailed. There are blanks left for the DM to write in what is there from monsters to items. The main conceit here is that the inhabitants of the Keep have taken over the Caves now. It is all very sandboxy which is fine, but not what I was expecting. I am perfectly fine with sandboxes, but that it not why I buy pdfs. I buy graph paper for that.

The Bad: This PDF uses scanned images from the original map of the Caves of Chaos from B2. It has been run through Photoshop and some alterations have been made, but I can overlay a scan of the blue/white Caves map and line it up perfectly (including grids) to the "Reclaiming" maps. Not very professional at all.

The Ugly: Additionally there is a really bad scan of the old D&D Basic era Character sheet. It has been edited (poorly) to make it more in line with 5th Edition, but honestly it is just plain ugly. The artist would have been better off starting from scratch and making a 5e sheet that looked a bit like the Basic one rather than include this. Better still would be not to include one at all. It is just ugly, shows really poor Photoshop skills and a copyright infringement to boot.
So in the end, despite some promise and high hopes, this falls really flat.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Reclaiming the Caves on the Borderlands
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
First of all, thank you for taking the time to do this review. I know it takes time and effort to do so, and it is appreciated. However, I think there are some clarifications about some claims you\'re making that are not accurate. I hope to address those. * Scanned images. The maps are not scanned. I did them all by hand, and went back to make sure they aligned as close as I could get to the original for scaling purposes. That\'s why you probably assume they are scanned, because I got them really close. I could send you the PSD files if you want. Either way, not scanned. * Implication of copyright infringement. There is none in this, along with no trademark infringement either. If I had the D&D logo or text on the character sheet, you\'d be right. But it doesn\'t. You are right about the way the character sheet looks. Somehow it shows up in the PDF with lines that didn\'t show up in the PSD file, and I\'ll get those corrected straight away. Thank you for that feedback. * Your expectations. I\'m sorry you felt like you got something you didn\'t expect, but I tried to make it very clear and up front in the description exactly what you were getting. I also have every page included in the preview, so you would also know exactly what you were getting before purchasing. I even also made explicit commentary re: setting the price point the way I did because it was structured in this format. Please don\'t get me wrong, I sincerely do appreciate the time and effort you put into your review, and I do honestly regret that you felt like you didn\'t get what you wanted.
Classes of the Far East
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/20/2015 09:59:52
Grabbed this because my youngest wants to play a ninja like character. It has a ninja, as well as a monk, a mahoutsukai (spell caster that uses both magic user and cleric spells, and a lot of them), and the yokai which is a race as a class of animalistic humanoids, and of course the Samurai.

Weapons are listed (damage and cost) but no descriptions are given and no artwork of the weapons. And that is pretty much it. If you don't know what these weapons look like, then you are on your own really.

Looking over the mahoutsukai it is grossly overpowered. It basically advances as cleric and a magic user at the same time. So by 14th level it has 12 each of 1st through 5th level spells, 7 6th level and 1 7th level. It has limits, namely limited to the same arms and armor choices as a magic-user, limited to 14th level and can't turn undead. But that is still a lot of spells. Honestly it should one spell list that combines select magic-user and cleric spells and it should have some limits on what it can and cannot do. Right now it is not a class I can recommend using.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Classes of the Far East
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

B1 Journey to Hell
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/20/2015 09:14:59
Grabbed this because I needed an adventure geared toward 18-20th level. Also it is about Hell, so that got my attention. I bought it on a whim based solely on level and "hell".
First off you get a lot of adventure for your buck. 45 pages of adventures and maps (granted it is the same adventure twice, but still).
The artwork is great, coming primarily from sources like The Inferno. This is quite fitting given that the adventure itself is quite reminiscent of Dante's great tale. It does include some art from the Larry Elmore CD that was out years ago, but doesn't properly cite it in their OGL page.
It is dual stated for the OSRIC and Altus Adventum Role-Playing Game, always a plus in my book, but it can be played with any number of OSR systems or their fore-bearers.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B1 Journey to Hell
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A3 Hunt for the Ogre Lord
by Rachael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2013 14:42:12
First off I rated this a four for potental more then achievement.

This adventure can use a few corrections (this is A3 NOT A4 see page 4). Another correction is the lack of 'battle damage' that is listed as showing on the handouts. I would suggest that someone inhouse re-read this for logic errors. The handouts should each be a FULL PAGE image, as these quarter page ones look like crap when printed to full page size for real use. My god people this is a PDF who the hell cares if it costs more pages?!. Another note, we print these at home can you please use layers to turn off the ink sucking background parts of the maps?! PLEASE Also when putting together monster stats if you would put in THAC0, S, I, W, D, C, Ch, PPD, PP, RSW, BW, Sp, Bk pg data or BLANK LINES lines for us to fill in would make combat SOOO much smoother.

This adventure is a one lane railroad very simular to the original A3 module back from TSR, it was not a good thing then it is not a good thing now. This needs a work-around. Think about a party of stealty persons comeing at this with the cloak of invisibility you provided to the group in earler adventures. For that matter plan for all the magic you gave the party to be used in each next adventure in your series. NPCs get caputred and questioned. My party went through over 60% of this adventure without killing everything in combat and still managed to gain the information form several orcs and ogres that were caputred. If you place an subsection in each encounter of "information obtainable from NPC XYZ" it would make this much easer to use.

All in all this product is a good core bundle but requires a commitment to corrections/ alterations to fit it into a campaign, unless your group is closer to a group of starting players.

If the publisher were to fix their logic errors, update the handouts, expand the monster statblocks and republish this I would even buy it again.

?Rachael ?Strange

page 4 Correct A4 to A3
Page 5-8 the "Untamed Lands" these need to ALSO be in a player handout version of what the characters know about the areas
Page 6 the outpost maps need to be setup on a single page for each outpost with area descriptions. Use a full page allowing for 3-ring binder use
Page 8 the handout for Rall's Note is not easy to read once printed out.
Page 9 a sword that is +0/+2? what the heck is this? i have never seen any magic item ever that is magical and only provides damage bonus? can you please explain this to me? seriously please.
Page 10 why are encounter chances 50% per hex that seems like way way above 'normal' for encounters.
Page 10-11 50 elite orcs, 6 shamans C5, subboss vs party when the army on Page 23 is 50 orcs L1, 30 archers L1, 6 elite orcs, 1 Ogre are sent to take out a town!?! Elves, rangers and local wildlife don't notice this? Ask any hunter what 57 men in the woods does to the local wildlife. There would be NO random encouters at all and PCs have a good chance of noticeing the 'army' in the woods. Seriously, ever go to a convention and smell the dealer hall? 50+ orcs would SMELL BAD!
Page 11 having escaped the trap and taking the orc prisoner (into one of the bags of holding you have given the party) and tucking his body into the bag with his gaged head hanging out the party escaped with the cloak of elvenkind (3 bags = 2 loud PCs + orc) on the elf and the thief sneeking the party is away and alive and unrailroaded.
Page 12 Having gotten the location of the 'state prison' (really? and the inquisitor does not know about this?) the party goes after it and while scouting it trips a larger pit + shute trap and lands in area 1 with some broken equipment.

At this point I'm going to hold off anymore comments as you can see some of what i'm talking about. Seriously this is a good product, even if a little short sighted.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A3 Hunt for the Ogre Lord
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A4 Rise of the Bloodwolf
by Douglas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2012 21:03:24
This module is designed to be a continuation of A3 Hunt for the Ogre Lord. As such, using it as a stand-alone adventure poses significant problems.

The adventure starts out with the PCs hunted. Now, at the end of the previous adventure they had helped save the kingdom, so why they should now hide their identities is difficult to explain. But that's how the adventure starts. From there it's sneaking into BBEG's lair and gathering evidence of his treachery in order to present it to the king. Of course, the BBEG isn't there, so the king can beg the PCs to hunt him down. Supplies, lodging, food, and support are now provided (because apparently saving the kingdom from an orc/ogre invasion wasn't enough).

Happily, the references to the other system seem less, although there are still problems ("alter" instead of "altar" for instance).

Given the reliance on the previous module, as well as the illogical start, this module clocks in at two stars. The railroading is less, but the motivation for the PCs to bring the BBEG to justice is weak.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
A4 Rise of the Bloodwolf
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A3 Hunt for the Ogre Lord
by Douglas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2012 20:22:56
This module starts with a railroad ("Answer the summons or face execution"), continues with a railroad ("Accept this mission or face treason"), then railroads the PCs into being captured ("There is no way the part can win this combat, nor are they intended to fight. Is this railroading? Sure, but it's part of the adventure plot and this would be a short adventure without it."). The PCs are then thrown into a prison without their weapons or equipment, and expected to go through a dungeon that is so linear it does not require a map (there are no other paths to choose, it's either the next area or go backwards), only to end up requiring the ability to scale walls like a spider in order to find a secret door that allows them to escape. In the words of the adventure, "Failure to detect this means that there is essentially no way for the party to escape the tunnels."

Throw in the editing I've come to expect from Sacrosanct Games (see my reviews of the previous two modules for those details), and this module clocks in at one star.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
A3 Hunt for the Ogre Lord
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A2 Lost Treasure of Actzimotal
by Douglas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2012 18:04:15
The OSRIC version of this module is 16 pages, plus maps and handouts.

The editing, much like A1Lair of the Goblin King, leaves much to be desired. "Intellect" and "willpower" checks are not used in the OSRIC system. At one point, the PCs may run through near-boiling water, at which time they might suffer a minor wound. Furthermore, the adventure locale is rather generic, and the plot forces minor railroads of the PCs.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
A2 Lost Treasure of Actzimotal
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A1 Lair of the Goblin King
by Douglas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2012 22:02:51
The OSRIC version of this module is 8 pages. There is an additional page of GM material in the front (describing the lands surrounding the adventure area; one page for a new creature, two new spells, and two new "arcane items"; one page for 5 sample characters; and five pages of maps. Spoilers follow; skip to the last paragraph to avoid them.

The adventure itself is fairly straightforward: Goblins are attacking innocents and need to be stopped. The reward for this deed seems rather high, especially if the goblin king's head is returned. For a first level party, I would hesitate at handing so much gold out. That said, the goblins themselves are rather weak. While the OSRIC site lists goblins as having 1d8-1 hit points, the basic goblins in this adventure are 1/2 hit dice creatures. Their armor class and weapon damage is also weaker. Overall, they use the stats for kobolds, rather than goblins. The stats for dire wolves are also different from the OSRIC rule books.

Further problems with this adventure involve references to Sacrosanct Games' own system. A more rigorous proofreading of the material would have excised these references, and eliminated some confusion. For example, the "arcane items" mentioned above. At the end of the module, there is reference to the local church that can heal wounds, but instead of listing the cost for a particular spell, the author says a "deep wound" can be cured for 10 gp, while "any severe wound [can be healed] for 50 gp."

Finally, there is an issue with "Outlook Tower/Overlook Tower." Both names are used, once again showcasing the lack of proofreading. There is a what the author calls a plot hook located in the basement of this guard tower, but it will likely derail the PCs. A vivisectionist's table in the basement of a royal tower isn't something that one encounters on a regular basis, and the author's note says "plot hook for expanded adventure, perhaps?" The only problem is that this isn't a plot hook. It's far stronger than that, and not something most PCs would ignore. As there are no further information provided, it's up to the GM to determine answers to players' questions. Not a good thing in a published adventure.

My final rating is 2. There are a lot of problems with this adventure, even for the low price. A skilled GM can fix the problems, but there are other options out there that don't require the additional work.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
A1 Lair of the Goblin King
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 68 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG