RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Depths of Felk Mor
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2016 17:12:06

This is a big, though unfortunately somewhat uneven megadungeon adventure. Many elements work quite well, but other sections fall flat.


The strength of this adventure is the use of Lovecraftian horror which adds a ton of character to what could otherwise feel like a generic megadungeon. The best section of the dungeon is a large open cavern with several competing factions for the players to interact with. However, this is the only part of the dungeon that feels like a real, dynamic place. Notably, the final (and largest) section of the dungeon comes off as a "fun house" which has no rhyme or reason other than providing challenges for the players to overcome on their way to fight the big bad. The lack of good overviews for the adventure or sections further makes it feel like this is just a bunch of rooms for players to explore with no larger plot or purpose behind it.


The production values are decent for a third party publication. In particular, the art is excellent. However, like many third party products it often reads like a first draft manuscript that no one ever got around to reviewing or editing.


All in all this is a mixed bag, but it is well worth the $10. I'd give it 3.5 stars, but will add a bonus half star because this may be the first work in the English language with express references to both H.P. Lovecraft and West Side Story.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Depths of Felk Mor
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Depths of Felk Mor
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2016 16:15:24

Still working my way through it, (there is a lot of content here,) and really like what I see. The author made good on his goal to give this (big!) module an old-school feel. I particulary am fond of the maps and the player handouts; the WFRP player in me really appreciates those details.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Canopy Dog
by Sebastian Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2015 21:15:40

Cool addition to my games hiding in trees jumpscaring PC



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Canopy Dog
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Lost Lady
by Justin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2015 14:07:35

Simple one page quick-play encounter set-up. It has a simple premise of helping a lady find her husband, with some plot twists. Descriptions of 4 locations and different encounter scenarios. Would Be better with a larger map, but for a 1 page set-up it works well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost Lady
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Westwater RPG No art version
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2015 12:42:43

Kinda primitive. It takes old D&D races and tropes and puts them on Wild West backgrounds. They don't feet
Western genre is much more interesting than that
There are many more western RPG outthere...


Maybe it's just me, I don't like idea old D&D-like rules meets Western



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Westwater RPG No art version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the review. I appreciate the time you took to look at this. But I have to ask. If you don\'t like old school D&D rules meets Western, then why did you even download this? It clearly states exactly what it is, and I admit I\'m a bit confused, as it seems like you\'re giving a poor rating based on a concept you don\'t like, rather than the product itself. Whenever I get less than a great review, I always want to know what I could do better. But if your issue is \"D&D rules meets Western\" is bad overall, not sure how I could improve on that. Thank you again.
Westwater RPG No art version
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2015 18:06:55

This is a somewhat difficult review to write. I remember that this game failed to Kickstart, and I feel that there is a much better version of this game living in the creator's mind. But this is the version we have.


The Good:
A B/X compatible Western RPG, with Gunslingers and Outlaws and rules for firearms.
Options for Historical or Fantasy campaigns
Enough monsters and treasure to run a small campaign for quite awhile, and if you run out... B/X compatible!
A semi-Sandbox adventure included that can generate multiple sessions of adventure.


The Neutral:
Beyond the cover, this game has no art. I'm OK with that, because I know art is expensive, but it does detract from the overall feel of the game.
Editorially, the game could use another pass or two. Nothing major, but a few errors here or there.


The Bad:
Nothing specific, just a general feeling that the game lacks something... some bright shiny thing to make it stand out from the rest of the B/X clones out there.
Again, the sadness that this could have been much cooler if luck and money would have been in its favor.


As a free product, this gets an easy 4 stars.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost Lady
by Jo D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2015 14:11:45

This is a nice little module for a little side quest in a campaign especially for romantic good adventurers that love to be the good guys.


Shouldn't take too long to play so it can be used with part of a group while waiting on the rest to drop in. ;)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost Lady
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Lost Lady
by Herm B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2015 05:06:56

This is simple, to the point and has clear and easy options for adapting to different character levels and roleplaying systems. I can easily see myself making use of it when I need a quick one-shot.


The story is quite basic with a twist your players may or may not guess! Rather than include a lot of scripted dialogue, it tells the GM what effect to go for and leaves it to your creativity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infestation
by Chris C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2015 15:59:11

Great job. This is a perfect filler for my campaign! Thank you and keep up the great work. I look forward to seeing more from you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infestation
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

An (un)Deathly Storm
by Chris C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2015 15:49:57

Just what I needed for a filler. Keep up the good work and hope to see more



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
An (un)Deathly Storm
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Yokai Playable Race [5e]
by havok m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2015 12:46:53

If you're a player, this is a great book for variety in the early days of 5th edition. While the title implies it's a single race, it's actually more like 17 races with different stats. Want a faster race? There's a yokai for that. Want natural armor? There's a yokai for that. Want flight? There's a yokai for that.


If you're a DM, this is not so great as it gives way too much variety for players with little balance. There isn't a base yokai race or shared racial traits across them all, making it very difficult to remember. Some of the options seem unbalanced, and the ability modifier bonuses are a little too tailored for specific classes.


The format also needs work, with the special abilities of each race buried in a paragraph about its description. Making it fall more in line with the official 5th edition books formatting would go a long way to making it better.


My advice would be to make a basic yokai race (maybe something like +2 dex default and Scent) and then list the options and have them each give just a +1 to another stat, an advantage on a specific skill, and possibly some feature that emulates the base animal.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Yokai Playable Race [5e]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

An (un)Deathly Storm
by Me M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2015 20:26:11

A+ product, 10/10 stars! This one page adventure is definitely worth getting. It presents an interesting scenario that has a lot of possibilities. Perfect for when you can't do your regular campaign and don't have anything prepared! I haven't run this adventure yet, but next time I do a one-off game session I plan on using it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
An (un)Deathly Storm
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Reclaiming the Caves on the Borderlands
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/20/2015 10:29:03

I picked this up because I do enjoy seeing what others can do with such well trodden ground as the Keep and the Caves of Chaos. The cover claims to be 5th Edition compatible and uses the current OGL to get there. Personally if I were a publisher I would be staying away from this. It is murky legal ground right now and one I would not tread on. But lets move on.
The cover is nice and drew me in right away. The book is 24 pages, but minus 1 for cover, 1 for ogl, 1 for a blank page, 1 for an ad, 4 for maps and 1 more for a character sheet. So 15 pages of text.


The Good: There is a good section on pages 4 and 5 on playing humanoid races such as orcs, bugbears, gnolls and so on. Just the stats, nothing really on "how to play them" No big, these are the standard baddies for the last 40 years. We know them.
There is detail on how the caves are controlled and what can be the expected losses of the various groups of humanoids living in the caves over time.


The Not As Good For Me: The caves and the rooms themselves are not detailed. There are blanks left for the DM to write in what is there from monsters to items. The main conceit here is that the inhabitants of the Keep have taken over the Caves now. It is all very sandboxy which is fine, but not what I was expecting. I am perfectly fine with sandboxes, but that it not why I buy pdfs. I buy graph paper for that.


The Bad: This PDF uses scanned images from the original map of the Caves of Chaos from B2. It has been run through Photoshop and some alterations have been made, but I can overlay a scan of the blue/white Caves map and line it up perfectly (including grids) to the "Reclaiming" maps. Not very professional at all.


The Ugly: Additionally there is a really bad scan of the old D&D Basic era Character sheet. It has been edited (poorly) to make it more in line with 5th Edition, but honestly it is just plain ugly. The artist would have been better off starting from scratch and making a 5e sheet that looked a bit like the Basic one rather than include this. Better still would be not to include one at all. It is just ugly, shows really poor Photoshop skills and a copyright infringement to boot.
So in the end, despite some promise and high hopes, this falls really flat.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Reclaiming the Caves on the Borderlands
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
First of all, thank you for taking the time to do this review. I know it takes time and effort to do so, and it is appreciated. However, I think there are some clarifications about some claims you\'re making that are not accurate. I hope to address those. * Scanned images. The maps are not scanned. I did them all by hand, and went back to make sure they aligned as close as I could get to the original for scaling purposes. That\'s why you probably assume they are scanned, because I got them really close. I could send you the PSD files if you want. Either way, not scanned. * Implication of copyright infringement. There is none in this, along with no trademark infringement either. If I had the D&D logo or text on the character sheet, you\'d be right. But it doesn\'t. You are right about the way the character sheet looks. Somehow it shows up in the PDF with lines that didn\'t show up in the PSD file, and I\'ll get those corrected straight away. Thank you for that feedback. * Your expectations. I\'m sorry you felt like you got something you didn\'t expect, but I tried to make it very clear and up front in the description exactly what you were getting. I also have every page included in the preview, so you would also know exactly what you were getting before purchasing. I even also made explicit commentary re: setting the price point the way I did because it was structured in this format. Please don\'t get me wrong, I sincerely do appreciate the time and effort you put into your review, and I do honestly regret that you felt like you didn\'t get what you wanted.
Classes of the Far East
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/20/2015 09:59:52

Grabbed this because my youngest wants to play a ninja like character. It has a ninja, as well as a monk, a mahoutsukai (spell caster that uses both magic user and cleric spells, and a lot of them), and the yokai which is a race as a class of animalistic humanoids, and of course the Samurai.


Weapons are listed (damage and cost) but no descriptions are given and no artwork of the weapons. And that is pretty much it. If you don't know what these weapons look like, then you are on your own really.


Looking over the mahoutsukai it is grossly overpowered. It basically advances as cleric and a magic user at the same time. So by 14th level it has 12 each of 1st through 5th level spells, 7 6th level and 1 7th level. It has limits, namely limited to the same arms and armor choices as a magic-user, limited to 14th level and can't turn undead. But that is still a lot of spells. Honestly it should one spell list that combines select magic-user and cleric spells and it should have some limits on what it can and cannot do. Right now it is not a class I can recommend using.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Classes of the Far East
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

B1 Journey to Hell
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/20/2015 09:14:59

Grabbed this because I needed an adventure geared toward 18-20th level. Also it is about Hell, so that got my attention. I bought it on a whim based solely on level and "hell".
First off you get a lot of adventure for your buck. 45 pages of adventures and maps (granted it is the same adventure twice, but still).
The artwork is great, coming primarily from sources like The Inferno. This is quite fitting given that the adventure itself is quite reminiscent of Dante's great tale. It does include some art from the Larry Elmore CD that was out years ago, but doesn't properly cite it in their OGL page.
It is dual stated for the OSRIC and Altus Adventum Role-Playing Game, always a plus in my book, but it can be played with any number of OSR systems or their fore-bearers.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B1 Journey to Hell
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 73 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG