RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
2015 Dodecahedron Cartographic Review
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2016 14:20:27

Dyson Logos makes some wonderful maps with the thatching of solids such as walls being perhaps the most recognizable flair to his work. The maps invariably are well constructed and have just the right amount of detail - the sort of detail that might hint at a story. The 2015 Dodecahedron Cartographic Review features quite a few isometric maps as well as multi-levels maps that link together nicely. Most of the maps have a back story of varying detail that can be fun to read - and the maps are joy to examine. Getting 88 pages of quality maps - for well under a dime a page - is a sweet deal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
2015 Dodecahedron Cartographic Review
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

2015 Dodecahedron Cartographic Review
by Thomas D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2016 07:42:22

Dyson makes the most gorgeous, and useful, maps. This compendium is a steal. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
2015 Dodecahedron Cartographic Review
by Bo V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2016 12:23:59

Great book. Makes a fun read. I bought it and I'm sure the 'sense' of it and the beautiful maps will get used. This is a simply organized decent value book. Every page has a beautiful 'old school' hand drawn map and a little background. Thats it. You can add your own anything else on top of that. The next page, Dyson will do what he does best, another map.

Then there is a digital appendix with each of the maps (88 pages) with just the maps - suitable for printing. Once you're clear on what you're getting it's a great deal. Lots of fun maps. It has application for gamers who do modules or home brew. Its a good sample to learn Dyson's style with a minium of web hunting.

And, because I appreciate this: pretty, pretty, pretty! Dyson is on the web and seems to genuinely enjoy talking about gaming and maps, and more maps. I recommend this pdf.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dyson's Delves II
by William T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2015 20:19:33

I have used Dyson's work in many of my campaigns with great success. The blank maps are very handy to drop into any adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dyson's Delves II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dyson's Dodecahedron - Vol 1 Issue 7
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2014 10:17:03

The subclass article is one of the best Ive read in a long time. A fantastic tool for adding more fun to Labyrinth Lord or even Basic D&D.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dyson's Dodecahedron - Vol 1 Issue 7
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dyson's Delves
by Pete K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2014 14:17:04

A very good book of maps and a few adventures too. Highly practical layout with one page as a map and the other with the keyed contents - ideal for in play. Concise and light descriptions make for quick and fluid play. My group are enjoying the dungeon crawls.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dyson's Delves
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dyson's Delves
by Joshua R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2014 17:21:35

I'm loving this book of maps. I'm in the middle of crafting a quick little side journey and flipping through to pick out something suitable just instantly gets the mind churning.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dyson's Delves II
by John D H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2014 17:37:08

A great compilation from an accomplished artist of dungeons and overland adventures. He deserves your support. This artist uses detailed equip!snt to perform precise work that easily enlarged in scanned format for use in various VTT programs that skilled GMs now use. From Goblin lairs to the wickedest Liches, the Delves Dyzon prepares are waiting for your use. I use them all the time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dyson's Delves II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dyson's Dodecahedron - Vol 1 Issue 7
by Pete S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2013 11:03:30

Fantastic idea for subclasses. Fills a nice niche that encourages unique character development, without adding rules bloat. Great job.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dyson's Dodecahedron - Vol 1 Issue 7
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dyson's Delves
by Todd B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2013 16:25:36

Lots of inspiration on every page. The maps are great and yet you could hand them to your players without it seeming too slick and published. The actual areas depicted are organic and interesting, very useful for all those lairs and forgotten pockets of the world which aren't active cities or large scale constructed dwarven holds. Very useful at the table when you need something quickly.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dyson's Delves
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Magical Theorems & Dark Pacts
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/27/2013 16:24:09

Magical Theorems & Dark Pacts (MT&DP) is an Old-school reference for all things Magic-user. The book is designed with what I call "Basic Era" in mind, so the rules from right around 1979-1981 where "elf" is a class, not just a race. Overtly it is designed for Labyrinth Lord. That being said it is still compatible in spirit to 99% of all the OSR and books from that time.

The book itself is 6"x9", black and white interior and 161 pages. So for a "Class" book there is a lot here. There are 5 Chapters covering Classes, Spells, Magic Items, Monsters and a section on using this book with the "Advanced Era" books (and their clones), along with an Introduction and OGL page.

The introduction covers the basics. What this books, what it is for and it's very, very open OGL declaration.

Chapter 1 is the heart of this book really. It details 13 Magic using classes. The two two core classes, Cleric and Magic-User (Wizard) and 11 new classes.

From the product page: Cleric (warrior-priests) Wizard (classic magic-users with 10 levels of spells) Elven Swordmage (elves from the core rules – arcane warriors) Elven Warder (wilderness elves, guardians of their kin) Enchanter (artists, con-men, and masters of… duh… enchantments) Fleshcrafter (twisted magic-users that work with flesh) Healer (compassionate and tough hearth-healers) Inquisitor (ecclesiastic investigators and master intimidators) Merchant Prince (elite merchants with spellcasting support) Necromancer (you know exactly what these guys do) Pact-Bound (magic-users who sell their souls for power) Theurge (divine casters who learn from liturgical texts) Unseen (thieves with an innate knack for magic)

Clerics are as you know them, but Magic-Users are now Wizards (since everyone here is a magic user) and they get 10 levels of spells. The "Elven" classes replace the "Elf" class in the book. The others are as they are described, but there is more (much more) to them than re-skinned Magic-Users (not that there is anything wrong with wrong that). The classes are re-cast with many new spells, some powers (but nothing out of whack with Basic Era) and often different hit-dice and altered saving throws.
Nearly a third of the book is made up in these new classes.

Chapter 2 covers all the spells. Spells are listed alphabetically with class and level for each spell noted (like newer 3.x Era products). There are a lot of spells here too. Many have been seen in other products, but some are new. In any case they are a welcome addition. This section makes up slight more than a third of the book.

The last three chapters take up the last third or so of the book. Chapter 3 covers Magic items. There are 28 new magic items with these spellcasters in mind. Chapter 4 covers some magical creatures. These are monsters listed in many of the new spells for summoning. There are not a lot, but needed. Chapter 5 is the Advanced Edition conversion materials. It covers HD changes, racial limits and multi-class options.

So what are my thoughts. Well you get a lot of material in 160+ pages to be honest. At 10 bucks it is a good price. For me it is worth it for the classes. Sure we have seen variations of these over the years, but it is here all in one place and they all work well together. The spells are good. At first I balked at 10th level spells, but really they are for the most part other people's 9th level spells, so they work for me.

The magic items are nice, but for me the value is in the classes and the spells.

Who should buy this? If you play old-school games and enjoy playing different sorts of Magic-Users then this is a must have book. If you are looking to expand your class offerings or even add a few new spells then this is also a good choice. Personally I think it is a great book and I am glad I picked it up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Magical Theorems & Dark Pacts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG
Mobile version